Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khachaturian et al. (US 2017/0324162 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Khachaturian discloses a communication apparatus to mitigate transmit to receive leakage in on-frequency full-duplex systems having a plurality of antenna elements, the communication apparatus comprising:
a panel having transceiver integrated circuits (see fig 2, panel containing several transceiver ICs), ICs, the panel comprising: a plurality of transceiver integrated circuits, ICs, each transceiver IC having a row of transmit circuits (see rows of transceivers Rx and Tx in fig. 2) and a row of receive circuits (see rows of transceivers Rx and Tx in fig. 2), the transceiver ICs being arranged so that a row of receive circuits on one transceiver IC is adjacent to a row of receive circuits on an adjacent transceiver IC (see fig. 2, see RX are adjacent to each other down the middle of fig. 2, see illustration below).
Regarding claim 18, Khachaturian discloses a panel 42) of transceiver integrated circuits, ICs, each transceiver IC having a row of transmit circuits and a row of receive circuits, every other transceiver IC in a plurality of rows (see plurality of rows in middle) of transceiver ICs on a panel being rotated (see fig. 2, above, side panels at bottom and top are rotated from interior rows of panels of transceivers to preserve adjacency of RX etc, it is anticipated additional combined panels could be combined to this) with respect to an adjacent transceiver IC on the panel .
Regarding claim 7, Khachaturian discloses a method for arranging transceiver integrated circuits, ICs, to mitigate transmit to receive leakage in on-frequency full-duplex systems having a plurality of antenna elements, the method comprising:
arranging a row of transmit circuits and a row of receive circuits on a transceiver IC (see fig. 2, rows of panels); and arranging a plurality of transceiver ICs on a first panel (see fig. 2, not transceivers) so that a row of receive circuits (see rows or columns of transceivers in fig. 2) on one transceiver IC is adjacent to a row of receive circuits on an adjacent transceiver IC (see adjacency of middle panels of Rx of transceivers).
Regarding claim 13, Khachaturian discloses an array of transceiver integrated circuits, ICs, configured to be in communication with an array of antenna elements, each transceiver IC of the array having: a row of receive circuits and a row of transmit circuits (see fig. 2), transceiver ICs in the array of transceiver ICs being arranged so that a row of receive circuits on one transceiver IC is adjacent to a row of receive circuits on an adjacent transceiver IC (see fig. 2, note rows of receivers).
Regarding claim 18, Khachaturian discloses a panel of transceiver integrated circuits, ICs, each transceiver IC having a row of transmit circuits and a row of receive circuits, every other transceiver IC in a plurality of rows (see rows in fig. 2) of transceiver ICs on a panel being rotated with respect to an adjacent transceiver IC on the panel (see fig. 2, note receive circuit/port 156 and 154 are adjacent to receive ports on fig. 3, see BON-I, BON-M, col. 4, 10-15).
Regarding claim 20, Khachaturian discloses a method of manufacturing a panel of transceiver integrated circuits, ICs, for communication with a plurality of antenna elements, the method comprising:
placing a first transceiver IC on a printed circuit board (see fig. 2); and
placing a second transceiver IC on the printed circuit board so that a first row of receive circuits on the first transceiver IC is adjacent to a second row of receive circuits on the second transceiver IC (see adjacency in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Khachaturian discloses a method communication apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of panels, the plurality of panels being arranged side by side so that a row of receive circuits on a transceiver IC on a first panel is aligned with a row of receive circuits on a transceiver IC on a second panel (see fig. 2, note alignment of transceivers).
Regarding claim 3, Khachaturian discloses a method communication apparatus of claim 1, wherein a plurality of transceiver ICs on the panel are arranged by rotating every other transceiver IC so that rows of receive circuits on one panel are in a same row as a row of receive circuits on an adjacent panel (see fig. 2, note alignment of transceivers, particularly RX where they line up).
Regarding claim 4, Khachaturian discloses a method communication apparatus of claim 3, wherein the rotation is approximately 180 degrees (see fig. 2, rotation is opposite so approximal 180 degrees in far side panels on top/bottom).
