DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in reply to Applicant’s response dated 03/02/2025. Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 23-27, 34, 48 and 49 remains pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues (see page 8 line 20) that Qiu teaching in the last office action does not satisfies the “only PRU in one occasion” limitation. The applicant argument is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. A new reference Ko (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0240324) is now used in teaching the limitation.
The applicant also argues (see page 8 line 29) that “identifier of the physical uplink shared channel resource unit” was not taught. The examiner response is that this particular limitation was expressed as an alternative in the claim. Some of the alternative in the claim were taught. It is still expressed as an alternative in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 25, 26 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ko (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0240324), Ko hereinafter. Ko teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning.
Regarding Claim 1, Ko teaches a method performed by a terminal device, comprising: determining a resource for a physical uplink shared channel of a two-step contention-free random access procedure, wherein the determined resource includes a physical uplink shared channel resource unit, wherein the physical uplink shared channel resource unit is the only physical uplink shared channel resource unit in one physical uplink shared channel occasion configured for the two-step contention-free random access procedure wherein the physical uplink shared channel resource unit is selected from a set of physical uplink shared channel resource units in one or more physical uplink shared channel occasions based on at least in part on one or more of : (paragraphs 0088, 0089, 0403, 0404 and 0410 - [0088] FIG. 12 is a diagram illustrating an exemplary 2-step RACH procedure to which various embodiments of the present disclosure are applicable. ... [0089] FIG. 13 is a diagram illustrating an exemplary contention-free RACH procedure to which various embodiments of the present disclosure are applicable. ... [0403] According to various embodiments, the number of PRUs in a PO may be one of {1, 2, 4, 8}. [0404] According to various embodiments, when the number of PRUs in a PO is 1, only one set may be defined for (the number of) DMRS ports and (the number of) DMRS sequences. ... [0410] For example, when the number of PRUs in a PO is 1, only one set may be defined for (the number of) DMRS ports and (the number of) DMRS sequences.)
an identifier of the preamble in the message; (paragraphs 0338 and 0345 - [0338] In the 2-step RACH procedure, MsgA transmitted in UL may include a PRACH preamble and a PUSCH resource. For example, the PRACH preamble and the PUSCH resource may be mapped together based on an SSB, and it may be difficult to establish such a relationship in a simple way. For example, the state of an RO (e.g., a periodicity, the number of available ROs, an SSB-to-RO mapping relationship, etc.) and a PUSCH configuration (e.g., a periodicity, the number of available ROs/POs, the number of DMRS antenna ports/sequences, etc.) may be considered together ... [0345] Referring to FIGS. 17 to 19, in operations 1701 and 1801 according to various embodiments, the UE may obtain/generate MsgA. For example, the UE may obtain/generate MsgA by mapping a PRACH preamble to an RO, mapping a PUSCH to a PO, and/or mapping a DMRS.)
an identifier of a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block which is associated with the preamble in the message; (Alternative)
an identifier of the physical uplink shared channel resource unit; and (Alternative)
a predetermined ordering rule; (paragraphs 0562 to 0571 - [0562] According to various embodiments, a mapping rule between RACH preambles and PRUs may be defined as follows: [0563] 0) A validation check which POs are available. [0564] 1) Preambles in available ROs of a RACH slot in front of available POs may be mapped to PRUs in the available POs. [0565] 2) Preambles in available ROs in period A may be mapped to PRUs in available POs in period B. ... [0571] In many-to-one mapping, consecutive PRACH preambles (N consecutive PRACH preamble indexes) may be mapped to the same PRU, and then next consecutive PRACH preamble (N consecutive PRACH preamble indexes) may be mapped to the next PRU.)
and transmitting the physical uplink shared channel with a preamble in one message to a network node in the two-step contention-free random access procedure, according to the determined resource (paragraph 0338 - In the 2-step RACH procedure, MsgA transmitted in UL may include a PRACH preamble and a PUSCH resource. For example, the PRACH preamble and the PUSCH resource may be mapped together based on an SSB, and it may be difficult to establish such a relationship in a simple way. For example, the state of an RO (e.g., a periodicity, the number of available ROs, an SSB-to-RO mapping relationship, etc.) and a PUSCH configuration (e.g., a periodicity, the number of available ROs/POs, the number of DMRS antenna ports/sequences, etc.) may be considered together.)
