DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on Jun. 11th 2026 has been entered. Claims 9-21 and 24-25 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification (Title) and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on Dec. 10th 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kub et al. (US 20140264380) in view of Kumabe et al. ("Gallium-nitride-based Heterojunction Bipolar Transistors with Two-dimensional Hole Gas Fabricated by Epitaxial Lift-off Process" Proceedings of the 80th Autumn Meeting of the Japan Society of Applied Physics, 21a-E301-5, 12-395, 2019 from IDS), Beach et al. (US 20050194612) and Iwakami et al. (US 20110233538).
Regarding claim 1, Kub teaches a method (Abstract) for manufacturing a semiconductor device (fig. 1, Field Effect Transistors FET; para. 0026), the method comprising:
forming a p-GaN layer (fig. 1, bottom panel, Nitrogen-Polar GaN and P-type doping; para.0034) on a substrate (substrate; para. 0026), the p-GaN layer (GaN) consisting of p-type GaN (P-type doping GaN; para. 0034) and having an N polar surface (Nitrogen-Polar; para. 0004);
forming an AlGaN layer (AlGaN), the AlGaN layer (AlGaN) having an N polar surface (non-inverted and Nitrogen-Polar; para. 0004);
Kub fails to explicitly teach forming an i-GaN layer on the p-GaN layer, the i-GaN layer consisting of undoped GaN and having an N polar surface;
the AlGaN layer on the i-GaN layer.
However, Kumabe teaches forming an i-GaN layer (Kumabe: fig. 1, UID-GaN; Experiments, para. 1) on the p-GaN layer (Kumabe: p-GaN; Experiments, para. 1, base, similar to GaN of Kub), the i-GaN layer (Kumabe: UID-GaN) consisting of undoped GaN (Kumabe: unintentionally doped UID-GaN; Experiments, para. 1) and having an N polar surface (Kumabe: N-face; Introduction, para. 2);
the AlGaN layer (Kumabe: AlGaN emitter; Experiments, para. 1, similar to AlGaN of Kub) on the i-GaN layer (Kumabe: UID-GaN).
Kumabe and Kub are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transistor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add i-GaN layer as taught by Kumabe.
Doing so would realize a novel structure to improve the DC current (Kumabe: Introduction, para. 2).
Kub in view of Kumabe fails to explicitly teach the AlGaN layer consisting of undoped AlGaN;
oxidizing a surface of the AlGaN layer to form a surface oxidized layer consisting of AlGaON;
forming an electrode on the surface oxidized layer, the electrode comprising an electrode material containing Ni and being in contact with the surface oxidized layer; and
forming an oxide layer in a portion of the electrode in contact with the surface oxidized layer between the electrode and the AlGaN layer, the oxide layer comprising an oxide of the electrode material and being in contact with both the AlGaN layer and the electrode.
However, Beach teaches oxidizing (Beach: fig. 3B, localized oxidation; para. 0063) a surface of the AlGaN layer (Beach: AlGaN; para. 0063, similar to AlGaN of Kub) to form a surface oxidized layer consisting of AlGaON (Beach: localized oxidized AlGaN; para. 0063) including AlGaON (Beach: AlGaON; para. 0063).
Beach, Kumabe and Kub are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transistor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add oxidizing a surface of the AlGaN layer as taught by Beach.
Doing so would realize a localized oxidation to reduce the local density of 2DEG (Beach: para. 0063).
In addition, Kub in view of Kumabe and Beach fails to explicitly teach the AlGaN layer consisting of undoped AlGaN;
forming an electrode on the surface oxidized layer, the electrode comprising an electrode material containing Ni and being in contact with the surface oxidized layer; and
forming an oxide layer in a portion of the electrode in contact with the surface oxidized layer between the electrode and the AlGaN layer, the oxide layer comprising an oxide of the electrode material and being in contact with both the AlGaN layer and the electrode.
However, Iwakami teaches the AlGaN layer (Iwakami: fig. 14, carrier supply layer 22; para. 0022, similar to AlGaN of Kub) consisting of undoped AlGaN (Iwakami: undoped AlGaN; para. 0029);
forming an electrode (Iwakami: fig. 9, NiO film 80, TiN film 51 and Al film 52 for control electrode 5; para. 0064) on the surface oxidized layer (Beach: localized oxidized AlGaN as top of 22 of Iwakami), the electrode (Iwakami: 51, 52) comprising an electrode material (Iwakami: material of Ni, Ti, Al; para. 0064) containing Ni (Iwakami: Ni; para. 0064) and being in contact with the surface oxidized layer (Beach: localized oxidized AlGaN as top of 22 of Iwakami); and
forming an oxide layer (fig. 14, metal oxide semiconductor film 8; para. 0022) in a portion of the electrode (Iwakami: portion of 80) in contact with the surface oxidized layer(Beach: localized oxidized AlGaN as top of 22 of Iwakami) between the electrode (Iwakami: 5 after heat) and the AlGaN layer (Iwakami: 22), the oxide layer (Iwakami: fig. 14, 8) comprising an oxide of the electrode material (Iwakami: fig. 3A, NiO; para. 0038) and being in contact with both the AlGaN layer (Iwakami: 22) and the electrode (Iwakami: 5).
