Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 18-19 are objected to because of the following
informalities.
• Claim 1, lines 1-2, “the method” should read “the computer-implemented method”.
• Claim 2, line 3, “the educational assessment examination” should read “the assessment examination”.
• Claim 6, line 2, “an audio file” should read “the audio file”.
• Claim 7, line 2, “an audio file” should read “the audio file”.
• Claim 18, line 2, “a speech synthesizer” should read “the speech synthesizer”.
• Claim 18, line 3, “one or more segments of synthesized speech” should read “the one or more segments of synthesized speech”.
• Claim 19, line 2, “a speech synthesizer” should read “the speech synthesizer”.
• Claim 19, line 3, “one or more segments of synthesized speech” should read “the one or more segments of synthesized speech”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Step 1: Does the claimed invention fall inside one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter)? Yes for claims 1-20. Claims 1-10 are drawn to a computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions (i.e., a process). Claims 11-20 are drawn to a system of accessible game-user interactions (i.e., a manufacture).
Step 2A - Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon)? Yes, for claims 1-20.
Claim 1 recites:
A computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising:
displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment, wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination;
receiving a signal indicative of placement of a physical object onto the display screen above the graphical element;
repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen;
and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal, and the repositioning of the graphical element.
These steps amount to a form of mental process and organizing human activity (i.e., an abstract idea) because a human can provide an assessment examination consisting of logical problems, assign signal indicators for placement and movement of physical objects, and determine an assessment score based on movement of a physical object. “conventional assessment providers may administer digital assessments” [0005].
Independent claim 11 describes steps that are similar to steps of claim 1 (and therefore recite limitations that fall within this subject matter of grouping abstract ideas), and these claims are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis. Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 are directed towards mini-tasks (receiving multiple signal indicators, repositioning a physical object, providing audible instructions for completing the assessment, determining an assessment score, etc.) for a system of accessible game-user interactions. Each claim amounts to a form of collecting, generating, and analyzing information, and therefore falls within the scope of a method for organizing human activity, (i.e., an abstract idea). As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 2-10 and 12-20 recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong Two: Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception? No
In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using a computer, a graphical user interface (which uses both memory and processor resources), a speech synthesizer (which uses a computer system), memory, and a processing device (independent claims 1 and 11 and dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20) is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer.
Similarly, the limitations of a computer, a graphical user interface (which uses both memory and processor resources), a speech synthesizer (which uses a computer system), memory, and a processing device (independent claims 1 and 11 and dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20) are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Use of a computer, processor, memory or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serve merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, they serve to limit the application of the abstract idea to a computerized environment (e.g., identifying and displaying, etc.) performed by a computing device, processor, and memory, etc. This reasoning was demonstrated in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (Fed. Cir. 2015), where the court determined "an abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer"). These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective independent claim (i.e., they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? i.e., Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea? No
In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an “inventive concept.” An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 27-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong Two”, the identified additional elements in independent claims 1 and 11 and dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, (e.g., mere data gathering, post-solution activity) and/or simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective independent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements are sufficient to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Therefore, claims 1-20 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under US 20190361721 A1 (“Massoudi”) in view of US 20160063881 A1 (“Brinton”) and US 20160180734 A1 (“Shi”).
In regards to claim 1, Massoudi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
A computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising ([0011], “embodiments of the disclosure relate ... to computer implemented ... methods to define user-computer interactions”): displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen ([0033], “the ... document, is ... displayed .... using a ... graphical user interface window on a display of a computing device”), wherein the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment, wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents ([0018], “FIG. 1 shows … a method to … superimpose … interaction widgets ” Examiner notes that an interaction widget is a graphical element.) a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination;
receiving a signal indicative of placement ([0076], “the widgets … provide a set of general interaction capabilities … These capabilities may include … the ability to capture media (ex. video, pictures, sound)” Examiner notes that capturing media includes the process of receiving signals.) of a physical object onto the display screen above the graphical element ([0033], “the ... document, is imported into an Interaction Authoring Tool (IAT) ... and displayed .... using a ... graphical user interface window on a display of a computing device. The IAT … displays … interaction widgets”);
repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen ([0066], “The … widget can … invoke specific API’s on the processor” Examiner notes that an API can be used to reposition a widget, which is referred to as a graphical element in the claimed invention.);
and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal, and the repositioning of the graphical element ([0066], “The … widget can … invoke specific API’s on the processor” Examiner notes that an API can be used to reposition a widget, which is referred to as a graphical element in the claimed invention.).
