Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the motivation for the rejection is found in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. It is known that used battery units may have differing shapes and sizes due to different manufacturers having different designs and products for used battery units, thus modifying the holder body to accommodate used battery units of differing shapes and sizes would improve the user experience of the holder body by not limiting the use of the holder body to one specific used battery unit size and shape.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, regarding Titus failing to disclose or suggest the used battery unit is configured to be removably provided in the used battery unit holder, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Furthermore, applicant argues that Ugrin does not teach an equivalent of the “storage device” recited in claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ugrin (Figs.1, 2, & 4) teaches a storage device (12) which charges the used battery units (30) held within holder bodies (40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 & 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Titus (USPGPN 2020/0376983 A1 – filed May 29, 2020), in view of Burden (USPGPN 2019/0067959 A1 – published Feb. 28, 2019), Sato et al. (WIPO Publication WO 2014/119049 A1 – published Aug. 7, 2014), and Ugrin et al. (USPGPN 2021/0138965 – filed 2019).
Regarding Claim 1, Titus (Figs.1, 2, 6, & 8) teaches a used battery unit holder detachably attachable to a storage device (150) which stores a plurality of used battery units (plurality of batteries 160 each containing battery cells 608), each of the used battery units including a cell and a battery housing accommodating the cell (220/608: battery cells have a housing), and the used battery holder comprising:
a holder body (208) configured to be detachably attachable to the storage device, the holder body holding each of the used battery units (220/608), and the holder body being configured to be transported while being connected with the used battery units during transportation (212: handle provided for transporting the holder body with the used battery units connected);
a connection unit (228/312A & 312B) connected to the used battery unit (¶0047: connected through 324A & 324B) held in the holder to connect the used battery unit held in the holder through a connection circuit (¶0047: 312A & 312B connect to corresponding contacts in a battery charging kiosk) included in the storage device in such a manner that the used battery unit can be charged;
a battery status recognition unit (630) connected to the used battery unit held in the holder to recognize battery status (¶0057: program modules may cause temperature readings to be obtained and/or recorded); and
a hardware processor (612) configured to execute processes comprising:
a charge/discharge instruction process comprising acquiring charge/discharge instruction information based on the battery status recognized by the battery status recognition unit (¶0057: program modules may cause temperature readings to be obtained and/or recorded) to give a discharge instruction to a discharge-target battery unit to be discharged and give a charge instruction to a charge-target battery unit to be charged among the used battery units (¶0072: Method 800 teaches a communication network may set the charge or discharge current limit based on temperature data, which would be transmitted and processed through communication system 636); and
a charge/discharge management process comprising discharging from the discharge-target battery unit and charging the charge-target battery unit according to the charge/discharge instruction information acquired in the charge/discharge instruction acquisition process (¶0074: current output or input is reduced based on instructions received).
Titus fails to explicitly teach each of the used battery units being configured to be removably provided in the used battery unit holder, the used battery units differing in shape and size from each other, and the battery housing of the used battery unit being provided on the holder body;
discharging to the storage device connection circuit;
battery status including a current value and a voltage value of the used battery unit; and
charging/discharging batteries so that SOCs (States Of Charge) of the discharge-target battery unit and the charge-target battery unit fall within a predetermined SOC range.
However, Burden teaches a battery system where battery status information includes a current value and voltage value (Fig.3, 110; ¶0010: voltage/current/power can be interchangeable), and charging/discharging between batteries (Fig.3, 140).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Titus to include voltage and current values to the battery status information, and charging/discharging between batteries. Burden discloses one skilled in the art understands that terms such as voltage, current, and power can be interchangeable, and including these values in battery status information allows for a system to charge a low battery with available charge from a highest charged battery, which can help conserve energy.
Moreover, Sato teaches that it is preferable to maintain a battery within a predetermined SOC range (Pg.3, Para.3: Using a battery within a desirable narrow area near the center of the SOC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Titus to limit the SOC operational range so that the batteries fall within a predetermined SOC range. Doing so reduces the deterioration of the batteries allowing for increased battery lifetime, as evidenced by Sato.
