DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSes filed 1/5/23, 6/25/25 and 11/12/25 have all been considered and placed of record. The initialed copies are attached herewith.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claims 4-10, 13 and 17, the use of the word “preferably” is indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations followed are part of the claimed invention.
Re claims 11 and 14-16, they are indefinite because they are depending on indefinite claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 12, 13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese document CN108639024A (see machine translation).
Re claims 1 and 19, the document discloses a battery swapping device for transferring battery packs between an electric vehicle (fig 2) and a battery charging bin (fig 1), wherein, the battery swapping device having, inter alia, a turnover mechanism (fig 1), and the turnover mechanism [further include overturning discharge mechanism…] is used for turning a used battery pack taken out of an electric vehicle from a first position (i.e. in the boot/trunk of the vehicle) to a second position (i.e. outside of vehicle) in a first direction (i.e. away from the vehicle) [further include front and rear sliding mechanism…]; or the battery swapping device is used for turning a fresh battery pack taken out of a battery charging bin from a third position to a fourth position in a second direction (i.e. toward the vehicle), the first direction (out direction) being opposite to the second direction (in direction) [further include scissors fork elevating mechanism…]. Figures 2-6. Apparatus claim limitations performed the method steps in claim 19.
Re claims 2 and 20, the document further discloses a push-pull mechanism, the push-pull mechanism is connected with the turnover mechanism, and the push-pull mechanism is arranged to move back and forth relative to the turnover mechanism, when the turnover mechanism is located at the first position, the push-pull mechanism is used for pulling the used battery pack out of an electric vehicle; when the turnover mechanism is located at the fourth position, the push-pull mechanism is used for pushing the fresh battery pack into electric vehicle. [further include front and rear sliding mechanism…; further include overturn discharge mechanism…]. Apparatus claim limitations performed the method steps in claim 20.
Re claim 3, the document further discloses the turnover mechanism comprises a first turnover part and a second turnover part, the push-pull mechanism is connected with the first turnover part, and the push-pull mechanism is arranged to move back and forth relative to the first turnover part [further include overturn discharge mechanism… rotation the overturn plate (51). One end the returning plate (51) with the sliding panel (55)…].
Re claim 12, the document further discloses first turnover part and/or second turnover part are provided with an extension mechanism for taking out battery pack located at electric vehicle or battery charging bin, or placing the battery pack on electric vehicle or battery charging bin [further include overturn discharge mechanism…and the retainer plate 54 is equipped with vacuum cup 541 and battery 7 is captured by vacuum cup 541] (end of paragraph).
Re claim 13, the document further discloses the first turnover part comprises a first extension mechanism, and the second turnover part comprises a second extension mechanism, wherein, the first extension mechanism picks and places battery pack at first position or fourth position, and the second extension mechanism picks and places the battery pack at second position or third position; preferably, extension direction of the first extension mechanism and extension direction of the second extension mechanism are intersected, so that the battery pack is relayed between the first extension mechanism and the second extension mechanism; preferably, both the first extension mechanism and the second extension mechanism are telescopic fork; preferably, the battery swapping device further comprises a first transmission motor and a second transmission motor, wherein the first transmission motor directly or indirectly drives the first extension mechanism, and the second transmission motor directly or indirectly drives the second extension mechanism [feed mechanism having conveyor belt to slide the battery; and the scissor support arm to lift the battery; first motor 241 and second motor 53 drive the mechanisms].
Re claim 18, it is an inherent feature to have charging equipment housing different types of storage such as bins to house depleted and full charge batteries.
Double Patenting
Claim 19 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/913,293 (reference application (same PG Pub 2023/0226944)). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
17/916,273
19. A battery swapping method, wherein, the battery swapping method is implemented by using the battery swapping device as claimed in claim 1 comprising:
taking out a used battery pack from an electric vehicle and place it at a first position;
turning taken-out used battery pack from first position to second position in first direction;
placing used battery pack in second position into battery charging bin for charging, and/or
taking fresh battery pack out of battery charging bin and placing it at third position;
turning taken out fresh battery pack from third position to fourth position in second direction;
placing fresh battery pack at the fourth position into electric vehicle.
Copending 17/916,293
1.A battery swapping method, characterized in that, the battery swapping method comprises:
taking out an insufficient electricity battery pack from an electric vehicle and place it at a first position;
overturning the taken-out insufficient electricity battery pack from the first position along a first direction to a second position;
putting the insufficient electricity battery pack located at the second position into the charging compartment for charging, and/or
taking out a full electricity battery pack from the charging compartment and place it at a third position;
overturning the taken-out full electricity battery pack from the third position along a second direction to a fourth position;
placing the full electricity battery pack located at the fourth position into the electric vehicle.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11 and 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims AND satisfying 35 USC 112 requirements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The Examiner’s SPE is Taelor Kim and he can be reached at 571.270.7166. The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571.273.8300.
/EDWARD TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 571.272.2087