DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on February 23, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-4, 7,10,12,15,17, 24, 26-27, 32, 35, and 37 are presently pending with claims 1 and 37. Claim 3 is an original claim. Claims 2, 4, 15, 17, 24, 26-27, 32, and 35 have been previously presented. Claims 5-6, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16, 18-23, 25, 28-31, 33-34, 36, and 38-45 are canceled. Claims 1, 7, 10, 12, and 37 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, pages 9-14, filed February 23, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that though Fujishiro et al. (US 2020/0281038 A1; hereinafter Fujishiro) “discloses storing and releasing of user’s context, Fujishiro does not disclose determination of CHO validity delay by first network node using the time stamps at which the HO request acknowledgement message and the HO success messages are received.” Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), “determining” is not limited to an explicit timestamp calculation. Rather “determining” reasonably encompasses receiving, storing, accessing, ascertaining, or otherwise deriving the delay from known signaling events and associated timer information. Fujishiro teaches that the source eNB receives a handover request acknowledgement from the target eNB, and that the acknowledgement includes a timer value corresponding to the determined holding time, which the source eNB stores (¶ [0007]; ¶¶ [0145]-[0147]). Fujishiro further teaches that, after the UE executes the conditional handover and establishes an RRC connection with the target eNB, the target eNB transmits a first context release notification to the source eNB (¶ [0008]; ¶¶ [0159]-[0160]). Thus, Fujishiro discloses the relevant signaling events at the first network node: receipt of the HO request acknowledge message and later receipt of a post-handover release message from the target node.
Applicant also argues that Fujishiro “only discloses storing of user’s context until certain duration without disclosing the exact timer value, whereas the present invention discloses determination of preparation delay even before the response from target eNB.” Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because it attacks Fujishiro without the combined teachings of Purkayastha et al. (US 2024/0049078 A1; hereinafter Purkayastha), 3GPP TS 36.423, and Fujishiro. As set forth in the rejection, 3GPP TS 36.423 teaches the preparation delay associated with the interval between transmission of the HO request message and reception of the HO request acknowledge message. Fujishiro is relied upon not for that preparation delay teaching. Further, Fujishiro discloses that the target eNB determines a holding time and includes a timer value corresponding to that holding time in the handover request acknowledgement, and then starts a timer using that value. It is not necessary for Fujishiro to disclose the exact numerical value alleged by Applicant where it teaches the claimed timed interval or timer based determination. Fujishiro’s disclosure of determining a holding time and signaling the corresponding timer value is sufficient for the purpose for which it is cited in the rejection. Also, regarding the argument that the present invention determines the preparation delay before receiving the response from the target eNB, the argument does not overcome the rejection because the rejection relies on 3GPP TS 36.423 for the preparation delay timing relationship, not Fujishiro.
Further, Applicant argues that Fujishiro does not disclose or suggest “wherein determining the CHO validity delay comprises measuring at least one of: an amount of time between receiving the HO request acknowledge message and receiving the HO success message; and an amount of time between transmitting the HO request and receiving the HO success message.” Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because it attacks Fujishiro without the combined teachings of Purkayastha et al. (US 2024/0049078 A1; hereinafter Purkayastha), 3GPP TS 36.423, and Fujishiro. Fujishiro is relied upon for teaching that, in a conditional handover context, the target base station sends a handover request acknowledge message including a timer value corresponding to a holding time, and that handover completion is indicated by a later message from the target side, such as the context release notification following execution of the handover.
Rejection of the dependent claims is maintained as independent claims are rejected under §103. Applicant did not specifically address the rejection of the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 12, 15, 17, 27, 35, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purkayastha et al. (US 2024/0049078 A1; hereinafter Purkayastha) in view of 3GPP TS 36.423, V16.1.0 (2020-03), “X2 application protocol (X2AP)”, Release 16; hereinafter 3GPP TS 36.423 further in view of Fujishiro et al. (US 2020/0281038 A1; hereinafter Fujishiro).
