DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the RCE filed 27 April 2026. Claims 1-12 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 22 June 2026 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because NPL Document 1 is in a foreign language and no English machine translation has been included. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive; the rejections of the claims have been modified in response to Applicant's amendments to the claims. The amended limitations (and Applicant’s arguments regarding the amended limitations) are addressed by the modified rejections and response below.
Applicant argues Chaji does not equate cluster pitch to row width, nor does it disclose that any pad is shifted by a row-scale dimension. (Remarks, p. 5.) Examiner respectfully disagrees; Chaji discloses spacing pads in distances smaller or larger (i.e., a multiple such as twice; ¶ 0121 lines 20-32) than the pitch of microdevices on the donor substrate, a range which overlaps that of the amended limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teachings of Chaji, would be motivated to provide a pad offset as recited in the claim for the purpose of minimizing interfering regions. Thus, the prior art reads on the claims as currently drafted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0095124 A1 to Chaji et al. (hereinafter “Chaji”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Chaji (Figs. 12A-12D) discloses a method to pattern microdevice cartridge transfer on a backplane, the method comprising:
forming pads 1204/1214/1224 (¶ 0136; ¶¶ 0072, 0102 - it is noted “micro devices” as used in Chaji are understood to refer to devices including pixels/subpixels) for subpixels in the backplane in two lines while at least one pad 1214 is located in an intersection of the two lines (Fig. 12A - line A crossing 1204 and 1214, line B crossing 1214 and 1224; line A intersects line B at 1214), wherein the pads are arranged in a two-dimensional array of rows and columns (Fig. 12A), and each row or column is associated with a cartridge containing microdevices of a particular subpixel type (¶ 0137; Examiner notes that this limitation does not preclude the cartridge from containing microdevices of more than one subpixel type);
placing cartridges, for each subpixel where microdevices are removed (¶ 0136 - last 3 lines), in places associated with at least one of the said two lines (¶ 0137, lines 4-15);
aligning, as a first step, (it is noted that “first step” does not require that this is the absolute first step of the method, rather, it merely requires that it is performed prior to the below recited “second step”) a microdevice for an associated subpixel that does not interfere with other pads in the backplane (¶ 0137 - lines 22-32); and
moving the microdevice cartridge transfer, in a second step, in direction of the two said lines (¶ 0137 - lines 27-32).
Chaji does not expressly disclose that each row or column is associated with a cartridge containing microdevices of a particular subpixel type; wherein one pad associated with one type of microdevice is offset compared to two other pads by at least a width of one row of microdevices. However, Chaji does disclose the method is flexible and can accommodate varying pad sizes and placement (see, e.g., ¶ 0073) with distances between pads smaller than or larger than (e.g., a multiple of) the pitch of microdevices (¶ 0121 - lines 20-32), micro devices/sub pixels of varying shapes and types (see, e.g., ¶ 0074, ¶ 0102 - 2nd column, lines 6-9; ¶ 0148), and cartridges including different colors of micro-devices/sub pixels (¶ 0148). Chaji also contemplates the arrangement of microdevices in a cartridge based on rows or columns of pads (¶ 0137 - lines 22-38) and discloses that the direction of moving the microdevice cartridge transfer is variable based on and in reference to the configuration of pads on the receiver substrate (see, e.g, ¶ 0075, ¶ 0137 - lines 27-32).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the cartridge with the corresponding microdevices for each row or column, thus each row or column is “associated with a cartridge containing microdevices of a particular subpixel type,” and to provide a pad associated with one type of microdevice with offset compared to two other pads by a width of one row of microdevices (as taught by above), thus arrange “one pad associated with one type of microdevice is offset compared to two other pads by at least a width of one row of microdevices,” to increase the non-interfering area for the pads (Chaji, ¶ 0121, lines 20-32) for the purpose of minimizing the number of steps necessary and to increase the efficiency of the transfer of microdevices (¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 2, Chaji (Figs. 12A-12D) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the two lines are perpendicular (Fig. 12A – line A crossing pads 1204 and 1214, perpendicular to line B crossing pads 1214 and 1224).
Regarding claim 3, Chaji (Figs. 12A-12D) discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the two lines are parallel to rows and columns of pixels in the backplane (Fig. 12A; ¶ 0138).
Regarding claim 4, Chaji discloses the method of claim 1, however fails to expressly disclose in the instant embodiment: wherein the associated subpixel is red. Chaji does disclose the method is flexible and can accommodate varying pad sizes and placement (see, e.g., ¶ 0073), micro devices/sub pixels of varying shapes and types (see, e.g., ¶ 0074, ¶ 0102 - 2nd column, lines 6-9; ¶ 0148), and cartridges including different colors of micro-devices/sub pixels (¶ 0148). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the associated subpixel to be red in the method of Chaji for the purpose of forming a subpixel component necessary to form a pixel (comprising: red, green, and blue subpixels) as is conventional in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Chaji discloses the method of claim 1, however fails to expressly disclose in the instant embodiment: wherein the associated subpixel is green. Chaji does disclose the method is flexible and can accommodate varying pad sizes and placement (see, e.g., ¶ 0073), micro devices/sub pixels of varying shapes and types (see, e.g., ¶ 0074, ¶ 0102 - 2nd column, lines 6-9; ¶ 0148), and cartridges including different colors of micro-devices/sub pixels (¶ 0148). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the associated subpixel to be green in the method of Chaji for the purpose of forming a subpixel component necessary to form a pixel (comprising: red, green, and blue subpixels) as is conventional in the art.
