DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 15, 27, and 41 are amended.
Claims 13, 14, 16-26, 39, 40, and 42-59 are cancelled.
Claims 1-12, 15, 27-38, and 41 are pending and ready for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/02/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amended the claims and a new ground of rejection has been made in view of previously cited prior arts Xiao et al. (US 2022/0330258 A1), YANG et al. (US 2021/0111847 A1) and a new prior art MATSUMURA et al. (WO 2021/090403 A1).
Applicant argued on 1st page: last paragraph – 2nd page of 2nd paragraph of the remark, “Claim 1 is allowable over the combination of Xiao and Yang because the combination fails to teach all features of the claim. Specifically, the combination of Xiao and Yang fails to teach at least: "receiving, from the network node, downlink control information, DCI, that schedules a first physical uplink channel transmission associated to a first SRS resource in the first SRS resource set and a second physical uplink channel transmission associated to a second SRS resource in the second SRS resource set, wherein the first and the second SRS resources are indicated in the DCI." According to the applicant, Xiao teaches in paragraph [0045], two SRI values, but this does not teach the claimed single DCI where first and second SRS resources are indicated in the DCI, from two different SRS Resource Sets.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments and comment. Xiao recites in ¶ [0040] “one piece of downlink control information includes M SRI values, and each SRI value corresponds to one physical uplink channel” and further ¶ [0045] discloses one DCI indication. Here, only one DCI is indicated for multiple SRI values; i.e. single DCI indicates two or more SRIs/ SRS resources. The new prior art MATSUMURA teaches in Pg.11: example 2-1, one SRI field in the DCI is associated with one or two SRS resource indicator information from the same or different SRS resource sets for one or two PUSCHs. Here, it is considered that one SRI field in the DCI is associated with two SRS resource indicator information from different SRS resource sets for two PUSCHs; therefore, DCI that schedules a first PUSCH transmission associated to a first SRS resource in the first SRS resource set and a second PUSCH transmission associated to a second SRS resource in the second SRS resource set. Here, the first and second SRS resources are associated with one SRI field in the DCI ; i.e. it is indicated in one DCI. therefore combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA teaches the limitation in question.
Applicant argued on 2nd page - 3rd page of the remark regarding the prior art Xiao.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s comment. Since, a new ground of rejection is made with respect to the new prior art; therefore, applicant’s argument is moot.
Applicant argued on 4th page: 2nd paragraph of the remark, “Claims 15, 27, and 41 include features similar to those of claim 1 and, as such, are allowable for at least the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s comment. As mentioned above, the combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA teaches all the limitations of the claim 1. Therefore, same rationale applies for claims 15, 27, and 41 as well. Accordingly, claims 15, 27, and 41 are not allowable.
Applicant argued on 4th page: 3rd paragraph of the remark “All other claims depend directly or indirectly from claim 1, 15, 27, and 41. As such, since claims 1, 15, 27, and 41 are allowable, all claims are also allowable for at least the same reasons”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remark. The combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA teaches all the limitations of the independent claims 1, 15, 27, and 41. Therefore, the dependent claims are not allowable because of their dependency from the independent claim.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with all the argument filed by the applicant. All arguments and remarks are replied in detail in the rejection section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 6, 10, 15, 27 – 29, 32, 36 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (Xiao hereinafter referred to Xiao) (US 2022/0330258 A1) in view of YANG et al. (YANG hereinafter referred to YANG) (US 2021/0111847 A1) and further in view of MATSUMURA et al. (MATSUMURA hereinafter referred to MATSUMURA) (WO 2021/090403 A1)(Eng. translation is attached).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 1, Xiao teaches a method (Title, METHOD FOR TRANSMITTING SIGNALING INFORMATION, AND COMMUNICATION NODE AND STORAGE MEDIUM) performed by a wireless communication device (Fig.1 and [0039], terminal; [0069], The terminal performs…), the method comprising:
receiving, from a network node (Fig.1 and [0039], the terminal, receives the signaling information configured by the base station), a configuration of two Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets, a first and second SRS resource sets ([0058], The base station configures M SRS resource sets; [0070], M SRS resource sets configured by the base station are received; [0036], M is an integer greater than 1. In an embodiment, the value of M is 2. Here, considering M=2, a first SRS resource set and a second SRS resource set are received), each comprising one or more uplink SRS resources ([0058], each SRS resource set includes K SRS resources; [0071], SRS resources are transmitted according to the configuration of the M SRS resource sets. [0173], an uplink sounding signal resource indicator field in the downlink control information indicates M uplink sounding signal resource indicators. Here, the base station configures M SRS resource sets and the downlink control information indicates M uplink sounding signal resource indicators; therefore, i.e. M uplink SRS resources. Therefore, each SRS resource set comprises one or more of uplink SRS resources);
receiving, from the network node, downlink control information, DCI ([0040], The signaling information includes one piece of downlink control information, and the one piece of downlink control information includes M SRS resource indicator (SRI) values, and each SRI value corresponds to one physical uplink channel), that schedules a first physical uplink channel transmission and a second physical uplink channel transmission ([0045], Manner three is through one DCI to indicate. The SRI table indicated by the DCI needs to be expanded to include two SRI values correspond to the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH, respectively. Here, one DCI indicates two SRS resource indicators associated with a first PUSCH and a second PUSCH; therefore, the DCI schedules the first and the second PUSCHs); and
transmitting the first and second physical uplink channel transmissions in accordance with the DCI ([0032], The PDCCH carries control channel information (such as, DCI). The uplink data transmitted in the M physical uplink channels are referred to as transmission information; The channel state information of the M physical uplink channels described is the uplink channel state information since the PUSCH, the PUCCH, and the like are all uplinks), wherein the first and the second physical uplink channel transmissions are one of (Due to alternative language, “one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only).:
(a) a first and second layers of a same physical uplink channel,
(b) a first and second parts of a same physical uplink channel, wherein the first apart is transmitted in a first frequency domain resource and the second part is transmitted in a second frequency domain resource,
(c) a first and second physical uplink channels, wherein the first channel is transmitted in a first frequency domain resource and the second channel is transmitted in a second frequency domain resource,
(d) a first and second physical uplink channels associated to a same data transport block, wherein the first channel encoded with a first redundancy version and the second channel is encoded with a second redundancy version ([0033], The transmission of M pieces of data (for example, PDSCHs or PUSCHs) is the repetition transmission, e.g., the M pieces of data are from the same transport block (TB), except that the redundancy versions (RVs) corresponding to the M pieces of data after the channel coding are different. Here, the first and the second PUSCHs are associated to a same data transport block, and encoded with different RVs (i.e. a first and a second RVs).
