DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 10/14/2025.
Claims 94-113 are pending and presented for examination. No claims have been added or cancelled.
Prosecution Reopened
In view of the Pre-Appeal Brief filed on 11/12/2025, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds of rejection are set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 94-97 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Talebi Fard et al. (US 20190306251 A1, hereinafter “Talebi”), in view of Taft et al. (US 20210083965 A1, hereinafter “Taft”), in view of Jeong et al. (US 20210068172 A1, hereinafter “Jeong”).
RE Claim 94, Talebi discloses:
A method, carried out by a user plane entity in a wireless communication network, the wireless communication network comprising the user plane entity (UPF, a user plane entity. ¶0106; Fig. 1: 110), a plurality of session control entities (One or more of the SMF 160, session control entity, functionalities may be supported in a single instance of a SMF 160. ¶0111; ¶0106; Fig. 1: 160) and a network repository entity (¶0106; Fig. 1: 130),
the plurality of session control entities being configured to handle at least one data packet session in the wireless communication network (SMF, session control entity, handles data packets for session management, IP address and management, traffic steering, and control policy enforcement. ¶0111; ¶¶0312-0313, Fig. 18, 19),
the user plane entity being configured to handle a user plane of the at least one data packet session (UPF, user plane entity, handles data packets for downlink packet buffering, packet routing and forwarding, uplink classifier to support routing of traffic flows to a data network. ¶0112; ¶0314, Fig. 20),
the network repository entity being configured to register the plurality of session control entities and the user plane entity (A network function, NF, discovers a network node, UPF or SMF, by sending discovery message to NRF. In response, the NRF provides IP addresses, an instance of a UPF, user plane entity, and identifier such as SMF ID, session control entity. The request NF may select one or more NF instances based requested NF type. ¶¶0331-0332; UPF registers itself with NRF. ¶0341; The NRF supports service discovery function for discovered NF instances and maintains information, registration, about available NF instances which may be UPF or SMF. ¶0119; ¶0315, Fig. 21),
Talebi does not explicitly disclose:
the method comprising the steps of:
transmitting to the network repository entity a discovery message comprising:
an association request indication, for indicating that the user plane entity can be associated to a session control entity,
filtering criteria for filtering the plurality of session control entities,
receiving from the network repository entity a response message, in response to the
discovery message, comprising:
a list of filtered session control entities, filtered based on the filtering criteria ,
However, Taft discloses:
the method comprising the steps of:
transmitting to the network repository entity a discovery message (The set of common network functions, NFs, include an NRF, an SMF, a UPF, and a PCF. ¶0055, Fig. 5; A NF, a UPF, transmits a discovery request to the NRF. ¶0059, Fig. 6; Requests interface 420 of the NRF may be configured to respond to discovery requests (e.g., 5G NF discovery requests) for particular types of NFs. ¶¶0048-0050; Fig. 4) comprising:
an association request indication, for indicating that the user plane entity can be associated to a session control entity (An NF profile includes a NF instance identifier, ID, an NF type, and supported services associated with the NF. ¶0032, Fig. 2; Requests interface 420 of the NRF may be configured to respond to discovery requests (e.g., 5G NF discovery requests) for particular types of NFs, an association indication. ¶¶0048-0050; Fig. 4; NRF validates the incoming discovery request, from an NF, and search profiles of NFs received during registration for matches against the query list received in the discover list, an association indication. ¶0060, Fig. 2; NRF receives a discovery request querying for a list of SMFs which are registered with a specific set of supported services. ¶0059;),
filtering criteria for filtering the plurality of session control entities (An NF profile includes a NF instance identifier, ID, an NF type, and supported services associated with the NF. ¶0032, Fig. 2; Requests interface 420 of the NRF may be configured to respond to discovery requests (e.g., 5G NF discovery requests) for particular types of NFs. ¶¶0048-0050; Fig. 4; NRF validates the incoming discovery request, from an NF, and search profiles of NFs received during registration for matches, an association, against the query list received in the discover list. ¶0060, Fig. 2; NRF receives a discovery request querying for a list of SMFs which are registered with a specific set of supported services. ¶0059;),
receiving from the network repository entity a response message, in response to the
discovery message, comprising:
a list of filtered session control entities, filtered based on the filtering criteria (The set of common network functions, NFs, include an NRF, an SMF, a UPF, and a PCF. ¶0055, Fig. 5; A NF, a UPF, transmits a discovery request to the NRF. ¶0059, Fig. 6; NRF receives a discovery request querying for a list of SMFs which are registered with a specific set of supported services. ¶0059; Thus, if NRF 258-3 contains the requested NF information, terminal response 635 may include the requested result. Alternatively, if NRF 258-3 does not contains the requested NF information, terminal response 635 may include a failure message. ¶0062, Fig. 2),
Talebi and Taft do not explicitly disclose:
transmitting to a first filtered session control entity, of the filtered session control entities,
an association request message comprising:
an identifier of the user plane entity.
