DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 12/29/2025.
Claims 21-40 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 22, 27, 30, and 33 are amended. No claims are added or deleted.
Response to Amendment
Objections to claims 22, 27, and 30 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 33 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 33: “idle/inactive measurement”. The use of “a/b” is ambiguous given the interpretation as “a and/or b”. The “/” is interpreted as “or” for purposes of examination. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 32 recites “wherein the cell reselection configuration is received via system information via one or more system information blocks (SIBs) from the network node, and when both an early measurement reporting configuration in an RRC Release message and an early measurement reporting configuration in SIB1 are present, the configuration in the RRC Release message takes precedence.” The specification discloses “EMR measurement configurations can be given in RRC Release or SIB11. When both RRC release and SIB11 contains the EMR configuration, the configuration in RRC Release takes precedence over SIB11 configuration.”, ¶0025. The limitation, as written, does not recite SIB11. The rejection stands.
Claim 35 recites “wherein the enhanced early measurement reporting configuration configures additional measurements at the user equipment comprising new measurement requirements used when enhanced early measurement reporting is initiated after T331 expiration to provide sufficient measurement results shortly after connection establishment starts.” The element of ‘new measurement requirements’ is not disclosed in the specification. Per the specification, ¶0105, “In some implementations, for example, in order to have enough good measurement results to report shortly after connection establishment starts (e.g., paging/wake-up signal or message, user data has arrived to be sent), additional implementations may include defining new measurement requirements for enhanced early measurement reporting. These new measurement requirements may be used when enhanced early measurement reporting is initiated, e.g., upon expiration of T331 timer and enhanced early measurement reporting is provided for the UE.” The specification only refers to ‘may include new measurement requirements for enhanced early measurement reporting’ without further description in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to achieve same results. The rejection stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CATT et al. ( CATT, “Considerations on cell reselection for early measurement reporting”, 3GPP, R2-1914529, TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #108, Reno, USA; November 22, 2019, hereinafter “CATT”).
RE Claim 40: CATT discloses:
A method of communications, comprising:
determining, by a user equipment, that the user equipment is configured for enhanced early measurement reporting (RRC Release includes early measurement configuration. Pg. 2, Fig. Observation 1; A SSB frequency may be valid for both early measurement and cell reselection. Pg. 2, Ln.28);
performing, by the user equipment, cell reselection measurements based at least on a cell reselection configuration (UE performs cell reselection per existing procedure, reselect configuration, and performs measurements. Pg. 2, Ln.39-40; A SSB frequency may be valid for both early measurement and cell reselection. Pg. 2, Ln.28); and
using, by the user equipment, the cell reselection measurements for early measurement reporting when the user equipment is configured for enhanced early measurement reporting (UE can report cell reselection measurements when early measurements results are not available. Pg. 2, Ln.44-46; A SSB frequency may be valid for both early measurement and cell reselection. Pg. 2, Ln.28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 22, 24, 25, 27-32, 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT et al. ( CATT, “Considerations on cell reselection for early measurement reporting”, 3GPP, R2-1914529, TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #108, Reno, USA; November 22, 2019, hereinafter “CATT”), in view of Huawei et al. (Huawei, “Discussion on cell reselection priority and early measurements”, 3GPP, R2-1907481, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2#106, Reno, USA, 17 May 2019, hereinafter “Huawei”), in view of Teyeb et al. (US 20220150741 A1, hereinafter “Teyeb”).
RE Claim 21: CATT discloses:
A method of communications, comprising:
determining, by a user equipment, that the user equipment is configured for enhanced early measurement reporting, the user equipment being configured for configuration based at least on a radio resource control (RRC) message received from a network node, the RRC message comprising an RRC release message or a system information block (SIB) (RRC Release includes early measurement configuration. Pg. 2, Fig. Observation 1; A SSB frequency may be valid for both early measurement and cell reselection. Pg. 2, Ln.28; SIB is optional element.);
performing, by the user equipment, cell reselection measurements based at least on a cell reselection configuration (UE performs cell reselection per existing procedure, reselect configuration, and performs measurements. Pg. 2, Ln.39-40; A SSB frequency may be valid for both early measurement and cell reselection. Pg. 2, Ln.28); and
using, by the user equipment, the cell reselection measurements for early measurement reporting when the user equipment is configured for enhanced early measurement reporting (UE can report cell reselection measurements when early measurements results are not available. Pg. 2, Ln.44-46; A SSB frequency may be valid for both early measurement and cell reselection. Pg. 2, Ln.28),
wherein using the cell reselection measurements for the early measurement reporting comprises (UE can report cell reselection measurements when early measurements results are not available. Pg. 2, Ln.44-46; A SSB frequency may be valid for both early measurement and cell reselection. Pg. 2, Ln.28):
storing cell reselection measurement results as early measurement reporting measurement results for early measurement reporting (Network requests early measurement results while early measurement results may not be available in the UE, the UE then reports prior measurement results of cell reselection. Pg 3. Ln. 59-61.);
transmitting the early measurement reporting measurement results to a network node
CATT does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting an indication that the early measurement reporting measurement results are available to a network node; and
transmitting the early measurement reporting measurement results to a network node
wherein the early measurement reporting comprises: performing the early measurement reporting measurements, collecting the early measurement reporting measurement results, and reporting of the early measurement reporting measurement results to the network node.
