DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the remarks filed on January 21, 2026 for the application filed October 20, 2022. Claims 1, 12, and 22 have been amended. Claims 2, 3, and 13 have been canceled. Claims 1, 4-12, 14-19, and 22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 8, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et al. (CN110856273A) in view of Liu (US9877198B1).
Regarding claim 1, Hao teaches a method at a data management node, comprising: receiving a first message including an identity of a first gateway from the first gateway (Page 13, Paragraphs 10, 11: S407, the MME acquires the subscription data of the terminal from the UDM network element and the HSS. In this embodiment of the present application, the subscription data of the terminal includes information of one or more SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the DNN, which is not specifically limited in this embodiment of the present application. Page 15, Paragraphs 2, 3: s412, the MME sends indication information to the UDM network element + HSS, so that the UDM network element + HSS receives the indication information from the MME, and the indication information is used for indicating the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element selected by the MME. For example, the indication information may be, for example, information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element and a first DNN of the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element.)
wherein the first gateway serves a session of a terminal device and the terminal device accesses to a network from a second gateway (Page 14, Paragraph 10; Page 15, Paragraph 1: Optionally, it is considered that when the terminal accesses the 3GPP side and the non-3GPP side simultaneously in the 5G network and there are PDU sessions on the 3GPP side and the non-3GPP side, respectively, there may be a case where the same DNN but the terminal accesses different SMF network element + PGW-C network elements on the 3GPP side and the non-3GPP side. When the terminal is handed over to the 4G network, the PDU session on the non-3GPP side may also be handed over to the 3GPP side of the 4G network. When a subsequent terminal wishes to switch from the 3GPP side of the 4G network to the non-3GPP side of the 4G network (for example, when a subsequent wireless fidelity (WIFI) signal is lost), an authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) server (server) may obtain subscription information of the terminal from the UDM network element + HSS, and the subscription data of the terminal stored in the UDM network element + HSS and the DNN/APN may correspond to information of different SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements, at this time, when a trusted non-3GPP (trusted non-3GPP) access device or an evolved packet data gateway (ePDG) may obtain the subscription data of the terminal from the server, and when an SMF + PGW-C network element is selected according to the subscription data of the terminal, a problem may occur that the network element selected by the 3GPP side of the 4G network is different from the network element selected by the 3GPP + PGW-C network element, the principle that different PDN connections of a terminal corresponding to the same APN can only be served by one SMF network element + PGW-C network element in the existing 4G network is not met, which may further cause handover failure. Page 15, Paragraph 4: In this way, after the UDM network element + HSS obtains the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element selected by the MME, the information of the other SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements, except the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element, in the information of the plurality of SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN may be deleted; or marking the information of the SMF network element + PGW-C network elements other than the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element in the information of the plurality of SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN as unavailable. Furthermore, when switching to the non-3GPP side in the subsequent process, the subscription data of the terminal sent to the AAA server by the UDM network element and the HSS is the information of the first SMF network element and the PGW-C network element under the DNN; or, the UDM network element + HSS sends the marked information of the SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN to the AAA server, wherein the information of the SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements is the information of other SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements except the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network elements; or the UDM network element + HSS sends the subscription data of the undeleted or unmarked terminal to the AAA server, but carries information indicating that the MME has selected the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element, and so on, so that the same SMF network element + PGW-C network element as the 3GPP side is selected for the same APN/DNN at the non-3GPP side. That is to say, it can be ensured that different PDN connections of a terminal corresponding to the same APN can only be served by one SMF network element + PGW-C network element, thereby avoiding a problem of handover failure that may be caused.)