Lastly, Ugrin (Fig.4) teaches a holder body (30) which can accommodate used battery units (40) of differing shapes and sizes (¶0026: container may accommodate different size personal electronic devices/PEDs; ¶0023: PED may be a phone, tablet, watch, camera, laptop, e-reader, MP3 player, rechargeable battery or other portable and/or chargeable device), where the battery housing of the used battery unit (exterior case of 40) is provided on the holder body (Fig.4, PED 40 is on, in contact, with container 30), and each of the used battery units (40) being configured to be removably provided in the used battery unit holder (Fig.4, PED 40 is lowered into the container 30 by way of arrow 89, and the PED is intended to be retrieved from the container).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Titus with Ugrin to modify the holder body to accommodate used battery units of differing shapes and sizes, as taught by Ugrin, where the battery housing is provided on the holder body, and each of the used battery units being configured to be removably provided in the used battery unit holder. Doing so allows the holder body to be used with a variety of products made by various manufacturers for an improved user experience.
Regarding Claim 2, Titus, in view of Burden and Sato, further teaches wherein:
the connection unit is configured to connect the used battery unit held in the holder to be able to be mutually charged/discharged through the connection circuit included in the storage device (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1),
the charge/discharge instruction acquisition process acquires charge/discharge instruction information to give charge/discharge instructions between the discharge-target battery unit and the charge-target battery unit based on the battery status recognized by the battery status recognition unit (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1), and
the charge/discharge management process discharges from the discharge-target battery unit and charges discharged power from the discharge-target battery unit to the charge-target battery unit according to the charge/discharge instruction information acquired in the charge/discharge instruction acquisition process in such a manner that the SOCs of the discharge-target battery unit and the charge-target battery unit fall within the predetermined SOC range (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Titus, in view of Burden and Sato, further teaches wherein:
the battery status recognition unit is configured to recognize temperature of the used battery unit held in the holder as the battery status (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1), and
the charge/discharge instruction acquisition process acquires the charge/discharge instruction information based on the battery status including the temperature of the used battery unit (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Titus (Figs.1, 2, 6, & 8) teaches a used battery storage system comprising:
a holder (208) which detachably holds a used battery unit (220/608), the used battery units including a cell and a battery housing accommodating the cell (220/608: battery cells have a housing), and the holder body being configured to be transported while being connected with the used battery units during transportation (212: handle provided for transporting the holder body with the used battery units connected);
a storage device (150) of used battery units, to which a plurality of the holders in which the battery units are held, respectively, can be detachably attached;
a connection unit (228/312A & 312B) provided in the holder to be connectable to the used battery unit (¶0047: connected through 324A & 324B) held in the holder;
a battery status recognition unit (630) connected to the used battery unit held in the holder through the connection unit to recognize battery status (¶0057: program modules may cause temperature readings to be obtained and/or recorded);
a hardware processor configured to execute processes comprising:
a charge/discharge instruction acquisition process comprising acquiring charge/discharge instruction information to give a discharge instruction to a discharge-target battery unit to be discharged and a charge instruction to a charge-target battery unit to be charged among a plurality of the used battery units (¶0072: Method 800 teaches a communication network may set the charge or discharge current limit based on temperature data, which would be transmitted and processed through communication system 636) based on the battery status recognized by the battery status recognition unit (¶0057: program modules may cause temperature readings to be obtained and/or recorded); and
a charge/discharge management process comprising discharging from the discharge-target battery unit and charging the charge-target battery unit according to the charge/discharge instruction information acquired in the charge/discharge instruction acquisition process (¶0074: current output or input is reduced based on instructions received).
Titus fails to explicitly teach the used battery unit being configured to be removably provided in the holder;
the used battery units differ in shape and size from each other;
discharging to the storage device connection circuit;
battery status including a current value and a voltage value of the used battery unit; and
charging/discharging batteries so that SOCs (States Of Charge) of the discharge-target battery unit and the charge-target battery unit fall within a predetermined SOC range.
However, Burden teaches a battery system where battery status information includes a current value and voltage value (Fig.3, 110; ¶0010: voltage/current/power can be interchangeable), and charging/discharging between batteries (Fig.3, 140).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Titus to include voltage and current values to the battery status information, and charging/discharging between batteries. Burden discloses one skilled in the art understands that terms such as voltage, current, and power can be interchangeable, and including these values in battery status information allows for a system to charge a low battery with available charge from a highest charged battery, which can help conserve energy.
