Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Summary
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted May 8, 2026 have been entered into the file. Currently, claims 2 and 5 are canceled and claims 1, 3, 8, and 11 are amended, resulting in claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-11 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the fluorinated linear ether" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3, 4, and 6-11 are indefinite as they depend from an indefinite base and fail to cure the deficiencies of said claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azimi in view of Wu, Chen, and USDOE.
Azimi (Azimi, N. et al. Understanding the Effect of a Fluorinated Ether on the Performance of Lithium-Sulfur Batteries. ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces. 7, 9169-9177 (2015))
Wu (Wu, F. et al. Ionic liquid-based electrolyte with binary lithium salts for high performance lithium-sulfur batteries. Journal of Power Sources. 296, 10-17 (2015))
Chen (US 2006/0210883 A1)
USDOE (US Department of Energy. Optimizing lithium-sulfur battery electrolytes for long life. May 24, 2018)
Regarding claim 1, Azimi teaches a lithium-sulfur secondary battery (Azimi Section 2.3) comprising a positive electrode (cathode, Azimi Section 2.3), a negative electrode (lithium anode, Azimi Section 2.3), a separator (separator, Azimi Section 2.5), and an electrolyte (Azimi Section 2.2), wherein the electrolyte comprises a non- aqueous solvent (DOL/TTE, Azimi Section 2.2).
Azimi does not explicitly disclose the wt% of the fluorinated linear ether based on a total weight of the non-aqueous solvent.
Azimi teaches the fluorinated linear ether being approximately 66.7 vol% based on a total volume of the non-aqueous solvent (volume ratio 1:2, Azimi Section 2.2; 2/(1+2) = 66.7% TTE). Since Azimi teaches the fluorinated linear ether being more than 50% by volume, there is a reasonable basis to conclude that the wt.% of the fluorinated linear ether based on a total weight of the non-aqueous solvent falls within the claimed range of 50 wt.% to 99 wt.%.
Additionally, Azimi teaches that “when the ratio of fluorinated solvent was increased, a much lower concentration of polysulfide was generated, as well as much less diffusion of these species in the electrolyte” which provides “evidence for the improved performance of the Li-S cell in terms of Coulombic efficiency, sulfur utilization, and capacity retention with the fluorinated electrolyte” (Azimi pg. 9173 left column first paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the amount of the fluorinated linear ether (TTE) in the electrolyte of Azimi, including amounts within the claimed range of 50 wt.% to 99 wt.%, in order to obtain a lithium-sulfur secondary battery with suitable capacity retention and coulombic efficiency for a desired battery application.
Azimi does not teach the electrolyte comprising a borate-based lithium salt.
Wu teaches that lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate, hereinafter referred to as LiDFOB, forms a solid-electrolyte interphase (SEI) which protects a Li anode from lithium dendrites (Wu abstract). Wu teaches that LiDFOB “can promote the SEI layer formation through reductive reactions, and the SEI layer prevents the shuttle effect and protects the Li anode in Li-S batteries” (Wu pg. 15 right column first paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add LiDFOB to the electrolyte of Azimi in order to promote SEI layer formation.
Chen teaches non-aqueous electrolytes for secondary batteries (Chen title, abstract) and that electrode stabilizing additives such as lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate (Li[BF2(C2O4)], Chen [30]) that form a passivation film on the surface of the negative electrode “are typically present at a concentration of from about 0.001 to about 8 wt%” (Chen [31], 0.001 wt% x 10,000 = 10 ppm, 8 wt% x 10,000 = 80,000 ppm, thus resulting in a range of 10 ppm to 80,000 ppm).
USDOE teaches that high salt concentrations in lithium-sulfur battery electrolytes can reduce ion mobility and result in insufficient ionic conductivity and that the salt/solvent ratio affects diffusion rates in the electrolyte (USDEO last paragraph).
Since Wu teaches that LiDFOB is used to promote SEI layer formation in lithium-sulfur batteries, Wu and Chen both teach the use of LiDFOB in electrolytes and that LiDFOB forms a passivation layer on the anode of a rechargeable battery, Chen teaches that a concentration of 0.001 to about 8 wt% is suitable for passivation film forming additives, and USDOE teaches that the salt concentration impacts ion mobility and diffusion in the electrolyte, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to tune the amount of LiDFOB added in the electrolyte of modified Azimi, including amounts of 0.001 to about 8 wt% as taught by Chen, in order to obtain a lithium-sulfur battery with suitable performance characteristics and ion conductivity for a desired battery application.