Regarding Claim 2, Ko teaches claim 1.
Ko further teaches wherein the determined resource includes a physical uplink shared channel occasion (paragraph 0367 to 0373 – [0367] According to various embodiments, PRACH preambles may be mapped to valid PRUs within a MsgA association period in the following order: 2 First, in ascending order of frequency resource indices for frequency-multiplexed POs [0368] Second, in ascending order of DMRS indices within a single PO [0369] The DMRS indices may be determined in ascending order of DMRS port indices first and in ascending order of DMRS sequence indices second. [0370] Third, in ascending order of time resource indices for time-multiplexed POs within one PUSCH slot [0371] Fourth, in ascending order of PUSCH slot indices [0372] For multiple configurations, mapping may be performed between PRUs of each MsgA PUSCH configuration and preambles in a related preamble group. [0373] Each MsgA PUSCH configuration may identify a subset of DMRS port/sequence combinations.)
Regarding Claim 25, Ko teaches a method performed by a network node, comprising: determining a resource for a physical uplink shared channel of a two-step contention-free random access procedure, wherein the determined resource includes a physical uplink shared channel resource unit, wherein the physical uplink shared channel resource unit is the only physical uplink shared channel resource unit in one physical uplink shared channel occasion configured for the two-step contention-free random access procedure wherein the physical uplink shared channel resource unit is selected from a set of physical uplink shared channel resource units in one or more physical uplink shared channel occasions based on at least in part on one or more of: (paragraphs 0088, 0089, 0403, 0404 and 0410 - [0088] FIG. 12 is a diagram illustrating an exemplary 2-step RACH procedure to which various embodiments of the present disclosure are applicable. ... [0089] FIG. 13 is a diagram illustrating an exemplary contention-free RACH procedure to which various embodiments of the present disclosure are applicable. ... [0403] According to various embodiments, the number of PRUs in a PO may be one of {1, 2, 4, 8}. [0404] According to various embodiments, when the number of PRUs in a PO is 1, only one set may be defined for (the number of) DMRS ports and (the number of) DMRS sequences. ... [0410] For example, when the number of PRUs in a PO is 1, only one set may be defined for (the number of) DMRS ports and (the number of) DMRS sequences.)
an identifier of the preamble in the message; (paragraphs 0338 and 0345 - [0338] In the 2-step RACH procedure, MsgA transmitted in UL may include a PRACH preamble and a PUSCH resource. For example, the PRACH preamble and the PUSCH resource may be mapped together based on an SSB, and it may be difficult to establish such a relationship in a simple way. For example, the state of an RO (e.g., a periodicity, the number of available ROs, an SSB-to-RO mapping relationship, etc.) and a PUSCH configuration (e.g., a periodicity, the number of available ROs/POs, the number of DMRS antenna ports/sequences, etc.) may be considered together ... [0345] Referring to FIGS. 17 to 19, in operations 1701 and 1801 according to various embodiments, the UE may obtain/generate MsgA. For example, the UE may obtain/generate MsgA by mapping a PRACH preamble to an RO, mapping a PUSCH to a PO, and/or mapping a DMRS.)
an identifier of a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block which is associated with the preamble in the message; (Alternative)
an identifier of the physical uplink shared channel resource unit; and (Alternative)
a predetermined ordering rule; and (paragraphs 0562 to 0571 - [0562] According to various embodiments, a mapping rule between RACH preambles and PRUs may be defined as follows: [0563] 0) A validation check which POs are available. [0564] 1) Preambles in available ROs of a RACH slot in front of available POs may be mapped to PRUs in the available POs. [0565] 2) Preambles in available ROs in period A may be mapped to PRUs in available POs in period B. ... [0571] In many-to-one mapping, consecutive PRACH preambles (N consecutive PRACH preamble indexes) may be mapped to the same PRU, and then next consecutive PRACH preamble (N consecutive PRACH preamble indexes) may be mapped to the next PRU.)