Xiao teaches ([0036] and [0055], one terminal and at least two TRPs are included); but
Xiao does not specifically teach
wherein the first and second SRS resource sets are associated with a first and second transmission and reception points, TRPs, respectively; and
wherein the first and the second physical uplink channel transmissions are transmitted towards to the first and second TRPs, respectively, in a same symbol(s) in time simultaneously.
However, YANG teaches (Title, SRS DESIGN SUPPORTING MULTIPLE ANTENNAS):
wherein the first and second SRS resource sets are associated with a first and second transmission and reception points, TRPs, respectively ([0115], UE indicates that a first and a second SRS resource are compatible, the scheduling base station schedules the UE for two rank-1 PUSCHs targeted to two separate TRPs. Here, the first and the second SRS resource sets are associated with two TRPs, i.e. a first and a second TRPs); and
wherein the first and the second physical uplink channel transmissions are transmitted towards to the first and second TRPs (same as above), respectively, in a same symbol(s) in time simultaneously ([0115], a UE is scheduled to transmit multiple PUSCH transmissions concurrently; [0118], UE is able to transmit an SRS on each SRS resource of the respective combination of SRS resources with the same time period—e.g., the same time period is a same symbol, same slot, or …; [0128], The compatible SRS resources include SRS resources that are used concurrently on a PUSCH transmission by the UE. Here, the first and the second PUSCHs are transmitted concurrently (i.e. simultaneously) in same time period ( i.e. symbol)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xiao as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of YANG. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide techniques for transmission of a sounding reference signal (SRS) for multiple antennas, that avoids scheduling a UE based on combinations of SRS resources that are not supported by the UE, e.g., so that the UE will not be configured with SRS resources on which the UE is unable to concurrently transmit SRSs using multiple antennas (YANG, [0002] and [0051]).
The combination of Xiao and YANG does not specifically teach
a first physical uplink channel transmission associated to a first SRS resource in the first SRS resource set and a second physical uplink channel transmission associated to a second SRS resource in the second SRS resource set, wherein the first and second SRS resources are indicated in the DCI.
However MATSUMURA teaches (Title, TERMINAL AND WIRELESS COMMUNICATION METHOD)
downlink control information, DCI that schedules a first physical uplink channel transmission associated to a first SRS resource in the first SRS resource set and a second physical uplink channel transmission associated to a second SRS resource in the second SRS resource set, wherein the first and second SRS resources are indicated in the DCI (Pg.10: last para. , One DCI schedules multiple PUSCHs. The DCI includes one or more SRI fields for directing multiple PUSCH panels. One or more SRI fields represent multiple SRS resources. A plurality of SRS resources correspond to a plurality of PUSCHs, respectively. The UE uses each of the plurality of SRS resources for transmission of the corresponding PUSCH; Pg.11: example 2-1, one SRI field in the DCI is associated with one or two SRS resource indicator information from the same or different SRS resource sets for one or two PUSCHs. Here, it is considered that one SRI field in the DCI is associated with two SRS resource indicator information from different SRS resource sets for two PUSCHs; therefore, DCI that schedules a first PUSCH transmission associated to a first SRS resource in the first SRS resource set and a second PUSCH transmission associated to a second SRS resource in the second SRS resource set. Here, the first and second SRS resources are associated with one SRI field in the DCI ; i.e. it is indicated in one DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Xiao and YANG as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of MATSUMURA. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a terminal and wireless communication method, in which simultaneous UL transmission of a plurality of beams and a plurality of panels is considered for one or more TRPs in order to improve the throughput and reliability of the UL (MATSUMURA, Title and [0009]).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 15, Xiao teaches (Title, METHOD FOR TRANSMITTING SIGNALING INFORMATION, AND COMMUNICATION NODE AND STORAGE MEDIUM) a wireless communication device (Fig.5 and [0374], first terminal) comprising:
one or more transmitters (Fig.5 and [0378], communication apparatus 53 includes a transmitter);
one or more receivers (Fig.5 and [0378], communication apparatus 53 includes a receiver); and
processing circuitry (Fig.5 and [0374], processor 51) associated with the one or more transmitters and the one or more receivers ([0376], The processor 51, the storage apparatus 52, the communication apparatus 53, the input apparatus 54, and the output apparatus 55 in the communication node are connected through a bus), the processing circuitry configured to cause the wireless communication device ([0374], processors 51 implements the method as described) to:
receive, from a network node (Fig.1 and [0039], the terminal, receives the signaling information configured by the base station), a configuration of two Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets, a first and second SRS resource sets ([0058], The base station configures M SRS resource sets; [0070], M SRS resource sets configured by the base station are received; [0036], M is an integer greater than 1. In an embodiment, the value of M is 2. Here, considering M=2, a first SRS resource set and a second SRS resource set are received), each comprising one or more uplink SRS resources ([0058], each SRS resource set includes K SRS resources; [0071], SRS resources are transmitted according to the configuration of the M SRS resource sets. [0173], an uplink sounding signal resource indicator field in the downlink control information indicates M uplink sounding signal resource indicators. Here, the base station configures M SRS resource sets and the downlink control information indicates M uplink sounding signal resource indicators; therefore, i.e. M uplink SRS resources. Therefore, each SRS resource set comprises one or more of uplink SRS resources);
receive, from the network node, downlink control information, DCI ([0040], The signaling information includes one piece of downlink control information, and the one piece of downlink control information includes M SRS resource indicator (SRI) values, and each SRI value corresponds to one physical uplink channel), that schedules a first physical uplink channel transmission and a second physical uplink channel transmission ([0045], Manner three is through one DCI to indicate. The SRI table indicated by the DCI needs to be expanded to include two SRI values correspond to the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH, respectively. Here, one DCI indicates two SRS resource indicators associated with a first PUSCH and a second PUSCH; therefore, the DCI schedules the first and the second PUSCHs); and
transmit the first and second physical uplink channel transmissions in accordance with the DCI ([0032], The PDCCH carries control channel information (such as, DCI). The uplink data transmitted in the M physical uplink channels are referred to as transmission information; The channel state information of the M physical uplink channels described is the uplink channel state information since the PUSCH, the PUCCH, and the like are all uplinks),
wherein the first and the second physical uplink channel transmissions are one of (Due to alternative language, “one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only).:
(a) a first and second layers of a same physical uplink channel,
(b) a first and second parts of a same physical uplink channel, wherein the first apart is transmitted in a first frequency domain resource and the second part is transmitted in a second frequency domain resource,
(c) a first and second physical uplink channels, wherein the first channel is transmitted in a first frequency domain resource and the second channel is transmitted in a second frequency domain resource,
(d) a first and second physical uplink channels associated to a same data transport block, wherein the first channel encoded with a first redundancy version and the second channel is encoded with a second redundancy version ([0033], The transmission of M pieces of data (for example, PDSCHs or PUSCHs) is the repetition transmission, e.g., the M pieces of data are from the same transport block (TB), except that the redundancy versions (RVs) corresponding to the M pieces of data after the channel coding are different. Here, the first and the second PUSCHs are associated to a same data transport block, and encoded with different RVs (i.e. a first and a second RVs).
Xiao teaches ([0036] and [0055], one terminal and at least two TRPs are included); but
Xiao does not specifically teach
wherein the first and second SRS resource sets are associated with a first and second transmission and reception points, TRPs, respectively; and
wherein the first and the second physical uplink channel transmissions are transmitted towards to the first and second TRPs, respectively, in a same symbol(s) in time simultaneously.
However, YANG teaches (Title, SRS DESIGN SUPPORTING MULTIPLE ANTENNAS):
wherein the first and second SRS resource sets are associated with a first and second transmission and reception points, TRPs, respectively ([0115], UE indicates that a first and a second SRS resource are compatible, the scheduling base station schedules the UE for two rank-1 PUSCHs targeted to two separate TRPs. Here, the first and the second SRS resource sets are associated with two TRPs, i.e. a first and a second TRPs); and
wherein the first and the second physical uplink channel transmissions are transmitted towards to the first and second TRPs (same as above), respectively, in a same symbol(s) in time simultaneously ([0115], a UE is scheduled to transmit multiple PUSCH transmissions concurrently; [0118], UE is able to transmit an SRS on each SRS resource of the respective combination of SRS resources with the same time period—e.g., the same time period is a same symbol, same slot, or …; [0128], The compatible SRS resources include SRS resources that are used concurrently on a PUSCH transmission by the UE. Here, the first and the second PUSCHs are transmitted concurrently (i.e. simultaneously) in same time period ( i.e. symbol)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xiao as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of YANG. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide techniques for transmission of a sounding reference signal (SRS) for multiple antennas, that avoids scheduling a UE based on combinations of SRS resources that are not supported by the UE, e.g., so that the UE will not be configured with SRS resources on which the UE is unable to concurrently transmit SRSs using multiple antennas (YANG, [0002] and [0051]).
The combination of Xiao and YANG does not specifically teach
a first physical uplink channel transmission associated to a first SRS resource in the first SRS resource set and a second physical uplink channel transmission associated to a second SRS resource in the second SRS resource set, wherein the first and second SRS resources are indicated in the DCI.