Regarding claims 1 and 37, Purkayastha teaches a first network node (read as source base station) operating in a first communication network (read as communications system) (Fig. 2, element 105-a source base station, element 200 wireless communications system; ¶ [0083] A wireless communications system with source and target base stations.),
the first network node comprising:
processing circuitry (Fig. 15, element 1540 Processor; ¶ [0199] A base station that includes a processor.); and
memory coupled to the processing circuitry and having instructions stored therein that are executable by the processing circuitry to cause the first network node to perform operations comprising (Fig. 15, element 1530 Memory, element 1535 Code, element 1540 Processor; ¶ [0198] Base station includes memory and a processor.; ¶ [0205] The instructions that, when executed by a processor cause the device to perform various functions described herein.; ¶ [0208] The code may include instructions to implement aspects of the present disclosure, including instructions to support wireless communications. The code may be stored in memory.):
communicating with a second network node (read as target base station) regarding configuration of a conditional handover (CHO) for a communication device (Fig. 2, illustrates Source Base Station communicating with Target Base Station regarding CHO configuration; ¶ [0084] The source base station may identify the target base station is a handover candidate and may communicate a handover request. The target base station may perform admission control based on the received handover request and reserve certain resources for the UE and provide information for random access to the source base station which may be used to configure a first CHO configuration.); and
responsive to communicating with the second network node, determining a delay (read as utilizing timers) associated with the CHO (¶ [0054] CHO configuration may include one or more CHO timer values.; ¶ [0086] The one or more timers may include a validity timer that starts when the handover request is acknowledged to the source base station.),
wherein the conditional reconfiguration delay is a CHO validity delay (read as validity timers) associated with a time duration for which CHO resources in the target network node candidate (read as target cell) have been reserved before a CHO execution occurred (Fig. 6, element 620 Validity Timers; ¶ [0117] The base stations may keep validity timers, and may release CHO configurations of target cells upon expiry of an associated validity timer.).
Purkayastha does not explicitly teach wherein determining the delay comprises determining a conditional reconfiguration delay, and wherein the conditional reconfiguration delay is a preparation delay associated with a time between transmission of the handover (HO) request message and reception of the HO request acknowledge message.
In analogous art, 3GPP TS 36.423 teaches wherein determining the delay comprises determining a conditional reconfiguration delay, and wherein the conditional reconfiguration delay is a preparation delay associated with a time between transmission of the handover (HO) request message and reception of the HO request acknowledge message (§ 8.2.1.2, When the source eNB sends the HANDOVER REQUEST message, it shall start the timer TRELOCprep. Upon reception of the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message the source eNB shall stop the timer TRELOCprep and terminate the Handover Preparation procedure.; § 9.5 Timers, TRELOCprep – Specifies the maximum time for the Handover Preparation procedure in the source eNB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine timers taught by 3GPP TS 36.423 with conditional handover as taught by Purkayastha. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve resource efficiency and optimize handover reliability, which would increase user satisfaction, by using timers to control the duration of pre-allocated resources to prevent stale configurations (3GPP TS 36.423: §§ 8.2.1.1-8.2.1.2).
Purkayastha and 3GPP TS 36.423 do not explicitly teach wherein determining the CHO validity delay comprises measuring at least one of an amount of time between receiving the HO request acknowledge message and receiving the HO success message; and an amount of time between transmitting the HO request message and receiving the HO success message.
In analogous art, Fujishiro teaches wherein determining the CHO validity delay comprises measuring at least one of an amount of time between receiving the HO request acknowledge message and receiving the HO success message (Fig. 12, step S514 Handover Request Acknowledgement (Timer Value); ¶ [0007] The handover acknowledgement includes a timer value corresponding to a holding time during which the target base station holds the context information.; ¶ [0121] The plurality of target eNBs can need to hold the UE context until the UE is handed over to their own cells.; ¶ [0122] The target eNB uses the held UE context for communication with the UE in a case where the UE is handed over to its own cell within the holding time. On the other hand, the target eNB may discard the held UE context in a case where the UE is not handed over to its own cell within the holding time.; ¶ [0145] In step S514, the target eNB transmits a handover request acknowledgement (Ack) message to the source eNB. The target eNB includes a timer value corresponding to the determined holding time.; ¶ [0159] When the random access procedure is completed, the UE establishes an RRC connection with the target eNB. The target eNB transmits a first context release notification indicating that context information of the UE can be released to the source eNB.; ¶ [0160] The source eNB receives the first context release notification.); and
an amount of time between transmitting the HO request message and receiving the HO success message (Fig. 11, step S502 Handover Request (Conditional Handover Information and Timer Value), step S503 Hold UE Context and Start Timer; Fig. 12, step S514 Handover Request Acknowledgement (Timer Value), ¶ [0007] The handover request includes a timer value corresponding to a holding time during which the target base station holds the context information.; ¶ [0130] When the target eNB receives the handover request message, the target eNB holds the UE context included in the handover request message in step S503. In addition, the target eNB starts a timer in which the timer value included in the handover request message is set.; ¶ [0133] The source eNB includes a timer value corresponding to the holding time in the handover command; ¶ [0159] When the random access procedure is completed, the UE establishes an RRC connection with the target eNB. The target eNB transmits a first context release notification indicating that context information of the UE can be released to the source eNB.; ¶ [0160] The source eNB receives the first context release notification.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine holding time taught by Fujishiro with timers taught by 3GPP TS 36.423 and conditional handover as taught by Purkayastha. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve resource efficiency and optimize handover reliability, which would increase user satisfaction, by using timers to control the duration of pre-allocated resources to prevent stale configurations (Fujishiro: ¶ [0202]).