receiving the physical uplink shared channel with a preamble in one message from a terminal device in the two-step contention-free random access procedure, according to the determined resource. (paragraph 0338 - In the 2-step RACH procedure, MsgA transmitted in UL may include a PRACH preamble and a PUSCH resource. For example, the PRACH preamble and the PUSCH resource may be mapped together based on an SSB, and it may be difficult to establish such a relationship in a simple way. For example, the state of an RO (e.g., a periodicity, the number of available ROs, an SSB-to-RO mapping relationship, etc.) and a PUSCH configuration (e.g., a periodicity, the number of available ROs/POs, the number of DMRS antenna ports/sequences, etc.) may be considered together.)
Regarding Claim 26, Ko teaches claim 25.
Ko further teaches wherein the determined resource includes a physical uplink shared channel occasion (paragraphs 0367 to 0373 – [0367] According to various embodiments, PRACH preambles may be mapped to valid PRUs within a MsgA association period in the following order: 2 First, in ascending order of frequency resource indices for frequency-multiplexed POs [0368] Second, in ascending order of DMRS indices within a single PO [0369] The DMRS indices may be determined in ascending order of DMRS port indices first and in ascending order of DMRS sequence indices second. [0370] Third, in ascending order of time resource indices for time-multiplexed POs within one PUSCH slot [0371] Fourth, in ascending order of PUSCH slot indices [0372] For multiple configurations, mapping may be performed between PRUs of each MsgA PUSCH configuration and preambles in a related preamble group. [0373] Each MsgA PUSCH configuration may identify a subset of DMRS port/sequence combinations.)
Regarding Claim 49, Ko teaches a terminal device, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories comprising computer program codes, the one or more memories and the computer program codes configured to, with the one or more processors, cause the terminal device at least to: (paragraphs 0659 to 0695 - [0659] According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, a UE or a BS may include at least one transceiver, at least one memory, and at least one processor coupled to the at least one transceiver and the at least one memory. The at least one memory may store instructions causing the at least one processor to perform the following operations.)
determine a resource for a physical uplink shared channel of a two-step contention-free random access procedure, wherein the determined resource includes a physical uplink shared channel resource unit, wherein the physical uplink shared channel resource unit is the only physical uplink shared channel resource unit in one physical uplink shared channel occasion configured for the two-step contention-free random access procedure wherein the physical uplink shared channel resource unit is selected from a set of physical uplink shared channel resource units in one or more physical uplink shared channel occasions based on at least in part on one or more of: (paragraphs 0088, 0089, 0403, 0404 and 0410 - [0088] FIG. 12 is a diagram illustrating an exemplary 2-step RACH procedure to which various embodiments of the present disclosure are applicable. ... [0089] FIG. 13 is a diagram illustrating an exemplary contention-free RACH procedure to which various embodiments of the present disclosure are applicable. ... [0403] According to various embodiments, the number of PRUs in a PO may be one of {1, 2, 4, 8}. [0404] According to various embodiments, when the number of PRUs in a PO is 1, only one set may be defined for (the number of) DMRS ports and (the number of) DMRS sequences. ... [0410] For example, when the number of PRUs in a PO is 1, only one set may be defined for (the number of) DMRS ports and (the number of) DMRS sequences.)
an identifier of the preamble in the message; (paragraphs 0338 and 0345 - [0338] In the 2-step RACH procedure, MsgA transmitted in UL may include a PRACH preamble and a PUSCH resource. For example, the PRACH preamble and the PUSCH resource may be mapped together based on an SSB, and it may be difficult to establish such a relationship in a simple way. For example, the state of an RO (e.g., a periodicity, the number of available ROs, an SSB-to-RO mapping relationship, etc.) and a PUSCH configuration (e.g., a periodicity, the number of available ROs/POs, the number of DMRS antenna ports/sequences, etc.) may be considered together ... [0345] Referring to FIGS. 17 to 19, in operations 1701 and 1801 according to various embodiments, the UE may obtain/generate MsgA. For example, the UE may obtain/generate MsgA by mapping a PRACH preamble to an RO, mapping a PUSCH to a PO, and/or mapping a DMRS.)
