Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hestermann (US 20200374649 A1, hereinafter “Hestermann”).
Regarding claim 1, Hestermann teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: obtain one or more audio signals; (see Fig. 3, [0076]-[0077]: device receives downmix signal in which the plurality of audio object signals of the plurality of audio objects are mixed. Processor unit 120 reconstructs plurality of audio object signals.)
obtain one or more spatial metadata relating to the one or more obtained audio signals wherein the one or more spatial metadata comprises information that indicates how to spatially reproduce the one or more obtained audio signals; (see Fig. 2-3, [0004], [0072]-[0076]: spatial metadata signal comprising at least one modified position for each audio object)
apply one or more audio effects to the one or more obtained audio signals to provide one or more altered audio signals; (see Fig. 3, [0079]: processor unit 120 is configured to apply the at least one effect parameter to the audio object signal of each of the audio objects)
obtain audio effect information where the audio effect information comprises information relating to how application of the one or more audio effects affects one or more signal characteristics of the one or more obtained audio signals; (see Fig. 3, [0027], [0079]: effect parameter may be based on any metadata or sound characteristic of audio object of one or more obtained audio signals)
and use the obtained audio effect information and the one or more spatial metadata to enable the indicated spatial rendering of the one or more altered audio signals. (see [0073]-[0080]: effect parameter and metadata signal enable modified position for each audio object of the processing-object group of audio objects)
Regarding claim 2, Hestermann teaches the audio effect comprises an effect that alters at least one of: spectral characteristics of the one or more obtained audio signals; or temporal characteristics of the one or more obtained audio signals. (see [0027], [0172]: effect parameters is based on weighting methods that take temporal changes into account for the one or more obtained audio signals)
Regarding claim 3, Hestermann teaches the audio effect information comprises information relating to how application of the one or more audio effects affects one or more signal characteristics of the one or more obtained audio signals as a function of at least one of: frequency; and time. (see [0092], [0171]: weighting methods take individual metadata and/or signal characteristics of individual audio objects into account including frequency and time parameters.)
Regarding claim 4, Hestermann teaches the audio effect information is obtained, at least in part, from processing using an audio effect control signal wherein the audio effect control signal controls the audio effect applied to the one or more obtained audio signals. (see Fig. 4, [0090]: generate processed signal in a way that at least one effect parameter specified by means of the interface 110 is applied to the audio object signal)
Regarding claim 5, Hestermann teaches the obtained audio effect information and the one or more spatial metadata are used to enable the indicated spatial rendering of the one or more altered audio signals comprises generating modified spatial metadata based on the audio effect information and using the modified one or more spatial metadata to render the altered audio signals. (see claim 14: the processor unit is configured to generate the metadata signal as the processed signal, the metadata signal comprising at least one modified position for each audio object of the processing-object group of audio objects, wherein the processor unit is configured to generate, for each audio object of the processing-object group of audio objects, the modified position of this audio object by applying the at least one effect parameter specified by means of the interface to the position of this audio object)
Regarding claim 6, Hestermann teaches the obtained audio effect information and the one or more spatial metadata are used to enable the indicated spatial rendering of the one or more altered audio signals comprises adjusting one or more frequency bands used for rendering the one or more altered audio signals. (see Fig. 16, [0171]: distance between an audio object and the processing object or to the frequency spectrum of an audio object)
Regarding claim 8, Hestermann teaches the one or more altered audio signals comprise an effect-processed audio signal. (see [0196]: effects are applied to the selected audio sources in such a way that the user-defined effect settings are best achieved at the position of the processing object)
Regarding claim 17-20, the claimed limitations are claims directly corresponding to the method claims 1-2; therefore, is rejected for the significant similar reasons as claims 1-2 as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hestermann (US 20200374649 A1, hereinafter “Hestermann”).
Regarding claim 7, Hestermann does not explicitly mention the obtained audio effect information and the one or more spatial metadata are used to enable the indicated spatial rendering of the one or more altered audio signals comprises adjusting the sizes of one or more time frames used for rendering the altered audio signals.
However, official notice is taken that it is well-known in the art that the one or more altered audio signals comprises adjusting the sizes of one or more time frames, and therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have included a time frames that are adjustable since it is just one of the many well-known ways that a designer can use as an alternate way to align spatial rendering with altered audio.
Regarding claim 9, Hestermann does not explicitly mention at least partially, compensate for spatial characteristics from the one or more obtained audio signals before applying one or more audio effects.