and sending a second message including the identity of the first gateway to an authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) server, wherein the first message further includes a first indication that the terminal device accesses to the network from the second gateway (Page 15, Paragraph 4: In this way, after the UDM network element + HSS obtains the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element selected by the MME, the information of the other SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements, except the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element, in the information of the plurality of SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN may be deleted; or marking the information of the SMF network element + PGW-C network elements other than the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element in the information of the plurality of SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN as unavailable. Furthermore, when switching to the non-3GPP side in the subsequent process, the subscription data of the terminal sent to the AAA server by the UDM network element and the HSS is the information of the first SMF network element and the PGW-C network element under the DNN; or, the UDM network element + HSS sends the marked information of the SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN to the AAA server, wherein the information of the SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements is the information of other SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements except the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network elements; or the UDM network element + HSS sends the subscription data of the undeleted or unmarked terminal to the AAA server, but carries information indicating that the MME has selected the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element, and so on, so that the same SMF network element + PGW-C network element as the 3GPP side is selected for the same APN/DNN at the non-3GPP side. That is to say, it can be ensured that different PDN connections of a terminal corresponding to the same APN can only be served by one SMF network element + PGW-C network element, thereby avoiding a problem of handover failure that may be caused.)
wherein the second message further includes a second indication for indicating the AAA server to suppress a request towards the second gateway (Page 15, Paragraph 4: In this way, after the UDM network element + HSS obtains the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element selected by the MME, the information of the other SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements, except the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element, in the information of the plurality of SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN may be deleted; or marking the information of the SMF network element + PGW-C network elements other than the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element in the information of the plurality of SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN as unavailable. Furthermore, when switching to the non-3GPP side in the subsequent process, the subscription data of the terminal sent to the AAA server by the UDM network element and the HSS is the information of the first SMF network element and the PGW-C network element under the DNN; or, the UDM network element + HSS sends the marked information of the SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN to the AAA server, wherein the information of the SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements is the information of other SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements except the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network elements; or the UDM network element + HSS sends the subscription data of the undeleted or unmarked terminal to the AAA server, but carries information indicating that the MME has selected the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element, and so on, so that the same SMF network element + PGW-C network element as the 3GPP side is selected for the same APN/DNN at the non-3GPP side. That is to say, it can be ensured that different PDN connections of a terminal corresponding to the same APN can only be served by one SMF network element + PGW-C network element, thereby avoiding a problem of handover failure that may be caused.)
Hao does not explicitly teach wherein the wherein the request is a re-authorization request
However, Liu teaches wherein the request is a re-authorization request (Col 2, lines 21-27: In some cases, however, a UE attempting to access a core network through WLAN or similar access network may be denied authorization. The denial may be for a variety of reasons and may be temporary, that is, for the present time, or it may be that the UE will not be allowed access at any time. In either case, it is typical for the UE to attempt access again. Col 4, lines 9-15: A UE attempting to access a communication network may be denied access for one reason or another. When this occurs, the UE frequently re-attempts access either with or without querying the user to determine if a re-attempt is desirable. At times, however, the re-attempt is likely or even certain to be unsuccessful, perhaps for the reason it was unsuccessful the first time. Col 5, lines 34-49: In general, when a UE attempts to access a core network via an untrusted access network, it will send a request message though the access network. When the request reaches a gateway node, for example an ePDG such as gateway node 205 shown in FIG. 2, an authentication protocol and perhaps other protocols are executed and a determination is made as to whether to grant access to the UE. A response message is then sent reporting to the UE the results of this determination. If the result was positive, further communications will usually occur so that access is effectuated. If, on the other hand, the UE is notified that access has been denied, there may be no further communication. The UE, however, either automatically or based on some user action, may make an additional access attempt. In some cases the access network may also re-attempt UE access. Col 5, lines 51-52: the reason for access being denied may still exist and the subsequent attempt will also fail. Col 5, lines 61-64: When a UE's access attempt, as alluded to above, gateway node 205 either executes an authentication protocol or requests that another node, such as a separate AAA server, do so. Col 7, lines 18-22: Upon receiving message 420 the ePDG 410 will determine whether the UE 405 is to be authorized for access to the core network, for example by communicating with an AAA server (not shown). This determination may be conveyed back to the UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the request is a re-authorization request, as taught by Liu in the system of Hao, so that the request for re-attempt is denied since the reasons for denying authorization such as establishing communication sessions with a cellular network base station and a WLAN access point, may still prevail (Liu: Col 2 lines 6-27, Col 5, lines 34-52).