DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, et. al. (EPO Machine Translation of KR20140009015A), in view of Lee, et. al. (US2020153015A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Park recites an apparatus for manufacturing a secondary battery, the apparatus comprising: an electrode supply part (feeding conveyor 802) configured to supply an electrode; a first inspection part configured to detect the supplied electrode so as to distinguish a normal electrode portion and an abnormal electrode portion from each other (vision inspection unit 900; “a camera 910 for detecting the quality of the individual electrodes . . . [and detects] the defective electrode Sa’”); and a notching part (notching portion 500) configured to notch the electrode passing through the first inspection part, wherein the notching part notches the electrode through a laser (“[0093] Referring to FIG. 4C, the notching unit according to the present invention includes a pair of laser cutters 1310 and 1320 and a laser-only PC 1341.”) so that the normal electrode portion and the abnormal electrode portion, have different shapes. (“[0134] The electrode pusher 1400 applies a laser beam emitted from the first and second laser cutters 1310 and 1320 to the band-shaped electrode S (S) so that the first cut region A and the second cut region B are formed ; “[0010 - 12] The pair of laser cutters may include a 1st laser cutter located at an upper portion of one end side of the band-shaped electrode to form a 1st cut region, and a 2nd laser cutter located at an upper portion of the other end side of the band-shaped electrode to form a 2nd cut region, and the 1st cut region and the 2nd cut region may be formed to be twisted to form different widths. The rear end of the 1st cutting region may include a notch, and may be formed to be positioned at a rear end of the 2nd cutting region by a predetermined length, and a region between the rear end of the 2nd cutting region and another 2nd cutting region, which is separated from the rear end of the 2nd cutting region and re-cut at one end of the band-shaped electrode, may be formed of the electrode tab . . . 0140] Through such a configuration, the electrode (S) can be notched or cut in a desired pattern” wherein these different regions having different widths, twists, which form a “pattern” indicate different shapes). Park at [0010 - 12 (p. 1-3), 0093, 0190 - 196]. The Office notes that as interpreted, because the electrode is notched at two points and is “separated” such that the Sa and Sa’ are divided, the “patterns” applied are different shapes.
However, Park is silent as to “wherein the first inspection part is configured to determine if the electrode has the normal electrode portion or the abnormal electrode portion using a vision sensor to transmit a notching signal, and the apparatus further comprises a main control system configured to receive the notching signal, wherein the notching part is configured to notch the normal electrode portion or the abnormal electrode portion with different shapes based on the notching signal.”
Lee teaches an apparatus and method for manufacturing an electrode, wherein position sensors are utilized along the edges of an electrode as it is being formed, wherein “[0021] The first and second position sensors may be a vision sensor for capturing an image of the edges of the embossing portion and the cathode layer respectively and outputting the vision data corresponding to the captured images to the controller respectively.” Lee at [0021]. Further, “[0111] The first and second position sensors 81 and 82 simultaneously photograph the edge of the cathode electrode layer 7 and the edge of the embossed portion 37 respectively and the operation of the vision shooting can be controlled through the controller 90 . [0112] Further, a color sensor 85 for sensing a color between the cathode electrode layers 7 and outputting the detection signal to the controller 90 may be provided on a side of the first position sensor 81 . [0113] The color sensor 85 senses the white color between the cathode electrode layers 7 and the black color of the cathode electrode layer 7 which is opposite to the white color, and may be equipped with a color sensor known in the art do. [0114] The controller 90 may receive a sensing signal from the color sensor 85 and may analyze the sensing signal to control the operation of the first and second position sensors 81 and 82.” Id. at [0111 – 113]. Finally, “[0115] The controller 90 as described above may be implemented as one or more control processors that operate according to a set program as a controller for controlling the overall operation of the apparatus 100 , and may include a series of instructions to perform.” These operations include controlling the drivers to move electrode layer closer or further via the drivers, such that “[0116] The controller 90 analyzes the sensing signals supplied from the first and second position sensors 81 and 82 and outputs the sensed signals to the first driver 31 and the second driver 41 according to the edge positions of the embossing portions 37 and the cathode electrode layer 7.” This provides a benefit to better alignment in a “[013] simple configuration.” Further, the color perception of the vision sensor is used to detect alignment in addition to the relative linear position detection. Id. at [00112 – 116]. This is strongly implied to provide a benefit over other conventional position sensors by adding another metric to detect abnormalities.