However, Jeong discloses:
transmitting to a first filtered session control entity, of the filtered session control entities (UPF transmits an N4 association setup request message to the SMF. ¶0094, Fig. 8; Examiner interpreted a ‘first filtered session control entity’ as at least one SMF as the filtering criteria is not further limited in the claim.),
an association request message comprising:
an identifier of the user plane entity (UPF transmits an N4 association request message including a node ID, an IP address, a supported function to the SMF. An identifier of the UPF set to which the UPF instance belongs and IP address(es) of UPF instance(s) may be included. ¶0094, Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine/substitute/modify the teachings of Talebi, a set of network functions including UPF, SMF, and NRF, with the teachings of Taft, UPF transmits discovery message to NRF directly with indicated requested services of a NF, with the features of Jeong, features of Jeong, UPF transmits directly to SMF for association with supported function of the SMF.
The motivation in doing so would be to support direct service-based interactions between a UPF, SMF, NRF, and other NF nodes to improve network signaling to support data transmission such as CIoT in a service based architecture. (Talebi: Abstract, ¶¶0030-0031, 0316-0317; Taft: ¶¶0001, 0010-0014, 0049-0053, 0054-0055; Jeong: Abstract, ¶¶0009-0014, 0038, 0047-0050, 0082)
RE Claim 95, Talebi discloses:
The method, wherein the association request message further comprises a list of capabilities of the user plane entity. (A NF sends a discovery request to the NRF. ¶¶0329, 0330; Discovery message request indicate a UPF/SMF selection, association, for a specific functions, and a selection of UPF/SMF comprising an information element, IE, that indicates the support for a specific functions is required for a UPF or SMF. ¶0344; ¶0342, Fig. 24, 25, 26)
RE Claim 96, Talebi discloses:
A user plane entity for a wireless communication network, the wireless communication network comprising the user plane entity (UPF, a user plane entity. ¶0106; Fig. 1: 110), a plurality of session control entities (One or more of the SMF 160, session control entity, functionalities may be supported in a single instance of a SMF 160. ¶0111; ¶0106; Fig. 1: 160) and a network repository entity (¶0106; Fig. 1: 130),
the plurality of session control entities being configured to handle at least one data packet session in the wireless communication network (SMF, session control entity, handles data packets for session management, IP address and management, traffic steering, and control policy enforcement. ¶0111; ¶¶0312-0313, Fig. 18, 19),
the user plane entity being configured to handle a user plane of the at least one data packet session (UPF, user plane entity, handles data packets for downlink packet buffering, packet routing and forwarding, uplink classifier to support routing of traffic flows to a data network. ¶0112; ¶0314, Fig. 20),
the network repository entity being configured to register the plurality of session control entities and the user plane entity (A network function, NF, discovers a network node, UPF or SMF, by sending discovery message to NRF. In response, the NRF provides IP addresses, an instance of a UPF, user plane entity, and identifier such as SMF ID, session control entity. The request NF may select one or more NF instances based requested NF type. ¶¶0331-0332; UPF registers itself with NRF. ¶0341; The NRF supports service discovery function for discovered NF instances and maintains information, registration, about available NF instances which may be UPF or SMF. ¶0119; ¶0315, Fig. 21),
the user plane entity (¶¶0106-0107, 0112, 0151, Fig. 1, 2) comprising a processing unit and a memory, the memory comprising instructions configured to cause the processing unit to carry out the steps (¶¶0107, 0412-0413, Fig. 4).
RE Claim 97, Talebi discloses:
The user plane entity, wherein the association request message further comprises a list of capabilities of the user plane entity. (A NF sends a discovery request to the NRF. ¶¶0329, 0330; Discovery message request indicate a UPF/SMF selection, association, for a specific functions, and a selection of UPF/SMF comprising an information element, IE, that indicates the support for a specific functions is required for a UPF or SMF. ¶0344; ¶0342, Fig. 24, 25, 26)
Claims 98-101 and 102-109 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Talebi, in view of Taft.