Regarding claim 2, Purkayastha teaches wherein communicating with the second network node (read as target base station) comprises communicating with the second network node to configure the CHO (Fig. 2, illustrates Source Base Station communicating with Target Base Station regarding CHO configuration; ¶ [0084] The source base station may identify the target base station is a handover candidate and may communicate a handover request. The target base station may perform admission control based on the received handover request and reserve certain resources for the UE and provide information for random access to the source base station which may be used to configure a first CHO configuration.).
Regarding claim 3, Purkayastha teaches wherein the first network node is a source network node (read as source base station) and the second network node is a target network node candidate (read as target base station) (Fig. 2, illustrates Source Base Station communicating with Target Base Station; ¶ [0083] A wireless communication system with a source and target base station that supports CHO.).
Regarding claim 4, Purkayastha teaches wherein communicating with the second network node to configure the CHO comprises (Fig. 2, illustrates Source Base Station communicating with Target Base Station regarding CHO configuration): transmitting to the target network node candidate a handover (HO) request message comprising an indication (read as CHO configuration) that the HO request message is associated with a CHO (Fig. 2, illustrates Source Base Station communicating with Target Base Station regarding CHO configuration; ¶ [0084] The source base station may identify the target base station is a handover candidate and may communicate a handover request. The target base station may perform admission control based on the received handover request and reserve certain resources for the UE and provide information for random access to the source base station which may be used to configure a first CHO configuration.; ¶ [0243] The source base station may establish one or more conditional handover configurations with one or more target base stations for a conditional handover of a UE from the source base station to the respective target base station, where each conditional handover configuration includes a conditional handover time period.); and
receiving a HO request acknowledge message from the target network node candidate (read as target base station) (Fig. 5, step 520 Handover Request Acknowledgement; ¶ [0111] The target base station may transmit a handover request acknowledgement to the source base station.).
Regarding claim 7, Purkayastha teaches transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to the communication device (read as UE), the RRC reconfiguration message comprising CHO configuration (Fig. 6, element 615 RRCReconfiguration; ¶ [0118] At 615, the source base station may transmit CHO configuration information to the UE in an RRC reconfiguration message.); and
Purkayastha and 3GPP TS 36.423 do not explicitly teach responsive to transmitting the RRC reconfiguration message, receiving a HO success message from the target network node candidate.
In analogous art, Fujishiro teaches responsive to transmitting the RRC reconfiguration message (read as handover command), receiving a HO success message (read as first context release notification) from the target network node (read as target base station) candidate (Fig. 13, step S536 Handover Command, step S541 Context Release Notification; ¶ [0008] The target base station is configured to transmit, to the source base station, a first context release notification indicating that the context information of the user equipment is releasable in response to the handover. Note that the specification of the instant application, ¶ [0076], states “…HANDOVER SUCCESS message or UE CONTEXT RELEASE message”, which indicates the terms are interchangeable.; ¶ [0132] The source eNB transmits a handover command (RRC connection reconfiguration message).),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine holding time taught by Fujishiro with timers taught by 3GPP TS 36.423 and conditional handover as taught by Purkayastha. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve resource efficiency and optimize handover reliability, which would increase user satisfaction, by using timers to control the duration of pre-allocated resources to prevent stale configurations (Fujishiro: ¶ [0202]).
Regarding claim 10, Purkayastha teaches transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to the communication device (read as UE), the RRC reconfiguration message comprising CHO configuration (Fig. 6, element 615 RRCReconfiguration; ¶ [0118] At 615, the source base station may transmit CHO configuration information to the UE in an RRC reconfiguration message.); and
responsive to transmitting the RRC reconfiguration message, transmitting a HO cancel message (read as indication) to the target network node candidate (read as target base station) (Fig. 7, step 725 RRCReconfiguration, step 740 Handover Cancel; ¶ [0129] At 740, the source base station may transmit a handover cancel indication to the target base station.),
wherein determining the CHO validity delay (read as validity timer) comprises measuring an amount of time between transmitting the HO request message and transmitting the HO cancel message (read as transmit an explicit release) (¶ [0086] The one or more timers may include a validity timer that starts when the handover request is acknowledged to the source base station. The source base station may transmit an explicit release of the CHO configuration for the target base station with the expired validity timer.).
Regarding claim 12, Purkayastha and 3GPP TS 36.423 do not explicitly teach wherein determining the CHO validity delay comprises measuring an amount of time between transmitting the HO request message and an internal event of the source network node; or wherein determining the conditional reconfiguration delay comprises determining a CHO execution delay upon reception of a HO success message.
