DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: changing apparatus (e.g. claims 2, 4, 5)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Practical Machinist Forum (NPL).
The subject invention of claim 1 was contemplated and “routinely done” by machinists per the Practical Machinist Forum. Specifically, [username] Plastic contemplates a method for machining a workpiece (“round bar”), the method comprising: a first attachment step of attaching a workpiece holder (“chuck”) holding a workpiece to a spindle (“spindle”) of a machine tool (“milling machine”); and a first machining step of machining (“turn”) the workpiece with a tool installed on a table of the machine tool (implied by “stationary secured tool, say in a vice”), while rotating the spindle, to which several users reply that they have performed such a method with varying degrees of success, and [username] bryan_machine confirms that such is “routinely done”.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Erik Colvin (YouTube Video).
Colvin demonstrates a method (starting about 20:55) for machining a workpiece (a cylindrical disc of material), the method comprising: a first attachment step of attaching a workpiece holder (three-jawed chuck) holding a workpiece to a spindle of a machine tool (mill); and a first machining step of machining (“mill turning” - 1:32) the workpiece with a tool installed on a table of the machine tool (a number of tools fixed into blocks on the table), while rotating the spindle.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miura (JPH05092302, cited in IDS, with reference to translation).
Claim 1: Miura discloses a method for machining a workpiece, the method comprising: a first attachment step of attaching a workpiece holder (7) holding a workpiece (11) to a spindle (4) of a machine tool (machining center 1); and a first machining step of machining the workpiece with a tool (13) installed on a table (2) of the machine tool, while rotating the spindle (e.g. paragraphs 18-20).
Claim 2: Miura further discloses a detachment step of detaching the workpiece holder from the spindle with a changing apparatus (automatic exchange device 16, which may be broadly considered a robot) installed outside the machine tool (depending on how one interprets “outside”, e.g. the changing apparatus 16 is mounted to an exterior portion of the machine tool), after completion of the first machining step (paragraph 21).
Claim 3: Miura further discloses a second attachment step of attaching the workpiece holder to a jig (6) installed on the table, after completion of the detachment step (paragraph 21); and a second machining step of machining the workpiece with the tool attached to the spindle or the tool installed on the table (i.e. as with “normal milling operations” - paragraph 21).
Claim 4: In the first attachment step, the workpiece holder (7) is attached to the spindle by a changing apparatus (13) provided outside the machine tool (depending on how one interprets “outside”, e.g. the changing apparatus 16 is mounted to an exterior portion of the machine tool).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are alternatively rejected, and claim 5 is rejected, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura in view of Isobe (U.S. PGPub 2016/0184944).
Claims 2-4: To the extent that the changing apparatus is not sufficiently “installed outside the machine tool” and/or not sufficiently a robot per 112(f) as disclosed by Miura, then Isobe teaches a similar method employing a robotic arm changing apparatus (handling robot) installed outside the machine tool (e.g. paragraph 49). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a changing apparatus installed outside the machine as taught by Isobe in order to have provided a wider reach of the changing apparatus for supplying/retrieving tools beyond the machine tool, for example.
Claim 5: Miura further discloses a loading step of loading the workpiece holder into a changer (14) of the machine tool with a changing apparatus (16) provided outside the machine tool (implied in paragraph 21; also depending on how one interprets “outside”, e.g. the changing apparatus 16 is mounted to an exterior portion of the machine tool), before the first attachment step. Miura does not necessarily disclose in the first attachment step, the workpiece holder is attached to the spindle by the changer. However, Isobe teaches a changer (turret/magazine) for attaching tools to a spindle (e.g. paragraph 47). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a changer as taught by Isobe to have further improved access to tools by the machine.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JPS63278748 discloses a machining method wherein either the workpiece or the tool is mounted to the spindle depending on the operation being performed, and including a tool changer as part of the machining center.
Contact Information
/Matthew P Travers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726