DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejections under 35 USC §102 and §103
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 1 is anticipated by Tsuji, et. al. (US 20120193550), hereinafter “Tsuji”. Claim 1 has been amended to teach “an ion pump has one end that is directly connected to the lens barrel via a flange” and “a support member having one end connected to another end of the ion pump and another end of the support member directly connected to the lens barrel”. Tsuji teaches both of these limitations. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, Tsuji teaches all of the limitations of the claim and therefore anticipates the claim as amended. In particular, Tsuji teaches:
a support member (flange 41, pipe 42, and chamber 43, [0127], Fig. 16, and ion pump support frame 49, ion pump movable-side support plate 50, viscoelastic material sheet 51, ion pump stationary-side support plate 52, [0132], Fig. 19, and vibration damping members 19, including vicoelastic material sheets 16, stationary-side metal support plate 17, and movable-side support plate 18, [130], Fig. 15, Fig. 19, are together interpreted to be the support member because these components collectively support and connect to the ion pump(s) 2 and lens barrel.) having one end connected to another end of the ion pump (on one end of the interpreted support member, the moveable-side support plate 50 connects to the side of the ion pump opposite to the flange-side, Fig. 19) and another end of the support member directly connected to the lens barrel (vibration damping members 19, part of the interpreted support member, has an end that is different (another end) to the end of the support member where the moveable-side support plate 50 connects to the ion pump, and connects directly to lens barrel 1, Fig. 19).
Drawings
Figures 1, 2A, 2B, 2C, 2D should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuji, et. al. (US 20120193550 A1), hereinafter Tsuji.
Regarding claim 1, Tsuji teaches a charged particle beam device (charged particle radiation device, [0001]) comprising:
a lens barrel (lens barrel 1, [0050], Fig. 1) that irradiates a charged particle beam to a sample ([0050]);
an ion pump has one end that is directly connected to the lens barrel via a flange (Fig. 19, Fig. 16, flange 41 connects ion pump 2 to lens barrel 1), and evacuates an inside of the lens barrel by discharging a gas (ion pumps 2, [0050], Fig. 1); and
a support member (flange 41, pipe 42, and chamber 43, [0127], Fig. 16, and ion pump support frame 49, ion pump movable-side support plate 50, viscoelastic material sheet 51, ion pump stationary-side support plate 52, [0132], Fig. 19, and vibration damping members 19, including viscoelastic material sheets 16, stationary-side metal support plate 17, and movable-side support plate 18, [130], Fig. 15, Fig. 19, are together interpreted to be the support member because these components collectively support and connect to the ion pump(s) 2 and lens barrel.) having one end connected to another end of the ion pump (on one end of the interpreted support member, the moveable-side support plate 50 connects to the side of the ion pump opposite to the flange-side, Fig. 19) and another end of the support member directly connected to the lens barrel (vibration damping members 19, part of the interpreted support member, has an end that is different (another end) to the end of the support member where the moveable-side support plate 50 connects to the ion pump, and connects directly to lens barrel 1, Fig. 19), wherein the support member includes a viscoelastic body (interpreted support member includes viscoelastic material sheet 51, Fig. 19, [0132]) that is disposed substantially parallel to a central axis of the lens barrel (51 is disposed substantially parallel to central axis of lens barrel 1, Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuji teaches wherein the charged particle beam device includes a plurality of the ion pumps (ion pumps 2A, 2B, and 2C, Fig. 19, [00130]), the one end of the support member is connected to one of the plurality of ion pumps (In Fig. 19 50 is connected to 2A, for exampe).
Regarding claim 5, Tsuji teaches further comprising a second support member (41-43 and 49-52 which support ion pump 2C, for example, see Fig. 19 and Fig. 16, [0127], [0132]), wherein referring to the ion pump to which the one end of the support member is connected as a first ion pump (50 of the interpreted support member of claim 1 connecting to 2A, such that 2A is referred as the first ion pump, Fig 19), the second support member is connected to one of the ion pumps other than the first ion pump and the support member (interpreted support member of ion pump 2C is second support member since it is not connected to the first ion pump and support member, Fig. 19), and includes a viscoelastic body disposed substantially parallel to a central axis of the lens barrel (interpreted support member of ion pump 2C has viscoelastic material sheet 51, Fig. 19, [0130]-[0132]).