an identifier of a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block which is associated with the preamble in the message; (Alternative)
an identifier of the physical uplink shared channel resource unit; and (Alternative)
a predetermined ordering rule; and (paragraphs 0562 to 0571 - [0562] According to various embodiments, a mapping rule between RACH preambles and PRUs may be defined as follows: [0563] 0) A validation check which POs are available. [0564] 1) Preambles in available ROs of a RACH slot in front of available POs may be mapped to PRUs in the available POs. [0565] 2) Preambles in available ROs in period A may be mapped to PRUs in available POs in period B. ... [0571] In many-to-one mapping, consecutive PRACH preambles (N consecutive PRACH preamble indexes) may be mapped to the same PRU, and then next consecutive PRACH preamble (N consecutive PRACH preamble indexes) may be mapped to the next PRU.)
transmit the physical uplink shared channel with a preamble in one message to a network node in the two-step contention-free random access procedure, according to the determined resource. (paragraph 0338 - In the 2-step RACH procedure, MsgA transmitted in UL may include a PRACH preamble and a PUSCH resource. For example, the PRACH preamble and the PUSCH resource may be mapped together based on an SSB, and it may be difficult to establish such a relationship in a simple way. For example, the state of an RO (e.g., a periodicity, the number of available ROs, an SSB-to-RO mapping relationship, etc.) and a PUSCH configuration (e.g., a periodicity, the number of available ROs/POs, the number of DMRS antenna ports/sequences, etc.) may be considered together.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 3, 4, 9 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0240324), Ko hereinafter in view of Qiu et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2022/0386385), Qiu hereinafter.
Regarding claim 3, Ko teaches claim 1.
Yet, Ko does not expressly teach wherein the determined resource is indicated by one or more of:
a preamble group associated to physical uplink shared channel configuration;
a number of slots containing one or more physical uplink shared channel occasions;
a number of time domain physical uplink shared channel occasions in each slot; and
a number of physical uplink shared channel occasions frequency-division multiplexed in one time instance.
However, in the analogous art, Qiu explicitly discloses wherein the determined resource is indicated by one or more of: a preamble group associated to physical uplink shared channel configuration; (paragraph 0063 - The multiple set of 2-step RACH resource may further include combination of preamble resource (e.g., the preamble configuration as specified above) and PUSCH resource (e.g., the preamble configuration as specified above). For example: Multiple preamble group configuration can be provided and each preamble group can be linked to one PUSCH resource configuration; and the multiple sets of RACH resource configurations for 2-step RA type RA procedure may be configured from NW to UE by broadcast system information, by dedicated RRC signaling.)
a number of slots containing one or more physical uplink shared channel occasions; (paragraph 0083] In some embodiments, the PUSCH resource unit index for each SSB/CSI-RS may be explicitly configured. A PUSCH resource unit index may be explicitly allocated for each SSB/CSI-RS. The PUSCH resource unit index may be numbered based on the same order (e.g., as defined in technical specs 38.213) for the mapping between PUSCH resource unit and preamble (e.g., first, in increasing order of frequency resource indexes; second, in increasing order of DMRS indexes within a PUSCH occasion; and third, in increasing order of time resource indexes; fourth, in increasing order of indexes for PUSCH slots). To enable this alternative, a new IE msgA-PRUIndex may be introduced and some description will be introduced in 38.213 to specify the meaning of msgA-PRUIndex.).
a number of time domain physical uplink shared channel occasions in each slot; and a number of physical uplink shared channel occasions frequency-division multiplexed in one time instance. (Alternatives).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ko’s method for transmitting and receiving signals in wireless communication system, and device supporting same to include Qiu's configuration of preamble, PUSCH and PUSCH occasion to achieve higher random access success.
