Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 3, 11 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0296268) of record, in view of Huang (CN 110148684) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG.1 of Ni discloses an OLED display substrate, comprising: a drive substrate [0020], the drive substrate being provided with a light-emitting unit (11); and an encapsulation structure (12) covering the light-emitting unit; wherein the encapsulation structure comprises a first inorganic structure (121), an organic layer (122) and a second inorganic structure (123) that are arranged in sequence along a direction away from the drive substrate; a refractive index of the first inorganic structure is higher than a refractive index of the organic layer [0008], the first inorganic structure comprises at least one inorganic layer, and a thickness of one inorganic layer of the at least one inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm [0029], and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm [0029].
Ni is silent with respect to “the first inorganic structure comprises a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate, a refractive index of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index of the second inorganic layer”.
FIG. 4 of Huang discloses a similar OLED display substrate, wherein the first inorganic structure comprises a first inorganic layer (311) and a second inorganic layer (310) that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate, a refractive index (1.8-1.9) of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index (2.0-2.2) of the second inorganic layer, and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm (the thickness of the first inorganic layer is greater than or equal to 0.01um, less than or equal to 0.1um).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ni, as taught by Huang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Ni in the above manner for purpose of solving problems caused from separating and packaging (Abstract of Huang).
Regarding Claim 3
Huang discloses the thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 100 nm, and a thickness of the second inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm [0011].
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 1 of Ni discloses a method for manufacturing an OLED display substrate, comprising: providing a drive substrate [0020]; forming a light-emitting unit (11) on the drive substrate; and forming an encapsulation structure covering the light-emitting unit; wherein the forming the encapsulation structure comprises: forming a first inorganic structure (121), an organic layer (122) and a second inorganic structure (123) in sequence, wherein a refractive index of the first inorganic structure is higher than a refractive index of the organic layer [0008], the first inorganic structure comprises at least one inorganic layer, and a thickness of one inorganic layer of the at least one inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm [0029], and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm [0029].
Ni is silent with respect to “forming a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate, a refractive index of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index of the second inorganic layer”.
FIG. 4 of Huang discloses a similar OLED display substrate, comprising forming a first inorganic layer (311) and a second inorganic layer (310) that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate, a refractive index of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index of the second inorganic layer, a refractive index (1.8-1.9) of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index (2.0-2.2) of the second inorganic layer, and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm (the thickness of the first inorganic layer is greater than or equal to 0.01um, less than or equal to 0.1um).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ni, as taught by Huang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Ni in the above manner for purpose of solving problems caused from separating and packaging (Abstract of Huang).
Regarding Claim 14
Huang discloses the forming the first inorganic layer comprises: forming the first inorganic layer in an atomic layer deposition (ALD) manner.
Claims 1, 4-8, 10 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni, in view of Pu (CN 109285958, machina-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG.1 of Ni discloses an OLED display substrate, comprising: a drive substrate [0020], the drive substrate being provided with a light-emitting unit (11); and an encapsulation structure (12) covering the light-emitting unit; wherein the encapsulation structure comprises a first inorganic structure (121), an organic layer (122) and a second inorganic structure (123) that are arranged in sequence along a direction away from the drive substrate; a refractive index of the first inorganic structure is higher than a refractive index of the organic layer [0008], the first inorganic structure comprises at least one inorganic layer, and a thickness of one inorganic layer of the at least one inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm [0029], and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm [0029].
Ni is silent with respect to “the first inorganic structure comprises a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate, a refractive index of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index of the second inorganic layer”.
FIG. 12 of Pu discloses a similar OLED display substrate, wherein along the direction away from the drive substrate, the first inorganic structure comprises a first inorganic layer (301) and a second inorganic layer (302) that are laminated, a refractive index (1.7-1.9) of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index (1.9-2.4) of the second inorganic layer (Table 1), and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm (~150nm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ni, as taught by Pu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Ni in the above manner for purpose of avoiding water intrusion and improving bending resistance (Abstract of Pu).