However MATSUMURA teaches (Title, TERMINAL AND WIRELESS COMMUNICATION METHOD)
downlink control information, DCI that schedules a first physical uplink channel transmission associated to a first SRS resource in the first SRS resource set and a second physical uplink channel transmission associated to a second SRS resource in the second SRS resource set, wherein the first and second SRS resources are indicated in the DCI (Pg.10: last para. , One DCI schedules multiple PUSCHs. The DCI includes one or more SRI fields for directing multiple PUSCH panels. One or more SRI fields represent multiple SRS resources. A plurality of SRS resources correspond to a plurality of PUSCHs, respectively. The UE uses each of the plurality of SRS resources for transmission of the corresponding PUSCH; Pg.11: example 2-1, one SRI field in the DCI is associated with one or two SRS resource indicator information from the same or different SRS resource sets for one or two PUSCHs. Here, it is considered that one SRI field in the DCI is associated with two SRS resource indicator information from different SRS resource sets for two PUSCHs; therefore, DCI that schedules a first PUSCH transmission associated to a first SRS resource in the first SRS resource set and a second PUSCH transmission associated to a second SRS resource in the second SRS resource set. Here, the first and second SRS resources are associated with one SRI field in the DCI ; i.e. it is indicated in one DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Xiao and YANG as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of MATSUMURA. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a terminal and wireless communication method, in which simultaneous UL transmission of a plurality of beams and a plurality of panels is considered for one or more TRPs in order to improve the throughput and reliability of the UL (MATSUMURA, Title and [0009]).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 27, Xiao teaches a method (Title, METHOD FOR TRANSMITTING SIGNALING INFORMATION, AND COMMUNICATION NODE AND STORAGE MEDIUM) performed by a network node (Fig.1 and [0039], base station), the method comprising:
sending, to a wireless communication device (Fig.1 and [0039], the terminal, receives the signaling information configured by the base station), a configuration of two Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets, a first and second SRS resource sets ([0058], The base station configures M SRS resource sets; [0070], M SRS resource sets configured by the base station are received; [0036], M is an integer greater than 1. In an embodiment, the value of M is 2. Here, considering M=2, a first SRS resource set and a second SRS resource set are received), each comprising one or more uplink SRS resources ([0058], each SRS resource set includes K SRS resources; [0071], SRS resources are transmitted according to the configuration of the M SRS resource sets. [0173], an uplink sounding signal resource indicator field in the downlink control information indicates M uplink sounding signal resource indicators. Here, the base station configures M SRS resource sets and the downlink control information indicates M uplink sounding signal resource indicators; therefore, i.e. M uplink SRS resources. Therefore, each SRS resource set comprises one or more of uplink SRS resources); and
sending, to the wireless communication device, downlink control information, DCI ([0040], The signaling information includes one piece of downlink control information, and the one piece of downlink control information includes M SRS resource indicator (SRI) values, and each SRI value corresponds to one physical uplink channel), that schedules a first physical uplink channel transmission and a second physical uplink channel transmission ([0045], Manner three is through one DCI to indicate. The SRI table indicated by the DCI needs to be expanded to include two SRI values correspond to the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH, respectively. Here, one DCI indicates two SRS resource indicators associated with a first PUSCH and a second PUSCH; therefore, the DCI schedules the first and the second PUSCHs) and the first and the second physical uplink channel transmissions are one of (Due to alternative language, “one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only).:
(a) a first and second layers of a same physical uplink channel,
(b) a first and second parts of a same physical uplink channel, wherein the first apart is transmitted in a first frequency domain resource and the second part is transmitted in a second frequency domain resource,
(c) a first and second physical uplink channels, wherein the first channel is transmitted in a first frequency domain resource and the second channel is transmitted in a second frequency domain resource,
(d) a first and second physical uplink channels associated to a same data transport block, wherein the first channel encoded with a first redundancy version and the second channel is encoded with a second redundancy version ([0033], The transmission of M pieces of data (for example, PDSCHs or PUSCHs) is the repetition transmission, e.g., the M pieces of data are from the same transport block (TB), except that the redundancy versions (RVs) corresponding to the M pieces of data after the channel coding are different. Here, the first and the second PUSCHs are associated to a same data transport block, and encoded with different RVs (i.e. a first and a second RVs).
Xiao teaches ([0036] and [0055], one terminal and at least two TRPs are included); but
Xiao does not specifically teach
wherein the first and second SRS resource sets are associated with a first and second transmission and reception points, TRPs, respectively.
However, YANG teaches (Title, SRS DESIGN SUPPORTING MULTIPLE ANTENNAS):
wherein the first and second SRS resource sets are associated with a first and second transmission and reception points, TRPs, respectively ([0115], UE indicates that a first and a second SRS resource are compatible, the scheduling base station schedules the UE for two rank-1 PUSCHs targeted to two separate TRPs. Here, the first and the second SRS resource sets are associated with two TRPs, i.e. a first and a second TRPs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xiao as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of YANG. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide techniques for transmission of a sounding reference signal (SRS) for multiple antennas, that avoids scheduling a UE based on combinations of SRS resources that are not supported by the UE, e.g., so that the UE will not be configured with SRS resources on which the UE is unable to concurrently transmit SRSs using multiple antennas (YANG, [0002] and [0051]).
The combination of Xiao and YANG does not specifically teach
a first physical uplink channel transmission associated to a first SRS resource in the first SRS resource set and a second physical uplink channel transmission associated to a second SRS resource in the second SRS resource set, wherein the first and second SRS resources are indicated in the DCI.
