DETAILED ACTION
Claims in Consideration
Claims 10-14, 16-18, are cancelled.
Claims 1-9, 15, and 19, are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument: The applicant alleges that Kim does not provide anything about “an operation instruction in a cleaning map displayed by the client for viewing an obstacle from a user”.
Response: Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/2/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claim(s) under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of 35 USC 103 rejection is made in view of Kim and Lee, wherein Lee has been added to cure the deficiencies of Kim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/16/2025, were filed before the final office action. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejection Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, and 15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kim (US 20160144512 A1, published: 5/26/2016), in view of Lee et al. (US 20200218274 A1, published: 7/9/2020).
Claim 1. (currently amended): Kim teaches an image-viewing method, applied to a terminal, wherein a client for a cleaning machine is installed on the terminal (a remote control, a terminal, etc. [Kim, 0024]), and the image-viewing method comprises:
receiving, by the client (detected by the control unit 200 [Kim, 0025]), an operation instruction for viewing an obstacle from a user (a control command may be input by a user directly to the robot cleaner through the input unit 300 [Kim, 0023]. The output unit 400 may display, on the display, external detection information, obstacle information, position information, a cleaning region, a cleaning map, etc. that are detected by the control unit 200 [Kim, 0025]);
sending, in response to the operation instruction, a request to view the obstacle to the cleaning machine, wherein the viewing request carries identification information (the output unit 400 may be installed at the upper part of the robot cleaner. The output unit 400 may display, on the display, external detection information, obstacle information, position information, a cleaning region, a cleaning map, etc. that are detected by the control unit 200 [Kim, 0025]; Examiner's Note: wherein the cleaning machine vies obstacles external to said cleaning machine), and the identification information is used to uniquely identify an image of the obstacle or to uniquely identify the obstacle (the input unit 300 may be in the form of a touch screen along with the output unit 300 [Kim, 0024]; Examiner's Note: implicitly disclosed by the use of a touch screen to select data to be displayed);
receiving the image of the obstacle identified by the identification information from the cleaning machine (the output unit 400 may be installed at the upper part of the robot cleaner. The output unit 400 may display, on the display, external detection information, obstacle information, position information, a cleaning region, a cleaning map, etc. that are detected by the control unit 200 [Kim, 0025]); and
controlling, by the client, display of the image of the obstacle (the output unit 400 may display, on the display, external detection information, obstacle information, position information, a cleaning region, a cleaning map, etc. that are detected by the control unit 200 [Kim, 0025]).
Kim does not teach an operation instruction in a cleaning map displayed by the client for viewing an obstacle from a user.
However, Lee teaches an operation instruction in a cleaning map displayed by the client for viewing an obstacle from a user (an obstacle sensor [Lee, 0072]. The robotic cleaning apparatus 1000 may generate basic map data. The robotic cleaning apparatus 1000 may generate the basic map data using a reference map and sensed data [Lee, 0073]; Examiner's Note: including the sensed data that would include obstacles).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the obstacle detection of a cleaning machine invention of Kim to include the cleaning map feature of Lee.
One would have been motivated to make this modification because a robotic cleaning apparatus needs to generate accurate map data of a cleaning space by determining identification values of divided regions of the cleaning space, and needs to be effectively controlled based on the generated map data (Lee, 0007).
Claims 4 and 15, having similar elements to claim 1, are likewise rejected.
Claim 2. (currently amended): The combination of Kim and Lee, teaches the image-viewing method according to claim 1. The combination further teaches wherein the receiving, by the client, of the operation instruction in the cleaning map for viewing the obstacle from the user comprises: receiving, by the client, a click-operation instruction on an icon corresponding to the obstacle in the cleaning map from the user; or receiving, by the client, a touch-operation instruction on an icon corresponding to the obstacle in the cleaning map from the user (the input unit 300 is a hard key, soft key, touch pad, etc. and may be installed at an upper part of the robot cleaner. Also, the input unit 300 may be in the form of a touch screen along with the output unit 300 [Kim, 0024]; [Lee, 0073]).