In analogous art, Fujishiro teaches wherein determining the CHO validity delay (read as holding time) comprises measuring an amount of time between transmitting the HO request message and an internal event (read as context release notification) of the source network node (Fig. 12, step S514 Handover Request Acknowledgement (Timer Value); ¶ [0007] The handover acknowledgement includes a timer value corresponding to a holding time during which the target base station holds the context information.; ¶ [0145] In step S514, the target eNB transmits a handover request acknowledgement (Ack) message to the source eNB. The target eNB includes a timer value corresponding to the determined holding time.; ¶ [0159] The target eNB transmits a first context release notification indicating that context information of the UE can be released to the source eNB.); or
wherein determining the conditional reconfiguration delay comprises determining a CHO execution delay upon reception of a HO success message (read as handover execution notification) (Fig. 11, step S502 Handover Request (Conditional Handover Information and Timer Value), step S503 Hold UE Context and Start Timer; Fig. 13, step S538 Handover Notification; ¶ [0008] The context information of the user equipment is releasable in response to the handover.; ¶ [0130] When the target eNB receives the handover request message, the target eNB holds the UE context included in the handover request message in step S503. In addition, the target eNB starts a timer in which the timer value included in the handover request message is set.; ¶ [0133] The source eNB includes a timer value corresponding to the holding time in the handover command; ¶ [0157] The UE executes the handover, the UE transmits a notification indicating the execution of the handover (handover execution notification) to the source eNB in step S538.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine holding time taught by Fujishiro with timers taught by 3GPP TS 36.423 and conditional handover as taught by Purkayastha. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve resource efficiency and optimize handover reliability, which would increase user satisfaction, by using timers to control the duration of pre-allocated resources to prevent stale configurations (Fujishiro: ¶ [0202]).
Regarding claim 15, Purkayastha teaches wherein the second network node is a target network node candidate (read as target base station) and the first network node is a source network node (read as source base station) (Fig. 2, illustrates Source Base Station communicating with Target Base Station; ¶ [0083] A wireless communication system with a source and target base station that supports CHO.),
wherein communicating with the second network node to configure the CHO comprises (Fig. 2, illustrates Source Base Station communicating with Target Base Station regarding CHO configuration):
receiving from the source network node a HO request message comprising an indication (read as CHO configuration) that the HO request message is associated with a CHO (Fig. 2, illustrates Source Base Station communicating with Target Base Station regarding CHO configuration; ¶ [0084] The source base station may identify the target base station is a handover candidate and may communicate a handover request. The target base station may perform admission control based on the received handover request and reserve certain resources for the UE and provide information for random access to the source base station which may be used to configure a first CHO configuration.; ¶ [0243] The source base station may establish one or more conditional handover configurations with one or more target base stations for a conditional handover of a UE from the source base station to the respective target base station, where each conditional handover configuration includes a conditional handover time period.); and
transmitting a HO request acknowledge message to the source network node (read as source base station) (Fig. 5, step 520 Handover Request Acknowledgement; ¶ [0111] The target base station may transmit a handover request acknowledgement to the source base station.), and
Purkayastha does not explicitly teach wherein the conditional reconfiguration delay is a preparation delay associated with a time between receiving the HO request message and transmitting the HO request acknowledge message.
In analogous art, 3GPP TS 36.423 teaches wherein the conditional reconfiguration delay is a preparation delay associated with a time between receiving the HO request message and transmitting the HO request acknowledge message (§ 8.2.1.2, When the source eNB sends the HANDOVER REQUEST message, it shall start the timer TRELOCprep. Upon reception of the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message the source eNB shall stop the timer TRELOCprep and terminate the Handover Preparation procedure.; § 9.5 Timers, TRELOCprep – Specifies the maximum time for the Handover Preparation procedure in the source eNB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine timers taught by 3GPP TS 36.423 with conditional handover as taught by Purkayastha. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve resource efficiency and optimize handover reliability, which would increase user satisfaction, by using timers to control the duration of pre-allocated resources to prevent stale configurations (3GPP TS 36.423: §§ 8.2.1.1-8.2.1.2).
Regarding claim 17, Purkayastha teaches wherein the second network node is a target network node candidate (read as target base station) and the first network node is a source network node (read as source base station) (Fig. 2, illustrates Source Base Station communicating with Target Base Station; ¶ [0083] A wireless communication system with a source and target base station that supports CHO.), and
wherein the conditional reconfiguration delay is a CHO validity delay (read as validity timers) associated with a time duration for which CHO resources in the target network node candidate (read as target cell) have been reserved before a CHO execution occurred (Fig. 6, element 620 Validity Timers; ¶ [0117] The base stations may keep validity timers, and may release CHO configurations of target cells upon expiry of an associated validity timer.),
receiving a HO cancel message (read as indication) from the source network node (read as source base station) (Fig. 7, step 740 Handover Cancel; ¶ [0129] The source base station may transmit a handover cancel indication to the target base station.),
the method further comprising either:
Purkayastha and 3GPP TS 36.423 do not explicitly teach performing a HO for the communication device and transmitting a HO success message to the source network node, or wherein determining the CHO validity delay comprises measuring at least one of an amount of time between transmitting the HO request acknowledge message and transmitting the HO success message; and an amount of time between receiving the HO request message and transmitting the HO success message.
