DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
3. This action is in response to Applicant’s Request for Reconsideration dated 03/10/2026.
4. Claims 1-3 and 6-10 are currently pending.
5. Claims 6-10 have been withdrawn.
6. Claims 1-2 have been amended.
7. Claims 4-5 and 11 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhindsa et al (US 2009/0111276) in view of Kojima et al (US 5,445,709) and Kitagawa (US 6,217,703).
Regarding claim 1:
Dhindsa teaches a device (plasma processing apparatus) for processing a substrate (32) [fig 1 & 0010], the device (plasma processing apparatus) comprising: a chamber (vacuum processing chamber) [fig 1 & 0012]; a substrate supporting unit (substrate support, 30) provided inside the chamber (vacuum processing chamber) and configured to support the substrate (substrate, 32) provided inside the chamber (vacuum processing chamber) [fig 1 & 0012]; a gas distribution unit (showerhead electrode assembly, 10) provided inside the chamber (vacuum processing chamber) to face the substrate supporting unit (substrate support, 30) and configured to distribute a process gas toward the substrate supporting unit [fig 1 & 0010]; a first temperature control unit (110C) installed only in a central region except for an edge region of the gas distribution unit (10) [fig 2A-2C, 4 & 0016, 0019, 0039]; and a second temperature control unit (120A) installed only in an edge region except for the central region of the gas distribution unit (10), the edge region including one or more partial edge regions along an outer peripheral side of the gas distribution unit (10) [fig 2A-2C, 4 & 0016, 0019, 0039], wherein the first temperature control unit (110C) comprises: a flow channel (tube) configured to allow a temperature controlling fluid (heat transfer liquid) to flow inside the central region [fig 2A-2C, 4 & 0016, 0019, 0039]; an inlet (116C) configured to supply the temperature controlling fluid (heat transfer liquid) to the flow channel (tube) [fig 2A-2C, 4 & 0018]; and an outlet (118C) configured to discharge the temperature controlling fluid (heat transfer liquid) from the flow channel (tube) [fig 2A-2C, 4 & 0018], wherein the second temperature control unit (120A) comprises an electric heating wire (heater element) buried inside the edge region [fig 2A-2C, 4 & 0016, 0019, 0039].
Dhindsa does not specifically disclose a gas distribution unit having a quadrilateral shape.
Kojima teaches a gas distribution unit having a quadrilateral shape (rectangular shape [col 11, lines 10-22].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the gas distribution unit of Dhindsa to have a quadrilateral shape, as in Kojima, to process an LCD substrate having a rectangular shape [Kojima - col 11, lines 10-22].
Although modified Dhindsa teaches the first temperature control unit (110C) could have a spiral, zig-zag, or other pattern with one or more inlets and one or more outlets [Dhindsa - 0023], Dhindsa modified by Kojima does not specifically teach the first temperature control unit extends in one direction along a first side surface of an outer circumference of the gas distribution unit and a second side surface of the circumference, which is opposite to the first side surface of the circumference.
Kitagawa teaches a first temperature control unit (means for cooling) extends in one direction along a first side surface of an outer circumference of the gas distribution unit and a second side surface of the circumference, which is opposite to the first side surface of the circumference (path extending between 462 and 463) [fig 2 & col 5, lines 41-58].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first temperature control unit of modified Dhindsa to have the shape of Kitagawa because such a shape enables cooling [Kitagawa - col 5, lines 41-58]. Furthermore, this limitation amounts to an obvious change in shape. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select any shape desired for the first temperature control unit, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) [MPEP 2144.04].
The claim limitations “configured to increase a temperature of the central region” and “configured to increase a temperature of the edge region more rapidly than the temperature of the central region” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 2:
Dhindsa teaches a device (plasma processing apparatus) for processing a substrate (32) [fig 1 & 0010], the device (plasma processing apparatus) comprising: a chamber (vacuum processing chamber) [fig 1 & 0012]; a substrate supporting unit (substrate support, 30) provided inside the chamber (vacuum processing chamber) and configured to support the substrate (substrate, 32) provided inside the chamber (vacuum processing chamber) [fig 1 & 0012]; a gas distribution unit (showerhead electrode assembly, 10) provided inside the chamber (vacuum processing chamber) to face the substrate supporting unit (substrate support, 30) and configured to distribute a process gas toward the substrate supporting unit [fig 1 & 0010]; a first temperature control unit (110C) installed only in a central region except for an edge region of the gas distribution unit (10) [fig 2A-2C, 4 & 0016, 0019, 0039]; and a second temperature control unit (120A) installed only in an edge region except for the central region of the gas distribution unit (10), the edge region including one or more partial edge regions along an outer peripheral side of the gas distribution unit (10) [fig 2A-2C, 4 & 0016, 0019, 0039], wherein the first temperature control unit (110C) comprises: a flow channel (tube) configured to allow a temperature controlling fluid (heat transfer liquid) to flow inside the central region [fig 2A-2C, 4 & 0016, 0019, 0039]; an inlet (116C) configured to supply the temperature controlling fluid (heat transfer liquid) to the flow channel (tube) [fig 2A-2C, 4 & 0018]; and an outlet (118C) configured to discharge the temperature controlling fluid (heat transfer liquid) from the flow channel (tube) [fig 2A-2C, 4 & 0018], wherein the second temperature control unit (120A) comprises an electric heating wire (heater element) buried inside the edge region [fig 2A-2C, 4 & 0016, 0019, 0039].
Dhindsa does not specifically disclose a gas distribution unit having a quadrilateral shape.
Kojima teaches a gas distribution unit having a quadrilateral shape (rectangular shape [col 11, lines 10-22].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the gas distribution unit of Dhindsa to have a quadrilateral shape, as in Kojima, to process an LCD substrate having a rectangular shape [Kojima - col 11, lines 10-22].
Although modified Dhindsa teaches the first temperature control unit (110C) could have a spiral, zig-zag, or other pattern with one or more inlets and one or more outlets [Dhindsa - 0023], Dhindsa modified by Kojima does not specifically teach the first temperature control unit extends in one direction along a first side surface of an outer circumference of the gas distribution unit and a second side surface of the circumference, which is opposite to the first side surface of the circumference.
Kitagawa teaches a first temperature control unit (means for cooling) extends in one direction along a first side surface of an outer circumference of the gas distribution unit and a second side surface of the circumference, which is opposite to the first side surface of the circumference (path extending between 462 and 463) [fig 2 & col 5, lines 41-58].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first temperature control unit of modified Dhindsa to have the shape of Kitagawa because such a shape enables cooling [Kitagawa - col 5, lines 41-58]. Furthermore, this limitation amounts to an obvious change in shape. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select any shape desired for the first temperature control unit, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) [MPEP 2144.04].
The claim limitations “configured to increase or decrease a temperature of the central region” and “configured to increase a temperature of the edge region” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 3:
The claim limitations “wherein the second temperature control unit heats the gas distribution unit to a higher temperature than does the first temperature control unit” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed 03/10/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-3 under 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim(s) 1-3 under 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim(s) 1-2.
12. Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed 03/10/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-3 under 35 USC 103(a) have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
The teachings of Kitagawa (US 6,217,703) remedy anything lacking in the combination of references as applied above to the amended claims.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Arai et al (JP H08218171A) and Mandrekar et al (US 6,433,314) teach temperature control units [fig 8 and 10, respectively].
14. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benjamin Kendall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896