RE Claim 98, Talebi discloses:
A method, carried out by a network repository entity (¶0106; Fig. 1: 130) in a wireless communication network, the wireless communication network comprising the user plane entity (UPF, a user plane entity. ¶0106; Fig. 1: 110), a plurality of session control entities (One or more of the SMF 160, session control entity, functionalities may be supported in a single instance of a SMF 160. ¶0111; ¶0106; Fig. 1: 160) and a network repository entity (¶0106; Fig. 1: 130),
the plurality of session control entities being configured to handle at least one data packet session in the wireless communication network (SMF, session control entity, handles data packets for session management, IP address and management, traffic steering, and control policy enforcement. ¶0111; ¶¶0312-0313, Fig. 18, 19),
the user plane entity being configured to handle a user plane of the at least one data packet session (UPF, user plane entity, handles data packets for downlink packet buffering, packet routing and forwarding, uplink classifier to support routing of traffic flows to a data network. ¶0112; ¶0314, Fig. 20),
the network repository entity being configured to register the plurality of session control entities and the user plane entity (A network function, NF, discovers a network node, UPF or SMF, by sending discovery message to NRF. In response, the NRF provides IP addresses, an instance of a UPF, user plane entity, and identifier such as SMF ID, session control entity. The request NF may select one or more NF instances based requested NF type. ¶¶0331-0332; UPF registers itself with NRF. ¶0341; The NRF supports service discovery function for discovered NF instances and maintains information, registration, about available NF instances which may be UPF or SMF. ¶0119; ¶0315, Fig. 21),
the method comprising the steps of:
receiving, from at least one of the plurality of session control entities, a registration message (The NRF supports service discovery function for discovered NF instances and maintains information, registration, about available NF instances which may be UPF or SMF. ¶0119; ¶0315, Fig. 21) comprising:
an association service indication, for indicating that the at least one session control entity can be associated to a user plane entity (SMF selects the UPF locally or via the NRF by the network function discovery procedure. ¶0350; A NF sends a discovery request to the NRF. ¶¶0329, 0330; Discovery message request indicate a UPF/SMF selection, association, for a specific functions, and a selection of UPF/SMF comprising an information element, IE, that indicates the support for a specific functions is required for a UPF or SMF. ¶0344; ¶0342, Fig. 24, 25, 26),
an area indication of the at least one session control entity (SMF determines whether UPF reallocation is performed based on UE location information, service area, and operator policies. ¶0222),
Talebi does not explicitly disclose:
the method comprising the steps of:
receiving from the user plane entity a discovery message comprising:
an association request indication, indicating that the user plane entity can be associated to a session control entities,
filtering criteria for filtering the plurality of session control entities, transmitting to the user plane entity a response message , in response to the discovery message, comprising:
a list of filtered session control entities, filtered based on the filtering criteria.
However Taft discloses:
the method comprising the steps of:
receiving from the user plane entity a discovery message (The set of common network functions, NFs, include an NRF, an SMF, a UPF, and a PCF. ¶0055, Fig. 5; A NF, a UPF, transmits a discovery request to the NRF. ¶0059, Fig. 6; Requests interface 420 of the NRF may be configured to respond to discovery requests (e.g., 5G NF discovery requests) for particular types of NFs. ¶¶0048-0050; Fig. 4) comprising:
an association request indication, indicating that the user plane entity can be associated to a session control entities (An NF profile includes a NF instance identifier, ID, an NF type, and supported services associated with the NF. ¶0032, Fig. 2; Requests interface 420 of the NRF may be configured to respond to discovery requests (e.g., 5G NF discovery requests) for particular types of NFs, an association indication. ¶¶0048-0050; Fig. 4; NRF validates the incoming discovery request, from an NF, and search profiles of NFs received during registration for matches against the query list received in the discover list, an association indication. ¶0060, Fig. 2; NRF receives a discovery request querying for a list of SMFs which are registered with a specific set of supported services. ¶0059;),
filtering criteria for filtering the plurality of session control entities (An NF profile includes a NF instance identifier, ID, an NF type, and supported services associated with the NF. ¶0032, Fig. 2; Requests interface 420 of the NRF may be configured to respond to discovery requests (e.g., 5G NF discovery requests) for particular types of NFs. ¶¶0048-0050; Fig. 4; NRF validates the incoming discovery request, from an NF, and search profiles of NFs received during registration for matches, an association, against the query list received in the discover list. ¶0060, Fig. 2; NRF receives a discovery request querying for a list of SMFs which are registered with a specific set of supported services. ¶0059;),
transmitting to the user plane entity a response message , in response to the discovery message, comprising:
a list of filtered session control entities, filtered based on the filtering criteria (The set of common network functions, NFs, include an NRF, an SMF, a UPF, and a PCF. ¶0055, Fig. 5; A NF, a UPF, transmits a discovery request to the NRF. ¶0059, Fig. 6; NRF receives a discovery request querying for a list of SMFs which are registered with a specific set of supported services. ¶0059; Thus, if NRF 258-3 contains the requested NF information, terminal response 635 may include the requested result. Alternatively, if NRF 258-3 does not contains the requested NF information, terminal response 635 may include a failure message. ¶0062, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine/substitute/modify the teachings of Talebi, a set of network functions including UPF, SMF, and NRF, with the teachings of Taft, UPF transmits discovery message to NRF directly with indicated requested services of a NF.