In analogous art, Fujishiro teaches performing a HO for the communication device (read as UE) and transmitting a HO success message (read as context release notification) to the source network node (Fig. 13, step S537 Is Handover Executed? Yes, step S540 connection between UE and Target eNB, step S541 Context Release Notification; ¶ [0150] UE executes a handover to one target eNB.; ¶ [0159] The UE establishes an RRC connection with the target eNB in step S540. The target eNB transmits a context release notification to the source eNB in step S541. Note that the specification of the instant application, ¶ [0076], states “…HANDOVER SUCCESS message or UE CONTEXT RELEASE message”, which indicates the terms are interchangeable.),
wherein determining the CHO validity delay (read as holding time) comprises measuring at least one of an amount of time between transmitting the HO request acknowledge message and transmitting the HO success message (Fig. 12, step S514 Handover Request Acknowledgement (Timer Value); ¶ [0007] The handover acknowledgement includes a timer value corresponding to a holding time during which the target base station holds the context information.; ¶ [0145] In step S514, the target eNB transmits a handover request acknowledgement (Ack) message to the source eNB. The target eNB includes a timer value corresponding to the determined holding time.; ¶ [0159] The target eNB transmits a first context release notification indicating that context information of the UE can be released to the source eNB., ¶ [0160] The source eNB discards the UE context held by the source eNB.); and
an amount of time between receiving the HO request message and transmitting the HO success message (Fig. 11, step S502 Handover Request (Conditional Handover Information and Timer Value), step S503 Hold UE Context and Start Timer; Fig. 12, step S514 Handover Request Acknowledgement (Timer Value), ¶ [0007] The handover request includes a timer value corresponding to a holding time during which the target base station holds the context information.; ¶ [0130] When the target eNB receives the handover request message, the target eNB holds the UE context included in the handover request message in step S503. In addition, the target eNB starts a timer in which the timer value included in the handover request message is set.; ¶ [0133] The source eNB includes a timer value corresponding to the holding time in the handover command; ¶ [0159] The target eNB transmits a first context release notification indicating that context information of the UE can be released to the source eNB., ¶ [0160] The source eNB discards the UE context held by the source eNB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine holding time taught by Fujishiro with timers taught by 3GPP TS 36.423 and conditional handover as taught by Purkayastha. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve resource efficiency and optimize handover reliability, which would increase user satisfaction, by using timers to control the duration of pre-allocated resources to prevent stale configurations (Fujishiro: ¶ [0202]).
Regarding claim 27, Purkayastha teaches wherein communicating with the second network node (read as target base station) comprises communicating a message with the second network node during configuration of the CHO for the communication device (Fig. 2, illustrates Source Base Station communicating with Target Base Station regarding CHO configuration during configuration of the communication device; ¶ [0084] The source base station may identify the target base station is a handover candidate and may communicate a handover request. The target base station may perform admission control based on the received handover request and reserve certain resources for the UE and provide information for random access to the source base station which may be used to configure a first CHO configuration.; ¶ [0085] The source base station may provide CHO configurations to the UE.),
the message comprising information associated with a conditional reconfiguration delay (¶ [0054] CHO configuration may include one or more CHO timer values.; ¶ [0086] The one or more timers may include a validity timer that starts when the handover request is acknowledged to the source base station.).,
wherein determining the delay comprises determining a timer value associated with the CHO (¶ [0054] CHO configuration may include one or more CHO timer values.; ¶ [0086] The one or more timers may include a validity timer that starts when the handover request is acknowledged to the source base station. The source base station may determine a duration of the validity timer.).
the method further comprising:
responsive to determining the timer value, transmitting to the communication device (read as UE) a conditional reconfiguration message (read as CHO configuration) comprising the timer value (¶ [0085] The source base station may provide CHO configurations to the UE.; ¶ [0086] The source base station may determine a duration of the validity timer.),
wherein the first network node is a source network node (read as source base station) and the second network node is a target network node candidate (read as target base station) (Fig. 2, illustrates Source Base Station communicating with Target Base Station; ¶ [0083] A wireless communication system with a source and target base station that supports CHO.),
wherein communicating the message with the second network node comprises transmitting a HO request message to the target network node candidate (Fig. 2, illustrates Source Base Station communicating with Target Base Station regarding CHO configuration; ¶ [0084] The source base station may identify the target base station is a handover candidate and may communicate a handover request.),
the HO request message comprising the information associated with the conditional reconfiguration delay (read as conditional handover time period) (¶ [0243] The source base station may establish one or more conditional handover configurations with one or more target base stations for a conditional handover of a UE from the source base station to the respective target base station, where each conditional handover configuration includes a conditional handover time period.), and
Purkayastha and 3GPP TS 36.423 do not explicitly teach wherein determining the timer value associated with the CHO comprises receiving a HO request acknowledge message from the target network node candidate, the HO request acknowledge message comprising the timer value.