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hao and Liu teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Hao further teaches wherein the second message further includes a second indication for indicating that the terminal device accesses to the network from the second gateway (Page 15, Paragraph 4: Furthermore, when switching to the non-3GPP side in the subsequent process, the subscription data of the terminal sent to the AAA server by the UDM network element and the HSS is the information of the first SMF network element and the PGW-C network element under the DNN; or, the UDM network element + HSS sends the marked information of the SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN to the AAA server, wherein the information of the SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements is the information of other SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements except the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network elements; or the UDM network element + HSS sends the subscription data of the undeleted or unmarked terminal to the AAA server, but carries information indicating that the MME has selected the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element, and so on, so that the same SMF network element + PGW-C network element as the 3GPP side is selected for the same APN/DNN at the non-3GPP side. That is to say, it can be ensured that different PDN connections of a terminal corresponding to the same APN can only be served by one SMF network element + PGW-C network element, thereby avoiding a problem of handover failure that may be caused.)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hao and Liu teaches the method according to claim 1 further comprising: (see rejection for claim 1);
Hao further teaches storing the identity of the first gateway (Page 15, Paragraphs 2, 3: s412, the MME sends indication information to the UDM network element + HSS, so that the UDM network element + HSS receives the indication information from the MME, and the indication information is used for indicating the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element selected by the MME. For example, the indication information may be, for example, information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element and a first DNN of the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element. Page 15, Paragraph 4: In this way, after the UDM network element + HSS obtains the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element selected by the MME, the information of the other SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements, except the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element, in the information of the plurality of SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN may be deleted; or marking the information of the SMF network element + PGW-C network elements other than the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element in the information of the plurality of SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN as unavailable. Furthermore, when switching to the non-3GPP side in the subsequent process, the subscription data of the terminal sent to the AAA server by the UDM network element and the HSS is the information of the first SMF network element and the PGW-C network element under the DNN; or the UDM network element + HSS sends the subscription data of the undeleted or unmarked terminal to the AAA server, but carries information indicating that the MME has selected the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element, and so on, so that the same SMF network element + PGW-C network element as the 3GPP side is selected for the same APN/DNN at the non-3GPP side.)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hao and Liu teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Hao further teaches wherein the data management node is a combined home subscriber server plus unified data management (HSS+UDM) entity (Page 15, Paragraphs 2, 3: s412, the MME sends indication information to the UDM network element + HSS, so that the UDM network element + HSS receives the indication information from the MME, and the indication information is used for indicating the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element selected by the MME. For example, the indication information may be, for example, information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element and a first DNN of the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element.)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hao and Liu teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Hao further teaches wherein the first gateway is a combined session management function plus packet data network gateway control plane (SMF+PGW-C) entity (Page 15, Paragraphs 2, 3: s412, the MME sends indication information to the UDM network element + HSS, so that the UDM network element + HSS receives the indication information from the MME, and the indication information is used for indicating the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element selected by the MME. For example, the indication information may be, for example, information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element and a first DNN of the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element.)
Regarding claim 22, Hao teaches a data management node, comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, said memory containing instructions executable by said processor, whereby said data management node is operative to (Page 16, Paragraph 2: The operations of the MME in steps S401 to S403 may be executed by the processor 301 in the communication device 300 shown in fig. 3 calling the application program code stored in the memory 303, which is not limited in this embodiment.);
receive a first message including an identity of a first gateway from the first gateway, wherein the first gateway serves a session of a terminal device and the terminal device accesses to a network from a second gateway; and send a second message including the identity of the first gateway to an authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) server, wherein the first message further includes a first indication that the terminal device accesses to the network from the second gateway, wherein the second message further includes a second indication for indicating the AAA server to suppress a request towards the second gateway (see rejection for claim 1);
Hao does not explicitly teach wherein the wherein the request is a re-authorization request
However, Liu teaches wherein the request is a re-authorization request (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the request is a re-authorization request, as taught by Liu in the system of Hao, so that the request for re-attempt is denied since the reasons for denying authorization such as establishing communication sessions with a cellular network base station and a WLAN access point, may still prevail (Liu: Col 2 lines 6-27, Col 5, lines 34-52).