Iwakami, Beach, Kumabe and Kub are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transistor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an oxide layer as taught by Iwakami.
Doing so would realize a metal oxide semiconductor film to reduce the gate leak current and increase reliability (Iwakami: para. 0081).
Regarding claim 10, Kub in view of Kumabe, Beach and Iwakami teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the oxide layer (Iwakami: fig. 14, 8) is in ohmic contact (Iwakami: ohmically connect; para. 0022) with a two-dimensional hole gas (Iwakami: 2DEG layer 211; para. 0083) formed near an interface of the i-GaN layer (Kumabe: UID-GaN as part of Iwakami: carrier travel layer 21; para. 0022, similar to GaN of Kub) with the AlGaN layer (Iwakami: 22).
Regarding claim 11, Kub in view of Kumabe, Beach and Iwakami teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein forming the oxide layer (Iwakami: fig. 14, 8) comprises performing a heating process (Iwakami: heat treatment; para. 0071) to form the oxide layer (Iwakami: 8).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kub in view of Kumabe, Beach and Iwakami as applied to claims 9 above, and further in view of Terano et al. (US 20150179780).
Regarding claim 12, Kub in view of Kumabe, Beach and Iwakami teaches the method according to claim 9 including the p-GaN layer (Kub: fig. 1, GaN).
Kub in view of Kumabe, Beach and Iwakami fails to explicitly teach forming a nucleation layer on the substrate; and
forming a buffer layer on the nucleation layer, wherein the p-GaN layer is formed on the buffer layer.
However, Terano teaches forming a nucleation layer (Terano: fig. 5A, buffer layer 2; para. 0053) on the substrate (Terano: sapphire substrate 1; para. 0053, similar to substrate of Kub); and
forming a buffer layer (Terano: n-type collector layer 3; para. 0053) on the nucleation layer (Terano: 2), wherein the p-GaN layer (Terano: first p-type base layer 4; para. 0053, similar to GaN of Kub) is formed on the buffer layer (Terano: 3).
Terano, Iwakami, Beach, Kumabe and Kub are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transistor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add nucleation layer and a buffer layer as taught by Terano.
Doing so would realize buffer layer structure for easier epitaxially growing nitride semiconductor layers on the substrate (Terano: para. 0126).
Regarding claim 13, Kub in view of Kumabe, Beach, Iwakami and Terano teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the nucleation layer (Terano: fig. 5A, 2) comprises GaN (Terano: undoped GaN; para. 0053) and has a Group V polar plane (Kub: Nitrogen-Polar for above Nitrogen-Polar GaN layer; para. 0004).
Regarding claim 14, Kub in view of Kumabe, Beach, Iwakami and Terano teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the buffer layer (Terano: fig. 5A, 3) comprises GaN (Terano: n-type GaN; para. 0053).
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kub in view of Kumabe and Iwakami.
Regarding claim 15, Kub teaches a semiconductor device (fig. 1, Field Effect Transistors FET; para. 0026) comprising:
a p-GaN layer (fig. 1, bottom panel, Nitrogen-Polar GaN and P-type doping; para.0034) on a substrate (substrate; para. 0026), the p-GaN layer (GaN) consisting of p-type GaN (GaN and P-type doping; para.0034) and having an N polar surface (Nitrogen-Polar; para. 0004);
an AlGaN layer (AlGaN), the AlGaN layer (AlGaN) having an N polar surface (non-inverted and Nitrogen-Polar; para. 0004).
Kub fails to explicitly teach an i-GaN layer on the p-GaN layer, the i-GaN layer consisting of undoped GaN and having an N polar surface;
the AlGaN layer on the i-GaN layer.