In analogous art, Fujishiro teaches wherein determining the timer value associated with the CHO comprises receiving a HO request acknowledge message from the target network node candidate, the HO request acknowledge message comprising the timer value (Fig. 12, step S514 Handover Request Acknowledgement (Timer Value); ¶ [0145] The target eNB includes a timer value in the handover request acknowledgement message.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine holding time taught by Fujishiro with timers taught by 3GPP TS 36.423 and conditional handover as taught by Purkayastha. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve resource efficiency and optimize handover reliability, which would increase user satisfaction, by using timers to control the duration of pre-allocated resources to prevent stale configurations (Fujishiro: ¶ [0202]).
Regarding claim 35, Purkayastha teaches wherein communicating with the second network node (read as source base station) comprises communicating a message (read as handover request) with the second network node during configuration of the CHO for the communication device (Fig. 2, illustrates Source Base Station communicating with Target Base Station regarding CHO configuration; ¶ [0084] The source base station may identify the target base station is a handover candidate and may communicate a handover request. The target base station may perform admission control based on the received handover request and reserve certain resources for the UE and provide information for random access to the source base station which may be used to configure a first CHO configuration.),
the message comprising information associated with a conditional reconfiguration delay (¶ [0054] CHO configuration may include one or more CHO timer values.; ¶ [0086] The one or more timers may include a validity timer that starts when the handover request is acknowledged to the source base station.),
wherein determining the delay comprises determining a timer value associated with the CHO (¶ [0054] CHO configuration may include one or more CHO timer values.),
the method further comprising:
responsive to determining the timer value, transmitting to the communication device (read as UE) a conditional reconfiguration message (read as CHO configuration) comprising the timer value (Fig. 5, step 525 RRCReconfiguration (valTimer_TgNB); ¶ [0109] The handover request may include handover information associated with the UE and may include a time duration for a validity timer.; ¶ [0112] The base station may transmit CHO configuration to the UE. The CHO configuration to the UE includes a validity timer.),
wherein the first network node is a target network node candidate (read as target base station) and the second network node is a source network node (read as source base station) (Fig. 2, illustrates Source Base Station communicating with Target Base Station; ¶ [0083] A wireless communication system with a source and target base station that supports CHO.),
the method further comprising either:
responsive to determining (read as receiving) the timer value, starting a timer (Fig. 22, step 2210 Transmit the conditional handover timer value for completing the conditional handover of the UE to the associated target base station.; ¶ [0247] The conditional handover timer value for completing the conditional handover of the UE to the associated target base station.; ¶ [0249] Starting a first conditional handover timer.); and
responsive to the timer exceeding the timer value (read as expiration), releasing CHO resources (read as deconfigure the associated CHO configuration) (¶ [0086] Deconfigure the associated CHO configuration upon expiration of the associated validity timer.); or
performing an admission control procedure based on information derived from the conditional reconfiguration delay; and transmitting a HO request acknowledge message or a HO reject message based on a result of the admission control procedure (MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009)).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purkayastha in view of 3GPP TS 36.423 further in view of Fujishiro and Yiu et al. (US 2022/0070746 A1; hereinafter Yiu).
Regarding claim 24, Purkayastha teaches wherein the second network node is a target network node candidate (read as target base station) and the first network node is a source network node (read as source base station) (Fig. 2, illustrates Source Base Station communicating with Target Base Station; ¶ [0083] A wireless communication system with a source and target base station that supports CHO.), and
the method further comprising:
performing an admission control procedure based on information derived from the conditional reconfiguration delay (¶ [0092] The handover requests may include handover information associated with the UE and may also include time duration for a validity timer.; ¶ [0093] The first target base station may perform admission control responsive to receiving the handover request.); and
transmitting a HO request acknowledge message or a HO reject message based on a result of the admission control procedure (¶ [0093] The first target base station may perform admission control responsive to receiving the handover request.; ¶ [0094] The target base station may transmit a handover request acknowledgement.).