Brinton discloses
wherein the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment ([0090], “To facilitate assessment creation, the Assessment Manager module includes a graphical user interface”), wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination ([0089], “assessment course material can include … comprehensive exams”), a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination ([0090], “the Assessment Manager module includes a graphical user interface ..., which can be used to author ... questions” Examiner notes that a logical problem is a type of question.);
and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal ([0041], “Behaviors can correlate to potential test results, particularly correct on first attempt (CFA) results … CFA is a binary measure, equal to 1 if the user answered a question correctly on the first attempt, and 0 otherwise” Examiner notes that test results are closely related to an assessment score.),
Massoudi and Brinton combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to assist instructors in understanding learning behavior. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising: displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents; receiving a signal indicative of placement onto the display screen above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, as disclosed by Massoudi, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment, wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination, a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination; and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal, as disclosed by Brinton, to provide an assessment manager, a graphical user interface, assessment course material, comprehensive exams, and test results for a system and method to assist an instructor in managing, understanding, and drawing conclusions about the learning behavior. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an assessment manager to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
Shi discloses
of a physical object ([0037], “The embodiments of the present invention provide … a system … using physical objects in conjunction with an interactive surface”)
Massoudi and Shi combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising: displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents; receiving a signal indicative of placement onto the display screen above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, as disclosed by Massoudi, of a physical object, as disclosed by Shi, to provide physical objects and an interactive surface for a system and method to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects in a highly interactive and free play format. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of physical objects and interactive surfaces to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 2, Massoudi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the graphical user interface further comprises ([0033], “the ... document, is ... displayed .... using a ... graphical user interface”) a plurality of graphical elements that each represent ([0039], “FIG. 5 shows … interaction widgets” Examiner notes that an interaction widget is a graphical element.) a different portion of the logical problem of the educational assessment examination, and wherein the method further comprises: receiving a plurality of signals indicative of placement of ([0076], “the widgets … provide a set of general interaction capabilities … These capabilities may include … the ability to capture media (ex. video, pictures, sound)” Examiner notes that capturing media includes the process of receiving signals.) respective physical objects onto the display screen above a corresponding graphical element of the plurality of graphical elements ([0033], “the ... document, is imported into an Interaction Authoring Tool (IAT) ... and displayed .... using a ... graphical user interface window on a display of a computing device. The IAT … displays … interaction widgets”);
repositioning a graphical element of the plurality of graphical elements responsive to physical movement of a respective physical object ([0066], “The … widget can … invoke specific API’s on the processor” Examiner notes that an API can be used to reposition a widget, which is referred to as a graphical element in the claimed invention.);
and generating the assessment score based on the plurality of signals and the repositioning of the graphical element of the plurality of graphical elements.
Brinton discloses
a different portion of the logical problem of the educational assessment examination, and wherein the method further comprises ([0090], “the Assessment Manager module includes a graphical user interface ..., which can be used to author ... questions” Examiner notes that a logical problem is a type of question.):
and generating the assessment score based on the plurality of signals and the repositioning of the graphical element of the plurality of graphical elements ([0041], “Behaviors can correlate to potential test results, particularly correct on first attempt (CFA) results … CFA is a binary measure, equal to 1 if the user answered a question correctly on the first attempt, and 0 otherwise” Examiner notes that test results are closely related to an assessment score.).
Massoudi and Brinton combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to assist instructors in understanding learning behavior. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising: displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents; receiving a signal indicative of placement onto the display screen above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a plurality of graphical elements that each represent, receiving a plurality of signals indicative of placement of, the display screen above a corresponding graphical element of the plurality of graphical elements; repositioning a graphical element of the plurality of graphical elements responsive to physical movement of a respective physical object, as disclosed by Massoudi, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment, wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination, a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination; and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal, a different portion of the logical problem of the educational assessment examination, and wherein the method further comprises, and generating the assessment score based on the plurality of signals and the repositioning of the graphical element of the plurality of graphical elements, as disclosed by Brinton, to provide an assessment manager, a graphical user interface, assessment course material, and test results for a system and method to assist an instructor in managing, understanding, and drawing conclusions about the learning behavior. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an assessment manager to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
Shi discloses
respective physical objects onto ([0037], “The embodiments of the present invention provide … a system … using physical objects in conjunction with an interactive surface”)
Massoudi and Shi combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising: displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents; receiving a signal indicative of placement onto the display screen above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a plurality of graphical elements that each represent, receiving a plurality of signals indicative of placement of, the display screen above a corresponding graphical element of the plurality of graphical elements; repositioning a graphical element of the plurality of graphical elements responsive to physical movement of a respective physical object, as disclosed by Massoudi, respective physical objects onto, as disclosed by Shi, to provide physical objects and an interactive surface for a system and method to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects in a highly interactive and free play format. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of physical objects and interactive surfaces to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 3, Massoudi does not disclose wherein the assessment examination is a test for assessment of a vocational candidate.
Brinton discloses
wherein the assessment examination is a test for assessment of a vocational candidate ([0019], “The baseline course may … contain automated individualization, meaning that the various modes are adapted to each specific user …. One can think of a user model as encompassing … as … user's test results ”).
Massoudi and Brinton combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to assist instructors in understanding learning behavior. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising: displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents; receiving a signal indicative of placement onto the display screen above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, as disclosed by Massoudi, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment, wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination, a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination; and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal, wherein the assessment examination is a test for assessment of a vocational candidate, as disclosed by Brinton, to provide a baseline course for a system and method to assist an instructor in managing, understanding, and drawing conclusions about learning behavior. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a baseline course to improve understanding when superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 4, Massoudi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the graphical user interface further comprises one or more instructional elements comprising indicia ([0033], “the ... document, is ... displayed .... using a ... graphical user interface” Examiner notes that indicia is inherently part of a graphical user interface.) that represent instructions to complete ([0018], “FIG. 1 shows … a … user-computer interaction … through superimpose/overlay of interaction widgets on top of content blocks of any … instructions, instructional manual”) the virtual assessment.