However, Huawei discloses:
transmitting an indication that the early measurement reporting measurement results are available to a network node (Process of an early measurement reporting for NR or LTE, Pg. 1, Ln. 23-31. NR early measurements can be configured for a UE in both RRC and NR system information. Pg. 1. Ln. 9-11, 23-25; Network early measurement supported indicator is broadcast in SIB2, a validity area which includes the list of frequencies in a RRCConnectionRelease message, or SIB5. UE camped on a cell will send early measurement result availability indicator to network. Pg. 1, Ln. 26-31.); and
CATT and Huawei do not explicitly disclose:
transmitting the early measurement reporting measurement results to a network node,
wherein the early measurement reporting comprises: performing the early measurement reporting measurements, collecting the early measurement reporting measurement results, and reporting of the early measurement reporting measurement results to the network node.
However, US 20220150741 A1, Teyeb et al discloses:
transmitting the early measurement reporting measurement results to a network node,
wherein the early measurement reporting comprises: performing the early measurement reporting measurements, collecting the early measurement reporting measurement results, and reporting of the early measurement reporting measurement results to the network node (Method of performing early measurement reporting. ¶¶0097, 0111-0123, Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the methods of CATT, use of cell reselection measurements for early measurement reporting, with the teachings of Huawei, transmit indication of availability of early measurements, with the teachings of Teyeb, method of performing, collecting, and transmitting early measurement results.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve network efficiency in messaging and mobility by use of stored recent cell reselection stored measurements and/or use of stored recent early measurement reports, instead of new measurements that take additional time, to improve early measurement methods and improve network efficiency.
RE Claim 24: Catt discloses:
The method, wherein the performing is based at least on measurement objects that are at least common in the cell reselection configuration and the early measurement reporting configuration (A SSB frequency may be valid for both early measurement and cell reselection. Pg. 2, Ln.28).
RE Claim 25: CATT discloses:
The method, wherein measurement objects comprise one or more of cells or frequencies and radio access technologies (A SSB frequency may be valid for both early measurement and cell reselection. Pg. 2, Ln.28; SSB frequency F1 is valid for both early measurements and cell reselection. Pg. 2, Ln.32).
RE Claim 27: CATT discloses:
The method, wherein the early measurement reporting measurements comprise idle/inactive measurements. (UE is in idle mode performing early measurements. Pg. 1, Section 2. Discussion, text box after Ln.1; UE is in inactive mode performing early measurements. Pg. 2, Figure on page)
RE Claim 29: CATT and Huawei do not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the early measurement reporting measurements are performed while a T331 timer is running the T331 timer corresponding to a measidleDuration value.
However, Teyeb discloses:
The method, wherein the early measurement reporting measurements are performed while a T331 timer is running the T331 timer corresponding to a measidleDuration value (UE receives idle mode measurement configurations for early measurements. ¶¶0037-0038; UE starts timer T331 with the value provided in measIdleDuration to perform measurements for the purpose of early measurements. ¶0040).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the methods of CATT, use of cell reselection measurements for early measurement reporting, with the teachings of Huawei, transmit indication of availability of early measurements, with the teachings of Teyeb, start a timer for UE to perform early measurements.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve network efficiency in messaging and mobility by signaling for early measurement reporting indications through other signaling opportunities to the UE, to signal a UE that may be in IDLE state for early measurements procedures during a limited time, improve network efficiency and UE power savings. (CATT: Pg. 3 Ln. 57-61; Huawei: Pg. 2 Ln. 54-58; Teyeb: Abstract, ¶¶0026, 0040-0041, 0097, 0111-0123, Fig. 10;)
RE Claim 31: CATT discloses:
The method, wherein the RRC message includes an RRC Setup Request, RRC Setup Complete, RRC Resume Request, RRC Resume Complete, RRC Re-establishment Request, or RRC Re-establishment Complete message. (RRC Resume Request, RRC Resume Complete. Pg. 2, Figure on Page; RRC Setup Request, RRC Setup Complete, RRC Re-establishment Request, or RRC Re-establishment Complete messages are optional elements.)