However MATSUMURA teaches (Title, TERMINAL AND WIRELESS COMMUNICATION METHOD)
downlink control information, DCI that schedules a first physical uplink channel transmission associated to a first SRS resource in the first SRS resource set and a second physical uplink channel transmission associated to a second SRS resource in the second SRS resource set, wherein the first and second SRS resources are indicated in the DCI (Pg.10: last para. , One DCI schedules multiple PUSCHs. The DCI includes one or more SRI fields for directing multiple PUSCH panels. One or more SRI fields represent multiple SRS resources. A plurality of SRS resources correspond to a plurality of PUSCHs, respectively. The UE uses each of the plurality of SRS resources for transmission of the corresponding PUSCH; Pg.11: example 2-1, one SRI field in the DCI is associated with one or two SRS resource indicator information from the same or different SRS resource sets for one or two PUSCHs. Here, it is considered that one SRI field in the DCI is associated with two SRS resource indicator information from different SRS resource sets for two PUSCHs; therefore, DCI that schedules a first PUSCH transmission associated to a first SRS resource in the first SRS resource set and a second PUSCH transmission associated to a second SRS resource in the second SRS resource set. Here, the first and second SRS resources are associated with one SRI field in the DCI ; i.e. it is indicated in one DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Xiao and YANG as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of MATSUMURA. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a terminal and wireless communication method, in which simultaneous UL transmission of a plurality of beams and a plurality of panels is considered for one or more TRPs in order to improve the throughput and reliability of the UL (MATSUMURA, Title and [0009]).
Regarding claims 2 and 28, combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 27, respectively as outlined above.
Xiao further teaches
wherein the first and second SRS resources are indicated in a first and a second SRS Resource Indicator, SRI, fields in the DCI, respectively ([0040], one piece of downlink control information includes M SRI values, and each SRI value corresponds to one physical uplink channel; [0045] Manner three is through one DCI to indicate. The SRI table indicated by the DCI needs to be expanded to include two SRI values correspond to the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH, respectively. Here, a first and a second SRIs are present in the DCI. [0032], The uplink sounding signal resource indicator field in the downlink control information includes one uplink sounding signal resource indicator for indicating the SRS resource index (or indicator) in the SRS resource set. Here, one SRI corresponds to one SRS resource; therefore, it is obvious that the first and second SRS resources are indicated by a first and a second SRIs).
Regarding claims 3 and 29, combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA teaches all the features with respect to claims 2 and 28, respectively as outlined above.
Xiao further teaches
wherein the first and second SRI fields are associated with the first and second SRS resource sets, respectively ([0066], base station, through receiving an ith SRS resource set, determines that the optimal CSI value of the ith SRS resource set is CSIi. The CSIi includes at least one of the SRI, TPMI, RI, or MCS, and i=0, . . . , M−1. Here, ith resource set includes a SRI; therefore, it is obvious that the first and second SRI fields are associated with the first and second SRS resource sets, respectively).
Regarding claims 6 and 32, combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 27, respectively as outlined above.
Xiao further teaches
wherein the first and second physical uplink channel transmissions are physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, transmissions (As mentioned above, regarding [0045], two SRI values correspond to the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH, respectively; therefore, the first and second physical uplink channel transmissions are physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, transmissions).
Regarding claims 10 and 36, combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 27, respectively as outlined above.
Xiao further teaches
wherein the first and second physical uplink channel transmissions are a first and second physical uplink channels associated to a same data transport block, wherein the first channel encoded with a first redundancy version and the second channel is encoded with a second redundancy version ([0033], The transmission of M pieces of data (for example, PDSCHs or PUSCHs) is the repetition transmission, e.g., the M pieces of data are from the same transport block (TB), except that the redundancy versions (RVs) corresponding to the M pieces of data after the channel coding are different. Here, the first and the second PUSCHs are associated to a same data transport block, and encoded with different RVs (i.e. a first and a second RVs).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 41, Xiao teaches (Title, METHOD FOR TRANSMITTING SIGNALING INFORMATION, AND COMMUNICATION NODE AND STORAGE MEDIUM) a network node (Fig.1 and [0039], base station; Fig.6 and [0380], communication node) comprising processing circuitry (Fig.6 and [0380], processor 61) configured to cause the network node to:
send, to a wireless communication device (Fig.1 and [0039], the terminal, receives the signaling information configured by the base station), a configuration of two Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets, a first and second SRS resource sets ([0058], The base station configures M SRS resource sets; [0070], M SRS resource sets configured by the base station are received; [0036], M is an integer greater than 1. In an embodiment, the value of M is 2. Here, considering M=2, a first SRS resource set and a second SRS resource set are received), each comprising one or more uplink SRS resources ([0058], each SRS resource set includes K SRS resources; [0071], SRS resources are transmitted according to the configuration of the M SRS resource sets. [0173], an uplink sounding signal resource indicator field in the downlink control information indicates M uplink sounding signal resource indicators. Here, the base station configures M SRS resource sets and the downlink control information indicates M uplink sounding signal resource indicators; therefore, i.e. M uplink SRS resources. Therefore, each SRS resource set comprises one or more of uplink SRS resources); and
send, to the wireless communication device, downlink control information, DCI ([0040], The signaling information includes one piece of downlink control information, and the one piece of downlink control information includes M SRS resource indicator (SRI) values, and each SRI value corresponds to one physical uplink channel), that schedules a first physical uplink channel transmission and a second physical uplink channel transmission ([0045], Manner three is through one DCI to indicate. The SRI table indicated by the DCI needs to be expanded to include two SRI values correspond to the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH, respectively. Here, one DCI indicates two SRS resource indicators associated with a first PUSCH and a second PUSCH; therefore, the DCI schedules the first and the second PUSCHs) and the first and the second physical uplink channel transmissions are one of (Due to alternative language, “one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only):
(a) a first and second layers of a same physical uplink channel,
(b) a first and second parts of a same physical uplink channel, wherein the first apart is transmitted in a first frequency domain resource and the second part is transmitted in a second frequency domain resource,
(c) a first and second physical uplink channels, wherein the first channel is transmitted in a first frequency domain resource and the second channel is transmitted in a second frequency domain resource,
(d) a first and second physical uplink channels associated to a same data transport block, wherein the first channel encoded with a first redundancy version and the second channel is encoded with a second redundancy version ([0033], The transmission of M pieces of data (for example, PDSCHs or PUSCHs) is the repetition transmission, e.g., the M pieces of data are from the same transport block (TB), except that the redundancy versions (RVs) corresponding to the M pieces of data after the channel coding are different. Here, the first and the second PUSCHs are associated to a same data transport block, and encoded with different RVs (i.e. a first and a second RVs).
