DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 10/19/2022, 02/20/2026 and 06/11/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination (RCE)
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
06/11/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/11/2026 has been entered. Claims 49-66 remain pending in the application. Claim 1-48 were cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention.
or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section
122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another
inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 49-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tang et al. (US-20220104160-A1) hereinafter “Tang”.
Regarding Claim 49,
Tang discloses, ‘A method implemented by a user equipment (UE) of obtaining time information, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, configuration information enabling on-demand requests for a fifth generation (5G) time reference;’ (A method acquired by the UE and performed by the UE for time reference (disclosure claim 1 and claim 2 that is implemented by the UE to obtain time information as recited in the claim. Configured to acquire and perform latency for a time reference [0017-0019]. Sent by the BS [0012]. Time reference is used for time sync between the UE and the BS [0092].),
Tang, time synchronization 5G [0004]. The BS sends time sync and the UE perform the time sync with the BS. And receives from the BS time-reference-info by the message [0077]. The UE determines the sync and request the BS [0128-0136]. Determines Time synchronization activated TSC [0127, 0133-0135, 0274].
And discloses, ‘sending, to a base station, a message including an indication that the 5G time reference is needed by the UE’ (Tang in Fig 1 illustrates the communication between the BS and the UE in 5G [0075]. The BS sends time sync and time sync accuracy and a reference-clock in an message to the UEto meet time sync (time-reference-info) [0077]. The UE determines time sync and request to the BS to send [0128-0136].);
Tang discloses, ‘and receiving from the base station, responsive to the indication, system information comprising the 5G time reference.’ (time-sensitive TSC operating by the UE; to indicate whether the UE has activated the TSC [0127]. If terminal is out of sync and the time sensitive communication is activated, the terminal triggers a random access procedure, alternatively the terminal request the BS to send TA. The terminal determines valid TA/out of sync [01280136].
the BS sends the reference time information to the UE [0235] by SIB [0140].
Regarding Claim 50,
‘The method of claim 49’ (disclosed above),
Tang discloses, ‘wherein: the message comprises an on-demand request for a specific system information block (SIB) containing the 5G time reference or on-demand system information comprising the 5G time reference;
or the message comprises an on-demand request for a specific SIB containing the 5G time reference or on-demand system information comprising the 5G time reference and the system information comprising the 5G time reference is received in SIB9.’ (The UE determines the synchronization and request to the BS [0128]. Determines to perform time reference and synchronization and receive SIB9 (specific SIB) sent by the BS [0138-0140]. The time reference/sync is 5G [0004]. In Fig. 3 illustrates TSN NW includes 5G [0083].)
Regarding Claim 51,
‘The method of claim 49’ (disclosed above),
Tang disclose, ‘wherein the indication comprises a flag set to a first predetermined value, or the indication comprises a reference to a specific element of system information that contains the 5G time reference.’ (Disclosure, latency for time reference indication carried by IE uses predetermined field or flag “0” or “1” whether to perform latency for time information [0143-0145].
The UE performs time synchronization with the BS to meet the time synchronization and synchronization accuracy between the UE and the reference clock. The network side device may send the time synchronization information and time synchronization accuracy to the UE by carrying them in an RRC message or a broadcast message. Specifically, the carried information element (IE) may be a Time-Reference-Info IE [0077]. And, Fig. 3 illustrates 5G TSN architectures includes TSN components at the UE side and the core network to meet the reliability and latency requirements of time sensitive communication [0081-0082].)
Regarding Claim 52,
‘The method of claim 49‘ (disclosed above),
Tang discloses, ‘wherein receiving the system information comprising the 5G time reference comprises: receiving the 5G time reference in a broadcast message’ (The BS device send the time synchronization information and time synchronization accuracy to the UE by in an RRC message or a broadcast message. Specifically, the information element (IE) carried out may be a Time-Reference-Info IE [0077];)
And discloses, ‘receiving the 5G time reference in a dedicated message; or receiving at least a portion of the system information in a broadcast message without the 5G time reference being included and receiving the 5G time reference in a dedicated message.’ (RRC message can be a dedicated RRC message [0140, 0199, 0260].)
Regarding Claim 53,
‘The method of claim 49’, (disclosed above),
Tang discloses, ‘wherein the 5G time reference is for time sensitive communications (TSC)’ (FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram of a TSN network architecture, as shown in FIG. 3, the TSN network includes a 5G system both the UE side and the CN side. And, TSN uses time sensitive communication [0084].)
Regarding Claim 54,
‘The method of claim 49’, (disclosed above),
‘wherein: the configuration information comprises a flag set to a first predetermined value’ (IE includes an indication that the UE required to perform the latency for the time reference information [0143-0145]. And, configuration for the UE to adjust the latency for the time reference information [0314-0315]));
And discloses, ‘or the configuration information comprises a reference to a specific element of system information that contains the 5G time reference’ (SIB9 [0138-0140] and time reference [0004, 0083] in Fig. 3.);
And discloses, ‘and receiving the configuration information enabling on-demand requests for a 5G time reference comprises receiving the configuration information in a broadcast message or receiving the configuration information in a dedicated message.’ (The UE determines the time sync and sends request [0128-0136], dedicated /configuration [0140] and broadcast time-reference-info [0077].)
Regarding Claim 55,
‘The method of claim 49’, (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein receiving the configuration information in a dedicated message comprises receiving the configuration information in a radio resource control (RRC) message.’ (dedicated RRC configuration from the BS [0140].)