RE Claim 37: CATT discloses:
The method, wherein the network node is a gNB. (Network supports CA and MR-DC, multi-rat dual connectivity. MR-DC can be LTE and 5G thus a gNB. Pg. 2 Ln.42-43, Figure on page)
RE Claim 38: CATT discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one processor, are configured to cause a computing system to perform the method. (A UE, user equipment, inherently comprises a processor, software code, memory, and transceiver. In CATT, the events and responses describe the behavior of the UE. Pg. 1, Ln.17)
RE Claim 39: CATT discloses:
A user equipment comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to at least perform: (A UE, user equipment, inherently comprises a processor, software code, memory, and transceiver. In CATT, the events and responses describe the behavior of the UE. Pg. 1, Ln.17)
CATT does not explicitly disclose:
determining that the user equipment is configured for enhanced early measurement reporting;
performing cell reselection measurements based at least on a cell reselection configuration; and
using the cell reselection measurements for early measurement reporting when the user equipment is configured for enhanced early measurement reporting.
However, Teyeb discloses:
determining that the user equipment is configured for enhanced early measurement reporting (UE receives measurement configuration to perform measurements for early measurements. ¶0040; Indication and early measurement configuration to the UE signaled by the network. ¶0097);
performing cell reselection measurements based at least on a cell reselection configuration (UE has idle measurements in performing measurements for cell selection/reselection. ¶0047); and
using the cell reselection measurements for early measurement reporting when the user equipment is configured for enhanced early measurement reporting (UE indicates available of stored idle measurement to the network. ¶0047; UE indication sent to the network and network requests UE to report these available measurements. ¶0049).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the methods of CATT, use of cell reselection measurements for early measurement reporting, with the teachings of Huawei, transmit indication of availability of early measurements, with the teachings of Teyeb, method of performing, collecting, and transmitting early measurement results.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve network efficiency in messaging and mobility by use of stored recent cell reselection stored measurements and/or use of stored recent early measurement reports, instead of new measurements that take additional time, to improve early measurement methods and improve network efficiency.
RE Claim 22: CATT and Huawei do not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the user equipment measures early measurement reporting measurements before, during, and after connection establishment, connection resume, and random access procedures in response to at least one of a wake-up signal/indication or paging message from the network node or detecting availability of uplink data for transmission at the user equipment.
However, Teyeb discloses:
the user equipment measures early measurement reporting measurements before, during, and after connection establishment, connection resume, and random access procedures in response to at least one of a wake-up signal/indication or paging message from the network node or detecting availability of uplink data for transmission at the user equipment (Early measurement reporting and methods while in dormant, RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE, or entering connected state, RRC_CONNECTED. Method to use for early measurement reporting may be signaled in Random Access Response (RAR), RRC_Release, RRCResume, RRCSetup, or Paging like message. Transmissions of early measurements performed during dormant state or during transition to CONNECTED state. ¶¶0096-0106, Fig. 7, 8; Identify method to perform early measurement reporting and receive an indication broadcasted by the network in system information or paging. ¶¶0097, 0111-0123, Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the methods of CATT, use of cell reselection measurements for early measurement reporting, with the teachings of Huawei, transmit indication of availability of early measurements, with the teachings of Teyeb, other methods of signaling and transmission of early measurement reporting to a UE for early measurement procedures.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve network efficiency in messaging and mobility by signaling for early measurement reporting indications through other signaling opportunities to the UE, to signal a UE that may be in IDLE or INACTIVE or CONNECTED or transitioning states for early measurements procedures and improve network efficiency.
RE Claim 28: CATT does not explicitly disclose:
The method, further comprising: performing the early measurement reporting measurements based at least on the early measurement reporting configuration in addition to the cell reselection measurements based at least on the cell reselection configuration, wherein the early measurement reporting configuration is saved upon expiration of a T331 timer when the user equipment is configured for enhanced early measurement reporting.
However, Huawei discloses:
The method, further comprising: performing the early measurement reporting measurements based at least on the early measurement reporting configuration in addition to the cell reselection measurements based at least on the cell reselection configuration, (UE can be configured to perform early measurements on same or different frequencies as configured for cell reselection. Pg. 1, Ln.16-17)
CATT and Huawei do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the early measurement reporting configuration is saved upon expiration of a T331 timer when the user equipment is configured for enhanced early measurement reporting.
However, Teyeb discloses:
wherein the early measurement reporting configuration is saved upon expiration of a T331 timer when the user equipment is configured for enhanced early measurement reporting (UE continues with IDLE mode measurements according to broadcasted SIB5 configuration after the timer T331 has expired. ¶0041; UE is configured to perform idle/active measurements and report early measurement messages for target cell in indicated in a new field in SIB, e.g. SIB5. ¶0125).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of CATT, performing early measurements with the teachings of Huawei, performing both early measurements and cell reselection measurements on same frequencies, with the teachings of Teyeb, continue to perform early measurements after timer T331 expiration. .
