DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The originally filed claim 1 recited a secondary node “signaling a request” as an optional step. However, the claims 12 and 26 recites a master node “receiving a request from the secondary node” as a mandatory step, and this element was rejected by Nokia-2. The applicant only argued why Nokia did not teach the signaling step, but did not persuasively argue whether Nokia-2 teach the “signaling a request” and/or “receiving a request”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 10, 12-14, 18-19, 21, 23-24 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia et. al “Coordination on number of measurement identities”, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #109-e, R2-2002218, Electronic Meeting, published 2020/03/06, in view of Nokia, “Coordination for measurement reporting criteria for MR-DC”, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #109e, R2-2000162, published 2020/03/06. Hereinafter Nokia-2, further in view of Li; Cai et al. US PGPUB 20140348009 A1.
Regarding claim 1. Nokia teaches A method performed by a secondary node in a telecommunication network, the method comprising:
coordinating a number of measurement identities exchanged with a master node, (section 2 Discussion “For measurement identity coordination between MN and SN, RAN2 discussed the issue last meeting based on [1][2], and an LS[3] is sent to RAN4 to confirm the understanding on EN-DC case”) wherein the coordinating comprises:
subsequent to receiving from the master node the new value for the maximum number of measurement identities and (Page 2/6, the new field maxIntraFreqMeasIdentitiesSCG is used for MN to directly indicate the maximum number of measurement identities that SN can configure for intra-frequency measurement on each serving frequency. (based on RAN4 requirement))
wherein the secondary node previously configured the measurement identities based on a prior value for the maximum number measurement identities, (Page 5/6 section 3. “the final compromised solution is to dummify the legacy field, and add new fields (i.e. maxIntraFreqMeasIdentitiesSCG and maxInterFreqMeasIdentitiesSCG) independently.)
Nokia does not teach signaling a request to the master node for a new value for a maximum number of measurement identities that the secondary node can configure when the secondary node wants to allocate additional measurement identities in excess of a prior number of measurement identities configured by the master node; and
releasing a number of the measurement identities to comply with the new value.
However, Nokia-2 teaches
receiving a request from the secondary node (page 2, CG-Config. “Direction: Secondary gNB or eNB to master gNB or eNB”) for a new value for a maximum number of measurement identities that the secondary node can configure when the secondary node wants to allocate additional measurement identities in excess of a prior number of measurement identities configured by the master node; (page 13,
maxInterFreqMeasIdentitiesRequestSCG
Indicates the maximum number of allowed measurement identities that the SCG is allowed to configure for inter-frequency measurement. In this release, the maximum value for this field is 10. If the field is absent, the SCG is allowed to configure inter-frequency measurements up to the maximum value. The value of the field maxMeasIdentitiesSCG must be aligned in accordance with this field to prevent any contradiction.
maxIntraFreqMeasIdentitiesRequestSCG
Indicates the maximum number of allowed measurement identities that the SCG is allowed to configure for intra-frequency measurement on each serving frequency. In this release, the maximum value for this field is 9 (in case of (NG)EN-DC or NR-DC) or 10 (in case of NE-DC). If the field is absent, the SCG is allowed to configure intra-frequency measurements up to the maximum value on each serving frequency. The value of the field maxMeasIdentitiesSCG must be aligned in accordance with this field to prevent any contradiction.
)
and
responsive to the request, performing at least one of the following: ignoring the request if no measurement identities are available; and
signaling a response to the secondary node comprising the new value for the maximum number of measurement identities and (page 10
maxIntraFreqMeasIdentitiesSCG INTEGER(1..maxMeasIdentitiesMN) OPTIONAL,
maxInterFreqMeasIdentitiesSCG INTEGER(1..maxMeasIdentitiesMN) OPTIONAL
]])
In order to improve MN/SN coordination capacity (page1, Reason for Change)
Nokia and Nokia-2 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of CG-Config signaling in Nokie-2 in order to improve MN/SN coordination capacity.
Nokia and Nokia-2 do not teach
releasing a number of the measurement identities to comply with the new value.