Xiao teaches ([0036] and [0055], one terminal and at least two TRPs are included); but
Xiao does not specifically teach
wherein the first and second SRS resource sets are associated with a first and second transmission and reception points, TRPs, respectively.
However, YANG teaches (Title, SRS DESIGN SUPPORTING MULTIPLE ANTENNAS):
wherein the first and second SRS resource sets are associated with a first and second transmission and reception points, TRPs, respectively ([0115], UE indicates that a first and a second SRS resource are compatible, the scheduling base station schedules the UE for two rank-1 PUSCHs targeted to two separate TRPs. Here, the first and the second SRS resource sets are associated with two TRPs, i.e. a first and a second TRPs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xiao as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of YANG. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide techniques for transmission of a sounding reference signal (SRS) for multiple antennas, that avoids scheduling a UE based on combinations of SRS resources that are not supported by the UE, e.g., so that the UE will not be configured with SRS resources on which the UE is unable to concurrently transmit SRSs using multiple antennas (YANG, [0002] and [0051]).
The combination of Xiao and YANG does not specifically teach
a first physical uplink channel transmission associated to a first SRS resource in the first SRS resource set and a second physical uplink channel transmission associated to a second SRS resource in the second SRS resource set, wherein the first and second SRS resources are indicated in the DCI.
However MATSUMURA teaches (Title, TERMINAL AND WIRELESS COMMUNICATION METHOD)
downlink control information, DCI that schedules a first physical uplink channel transmission associated to a first SRS resource in the first SRS resource set and a second physical uplink channel transmission associated to a second SRS resource in the second SRS resource set, wherein the first and second SRS resources are indicated in the DCI (Pg.10: last para. , One DCI schedules multiple PUSCHs. The DCI includes one or more SRI fields for directing multiple PUSCH panels. One or more SRI fields represent multiple SRS resources. A plurality of SRS resources correspond to a plurality of PUSCHs, respectively. The UE uses each of the plurality of SRS resources for transmission of the corresponding PUSCH; Pg.11: example 2-1, one SRI field in the DCI is associated with one or two SRS resource indicator information from the same or different SRS resource sets for one or two PUSCHs. Here, it is considered that one SRI field in the DCI is associated with two SRS resource indicator information from different SRS resource sets for two PUSCHs; therefore, DCI that schedules a first PUSCH transmission associated to a first SRS resource in the first SRS resource set and a second PUSCH transmission associated to a second SRS resource in the second SRS resource set. Here, the first and second SRS resources are associated with one SRI field in the DCI ; i.e. it is indicated in one DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Xiao and YANG as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of MATSUMURA. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a terminal and wireless communication method, in which simultaneous UL transmission of a plurality of beams and a plurality of panels is considered for one or more TRPs in order to improve the throughput and reliability of the UL (MATSUMURA, Title and [0009]).
Claims 4 – 5 and 30 – 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA and further in view of Liu et al. (Liu hereinafter referred to Liu) (US 2023/0180134 A1) (relies on filing date of continuation application no. PCT/CN2020/084325 that properly supports all citation).
Regarding claims 4 and 30 , combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 27, respectively as outlined above.
Xiao does not specifically teach
receiving a configuration of first and second sets of power control parameters associated with the first and second SRS resources, respectively, wherein each of the first and second sets of power control parameters comprise a pathloss reference signal, a fractional power control factor, a target receive power, a closed-loop power control index, or any combination thereof.
However Liu teaches (Title, Communication Method, Apparatus, And System)
receiving a configuration of first and second sets of power control parameters associated with the first and second SRS resources, respectively ([0061], The sounding reference signal indication information includes index values of p sounding reference signal SRS resources, an index value of each SRS resource corresponds to a set of power control parameters, at least two of the index values of the p SRS resources correspond to different power control parameters; [0256], The terminal device determines a power control parameter corresponding to the SRS resource 0 and a power control parameter corresponding to the SRS resource 1. Here, the SRS resource 0 and the SRS resource 1 are considered as the first and second SRS resources, respectively; therefore, a first and a second sets of power control parameters are associated with the first and second SRS resources, respectively), wherein each of the first and second sets of power control parameters comprise a pathloss reference signal, a fractional power control factor, a target receive power, a closed-loop power control index, or any combination thereof ([0060], the power control parameter includes at least one of the following power control parameters: an open-loop power control parameter, a closed-loop power control parameter, a target value of transmit power, an offset of transmit power, a path loss measurement reference signal index value, and a transmit power adjustment amount).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA as mentioned in claims 1 and 27 and further incorporate the teaching of Liu. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a communication method, apparatus, and system, to improve transmission performance in a communication process, specifically to improve a power spectral density of PUSCH transmission (Liu, Abstract and [0009]).