Brinton discloses
the virtual assessment ([0090], “To facilitate assessment creation, the Assessment Manager module includes a graphical user interface”).
Massoudi and Brinton combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to assist instructors in understanding learning behavior. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising: displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents; receiving a signal indicative of placement onto the display screen above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, wherein the graphical user interface further comprises one or more instructional elements comprising indicia, that represent instructions to complete, as disclosed by Massoudi, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment, wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination, a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination; and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal, the virtual assessment, as disclosed by Brinton, to provide an assessment manager and a graphical user interface for a system and method to assist an instructor in managing, understanding, and drawing conclusions about the learning behavior. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an assessment manager to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 5, Massoudi discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitations.
further comprising: generating an audio file using a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech of the instructions to complete the virtual assessment ([0018], “FIG. 1 shows … a … user-computer interaction … through superimpose/overlay of interaction widgets on top of content blocks of any … instructions, instructional manual”);
and audibly playing the audio file.
Brinton discloses
further comprising: generating an audio file using ([0018], “The course material can include … audio files”)
Massoudi and Brinton combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to assist instructors in understanding learning behavior. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising: displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents; receiving a signal indicative of placement onto the display screen above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, wherein the graphical user interface further comprises one or more instructional elements comprising indicia, that represent instructions to complete, the instructions to complete the virtual assessment, as disclosed by Massoudi, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment, wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination, a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination; and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal, the virtual assessment, further comprising: generating an audio file using, as disclosed by Brinton, to provide course material and audio files for a system and method to assist an instructor in managing, understanding, and drawing conclusions about the learning behavior. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of course materials to teach the method of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
Shi discloses
a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech of ([0045], “The output device could be … an audio device” Examiner notes that a speech synthesizer is an output audio device.) and audibly playing the audio file ([0045], “The output device … provides end-users with physical feedback in the form of audio”).
Massoudi and Shi combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising: displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents; receiving a signal indicative of placement onto the display screen above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a plurality of graphical elements that each represent, receiving a plurality of signals indicative of placement of, the display screen above a corresponding graphical element of the plurality of graphical elements; repositioning a graphical element of the plurality of graphical elements responsive to physical movement of a respective physical object, wherein the graphical user interface further comprises one or more instructional elements comprising indicia that represent instructions to complete, as disclosed by Massoudi, respective physical objects onto, a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech of, and audibly playing the audio file, as disclosed by Shi, to provide an audio device and audio feedback for a system and method to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects in a highly interactive and free play format. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an audio device and audio feedback to teach the method of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 6, Massoudi does not disclose further comprising: generating an audio file using a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech that describe the logical problem; and audibly playing the audio file responsive to receiving the signal.
Brinton discloses
further comprising: generating an audio file using ([0018], “The course material can include … audio files”) the logical problem ([0090], “the Assessment Manager module includes a graphical user interface ..., which can be used to author ... questions” Examiner notes that a logical problem is a type of question.);
Massoudi and Brinton combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to assist instructors in understanding learning behavior. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising: displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents; receiving a signal indicative of placement onto the display screen above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, as disclosed by Massoudi, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment, wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination, a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination; and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal, further comprising: generating an audio file using, the logical problem, as disclosed by Brinton, to provide an assessment manager, graphical user interface, audio file, and course material for a system and method to assist an instructor in managing, understanding, and drawing conclusions about the learning behavior. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an assessment manager to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
Shi discloses
a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech that describe ([0045], “The output device could be … an audio device” Examiner notes that a speech synthesizer is an output audio device.)
and audibly playing the audio file responsive to receiving the signal ([0045], “The output device … provides end-users with physical feedback in the form of audio”).
Massoudi and Shi combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising: displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents; receiving a signal indicative of placement onto the display screen above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, as disclosed by Massoudi, of a physical object, a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech that describe, and audibly playing the audio file responsive to receiving the signal, as disclosed by Shi, to provide physical objects, an interactive surface, an audio device, and audio feedback for a system and method to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects in a highly interactive and free play format. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of physical objects, interactive surfaces, and an audio device with feedback capabilities to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 7, Massoudi discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitations.
further comprising: generating an audio file using a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech that describe a position of the graphical element ([0066], “The … widget can … invoke specific API’s on the processor” Examiner notes that an API can be used to position a widget, which is referred to as a graphical element in the claimed invention.);
and audibly playing the audio file responsive to repositioning the graphical element.
Brinton discloses
further comprising: generating an audio file using ([0018], “The course material can include … audio files”)
Massoudi and Brinton combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to assist instructors in understanding learning behavior. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising: displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents; receiving a signal indicative of placement onto the display screen above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, a position of the graphical element, as disclosed by Massoudi, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment, wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination, a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination; and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal, further comprising: generating an audio file using, as disclosed by Brinton, to provide an assessment manager, a graphical user interface, assessment course material, comprehensive exams, test results, and an audio file for a system and method to assist an instructor in managing, understanding, and drawing conclusions about the learning behavior. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an assessment manager and audio files to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
Shi discloses
a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech that describe ([0045], “The output device could be … an audio device” Examiner notes that a speech synthesizer is an output audio device.)
and audibly playing the audio file responsive to repositioning the graphical element ([0045], “The output device … provides end-users with physical feedback in the form of audio”).