However, official notice is taken that it is well-known in the art to compensate for spatial characteristics from the one or more obtained audio signals before applying one or more audio effects, and therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have included this feature since it is just one of the many well-known ways that a designer can use for spatial audio processing.
Regarding claim 10, Hestermann does not explicitly mention the spatial characteristics that are at least partially compensated for comprise binaural characteristics.
However, official notice is taken that it is well-known in the art for spatial characteristics that are at least partially compensated for comprise binaural characteristics, and therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have included a this feature since it is just one of the many well-known ways that a designer can use for spatial audio processing.
Regarding claim 11, Hestermann does not explicitly mention the apparatus to analyse covariance matrix characteristics of the one or more altered audio signals and adjust the spatial rendering so that the covariance matrix of the rendered audio signals match a target covariance matrix.
However, official notice is taken that it is well-known in the art that adjust the spatial rendering so that the covariance matrix of the rendered audio signals match a target covariance matrix, and therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have included a this feature since it is just one of the many well-known ways that a designer can use to help restore spatial characteristics in rendered output.
Regarding claim 12, Hestermann does not explicitly mention the spatial metadata and the audio effect information are used to, at least partially, retain the spatial characteristics of the one or more obtained audio signals when the one or more altered audio signals are rendered.
However, official notice is taken that it is well-known in the art that retain the spatial characteristics of the one or more obtained audio signals when the one or more altered audio signals are rendered, and therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have included a this feature since it is just one of the many well-known ways that a designer can use for spatial audio processing.
Claim(s) 14-16 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hestermann (US 20200374649 A1, hereinafter “Hestermann”) in view of Eronen (US 20180295463 A1, hereinafter “Eronen”).
Regarding claim 14, Hestermann does not explicitly mention the one or more obtained audio signals are captured with the apparatus.
Eronen teaches the one or more obtained audio signals are captured with the apparatus. (see [0141]: microphone array as an apparatus to capture the spatial audio signals)
Hestermann and Eronen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of rendering spatial audio fields. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen to apply the broad teachings of audio signals captured with an apparatus from Eronen to Hestermann in order to obtain and collect the audio signals effectively.
Regarding claim 15, Hestermann does not explicitly mention the one or more obtained audio signals are captured with a separate capturing device and transmitted to the apparatus.
Eronen teaches the one or more obtained audio signals are captured with a separate capturing device and transmitted to the apparatus. (see Fig. 1, [0094], [0249]: apparatus 101 and render 103 apparatus)
Hestermann and Eronen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of rendering spatial audio fields. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen to apply the broad teachings of a separate capturing device and transmitted to the apparatus from Eronen to Hestermann in order to transmit audio signals to the apparatus coupled wired or wirelessly.
Regarding claim 16, Hestermann does not explicitly mention at least one of the one or more spatial metadata, or an audio effect control signal is transmitted to the apparatus from the capturing device.
Eronen teaches at least one of the one or more spatial metadata, or an audio effect control signal is transmitted to the apparatus from the capturing device. (see Fig. 1, [0141]: capture apparatus 101 includes microphone array as an apparatus to capture the spatial audio signals)
Hestermann and Eronen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of rendering spatial audio fields. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen to apply the broad teachings of spatial metadata, or an audio effect control signal is transmitted to the apparatus from the capturing device from Eronen to Hestermann in order for effective transmittal of the signals to the apparatus from the capturing device.
Regarding claim 23, Hestermann does not explicitly teach the one or more spatial metadata comprises, for one or more frequency sub-bands: a sound direction parameter, and an energy ratio parameter.
Eronen teaches the one or more spatial metadata comprises, for one or more frequency sub-bands: a sound direction parameter, and an energy ratio parameter. (see Fig. 1, [0144]-[0146], [0184]: source and space parameters generates a mixed audio signal from the audio signals, positional information; microphone array captures the spatial audio signals, the first gain for signal energy adjustment, and a direction of arrival parameter)
Hestermann and Eronen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of rendering spatial audio fields. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen to apply the broad teachings of a sound direction parameter, and an energy ratio parameter from Eronen to Hestermann in order to use the combined information to correct or adapt spatial rendering after the effect is applied.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Herre (EP 2830332 A2) teaches spatial characteristics from the one or more obtained audio signals before applying one or more audio effects and comprised binaural characteristics.
Antti (GB 2572420 A) teaches applying a covariance matrix based spatial synthesis.
/ANNABELLE KANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2695
/VIVIAN C CHIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2695