The motivation in doing so would be to improve network efficiency in messaging and mobility by use of combined common resources configurations, early measurements and cell reselection based on same frequencies, signaling a UE for new early measurement configurations to improve early measurement methods. (CATT: Pg. 3 Ln. 57-61; Huawei: Pg. 2 Ln. 54-58; Teyeb: Abstract, ¶¶0026, 0040-0041, 0097, 0111-0123, Fig. 10;)
RE Claim 30: CATT does not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the indication is transmitted via a radio resource control (RRC) message to the network node and indicates availability of idle/inactive early measurement reporting measurement results.
However, Huawei discloses:
The method, wherein the indication is transmitted via a radio resource control (RRC) message to the network node and indicates availability of idle/inactive early measurement reporting measurement results. (UE performs IDLE measurement and will send early measurement result availability indicator to network in MSG5, via RRC messaging. Pg. 1, Ln.28-29)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of CATT, transmitting early measurements, with the teachings of Huawei, transmit indication of availability of early measurements.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve network efficiency in messaging and mobility by use of recent stored measurements versus using time to make new measurements and then report indication of availability to network to improve early measurement methods.
RE Claim 32: CATT does not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the cell reselection configuration is received via system information via one or more system information blocks (SIBs) from the network node, and when both an early measurement reporting configuration in an RRC Release message and an early measurement reporting configuration in SIB1 are present, the configuration in the RRC Release message takes precedence.
However, Huawei discloses:
The method, wherein the cell reselection configuration is received via system information via one or more system information blocks (SIBs) from the network node, and (early measurement configuration parameters provided per SSB frequency follow the same principles as those provided in SIB2/4 for the purposes of Idle/Inactive mobility, i.e. reselection. Pg. 1, Ln.12-13)
CATT and Huawei do not explicitly disclose:
when both an early measurement reporting configuration in an RRC Release message and an early measurement reporting configuration in SIB1 are present, the configuration in the RRC Release message takes precedence.
However, Teyeb discloses:
when both an early measurement reporting configuration in an RRC Release message and an early measurement reporting configuration in SIB1 are present, the configuration in the RRC Release message takes precedence (UE configured with dedicated measurement configuration in the RRCConnectionRelease with measIdleDedicated-r15 which overrides, takes precedence, the broadcasted configuration in SIB5. ¶0038; Early measurement configuration and indication to UE in SIB1, 2, 4, 5, etc. ¶0140).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of CATT, measuring cell reselection with early measurements, with the teachings of Huawei, receiving configuration for measurements via SIBs, with the teachings of Teyeb, RRC_Release method of assigning early measurement reporting configuration based on priority.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve network efficiency in messaging and mobility by providing the UE with configurations based on UE state needed for early measurement and cell reselection from the network to improve early measurement methods.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT et al., in view of Huawei et al., in view of Teyeb et al., in view of Bao (US 20220264696 A1, hereinafter “Bao”).
RE Claim 23: CATT and Huawei do not explicitly disclose:
The method, further comprising receiving a wake-up signal or indication or paging message from the network node, wherein the wake-up signal or indication or paging message includes an indication to initiate early measurement reporting measurements, wherein the wake-up signal comprises downlink control information (DCI) with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI).
However, Teyeb discloses:
The method, further comprising receiving a wake-up signal or indication or paging message from the network node, wherein the wake-up signal or indication or paging message includes an indication to initiate early measurement reporting measurements, (Identify method to perform early measurement reporting and receive an indication broadcasted by the network in system information or paging. ¶¶0097, 0111-0123, Fig. 10).
CATT, Huawei, and Teyeb do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the wake-up signal comprises downlink control information (DCI) with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI).
However, Bao discloses:
wherein the wake-up signal comprises downlink control information (DCI) with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI) (WUS, wake-up signal, is a downlink physical control channel, DCI, in which DCI is CRC scrambled by PS-RNTI. ¶0047).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the methods of CATT, use of cell reselection measurements for early measurement reporting, with the teachings of Huawei, transmit indication of availability of early measurements, with the teachings of Teyeb, other methods of signaling to a UE for early measurement procedure, with the teachings of Bao, WUS signaling by DCI scrambled with PS-RNTI.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve network efficiency in messaging and mobility by signaling for early measurement reporting indications through other signaling opportunities to the UE, to signal a UE that may be in IDLE or INACTIVE states for early measurements procedures, improve network efficiency and UE power savings. (CATT: Pg. 3 Ln. 57-61; Huawei: Pg. 2 Ln. 54-58; Teyeb: Abstract, ¶¶0026, 0097, 0111-0123, Fig. 10; Bao: Abstract, ¶¶0004, 0047, 0049, 0127)
Claim 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT et al., in view of Huawei et al., in view of Teyeb et al., in view of MediaTek et al. (MediaTek, “Discussion on LTE CRS based and NR SSB based measurement in NR IDLE/INACTIVE mode”, 3GPP, TSG-RAN WG4 Meeting #94-e, R4-2001795, Electronic Meeting, 6 March 2020, hereinafter “MediaTek”).