Regarding claim 5, Khachaturian discloses a method communication apparatus of claim 1, wherein a distance between adjacent transceiver ICs is less than a wavelength at a frequency of operation of the plurality of antenna elements (see [0053], “ The distance between each pair of adjacent transmitting elements 50, or each pair of adjacent receiving elements 60 may be by an integer multiple of the half of the wavelength”).
Regarding claim 6, Khachaturian discloses a method communication apparatus of claim 1, wherein a distance between adjacent panels is less than a wavelength at a frequency of operation of the plurality of antenna elements (The distance between each pair of adjacent transmitting elements 50, or each pair of adjacent receiving elements 60 may be by an integer multiple of the half of the wavelength).
Regarding claim 8, Khachaturian discloses a method of claim 7, further comprising arranging a plurality of panels side by side so that a row of receive circuits on a transceiver IC on the first panel is aligned with a row of receive circuits on a transceiver IC on a second panel (see fig. 2, note alignment of transceivers, particularly RX where they line up considering second panel).
Regarding claim 9, Khachaturian discloses a method of claim 7 further comprising arranging a plurality of panels and arranging the plurality of transceiver ICs on the first panel by rotating every other transceiver IC so that rows of receive circuits on the first panel are in a same row as a row of receive circuits on an adjacent panel of the plurality of panels (see fig. 2, note alignment of transceivers, particularly RX where they line up).
Regarding claim 10, Khachaturian discloses a method of claim 9, wherein the rotation is approximately 180 degrees (see fig. 2, rotation is opposite so approximal 180 degrees in far side panels on top/bottom).
Regarding claim 11, Khachaturian discloses a method of 7, further arranging the plurality of panels side by side so that a row of receive circuits on a transceiver IC on a first panel is aligned with a row of receive circuits of a transceiver IC on a second panel (see fig. 2, note alignment with panels).
Regarding claim 12, Khachaturian discloses a method of claim 7, wherein a distance between adjacent panels is less than a wavelength at a frequency of operation of the plurality of antenna elements (see [0053], “ The distance between each pair of adjacent transmitting elements 50, or each pair of adjacent receiving elements 60 may be by an integer multiple of the half of the wavelength”).
Regarding claim 14, Khachaturian discloses the array of transceiver ICs of claim 13, wherein two adjacent transceiver ICs are arranged so that a row of receive circuits on one transceiver IC are more distant to a row of transmit circuits on the other adjacent transceiver IC than to a row of receive circuits on the other adjacent transceiver IC (see fig. 2, note adjacency of middle rows).
Regarding claim 15, Khachaturian discloses the array of transceiver ICs of claim 13, wherein transceiver ICs are arranged in panels so that a row of receive circuits on one panel is in a same row as a row of receive circuits on an adjacent panel (see fig. 2, note rx on same row).
Regarding claim 16, Khachaturian discloses the array of transceiver ICs of claim 13, wherein a distance between adjacent transceiver ICs is less than a wavelength at a frequency of operation of at least one antenna in communication with one of the adjacent transceiver ICs (see [0053], “ The distance between each pair of adjacent transmitting elements 50, or each pair of adjacent receiving elements 60 may be by an integer multiple of the half of the wavelength”).
Regarding claim 17, Khachaturian discloses the array of transceiver ICs of any of claims 13 16 claim 13, wherein a first transceiver IC is rotated within a 10 degree range of 180 degrees with respect to an orientation of a second transceiver IC adjacent to the first transceiver IC (see fig. 2, rotation is opposite so approximal 180 degrees in far side panels on top/bottom).
Regarding claim 19, Khachaturian discloses the panel of transceiver ICs of claim 18, wherein any two adjacent transceiver ICs on the panel are arranged so that a row of receive circuits on one transceiver IC are more distant to a row of transmit circuits on the other adjacent transceiver IC than to a row of receive circuits on the other adjacent transceiver IC (see fig. 2, transceiver more distant to a row of transmit circuits on the other side).
Regarding claim 21, Khachaturian discloses a method of claim 20, wherein the second transceiver IC is placed such that the second transceiver IC is rotated with respect to an orientation of the first transceiver IC (see fig. 2, rotation is opposite so, they are rotated in respect to far side panels on top/bottom).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gharavi et al. (US 2018/0269919 A1) – disclsoers adjacent rows/columns of receivers and transmitters.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful.
/KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643