However, Kumabe teaches an i-GaN layer (Kumabe: fig. 1, UID-GaN; Experiments, para. 1) on the p-GaN layer (Kumabe: p-GaN; Experiments, para. 1, base, similar to GaN of Kub), the i-GaN layer (Kumabe: UID-GaN) consisting of undoped GaN (Kumabe: unintentionally doped UID-GaN; Experiments, para. 1) and having an N polar surface (Kumabe: N-face; Introduction, para. 2);
the AlGaN layer (Kumabe: AlGaN emitter; Experiments, para. 1, similar to AlGaN of Kub) on the i-GaN layer (Kumabe: UID-GaN).
Kumabe and Kub are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transistor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add i-GaN layer as taught by Kumabe.
Doing so would realize a novel structure to improve the DC current (Kumabe: Introduction, para. 2).
Kub in view of Kumabe fails to explicitly teach the AlGaN layer consisting of undoped AlGaN;
an electrode on the AlGaN layer, the electrode comprising an electrode material containing Ni; and
an oxide layer between the AlGaN layer and the electrode, the oxide layer comprising an oxide of the electrode material and being in contact with both the AlGaN layer and the electrode.
However, Iwakami teaches the AlGaN layer (Iwakami: fig. 14, carrier supply layer 22; para. 0022, similar to AlGaN of Kub) consisting of undoped AlGaN (Iwakami: undoped AlGaN; para. 0029);
an electrode (Iwakami: control electrode 5; para. 0022) on the AlGaN layer (Iwakami: 22), the electrode (Iwakami: 5) comprising an electrode material (Iwakami: fig. 3A, as Ni and Ni/Au/Ti stacked; para. 0046, 0078) containing Ni (Iwakami: Ni; para. 0046); and
an oxide layer (Iwakami: metal oxide semiconductor film 8; para. 0022) between the AlGaN layer (Iwakami: 22) and the electrode (Iwakami: 5), the oxide layer (Iwakami: 8) comprising an oxide of the electrode material (Iwakami: fig. 3A, NiO; para. 0038) and being in contact with both the AlGaN layer (Iwakami: 22) and the electrode (Iwakami: 5).
Iwakami, Kumabe and Kub are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transistor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an oxide layer as taught by Iwakami.
Doing so would realize a metal oxide semiconductor film to reduce the gate leak current and increase reliability (Iwakami: para. 0081).
Regarding claim 16, Kub in view of Kumabe and Iwakami teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 15, wherein the oxide layer (Iwakami: fig. 14, 8) is in ohmic contact (Iwakami: ohmically connect; para. 0022) with a two-dimensional hole gas (Iwakami: 2DEG layer 211; para. 0083) formed near an interface of the i-GaN layer (Kumabe: UID-GaN as part of Iwakami: carrier travel layer 21; para. 0022, similar to GaN of Kub) with the AlGaN layer (Iwakami: 22).
Regarding claim 17, Kub in view of Kumabe and Iwakami teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 15, further comprising a buffer layer (Iwakami: fig. 14, buffer layer 11; para. 0025) on the substrate (Iwakami: substrate 10; para. 0025, similar to substrate of Kub), wherein the p-GaN layer (Iwakami: 21, similar to GaN of Kub) is on the buffer layer (Iwakami: 11).
Regarding claim 18, Kub in view of Kumabe and Iwakami teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 17, wherein the buffer layer (Iwakami: fig. 14, 11) comprises GaN (Iwakami: 11 made of gallium nitride; para. 0025).
Claims 19-21 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terano in view of Morita et al. (US 20080121938), Beach and Iwakami.
Regarding claim 19, Terano teaches a method (Abstract) for manufacturing a semiconductor device (transistor; Abstract), the method comprising:
forming a collector layer (fig. 5A, n-type collector layer 3; para. 0053) on a substrate (sapphire substrate 1; para. 0053), the collector layer (3) consisting of GaN (n-type GaN; para. 0053);
forming a p-base layer (first p-type base layer 4; para. 0053) on the collector layer (3), the p-base layer consisting of p-type GaN (p-type GaN; para. 0053);
forming an emitter layer (second p-type base layer 5 and will add emitter region 8; para. 0056),
forming an emitter electrode (fig. 5E, emitter electrode pattern 9; para. 0057) on the emitter layer (5);
forming a collector electrode (collector electrode 10; para. 0057) electrically connected to the collector layer (3).
Terano fails to explicitly teach forming an i-base layer onthe u-base layer, the i-base layer consisting of undoped GaN and having an N polar surface:
forming the emitter layer on the i-base layer.