Regarding Claim 56,
‘The method of claim 49’, (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein the RRC message comprises one of a RRC reconfiguration message or a downlink information transfer message.’ (RRC-message dedicated/DL-message [0140, 0279].)
Regarding Claim 57,
Similar to Claim 49 disclosed above, ‘A method performed by a base station for providing time information to a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: sending, to the UE, configuration information enabling on-demand requests for a fifth generation (5G) time reference; receiving, from the UE, a message including an indication that a 5G time reference is needed by the UE; and sending, to the UE, responsive to the indication, system information comprising the 5G time reference.’ (The BS generates latency compensation to determine the time reference disclosure Claim 15. The BS triggers and perform latency for the time reference [0054, 0204]. The UE-BS maintains time synchronization [0077].)
Regarding Claim 58,
‘The method of claim 57’ (disclosed above),
Similar to Claim 50 disclosed above, ‘wherein: the message comprises an on-demand request for a specific system information block (SIB) containing the 5G time reference or on-demand system information comprising the 5G time reference; or the message comprises an on-demand request for a specific SIB containing the 5G time reference or on-demand system information comprising the 5G time reference and the system information comprising the 5G time reference is received in SIB9.’
Regarding Claim 59,
‘The method of claim 57’ (disclosed above),
Similar to Claim 51 disclosed above, ‘wherein the indication comprises a reference to a specific element of system information that contains the 5G time reference.’
Regarding Claim 60,
‘The method of claim 57’ (disclosed above),
Similar to Claim 52 disclosed above, ‘wherein sending the system information comprising the 5G time reference comprises: sending the 5G time reference in a broadcast message; sending the 5G time reference in a dedicated message; or sending at least a portion of the system information in a broadcast message without the 5G time reference being included and sending the 5G time reference in a dedicated message.’
Regarding Claim 61,
‘The method of claim 57’ (disclosed above),
Similar to Claim 53 disclosed above, ‘wherein the 5G time reference is for time sensitive communications (TSC).’
Regarding Claim 62,
‘The method of claim 57’ (disclosed above),
Similar to Claim 54 disclosed above, ‘wherein: the configuration information comprises a flag set to a first predetermined value; or the configuration information comprises a reference to a specific element of system information that contains the 5G time reference; and sending the configuration information enabling on-demand requests for a 5G time reference comprises sending the configuration information in a broadcast message or receiving the configuration information in a dedicated message.’
Regarding Claim 63,
‘The method of claim 57’ (disclosed above),
Similar to Claim 55 disclosed above, ‘wherein sending the configuration information in a dedicated message comprises sending the configuration information in a radio resource control (RRC) message.’
Regarding Claim 64,
‘The method of claim 63’ (disclosed above),
Similar to Claim 56 disclosed above, ‘wherein the RRC message comprises one of a RRC reconfiguration message or a downlink information transfer message.’
Regarding Claim 65,
Similar to Claim 49 disclosed above, ‘A user equipment (UE) capable of obtaining time information, the UE comprising processing circuitry operable to: receive, from a base station, configuration information enabling on-demand requests for a fifth generation (5G) time reference; send, to a base station, a message including an indication that the 5G time reference is needed by the UE; and receive, from the base station, responsive to the indication, system information comprising the 5G time reference.’
Regarding Claim 66,
Similar to Claim 57 disclosed above, ‘A base station capable of providing time information to a user equipment (UE), the base station comprising processing circuitry operable to: send, to the UE, configuration information enabling on-demand requests for a fifth generation (5G) time reference; receiving, from the UE, a message including an indication that a 5G time reference is needed by the UE; and sending, to the UE, responsive to the indication, system information comprising the 5G time reference.’
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive.
Arguments and Examiners response:
With respect to applicant’s arguments/remarks, examiner responses are:
Regarding the applicant arguments page-7, “Applicant respectfully submits that the rejections of the cancelled claims do not apply to the newly added claims and requests allowance of all pending claims…”, Examiner respectfully request the relevant disclosures of Tang presented above (page-3 to page-12) of newly added claims.
Regarding the allowance that is a patentability decision, examiner respectfully disagree and arguments are not persuasive.
Regarding the patentability decision examiner intent and effort to analyze the claim subject matters and claims to derive and summarize the claim limitations presented in newly added claims to have deterministic approach of fact findings to lead and direct patentability decision as part of examination practice.
Claim subject matter “Time sensitive communication” and 5G extended to support TSC to acquire time-reference on-demand procedures SIBs, Applicant spec [0002-0003]. And applicant previously presented and newly added claims,
a method performed by the UE and the BS 5G time-reference. For clarity examiner presented most important/relevant disclosures Time sensitive communication implemented by Time sensitive NW (TSN) in Fig. 3, Tang.
What is performed by the method/procedure, how/why. Action/verbs key words, to synchronize time that is “5G time-reference”.
Method of 5G time-reference
Receive configuration from BS on-demand-request 5G time-reference
Tang discloses TSN 5G in Fig. 3 [0083] time sync for 5G [0004]. The UE determines the time sync and send requests to the BS [0128] to indicated the activated time sync-TSC [0127]; triggers when required/needed the time sync includes validity [0128-136]. RRC/dedicated specific SIB that SIB9 for the time sync [0140]. Uses specific IE for time-reference-information [0077].
Independent Claims, the method performed by BS [0054, 0204].
claims limitation included/added are presented above page-3 to page-12.
Examiner respectfully thanked to applicants/attorneys for their time and effort.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
Atsushi-Ishii et al. (US-10660023-B2),
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466