The additive ppm (wt%) range of Chen substantially overlaps the claimed range in the instant claim 1. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Chen, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
Regarding claim 3, Azimi in view of Wu, Chen, and USDOE teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Azimi further teaches the electrolyte further comprising a lithium salt (LiTFSI, Azimi Section 2.2).
Regarding claim 4, Azimi in view of Wu, Chen, and USDOE teaches all features of claims 1 and 3, as described above. Azimi further teaches the fluorinated ether being 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (TTE, Azimi Section 2.2).
Regarding claim 6, Azimi in view of Wu, Chen, and USDOE teaches all features of claims 1 and 3, as described above. Azimi further teaches the lithium salt being LiN(CF3SO2)2 (LiTFSI, Azimi Section 2.2).
Regarding claim 9, Azimi in view of Wu, Chen, and USDOE teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Azimi further teaches the positive electrode comprising a positive electrode active material that is a sulfur-carbon composite (sulfur-carbon nano-composite, Azimi Section 2.1)
Regarding claim 10, Azimi in view of Wu, Chen, and USDOE teaches all features of claims 1 and 9, as described above. Azimi further teaches the sulfur-carbon composite comprising 75 wt% sulfur based on a total weight of the sulfur-carbon composite (Azimi Section 2.1).
Regarding claim 11, Azimi in view of Wu, Chen, and USDOE teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Azimi further teaches the non-aqueous solvent further comprising a non-fluorinated cyclic ether (1,3-dioxolane (DOL), Azimi Section 2.2).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azimi view of Wu, Chen, and USDOE, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Kang (Kang, N. Cathode porosity is a missing key parameter to optimize lithium-sulfur battery energy density. Nature Communications. 10, 4597 (2019)).
Regarding claim 7, Azimi in view of Wu, Chen, and USDOE teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Azimi is silent regarding the porosity of the positive electrode active material layer.
Kang teaches that the porosity of a sulfur-carbon composite cathode greatly impacts lithium-sulfur battery performance (Kang pg. 3 right column last paragraph) and porosity “plays a significant role in overall cell design because it determines the electrolyte quantity in the cell” (Kang pg. 7 left column). Kang further teaches that “the pore size and structure play an important role in the electrochemical performance of Li-S batteries due to the Li-PS dissolution associated redox shuttle reactions” (Kang pg. 2 left column last paragraph). Kang teaches that “electrodes with the porosity of 50-60% are suggested for a practical high-energy Li-S cell design” (Kang pg. 7 right column).
Since Kang teaches that cathode porosity can be tuned to improve performance of lithium sulfur batteries and that porosity values between 50% and 60% are suggested, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to tune the porosity of the positive electrode active material layer of Azimi, including porosity values between 50% and 60% as taught by Kang, in order to obtain a cathode with suitable electrochemical performance for a desired battery application.
Regarding claim 8, Azimi in view of Wu, Chen, and USDOE teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Azimi is silent to the loading amount of the positive active material of the positive electrode (mAh/cm2).
Kang teaches that the electrolyte/solvent (E/S) ratio is affected by loading amount (areal capacity, mAh/cm2) and porosity of a positive electrode and that tuning the E/S ratio is a known method for optimizing battery performance (Kang pg. 7 left column).
Since Kang teaches that the loading amount of a positive electrode can impact battery performance, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to tune the loading amount of Azimi, including amounts between 3.0 and 10.0 mAh/cm2, in order to obtain a battery with suitable performance for a desired battery application and achieve a desired E/S ratio.
Response to Arguments
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The following rejections presented in the Final Rejection dated February 9, 2026 are overcome and withdrawn due to applicant’s amendments to claim 1 in the response received May 8, 2026:
Claims 1 and 9 under 35 U.S.C 103 as unpatentable over Wu in view of Chen and USDOE
Claims 7 and 8 under 35 U.S.C 103 as unpatentable over Wu in view of Chen and USDOE, and in further view of Kang
Claims 3-6 and 11 under 35 U.S.C 103 as unpatentable over Wu in view of Chen and USDOE, and in further view of Lu
Claim 10 under 35 U.S.C 103 as unpatentable over Wu in view of Chen and USDOE, and in further view of Kang and Li
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lim (US 2019/0296397 A1): appears to disclose that it is suitable for electrolytes used in lithium secondary batteries to contain 0.01 wt% to 2 wt% of a borate-based lithium compound (claim 11).
Zhang (US 2018/0076485 A1): appears to disclose fluorinated ether compounds for lithium-sulfur battery electrolytes (abstract) and an electrolyte containing LiTFSI, a fluorinated ether, and a non-fluorinated ether ([43]).
O’Neill (US 2015/0214577 A1): appears to disclose an electrolyte containing a fluorinated ether and lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate (Table 1, ID# 37 and 41).
/J.S.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789