In order for a reference to be proper for use in an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 , the reference must be analogous art to the claimed invention. A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). MPEP 2144.01(a).
Here, the vision sensor and controller utilized in Lee are utilized within a fuel cell. While fuel cells are distinguishable from a secondary battery, the components utilized in manufacturing an electrochemical electrode are in the same field of endeavor (i.e., electrode fabrication, even if the electrode profiles differ). Further, the vision sensor and controller relied upon within the Lee reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, namely improving sensors utilized within the process of electrode manufacturing.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the apparatus of Park, such that it comprises the vision sensor and controller of Lee, such that wherein the first inspection part is configured to determine if the electrode has the normal electrode portion or the abnormal electrode portion using a vision sensor (vision sensor 84 of Lee) to transmit a notching signal (“[0116] sensing signals”), and the apparatus further comprises a main control system configured to receive the notching signal (controller 90, which in turn outputs these to driver in Lee; as modified here, these outputs are sent to the notching part), wherein the notching part is configured to notch the normal electrode portion or the abnormal electrode portion with different shapes based on the notching signal (separating defective parts Sa’ of Park, wherein the different shape is the cut at a different location at cut regions A and B, which have different widths and are separately twisted, depending upon their compliance, as in Park at [0010], analyzed above), because the color vision sensor of Lee provides a benefit to better detection of abnormalities and alignment while maintaining a simple configuration.
Claim 9 is obvious over Park, in view of Lee.
Claims 10-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (see previously attached EPO Machine Translation of KR20140009015A), in view of Lee, further in view of Kang, et. al. (KR20060034126A, see EPO Machine Translation for citation).
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 relies upon Claim 9. Claim 9 is anticipated by Park.
Park teaches the first inspection part divides the normal electrode portion and the abnormal electrode portion from each other through a vision sensor (camera 910) to transmit a notching signal (“[0193] an electrical signal is provided”). Park at [0193].
However, Park is silent as to “and the apparatus further comprises a main control system configured to receive the notching signal so as to be transmitted to the notching part.”
Kang teaches a collector electrode inspection device [0003], and teaches “[a] fault detection unit . . detects a defect of the electrode active material layer . . . it includes a search unit . . . [and] transfer[s]the captured image from the image pickup unit, the imaging unit detects a defect of the electrode active material layer [and] includes a control section for transmitting an operation signal to the defect marking units.” Kang at [0003, 13 (p. 2-3)]. Kang teaches its inspection device can be utilized to detect “bubble[s]”, “pinhole[s],” and “streak[s],” indicating a benefit to the ability to receive a captured image and transmit a signal based upon this captured image, by detecting the type of defect before the notching process. Id. at p.2.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the apparatus of Park such that its inspection part comprises a main control system (the “control section” of Kang) configured to receive the notching signal so as to be transmitted to the notching part, because Kang a benefit to the ability to receive a captured image and transmit a signal based upon this captured image, by detecting the type of defect before the notching process.
Claim 10 is obvious over Park, in view of Lee, further in view of Kang.
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 11 relies upon Claim 10. Claim 10 is obvious over modified Park.
Kang teaches its inspection device can be utilized to detect “bubble[s]”, “pinhole[s],” and “streak[s],” and that “the imaging unit detects a defect of the electrode active material layer [and] includes a control section for transmitting an operation signal to the defect marking units.” Kang at [0003, 13 (p. 2-4)]. Kang strongly implies this “operation signal,” is based upon the image detected. Id. at p.3.