Claims 6, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et al. (CN110856273A) in view of Liu (US9877198B1), and further in view of Non-Patent Literature 3GPP TDoc S2-1905118 “Making S6b Optional for ePDG connected to 5GS” Cisco Systems (Meeting: S2-133 - 2019-05-13 to 2019-05-17), hereinafter Cisco.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hao and Liu teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Hao and Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the identity of the first gateway is a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) or an Internet protocol (IP) address.
However, Cisco teaches wherein the identity of the first gateway is a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) (Page 3: Figure on the right indicates the Nudm_UECM_Registration Request containing the PGW FQDN, which is the identity of the first gateway which is the combined session management function plus packet data network gateway control plane (SMF+PGW-C) entity.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the identity of the first gateway is a fully qualified domain name (FQDN), as taught by Cisco in the combined system of Hao and Liu, so that the identity of the first gateway can be sent to the combined home subscriber server plus unified data management (HSS+UDM) entity UDM+HSS (Cisco: Page 3).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hao and Liu teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Hao and Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the second gateway is an evolved packet data gateway (ePDG).
However, Cisco teaches teach wherein the second gateway is an evolved packet data gateway (ePDG) (Page 3: Figure on the right indicates the ePDG as the second gateway through which the terminal device accesses the network.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the second gateway is an evolved packet data gateway (ePDG), as taught by Cisco in the combined system of Hao and Liu, so that the terminal device can access the network from the second gateway (Cisco: Page 3).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hao and Liu teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Hao and Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the first message is an Nudm_UECMRegistration Request.
However, Cisco teaches wherein the first message is an Nudm_UECMRegistration Request (Page 3: Figure on the right indicates the Nudm_UECM_Registration Request sent by the first gateway which is the combined session management function plus packet data network gateway control plane (SMF+PGW-C) entity, to the combined home subscriber server plus unified data management (HSS+UDM) entity.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first message is an Nudm_UECMRegistration Request, as taught by Cisco in the combined system of Hao and Liu, so that the combined session management function plus packet data network gateway control plane (SMF+PGW-C) entity can provide information such as the identity information of the gateway (Cisco: Page 3).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et al. (CN110856273A) in view of Liu (US9877198B1), and further in view of Murthy et al. (WO2018002438A1).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hao and Liu teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Hao and Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the second message is a Push-Profile-Request message.
However, Murthy teaches wherein the second message is a Push-Profile-Request message (Abstract: Various methods are provided for updating ACCESS POINT NAME subscription configuration information by facilitating enhanced behavior of Push-Profile-Requests. One example method may comprise receiving, at a network element such as an AUTHENTICATION, AUTHORIZATION AND ACCOUNTING server, an indication of modified user data, via a request invoked by a second network element such as an HOME SUBSCRIBER SERVER, utilizing at least one of a first or second newly defined Attribute-Value Pair and updating the user data in accordance with the modified user data. Paragraph [0013]: In some embodiments, the network element is an AAA server and the PPR request is received from a HSS server via a SWx interface. Paragraph [0042]: Figure 3 further shows other communication network architecture in accordance with some embodiments of the present invention. That is, Figure 3 includes an access terminal/user equipment (UE) 10 and an access point (AP) 12, the same or similar to those shown in Figure 1 , and an ePDG 325 configured for non-3G access, for example, to PDN services such as the internet. Conventionally through the SWx interface, 3GPP AAA retrieves security and authorization information stored in HSS. The HSS keeps track of the AAA Identity currently serving a user in the Non-3GPP access network. SWx is also used to update the HSS with PDN-GW Identity information to facilitate handover (HO) between 3GPP and Non-3GPP accesses.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the second message is a Push-Profile-Request message, as taught by Murthy in the combined system of Hao and Liu, so that the Home Subscriber Unit (HSS) can communicate the modification of user data, such as Access Point Name (APN) configuration information to an Authentication, Authorization and Accounting (AAA) server through the Push-Profile- Request (PPR) (Murthy: Abstract, Paragraph [0002]).
