DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Status of the Claims
Receipt of Applicant’s response, filed 30 Apr 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-11, 13-17, 26, 47 and 48 remain pending in the application.
Claims 1, 7, 9, 14, 47 and 48 are amended.
Claims 12, 18-25 and 27-46 cancelled.
Claims 3, 16, 17 and 26 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Claim 3 requires a treatment other than pepsin and elastase.
Claims 1, 2, 4-11, 13-15, 47 and 48 are under consideration to the extent of the elected species, i.e., that the treatment component is pepsin and elastase and that the serum is FBS.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows: in the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/005,762, the applicant failed to provide adequate written description support for claims 1, 2, 4-11, 13-15, 47 and 48. Accordingly, priority cannot be granted at this time, thus claims 1, 2, 4-11, 13-15, 47 and 48 are granted the filing date of PCT/US21/25782 (05 Apr 2021).
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994)
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/005,762, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application ‘762 fails to provide support for the intervertebral annulus fibrosis cartilage as in instant claim 1. Accordingly, claims 1, 2, 4-11, 13-15, 47 and 48 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
Objections Withdrawn
Objections to the Claims
The claim objections set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 06 Nov 2025 are hereby withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments of the claims.
Rejections Withdrawn
Rejections Pursuant to 35 USC § 112
The rejection pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(a) set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 06 Nov 2025 is hereby withdrawn in light of applicants amendment of the claims.
The rejections pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 06 Nov 2025 are hereby withdrawn in light of applicants amendment of the claims.
Rejections Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is indefinite for the phrase "such an" because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim interpretation for claim 47: Claim 47 recites “the endopeptidase is pepsin, trypsin or chymotrypsin, the cysteine proteinase is papain.” The claim does not specify that both the endopeptidase and the cysteine proteinase are present and claim 2, which 47 depends from, recites the endopeptidase and cycteine proteinase as alternatives (listed with “or”). Claim 47 is interpreted as requiring the that endopeptidase is pepsin, trypsin or chymotrypsin, or the cysteine proteinase is papain. The examiner notes that were claim 47 amended to require both the endopeptidase and the cysteine proteinase the claim would be withdrawn as this would require a species alternative to the elected species of elastase and pepsin.
Claims 1, 2, 4-11, 13-15, 47 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20080077251, published 27 Mar 2008, listed on IDS filed 24 Feb 2025) in view of Van Osch et al. (WO 2019/073079, published 18 Apr 2019, listed on IDS filed 24 Feb 2025) as evidenced by Fox et al. (Orthopaedic Surgery, vol 1, no. 6, pages 340-351) and evidenced by the instant specification.
Chen teaches production of a devitalized and shaped cartilage graft suitable for recellularizing in vitro, in vivo, or in situ ([0007]). Chen teaches that there are mainly three types of cartilage present in a mammal which are articular or hyaline cartilage, fibrocartilage and elastic cartilage and that fibrocartilage is mainly found in locations including menisci and the annulus fibrosis of the intervertebral disc ([0002]). Chen teaches that the cartilage matrix for the method may come from a fibrocartilage source (see claim 281) and Chen teaches an example of devitalizing a fibrocartilage disc isolated from menisci ([0147]). Thus, it is obvious to devitalize cartilage from a fibrocartilage source such as meniscal cartilage or annulus fibrosis of the intervertebral disc.
Chen teaches the process for devitalization includes steps of cleaning the cartilage graft, treating the graft in a pretreatment solution and treating in an extracting solution to produce a devitalized cartilage graft (claim 12). Chen teaches the use of a pretreatment solution comprising enzymes such as elastase for modifying the extracellular matrix of the cartilage matrix (claims 27 and 28). Chen teaches removing cellular debris using an extracting solution to produce a devitalized cartilage graft ([0010]) and that the term devitalized involves the decellularization or making tissue acellular, such that minimal cellular remnants remain ([0065]). Removing the cellular content renders obvious the decellularized transplant material is free of at least 50-99% or greater of starting cellular content as in claim 8. Regarding claims 4-6 and 48, Chen teaches that the devitalized cartilage graft may be derived from cartilage of human or other animal ([0007]) and teaches and example using fibrocartilage discs isolated form menisci of a cadaver donor ([0147]). Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches an example where after devitalization that osteochondral plugs were incubated with a solution comprising FBS ([0164]), rendering obvious incubating the decellularized transplant material in serum. Chen teaches that the devitalized cartilage graft may be immersed in a storage solution and stored in a sealed container at -80°C (claim 206), rendering obvious claim 14. Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches that the devitalized cartilage may be recellularized to render the tissue vital ([0010]), rendering obvious reintroducing cells into said decellularized transplant material.
Chen does not teach treatment with pepsin (the elected treatment component) or the reduction of elastin or the treatment with freeze/thaw cycles as in claim 10 and does not explicitly teach the removal of blood vessels (claim 7) or the amount of glycosaminoglycan and collagen in the decellularized transplant material as in claim 9. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Van Osch.