However, Li teaches
releasing a number of the measurement identities to comply with the new value. ([0102] In step S505, when the measurement occasions for all measurement quantities are configured to correspond to the same idle interval, the communication terminal deletes the one or more of the measurement quantities according to the request,)
in order to improve measurement performance by eliminating waste of limited measurement resources and increased time delays ([0033])
Nokia and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of release of measurement identities in order to improve measurement performance.
Regarding claim 2. Nokia, Nokia-2 and Li teaches The method of claim 1, and Nokia teaches wherein the new value for a maximum number of measurement identities that the secondary node can configure comprises one or more of the following: a requested maximum number of allowed measurement identities to configure an inter-frequency measurement; and a requested maximum number of allowed measurement identities to configure an intra-frequency measurement on each serving frequency. (page 2/6 - The new field (i.e. maxIntraFreqMeasIdentitiesSCG) is used for MN to directly indicate the maximum number of measurement identities that SN can configure for intra-frequency measurement on each serving frequency. (based on RAN4 requirement))
Regarding claim 3. Nokia, Nokia-2 and Li teaches The method of claim 1, Nokia teaches wherein the new value for a maximum number of measurement identities comprises at least one of: an exact number of measurement identities; a maximum number of the measurement identities that the secondary node wants to configure; (Page 2/6, The new field (i.e. maxIntraFreqMeasIdentitiesSCG) is used for MN to directly indicate the maximum number of measurement identities that SN can configure for intra-frequency measurement on each serving frequency. (based on RAN4 requirement)) and an indication that more measurement identities than the prior number of measurement identities configured are requested, wherein the indication comprises an indicator of at least one of the requested number of measurement identities is lower than the prior number and the requested number of measurement identities is higher than the prior number.
Regarding claim 7. Nokia, Nokia-2 and Li teaches The method of claim 1, Nokia and Nokia-2 teach further comprising: receiving from the master node the new value for the maximum number of measurement identities; responsive to the receiving, signaling a response to the master node with the number of the requested measurement identities; and releasing a number of configured measurement identities to meet the new value from the master node.
However, Li teaches
further comprising: receiving from the master node the new value for the maximum number of measurement identities; responsive to the receiving, signaling a response to the master node with the number of the requested measurement identities; ([0102] Referring to FIG. 7, in step S504, the communication terminal receives a request for deleting one or more of the measurement quantities. The request can be received through IE "Measurement Command" that includes a releasing or a modifying command. As described earlier, IE "Measurement Command" is included in the "Measurement Control" information message.)
and releasing a number of configured measurement identities to meet the new value from the master node. ([0102] In step S505, when the measurement occasions for all measurement quantities are configured to correspond to the same idle interval, the communication terminal deletes the one or more of the measurement quantities according to the request)
in order to improve measurement performance by eliminating waste of limited measurement resources and increased time delays ([0033])
Nokia and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of release of measurement identities in order to improve measurement performance.
Regarding claim 8. Nokia, Nokia-2 and Li teach The method of claim 1, Nokia and Nokia-2 do not teach further comprising: subsequent to signaling the request, triggering a secondary node modification procedure.
However, Li teaches subsequent to signaling the request, triggering a secondary node modification procedure. ([0102] Referring to FIG. 7, in step S504, the communication terminal receives a request for deleting one or more of the measurement quantities.)
in order to improve measurement performance by eliminating waste of limited measurement resources and increased time delays ([0033])
Nokia and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of release of measurement identities in order to improve measurement performance.
Regarding claim 10. Nokia and Li teaches The method of claim 1, Nokia teaches wherein the signaling and/or the releasing concerning the maximum number of measurement identities to the master node is via an inter-node radio resource control message. (Page 2/6, Ericsson row, inter-node RRC message)
Regarding claim 12. Nokia teaches A method performed by a master node in a telecommunication network, the method comprising:
coordinating a number of measurement identities exchanged with a secondary node, (section 2 Discussion “For measurement identity coordination between MN and SN, RAN2 discussed the issue last meeting based on [1][2], and an LS[3] is sent to RAN4 to confirm the understanding on EN-DC case”)
but it does not teach wherein the coordinating comprises
receiving a request from the secondary node for a new value for a maximum number of measurement identities that the secondary node can configure when the secondary node wants to allocate additional measurement identities in excess of a prior number of measurement identities configured by the master node; and
responsive to the request,
signaling a response to the secondary node comprising the new value for the maximum number of measurement identities and
releasing a number of the measurement identities to comply with the new value.