Regarding Claim 4
Ni discloses a difference between the refractive index of the second inorganic layer and the refractive index of the organic layer is smaller than a preset threshold.
Regarding Claim 5
Ni discloses the preset threshold is 0.15 [0027].
Regarding Claim 6
Ni discloses a thickness of the organic layer is larger than 6000 nm [0029].
Regarding Claim 7
Ni discloses a thickness of the second organic layer is 10 nm to 50000 nm [0029].
Regarding Claim 8
Ni discloses a thickness of the second organic layer is larger than 1500 nm [0029].
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 1 of Ni discloses a display device, comprising the OLED display substrate according to Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 1 of Ni discloses a method for manufacturing an OLED display substrate, comprising: providing a drive substrate [0020]; forming a light-emitting unit (11) on the drive substrate; and forming an encapsulation structure covering the light-emitting unit; wherein the forming the encapsulation structure comprises: forming a first inorganic structure (121), an organic layer (122) and a second inorganic structure (123) in sequence, wherein a refractive index of the first inorganic structure is higher than a refractive index of the organic layer [0008], the first inorganic structure comprises at least one inorganic layer, and a thickness of one inorganic layer of the at least one inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm [0029], and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm [0029].
Ni is silent with respect to “forming a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate, a refractive index of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index of the second inorganic layer”.
FIG. 12 of Pu discloses a similar OLED display substrate, wherein along the direction away from the drive substrate, the first inorganic structure comprises a first inorganic layer (301) and a second inorganic layer (302) that are laminated, a refractive index (1.7-1.9) of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index (1.9-2.4) of the second inorganic layer (Table 1), and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm (~150nm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ni, as taught by Pu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Ni in the above manner for purpose of avoiding water intrusion and improving bending resistance (Abstract of Pu).
Claims 1, 10 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (CN 111063825) of record, in view of Gu (CN 106450035, machina-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG.3 of Jin discloses an OLED display substrate, comprising: a drive substrate (300), the drive substrate being provided with a light-emitting unit (400); and an encapsulation structure (100) covering the light-emitting unit; wherein the encapsulation structure comprises a first inorganic structure (110), an organic layer (120) and a second inorganic structure (130) that are arranged in sequence along a direction away from the drive substrate; a refractive index of the first inorganic structure is higher than a refractive index of the organic layer (Abstract), the first inorganic structure comprises at least one inorganic layer.
Jin is silent with respect to “a thickness of one inorganic layer of the at least one inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm” and “the first inorganic structure comprises a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate, a refractive index of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index of the second inorganic layer, and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm”.
FIG. 2 of Gu discloses a similar OLED display substrate, wherein the first inorganic structure comprises a first inorganic layer (Al2O3 511) and a second inorganic layer (TiO2 512) that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate, a refractive index (1.52-1.77) of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index (2.49-2.71) of the second inorganic layer, and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm (30-100nm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jin, as taught by Gu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jin in the above manner for purpose of reducing the risk of splitting or peeling due to stress (Abstract of Gu).
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 3 of Jin discloses a display device, comprising the OLED display substrate according to Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG.3 of Jin discloses a method for manufacturing an OLED display substrate, comprising: providing a drive substrate (300); forming a light-emitting unit (400) on the drive substrate; and forming an encapsulation structure covering the light-emitting unit; wherein the forming the encapsulation structure comprises: forming a first inorganic structure (110), an organic layer (120) and a second inorganic structure (130) in sequence, wherein a refractive index of the first inorganic structure is higher than a refractive index of the organic layer, the first inorganic structure comprises at least one inorganic layer.
Jin is silent with respect to “a thickness of one inorganic layer of the at least one inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm” and “forming a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate, a refractive index of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index of the second inorganic layer, and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm”.