Claims 12-15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et al. (CN110856273A) in view of Zuniga et al. (US2018/0198672A1), and further in view of Liu (US9877198B1).
Regarding claim 12, Hao teaches a method at an authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) server, comprising: receiving a message including an identity of a first gateway serving a session of a terminal device from a data management node (Page 14, Paragraph 10; Page 15, Paragraph 1: Optionally, it is considered that when the terminal accesses the 3GPP side and the non-3GPP side simultaneously in the 5G network and there are PDU sessions on the 3GPP side and the non-3GPP side, respectively, there may be a case where the same DNN but the terminal accesses different SMF network element + PGW-C network elements on the 3GPP side and the non-3GPP side. When the terminal is handed over to the 4G network, the PDU session on the non-3GPP side may also be handed over to the 3GPP side of the 4G network. When a subsequent terminal wishes to switch from the 3GPP side of the 4G network to the non-3GPP side of the 4G network (for example, when a subsequent wireless fidelity (WIFI) signal is lost), an authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) server (server) may obtain subscription information of the terminal from the UDM network element + HSS, and the subscription data of the terminal stored in the UDM network element + HSS and the DNN/APN may correspond to information of different SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements, at this time, when a trusted non-3GPP (trusted non-3GPP) access device or an evolved packet data gateway (ePDG) may obtain the subscription data of the terminal from the server, and when an SMF + PGW-C network element is selected according to the subscription data of the terminal, a problem may occur that the network element selected by the 3GPP side of the 4G network is different from the network element selected by the 3GPP + PGW-C network element, the principle that different PDN connections of a terminal corresponding to the same APN can only be served by one SMF network element + PGW-C network element in the existing 4G network is not met, which may further cause handover failure.)
and suppressing a request towards a second gateway based on the message, wherein the terminal device accesses to a network from the second gateway (Page 15, Paragraph 4: In this way, after the UDM network element + HSS obtains the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element selected by the MME, the information of the other SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements, except the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element, in the information of the plurality of SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN may be deleted; or marking the information of the SMF network element + PGW-C network elements other than the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element in the information of the plurality of SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN as unavailable. Furthermore, when switching to the non-3GPP side in the subsequent process, the subscription data of the terminal sent to the AAA server by the UDM network element and the HSS is the information of the first SMF network element and the PGW-C network element under the DNN; or, the UDM network element + HSS sends the marked information of the SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN to the AAA server, wherein the information of the SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements is the information of other SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements except the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network elements; or the UDM network element + HSS sends the subscription data of the undeleted or unmarked terminal to the AAA server, but carries information indicating that the MME has selected the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element, and so on, so that the same SMF network element + PGW-C network element as the 3GPP side is selected for the same APN/DNN at the non-3GPP side. That is to say, it can be ensured that different PDN connections of a terminal corresponding to the same APN can only be served by one SMF network element + PGW-C network element, thereby avoiding a problem of handover failure that may be caused.)
Hao does not explicitly teach wherein the AAA server caches the user profile without any active Packet Data Network (PDN) connections.