However, Nokia-2 teaches
receiving a request from the secondary node (page 2, CG-Config. “Direction: Secondary gNB or eNB to master gNB or eNB”) for a new value for a maximum number of measurement identities that the secondary node can configure when the secondary node wants to allocate additional measurement identities in excess of a prior number of measurement identities configured by the master node; (page 13,
maxInterFreqMeasIdentitiesRequestSCG
Indicates the maximum number of allowed measurement identities that the SCG is allowed to configure for inter-frequency measurement. In this release, the maximum value for this field is 10. If the field is absent, the SCG is allowed to configure inter-frequency measurements up to the maximum value. The value of the field maxMeasIdentitiesSCG must be aligned in accordance with this field to prevent any contradiction.
maxIntraFreqMeasIdentitiesRequestSCG
Indicates the maximum number of allowed measurement identities that the SCG is allowed to configure for intra-frequency measurement on each serving frequency. In this release, the maximum value for this field is 9 (in case of (NG)EN-DC or NR-DC) or 10 (in case of NE-DC). If the field is absent, the SCG is allowed to configure intra-frequency measurements up to the maximum value on each serving frequency. The value of the field maxMeasIdentitiesSCG must be aligned in accordance with this field to prevent any contradiction.
)
and
responsive to the request, performing at least one of the following: ignoring the request if no measurement identities are available; and
signaling a response to the secondary node comprising the new value for the maximum number of measurement identities and (page 10
maxIntraFreqMeasIdentitiesSCG INTEGER(1..maxMeasIdentitiesMN) OPTIONAL,
maxInterFreqMeasIdentitiesSCG INTEGER(1..maxMeasIdentitiesMN) OPTIONAL
]])
releasing a number of the measurement identities to comply with the new value.
In order to improve MN/SN coordination capacity (page1, Reason for Change)
Nokia and Nokia-2 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of CG-Config signaling in Nokie-2 in order to improve MN/SN coordination capacity.
Nokia and Nokia-2 do not teach
releasing a number of the measurement identities to comply with the new value.
However, Li teaches
releasing a number of the measurement identities to comply with the new value. ([0102] In step S505, when the measurement occasions for all measurement quantities are configured to correspond to the same idle interval, the communication terminal deletes the one or more of the measurement quantities according to the request,)
in order to improve measurement performance by eliminating waste of limited measurement resources and increased time delays ([0033])
Nokia and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of release of measurement identities in order to improve measurement performance.
Regarding claim 13. Nokia and Nokia-2 and Li teach The method of claim 12, and Nokia teaches wherein the new value for a maximum number of measurement identities that the secondary node can configure comprises one or more of the following: a requested maximum number of allowed measurement identities to configure an inter-frequency measurement; and a requested maximum number of allowed measurement identities to configure an intra-frequency measurement on each serving frequency. (page 2/6 - The new field (i.e. maxIntraFreqMeasIdentitiesSCG) is used for MN to directly indicate the maximum number of measurement identities that SN can configure for intra-frequency measurement on each serving frequency. (based on RAN4 requirement))
Regarding claim 14. Nokia and Nokia-2 and Li teach The method of claim 12, and Nokia teaches wherein the new value for a maximum number of measurement identities comprises at least one of: an exact number of measurement identities; a maximum number of the measurement identities that the secondary node wants to configure; (Page 2/6, The new field (i.e. maxIntraFreqMeasIdentitiesSCG) is used for MN to directly indicate the maximum number of measurement identities that SN can configure for intra-frequency measurement on each serving frequency. (based on RAN4 requirement)) and an indication that more measurement identities than the prior number of measurement identities configured are requested, wherein the indication comprises an indicator of at least one of the requested number of measurement identities is lower than the prior number and the requested number of measurement identities is higher than the prior number.
