Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27, 30, 31, 32, 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan (US 20190268835 A1 dated 20180518) in view of Talebi Fard et al. (US 20200100319 A1 dated 2020-03-26)
As to claim 27, Shan (US 20190268835 A1 dated 20180518) discloses (New) A method in a User Equipment, UE, configuration update procedure performed by a UE, the method comprising:
receiving, from a network node (AMF), a configuration update command (UE Configuration Update Command, Fig3) that comprises information that indicates to the UE that the UE is to perform a registration procedure ([0203]), and an indication which indicates whether or not the UE is to maintain an existing N1 non-access stratum, NAS, connection ([0205] – “…the AMF needs not release the NAS signaling connection for the UE”) of the UE (Paragraph [0196] – “ The AMF sends UE Configuration Update command […] to the UE.” [0203] – “If the Configuration Update Indication requires a Registration procedure, depending on the parameters included in the UE Configuration Update command steps 3a or 3b-4 or 3c-3d-4 are executed”); and
performing one or more actions ([0196] - The AMF sends UE Configuration Update command) in accordance with the configuration update command ([0196] - The AMF sends UE Configuration Update command), wherein performing the one or more actions comprise performing the registration procedure ([0203]) and determining whether to release or refrain from releasing the existing N1 NAS connection (Fig 3 – there are three paths, path1: 3a, path2: 3b and path3: 3c-3d. Here at 3b, AMF does not trigger AN release procedure and at 3c-3d, AMF triggers AN release procedure, thereby, the reference supports both limitations (releasing or refraining from releasing) in the claim. [0205] – “…the AMF needs not release the NAS signaling connection for the UE”) in accordance with the indication when performing the registration procedure (Paragraph [0196] – “The AMF sends UE Configuration Update command containing one or more UE parameters (5G-GUTI, TAI List, Allowed NSSAI, Mapping Of Allowed NSSAI, Configured NSSAI for the Serving PLMN, Mapping Of Configured NSSAI, NITZ, Mobility Restrictions, LADN Information, MICO, Configuration Update Indication, graceful re-register time)”; [0203] – “If the Configuration Update Indication requires a Registration procedure, depending on the parameters included in the UE Configuration Update command steps 3a or 3b-4 or 3c-3d-4 are executed”; [0205] – “3b. If a new Allowed NSSAI and/or a new Configured NSSAI provided by the AMF to the UE does not affect the existing connectivity to slices (i.e. any S-NSSAI(s) the UE is connected to), the AMF needs not release the NAS signaling connection for the UE”; [0207] - “4. UE initiates a Registration procedure after the UE enters CM-IDLE state and includes the 5G-GUTI in Access Stratum signalling depending on the indication received from the AMF.”).
Shan reference talks about AMF triggering the NAS connection release. Shan does not disclose that the UE determines whether to release or refrain from releasing the N1 NAS connection. However, a prior art, Talebi Fard et al. (US 20200100319 A1 dated 2020-03-26) discloses determining whether to release or refrain from releasing the existing N1 NAS connection ( Paragraph [0331] – “In an example embodiment, a wireless device (a UE) may request release of a connection (e.g., signaling/control plane connection, user plane connection, non-access stratum NAS connection, RRC connection, and/or the like).”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Shan et al to include the means to the UE releasing the NAS connection as taught by wireless network of Talebi Fard et al. in order to provide efficient and reliable method for release of network resources as mentioned in paragraph [0330].
As to claim 30, Shan (US 20190268835 A1 dated 20180518) discloses (New) The method of claim 27, wherein the network node (AMF) is an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF (AMF).
As to claim 31, Shan (US 20190268835 A1 dated 20180518) discloses (New) A User Equipment, UE (User Equipment UE), adapted to: receive, from a network node (AMF), a configuration update command (UE Configuration Update Command, Fig3) that comprises information that indicates to the UE that the UE is to perform a registration procedure ([0203]), and an indication which indicates whether or not the UE is to maintain an existing N1 non-access stratum, NAS, connection ([0205] – “…the AMF needs not release the NAS signaling connection for the UE”) of the UE (Paragraph [0196] – “ The AMF sends UE Configuration Update command […] to the UE.”; [0203] – “If the Configuration Update Indication requires a Registration procedure, depending on the parameters included in the UE Configuration Update command steps 3a or 3b-4 or 3c-3d-4 are executed”),
and perform one or more actions ([0196] - The AMF sends UE Configuration Update command) in accordance with the configuration update command ([0196] - The AMF sends UE Configuration Update command), wherein perform the one or more actions comprise perform the registration procedure ([0203]) and determining whether to release or refrain from releasing the existing N1 NAS connection (Fig 3 – there are three paths, path1: 3a, path2: 3b and path3: 3c-3d. Here at 3b, AMF does not trigger AN release procedure and at 3c-3d, AMF triggers AN release procedure, thereby, the reference supports both limitations (releasing or refraining from releasing) in the claim. [0205] – “…the AMF needs not release the NAS signaling connection for the UE”) in accordance with the indication when performing the registration procedure (Paragraph [0196] – “The AMF sends UE Configuration Update command containing one or more UE parameters (5G-GUTI, TAI List, Allowed NSSAI, Mapping Of Allowed NSSAI, Configured NSSAI for the Serving PLMN, Mapping Of Configured NSSAI, NITZ, Mobility Restrictions, LADN Information, MICO, Configuration Update Indication, graceful re-register time)”; [0203] – “If the Configuration Update Indication requires a Registration procedure, depending on the parameters included in the UE Configuration Update command steps 3a or 3b-4 or 3c-3d-4 are executed”; [0205] – “3b. If a new Allowed NSSAI and/or a new Configured NSSAI provided by the AMF to the UE does not affect the existing connectivity to slices (i.e. any S-NSSAI(s) the UE is connected to), the AMF needs not release the NAS signaling connection for the UE”; [0207] - “4. UE initiates a Registration procedure after the UE enters CM-IDLE state and includes the 5G-GUTI in Access Stratum signalling depending on the indication received from the AMF.”).