However, Zuniga teaches wherein the AAA server caches the user profile without any active Packet Data Network (PDN) connections (Paragraph [0180]: If a UE moves and attaches to another access network, a number of procedures may be performed. For example, a procedure may be performed may be that the PDN connections that the UE may have established may be maintained to, for example, ensure address preservation. Paragraph [0240]: For network-based (PMIPv6) embodiments, D-GW 3304 may inform 3GPP AAA Server 3310 of its PDN GW (D-GW) identity and the APN that may correspond to the UE's PDN connection at 3322. The message may include information that may identify the PLMN in which D-GW 3304 may be located. The information may include the IPv6 prefix that may be assigned to UE 3300. The information may include the IPv6 address. Paragraph [0246]: 3420 D-GW 3406 may inform 3GPP AAA Server 3412 of the D-GW identity and the assigned IPv6 prefix. 3GPP AAA Server 3412 may inform the HSS 3412 of the D-GW identity, assigned IPv6 prefix, and APN associated with the UE's PDN Connection. Paragraph [0426]: At 4922, anchoring D-GW 106 may inform AAA Server/HSS 4912 of the PDN disconnection. This may include information about the PDN terminated connection, APN, the IPv6 prefix that may be assigned to UE 4900, and the anchoring D-GW identity. This may be requested keep HSS 4912 updated on what addresses may be used by UE 4900 and what D-GWs may be anchoring them. This may be done, for example, to provide address continuity in case UE 4900 may move.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the AAA server caches the user profile without any active Packet Data Network (PDN) connections, as taught by Zuniga in the system of Hao, so that the cached user profile can be used for providing address continuity during handover, in case the UE moves (Zuniga: Paragraphs [0180], [0240], [0246], [0426]).
The combination of Hao and Zuniga does not explicitly teach wherein the wherein the request is a re-authorization request
However, Liu teaches wherein the request is a re-authorization request (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the request is a re-authorization request, as taught by Liu in the combined system of Hao and Zuniga, so that the request for re-attempt is denied since the reasons for denying authorization such as establishing communication sessions with a cellular network base station and a WLAN access point, may still prevail (Liu: Col 2 lines 6-27, Col 5, lines 34-52).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Hao, Zuniga, and Liu teaches the method according to claim 12 (see rejection for claim 12);
Hao further teaches wherein the message further includes an indication for indicating the AAA server to suppress the request towards the second gateway (Page 15, Paragraph 4: In this way, after the UDM network element + HSS obtains the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element selected by the MME, the information of the other SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements, except the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element, in the information of the plurality of SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN may be deleted; or marking the information of the SMF network element + PGW-C network elements other than the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element in the information of the plurality of SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN as unavailable. Furthermore, when switching to the non-3GPP side in the subsequent process, the subscription data of the terminal sent to the AAA server by the UDM network element and the HSS is the information of the first SMF network element and the PGW-C network element under the DNN; or, the UDM network element + HSS sends the marked information of the SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements corresponding to the first DNN to the AAA server, wherein the information of the SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements is the information of other SMF network elements + PGW-C network elements except the information of the first SMF network element + PGW-C network elements; or the UDM network element + HSS sends the subscription data of the undeleted or unmarked terminal to the AAA server, but carries information indicating that the MME has selected the first SMF network element + PGW-C network element, and so on, so that the same SMF network element + PGW-C network element as the 3GPP side is selected for the same APN/DNN at the non-3GPP side. That is to say, it can be ensured that different PDN connections of a terminal corresponding to the same APN can only be served by one SMF network element + PGW-C network element, thereby avoiding a problem of handover failure that may be caused.)
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Hao, Zuniga, and Liu teaches the method according to claim 12 (see rejection for claim 12);
Hao further teaches wherein the message further includes an indication for indicating that the terminal device accesses to the network from the second gateway (see rejection for claim 4).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Hao, Zuniga, and Liu teaches the method according to claim 12 further comprising: (see rejection for claim 12);
Hao further teaches storing the identity of the first gateway (see rejection for claim 5).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et al. (CN110856273A) in view of Zuniga et al. (US2018/0198672A1), and Liu (US9877198B1), and further in view of Murthy et al. (WO2018002438A1).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Hao, Zuniga, and Liu teaches the method according to claim 12 (see rejection for claim 12);
The combination of Hao, Zuniga, and Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the message is a Push-Profile-Request message.