RE Claim 35: CATT, Huawei, and Teyeb do not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the enhanced early measurement reporting configuration configures additional measurements at the user equipment comprising new measurement requirements used when enhanced early measurement reporting is initiated after T331 expiration to provide sufficient measurement results shortly after connection establishment starts.
However, Mediatek discloses:
The method, wherein the enhanced early measurement reporting configuration configures additional measurements at the user equipment comprising new measurement requirements used when enhanced early measurement reporting is initiated after T331 expiration to provide sufficient measurement results shortly after connection establishment starts (Applicable requirements, additional measurements, for early measurements and used for EMR after expiry of the T331 timer at least for overlapping carriers. UE reports results of the early measurements at least up to T0, another timer, after the expiry of T331. Pg. 2, Introduction, Item 4 “Impact on early measurements after T331 stops and before reporting EMR”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the methods of CATT, use of cell reselection measurements for early measurement reporting, with the teachings of Huawei, transmit indication of availability of early measurements, with the teachings of Teyeb, start a timer for UE to perform early measurements, with the teachings of Mediatek, performing early measurements after the expiration of the T331 timer.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve network efficiency in messaging and mobility by signaling for early measurement reporting indications through other signaling opportunities to the UE, to signaling a UE for new early measurement configurations to improve network efficiency and UE power savings. (CATT: Pg. 3 Ln. 57-61; Huawei: Pg. 2 Ln. 54-58; Teyeb: Abstract, ¶¶0026, 0040-0041, 0097, 0111-0123, Fig. 10; Mediatek: Pg. 2, Introduction, Item 4 “Impact on early measurements after T331 stops and before reporting EMR”; Pg. 10, 4. Summary, Proposal 6; )
RE Claim 36: CATT does not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the additional measurements are performed upon expiration of the T331 timer.
However, MediaTek discloses:
The method, wherein the additional measurements (Measurements based on limiting the number of overlapping and non-overlapping carriers, additional measurement. Pg. 8, Ln.140, Issue 2) are performed upon expiration of the T331 timer. (T331 stops and UE continues early measurements. UE shall report results of early measurement at up to T0, another timer, after the expiry of T331 timer. Pg. 2, Introduction, Item 4 “Impact on early measurements after T331 stops and before reporting EMR”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of CATT, performing early measurements, with the teachings of MediaTek, UE continues to make early measurements and additional measurements after T331 expiration.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve network efficiency in messaging and mobility by extending the time window for early measurements. Additional measurements provides additional info for UE and the network to improve early measurement methods.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT, in view of Huawei, in view of Teyeb, and further in view of Da Silva et al. (US 20220182859 A1, hereinafter “Da Silva”) in view of 3GPP 38.331 V16.0.0 (3GPP 38.331 V16.0.0, 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol specification (Release 16), 03-2020).
RE Claim 33: CATT, Huawei, and Teyeb do not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the SIBs include SIB2, SIB3, SIB4, and SIB5.
However, Da Silva discloses:
The method, wherein the SIBs include SIB2, SIB3, SIB4, and SIB5 (UE may acquire measurement configuration from a system information block, SIB, associated to the current cell. ¶0123; UE receives an early measurement reporting configuration. UE obtains a list of carriers from a SIB such as SIB2, SIB3, SIB4, and SIB5. Upon cell reselection the UE checks if it needs to update carrier frequency list for early measurements based on a SIB of the target cell. ¶0084) ,
Da Silva does not explicitly disclose:
wherein: SIB2 contains cell re-selection information common for intra-frequency, inter- frequency, and inter-radio access technology (RAT) cell re-selection and intra-frequency cell re-selection information other than neighbouring cell related
SIB3 contains neighbouring cell related information relevant only for intra- frequency cell re-selection, the relevant information element (IE) including cells with specific re-selection parameters and blacklisted cells,
SIB4 contains information relevant only for inter-frequency cell re-selection, including information about other NR frequencies and inter-frequency neighbouring cells relevant for cell re-selection, the relevant IE including cell re-selection parameters common for a frequency and cell specific re-selection parameters, and
SIB5 contains information relevant only for inter-RAT cell re-selection, including information about E-UTRA frequencies and E-UTRA neighbouring cells relevant for cell re-selection, the relevant IE including cell re-selection parameters common for a frequency,
wherein SIB1 indicates idleModeMeasurements for inclusion of idle/inactive measurement report availability during connection establishment or resumption.