The motivation in doing so would be to support direct service-based interactions between a UPF, SMF, NRF, and other NF nodes to improve network signaling to support data transmission such as CIoT in a service based architecture. (Talebi: Abstract, ¶¶0030-0031, 0316-0317; Taft: ¶¶0001, 0010-0014, 0049-0053, 0054-0055)
RE Claim 99, Talebi discloses:
The method, further comprising the steps of:
receiving from the at least one session control entity a capabilities request message (A NF sends a discovery request to the NRF. ¶¶0329, 0330; Discovery message request indicate a UPF/SMF selection, association, for a specific functions, and a selection of UPF/SMF comprising an information element, IE, that indicates the support for a specific functions is required for a UPF or SMF. ¶0344; ¶0342, Fig. 24, 25, 26) comprising:
an identifier of the user plane entity (An NF sends a discovery request message to the NRF comprising a NF service name, a NF type, or identifier of a target NF, e.g. UPF. ¶0332),
transmitting to the at least one session control entity a capabilities indication
message (NRF responds to a NF with identifier and/or address of NFs that supports a specific function, a list based on filtering criteria ¶0317), in response to the capabilities request message (A NF sends a discovery request to the NRF. ¶¶0329, 0330; Discovery message request indicate a UPF/SMF selection, association, for a specific functions, and a selection of UPF/SMF comprising an information element, IE, that indicates the support for a specific functions is required for a UPF or SMF. ¶0344; ¶0342, Fig. 24, 25, 26), comprising:
a list of capabilities of the user plane entity identified by the identifier. (NRF responds to a NF with identifier and/or address of NFs that supports a specific function, a list based on filtering criteria ¶0317)
RE Claim 100, Talebi discloses:
A network repository entity (¶0106; Fig. 1: 130) for a wireless communication network, the wireless communication network comprising the user plane entity (UPF, a user plane entity. ¶0106; Fig. 1: 110), a plurality of session control entities (One or more of the SMF 160, session control entity, functionalities may be supported in a single instance of a SMF 160. ¶0111; ¶0106; Fig. 1: 160) and a network repository entity (¶0106; Fig. 1: 130),
the plurality of session control entities being configured to handle at least one data packet session in the wireless communication network (SMF, session control entity, handles data packets for session management, IP address and management, traffic steering, and control policy enforcement. ¶0111; ¶¶0312-0313, Fig. 18, 19),
the user plane entity being configured to handle a user plane of the at least one data packet session (UPF, user plane entity, handles data packets for downlink packet buffering, packet routing and forwarding, uplink classifier to support routing of traffic flows to a data network. ¶0112; ¶0314, Fig. 20),
the network repository entity being configured to register the plurality of session control entities and the user plane entity (A network function, NF, discovers a network node, UPF or SMF, by sending discovery message to NRF. In response, the NRF provides IP addresses, an instance of a UPF, user plane entity, and identifier such as SMF ID, session control entity. The request NF may select one or more NF instances based requested NF type. ¶¶0331-0332; UPF registers itself with NRF. ¶0341; The NRF supports service discovery function for discovered NF instances and maintains information, registration, about available NF instances which may be UPF or SMF. ¶0119; ¶0315, Fig. 21),
the network repository entity (¶¶0106-0107, 0119, 0151, Fig. 1, 2) comprising a processing unit and a memory, the memory comprising instructions configured to cause the processing unit to carry out the steps (¶¶0107, 0412-0413, Fig. 4).
