DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 5/6/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 51-53 & 72-73 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/6/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 12, 14, 15, 18, 21, 25, & 98-107 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (WO 2019/055789; hereafter ‘789).
Claim 1: ‘789 is directed towards methods of fabricating delignified wood and use thereof (title) comprising:
producing a piece of partially-delignified wood by subjecting a piece of natural wood to one or more chemical treatments so as to remove at least some lignin therefrom while preserving a microstructure of the piece of natural wood, the microstructure comprising cellulose-based longitudinal cells extending along an extension direction that is substantially parallel to a longitudinal growth direction of the natural wood (see title, abstract, & Step 106, Fig. 1; up to 10% of the lignin remains – i.e. partially-delignified, pg 1, lines 6-7);
drying the piece of partially-delignified wood so as to remove moisture therefrom, such that lumina of at least some of the cellulose-based longitudinal cells collapse (the wood is dried which in turn collapses some of the cells, see Steps 110, Fig. 1 and at least some of the cells collapse, pg 1, lines 20-25);
performing a fluid-shock treatment to the dried piece of partially-delignified wood to yield a rehydrated piece of partially-delignified wood, the fluid-shock treatment comprising exposing the dried piece to moisture (the wood is subjected to a humidification process, Step 118, Fig. 1 and pg 11, lines 10-20); and
forming the rehydrated piece of partially-delignified wood from a substantially flat planar configuration into a non-planar three-dimensional configuration (the processed wood is bent or molded into a new shape from planar to non-planar, see pg 118, lines 25-30 and step 114, Fig. 1),
wherein the lumina of first cellulose-based longitudinal cells in the rehydrated piece of partially-delignified wood that have a cross-sectional size less than a first size are substantially collapsed and lumina of second cellulose-based longitudinal cells in the rehydrated piece of partially-delignified wood that have a cross-sectional size greater than the first size are at least partially open (it is apparent that the product produced by ‘789 reads on this limitation because there is inherently a size on which the product reads on this). The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald 205 USPQ 594. In addition, the presently claimed properties would obviously have been present once the product is provided. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ at 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977).
‘789 teaches controlling the moisture content to a desired level between drying and humidifying the partially-delignified wood (pg 11, lines 10-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to dry the partially-delignified wood to a moisture content of less than or equal to 15wt% and rehydrate said piece to a moisture content of at least 35 wt% because ‘789 teaches controlling the moisture content to a desired level and differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 3: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to rehydrate said piece to a moisture content of at least 50 wt% because ‘789 teaches controlling the moisture content to a desired level and differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 4: ‘789 is directed towards methods of fabricating delignified wood and use thereof (title) comprising:
producing a piece of partially-delignified wood by subjecting a piece of natural wood to one or more chemical treatments so as to remove at least some lignin therefrom while preserving a microstructure of the piece of natural wood, the microstructure comprising cellulose-based longitudinal cells extending along an extension direction that is substantially parallel to a longitudinal growth direction of the natural wood (see title, abstract, & Step 106, Fig. 1; up to 10% of the lignin remains – i.e. partially-delignified, pg 1, lines 6-7);
partially drying the piece of partially-delignified wood so as to remove some moisture therefrom (see Steps 110, Fig. 1, pg 11, lines 15-20);
forming the partially-dried piece of partially-delignified wood from a substantially flat planar configuration into a non-planar three-dimensional configuration (the processed wood is bent or molded into a new shape from planar to non-planar, see pg 118, lines 25-30 and step 114, Fig. 1),
wherein the lumina of first cellulose-based longitudinal cells in the rehydrated piece of partially-delignified wood that have a cross-sectional size less than a first size are substantially collapsed and lumina of second cellulose-based longitudinal cells in the rehydrated piece of partially-delignified wood that have a cross-sectional size greater than the first size are at least partially open (it is apparent that the product produced by ‘789 reads on this limitation because there is inherently a size on which the product reads on this). The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald 205 USPQ 594. In addition, the presently claimed properties would obviously have been present once the product is provided. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ at 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977).