Purkayastha, 3GPP TS 36.423, and Fujishiro do not explicitly teach wherein determining the conditional reconfiguration delay comprises determining a time between receiving a preamble transmission attempt from the communication device and receiving a RRC reconfiguration complete message from the communication device,
In analogous art, Yiu teaches wherein determining the conditional reconfiguration delay comprises determining a time between receiving a preamble transmission attempt from the communication device (read as UE) and receiving a RRC reconfiguration complete message from the communication device (FIG. 3, step 338 RRCConnectionConfigurationComplete; ¶ [0050] The target cell sends a HO acknowledgement. HO ACK signaling may include a HO command including a RACH resource (contention-free RACH preamble); a timer to indicate how long the RACH resource can be valid.; ¶ [0061] Random access procedure can take place between the UE and the first target cell. The UE can communicate a handover complete message to the first target cell, such as an RRC Connection Reconfiguration Complete message.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine determining the time between preamble transmission and RRC reconfiguration complete message taught by Yiu with holding time taught by Fujishiro, timers taught by 3GPP TS 36.423, and conditional handover as taught by Purkayastha. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve resource optimization and handover reliability, which would increase user satisfaction, by using the measurable delay between know signaling events to adjust handover configuration to avoid excessive resource reservation times (Yiu: ¶ [0043], ¶ [0063], and ¶¶ [0075-0076]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purkayastha in view of 3GPP TS 36.423 further in view of Fujishiro, Tamura et al. (US 2022/0279414 A1; hereinafter Tamura), and Kim et al. (US 2017/0230240 A1; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 26, Purkayastha, 3GPP TS 36.423, Fujishiro do not explicitly teach providing the conditional reconfiguration delay to at least one of: an operation and maintenance (OAM) node; and a self-organizing network (SON) function node.
In analogous art, Tamura teaches providing the conditional reconfiguration delay (read as resource information or parameter) to at least one of:
an operation and maintenance (OAM) node (¶ [0336] The resource information may be transmitted to the control apparatus via operations, administration, and maintenance (OAM).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine providing conditional reconfiguration delay to an OAM node taught by Tamura with holding time taught by Fujishiro, timers taught by 3GPP TS 36.423 and conditional handover as taught by Purkayastha. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce handover failures, which would increase user satisfaction, by collecting the timing delay metrics centrally to optimize mobility parameters across cells (Tamura: ¶¶ [0006-0007]).
Purkayastha, 3GPP TS 36.423 and Tamura do not explicitly teach a self-organizing network (SON) function node.
In analogous art, Kim teaches a self-organizing network (SON) function node (¶ [0016] There is provided an operating method of a management system in an SON, including receiving a parameter setting message from a server.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine providing parameters to a SON node taught by Kim with providing conditional reconfiguration delay to an OAM node taught by Tamura, holding time taught by Fujishiro, timers taught by 3GPP TS 36.423, and conditional handover as taught by Purkayastha. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce handover failures, minimize signaling overhead, and improve mobility robustness , which would increase user satisfaction, by using provided parameters to reconfigure CHO related parameters (Kim: ¶ [0005]).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purkayastha in view of 3GPP TS 36.423 further in view of Fujishiro and Latheef et al. (US 2020/0314947 A1; hereinafter Latheef).
Regarding claim 32, Purkayastha teaches wherein communicating with the second network node (read as source base station) comprises communicating a message (read as handover request) with the second network node during configuration of the CHO for the communication device (Fig. 2, illustrates Source Base Station communicating with Target Base Station regarding CHO configuration; ¶ [0084] The source base station may identify the target base station is a handover candidate and may communicate a handover request. The target base station may perform admission control based on the received handover request and reserve certain resources for the UE and provide information for random access to the source base station which may be used to configure a first CHO configuration.) ,
the message comprising information associated with a conditional reconfiguration delay (¶ [0054] CHO configuration may include one or more CHO timer values.; ¶ [0086] The one or more timers may include a validity timer that starts when the handover request is acknowledged to the source base station.),
wherein determining the delay comprises determining a timer value associated with the CHO (¶ [0054] CHO configuration may include one or more CHO timer values.),
the method further comprising:
responsive to determining the timer value, transmitting to the communication device (read as UE) a conditional reconfiguration message (read as CHO configuration) comprising the timer value (Fig. 5, step 525 RRCReconfiguration (valTimer_TgNB); ¶ [0109] The handover request may include handover information associated with the UE and may include a time duration for a validity timer.; ¶ [0112] The base station may transmit CHO configuration to the UE. The CHO configuration to the UE includes a validity timer.,
wherein the first network node is a target network node candidate (read as target base station) and the second network node is a source network node (read as source base station) (Fig. 2, illustrates Source Base Station communicating with Target Base Station; ¶ [0083] A wireless communication system with a source and target base station that supports CHO.),
wherein communicating the message with the second network node comprises receiving a HO request message from the source network node (read as source base station) (Fig. 5, step 510 Handover Request; ¶ [0109] The source base station may transmit a handover request.),
the HO request message comprising the information associated with the conditional reconfiguration delay (¶ [0109] The handover request may include handover information and a time duration for a validity timer.),
wherein determining the timer value associated with the conditional reconfiguration delay comprises determining the timer value based on the information associated with the conditional reconfiguration delay (¶ [0054] CHO configuration may include one or more CHO timer values.; ¶ [0086] The one or more timers may include a validity timer that starts when the handover request is acknowledged to the source base station.),
wherein the conditional reconfiguration delay comprises at least one of a
a CHO validity delay (¶ [0086] The one or more timers may include a validity timer that starts when the handover request is acknowledged to the source base station.),
Purkayastha does not explicitly teach preparation delay and a CHO execution delay; wherein determining the timer value based on the information associated with the conditional reconfiguration delay comprises comparing the information. associated with the conditional reconfiguration delay with previous information associated with previous conditional reconfiguration delays; transmitting a HO request acknowledge message from the target network node candidate, the HO request acknowledge message comprising the timer value.