RE Claim 101, Talebi discloses:
The network repository entity (¶¶0106-0107, 0119, 0151, Fig. 1, 2), the memory further comprising instructions configured to cause the processing unit to carry out the steps (¶¶0107, 0412-0413, Fig. 4):
receiving from the at least one session control entity a capabilities request message (A NF sends a discovery request to the NRF. ¶¶0329, 0330; Discovery message request indicate a UPF/SMF selection, association, for a specific functions, and a selection of UPF/SMF comprising an information element, IE, that indicates the support for a specific functions is required for a UPF or SMF. ¶0344; ¶0342, Fig. 24, 25, 26)
comprising:
an identifier of the user plane entity (An NF sends a discovery request message to the NRF comprising a NF service name, a NF type, or identifier of a target NF, e.g. UPF. ¶0332),
transmitting to the at least one session control entity a capabilities indication message (NRF responds to a NF with identifier and/or address of NFs that supports a specific function, capabilities, a list based on filtering criteria ¶0317), in response to the capabilities request message (A NF sends a discovery request to the NRF. ¶¶0329, 0330; Discovery message request indicate a UPF/SMF selection, association, for a specific functions, and a selection of UPF/SMF comprising an information element, IE, that indicates the support for a specific functions is required for a UPF or SMF. ¶0344; ¶0342, Fig. 24, 25, 26), comprising:
a list of capabilities of the user plane entity identified by the identifier. (NRF responds to a NF with identifier and/or address of NFs that supports a specific function, a list based on filtering criteria ¶0317)
RE Claim 102, Talebi discloses:
A method, carried out by a session control entity in a wireless communication network, the wireless communication network comprising a plurality of user plane entities (UPF, a user plane entity. ¶0106; Fig. 1: 110), the session control entity (One or more of the SMF 160, session control entity, functionalities may be supported in a single instance of a SMF 160. ¶0111; ¶0106; Fig. 1: 160), a policy control entity (¶0117, Fig. 1: 135), and a network repository entity (¶0106; Fig. 1: 130),
The session control entity being configured to handle at least one data packet session in the wireless communication network (SMF, session control entity, handles data packets for session management, IP address and management, traffic steering, and control policy enforcement. ¶0111; ¶¶0312-0313, Fig. 18, 19),
the plurality of user plane entities being configured to handle a user plane of the at least one data packet session (UPF, user plane entity, handles data packets for downlink packet buffering, packet routing and forwarding, uplink classifier to support routing of traffic flows to a data network. ¶0112; ¶0314, Fig. 20),
the policy control entity (¶0117, Fig. 1: 135) being configured to handle a policy plane of the at least one data packet session (¶¶0125, 0142; Fig. 9, 11, 12),
the network repository entity being configured to register the plurality of session control entities and the user plane entity (A network function, NF, discovers a network node, UPF or SMF, by sending discovery message to NRF. In response, the NRF provides IP addresses, an instance of a UPF, user plane entity, and identifier such as SMF ID, session control entity. The request NF may select one or more NF instances based requested NF type. ¶¶0331-0332; UPF registers itself with NRF. ¶0341; The NRF supports service discovery function for discovered NF instances and maintains information, registration, about available NF instances which may be UPF or SMF. ¶0119; ¶0315, Fig. 21),
the method comprising the steps of:
receiving from the policy control entity (¶0117, Fig. 1: 135) a policy activation message (PCF provides updated policies by invoking policy control updates. ¶0236; PCF updates policy information in the SMF. ¶¶0248, 254) comprising:
a list of services to be activated in the plurality of user plane entities (Service based interface represents how a set of services may be provided/exposed in a given NF. ¶0151; PCF may provide authorized session-AMBR, authorized 5QI, PCC rules, or ARP to the SMF, a list services to be activated. ¶¶0248, 254),
Talebi does not explicitly disclose:
the method comprising the steps of:
transmitting to the network repository entity a discovery message comprising:
filtering criteria for filtering the plurality of user plane entities,
receiving from the network repository entity a response message, in response to the
discovery message, comprising:
a list of filtered user plane entities, filtered based on the filtering criteria.
However, Taft discloses:
the method comprising the steps of:
transmitting to the network repository entity a discovery message (SMF sends Discovery Request to NRF. ¶¶0049-0050, 0052.) comprising:
filtering criteria for filtering the plurality of user plane entities (Requests interface of the NRF is configured to respond to discovery requests, e.g. 5G NF discovery requests, for particular types of NFs, filtering criteria. SMF needs to find a UPF device and sends a discovery request for an available UPF via the NRF request interface. Request interface refers to NRF database and responds to the discovery request with information identifying one or more available UPFs. ¶¶0049-0050, 0052),
receiving from the network repository entity a response message, in response to the
discovery message (Requests interface of the NRF is configured to respond to discovery requests, e.g. 5G NF discovery requests, for particular types of NFs, filtering criteria. SMF needs to find a UPF device and sends a discovery request for an available UPF via the NRF request interface. Request interface refers to NRF database and responds to the discovery request with information identifying one or more available UPFs. ¶¶0049-0050, 0052), comprising:
a list of filtered user plane entities, filtered based on the filtering criteria (Requests interface of the NRF is configured to respond to discovery requests, e.g. 5G NF discovery requests, for particular types of NFs, filtering criteria. SMF needs to find a UPF device and sends a discovery request for an available UPF via the NRF request interface. Request interface refers to NRF database and responds to the discovery request with information identifying one or more available UPFs. ¶¶0049-0050, 0052).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine/substitute/modify the teachings of Talebi, a set of network functions including UPF, SMF, and NRF, with the teachings of Taft, UPF transmits discovery message to NRF directly with indicated list of requested services of a NF.