Regarding claim 18. Nokia and Nokia-2 and Li teach The method of claim 12, but Nokia and Nokia-2 don’t teach further comprising: signaling to the secondary node the new value for the maximum number of measurement identities; receiving a response from the secondary node with the number of the requested measurement identities; and releasing a number of configured measurement identities to meet the new value.
However, Li teaches signaling to the secondary node the new value for the maximum number of measurement identities; receiving a response from the secondary node with the number of the requested measurement identities; ([0102] Referring to FIG. 7, in step S504, the communication terminal receives a request for deleting one or more of the measurement quantities. The request can be received through IE "Measurement Command" that includes a releasing or a modifying command. As described earlier, IE "Measurement Command" is included in the "Measurement Control" information message.) and releasing a number of configured measurement identities to meet the new value. . ([0102] In step S505, when the measurement occasions for all measurement quantities are configured to correspond to the same idle interval, the communication terminal deletes the one or more of the measurement quantities according to the request)
in order to improve measurement performance by eliminating waste of limited measurement resources and increased time delays ([0033])
Nokia and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of release of measurement identities in order to improve measurement performance.
Regarding claim 19. Nokia and Nokia-2 and Li teach The method of claim 12, but Nokia and Nokia-2 don’t teach further comprising: subsequent to the signaling of a new value for the maximum number of measurement identities to the secondary node, triggering a secondary node modification procedure.
However, Li teaches subsequent to the signaling of a new value for the maximum number of measurement identities to the secondary node, triggering a secondary node modification procedure. ([0102] Referring to FIG. 7, in step S504, the communication terminal receives a request for deleting one or more of the measurement quantities.)
in order to improve measurement performance by eliminating waste of limited measurement resources and increased time delays ([0033])
Nokia and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of release of measurement identities in order to improve measurement performance.
Regarding claim 21. Nokia and Nokia-2 and Li teach The method of claim 12, and Nokia teaches wherein the signaling and/or the releasing concerning the maximum number of measurement identities to the secondary node is via an inter-node radio resource control message. . (Page 2/6, Ericsson row, inter-node RRC message)
Regarding claim 23-24. Nokia, Nokia-2 and Li teaches A secondary node in a telecommunication network,: the secondary node comprising: processing circuitry; memory coupled with the processing circuitry, wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry (Li [0105] One of ordinary skill in the art would also appreciate that the various methods provided in the present disclosure can be implemented in hardware components or combinations of hardware and software such as, for example, ASICs, special purpose computers, or general purpose computers. One of ordinary skill in the art would also appreciate that the various methods provided in the present disclosure can be implemented as computer-readable statements or instructions. Computer-readable instructions can be stored on a tangible non-transitory computer-readable medium, such as a flexible disk, a hard disk, a CD-ROM (compact disk-read only memory), and MO (magneto-optical), a DVD-ROM (digital versatile disk-read only memory), a DVD RAM (digital versatile disk-random access memory), or a semiconductor memory.) causes the secondary node to perform the method recited in claim 1-2. It is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 26-27. Nokia and Nokia-2 and Li teach A master node in a telecommunication network, the master node comprising: processing circuitry; memory coupled with the processing circuitry, (Li [0106] UE or mobile stations may include any one of or a combination of antennas, receivers, transmitters, processors, memories, and/or any other well-known communication components.) wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry causes the master node.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia, Nokia-2 and Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of VAN DER VELDE; Himke et al. US PGPUB 20160338039 A1.
Regarding claim 4. Nokia, Nokia-2 and Li teach The method of claim 1, but they don’t teach further comprising: receiving an acknowledgement from the master node of the new value for a maximum number of measurement identities; and responsive to the acknowledgement, changing a secondary cell group based on applying the new value to a secondary cell group configuration to meet a capability of a communication device.