However, 3GPP 38.331 V16.0.0 discloses:
wherein: SIB2 contains cell re-selection information common for intra-frequency, inter- frequency, and inter-radio access technology (RAT) cell re-selection and intra-frequency cell re-selection information other than neighbouring cell related (Pg. 293, § 6.3.1)
SIB3 contains neighbouring cell related information relevant only for intra- frequency cell re-selection, the relevant information element (IE) including cells with specific re-selection parameters and blacklisted cells (Pg. 297, § 6.3.1),
SIB4 contains information relevant only for inter-frequency cell re-selection, including information about other NR frequencies and inter-frequency neighbouring cells relevant for cell re-selection, the relevant IE including cell re-selection parameters common for a frequency and cell specific re-selection parameters (Pg. 298, § 6.3.1), and
SIB5 contains information relevant only for inter-RAT cell re-selection, including information about E-UTRA frequencies and E-UTRA neighbouring cells relevant for cell re-selection, the relevant IE including cell re-selection parameters common for a frequency (Pg. 301, § 6.3.1) ,
wherein SIB1 indicates idleModeMeasurements for inclusion of idle/inactive measurement report availability during connection establishment or resumption (SIB1 contains idleModeMeasurements and include the idleMeasAvailable, Pg. 106, § 5.3.13.4, Ln. 4360-4371).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the methods of CATT, use of cell reselection measurements for early measurement reporting, with the teachings of Huawei, transmit indication of availability of early measurements, with the teachings of DaSilva, other methods of signaling and transmission of early measurement reporting combined with SIB2, SIB3, SIB4, and SIB5 to a UE for early measurement procedures, with the teachings of 3GPP 38.331 V16.0.0 specification for system block information, SIBs, of SIB1, SIB2, SIB3, SIB4, and SIB5.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve network efficiency in messaging and mobility by signaling for early measurement reporting configuration information using SIB system information for target cells for early measurements procedures and improve network efficiency.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT, in view of Huawei, in view of Teyeb, in view of Da Silva, in view of 3GPP 38.331 V16.0.0, and further in view of MediaTek et al. (MediaTek, “Discussion on LTE CRS based and NR SSB based measurement in NR IDLE/INACTIVE mode”, 3GPP, TSG-RAN WG4 Meeting #94-e, R4-2001795, Electronic Meeting, 6 March 2020, hereinafter “MediaTek”).
RE Claim 34: CATT discloses:
The method, further comprising:
determining whether to transmit the early measurement reporting measurements when connection establishment is triggered prior to expiration of the another timer. (UE sends an RRC Resume Request to network. RRC Resume sent by UE may occur at any time independent of T331 or another timer. Network responds to RRC resume with request for early measurements in the RRC Resume message to UE. Pg. 2, Ln.47-49, Figure on page) ,
wherein the another timer is newly defined and started when the user equipment stops early measurement reporting measurements upon T331 expiration.
CATT does not explicitly disclose:
initiating another timer upon expiration of the T331 timer,
wherein the another timer is newly defined and started when the user equipment stops early measurement reporting measurements upon T331 expiration.
However, MediaTek discloses:
initiating another timer upon expiration of the T331 timer, wherein the another timer is newly defined and started when the user equipment stops early measurement reporting measurements upon T331 expiration. (T331 stops and UE continues early measurements. UE shall report results of early measurement at up to T0, another timer, after the expiry of T331 timer. Pg. 2, Introduction, Item 4 “Impact on early measurements after T331 stops and before reporting EMR”); It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of CATT, determine reporting of early measurements during RRC resume, with the teachings of MediaTek, initiating another timer to extend early measurement duration after T331 expiration.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve network efficiency in messaging and mobility by extending the time window for early measurement and cell reselection to maintain latest measurements and report to the network to improve early measurement methods.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT, in view of Huawei, in view of Teyeb, in view of Ericsson et al. (Ericsson, “On early measurements reporting in NR”,3GPP, TSG-RAN WG4 Meeting #92-Bis, R4-1912081, Chongqing, P. R. of China, 18 October, 2019, hereinafter “Ericsson).
RE Claim 26: CATT does not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the measurements comprise reference signal received power and reference signal received quality measurements.
However, Ericsson discloses:
The method, wherein the measurements comprise one or more of reference signal received power and reference signal received quality measurements (RSRP and RSRQ measurements supported for early measurement reporting. Pg. 1 Ln.13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of CATT, performing early measurements, with the teachings of Ericsson, UE measures RSRP and RSRQ in addition to early measurements.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve network efficiency in messaging and mobility by performing additional measurements to provide additional info for UE and the network to improve early measurement methods.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument is directed to claims 32 and 35 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) rejection. Applicant submits that support for claims 32 and 35 are supported in the specification. Applicant provides a list of supporting paragraphs, Claim 32: ¶¶[0033], [0034], [0108], [0091], [0092], and Claim 35: ¶[0105]
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant regarding both claim 32 and 35.