For this reason, modified Park discloses the notching part notches the normal electrode portion and the abnormal electrode portion, which are distinguished from each other in the first inspection part (via the camera 910 of Park), in different shapes based on the received notching signal (wherein the imaging unit and control unit of Kang indicate that the image is detected, and the plurality of different shapes taught by Kang indicate this changes the signal generated.
Claim 11 is obvious over Park, in view of Lee, further in view of Kang.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 relies upon Claim 11. Claim 11 is obvious over modified Park.
Park teaches “[0010] a notch portion for forming an electrode tab by forming a notch in the electrode behind the buffer portion,” and that “[0193] when the defective electrode Sa' (Sa ') is removed from the suction conveyor (1010) and removed to the outside.” Park at [0010, 0193]. Kang teaches “defect marking unit 220 may mark the defective mark (171 173) to any one of the slitting line 135, the electrode active material layer 130 and coated portion 150.” Kang at p.3. This indicates an electrode tab, and a portion that is either cut off or marked.
For this reason, modified Park discloses the normal electrode portion is notched to form an electrode tab, and the abnormal electrode portion is notched in the form of at least one of a marked shape, a shape having a hole, or a shape of a cut electrode tab.
Claim 12 is obvious over Park, in view of Lee, further in view of Kang.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 relies upon Claim 9. Claim 9 is obvious over modified Park.
Regarding the meaning of the term, “adjust a supply rate . . . according to a speed,” under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this includes the supply rate being the same as or being proportional to the desired notching speed, because “adjust” means changing without limitations as to the value in the absence of additional claim language.
Park teaches “[0082] In order to minimize the positional change during electrode feeding, the guide rollers 431 use a normal roll when the speed is low at the set reference, and use an NIP roll or a suction roll when the speed is higher than the set reference.” Park at [0082]. This reads upon, “the electrode supply part is configured to adjust a supply rate of the electrode according to a speed of the notching performed in the notching part,” because this section of [082] describes a process of changing the roll type based upon the speed with respect to a reference, either increasing or decreasing the friction to make the speed proportional to the “set reference.”
Claim 13 is obvious over Park, in view of Lee, further in view of Kang.
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 relies upon Claim 9. Claim 9 is obvious over modified Park.
Park teaches “[0211] an electrode winding system including a first electrode and a second electrode,” and teaches the electrode passing through the notching part “[0010, p.2] the present invention is characterized in that the notching portion includes a mold top plate and a mold bottom plate through which the band-like electrodes move.” For this reason, Park teaches an electrode winding part configured to wind the electrode passing through the notching part.
Claim 15 is obvious over Park, in view of Lee, further in view of Kang.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Lee and Kang, and further in view of Kim, et. al. (KR101926451B1 see EPO Machine Translation for citation).
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 relies upon Claim 9. Claim 9 is obvious over modified Park.
Park and Kang are silent as to the rotation speed of the rollers being adjusted to adjust the supply rate.
Kim teaches “[0005] an electrode working device for a secondary battery capable of continuously producing an electrode for a secondary battery of excellent quality and improving productivity.” Kim at [0005]. This apparatus comprises multiple rollers, wherein “[0043] The rotational speeds of the first and second upper rollers 110 and 210 and the first and second lower rollers 120 and 220 may be controlled through the controller 500. The controller 500 controls the first rotational speed V1 and the second rotational speed V2 corresponding to the conveyance speed VS of the electrode sheet S and controls the first and second upper rollers 110 and 210. . . . [0044] The control unit 500 may return the second rotation speed V2 of the first and second upper rollers 110 and 210 to the original shape when the patterning operation for forming one electrode through notching is completed. For example, it can be controlled at the second rotation speed in the first rotation.” Id. at [0043 – 44]. This reads upon an electrode supply part which comprises rollers that supply the electrode, wherein each of the rollers is adjusted in rotation speed to adjust the supply rate of the electrode. This adjustment for “improving productivity” by adjusting the rotation speeds when the patterning operation is in effect, before returning to ordinary operation when notching is completed.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the apparatus of modified Park, such that the control unit 300 of modified Park controls the rotational speed of the rollers “corresponding to the conveyance speed VS of the electrode sheet,” as with the controller 500 of Kim, because Kim teaches a beneficial improvement to productivity and the patterning operation, which as applied to Park would be expected to improve the notching apparatus.