Regarding claim 4, Ko teaches claim 1.
Yet, Ko does not expressly teach wherein the determined resource is indicated by one or more parameters having default values.
However, in the analogous art, Qiu explicitly discloses wherein the determined resource is indicated by one or more parameters having default values (paragraphs 0084 and 0086 - An example on ASN.1 for configuration of CFRA resource for 2-step RA is given as follows. The information element (IE) RACH-ConfigDedicated may be used to specify the dedicated random access parameters. … [0086] In some embodiments, the pre-defined rules can define or specify that in the case when multiple 2-step RACH resource sets are configured, the UE is to select the 2-step RACH resource based on the trigger of RA procedure. The RA triggers may include at least one of the following: ... ).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 3 is also applied to claim 4.
Regarding claim 9, Ko teaches claim 1.
Yet, Ko does not expressly teach wherein the physical uplink shared channel resource unit is mapped to all preambles configured for the two-step contention-free random access procedure in a physical random access channel slot.
However, in the analogous art, Qiu explicitly discloses wherein the physical uplink shared channel resource unit is mapped to all preambles configured for the two-step contention- free random access procedure in a physical random access channel slot (paragraph 0079 - … With the mapping rule, each preamble reserved for CFRA may be mapped to a PUSCH resource unit. To enable this alternative, the number of preambles reserved for 2-step CFRA may be provided, and all the preambles reserved for 2-step CFRA may be considered in the mapping between preamble and PUSCH resource unit, … )
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 3 is also applied to claim 9.
Regarding claim 27, Ko teaches claim 1.
Yet, Ko does not expressly teach wherein the determined resource is indicated by one or more of:
a preamble group associated to physical uplink shared channel configuration;
a number of slots containing one or more physical uplink shared channel occasions;
a number of time domain physical uplink shared channel occasions in each slot; and
a number of physical uplink shared channel occasions frequency-division multiplexed in one time instance.
However, in the analogous art, Qiu explicitly discloses wherein the determined resource is indicated by one or more of: a preamble group associated to physical uplink shared channel configuration; (paragraph 0063 - The multiple set of 2-step RACH resource may further include combination of preamble resource (e.g., the preamble configuration as specified above) and PUSCH resource (e.g., the preamble configuration as specified above). For example: Multiple preamble group configuration can be provided and each preamble group can be linked to one PUSCH resource configuration; and the multiple sets of RACH resource configurations for 2-step RA type RA procedure may be configured from NW to UE by broadcast system information, by dedicated RRC signaling.).
a number of slots containing one or more physical uplink shared channel occasions; (paragraph 0083 - In some embodiments, the PUSCH resource unit index for each SSB/CSI-RS may be explicitly configured. A PUSCH resource unit index may be explicitly allocated for each SSB/CSI-RS. The PUSCH resource unit index may be numbered based on the same order (e.g., as defined in technical specs 38.213) for the mapping between PUSCH resource unit and preamble (e.g., first, in increasing order of frequency resource indexes; second, in increasing order of DMRS indexes within a PUSCH occasion; and third, in increasing order of time resource indexes; fourth, in increasing order of indexes for PUSCH slots). To enable this alternative, a new IE msgA-PRUIndex may be introduced and some description will be introduced in 38.213 to specify the meaning of msgA-PRUIndex.).
a number of time domain physical uplink shared channel occasions in each slot; and a number of physical uplink shared channel occasions frequency-division multiplexed in one time instance. (Alternatives).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 3 is also applied to claim 27.
Claims 5, 23, 24 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0240324), Ko hereinafter in view of Rastegardoost et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0051672), Rastegardoost hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 5, Ko teaches claim 1.
Yet, Ko does not expressly teach wherein the determination of the resource for the physical uplink shared channel is based at least in part on one or more of: a number of physical uplink shared channel resource units corresponding to each physical random access channel slot; andwhether only a single physical uplink shared channel resource unit is valid for each physical random access channel slot.
