DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A and Species X in the reply filed on 12/02/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bower et al. (US 2017/0092863 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bower discloses a method to form a micro thin film device, the method comprising:
having a release layer (“sacrificial layer 18”, ¶ 0097) on a substrate (20 in Fig. 5J);
forming an encapsulation layer (30) on the substrate;
forming a first electrode (40) on the encapsulation layer; and
forming a bank layer (34) on the first electrode to define a micro thin film area.
Regarding claim 2, Bower further discloses wherein layers of the micro thin film area are deposited and patterned (¶ 0050).
Regarding claim 3, Bower further discloses wherein patterning is done by lithography (¶ 0099) and deposition is done by a physical assisted deposition (¶ 0099).
Regarding claim 4, Bower further discloses wherein a second electrode (top 52 in Fig. 5J) is formed on layers of the micro thin film area.
Regarding claim 5, Bower further discloses a second encapsulation layer (32 in Fig. 5J) is developed covering all layers underneath.
Regarding claim 6, Bower further discloses wherein a VIA (opening shown as 18 in Fig. 5J) is formed to provide access to the first and second electrode.
Regarding claim 7, Bower further discloses wherein pads (50 and bottom 52) are formed to bring the access to the first and second electrode to a top of the second encapsulation layer, wherein a backplane (60) extends partially across the micro thin film device.
Regarding claim 13, Bower further discloses wherein a pillar structure (pillar structure of 20 directly contacting 32 in Fig. 5J) is formed underneath the pads.
Regarding claim 14, Bower further discloses wherein the pads have two parts, a first part (left side of each pad in Fig. 5J) for coupling to the first and second electrodes and a second part (right side) to bond to the backplane after the micro thin film device is transferred to the substrate.
Regarding claim 15, Bower further discloses wherein the first part of the pads is covered by a dielectric layer (the dielectric layer of second encapsulation layer 32, ¶ 0094).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A CULBERT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2815