Van Osch teaches a method for reducing elastin of a cartilage scaffold containing channels and/or lacunae that allows for recellularization of the scaffold ([0001]). Van Osch teaches that recellularization of the cartilage scaffold is essential to assure fully functional cartilage, maintain the matrix and prevent degradation of the scaffold after transplantation ([0008]) and that the method comprises a step of recellularizing the elastin-reduced cartilage scaffold by allowing cells to adhere into the elastin-reduced cartilage scaffold ([0017]). Van Osch teaches that removing elastin fibers enables cells to invade and attach to the cartilage scaffold ([0009], [0017]). Van Osch teaches that the reduction in elastin is obtained by incubating the cartilage scaffold with one or more enzymes such as elastase ([0011]) and also teaches incubation with at least one other proteolytic enzyme such as pepsin ([0012]). The amount of elastase used in the treatment may be reduced when used in combination with a proteolytic enzyme such as pepsin ([0058]). Regarding claim 11, Van Osch does not teach the specific order of treatment where pepsin is “followed by treatment with elastase,” however, the examiner notes that the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results, In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious). Regarding claim 1, Van Osch teaches that the elastin fibers are reduced form the cartilage scaffold to about 50%, 25%, 10%, 1% or complete removal of the elastin fibers prior to the step of reducing elastin fibers form the cartilage scaffold ([0011]).
Van Osch teaches that the cartilage scaffold may be obtained from a human or a xenogenic source ([0010]) and teaches that the sample may be from an animal such as a cow or human and that the human sample may be from post mortem donors or as a surgical specimen resulting from a relevant procedure such as during reshaping of the ear ([0053]) further rendering obvious the human or non-human origin of claims 4 and 48 and the cadaver and living donor sources as in claims 5 and 6. Van Osch teaches that the cartilage sample may be decellularized where chondrocytes in the cartilage samples are killed and dislodged by freeze-thaw cycles to kill cells and help in removing cellular particles ([0054]), rendering obvious the freeze/thaw cycles of claim 10. Van Osch teaches that decellularization refers to removing cells and cell remnants from a cartilage extracellular matrix, leaving a cartilage scaffold of the original tissue ([0028]) and that the cartilage scaffold refers to the extracellular substance of cartilage composed predominantly of collagen fibers, non-collagenous glycoproteins and proteoglycans ([0030]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have treated a fibrocartilage source such as meniscal cartilage or annulus fibrosis of the intervertebral disc with pepsin and elastase to remove elastin and to treat with freeze/thaw cycles as part of forming a decellularized transplant material. Devitalizing (decellularizing) cartilage material such as meniscal cartilage or annulus fibrosis of the intervertebral disc and recellularizing the material to render it vital is obvious from the teachings of Chen. It is clear from the teaching of Van Osch that the recellularization of decellularized cartilage material is improved by removing elastin as it allows for cells to adhere to the cartilage scaffold. Applying pepsin and elastase is able to remove elastin, as taught by Van Osch, rendering it obvious to use this treatment with the cartilage of Chen to remove elastin and improve the recellularization process. It is further obvious to treat the cartilage material with freeze dry cycles as this is known to aid in killing and dislodging chondrocytes, as taught by Van Osch, thus providing a reasonable expectation of success in improved decellularization form applying freeze dry cycles. Regarding claim 7, as evidenced by the instant specification, menisci treated with pepsin and elastase had blood vessels and elastin fully removed ([0098]). As the same method of treating with pepsin and elastase is known from the art, the result of achieving at least 50% removal of blood vessel content would be a function of the decellularization process rendered obvious. Regarding claim 9, it is obvious to decellularize the cartilage as taught by Chen and that decellularized cartilage refers to the extracellular matrix which is composed of collagen fibers, non-collagenous glycoproteins and proteoglycans, as taught by Van Osch. As evidenced by Fox, collagens comprise up to 75% of the dry weight of the extracellular matrix (page 342 right column) and also contains glycosaminoglycans (page 343 right column). Thus, decellularizing the cartilage material, as rendered obvious from Chen and Van Osch, would necessarily result in a decellularized material with collagen and glycosaminoglycan up to 75% in dry weight, meeting the limitation of claim 9.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 30 Apr 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Chen fails to teach the use of fibrous meniscal cartilage FMC (page 6 of remarks and paragraph 4 of 1.132 declaration). The examiner disagrees with this and notes that Chen teaches fibrocartilage is mainly found in menisci, the annulus fibrosis of the intervertebral disc ([0002-0003]) and teaches that the cartilage matrix for the method may come from a fibrocartilage source (see claim 281) and teaches devitalizing fibrocartilage discs isolated from menisci ([0147]). Thus, it is obvious to devitalize cartilage from a fibrocartilage source such as meniscal cartilage or annulus fibrosis of the intervertebral disc.
Applicant refers to the examiner’s previous response as shown here:
And argues that
(page 7 of remarks).