Regarding claim 7, Tsuji teaches wherein the second support member is connected to the lens barrel (interpreted second support member (41-43 and 49-52 supporting ion pump 2C, as seen in Fig. 19 and 16), connects to lens barrel 1 via flange 41).
Regarding claim 10, Tsuji teaches wherein the viscoelastic body has a sheet shape (viscoelastic material sheet is sheet-shaped, [0132], Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 11, Tsuji teaches wherein the support member includes a plurality of holding members at the another end thereof, and is connected to a plurality of portions of the lens barrel by the holding members (moveable-side support plates 18 are interpreted as the holding members of the support member as they are at the another end of the support member and connect the vibration damping members 19 of the interpreted support member to a plurality of portions of the lens barrel, Fig. 19, Fig. 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 20120193550 A1) in view of Uji (JP 2008052947 A).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuji teaches the support member (flange 41, pipe 42, and chamber 43, [0127], Fig. 16, and ion pump support frame 49, ion pump movable-side support plate 50, viscoelastic material sheet 51, ion pump stationary-side support plate 52, [0132], Fig. 19,) with a viscoelastic body (viscoelastic material sheet 51).
Tsuji does not teach a viscoelastic body disposed so as to be substantially orthogonal to a central axis of the lens barrel.
Uji teaches a viscoelastic body disposed so as to be substantially orthogonal to a central axis of the lens barrel (damper 14B and/or 14C, [0017] is disposed substantially orthogonal to central axis of electron optical column 1, Fig. 2).
Uji modifies Tsuji by suggesting the support member of Tsuji further includes a viscoelastic body that is substantially orthogonal to a central axis of the lens barrel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Uji because by placing viscoelastic dampers interposed in the space between the yoke and the case of the ion pump, the inherent vibration of the lens barrel is suppressed by the damping capacity of the dampers, (Uji, [0017]-[0018]).
Regarding claim 4, Tsuji teaches the support member (flange 41, pipe 42, and chamber 43, [0127], Fig. 16, and ion pump support frame 49, ion pump movable-side support plate 50, viscoelastic material sheet 51, ion pump stationary-side support plate 52, [0132], supporting ion pump 2A, Fig. 19) with a viscoelastic body (viscoelastic material sheet 51).
Tsuji does not teach a viscoelastic body disposed so as to be substantially orthogonal to a central axis of the lens barrel.
Uji teaches a viscoelastic body disposed so as to be substantially orthogonal to a central axis of the lens barrel (damper 14B and/or 14C, [0017] is disposed substantially orthogonal to central axis of electron optical column 1, Fig. 2).
Uji modifies Tsuji by suggesting the support member of Tsuji further includes a viscoelastic body that is substantially orthogonal to a central axis of the lens barrel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Uji because by placing viscoelastic dampers interposed in the space between the yoke and the case of the ion pump, the inherent vibration of the lens barrel is suppressed by the damping capacity of the dampers, (Uji, [0017]-[0018]).
Regarding claim 6, Tsuji teaches the support member (flange 41, pipe 42, and chamber 43, [0127], Fig. 16, and ion pump support frame 49, ion pump movable-side support plate 50, viscoelastic material sheet 51, ion pump stationary-side support plate 52, [0132], supporting ion pump 2A, Fig. 19) with a viscoelastic body (viscoelastic material sheet 51).
Tsuji does not teach a viscoelastic body disposed so as to be substantially orthogonal to a central axis of the lens barrel.
Uji teaches a viscoelastic body disposed so as to be substantially orthogonal to a central axis of the lens barrel (damper 14B and/or 14C, [0017] is disposed substantially orthogonal to central axis of electron optical column 1, Fig. 2).