Shan reference talks about AMF triggering the NAS connection release. Shan does not disclose that the UE determines whether to release or refrain from releasing the N1 NAS connection. However, a prior art, Talebi Fard et al. (US 20200100319 A1 dated 2020-03-26) discloses determining whether to release or refrain from releasing the existing N1 NAS connection ( Paragraph [0331] – “In an example embodiment, a wireless device (a UE) may request release of a connection (e.g., signaling/control plane connection, user plane connection, non-access stratum NAS connection, RRC connection, and/or the like).”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Shan et al to include the means to the UE releasing the NAS connection as taught by wireless network of Talebi Fard et al. in order to provide efficient and reliable method for release of network resources as mentioned in paragraph [0330].
As to claim 32, Shan (US 20190268835 A1 dated 20180518) discloses (New) A User Equipment, UE, comprising: one or more transmitters; one or more receivers; and processing circuitry associated with the one or more transmitters and the one or more receivers, the processing circuitry configured to cause the UE to: receive, from a network node (AMF), a configuration update command (UE Configuration Update Command, Fig3) that comprises information that indicates to the UE that the UE is to perform a registration procedure ([0203]), and an indication which indicates whether or not the UE is to maintain an existing N1 non-access stratum, NAS, connection ([0205] – “…the AMF needs not release the NAS signaling connection for the UE”) of the UE (Paragraph [0196] – “ The AMF sends UE Configuration Update command […] to the UE.”; [0203] – “If the Configuration Update Indication requires a Registration procedure, depending on the parameters included in the UE Configuration Update command steps 3a or 3b-4 or 3c-3d-4 are executed”), and
perform one or more actions ([0196] - The AMF sends UE Configuration Update command) in accordance with the configuration update command ([0196] - The AMF sends UE Configuration Update command), wherein perform the one or more actions comprise perform the registration procedure ([0203]) and determining whether to release or refrain from releasing the existing N1 NAS connection (Fig 3 – there are three paths, path1: 3a, path2: 3b and path3: 3c-3d. Here at 3b, AMF does not trigger AN release procedure and at 3c-3d, AMF triggers AN release procedure, thereby, the reference supports both limitations (releasing or refraining from releasing) in the claim. [0205] – “…the AMF needs not release the NAS signaling connection for the UE”) in accordance with the indication when performing the registration procedure (Paragraph [0196] – “The AMF sends UE Configuration Update command containing one or more UE parameters (5G-GUTI, TAI List, Allowed NSSAI, Mapping Of Allowed NSSAI, Configured NSSAI for the Serving PLMN, Mapping Of Configured NSSAI, NITZ, Mobility Restrictions, LADN Information, MICO, Configuration Update Indication, graceful re-register time)”; [0203] – “If the Configuration Update Indication requires a Registration procedure, depending on the parameters included in the UE Configuration Update command steps 3a or 3b-4 or 3c-3d-4 are executed”; [0205] – “3b. If a new Allowed NSSAI and/or a new Configured NSSAI provided by the AMF to the UE does not affect the existing connectivity to slices (i.e. any S-NSSAI(s) the UE is connected to), the AMF needs not release the NAS signaling connection for the UE”; [0207] - “4. UE initiates a Registration procedure after the UE enters CM-IDLE state and includes the 5G-GUTI in Access Stratum signalling depending on the indication received from the AMF.”).
Shan reference talks about AMF triggering the NAS connection release. Shan does not disclose that the UE determines whether to release or refrain from releasing the N1 NAS connection. However, a prior art, Talebi Fard et al. (US 20200100319 A1 dated 2020-03-26) discloses determining whether to release or refrain from releasing the existing N1 NAS connection ( Paragraph [0331] – “In an example embodiment, a wireless device (a UE) may request release of a connection (e.g., signaling/control plane connection, user plane connection, non-access stratum NAS connection, RRC connection, and/or the like).”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Shan et al to include the means to the UE releasing the NAS connection as taught by wireless network of Talebi Fard et al. in order to provide efficient and reliable method for release of network resources as mentioned in paragraph [0330].
