Detailed Action
Remarks
Newly submitted claim limitation “the first inorganic layer is prepared by an atomic layer deposition (ALD) process” directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: The first inorganic layer can be formed by deposition processes other than ALD. For example, Guo (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0226159) of record discloses layers can be formed by CVD, ALD or PVD [0058].
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, the claim limitation “the first inorganic layer is prepared by an atomic layer deposition (ALD) process” withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 6, 10 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0296268) of record, in view of Guo (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0226159) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG.1 of Ni discloses an OLED display substrate, comprising: a drive substrate [0020], the drive substrate being provided with a light-emitting unit (11); and an encapsulation structure (12) covering the light-emitting unit; wherein the encapsulation structure comprises a first inorganic structure (121), an organic layer (122) and a second inorganic structure (123) that are arranged in sequence along a direction away from the drive substrate; a refractive index of the first inorganic structure is higher than a refractive index of the organic layer [0008], wherein the refractive index of the organic layer is 1.6-2.0 [0028].
Ni is silent with respect to “the first inorganic structure comprises a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate; the first inorganic layer is arranged between the drive substrate and the second inorganic layer along the direction away from the drive substrate; a refractive index of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index of the second inorganic layer, and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 100nm” and the refractive index of the first inorganic layer “is lower than 1.6, wherein a difference between the refractive index of the second inorganic layer and the refractive index of the organic layer is smaller than 0.15 a thickness of the second inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm; or, wherein a difference between the refractive index of the second inorganic layer and the refractive index of the organic layer is larger than 0.4, a thickness of the second inorganic layer is larger than 1500 nm”.
FIG. 5 of Guo discloses a similar OLED display substrate, wherein the first inorganic structure (11) comprises a first inorganic layer (11b) and a second inorganic layer (11a) that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate; the first inorganic layer is arranged between the drive substrate and the second inorganic layer along the direction away from the drive substrate; a refractive index (1.3-1.5) of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index (1.7-1.9) of the second inorganic layer and is lower than 1.6 [0041]; a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 100nm; and a thickness of the second inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm [0018]. Moreover, the refractive index of the organic layer of Ni is 1.6-2.0, and the refractive index of the second inorganic layer of Guo is 1.7-1.9. Therefore, a combination of Ni and Guo discloses a difference between the refractive index of the second inorganic layer and the refractive index of the organic layer is smaller than 0.15.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ni, as taught by Guo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Ni in the above manner for purpose of blocking water, oxygen, and ultraviolet radiation ([0004] of Guo).
The limitation “the first inorganic layer is prepared by an atomic layer deposition (ALD) process” is considered to be a process or functional limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 6
Ni discloses a thickness of the organic layer is larger than 6000 nm [0029].
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 1 of Ni discloses a display device, comprising the OLED display substrate according to Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 1 of Ni discloses a method for manufacturing an OLED display substrate, comprising: providing a drive substrate [0020]; forming a light-emitting unit (11) on the drive substrate; and forming an encapsulation structure covering the light-emitting unit; wherein the forming the encapsulation structure comprises: forming a first inorganic structure (121), an organic layer (122) and a second inorganic structure (123) in sequence, wherein a refractive index of the first inorganic structure is higher than a refractive index of the organic layer [0008], the first inorganic structure comprises at least one inorganic layer, and a thickness of one inorganic layer of the at least one inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm [0029], wherein the refractive index of the organic layer is 1.6-2.0 [0028].
Ni is silent with respect to “the first inorganic structure comprises a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate; the first inorganic layer is arranged between the drive substrate and the second inorganic layer along the direction away from the drive substrate; a refractive index of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index of the second inorganic layer, and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 100nm” and the refractive index of the first inorganic layer “is lower than 1.6, wherein a difference between the refractive index of the second inorganic layer and the refractive index of the organic layer is smaller than 0.15 a thickness of the second inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm; or, wherein a difference between the refractive index of the second inorganic layer and the refractive index of the organic layer is larger than 0.4, a thickness of the second inorganic layer is larger than 1500 nm”.
FIG. 5 of Guo discloses a similar OLED display substrate, wherein the first inorganic structure (11) comprises a first inorganic layer (11b) and a second inorganic layer (11a) that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate; the first inorganic layer is arranged between the drive substrate and the second inorganic layer along the direction away from the drive substrate; a refractive index (1.3-1.5) of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index (1.7-1.9) of the second inorganic layer and is lower than 1.6 [0041]; a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 100nm; and a thickness of the second inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm [0018]. Moreover, the refractive index of the organic layer of Ni is 1.6-2.0, and the refractive index of the second inorganic layer of Guo is 1.7-1.9. Therefore, a combination of Ni and Guo discloses a difference between the refractive index of the second inorganic layer and the refractive index of the organic layer is smaller than 0.15.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ni, as taught by Guo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Ni in the above manner for purpose of blocking water, oxygen, and ultraviolet radiation ([0004] of Guo).
Pertinent Art
Pertinent art includes Li (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0375060), Choi (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0043998), Zhang (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0083490), Huang (CN 110148684), Jin (CN 111063825), Gu (CN 106450035) and Pu (CN 109285958).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897