However, Van Der Velde teaches
receiving an acknowledgement from the master node ([0075] On receiving the add response from the SeNB 106, at step 306 the MeNB 104 sends an X2 message with acknowledgement to the SeNB 106. ) of the new value for a maximum number of measurement identities; ([0075] wherein the measurement configuration includes at least one of a measurement event based on an A3 event, an A5 event, an Ax event, an indication for linking of measurement identities,) and responsive to the acknowledgement, changing a secondary cell group based on applying the new value to a secondary cell group configuration to meet a capability of a communication device. ([0075] the RRC connection reconfiguration message further comprises the measurement configuration for the UE 108 for at least one first serving frequency served by the MeNB 104 and at least one said second serving frequency served by the SeNB 106 wherein the measurement configuration includes at least one of a measurement event based on an A3 event, an A5 event, an Ax event, an indication for linking of measurement identities, a report on leave flag in the reportConfigEUTRA for the measurement event based on an A1 event)
in order to enhance throughput by selecting small cells via measurement ([0006])
Nokia and Van Der Velde are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of MN/SN signaling in order to enhance throughput.
Claims 5-6 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia and Li as applied to claim 1 and 12 above, and further in view of LIM; Seau S. et al. US PGPUB 20210368572 A1.
Regarding claim 5. Nokia, Nokia-2 and Li teaches The method of claim 1, and Nokia teaches wherein the secondary node already has the prior number of measurement identities configured by the master node, (page 2/6, - The legacy field (i.e. maxMeasIdentitiesSCG) was defined for MN to indicate the total maximum number of measurement identities that SN can configure for both intra-frequency and inter-frequency measurements.) and
But Nokia, Nokia-2 and Li do not teach further comprising: receiving from the master node the new value for the maximum number of measurement identities; and responsive to the receiving, signaling a response to the master node that the new value is rejected.
However, Lim teaches
receiving from the master node the new value for the maximum number of measurement identities; and responsive to the receiving, signaling a response to the master node that the new value is rejected. ([0066] if the measurement ID is included in the SCG failure report. For example, if the SN 410 configures the measurement ID, it may be able to know the measurement information (e.g., frequency and SCS) that is being reported. Further, the MN 405 may know the measurement if the measurement ID allocation is coordinated between the MN 405 and SN 410. An example reporting in the MeasResultSCG-Failure IE is listed below. The measurement ID information (measId) is bolded in this example.)
in order utilize network resource more efficiently ([0022])
Nokia and Lim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of SCG failure reporting in Lim in order to utilize network resource more efficiently.
Regarding claim 6. Nokia, Nokia-2 and LI teaches The method of claim 1, they don’t teach further comprising: receiving from the master node the new value for the maximum number of measurement identities; and responsive to the receiving, signaling a response to the master node with an identification of the measurement identities that are not allocated by the secondary node.
However, Lim teaches
further comprising: receiving from the master node the new value for the maximum number of measurement identities; and responsive to the receiving, signaling a response to the master node with an identification of the measurement identities that are not allocated by the secondary node. . ([0066] if the measurement ID is included in the SCG failure report. For example, if the SN 410 configures the measurement ID, it may be able to know the measurement information (e.g., frequency and SCS) that is being reported. Further, the MN 405 may know the measurement if the measurement ID allocation is coordinated between the MN 405 and SN 410. An example reporting in the MeasResultSCG-Failure IE is listed below. The measurement ID information (measId) is bolded in this example.)
in order utilize network resource more efficiently ([0022])
Nokia and Lim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of SCG failure reporting in Lim in order to utilize network resource more efficiently.
Claims 9, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia, Nokia-2, Li and VAN DER VELDE as applied to claim 1 and 12 above, and further in view of LIM as cited above.
Regarding claim 9. Nokia, Nokia-2, LI and Van Der Velde teach The method of claim 4, but they don’t teach further comprising: subsequent to signaling the request, triggering a dual connectivity procedure that involves the change of the secondary cell group configuration.