As to claim 35, Shan (US 20190268835 A1 dated 20180518) discloses (New) The UE of claim 32, wherein the network node (AMF) is an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF (AMF).
Claim 28, 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan (US 20190268835 A1 dated 20180518) as applied in claim 27, 32 and further in view of Kim (US 20200053566 A1 dated 2018-08-08)
As to claim 28, Shan (US 20190268835 A1 dated 20180518) does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Kim (US 20200053566 A1 dated 2018-08-08) discloses (New) The method of claim 27, wherein the indication is a one-bit indication that indicates that the UE is required to release the existing NAS connection if set to a first binary value and indicates that the UE is not required to release the existing NAS connection if set to a second binary value (Paragraph [0091] –“ When an SDAP header is configured, a one-bit non-access stratum (NAS) QoS reflective indicator (NAS reflective QoS) and a one-bit AS QoS reflective indicator (AS reflective QoS) of the SDAP header may be used for indication to enable the UE to update or reconfigure uplink and downlink QoS flows and mapping information for a data bearer.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Shan et al to include the means to the use of one-bit indicator for NAS connection as taught by wireless network of Kim in order to use one-bit indicator to indicate if the UE is required to release the existing NAS connection or not.
As to claim 33, Shan (US 20190268835 A1 dated 20180518) does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Kim (US 20200053566 A1 dated 2018-08-08) discloses (New) The UE of claim 32, wherein the indication is a one-bit indication that indicates that the UE is required to release the existing NAS connection if set to a first binary value and indicates that the UE is not required to release the existing NAS connection if set to a second binary value (Paragraph [0091] –“ When an SDAP header is configured, a one-bit non-access stratum (NAS) QoS reflective indicator (NAS reflective QoS) and a one-bit AS QoS reflective indicator (AS reflective QoS) of the SDAP header may be used for indication to enable the UE to update or reconfigure uplink and downlink QoS flows and mapping information for a data bearer.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Shan et al to include the means to the use of one-bit indicator for NAS connection as taught by wireless network of Kim in order to use one-bit indicator to indicate if the UE is required to release the existing NAS connection or not.
Claim 29, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan (US 20190268835 A1 dated 20180518) as applied in claim 27, 32 and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20210136675 A1 dated 2019-11-06)
As to claim 29, Shan (US 20190268835 A1 dated 20180518) does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Lee et al. (US 20210136675 A1 dated 2019-11-06) discloses (New) The method of claim 27, wherein the indication is a general indication ([0156] – “… a corresponding indicator”) that is applicable to two or more reasons (Paragraph [0156] – “The reason the AMF 121 transmits …”) for the configuration update command (Paragraph [0156] – “The reason the AMF 121 transmits, to the UE 100, the De-registration request message or the UE Configuration Update Command message including a corresponding indicator (e.g., the indication parameter indicating whether a Registration procedure is requested) may be to indicate or control the UE 100 to re-perform a registration procedure, when the UE 100 receives the message”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Shan et al to include the means to the use of indicator applicable to configuration update command as taught by wireless network of Lee et al. in order to use indicator that is applicable to two or more reasons for the configuration update command.
As to claim 34, Shan (US 20190268835 A1 dated 20180518) does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Lee et al. (US 20210136675 A1 dated 2019-11-06) discloses (New) The UE of claim 32, wherein the indication is a general indication ([0156] – “… a corresponding indicator”) that is applicable to two or more reasons (Paragraph [0156] – “The reason the AMF 121 transmits …”) for the configuration update command (Paragraph [0156] – “The reason the AMF 121 transmits, to the UE 100, the De-registration request message or the UE Configuration Update Command message including a corresponding indicator (e.g., the indication parameter indicating whether a Registration procedure is requested) may be to indicate or control the UE 100 to re-perform a registration procedure, when the UE 100 receives the message”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Shan et al to include the means to the use of indicator applicable to configuration update command as taught by wireless network of Lee et al. in order to use indicator that is applicable to two or more reasons for the configuration update command.
Remarks/Arguments
All the remarks and arguments posted on 02/25/2026 have been reviewed.
Shan reference talks about AMF triggering the NAS connection release. Shan does not disclose that the UE determines whether to release or refrain from releasing the N1 NAS connection. However, a prior art, Talebi Fard et al. (US 20200100319 A1 dated 2020-03-26) discloses determining whether to release or refrain from releasing the existing N1 NAS connection ( Paragraph [0331] – “In an example embodiment, a wireless device (a UE) may request release of a connection (e.g., signaling/control plane connection, user plane connection, non-access stratum NAS connection, RRC connection, and/or the like).”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Shan et al. to include the means to the UE releasing the NAS connection as taught by wireless network of Talebi Fard et al. in order to provide efficient and reliable method for release of network resources as mentioned in paragraph [0330].
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDULLAH AL MAMUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/MATTHEW D. ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646