Regarding claim 6, Chaji discloses the method of claim 1, however fails to expressly disclose in the instant embodiment: wherein the associated subpixel is blue. Chaji does disclose the method is flexible and can accommodate varying pad sizes and placement (see, e.g., ¶ 0073), micro devices/sub pixels of varying shapes and types (see, e.g., ¶ 0074, ¶ 0102 - 2nd column, lines 6-9; ¶ 0148), and cartridges including different colors of micro-devices/sub pixels (¶ 0148). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the associated subpixel to be blue in the method of Chaji for the purpose of forming a subpixel component necessary to form a pixel (comprising: red, green, and blue subpixels) as is conventional in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Chaji discloses the method of claim 4, however fails to expressly disclose wherein the associated red subpixel is patterned with the first step and moved vertically up in the second step. Chaji does disclose the method is flexible and can accommodate varying pad sizes and placement (see, e.g., ¶ 0073), and that the direction of moving the microdevice cartridge transfer is variable based on and in reference to the configuration of pads on the receiver substrate (see, e.g, ¶ 0075, ¶ 0137 - lines 27-32). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to pattern the associated red subpixel in the first step and move vertically up in the second step in the method of Chaji to form a pixel (comprising: red, green, and blue subpixels) as is conventional in the art and to increase efficiency of the transfer process (Chaji, ¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 8, Chaji discloses the method of claim 5, however fails to expressly disclose wherein the associated green subpixel is patterned with the first step and moved horizontally right in the second step. Chaji does disclose the method is flexible and can accommodate varying pad sizes and placement (see, e.g., ¶ 0073), and that the direction of moving the microdevice cartridge transfer is variable based on and in reference to the configuration of pads on the receiver substrate (see, e.g, ¶ 0075, ¶ 0137 - lines 27-32). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to pattern the associated green subpixel in the first step and move horizontally right in the second step in the method of Chaji to form a pixel (comprising: red, green, and blue subpixels) as is conventional in the art and to increase efficiency of the transfer process (Chaji, ¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 9, Chaji discloses the method of claim 6, however fails to expressly disclose wherein the associated blue subpixel is patterned with the first step and moved vertically down in the second step. Chaji does disclose the method is flexible and can accommodate varying pad sizes and placement (see, e.g., ¶ 0073), and that the direction of moving the microdevice cartridge transfer is variable based on and in reference to the configuration of pads on the receiver substrate (see, e.g, ¶ 0075, ¶ 0137 - lines 27-32). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to pattern the associated blue subpixel in the first step and move vertically down in the second step in the method of Chaji to form a pixel (comprising: red, green, and blue subpixels) as is conventional in the art and to increase efficiency of the transfer process (Chaji, ¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 10, Chaji discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the microdevices are removed or not formed (¶ 0136 - last 3 lines; ¶ 0138), however fails to expressly disclose: on a left column and a bottom row associated with each pixel. Chaji does disclose that microdevices can be removed or not formed in varying areas, as necessary (see, e.g., ¶ 0138 - lines 1-12, ¶ 0139 - lines 1-8; ¶ 0140 - lines 1-10). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove or not form microdevices in an area as recited by the claim in the method of Chaji for the purpose of method flexibility in accommodating desired microdevices and increasing efficiency of the transfer process (Chaji, ¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 11, Chaji discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the microdevices are removed or not formed (¶ 0136 - last 3 lines; ¶ 0138), however fails to expressly disclose: on a bottom row associated with each pixel. Chaji does disclose that microdevices can be removed or not formed in varying areas, as necessary (see, e.g., ¶ 0138 - lines 1-12, ¶ 0139 - lines 1-8; ¶ 0140 - lines 1-10). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove or not form microdevices in an area as recited by the claim in the method of Chaji for the purpose of method flexibility in accommodating desired microdevices and increasing efficiency of the transfer process (Chaji, ¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 12, Chaji discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the microdevices are removed or not formed (¶ 0136 - last 3 lines; ¶ 0138), however fails to expressly disclose: on a left column associated with each pixel. Chaji does disclose that microdevices can be removed or not formed in varying areas, as necessary (see, e.g., ¶ 0138 - lines 1-12, ¶ 0139 - lines 1-8; ¶ 0140 - lines 1-10). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove or not form microdevices in an area as recited by the claim in the method of Chaji for the purpose of method flexibility in accommodating desired microdevices and increasing efficiency of the transfer process (Chaji, ¶ 0002).
Conclusion
CANDICE Y. CHAN
Examiner
Art Unit 2813
27 June 2026
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813