However, Kumabe teaches forming an i-base layer (Kumabe: fig. 1, UID-GaN; Experiments, para. 1) on the p-base layer (Kumabe: p-GaN; Experiments, para. 1, base, similar to GaN of Kub), the i-base layer (Kumabe: UID-GaN) consisting of undoped GaN (Kumabe: unintentionally doped UID-GaN; Experiments, para. 1) and having an N polar surface (Kumabe: N-face; Introduction, para. 2):
forming the emitter layer (Kumabe: AlGaN emitter; Experiments, para. 1, similar to AlGaN of Kub) on the i-base layer (Kumabe: UID-GaN).
Kumabe and Kub are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transistor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add i-GaN layer as taught by Kumabe.
Doing so would realize a novel structure to improve the DC current (Kumabe: Introduction, para. 2).
Terano in view of Kumabe fails to explicitly teach the collector layer having an N polar surface;
the p-base layer having an N polar surface;
the emitter layer consisting of undoped AlGaN and having an N polar surface;
oxidizing a surface of the emitter layer positioned around the emitter electrode to form a surface oxidized layer consisting of AlGaON;
forming a base electrode on the surface oxidized layer, the base electrode comprising an electrode material containing Ni and being in contact with the surface oxidized layer;
forming an oxide layer in a portion of the base electrode in contact with the surface oxidized layer between the base electrode and the emitter layer, the oxide layer comprising an oxide of the electrode material and being in contact with both the emitter layer and the base electrode.
However, Morita teaches the collector layer (Morita: collector layer; para. 0026, similar to 3 of Terano) having an N polar surface (Morita: nitrogen face; para. 0026);
the p-base layer (Morita: base layer; para. 0026, similar to 4 of Terano) having an N polar surface (Morita: nitrogen face; para. 0026);
the emitter layer (Morita: emitter layer; para. 0026, similar to 5, 8 of Terano) having an N polar surface (Morita: nitrogen face; para. 0026);
Morita, Kumabe and Terano are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transistor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add collector layer, base layer and emitter layer having an N polar surface as taught by Morita.
Doing so would realize a N polar surface transistor structure that excels in crystallinity can be formed, transistor of higher gain can be realized (Morita: para. 0027).
In addition, Terano in view of Kumabe and Morita fails to explicitly teach the emitter layer consisting of undoped AlGaN;
oxidizing a surface of the emitter layer positioned around the emitter electrode to form a surface oxidized layer consisting of AlGaON;
forming a base electrode on the surface oxidized layer, the base electrode comprising an electrode material containing Ni and being in contact with the surface oxidized layer;
forming an oxide layer in a portion of the base electrode in contact with the surface oxidized layer between the base electrode and the emitter layer, the oxide layer comprising an oxide of the electrode material and being in contact with both the emitter layer and the base electrode.
However, Beach teaches oxidizing (Beach: fig. 3B, localized oxidation; para. 0063) a surface of the emitter layer (Beach: AlGaN; para. 0063, similar to 5 of Terano) positioned around the emitter electrode (Terano: 5 around 9) to form a surface oxidized layer (Beach: localized oxidized AlGaN; para. 0063) consisting of AlGaON (Beach: AlGaON; para. 0063).
Beach, Morita, Kumabe and Terano are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transistor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a third step of oxidizing as taught by Beach.
Doing so would realize a localized oxidation to reduce the local density of 2DEG (Beach: para. 0063).
In addition, Terano in view of Kumabe, Morita and Beach fails to explicitly teach the emitter layer comprising undoped AlGaN;
forming a base electrode on the surface oxidized layer, the base electrode comprising an electrode material containing Ni and being in contact with the surface oxidized layer;
forming an oxide layer in a portion of the base electrode in contact with the surface oxidized layer between the base electrode and the emitter layer, the oxide layer consisting of an oxide of the electrode material and being in contact with both the emitter layer and the base electrode.
However, Iwakami teaches the emitter layer (Iwakami: fig. 14, carrier supply layer 22; para. 0022, similar to 5 of Terano) consisting of undoped AlGaN (Iwakami: undoped AlGaN; para. 0029);
forming a base electrode (Iwakami: fig. 9, NiO film 80, TiN film 51 and Al film 52 for control electrode 5; para. 0064) on the surface oxidized layer (Beach: localized oxidized AlGaN as top of 22 of Iwakami), the base electrode (Iwakami: 80, 51, 52) comprising an electrode material (Iwakami: material of Ni, Ti, Al; para. 0064) containing Ni (Iwakami: Ni; para. 0046) and being in contact with the surface oxidized layer (Beach: localized oxidized AlGaN as top of 22 of Iwakami);
forming an oxide layer (fig. 14, metal oxide semiconductor film 8; para. 0022) in a portion of the base electrode (Iwakami: portion of 80) in contact with the surface oxidized layer (Beach: localized oxidized AlGaN as top of 22 of Iwakami) between the base electrode (Iwakami: 5) and the emitter layer (Iwakami: 22), the oxide layer (Iwakami: 8) comprising an oxide of the electrode material (Iwakami: fig. 3A, NiO; para. 0038) and being in contact with both the emitter layer (Iwakami: 22) and the base electrode (Iwakami: 5).