Claim 14 is obvious over Park, in view of Lee and Kang, and further in view of Kim.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Lee and Kang, and further in view of Sakurai, et. al. (CN108496271A, see EPO Machine Translation for citation).
Regarding Claim 16, Claim 16 relies upon Claim 9. Claim 9 is obvious over modified Park.
Park teaches “[0193] 10, the vision inspection unit 900 includes a camera 910 for detecting the quality of the individual electrodes Sa as an image, and the image detected by the camera 910 is referred to as a standard image In the case where the defective electrode Sa 'is detected, an electric signal is provided to the suction conveyor unit 1000 to remove the suction force of the suction conveyor 1010, and when the defective electrode Sa' (Sa ') is removed from the suction conveyor (1010) and removed to the outside.” Park at [0193]. Park teaches this electrode is removed via the cutter 800. Id. at [0196]. These indicate modified Park teaches “a discharge part configured to discharge a defective cell comprising the abnormal electrode portion.” Kang teaches both a fault detection unit 210, and a defective marking search unit 230; this is alongside an image pickup section 211. Kang at p.2. This “search unit “is preferably made of a position sensor to search for the location of the electrode . . . to be marked.” Id. This indicates Kang teaches two inspection parts, and as applied to Park, Kang teaches “a second inspection part configured to detect an electrode portion notched as the abnormal electrode portion.” Id. The cutter is also a “cell cutting part.”
However, modified Park is silent as to a lamination part.
Sakurai teaches a “An electrode stacking apparatus according to an aspect of the present invention stacks an electrode supplied from a conveying device to form an electrode laminated body. . . .[a] laminating unit is disposed on the opposite side of the conveying device via the circulation member, and has a plurality of stacked portions in which electrodes are stacked . . . [and an] electrode supported by the electrode support portion is simultaneously pushed out to the multi-stage lamination portion, and the control portion controls the circulation and lifting of the circulation member and the operation of the push-out portion, and the control portion controls the operation of the push-out portion to control the ratio of the transfer portion.” Sakurai at [p.3]. Sakurai teaches its structure allows it “to suppress an increase in size of the apparatus and to increase the speed of lamination.” Id. Sakurai teaches this further comprises a lamination pattern wherein “The electrode assembly 3 has a structure in which a plurality of positive electrodes 8 and a plurality of negative electrodes 9 are alternately laminated via a separator 10 having a bag shape.” Id. at [p.8].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the apparatus of modified Park, such that it comprises a lamination part (lamination unit 25 of Sakurai) configured to alternately stack the electrode and a separator to be laminated (Sakurai at p.3); a second inspection part (as taught by Kang; wherein the second inspection part is position sensor of Kang) the configured to detect an electrode portion notched as the abnormal electrode portion passing through the lamination part; a cell cutting part (the cutter 800 of Park) configured to cut a stack of the electrode and the separator, which are laminated, into a plurality of cells after passing through the second inspection part; and a discharge part configured to discharge a defective cell comprising the abnormal electrode portion, which is detected through the second inspection part, from the plurality of cells after passing through the cutting part (Park at [00193 – 196]), because Sakurai teaches a benefit to lamination speed and the suppression of a size increase.
Claim 16 is obvious over Park, in view of Lee and Kang, and further in view of Sakurai.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 9, 12-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.H./Examiner , Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725