In analogous art, 3GPP TS 36.423 teaches preparation delay (§ 8.2.1.2, When the source eNB sends the HANDOVER REQUEST message, it shall start the timer TRELOCprep. Upon reception of the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message the source eNB shall stop the timer TRELOCprep and terminate the Handover Preparation procedure.; § 9.5 Timers, TRELOCprep – Specifies the maximum time for the Handover Preparation procedure in the source eNB.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine timers taught by 3GPP TS 36.423 with conditional handover as taught by Purkayastha. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve resource efficiency and optimize handover reliability, which would increase user satisfaction, by using timers to control the duration of pre-allocated resources to prevent stale configurations (3GPP TS 36.423: §§ 8.2.1.1-8.2.1.2).
Purkayastha and 3GPP TS 36.423 do not explicitly teach preparation delay and a CHO execution delay; wherein determining the timer value based on the information associated with the conditional reconfiguration delay comprises comparing the information. associated with the conditional reconfiguration delay with previous information associated with previous conditional reconfiguration delays; transmitting a HO request acknowledge message from the target network node candidate, the HO request acknowledge message comprising the timer value.
In analogous art, Fujishiro teaches a CHO execution delay (Fig. 11, step S502 Handover Request (Conditional Handover Information and Timer Value), step S503 Hold UE Context and Start Timer; Fig. 13, step S538 Handover Notification; ¶ [0008] The context information of the user equipment is releasable in response to the handover.; ¶ [0130] When the target eNB receives the handover request message, the target eNB holds the UE context included in the handover request message in step S503. In addition, the target eNB starts a timer in which the timer value included in the handover request message is set.; ¶ [0133] The source eNB includes a timer value corresponding to the holding time in the handover command; ¶ [0157] The UE executes the handover, the UE transmits a notification indicating the execution of the handover (handover execution notification) to the source eNB in step S538.),
transmitting a HO request acknowledge message from the target network node candidate, the HO request acknowledge message comprising the timer value (Fig. 12, step S514 Handover Request Acknowledgement (Timer Value); ¶ [0007] The handover acknowledgement includes a timer value.; ¶ [0145] In step S514, the target eNB transmits a handover request acknowledgement (Ack) message to the source eNB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine holding time taught by Fujishiro with timers taught by 3GPP TS 36.423 and conditional handover as taught by Purkayastha. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve resource efficiency and optimize handover reliability, which would increase user satisfaction, by using timers to control the duration of pre-allocated resources to prevent stale configurations (Fujishiro: ¶ [0202]).
Purkayastha, 3GPP TS 36.423, and Fujishiro do not explicitly teach wherein determining the timer value based on the information associated with the conditional reconfiguration delay comprises comparing the information associated with the conditional reconfiguration delay with previous information associated with previous conditional reconfiguration delays.
In analogous art, Latheef teaches wherein determining the timer value based on the information associated with the conditional reconfiguration delay comprises comparing the information associated with the conditional reconfiguration delay with previous information associated with previous conditional reconfiguration delays (read as compared to the previous CHO configuration) (¶ [0014] Continue a timer on the source cell, in response to determining that the CHO configuration is provided in the handover configuration.; ¶ [0069] The CHO configuration is a delta configuration.; ¶ [0129] Delta compared to the previous CHO configuration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine comparing CHO configuration with previous CHO configuration taught by Latheef with holding time taught by Fujishiro, timers taught by 3GPP TS 36.423, and conditional handover as taught by Purkayastha. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reducing latency and handover failure, which would increase user satisfaction, by optimizing the timer value based on historical performance (Latheef: ¶ [0053]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Balan et al. (US 2021/0029600 A1) discloses “Determination for Conditional Handover Failure”
Chang et al. (US 2021/0337443 A1) discloses “Method Performed by User Equipment, User Equipment, and Handover Command Generation Method”
Wu et al. (US 2022/0303847 A1) discloses “Method and Apparatus for Controlling a Cell Selection Procedure and a Handover Procedure”
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464