Regarding claims 5 and 31 , combination of Xiao, YANG, MATSUMURA and Liu teaches all the features with respect to claims 4 and 30, respectively as outlined above.
Xiao does not specifically teach
wherein the first and second physical uplink channel transmissions are transmitted with a first and second transmit powers, respectively, wherein the first and second transmit powers are calculated based on the first and second sets of power control parameters, respectively.
However Liu teaches (Title, Communication Method, Apparatus, And System)
wherein the first and second physical uplink channel transmissions are transmitted with a first and second transmit powers, respectively, wherein the first and second transmit powers are calculated based on the first and second sets of power control parameters, respectively ([0003], A terminal device determines transmit power of a PUSCH based on the power control parameter indicated by the SRI field, and sends the PUSCH to the network device based on the transmit power; [0110], Different transmission resources correspond to different power control parameters, and the power control parameter is used to determine transmit power of the PUSCH. The terminal device sends the PUSCH based on the power control parameter).
(Xiao discloses two SRI values correspond to the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH, respectively [0045] and Liu discloses the SRI field is used to select a transmit beam of the PUSCH [0159]. Therefore, it is obvious to consider in view of Xiao and Liu that the first and second physical uplink channel transmissions are transmitted with a first and second transmit powers, respectively).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Xiao, YANG, MATSUMURA and Liu as mentioned in claims 4 and 30 and further incorporate the teaching of Liu. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a communication method, apparatus, and system, to improve transmission performance in a communication process, specifically to improve a power spectral density of PUSCH transmission (Liu, Abstract and [0009]).
Claims 7 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA and further in view of ZHANG et al. (ZHANG hereinafter referred to ZHANG) (US 2022/0239351 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 33 , combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA teaches all the features with respect to claims 2 and 28, respectively as outlined above.
Xiao does not specifically teach
wherein a set of possible codepoints for each of the first and second SRI fields in the DCI comprises a codepoint to indicate that a corresponding SRS resource is not selected.
However ZHANG teaches (Title, DETERMINING TRANSMIT PRECODING MATRIX INDICATORS BASED ON DEVICE FEEDBACK)
wherein a set of possible codepoints for each of the first and second SRI fields in the DCI ([0122], the correspondence between codepoints and SRS resources are implicitly indicated by an order of the codepoints in the group-common DCI. Here, a set of possible codepoints is in the DCI) comprises a codepoint to indicate that a corresponding SRS resource is not selected ([0114], DCI includes a codepoint or a bitmap for each of one or more SRS resources; [0121], each codepoint is explicitly associated with an SRI corresponding to an SRS resource. Here, the codepoint explicitly associated with an SRI; therefore, a codepoint indicates a corresponding SRS resource. Accordingly, it is obvious that the codepoint indicates that a corresponding SRS resource is not selected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA as mentioned in claims 2 and 28 and further incorporate the teaching of ZHANG. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support determining transmit precoding matrix indicators based on device feedback (ZHANG, [0005]).
Claims 8 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA and further in view of Papasakellariou (US 10,142,945 B2).
Regarding claims 8 and 34, combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 27, respectively as outlined above.
Xiao does not specifically teach
wherein the DCI further indicates a first and second Transmit Power Control, TPC, commands for the first and second physical uplink channel transmissions, respectively.
However Papasakellariou teaches (Title, Power Control For Transmission Of Uplink Control Information On Two Cells In Carrier Aggregation)
wherein the DCI further indicates a first and second Transmit Power Control, TPC, commands for the first and second physical uplink channel transmissions, respectively (claims 9 and 19, transmitting a first PUSCH using a power adjustment determined by the TPC bits at the first location in the DCI format and a second PUSCH using a power adjustment determined by the TPC bits at the second location in the DCI format. Here, the DCI format indicates TPC bits in the first and the second location for the first and the second PUSCH, respectively; therefore, the DCI indicates a first and second TPC, commands for the first and second physical uplink channel transmissions, respectively).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA as mentioned in claims 1 and 27 and further incorporate the teaching of Papasakellariou. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide methods and apparatus for a network to control a power of transmissions from a User Equipment (UE), when the UE needs to reduce a respective nominal transmission power by transmitting to the UE a Transmission Power Control (TPC) command for transmission (Papasakellariou, Abstract).
Claims 9 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA in view of Huang et al. (Huang hereinafter referred to Huang) (US 2020/0053752 A1) and further in view of LIN et al. (LIN hereinafter referred to LIN) (US 2023/0136327 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 35, combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 27, respectively as outlined above.
Xiao does not specifically teach
wherein the first and second physical uplink channel transmissions are first and second parts of a same physical uplink channel, wherein the first apart is transmitted in a first frequency domain resource and the second part is transmitted in a second frequency domain resource.