Moreover, Sato teaches that it is preferable to maintain a battery within a predetermined SOC range (Pg.3, Para.3: Using a battery within a desirable narrow area near the center of the SOC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Titus to limit the SOC operational range so that the batteries fall within a predetermined SOC range. Doing so reduces the deterioration of the batteries allowing for increased battery lifetime, as evidenced by Sato.
Lastly, Ugrin (Fig.4) teaches a holder (30) which can accommodate used battery units (40) of differing shapes and sizes (¶0026: container may accommodate different size personal electronic devices/PEDs; ¶0023: PED may be a phone, tablet, watch, camera, laptop, e-reader, MP3 player, rechargeable battery or other portable and/or chargeable device), where the battery housing of the used battery unit (exterior case of 40) is provided on the holder body (Fig.4, PED 40 is on, in contact, with container 30), and the used battery unit (40) is configured to be removably provided in the holder (Fig.4, PED 40 is lowered into the container 30 by way of arrow 89, and the PED is intended to be retrieved from the container).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Titus with Ugrin to modify the holder body to accommodate used battery units of differing shapes and sizes, as taught by Ugrin, where the battery housing is provided on the holder body, and the used battery unit is configured to be removably provided in the holder. Doing so allows the holder body to be used with a variety of products made by various manufacturers for an improved user experience.
Regarding Claim 6, Titus fails to explicitly teach the holder body comprises a plate; and
the holder body is configured such that the used battery unit is held on the plate and taken out from the plate.
However, Ugrin teaches a holder body comprises a plate where the used battery unit is held on the plate and taken out from the plate (¶0034: opening 88 may be a window, which examiner equates to a plate; ¶0026: PED is held in place by cover 52 which blocks movement, and as shown in Fig.4 PED 40 is held on opening 88).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Titus, in view of Burden, Sato, and Ugrin, with Ugrin to include a plate where the used battery unit is held and taken out from. Doing so allows a user to view the used battery unit while it is held in the holder, and allows them to remove the used battery unit for use, as evidenced by Ugrin.
Regarding Claim 7, Titus fails to explicitly teach the holder comprises a plate; and
the holder is configured such that the used battery unit is held on the plate and taken out from the plate.
However, Ugrin teaches a holder comprises a plate where the used battery unit is held on the plate and taken out from the plate (¶0034: opening 88 may be a window, which examiner equates to a plate; ¶0026: PED is held in place by cover 52 which blocks movement, and as shown in Fig.4 PED 40 is held on opening 88).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Titus, in view of Burden, Sato, and Ugrin, with Ugrin to include a plate where the used battery unit is held and taken out from. Doing so allows a user to view the used battery unit while it is held in the holder, and allows them to remove the used battery unit for use, as evidenced by Ugrin.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Titus, in view of Burden, Sato, and Ugrin, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jung (USPGPN 2013/0049698 A1 – published Feb, 28, 2013).
Regarding Claim 4, Titus as modified further teaches the used battery unit includes a plurality of cells in the battery housing (the PEDs taught by Ugrin include a battery, ¶0018: energy storage component of a PED; which by definition a battery may comprise one or more cells).
Titus as modified fails to explicitly teach wherein:
the battery status recognition unit is configured to recognize the battery status of each of a plurality of cells that constitute the used battery unit,
the charge/discharge instruction acquisition unit is configured to acquire the charge/discharge instruction information based on the battery status of each of the plurality of cells, and
the charge/discharge management unit is configured to charge or discharge each of the plurality of cells that constitute the used battery unit held in the holder according to the charge/discharge instruction information acquired by the charge/discharge instruction acquisition unit until a voltage value difference among the plurality of cells becomes less than a predetermined tolerance.
However, Jung (Fig.3 & 17) teaches a cell balancing circuit (310) for balancing cells to be less than a predetermined tolerance (S14 to S15 to END) and controlled by a controller (300).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Titus, in view of Burden, Sato, and Ugrin, to include a cell balancing circuit and the control method, taught by Jung, to monitor the cell voltages and charge or discharge the cells to maintain the voltage value difference to be less than a predetermined tolerance. Doing so allows the system to improve the lifespan of the battery by reducing the difference between battery cells, thus reducing the likelihood of a cell being overcharged or over discharged.
Conclusion
/JOHN P ONDRASIK/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859