Massoudi and Shi combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising: displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents; receiving a signal indicative of placement onto the display screen above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, as disclosed by Massoudi, of a physical object, a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech that describe, and audibly playing the audio file responsive to repositioning the graphical element, as disclosed by Shi, to provide physical objects, an interactive surface, an audio device, and audio feedback for a system and method to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects in a highly interactive and free play format. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of physical objects, interactive surfaces, and an audio device with feedback capabilities to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 8, Massoudi does not disclose wherein the physical object comprises: a partially conductive base configured to alter capacitance of a portion of the display device; and an upper portion disposed on the partially conductive base, wherein the upper portion is a physical representation of the graphical element, and wherein the physical representation includes at least one or more of texture that represents the graphical element, features identifiable by touch that represent the graphical element, or braille embossing that describes at least a portion of the graphical element.
Shi discloses
wherein the physical object comprises ([0004], “The present invention relates to … an interactive surface using physical objects”): a partially conductive base configured to alter capacitance of a portion of the display device ([0034], “an electric conductive material … to alter the capacitive property of an object can … be used”);
and an upper portion disposed on the partially conductive base ([0034], “an electric conductive material … to alter the capacitive property of an object can … be used”), wherein the upper portion is a physical representation of the graphical element, and wherein the physical representation includes at least one or more of texture that represents the graphical element, features identifiable by touch that represent the graphical element, or braille embossing that describes at least a portion of the graphical element ([0034], “the interaction designer ... may ... set other properties available on the widget that may include look and feel properties” Examiner notes that a widget is a graphical element and that feel properties involve the texture experience resulting from the physical act of touching.).
Massoudi and Shi combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising: displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents; receiving a signal indicative of placement onto the display screen above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, as disclosed by Massoudi, of a physical object, wherein the physical object comprises: a partially conductive base configured to alter capacitance of a portion of the display device; and an upper portion disposed on the partially conductive base, wherein the upper portion is a physical representation of the graphical element, and wherein the physical representation includes at least one or more of texture that represents the graphical element, features identifiable by touch that represent the graphical element, or braille embossing that describes at least a portion of the graphical element, as disclosed by Shi, to provide physical objects, an interactive surface, an electric conductive material, and an interaction designer for a system and method to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects in a highly interactive and free play format. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of physical objects, interactive surfaces, electric conductive materials, and an interactive designer to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 9, Massoudi does not disclose further comprising periodically audibly playing synthesized speech that describes a state of the virtual assessment.
Shi discloses
further comprising periodically audibly playing synthesized speech that describes ([0045], “The output device could be … an audio device” Examiner notes that a speech synthesizer is an output audio device.)
Massoudi and Shi combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising: displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents; receiving a signal indicative of placement onto the display screen above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, as disclosed by Massoudi, of a physical object, further comprising periodically audibly playing synthesized speech that describes, as disclosed by Shi, to provide physical objects, an interactive surface, and an audio device for a system and method to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects in a highly interactive and free play format. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of physical objects, interactive surfaces, and an audio device to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
Brinton discloses
a state of the virtual assessment ([0090], “To facilitate assessment creation, the Assessment Manager module includes a graphical user interface”).
Massoudi and Brinton combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to assist instructors in understanding learning behavior. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising: displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents; receiving a signal indicative of placement onto the display screen above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, as disclosed by Massoudi, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment, wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination, a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination; and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal, and a state of the virtual assessment, as disclosed by Brinton, to provide an assessment manager, a graphical user interface, assessment course material, comprehensive exams, and test results for a system and method to assist an instructor in managing, understanding, and drawing conclusions about the learning behavior. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an assessment manager to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 10, Massoudi does not disclose further comprising periodically applying haptic feedback responsive to movement of the physical object on the display screen.
Shi discloses
further comprising periodically applying haptic feedback responsive to movement of the physical object on the display screen ([0045], “Each time a card ... is placed on the interactive surface ..., the processor ... via the capacitance sensor, analyzes the language elements assigned to the cards ... and direct the output device to supply feedback to the end-user. The output device could be LED light(s), an audio device, a video device, a vibration generator device, and typically provides end-users with ... feedback” Examiner notes that LED lights, an audio device, a video device, and a vibration generator device can provide haptic effects.).