Claim 3. (previously presented): The combination of Kim and Lee, teaches the image-viewing method according to claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the controlling, by the client, of the display of the image of the obstacle comprises: displaying, by the client, the image of the obstacle in a display area in which the icon corresponding to the obstacle is located (the output unit 400 may display, on the display, external detection information, obstacle information, position information, a cleaning region, a cleaning map, etc. that are detected by the control unit 200 [Kim, 0025]).
Claim 5. (previously presented): The combination of Kim and Lee, teaches the image-viewing method according to claim 4. Kim further teaches further comprising: while feeding back the image of the obstacle to the terminal, feeding back at least one of following pieces of information related to the obstacle: a type of the obstacle, a confidence of the obstacle, and a quantity of times that the cleaning machine avoids the obstacle (the control unit 200 may precisely make a cleaning map by using obstacle information detected by a front sensor, a second obstacle sensor, etc. and a position identified by the upper camera sensor [Kim, 0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9, and 19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20160144512 A1, published: 5/26/2016), in view of Lee et al. (US 20200218274 A1, published: 7/9/2020), and in further view of Lazovich (US 20210089906 A1, published: 3/25/2021).
Claim 6. (previously presented): The combination of Kim and Lee, teaches the image-viewing method according to claim 4. The combination of Kim and Lee, does not teach further comprising: after selecting the image of the obstacle identified by the identification information from the obstacle image database, cropping the image of the obstacle; and accordingly, feeding back the image of the obstacle to the terminal comprises feeding back a cropped image to the terminal.
However, Lazovich teaches further comprising: after selecting the image of the obstacle identified by the identification information from the obstacle image database, cropping the image of the obstacle; and accordingly, feeding back the image of the obstacle to the terminal comprises feeding back a cropped image to the terminal (in the context of processing an image, the determined characteristic may comprise a classification of the image or a classification of one or more objects in the image; an identification of one or more objects, animals, people, obstacles, etc., in an image; a segmentation of the image (e.g., a bounding box or cropped version of the image); a labelling of the image (e.g., with a caption, class, or other suitable label) [Lazovich, 0072]; Examiner's Note: wherein it is implicit that the image is identified and cropped after the an image is selected. Feedback being the labelling of the image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the obstacle detection of a cleaning machine invention of the combination of Kim and Lee, to include the identification of the obstacle feature of Lazovich.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to make a judgement as to whether said obstacle would prevent the cleaning machine from doing its job, or whether it is fit to be cleaned.
Claim 19, having similar elements to claim 1, is likewise rejected.
Claim 7. (previously presented): The combination of Kim, Lee, and Lazovich, teaches the image-viewing method according to claim 6, further comprising: receiving a request to view an original image of the cropped image; and feeding back, in response to the request to view the original image, the image of the obstacle identified by the identification information (Examiner's Note: the image being cropped, from an original which must exist first, and can be viewed).
Claim 8. (previously presented): The combination of Kim, Lee, and Lazovich, teaches the image-viewing method according to claim 6. Kim further teaches further comprising, before selecting the image of the obstacle identified by the identification information from the obstacle image database, storing one or more images into the obstacle image database in advance, wherein each of the one or more images represents a respective obstacle; and allocating, to each of the one or more images, a piece of identification information used to uniquely identify the image (the storage unit 500 may further store image information, obstacle information, position information, a cleaning region, a cleaning map, etc. in addition to audio information [Kim, 0028]).
Claim 9. (previously presented): The combination of Kim, Lee, and Lazovich, teaches the image-viewing method according to claim 6. Kim further teaches further comprising, before selecting the image of the obstacle identified by the identification information from the obstacle image database, storing one or more images and one or more identifiers into the obstacle image database in advance, wherein each of the one or more images represents a respective obstacle and each identifier is associated with a respective image and used to uniquely identify the obstacle represented by the image (the storage unit 500 may further store image information, obstacle information, position information, a cleaning region, a cleaning map, etc. in addition to audio information [Kim, 0028]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Seth A Silverman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172