However, LIM teaches subsequent to signaling the request, ([0106] Example 20 may include the method of examples 15-19 and/or some other examples herein, wherein the IE includes a bit to indicate that the IE includes information of the SCS of the reference signal or the measurement ID of the measurement.) triggering a dual connectivity procedure ([0111] Example 25 may include the method of examples 15-24 and/or some other examples herein, wherein the AN is a master node (MN) in an EN-DC network, an NR-DC network, or a network with NR operations in the SCG.) that involves the change of the secondary cell group configuration. ([0110] Example 24 may include the method of example 23 and/or some other examples herein, wherein to change the failure SCG is to change one or more operating frequencies and/or associated SCSs with respect to one or more cells of the failure SCG.)
in order utilize network resource more efficiently ([0022])
Nokia and Lim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of SCG modification in LIM in order to utilize network resource more efficiently.
Regarding claim 16. Nokia and Nokia-2 and Li teach The method of claim 12, and Nokia teaches wherein the secondary node already has the prior number of measurement identities configured by the master node, , (page 2/6, - The legacy field (i.e. maxMeasIdentitiesSCG) was defined for MN to indicate the total maximum number of measurement identities that SN can configure for both intra-frequency and inter-frequency measurements.) and Nokia and Nokia-2 do not teach further comprising: signaling to the secondary node the new value for the maximum number of measurement identities; and receiving a response from the secondary node that the new value is rejected.
However, Lim teaches
signaling to the secondary node the new value for the maximum number of measurement identities; and receiving a response from the secondary node that the new value is rejected. ([0066] if the measurement ID is included in the SCG failure report. For example, if the SN 410 configures the measurement ID, it may be able to know the measurement information (e.g., frequency and SCS) that is being reported. Further, the MN 405 may know the measurement if the measurement ID allocation is coordinated between the MN 405 and SN 410. An example reporting in the MeasResultSCG-Failure IE is listed below. The measurement ID information (measId) is bolded in this example.)
in order utilize network resource more efficiently ([0022])
Nokia and Lim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of SCG failure reporting in Lim in order to utilize network resource more efficiently.
Regarding claim 17. Nokia and Nokia-2 and Li teach The method of claim 12, further comprising: signaling to the secondary node the new value for the maximum number of measurement identities; and receiving a response from the secondary node with an identification of the measurement identities that are not allocated by the secondary node.
However, Lim teaches
signaling to the secondary node the new value for the maximum number of measurement identities; and receiving a response from the secondary node with an identification of the measurement identities that are not allocated by the secondary node. . ([0066] if the measurement ID is included in the SCG failure report. For example, if the SN 410 configures the measurement ID, it may be able to know the measurement information (e.g., frequency and SCS) that is being reported. Further, the MN 405 may know the measurement if the measurement ID allocation is coordinated between the MN 405 and SN 410. An example reporting in the MeasResultSCG-Failure IE is listed below. The measurement ID information (measId) is bolded in this example.)
in order utilize network resource more efficiently ([0022])
Nokia and Lim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of SCG failure reporting in Lim in order to utilize network resource more efficiently.
Claim 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia, Nokia-2 and Li as applied to claim 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Teyeb; Oumer et al. US PGPUB 20190173634 A1.
Regarding claim 11. Nokia, Nokia-2 and Li teaches The method of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the signaling and/or the releasing concerning the maximum number of measurement identities to the master node is via an X2 and/or an Xn signaling.
However, Teyeb teaches wherein the signaling and/or the releasing concerning the maximum number of measurement identities to the master node (Table 1 at 0046, MeasConfig including measIdToRemoveLIst) is via an X2 and/or an Xn signaling. ([0007] E-UTRAN supports Dual Connectivity (DC) operation whereby a multiple Rx/Tx UE in RRC_CONNECTED is configured to utilize radio resources provided by two distinct schedulers, located in two eNBs connected, for example, via a non-ideal backhaul over the X2 interface. eNBs involved in DC for a certain UE may assume two different roles: an eNB may either act as an MN (Master node) or as a SN (Secondary node). In DC, a UE may be connected to one MN and one SN.)
In order to efficiently perform measurement by managing multiple measurement configuration for different nodes / RATs. ([0071] )
Nokia and Teyeb are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of X2/Xn signaling in order to efficiently perform measurements.