However, in the analogous art, Rastegardoost explicitly discloses wherein the determination of the resource for the physical uplink shared channel is based at least in part on one or more of:a number of physical uplink shared channel resource units corresponding to each physical random access channel slot; andwhether only a single physical uplink shared channel resource unit is valid for each physical random access channel slot (paragraph 0340 - The at least a portion of the PUSCH resource of the two-step RACH procedure may comprise a percentage of symbols allocated to the PUSCH of the two-step RACH procedure (e.g., the MsgA PUSCH) that may comprise repetitions. The symbols may be allocated to a first PUSCH repetition instance/occasion (e.g., MsgA PUSCH repetition instance/occasion), such as, n-th repetition. The at least a portion of the PUSCH resource of the two-step RACH procedure may comprise a number/quantity of PUSCH occasions (e.g., MsgA PUSCH occasions) from a plurality of PUSCH occasions (e.g., MsgA PUSCH occasions) allocated to the PUSCH (e.g., MsgA PUSCH) with one or more repetitions. The at least a portion of the PUSCH resource of the two-step RACH procedure may be a pre-defined number/quantity of symbols/slots/occasions. The at least a portion of the PUSCH resource of the two-step RACH procedure may be a configurable parameter that may depend on the location/channel status/RSRP or one or more wireless devices associated with the network.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ko’s method for transmitting and receiving signals in wireless communication system, and device supporting same to include Rastegardoost's two-step RACH configuration to achieve improved reliability of the PUSCH transmission (paragraph 0330 Rastegardoost).
Regarding Claim 23, Ko teaches claim 1.
Yet, Ko does not expressly teach further comprising: receiving, from the network node, signaling information for message A physical uplink shared channel transmission of the two-step contention-free random access procedure.
However, in the analogous art, Rastegardoost explicitly discloses further comprising: receiving, from the network node, signaling information for message A physical uplink shared channel transmission of the two-step contention-free random access procedure. (paragraphs 0181 and 0247 - FIG. 13B shows a two-step random access procedure. The two-step random access procedure may comprise a two-step contention-free random access procedure. Similar to the four-step contention-based random access procedure, a base station may, prior to initiation of the procedure, send/transmit a configuration message 1320 to the wireless device. … The MsgA configuration in a two-step RACH may be sent/transmitted (e.g., broadcast) by the base station to the wireless device (e.g., via system information) and/or configured using dedicated signaling (e.g., RRC signaling). A base station may send/transmit one or more messages (e.g., RRC messages) to configure a wireless device with one or more parameters of a two-step RACH configuration. The one or more messages (e.g., RRC messages) may comprise parameters for transmitting the uplink transmission of a two-step RACH (e.g., MsgA) …).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 5 is also applied to claim 23.
Regarding Claim 24, Ko teaches claim 1.
Yet, Ko does not expressly teach wherein the determination of the resource for the physical uplink shared channel is based at least in part on: predetermined information for message A physical uplink shared channel transmission in the two-step contention-free random access procedure, wherein the predetermined information is included in a radio resource control, RRC, signaling.
However, in the analogous art, Rastegardoost explicitly discloses wherein the determination of the resource for the physical uplink shared channel is based at least in part on: predetermined information for message A physical uplink shared channel transmission in the two-step contention-free random access procedure, wherein the predetermined information is included in a radio resource control, RRC, signaling. (paragraph 0247 - … The PRACH preamble and/or a PRACH occasion and the time-frequency resource of PUSCH in MsgA and DM-RS may be mapped for the uplink transmission of the two-step RACH procedure. The MsgA configuration in a two-step RACH may be sent/transmitted (e.g., broadcast) by the base station to the wireless device (e.g., via system information) and/or configured using dedicated signaling (e.g., RRC signaling). A base station may send/transmit one or more messages (e.g., RRC messages) to configure a wireless device with one or more parameters of a two-step RACH configuration. The one or more messages (e.g., RRC messages) may comprise parameters for transmitting the uplink transmission of a two-step RACH (e.g., MsgA). … )
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 5 is also applied to claim 24.