Claim 32 recites “wherein the cell reselection configuration is received via system information via one or more system information blocks (SIBs) from the network node, and when both an early measurement reporting configuration in an RRC Release message and an early measurement reporting configuration in SIB1 are present, the configuration in the RRC Release message takes precedence.” The specification discloses “EMR measurement configurations can be given in RRC Release or SIB11. When both RRC release and SIB11 contains the EMR configuration, the configuration in RRC Release takes precedence over SIB11 configuration.”, ¶0025. The limitation, as written, does not recite SIB11. The rejection stands.
Claim 35 recites “wherein the enhanced early measurement reporting configuration configures additional measurements at the user equipment comprising new measurement requirements used when enhanced early measurement reporting is initiated after T331 expiration to provide sufficient measurement results shortly after connection establishment starts.” The element of ‘new measurement requirements’ is not disclosed in the specification. Per the specification, ¶0105, “In some implementations, for example, in order to have enough good measurement results to report shortly after connection establishment starts (e.g., paging/wake-up signal or message, user data has arrived to be sent), additional implementations may include defining new measurement requirements for enhanced early measurement reporting. These new measurement requirements may be used when enhanced early measurement reporting is initiated, e.g., upon expiration of T331 timer and enhanced early measurement reporting is provided for the UE.” The specification only refers to ‘may include new measurement requirements for enhanced early measurement reporting’ without further description in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to achieve same results. The rejection stands.
Applicant’s second argument is directed to claim 40 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2). Applicant submits that CATT discloses a narrow, reactive fallback triggered by a network request for early measurement results during RRC resume when UE has no early measurement results compared to the features of claim 40. Applicant further argues that “CATT's teaching is a resume request/unavailability fallback, not a configuration driven eEMR procedure:” based on CATT’s Observation 1, Observation 2, and Proposal 1. In addition, applicant argues that “CATT is further missing the conditional "using ... when the UE is configured for eEMR."
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claim 40 is a method claim and the first limitation, as written, recites “determining, by a user equipment, that the user equipment is configured for enhanced early measurement reporting”. CATT discloses a method where the network configuring a UE for early measurement configuration, Pg. 2, Fig. Observation 1. Observation 1 of CATT states ‘the UE may stop early measurement and stop T331 when the UE moves to a cell that is not part of the validity area.’ UE stops measurement but still retains the configuration. In Observation 2 and Proposal 1 of CATT, the network requests early measurement results which occurs after the UE returns to a valid area, measures a cell for reselection, and transmits a RRCResumeRequest, Pg. 2, Ln. 43-49. Therefore, the UE is configured for early measurement.
The second limitation of the method claim, as written, recites “performing, by the user equipment, cell reselection measurements based at least on a cell reselection configuration”. CATT discloses “The UE returns to the valid area which is part of the previous configured validity area. UE obtains measurements results of neighbor cell based on cell reselection procedure. UE can report measurement results during cell reselection to assist the network. “, Pg. 2, Ln 34-38. Therefore, UE performs cell reselection measurements based on a cell reselection configuration.
The third limitation of the method claim, as written, recites “using, by the user equipment, the cell reselection measurements for early measurement reporting when the user equipment is configured for enhanced early measurement reporting”. In Proposal 1 of CATT, the network requests early measurement results after RRCResumeRequest and the UE reports the measurement results of the cell reselection in place of the early measurement results. The early measurement results are not available as the UE has just returned to a valid area, Pg. 2, Ln. 45-49. Therefore, the UE reports cell reselection measurements after the network requests early measurement results.
Applicant’s third argument is directed to claim 39 and 40. Applicant submits “Because CATT discloses a reactive fallback and lacks each of the three configuration driven features as claimed, it cannot anticipate claim 40. In addition, the Office Action acknowledges, when addressing claim 39, that CATT "does not explicitly disclose" these same three features and imports them from Teyeb under §103, which cannot be reconciled with a §102 position against claim 40 that recites the same features in method form.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 40 is a method claim which is disclosed by CATT as discussed in the prior argument and response, Item 24 above. Claim 39 is an apparatus claim for a user equipment with hardware performing actions for early measurement. While CATT method employs a UE that inherently includes a processor and memory, Teyeb discloses the UE apparatus, ¶0234, Fig. 15, with a processor, memory, and hardware that performs the actions of early measurement.