Regarding claim 22. Nokia and Nokia-2 and Li teach The method of claim 12, and they don’t teach wherein the signaling and/or the releasing concerning the maximum number of measurement identities to the secondary node is via an X2 and/or an Xn signaling.
However, Teyeb teaches
wherein the signaling and/or the releasing concerning the maximum number of measurement identities to the secondary node is via an X2 and/or an Xn signaling. (Table 1 at 0046, MeasConfig including measIdToRemoveLIst) is via an X2 and/or an Xn signaling. ([0007] E-UTRAN supports Dual Connectivity (DC) operation whereby a multiple Rx/Tx UE in RRC_CONNECTED is configured to utilize radio resources provided by two distinct schedulers, located in two eNBs connected, for example, via a non-ideal backhaul over the X2 interface. eNBs involved in DC for a certain UE may assume two different roles: an eNB may either act as an MN (Master node) or as a SN (Secondary node). In DC, a UE may be connected to one MN and one SN.)
In order to efficiently perform measurement by managing multiple measurement configuration for different nodes / RATs. ([0071] )
Nokia and Teyeb are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of X2/Xn signaling in order to efficiently perform measurements.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia and Nokia-2 and Li as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of VAN DER VELDE; Himke et al. US PGPUB 20160338039 A1.
Regarding claim 15. Nokia and Nokia-2 and Li teach The method of claim 12, but they do not teach further comprising: signaling an acknowledgement to the secondary node of the new value for a maximum number of measurement identities; and subsequent to signaling the acknowledgement, changing a master cell group based on applying the new value to a configuration of the master cell group to meet a capability of a communication device.
However, Van Der Velde teaches
signaling an acknowledgement to the secondary node ([0075] On receiving the add response from the SeNB 106, at step 306 the MeNB 104 sends an X2 message with acknowledgement to the SeNB 106.) of the new value for a maximum number of measurement identities; ([0075] wherein the measurement configuration includes at least one of a measurement event based on an A3 event, an A5 event, an Ax event, an indication for linking of measurement identities,)
and subsequent to signaling the acknowledgement, changing a master cell group based on applying the new value to a configuration of the master cell group to meet a capability of a communication device ([0075] the RRC connection reconfiguration message further comprises the measurement configuration for the UE 108 for at least one first serving frequency served by the MeNB 104 and at least one said second serving frequency served by the SeNB 106 wherein the measurement configuration includes at least one of a measurement event based on an A3 event, an A5 event, an Ax event, an indication for linking of measurement identities, a report on leave flag in the reportConfigEUTRA for the measurement event based on an A1 event)
in order to enhance throughput by selecting small cells via measurement ([0006])
Nokia and Van Der Velde are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of MN/SN signaling in order to enhance throughput.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia, Nokia-2 and Van Der Velde as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lim as cited above.
Regarding claim 20. Nokia, Nokia-2, Li, and Van Der Velde teach The method of claim 15, they don’t teach further comprising: subsequent to signaling of a new value for the maximum number of measurement identities to the secondary node, triggering a dual connectivity procedure that involves the change of a secondary cell group configuration.
However, LIM teaches
subsequent to signaling of a new value for the maximum number of measurement identities to the secondary node, ([0106] Example 20 may include the method of examples 15-19 and/or some other examples herein, wherein the IE includes a bit to indicate that the IE includes information of the SCS of the reference signal or the measurement ID of the measurement.) triggering a dual connectivity procedure ([0111] Example 25 may include the method of examples 15-24 and/or some other examples herein, wherein the AN is a master node (MN) in an EN-DC network, an NR-DC network, or a network with NR operations in the SCG.) that involves the change of the secondary cell group configuration. ([0110] Example 24 may include the method of example 23 and/or some other examples herein, wherein to change the failure SCG is to change one or more operating frequencies and/or associated SCSs with respect to one or more cells of the failure SCG.)
in order utilize network resource more efficiently ([0022])
Nokia and Lim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Nokia with the technique of SCG modification in LIM in order to utilize network resource more efficiently.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHAOHUI YANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468