The motivation in doing so would be to support direct service-based interactions between a UPF, SMF, NRF, and other NF nodes to improve network signaling to support data transmission such as CIoT in a service based architecture. (Talebi: Abstract, ¶¶0030-0031, 0316-0317; Taft: ¶¶0001, 0010-0014, 0049-0053, 0054-0055)
RE Claim 103, Talebi discloses:
The method, wherein the filtering criteria (Discovery message request indicate a UPF/SMF selection, association, for a specific function, and a selection of a UPF/SMF comprising an information element, IE, that indicates the support for a specific function is required for a UPF or SMF. ¶0344; ¶0342, Fig. 24, 25, 26) comprise:
the list of services to be activated in the plurality of user plane entities. (Service based interface represents how a set of services may be provided/exposed in a given NF. ¶0151; PCF may provide authorized session-AMBR, authorized 5QI, PCC rules, or ARP to the SMF, a list services to be activated. ¶¶0248, 254)
RE Claim 104, Talebi discloses:
The method, further comprising the step of:
transmitting to one of the filtered user plane entities a service configuration message (PCF provides updated policies by invoking policy control updates. ¶0236; PCF updates, activate/configure, policy information in the SMF. ¶¶0248, 254) for activating and/or configuring at least one of the list of services to be activated. (Service based interface represents how a set of services may be provided/exposed in a given NF. ¶0151; PCF may provide authorized session-AMBR, authorized 5QI, PCC rules, or ARP to the SMF, a list services to be activated. ¶¶0248, 254)
RE Claim 105, Talebi discloses:
The method, further comprising the step of:
transmitting to one of the filtered user plane entities a session establishment message (SMF allocates the QFI for a QoS flow, a 5QI service, at PDU session establishment, send establishment message, via PDU establishment procedure to a UPF, and derives the QoS parameters from information provided by the PCF. ¶0142) for configuring one of the list of services to be activated. (Service based interface represents how a set of services may be provided/exposed in a given NF. ¶0151; PCF may provide authorized session-AMBR, authorized 5QI, PCC rules, or ARP to the SMF, a list services to be activated. ¶¶0248, 254)
RE Claim 106, Talebi discloses:
A session control entity for a wireless communication network, the wireless communication network comprising a plurality of user plane entities (UPF, a user plane entity. ¶0106; Fig. 1: 110), a session control entity (One or more of the SMF 160, session control entity, functionalities may be supported in a single instance of a SMF 160. ¶0111; ¶0106; Fig. 1: 160), a policy control entity (¶0117, Fig. 1: 135), and a network repository entity (¶0106; Fig. 1: 130),
the session control entity being configured to handle at least one data packet session in the wireless communication network (SMF, session control entity, handles data packets for session management, IP address and management, traffic steering, and control policy enforcement. ¶0111; ¶¶0312-0313, Fig. 18, 19),
the plurality of user plane entities being configured to handle a user plane of the at least one data packet session (UPF, user plane entity, handles data packets for downlink packet buffering, packet routing and forwarding, uplink classifier to support routing of traffic flows to a data network. ¶0112; ¶0314, Fig. 20),
the policy control entity (¶0117, Fig. 1: 135) being configured to handle a policy plane of the at least one data packet session (¶¶0125, 0142; Fig. 9, 11, 12),
the network repository entity being configured to register the plurality of session control entities and the user plane entity (A network function, NF, discovers a network node, UPF or SMF, by sending discovery message to NRF. In response, the NRF provides IP addresses, an instance of a UPF, user plane entity, and identifier such as SMF ID, session control entity. The request NF may select one or more NF instances based requested NF type. ¶¶0331-0332; UPF registers itself with NRF. ¶0341; The NRF supports service discovery function for discovered NF instances and maintains information, registration, about available NF instances which may be UPF or SMF. ¶0119; ¶0315, Fig. 21),
the session control entity (¶¶0106-0107, 0111, 0151, Fig. 1, 2) comprising a processing unit and a memory, the memory comprising instructions configured to cause the processing unit to carry out the steps (¶¶0107, 0412-0413, Fig. 4).