However Huang teaches (Title, MULTIPLE TIMING ADVANCE DESIGN FOR MULTIPLE TRANSMIT RECEIVE POINTS)
wherein the first and second physical uplink channel transmissions are first and second parts of a same physical uplink channel ([0020], the first uplink channel to the first TRP or the second TRP includes one of an SRS resource, or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); [0022], a second uplink channel to a different one of the first TRP or the second TRP includes a same one of the SRS resource, or the PUSCH, or the PUCCH. Here, the TRPs correspond to the same PUSCH. Therefore, the first and second physical uplink channel transmissions are same physical uplink channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA as mentioned in claims 1 and 27 and further incorporate the teaching of Huang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses and efficient techniques that support multiple timing advance (TA) design for multiple transmit receive points (TRPs) for uplink non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) (Huang, [0005] and [0092]).
The combination of Xiao, YANG, MATSUMURA and Huang does not specifically teach
wherein the first apart is transmitted in a first frequency domain resource and the second part is transmitted in a second frequency domain resource.
However LIN teaches (Title, USER EQUIPMENTS, BASE STATIONS, AND METHODS)
wherein the first apart is transmitted in a first frequency domain resource and the second part is transmitted in a second frequency domain resource ([0266], A first frequency domain resource allocation within a first frequency bandwidth for the first PUSCH and a second frequency domain resource allocation within a second frequency bandwidth for the second PUSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of combination of Xiao, YANG, MATSUMURA and Huang as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of LIN. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide systems and methods that improve communication flexibility and/or efficiency (LIN, [0004]).
Claims 11 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA and further in view of Huang.
Regarding claims 11 and 37 , combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 27, respectively as outlined above.
Xiao does not specifically teach
wherein the first and second parts of the physical uplink channel transmissions are a first and second layers of a same physical uplink channel.
However Huang teaches (Title, MULTIPLE TIMING ADVANCE DESIGN FOR MULTIPLE TRANSMIT RECEIVE POINTS)
wherein the first and second physical uplink channel transmissions are a first and second layers of a same physical uplink channel ([0022], a second uplink channel to a different one of the first TRP or the second TRP includes a same one of the SRS resource, or the PUSCH, or the PUCCH. Here, the TRPs correspond to the same PUSCH. [0087], each TRP communicates with the UE 115 using a different layer; Fig.2 and [0094], TRPs 205-a and 205-b communicate with UE 115-a via a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT), where the same or different layers and the same or different control/shared channels are utilized; [0097], the same or different control and shared channels are used for either downlink communications 215 or uplink communications 220. Here, a same PUSCH is used by the two TRPs with different layers. Therefore, the first and second physical uplink channel transmissions are a first and second layers of a same physical uplink channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA as mentioned in claims 1 and 27 and further incorporate the teaching of Huang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses and efficient techniques that support multiple timing advance (TA) design for multiple transmit receive points (TRPs) for uplink non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) (Huang, [0005] and [0092]).
Claims 12 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA in view of MANOLAKOS et al. (MANOLAKOS hereinafter referred to MANOLAKOS) (US 2023/0054488 A1) and further in view of CHEN et al. (CHEN hereinafter referred to CHEN) (US 2022/0330167 A1).
Regarding claims 12 and 38 , combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 27, respectively as outlined above.
Xiao does not specifically teach
wherein the first and second SRS resources indicated in the DCI may be replaced with a first and second uplink Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, states, wherein each of the first and second TCI states comprises a reference signal index for spatial relation indication, a pathloss reference signal index, a set of power control parameters, or any combination thereof.
However MANOLAKOS teaches (Title, SOUNDING REFERENCE SIGNAL CONFIGURATION FOR AT LEAST TWO TRANSMISSION/RECEPTION POINTS)
wherein the first and second SRS resources indicated in the DCI ([0020], an SRS resource indicator field in the uplink DCI indicates a precoder and/or transmission rank associated with the SRS transmission) may be replaced with a first and second uplink Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, states ([0023], at least one SRS resource is associated with two or more TCI states, such as when the SRS resource is associated with codebook-based transmission on a data channel (e.g., PUSCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Xiao, YANG and MATSUMURA as mentioned in claims 1 and 27 and further incorporate the teaching of MANOLAKOS. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide communication systems, and more particularly, to sounding designs for use with multiple transmission/reception points, in which latency is reduced and/or reliability is increased using multiple TRPs to simultaneously, contemporaneously, and/or consecutively communicate with a UE (MANOLAKOS, [0002] and [0096]).
The combination of Xiao, YANG, MATSUMURA and MANOLAKOS does not specifically teach
wherein each of the first and second TCI states comprises a reference signal index for spatial relation indication, a pathloss reference signal index, a set of power control parameters, or any combination thereof.
However CHEN teaches (Title, USER EQUIPMENTS, BASE STATIONS, AND METHODS)
wherein each of the first and second TCI states comprises a reference signal index for spatial relation indication, a pathloss reference signal index, a set of power control parameters, or any combination thereof ([0059], The target TCI state is a TCI state used for determining a transmit beam of the uplink signal, or is a TCI state dedicated for determining a power control parameter, etc. The power control parameter includes at least one of: a parameter used for determining a target receive power, a parameter used for determining a pathloss weight factor, a downlink reference signal used for pathloss measurement, or a parameter used for determining a closed-loop power control adjustment state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of combination of Xiao, YANG, MATSUMURA and MANOLAKOS as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of CHEN. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for power control parameter determination according to a target transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (CHEN, Abstract).
Conclusion
Information Regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWNAK ISLAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474