Regarding Claim 48, Ko teaches claim 25.
Yet, Ko does not expressly teach wherein the determination of the resource for the physical uplink shared channel is based at least in part on: predetermined information for message A physical uplink shared channel transmission in the two-step contention-free random access procedure, wherein the predetermined information is included in a radio resource control, RRC, signaling.
However, in the analogous art, Rastegardoost explicitly discloses the determination of the resource for the physical uplink shared channel is based at least in part on: predetermined information for message A physical uplink shared channel transmission in the two-step contention-free random access procedure, wherein the predetermined information is included in a radio resource control, RRC, signaling (paragraph 0247 - … The PRACH preamble and/or a PRACH occasion and the time-frequency resource of PUSCH in MsgA and DM-RS may be mapped for the uplink transmission of the two-step RACH procedure. The MsgA configuration in a two-step RACH may be sent/transmitted (e.g., broadcast) by the base station to the wireless device (e.g., via system information) and/or configured using dedicated signaling (e.g., RRC signaling). A base station may send/transmit one or more messages (e.g., RRC messages) to configure a wireless device with one or more parameters of a two-step RACH configuration. The one or more messages (e.g., RRC messages) may comprise parameters for transmitting the uplink transmission of a two-step RACH (e.g., MsgA). … ).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 5 is also applied to claim 48.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko, in view of Yang et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0329704), Yang hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 7, Ko teaches claim 1.
Yet, Ko does not expressly teach wherein the determination of the resource for the physical uplink shared channel is based at least in part on one or more of: a number of ports per code division multiplexing group; indication information of one or more code division multiplexing groups; and a scrambling identifier.
However, in the analogous art, Yang explicitly discloses wherein the determination of the resource for the physical uplink shared channel is based at least in part on one or more of: a number of ports per code division multiplexing group; indication information of one or more code division multiplexing groups; and a scrambling identifier (paragraph 0245 - The PUSCH part included in MsgA may be defined by a PO for transmission of the PUSCH part and by a DMRS sequence. The PUSCH part included in MsgA may be scrambled based on an SCID associated with the RNTI and the PI. The association relationship between the RNTI and PI and the SCID may depend on one of specific relationships described in MsgA or MsgB.) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ko’s method for transmitting and receiving signals in wireless communication system, and device supporting same to include Yang's scrambling of PUSCH part of MsgA to reduce latency in the random access procedure (paragraph 0135 Yang).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko, in view of Lei et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0272769), Lei hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 34, Ko teaches claim 25.
Yet, Ko does not expressly teach wherein the physical uplink shared channel resource unit is selected from a set of physical uplink shared channel resource units in one or more physical uplink shared channel occasions.
However, in the analogous art, Lei explicitly discloses wherein the physical uplink shared channel resource unit is selected from a set of physical uplink shared channel resource units in one or more physical uplink shared channel occasions (paragraph 0063 - … As illustrated in FIG. 7A, the MSG A preamble transmission may involve selection of a preamble sequence; and selection of a preamble occasion in time/frequency domain (e.g., for transmitting the selected preamble sequence). The MSG A payload transmission may involve: construction of the random access message payload (DMRS/PUSCH); and selection of one or multiple PUSCH resource units (PRUs) in time/frequency domain to transmit this message (e.g., the payload). As illustrated in FIG. 7B, the UE monitors SSB transmissions which are sent (e.g., sent repeatedly by the gNB using different TX beams) and are associated with a finite set of time/frequency resources defining RACH occasions (ROs) and PRUs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ko’s method for transmitting and receiving signals in wireless communication system, and device supporting same to improve random access procedure. (paragraph 0006 Lei).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPUB 2022/0264659 which describes PUSCH Resource Selection In 2-Step Random Access
U.S. PGPUB 2021/0378021 which describes Random Access Method and Apparatus
U.S. PGPUB 2021/0251015 which describes Random Access Channel and Associated Uplink Data Channel Structure Construction
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472