Applicant’s fourth argument is directed to claim 39 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection and Teyeb. Applicant’s first point (limitation 3 of claim 39) submits “In Teyeb there is no UE side "determining ... configured for eEMR." Teyeb describes receiving early/dormant measurement configuration, starting/stopping T331 and storing idle/dormant measurements, and then identifying a reporting scheme (msg3, msg5, or UElnformationRequest/Response) for reporting during resume/setup, based on explicit/implicit network indications.” Applicant second point (limitation 4 of claim 39) is “In Teyeb, there is no "performing ... cell reselection measurements based at least on a cell reselection configuration." Teyeb's measurements are "idle/dormant mode measurements" configured for early reporting (via broadcast or dedicated fields), but it does not teach performing "cell reselection measurements based at least on a cell reselection configuration" (e.g., SIB2/SIB3/SIB4/SIB5 reselection content) as the measurement basis to be used for EMR.” Applicant’s third point (limitation 5 of claim 39) is “In Teyeb, there is no "using ... the reselection measurements ... when the UE is configured for eEMR." Teyeb conditions reporting on network indicated reporting12 schemes and resume/setup messaging (msg3, msg5, or UElnformationRequest/Response), not on "when the UE is configured for enhanced early measurement reporting," and not on using reselection based measurements under that UE configuration condition.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant’s first point, the limitation, as written, recites “determining that the user equipment is configured for enhanced early measurement reporting”. Teyeb discloses “Broadcasting of an explicit indication (concerning method to use for the early measurement reporting) in system information; [0100] Including an explicit indication at transmission of msg2, e.g. explicitly in Random Access Response (RAR) or in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE); [0101] Including an explicit indication in, e.g., RRC Release like message, telling the UE which method to use to report early measurements. This indication could, e.g., be part of the early measurement configurations; or [0102] Including/Excluding an explicit indication during the UE's transition to CONNECTED state (e.g., in RRCResume, RRCSetup, or Paging like message)”, ¶¶0099-0102. Therefore, Teyeb discloses the elements of the limitation, as written.
In response to applicant’s second point, the limitation, as written, recites “performing cell reselection measurements based at least on a cell reselection configuration”. Teyeb discloses “However, it is still not certain that the UE has measurements available since the UE is only required to perform the measurements if the cells are above the configured RSRP/RSRQ thresholds and while it performs cell selection/cell reselection within the configured validity area. Then, to allow the network to know that, and possibly request the UE to report early measurements, the UE may also indicate the availability of stored idle measurements in RRCConnectionResumeComplete.”, ¶0047, Table 00008. “Once the UE indicates to the target cell upon resume or setup that idle measurements are available, the network may finally request the UE to report these available measurements by including the field idleModeMeasurementReq in the UEInformationRequest message transmitted to the UE. Then, the UE responds with a UEInformationResponse containing these measurements. This is illustrated in FIG. 6.”, ¶0049, Fig. 6.
In response to applicant’s third point, the limitation, as written, recites “using the cell reselection measurements for early measurement reporting when the user equipment is configured for enhanced early measurement reporting”. Teyeb discloses “If validityArea is configured, and the UE reselects to a serving cell whose PCI does not match any entry in validityArea for the corresponding carrier frequency, the timer T331 is stopped. Then, the UE stops to perform IDLE measurements and releases the configuration (i.e., VarMeasIdleConfig). Notice that this does not necessarily imply that the UE releases the idle measurements that were configured in Release and that were performed, i.e. these may still be stored and possibly requested by the network. In addition, the UE may continue with IDLE mode measurements according to the broadcasted SIB5 configuration after the timer T331 has expired or stopped.”, ¶0041. SIB5 is system information for cell reselection. In addition, Teyeb discloses “However, it is still not certain that the UE has measurements available since the UE is only required to perform the measurements if the cells are above the configured RSRP/RSRQ thresholds and while it performs cell selection/cell reselection within the configured validity area. Then, to allow the network to know that, and possibly request the UE to report early measurements, the UE may also indicate the availability of stored idle measurements in RRCConnectionResumeComplete.”, ¶0047, Table 00008.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20210105647-A1 Lee, UE capable of idle mode measurements based on idle mode configuration, such as early measurements. Two kinds of measurement in idle state where supporting mobility includes measurements for cell reselection. The second measurement could be configured for early reporting (for example, reporting the stored measurement results right after entering to the RRC_CONNECTED stat). ¶¶0294-0295
US-20220345926-A1 Siomina et al., The one or more embodiments described herein may advantageously provide one or more of the following: [0021] Consistent wireless device behavior and EMR measurements performance in different phases of the EMR measurement procedure; [0022] Controlling EMR measurements during a time gap after the T331 timer stopped until the wireless device gets a possibility to report EMR measurements, which may be crucial for enabling early multi-carrier configuration for the wireless device [0023] Possibility to differentiate between the EMR measurements during the T331 and the measurements before reporting. ¶0020.
Qualcomm, "UE Behaviours in NR Early Measurements" Qualcomm Incorporated. {3GPP TSG RAN WG2 Meeting #106, R2-1905543} May 17, 2019. https://www.3gpp.org/ftp/TSG_RAN/WG2_RL2/TSGR2_106/Docs/R2-1905543.zip. Retrieved 04-30-2026. (Year: 2019). See Pg. 4, “Proposal 7: If NR UE receives another RRCRelease message (with or without suspendConfig) without new early measurement configuration, it continues the validity timer and corresponding early measurements.”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419