However, Murthy teaches wherein the message is a Push-Profile-Request message (see rejection for claim 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the message is a Push-Profile-Request message, as taught by Murthy in the combined system of Hao, Zuniga, and Liu, so that the Home Subscriber Unit (HSS) can communicate the modification of user data, such as Access Point Name (APN) configuration information to an Authentication, Authorization and Accounting (AAA) server through the Push-Profile- Request (PPR) (Murthy: abstract, Paragraph [0002]).
Claims 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et al. (CN110856273A) in view of Zuniga et al. (US2018/0198672A1) and Liu (US9877198B1), and further in view of Non-Patent Literature 3GPP TDoc S2-1905118 “Making S6b Optional for ePDG connected to 5GS” Cisco Systems (Meeting: S2-133 - 2019-05-13 to 2019-05-17), hereinafter Cisco.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Hao, Zuniga, and Liu teaches the method according to claim 12 (see rejection for claim 12);
The combination of Hao, Zuniga, and Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the identity of the first gateway is a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) or an Internet protocol (IP) address.
However, Cisco teaches wherein the identity of the first gateway is a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) (see rejection for claim 6);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the identity of the first gateway is a fully qualified domain name (FQDN), as taught by Cisco in the combined system of Hao, Zuniga, and Liu, so that the identity of the first gateway can be sent to the combined home subscriber server plus unified data management (HSS+UDM) entity UDM+HSS (Cisco: Page 3).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Hao, Zuniga, and Liu teaches the method according to claim 12 (see rejection for claim 12);
Hao further teaches wherein the data management node is a combined home subscriber server plus unified data management (HSS+UDM) entity (see rejection for claim 7);
wherein the first gateway is a combined session management function plus packet data network gateway control plane (SMF+PGW-C) entity (see rejection for claim 8);
The combination of Hao, Zuniga, and Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the second gateway is an evolved packet data gateway (ePDG).
However, Cisco teaches wherein the second gateway is an evolved packet data gateway (ePDG) (see rejection for claim 9);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the second gateway is an evolved packet data gateway (ePDG), as taught by Cisco in the combined system of Hao, Zuniga, and Liu, so that the terminal device can access the network from the second gateway (Cisco: Page 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 21, 2026 with respect to claims 1-5, 7, 8, and 22 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hao et al. (CN110856273A); claims 6, 9, and 10, being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao in view of Non-Patent Literature 3GPP TDoc S2-1905118 “Making S6b Optional for ePDG connected to 5GS” Cisco Systems (Meeting: S2-133 - 2019-05-13 to 2019-05-17), hereinafter Cisco; claim 11 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao in view of Murthy et al. (WO2018002438); claims 12-15 and 17 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao in view of Zuniga et al. (US2018/0198672); claim 16 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao in view of Zuniga, further in view of Murthy; claims 18 and 19 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao in view of Zuniga, and further in view of Cisco, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Liu (US9877198B1). Regarding claims 1, 12, and 22, applicant argues that Hao does not teach all the limitations of amended independent claims 1, 12, and 22. Applicant submits that Hao fails to disclose or suggest “wherein the request is a re-authorization request”, as recited in independent claims 1, 12, and 22. However, Liu teaches “wherein the request is a re-authorization request”. Liu teaches that a UE attempting to access a core network through WLAN or similar access network may be denied authorization for the present time, or it may be that the UE will not be allowed access at any time, and that it is typical for the UE to attempt access again (re-authorization request). When the request reaches a gateway node, such as an ePDG an authentication protocol is executed and a determination is made as to whether to grant access to the UE, and a response message is then sent reporting to the UE the results of this determination. The reason for access being denied may still exist and the subsequent attempt will also fail, and this information is conveyed back to the UE after communication with the AAA server. The combination of Hao and Liu teaches all the limitations of amended independent claims 1 and 22, and the combination of Hao, Zuniga, and Liu teaches all the limitations of amended independent claim 12.
Dependent claims 4-11, 14-19 are also taught by combinations of the cited references.
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461