Massoudi and Shi combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a computer-implemented method of accessible computer-user interactions, the method comprising: displaying a graphical user interface on a display screen, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents; receiving a signal indicative of placement onto the display screen above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, as disclosed by Massoudi, of a physical object, further comprising periodically applying haptic feedback responsive to movement of the physical object on the display screen, as disclosed by Shi, to provide physical objects, an interactive surface, an audio device, a card, a processor, a capacitance sensor, and an output device for a system and method to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects in a highly interactive and free play format. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of physical objects, interactive surfaces, an audio device, a processor, and a capacitance sensor to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 11, Massoudi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
A system of accessible game-user interactions, the system comprising ([0011], “embodiments of the disclosure relate ... to … user-computer interactions”): a display device configured to display a graphical user interface ([0033], “the ... document, is ... displayed .... using a ... graphical user interface window on a display of a computing device”), the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment, wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents ([0018], “FIG. 1 shows … a method to … superimpose … interaction widgets ” Examiner notes that an interaction widget is a graphical element.) a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination;
a memory with instructions stored thereon ([0081], “the methods ... above may be practiced by a computer system including ... computer memory”);
and a processing device, coupled to the memory and to the display device, wherein the processing device is configured to access the memory and execute the instructions, and wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the processing device, cause the processing device to perform or control performance of operations comprising ([0086], “Computer-executable instructions comprise ... instructions ... which cause a ... computer ... or ... processing device to perform ... functions”): displaying the graphical user interface on the display device ([0033], “the ... document, is ... displayed .... using a ... graphical user interface window on a display of a computing device”);
receiving a signal indicative of placement ([0076], “the widgets … provide a set of general interaction capabilities … These capabilities may include … the ability to capture media (ex. video, pictures, sound)” Examiner notes that capturing media includes the process of receiving signals.) of a physical object onto the display device above the graphical element ([0033], “the ... document, is imported into an Interaction Authoring Tool (IAT) ... and displayed .... using a ... graphical user interface window on a display of a computing device. The IAT … displays … interaction widgets” Examiner notes that an interaction widget is a graphical element.);
repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen ([0066], “The … widget can … invoke specific API’s on the processor” Examiner notes that an API can be used to reposition a widget, which is referred to as a graphical element in the claimed invention.);
and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of: physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal, or the repositioning of the graphical element ([0066], “The … widget can … invoke specific API’s on the processor” Examiner notes that an API can be used to reposition a widget, which is referred to as a graphical element in the claimed invention.).
Brinton discloses
the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment ([0090], “To facilitate assessment creation, the Assessment Manager module includes a graphical user interface”), wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination ([0089], “assessment course material can include … comprehensive exams”), a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination ([0090], “the Assessment Manager module includes a graphical user interface ..., which can be used to author ... questions” Examiner notes that a logical problem is a type of question.);
and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal ([0041], “Behaviors can correlate to potential test results, particularly correct on first attempt (CFA) results … CFA is a binary measure, equal to 1 if the user answered a question correctly on the first attempt, and 0 otherwise” Examiner notes that test results are closely related to an assessment score.),
Massoudi and Brinton combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to assist instructors in understanding learning behavior. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system of accessible game-user interactions, the system comprising: a display device configured to display a graphical user interface, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents, a memory with instructions stored thereon; and a processing device, coupled to the memory and to the display device, wherein the processing device is configured to access the memory and execute the instructions, and wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the processing device, cause the processing device to perform or control performance of operations comprising: displaying the graphical user interface on the display device; receiving a signal indicative of placement, onto the display device above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen; or the repositioning of the graphical element, as disclosed by Massoudi, the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment, wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination, a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination; and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal, as disclosed by Brinton, to provide an assessment manager, a graphical user interface, assessment course material, comprehensive exams, and test results for a system and method to assist an instructor in managing, understanding, and drawing conclusions about the learning behavior. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an assessment manager to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
Shi discloses
of a physical object ([0037], “The embodiments of the present invention provide … a system … using physical objects in conjunction with an interactive surface”)
Massoudi and Shi combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system of accessible game-user interactions, the system comprising: a display device configured to display a graphical user interface, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents, a memory with instructions stored thereon; and a processing device, coupled to the memory and to the display device, wherein the processing device is configured to access the memory and execute the instructions, and wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the processing device, cause the processing device to perform or control performance of operations comprising: displaying the graphical user interface on the display device; receiving a signal indicative of placement, onto the display device above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen; or the repositioning of the graphical element, as disclosed by Massoudi, of a physical object, as disclosed by Shi, to provide physical objects and an interactive surface for a system and method to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects in a highly interactive and free play format. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of physical objects and interactive surfaces to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 12, Massoudi does not disclose further comprising an additive or subtractive printing apparatus configured to physically print one or more copies of the physical object.
Shi discloses
further comprising an additive or subtractive printing apparatus configured to physically print one or more copies of the physical object ([0015], “the system includes … physical objects, … each marked with a printed language element” Examiner notes that a printed element is the direct result of being produced by a printing apparatus.).
Massoudi and Shi combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system of accessible game-user interactions, the system comprising: a display device configured to display a graphical user interface, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents, a memory with instructions stored thereon; and a processing device, coupled to the memory and to the display device, wherein the processing device is configured to access the memory and execute the instructions, and wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the processing device, cause the processing device to perform or control performance of operations comprising: displaying the graphical user interface on the display device; receiving a signal indicative of placement, onto the display device above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen; or the repositioning of the graphical element, as disclosed by Massoudi, of a physical object, further comprising an additive or subtractive printing apparatus configured to physically print one or more copies of the physical object, as disclosed by Shi, to provide physical objects marked with a printed element and an interactive surface for a system and method to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects in a highly interactive and free play format. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of physical objects marked with printed elements and interactive surfaces to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 13, Massoudi discloses
wherein the operations further comprise: generating a data file representative of a printing sequence of a copy of the physical object ([0011], “The computer-guided interaction and application interface definitions … are stored in a … computer data store … and … may … be generated”);
and transmitting the data file to the additive or subtractive printing apparatus ([0084], “data links … enable the transport of electronic data between computer systems and … other electronic devices” Examiner notes that a printing apparatus is an electronic device.).