RE Claim 107, Talebi discloses:
The session control entity, wherein the filtering criteria (NRF responds to a NF to a NF with identifier and/or address of NFs that supports a specific function, a list based on filtering criteria ¶0317)comprise:
the list of services to be activated in the plurality of user plane entities. (Service based interface represents how a set of services may be provided/exposed in a given NF. ¶0151; PCF may provide authorized session-AMBR, authorized 5QI, PCC rules, or ARP to the SMF, a list services to be activated. ¶¶0248, 254)
RE Claim 108, Talebi discloses:
The session control entity, further comprising the step of:
transmitting to one of the filtered user plane entities a service configuration message (PCF provides updated policies by invoking policy control updates. ¶0236; PCF updates, activate/configure, policy information in the SMF. ¶¶0248, 254) for activating and/or configuring at least one of the list of services to be activated. (Service based interface represents how a set of services may be provided/exposed in a given NF. ¶0151; PCF may provide authorized session-AMBR, authorized 5QI, PCC rules, or ARP to the SMF, a list services to be activated. ¶¶0248, 254)
RE Claim 109, Talebi discloses:
The session control entity, further comprising the step of:
transmitting to one of the filtered user plane entities a session establishment message (SMF allocates the QFI for a QoS flow, a 5QI service, at PDU session establishment, send establishment message, via PDU establishment procedure to a UPF, and derives the QoS parameters from information provided by the PCF. ¶0142) for configuring one of the list of services to be activated. (Service based interface represents how a set of services may be provided/exposed in a given NF. ¶0151; PCF may provide authorized session-AMBR, authorized 5QI, PCC rules, or ARP to the SMF, a list services to be activated. ¶¶0248, 254)
Claims 110-113 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Talebi, in view of Jeong.
RE Claim 110, Talebi discloses:
A method, carried out by a wireless communication network entity (Network entity in a 5G system, 5GS. ¶0136) in a wireless communication network (¶0106, Fig. 2), the wireless communication network comprising a user plane entity (UPF, a user plane entity. ¶0106; Fig. 1: 110), a session control entity (One or more of the SMF 160, session control entity, functionalities may be supported in a single instance of a SMF 160. ¶0111; ¶0106; Fig. 1: 160), a user repository entity (User Data Repository, UDR. ¶0121), and the wireless communication network entity (Network entity in a 5G system, 5GS. ¶0136),
the session control entity being configured to handle at least one data packet session in the wireless communication network (SMF, session control entity, handles data packets for session management, IP address and management, traffic steering, and control policy enforcement. ¶0111; ¶¶0312-0313, Fig. 18, 19),
the user plane entity being configured to handle a user plane of the at least one data packet session (UPF, user plane entity, handles data packets for downlink packet buffering, packet routing and forwarding, uplink classifier to support routing of traffic flows to a data network. ¶0112; ¶0314, Fig. 20),
the user repository entity being configured to register subscriber information for users (¶0121) of the wireless communication network (UDM of the wireless communication network selects a UDR instance to access subscriber information. ¶¶0115, 0188, 0121; Fig. 1:140 UDM),
the wireless communication network entity being an entity of the wireless communication network (Network entity in a 5G system, 5GS. ¶0136) accessing services of at least the user plane entity (UPF, a user plane entity. ¶0106; Fig. 1: 110),
the method comprising the steps of:
an identifier of a user of the wireless communication network (A network element, an entity, sends a message to the SMF comprising the identifier for the wireless device, the user. ¶0349),
Talebi does not explicitly disclose:
the method comprising the steps of:
transmitting to the session control entity a service discovery message comprising:
a service indication, for indicating a service provided by the user plane entity,
receiving from the session control entity a response message, in response to the
service discovery message, comprising:
an address of the user plane entity.
However, Jeong discloses:
the method comprising the steps of:
transmitting to the session control entity a service discovery message (UPF performs a process of generating N4, PFCP, association with SMF. The N4 association setup request message, a service discovery message, includes information of the UPF instance including UPF services supported and identifiers. ¶0094) comprising:
a service indication, for indicating a service provided by the user plane entity (N4 request message includes a node ID, an IP address, and F-TEID pool, and a supported function, a service. ¶0094, Fig. 8),
receiving from the session control entity a response message, in response to the
service discovery message (SMF processes the N4 association setup request received from the UPF and transmits an N4 association setup response message. ¶0095), comprising:
an address of the user plane entity (SMF transmits the N4 association response message including a node ID, an IP address, an F-TEID pool, and a supported function to the UPF instance. ¶0095).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine/substitute/modify the teachings of Talebi, a set of network functions including UPF, SMF, and NRF, with the features of Jeong, features of Jeong, UPF transmits directly to SMF for association with supported function of the SMF.