The examiner agrees that the claims are directed to elastin removal from FMC and IAFC. The point of the section from the examiner, as highlighted by the applicant, was that applicant’s arguments were directed to the lack of ability to remove elastin from elastic cartilage but this is not a complete comparison because the claims and the rejection are based on the obviousness of devitalizing fibrocartilage.
Applicant argues that the teachings of Van Osch regarding removal of elastin are not enabled (page 6 of remarks). Applicant looks to a research article Nurnberger et al. (which includes the inventor Van Osch) for evidence that treatment with elastase and pepsin did not achieve at least 70% removal of elastin (page 6 of remarks). Applicant looks to fig 2 of Nurnberger and the statement that the final cartilage was standardized to a final thickness of 300 millimeters as evidence that cutting was additionally needed to remove elastin (page 6 of remarks). Applicant argues that the desirability of removing elastin as expressed by Van Osch means nothing without a method to do so (pages 7 and 8 of remarks). Applicant argues that the disclosure of Van Osch is not enabled (pages 7 and 8 of remarks). Applicant included a 1.132 declaration by Dr. Van Osch which states that Dr. Van Osch did not have an expectation that treatment of elastase would work (paragraph 3 of declaration). The declaration states (paragraph 5) that elastase tested on hyaline cartilage did not result in full decellularization and that further research was abandoned as it was unsuccessful and did not lead to the results descrbied in the Van Osch patent.
The examiner does not find these arguments regarding a lack of enablement from Van Osch as persuasive to overcoming the rejection. The examiner first notes that there is a presumption of enablement in prior art references. When the reference relied on expressly anticipates or makes obvious all of the elements of the claimed invention, the reference is presumed to be operable. Once such a reference is found, the burden is on applicant to rebut the presumption of operability. In re Sasse, 629 F.2d 675, 207 USPQ 107 (CCPA 1980). Applicant has attempted to rebut the operability of Van Osch and removing elastin by looking to the article Nurnberger et al. and providing expert opinion from Dr. Van Osch. The examiner does not find this sufficient to overcome presumption of enablement for the prior art. The examiner notes that Nurnberger tested auricular cartilage (a type of elastic cartilage) and the declaration states that “we tested the use of elastase on hyaline cartilage which did not result in a full decellularization.” The evidence of Nurnberger and the declaration thus does not address fibrocartilage such as FMC and IAFC which is the cartilage under examination. A lack of an expectation of success by Dr. Van Osch for treating fibrocartilage material is merely a conclusory argument and does not meet the legal standard for establishing inoperability. Additionally, the statement provided by Dr. Van Osch is not clear as to what the assertion being made is. Paragraph 5 of the declaration states “we have used elastase to remove elastin in elastic cartilage allowing for recellularization as described in our publication Nürnberger et al. and the Van Osch PCT. Based on these results, we tested the use of elastase on hyaline cartilage which did not result in a full decellularization.” This statement thus indicates that they were able to remove elastin from elastic cartilage but did not find success with hyalin cartilage. Removal of elastin from elastic cartilage is similar to findings presented in the Van Osch prior art, and suggests operability instead of inoperability. Further, the evidence presented with a single test condition in Nurnberger is too narrow to support a complete lack of enablement from the Van Osch prior art. Further regarding the evidence of Nurnberger, the examiner is not convinced that it demonstrates what the applicant is asserting regarding a lack elastin removal. Applicant looks to Fig. 2 of Nurnberger and claims on page 6 of the remarks that less than 50% of elastin is removed with the elastase treatment and that less than 70% is removed from the pepsin/elastase treatment. These percentages are not provided by Nurnberger and it is not clear how the applicant arrived at these percentages as this was not calculated in Nurnberger. The clearest statement in Nurnberger alternatively suggests that elastin was successfully removed, even if it was only up to a certain thickness level of the cartilage (“By adding pepsin treatment, elastic fibers were completely removed in the peripheral 150 mm leaving a hollow channel network in its place” section 3.2 of Nurnberger). Thus, the evidence presented is not sufficient to establish a lack of operability of the Van Osch prior art and overcome the prima facie case of obviousness.
The examiner further notes that "even if a reference discloses an inoperative device, it is prior art for all that it teaches." Beckman Instruments v. LKB Produkter AB, 892 F.2d 1547, 1551, 13 USPQ2d 1301, 1304 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Therefore, "a non-enabling reference may qualify as prior art for the purpose of determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103." Symbol Techs. Inc. v. Opticon Inc., 935 F.2d 1569, 1578, 19 USPQ2d 1241, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 1991). The rejection under consideration was made with the prior art Chen in view of Van Osch and one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). It is obvious from Chen to treat a fibrocartilage source such as meniscal cartilage or annulus fibrosis of the intervertebral disc with elastase and the addition of pepsin in the treatment is obvious from Van Osch. Thus, each of the active steps in the method are known and obvious from the combined teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/E.C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/ANNA R FALKOWITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600