In regards to claim 14, Massoudi does not disclose wherein the physical object comprises: a partially conductive base configured to alter capacitance of a portion of the display device; and an upper portion disposed on the partially conductive base, wherein the upper portion is a physical representation of the graphical element, and wherein the physical representation includes at least one or more of texture that represents the graphical element, features identifiable by touch that represent the graphical element, or braille embossing that describes at least a portion of the graphical element.
Shi discloses
wherein the physical object comprises ([0004], “The present invention relates to … an interactive surface using physical objects”): a partially conductive base configured to alter capacitance of a portion of the display device ([0034], “an electric conductive material … to alter the capacitive property of an object can … be used”);
and an upper portion disposed on the partially conductive base ([0034], “an electric conductive material … to alter the capacitive property of an object can … be used”), wherein the upper portion is a physical representation of the graphical element, and wherein the physical representation includes at least one or more of texture that represents the graphical element, features identifiable by touch that represent the graphical element, or braille embossing that describes at least a portion of the graphical element ([0034], “the interaction designer ... may ... set other properties available on the widget that may include look and feel properties” Examiner notes that a widget is a graphical element and that feel properties involve the texture experience resulting from the physical act of touching.).
Massoudi and Shi combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system of accessible game-user interactions, the system comprising: a display device configured to display a graphical user interface, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents, a memory with instructions stored thereon; and a processing device, coupled to the memory and to the display device, wherein the processing device is configured to access the memory and execute the instructions, and wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the processing device, cause the processing device to perform or control performance of operations comprising: displaying the graphical user interface on the display device; receiving a signal indicative of placement, onto the display device above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen; or the repositioning of the graphical element, as disclosed by Massoudi, of a physical object, wherein the physical object comprises: a partially conductive base configured to alter capacitance of a portion of the display device; and an upper portion disposed on the partially conductive base, wherein the upper portion is a physical representation of the graphical element, and wherein the physical representation includes at least one or more of texture that represents the graphical element, features identifiable by touch that represent the graphical element, or braille embossing that describes at least a portion of the graphical element, as disclosed by Shi, to provide physical objects, an interactive surface, an electric conductive material, and an interaction designer for a system and method to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects in a highly interactive and free play format. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of physical objects, interactive surfaces, electric conductive materials, and an interactive designer to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 15, Massoudi does not disclose wherein the partially conductive base is a 3D printed base having a conductive layer applied thereon.
Shi discloses
wherein the partially conductive base is a 3D printed base having a conductive layer applied thereon ([0034], “an electric conductive material … to alter the capacitive property of an object can … be used” Examiner notes that an electrically conductive material can be used in an object printed in 3D and that an electrically conductive material can have a conductive layer applied to its surface.).
Massoudi and Shi combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system of accessible game-user interactions, the system comprising: a display device configured to display a graphical user interface, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents, a memory with instructions stored thereon; and a processing device, coupled to the memory and to the display device, wherein the processing device is configured to access the memory and execute the instructions, and wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the processing device, cause the processing device to perform or control performance of operations comprising: displaying the graphical user interface on the display device; receiving a signal indicative of placement, onto the display device above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen; or the repositioning of the graphical element, as disclosed by Massoudi, of a physical object, wherein the physical object comprises: a partially conductive base configured to alter capacitance of a portion of the display device; and an upper portion disposed on the partially conductive base, wherein the upper portion is a physical representation of the graphical element, and wherein the physical representation includes at least one or more of texture that represents the graphical element, features identifiable by touch that represent the graphical element, or braille embossing that describes at least a portion of the graphical element, wherein the partially conductive base is a 3D printed base having a conductive layer applied thereon, as disclosed by Shi, to provide physical objects, an interactive surface, an electric conductive material, and an interaction designer for a system and method to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects in a highly interactive and free play format. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of physical objects, interactive surfaces, electric conductive materials, and an interactive designer to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 16, Massoudi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the graphical user interface further comprises one or more instructional elements comprising indicia ([0033], “the ... document, is ... displayed .... using a ... graphical user interface” Examiner notes that indicia is inherently part of a graphical user interface.) that represent instructions to complete ([0018], “FIG. 1 shows … a … user-computer interaction … through superimpose/overlay of interaction widgets on top of content blocks of any … instructions, instructional manual”) the virtual assessment.
Brinton discloses
the virtual assessment ([0090], “To facilitate assessment creation, the Assessment Manager module includes a graphical user interface”).
Massoudi and Brinton combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to assist instructors in understanding learning behavior. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system of accessible game-user interactions, the system comprising: a display device configured to display a graphical user interface, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents, a memory with instructions stored thereon; and a processing device, coupled to the memory and to the display device, wherein the processing device is configured to access the memory and execute the instructions, and wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the processing device, cause the processing device to perform or control performance of operations comprising: displaying the graphical user interface on the display device; receiving a signal indicative of placement, onto the display device above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen; or the repositioning of the graphical element, as disclosed by Massoudi, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment, wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination, a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination; and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal, the virtual assessment, as disclosed by Brinton, to provide an assessment manager and a graphical user interface for a system and method to assist an instructor in managing, understanding, and drawing conclusions about the learning behavior. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an assessment manager to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 17, Massoudi discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the operations further comprise: generating an audio file using a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech of the instructions to complete the virtual assessment ([0018], “FIG. 1 shows … a … user-computer interaction … through superimpose/overlay of interaction widgets on top of content blocks of any … instructions, instructional manual”);
and audibly playing the audio file.