FIG. 2 of Gu discloses a similar OLED display substrate, wherein the first inorganic structure comprises a first inorganic layer (Al2O3 511) and a second inorganic layer (TiO2 512) that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate, a refractive index (1.52-1.77) of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index (2.49-2.71) of the second inorganic layer, and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm (30-100nm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jin, as taught by Gu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jin in the above manner for purpose of reducing the risk of splitting or peeling due to stress (Abstract of Gu).
Claims 1 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin, in view of Zhang (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0083490) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG.3 of Jin discloses an OLED display substrate, comprising: a drive substrate (300), the drive substrate being provided with a light-emitting unit (400); and an encapsulation structure (100) covering the light-emitting unit; wherein the encapsulation structure comprises a first inorganic structure (110), an organic layer (120) and a second inorganic structure (130) that are arranged in sequence along a direction away from the drive substrate; a refractive index of the first inorganic structure is higher than a refractive index of the organic layer (Abstract), the first inorganic structure comprises at least one inorganic layer.
Jin is silent with respect to “a thickness of one inorganic layer of the at least one inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm” and “the first inorganic structure comprises a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate, a refractive index of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index of the second inorganic layer, and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm”.
FIG. 2 of Zhang discloses a similar organic light emitting diode display device, comprising a thickness of one inorganic layer of the at least one inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm [0054]. Zhang further discloses a refractive index of the first inorganic layer gradually decreases along a direction from the substrate to the OLED layer [0011]. Therefore, the first inorganic structure comprises a first inorganic layer (portion of the first inorganic structure 130 having lower refractive index) and a second inorganic layer (portion of the first inorganic structure 130 having higher refractive index) that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate, a refractive index of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index of the second inorganic layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jin, as taught by Zhang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jin in the above manner for purpose of increasing stability and light performance of display panel ([0032] of Zhang).
Regarding Claim 11
FIG.3 of Jin discloses a method for manufacturing an OLED display substrate, comprising: providing a drive substrate (300); forming a light-emitting unit (400) on the drive substrate; and forming an encapsulation structure covering the light-emitting unit; wherein the forming the encapsulation structure comprises: forming a first inorganic structure (110), an organic layer (120) and a second inorganic structure (130) in sequence, wherein a refractive index of the first inorganic structure is higher than a refractive index of the organic layer, the first inorganic structure comprises at least one inorganic layer.
Jin is silent with respect to “a thickness of one inorganic layer of the at least one inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm” and “forming a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate, a refractive index of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index of the second inorganic layer, and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm”.
FIG. 2 of Zhang discloses a similar method for manufacturing an OLED display substrate, comprising forming a first inorganic layer (portion of the first inorganic structure 130 having lower refractive index) and a second inorganic layer (portion of the first inorganic structure 130 having higher refractive index) that are laminated along the direction away from the drive substrate, a refractive index of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index of the second inorganic layer, and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm [0054].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jin, as taught by Zhang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jin in the above manner for purpose of increasing stability and light performance of display panel ([0032] of Zhang).
Pertinent Art
Guo (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0226159) discloses the first inorganic structure (11) comprises a first inorganic layer (11b) and a second inorganic layer (11a) that are laminated, a refractive index (1.3-1.5) of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index (1.7-1.9) of the second inorganic layer; a thickness of one inorganic layer of the at least one inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm [0060]. Pertinent art also includes Li (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0375060) and Choi (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0043998).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Huang have been considered but they are not persuasive. The claimed limitation “along the direction away from the drive substrate, the first inorganic structure comprises a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer that are laminated” does not limit the order of a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer. The Office Action interprets the sublayer 311 as the first inorganic layer and the sublayer 310 as the second inorganic layer. These two sublayers are laminated. A refractive index (1.8-1.9) of the first inorganic layer is lower than a refractive index (2.0-2.2) of the second inorganic layer, and a thickness of the first inorganic layer is not larger than 500 nm (the thickness of the first inorganic layer is greater than or equal to 0.01um, less than or equal to 0.1um). During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 75 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2005), see MPEP 2111 [R-5]. For similar reasons, Applicant's arguments with respect to Zhang are not persuasive.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897