The motivation in doing so would be to support direct service-based interactions between a UPF, SMF, NRF, and other NF nodes to improve network signaling to support data transmission such as CIoT in a service based architecture. (Talebi: Abstract, ¶¶0030-0031, 0316-0317; Jeong: Abstract, ¶¶0009-0014, 0038, 0047-0050, 0082)
RE Claim 111, Talebi discloses:
The method, further comprising the steps of:
transmitting to the user plane entity a service request message (A network entity, Network Exposure Function, based on information from the NRF, sends a ‘small data transmission indication’ to the UPF specifically supporting CIoT data transmission, a service request message. ¶0317) comprising:
the service indication (A network entity, Network Exposure Function, based on information from the NRF, sends a ‘small data transmission indication’ to the UPF specifically supporting CIoT data transmission, a service request message. ¶0317),
the identifier of the user of the wireless communication network. (A network element, entity, sends request message for delivery of packets, a service, including the identifier for the wireless device, the user. ¶0318)
RE Claim 112, Talebi discloses:
A wireless communication network entity (Network entity in a 5G system, 5GS. ¶0136) for a wireless communication network (¶0106, Fig. 2), the wireless communication network comprising a user plane entity (UPF, a user plane entity. ¶0106; Fig. 1: 110), a session control entity (One or more of the SMF 160, session control entity, functionalities may be supported in a single instance of a SMF 160. ¶0111; ¶0106; Fig. 1: 160), a user repository entity (User Data Repository, UDR. ¶0121), and the wireless communication network entity (Network entity in a 5G system, 5GS. ¶0136),
the session control entity being configured to handle at least one data packet session in the
wireless communication network (SMF, session control entity, handles data packets for session management, IP address and management, traffic steering, and control policy enforcement. ¶0111; ¶¶0312-0313, Fig. 18, 19),
the user plane entity being configured to handle a user plane of the at least one data
packet session (UPF, user plane entity, handles data packets for downlink packet buffering, packet routing and forwarding, uplink classifier to support routing of traffic flows to a data network. ¶0112; ¶0314, Fig. 20),
the user repository entity being configured to register subscriber information for users (¶0121) of the wireless communication network (UDM of the wireless communication network selects a UDR instance to access subscriber information. ¶¶0115, 0188, 0121; Fig. 1:140 UDM),
the wireless communication network entity being an entity of the wireless communication
network (Network entity in a 5G system, 5GS. ¶0136) accessing services of at least the user plane entity (UPF, a user plane entity. ¶0106; Fig. 1: 110),
the wireless communication network entity (¶¶0106-0107, 0112, 0151, Fig. 1, 2) comprising a processing unit and a memory, the memory comprising instructions configured to cause the processing unit to carry out the steps (¶¶0107, 0412-0413, Fig. 4).
RE Claim 113, Talebi discloses:
The wireless communication network entity (¶¶0106-0107, 0112, 0151, Fig. 1, 2), the memory further comprising instructions configured to cause the processing unit to carry out the steps of (¶¶0107, 0412-0413, Fig. 4):
transmitting to the user plane entity a service request message (A network entity, Network Exposure Function, based on information from the NRF, sends a ‘small data transmission indication’ to the UPF specifically supporting CIoT data transmission, a service request message. ¶0317) comprising:
the service indication (A network entity, Network Exposure Function, based on information from the NRF, sends a ‘small data transmission indication’ to the UPF specifically supporting CIoT data transmission, a service request message. ¶0317),
the identifier of the user of the wireless communication network. (A network element, entity, sends request message for delivery of packets, a service, including the identifier for the wireless device, the user. ¶0318)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 94, 98, 102, and 110 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that Claim 102 and the limitations ‘a policy activation message that comprises a list of services to be activated in the plurality of user plane entities in the network.’, applicant emphasis. In addition, applicant argues that Talebi’s disclosure of paragraph 0254 and the updated policies of the PCF such as ‘authorized 5QI’ to the SMF are not a list of services. Applicant submits these are ‘quality metrics and a priority indicator’.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Determination of the ‘list of services’ for interpretation is found in the instant application. A review of the instant application specification contains the following disclosure. “At step S4-3 the policy control entity 45 responds with a policy activation message, which will be described in the following. It will be understood that the policy activation message relates to the policy rules to be activated with respect to the policy request message, that is, for instance, with respect to the user identifier of the session establishment request message.” ¶0595. “The method can comprise a step S4-3 of receiving from the policy control entity 45 a policy activation message comprising: [0607] a list of services to be activated in the plurality of user plane entities 42, 43. “ ¶0606-0607. “In some embodiments, the list of services may be specific for a given user identifier previously provided to the policy control entity 45. Moreover, in some embodiments, the services may comprise one or more of [0609] services to activate in user plane entity 42, 43 such as, for instance, Firewalling, QoS, DDoS, detection, etc” ¶0608, examiner’s emphasis. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would understand that ‘authorized 5QI’ and ‘QoS’ are equivalent references to quality of service requirements. Therefore, the limitation of a list of services of a policy control entity is interpreted, in light of the specification, as supported by the Talebi reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20200228605 A1 Dodd-Noble et al.
US 20200280822 A1 Stammers et al.
US 20190182875 A1 Talebi Fard et al.
The above references disclose various aspects of software based architectures and exchange of information across network functions.
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419