Brinton discloses
wherein the operations further comprise: generating an audio file using ([0018], “The course material can include … audio files”)
Massoudi and Brinton combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to assist instructors in understanding learning behavior. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system of accessible game-user interactions, the system comprising: a display device configured to display a graphical user interface, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents, a memory with instructions stored thereon; and a processing device, coupled to the memory and to the display device, wherein the processing device is configured to access the memory and execute the instructions, and wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the processing device, cause the processing device to perform or control performance of operations comprising: displaying the graphical user interface on the display device; receiving a signal indicative of placement, onto the display device above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen; or the repositioning of the graphical element, as disclosed by Massoudi, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment, wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination, a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination; and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal, the virtual assessment, wherein the operations further comprise: generating an audio file using, as disclosed by Brinton, to provide course material and audio files for a system and method to assist an instructor in managing, understanding, and drawing conclusions about the learning behavior. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of course materials to teach the method of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
Shi discloses
a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech of ([0045], “The output device could be … an audio device” Examiner notes that a speech synthesizer is an output audio device.) and audibly playing the audio file ([0045], “The output device … provides end-users with physical feedback in the form of audio”).
Massoudi and Shi combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system of accessible game-user interactions, the system comprising: a display device configured to display a graphical user interface, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents, a memory with instructions stored thereon; and a processing device, coupled to the memory and to the display device, wherein the processing device is configured to access the memory and execute the instructions, and wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the processing device, cause the processing device to perform or control performance of operations comprising: displaying the graphical user interface on the display device; receiving a signal indicative of placement, onto the display device above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen; or the repositioning of the graphical element, as disclosed by Massoudi, respective physical objects onto, a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech of, and audibly playing the audio file, as disclosed by Shi, to provide an audio device and audio feedback for a system and method to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects in a highly interactive and free play format. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an audio device and audio feedback to teach the method of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 18, Massoudi does not disclose wherein the operations further comprise: generating an audio file using a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech that describe the logical problem; and audibly playing the audio file responsive to receiving the signal.
Brinton discloses
whether the operations further comprise: generating an audio file using ([0018], “The course material can include … audio files”) the logical problem ([0090], “the Assessment Manager module includes a graphical user interface ..., which can be used to author ... questions” Examiner notes that a logical problem is a type of question.);
Massoudi and Brinton combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to assist instructors in understanding learning behavior. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system of accessible game-user interactions, the system comprising: a display device configured to display a graphical user interface, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents, a memory with instructions stored thereon; and a processing device, coupled to the memory and to the display device, wherein the processing device is configured to access the memory and execute the instructions, and wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the processing device, cause the processing device to perform or control performance of operations comprising: displaying the graphical user interface on the display device; receiving a signal indicative of placement, onto the display device above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen; or the repositioning of the graphical element, as disclosed by Massoudi, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment, wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination, a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination; and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal, whether the operations further comprise: generating an audio file using, the logical problem, as disclosed by Brinton, to provide an assessment manager, graphical user interface, audio file, and course material for a system and method to assist an instructor in managing, understanding, and drawing conclusions about the learning behavior. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an assessment manager to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
Shi discloses
a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech that describe ([0045], “The output device could be … an audio device” Examiner notes that a speech synthesizer is an output audio device.)
and audibly playing the audio file responsive to receiving the signal ([0045], “The output device … provides end-users with physical feedback in the form of audio”).
Massoudi and Shi combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system of accessible game-user interactions, the system comprising: a display device configured to display a graphical user interface, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents, a memory with instructions stored thereon; and a processing device, coupled to the memory and to the display device, wherein the processing device is configured to access the memory and execute the instructions, and wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the processing device, cause the processing device to perform or control performance of operations comprising: displaying the graphical user interface on the display device; receiving a signal indicative of placement, onto the display device above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen; or the repositioning of the graphical element, as disclosed by Massoudi, of a physical object, a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech that describe, and audibly playing the audio file responsive to receiving the signal, as disclosed by Shi, to provide physical objects, an interactive surface, an audio device, and audio feedback for a system and method to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects in a highly interactive and free play format. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of physical objects, interactive surfaces, and an audio device with feedback capabilities to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 19, Massoudi discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the operations further comprise: generating an audio file using a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech that describe a position of the graphical element ([0066], “The … widget can … invoke specific API’s on the processor” Examiner notes that an API can be used to position a widget, which is referred to as a graphical element in the claimed invention.);
and audibly playing the audio file responsive to repositioning the graphical element.