Uji modifies Tsuji by suggesting the support member of Tsuji further includes a viscoelastic body that is substantially orthogonal to a central axis of the lens barrel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Uji because by placing viscoelastic dampers interposed in the space between the yoke and the case of the ion pump, the inherent vibration of the lens barrel is suppressed by the damping capacity of the dampers, (Uji, [0017]-[0018]).
Regarding claim 8, Tsuji teaches the support member (flange 41, pipe 42, and chamber 43, [0127], Fig. 16, and ion pump support frame 49, ion pump movable-side support plate 50, viscoelastic material sheet 51, ion pump stationary-side support plate 52, [0132], supporting ion pump 2A, Fig. 19,) with a viscoelastic body (viscoelastic material sheet 51).
Tsuji does not teach a viscoelastic body disposed so as to be substantially orthogonal to a central axis of the lens barrel.
Uji teaches a viscoelastic body disposed so as to be substantially orthogonal to a central axis of the lens barrel (damper 14B and/or 14C, [0017] is disposed substantially orthogonal to central axis of electron optical column 1, Fig. 2).
Uji modifies Tsuji by suggesting the support member of Tsuji further includes a viscoelastic body that is substantially orthogonal to a central axis of the lens barrel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Uji because by placing viscoelastic dampers interposed in the space between the yoke and the case of the ion pump, the inherent vibration of the lens barrel is suppressed by the damping capacity of the dampers, (Uji, [0017]-[0018]).
Regarding claim 9, Tsuji teaches the second support member (flange 41, pipe 42, and chamber 43, [0127], Fig. 16, and ion pump support frame 49, ion pump movable-side support plate 50, viscoelastic material sheet 51, ion pump stationary-side support plate 52, [0132], supporting ion pump 2C, Fig. 19) with a viscoelastic body (viscoelastic material sheet 51).
Tsuji does not teach a viscoelastic body disposed so as to be substantially orthogonal to a central axis of the lens barrel.
Uji teaches a viscoelastic body disposed so as to be substantially orthogonal to a central axis of the lens barrel (damper 14B and/or 14C, [0017] is disposed substantially orthogonal to central axis of electron optical column 1, Fig. 2).
Uji modifies Tsuji by suggesting the second support member of Tsuji further includes a viscoelastic body that is substantially orthogonal to a central axis of the lens barrel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Uji because by placing viscoelastic dampers interposed in the space between the yoke and the case of the ion pump, the inherent vibration of the lens barrel is suppressed by the damping capacity of the dampers, (Uji, [0017]-[0018]).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 20120193550 A1) in view of Kasuya, et. al. (US 20160233050 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Tsuji teaches the support member (41-43 and 49-52 of ion pump 2A, Fig. 19, 16, [0127], [0132]).
Tsuji does not explicitly teach wherein the support member is partially or entirely made of a non-magnetic material.
Kasuya teaches partially or entirely made of a non-magnetic material (a non-magnetic material, for example, stainless steel, [0061]).
Kasuya modifies Tsuji by suggesting that the support member of Tsuji is made of a non-magnetic material such as stainless steel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kasuya because using a non-magnetic material avoids disturbing the magnetic field applied to the pump, (Kasuya, [0061]).
Regarding claim 13, Tsuji teaches the second support member (41-43 and 49-52 of ion pump 2C, Fig. 19, 16, [0127], [0132]).
Tsuji does not explicitly teach wherein the support member is partially or entirely made of a non-magnetic material.
Kasuya teaches partially or entirely made of a non-magnetic material (a non-magnetic material, for example, stainless steel, [0061]).
Kasuya modifies Tsuji by suggesting that the support member of Tsuji is made of a non-magnetic material such as stainless steel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kasuya because using a non-magnetic material avoids disturbing the magnetic field applied to the pump, (Kasuya, [0061]).
Conclusion
LAURA E TANDY
Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/ROBERT H KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2881