‘789 teaches controlling the moisture content to a desired level between drying and humidifying the partially-delignified wood and only humidifying when necessary to obtain the desired moisture content (pg 11, lines 10-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to dry the partially-delignified wood to a moisture content of at least 35 wt% because ‘789 teaches controlling the moisture content to a desired level and differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 7: ‘789 further teaches after forming into the non-planar three-dimensional configuration to further coat with dyes or paints (see pgs 18-19) which imply a further drying step.
‘789 does not teach a moisture content of the monolithic piece after painting/dying and drying.
However, it would have been obvious to drying to a moisture content of less than or equal to 15 wt% because differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 12: The paint inherently forms a barrier and prevent rehydration to some degree.
Claim 14: The partially-delignified wood is exposed to a fluid vapor in a humidified environment (pg 11, lines 10-20).
Claim 15: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing maintain a moisture content of at least 50 wt% because ‘789 teaches controlling the moisture content to a desired level and differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 18: For each lumen of the second cellulose-based longitudinal cells, a cross-sectional size thereof after the drying of (b) is less than a cross-sectional size thereof in the natural wood prior to (a) (the wood is pressed and the lumens are collapsed).
Claim 21: ‘789 teaches that the delignification process can remove some or all of the hemicellulose (pg 6, lines 15-20).
Although the taught range of some is not explicitly the claimed range of less than 10%, it does overlap the claimed range. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated a value within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 25: The delignification process comprises chemical treatment by immersion in a solution of NaOH (pg 9, lines 14-25 and pg 14, lines 5-20).
Claim 98: ‘789 further teaches after forming into the non-planar three-dimensional configuration to further coat with dyes or paints (see pgs 18-19) which imply a further drying step.
‘789 does not teach a moisture content of the monolithic piece after painting/dying and drying.
However, it would have been obvious to drying to a moisture content of less than or equal to 15 wt% because differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 99: The paint inherently forms a barrier and prevent rehydration to some degree.
Claim 100: For each lumen of the second cellulose-based longitudinal cells, a cross-sectional size thereof after the drying of (b) is less than a cross-sectional size thereof in the nature wood prior to (a) (the wood is pressed and densified).
Claim 101: ‘789 teaches that the delignification process can remove some or all of the hemicellulose (pg 6, lines 15-20).
Although the taught range of some is not explicitly the claimed range of less than 10%, it does overlap the claimed range. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated a value within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 102: The delignification process comprises chemical treatment by immersion in a solution of NaOH (pg 9, lines 14-25 and pg 14, lines 5-20).
Claim 103: ‘789 does not teach a specific means for drying after painting or dying.
However, air drying is a well-known means of drying a painted or dyed surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to air dry the painted or dyed surface of ‘789 because it is a well-known and art recognized means of drying.
Claim 104: ‘789 teaches forming a composite of the rigid monolithic partially-delignified wood with other partially-delignified or other pieces of wood (see pg 27, line 25 – pg 28, line 10).
Claim 105: The partially delignified wood comprises an undulating configuration formed by multiple bends with a repeating pattern with at least one peak and at least one trough (see Fig. 3B) and ‘789 teaches that the produced structures can be sandwiched between other structures (see Figs. 17A-17C and pg 28, line 10 – pg 29, line 35) wherein the orientation of the partially-delignified wood is based on the desired result (pg 30, lines 15-35).
Claim 106: The forming and further drying are performed at the same time (same time does not mean simultaneously and in this case, it is part of the same process so it is at the same time).
Claim 107: The modifications of ‘798 can be performed pre-pressing (see pg 17, line 30 – pg 18, line 15 and pg 26, lines 20-35) and the pressing can be performed by hot-pressing (pg 13, line 4).
Conclusion
/James M Mellott/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759