Brinton discloses
wherein the operations further comprise: generating an audio file using ([0018], “The course material can include … audio files”)
Massoudi and Brinton combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to assist instructors in understanding learning behavior. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system of accessible game-user interactions, the system comprising: a display device configured to display a graphical user interface, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents, a memory with instructions stored thereon; and a processing device, coupled to the memory and to the display device, wherein the processing device is configured to access the memory and execute the instructions, and wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the processing device, cause the processing device to perform or control performance of operations comprising: displaying the graphical user interface on the display device; receiving a signal indicative of placement, onto the display device above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen; or the repositioning of the graphical element, as disclosed by Massoudi, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment, wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination, a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination; and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal, wherein the operations further comprise: generating an audio file using, as disclosed by Brinton, to provide an assessment manager, a graphical user interface, assessment course material, comprehensive exams, test results, and an audio file for a system and method to assist an instructor in managing, understanding, and drawing conclusions about the learning behavior. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an assessment manager and audio files to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
Shi discloses
a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech that describe ([0045], “The output device could be … an audio device” Examiner notes that a speech synthesizer is an output audio device.)
and audibly playing the audio file responsive to repositioning the graphical element ([0045], “The output device … provides end-users with physical feedback in the form of audio”).
Massoudi and Shi combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system of accessible game-user interactions, the system comprising: a display device configured to display a graphical user interface, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents, a memory with instructions stored thereon; and a processing device, coupled to the memory and to the display device, wherein the processing device is configured to access the memory and execute the instructions, and wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the processing device, cause the processing device to perform or control performance of operations comprising: displaying the graphical user interface on the display device; receiving a signal indicative of placement, onto the display device above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen; or the repositioning of the graphical element, as disclosed by Massoudi, of a physical object, a speech synthesizer, wherein the audio file comprises one or more segments of synthesized speech that describe, and audibly playing the audio file responsive to repositioning the graphical element, as disclosed by Shi, to provide physical objects, an interactive surface, an audio device, and audio feedback for a system and method to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects in a highly interactive and free play format. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of physical objects, interactive surfaces, and an audio device with feedback capabilities to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
In regards to claim 20, Massoudi does not disclose wherein the operations further comprise: periodically audibly playing synthesized speech that describes a state of the virtual assessment; and periodically applying haptic feedback responsive to movement of the physical object on the display screen.
Shi discloses
wherein the operations further comprise periodically audibly playing synthesized speech that describes ([0045], “The output device could be … an audio device” Examiner notes that a speech synthesizer is an output audio device.)
and periodically applying haptic feedback responsive to movement of the physical object on the display screen ([0045], “Each time a card ... is placed on the interactive surface ..., the processor ... via the capacitance sensor, analyzes the language elements assigned to the cards ... and direct the output device to supply feedback to the end-user. The output device could be LED light(s), an audio device, a video device, a vibration generator device, and typically provides end-users with ... feedback” Examiner notes that LED light(s), an audio device, a video device, and a vibration generator device can provide haptic effects.).
Massoudi and Shi combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system of accessible game-user interactions, the system comprising: a display device configured to display a graphical user interface, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents, a memory with instructions stored thereon; and a processing device, coupled to the memory and to the display device, wherein the processing device is configured to access the memory and execute the instructions, and wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the processing device, cause the processing device to perform or control performance of operations comprising: displaying the graphical user interface on the display device; receiving a signal indicative of placement, onto the display device above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen; or the repositioning of the graphical element, as disclosed by Massoudi, of a physical object, wherein the operations further comprise: periodically audibly playing synthesized speech that describes, and periodically applying haptic feedback responsive to movement of the physical object on the display screen, as disclosed by Shi, to provide physical objects, an interactive surface, an audio device, a processor, a capacitance sensor, LED lights, a video device, and a vibration generator device for a system and method to enable a user to learn a language using physical objects in a highly interactive and free play format. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of physical objects, interactive surfaces, an audio device, a processor, a capacitance sensor, LED lights, and vibration generator device to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
Brinton discloses
a state of the virtual assessment ([0090], “To facilitate assessment creation, the Assessment Manager module includes a graphical user interface”).
Massoudi and Brinton combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of computer-user interaction widgets and methods to assist instructors in understanding learning behavior. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system of accessible game-user interactions, the system comprising: a display device configured to display a graphical user interface, and wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a graphical element that represents, a memory with instructions stored thereon; and a processing device, coupled to the memory and to the display device, wherein the processing device is configured to access the memory and execute the instructions, and wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the processing device, cause the processing device to perform or control performance of operations comprising: displaying the graphical user interface on the display device; receiving a signal indicative of placement, onto the display device above the graphical element; repositioning the graphical element responsive to physical movement of the physical object on the display screen; or the repositioning of the graphical element, as disclosed by Massoudi, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a virtual assessment, wherein the virtual assessment is representative of an assessment examination, a portion of a logical problem of the assessment examination; and generating a portion of an assessment score based at least in part on one or more of physical movement of the physical object on the display screen, the signal, and a state of the virtual assessment, as disclosed by Brinton, to provide an assessment manager, a graphical user interface, assessment course material, comprehensive exams, and test results for a system and method to assist an instructor in managing, understanding, and drawing conclusions about the learning behavior. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an assessment manager to improve the effectiveness of superimposing computer-user interaction widgets.
Contact Information
examiner should be directed to Lisa Antoine whose telephone number is
(571) 272-4252 and whose email address is lantoine@uspto.gov. The examiner can be reached Monday-Thursday, 7:30 am – 5:30 pm CT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Xuan Thai, can be reached on (571) 272-7147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Publication Information
obtained from the Patent Center. Unpublished application information in the Patent
Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in the
Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about the
Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in
DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC)
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LISA H ANTOINE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715