Iwakami, Beach, Morita, Kumabe and Terano are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transistor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an oxide layer as taught by Iwakami.
Doing so would realize a metal oxide semiconductor film to reduce the gate leak current and increase reliability (Iwakami: para. 0081).
Regarding claim 20, Terano in view of Kumabe, Morita, Beach and Iwakami teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein the oxide layer (Iwakami: fig. 14, 8) is in ohmic contact (Iwakami: ohmically connect; para. 0022) with a two-dimensional hole gas (Iwakami: 2DEG layer 211; para. 0083) formed near an interface of the i-base layer (Kumabe: UID-GaN as part of Iwakami: carrier travel layer 21; para. 0022, similar to GaN of Kub) with the emitter layer (Iwakami: 22).
Regarding claim 21, Terano in view of Kumabe, Morita, Beach and Iwakami teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein forming the oxide layer (Iwakami: fig. 14, 8) comprises performing a heating process (Iwakami: heat treatment; para. 0071) to form the oxide layer (Iwakami: 8).
Regarding claim 24, Terano teaches a semiconductor device (Abstract) comprising:
a collector layer (fig. 5A, n-type collector layer 3; para. 0053) formed on a substrate (sapphire substrate 1; para. 0053), the collector layer (3) consisting of GaN (n-type GaN; para. 0053);
a p-base layer (first p-type base layer 4; para. 0053) formed on the collector layer (3), the p-base layer consisting of p-type GaN (p-type GaN; para. 0053);
an emitter layer (second p-type base layer 5 and will add emitter region 8; para. 0056),
an emitter electrode (fig. 5E, emitter electrode pattern 9; para. 0057) formed on the emitter layer (5);
a base electrode (base electrode 11; para. 0058) formed on the emitter layer (5) around the emitter electrode (9);
a collector electrode (collector electrode 10; para. 0057) electrically connected to the collector layer (3).
Terano fails to explicitly teach an i-base layer on the u-base layer, the i-base layer consisting of undoped GaN and having an N polar surface:
the emitter layer formed on the i-base layer.
However, Kumabe teaches an i-base layer (Kumabe: fig. 1, UID-GaN; Experiments, para. 1) on the p-base layer (Kumabe: p-GaN; Experiments, para. 1, base, similar to GaN of Kub), the i-base layer (Kumabe: UID-GaN) consisting of undoped GaN (Kumabe: unintentionally doped UID-GaN; Experiments, para. 1) and having an N polar surface (Kumabe: N-face; Introduction, para. 2):
the emitter layer (Kumabe: AlGaN emitter; Experiments, para. 1, similar to AlGaN of Kub) formed on the i-base layer (Kumabe: UID-GaN).
Kumabe and Kub are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transistor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add i-GaN layer as taught by Kumabe.
Doing so would realize a novel structure to improve the DC current (Kumabe: Introduction, para. 2).
Terano in view of Kumabe fails to explicitly teach the collector layer having an N polar surface;
the p-base layer having an N polar surface;
the emitter layer having an N polar surface;
However, Morita teaches the collector layer (Morita: collector layer; para. 0026, similar to 3 of Terano) having an N polar surface (Morita: nitrogen face; para. 0026);
the base layer (Morita: base layer; para. 0026, similar to 4 of Terano) having an N polar surface (Morita: nitrogen face; para. 0026);
the emitter layer (Morita: emitter layer; para. 0026, similar to 5, 8 of Terano) having an N polar surface (Morita: nitrogen face; para. 0026);
Morita, Kumabe and Terano are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transistor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add collector layer, base layer and emitter layer having an N polar surface as taught by Morita.
Doing so would realize a N polar surface transistor structure that excels in crystallinity can be formed, transistor of higher gain can be realized (Morita: para. 0027).
In addition, Terano in view of Kumabe and Morita fails to explicitly teach the emitter layer comprising undoped AlGaN;
the base electrode comprising an electrode material containing Ni;
an oxide layer formed between the emitter layer and the base electrode, the oxide layer comprising an oxide of the electrode material and being in contact with both the emitter layer and the base electrode.
However, Iwakami teaches the emitter layer (Iwakami: fig. 14, carrier supply layer 22; para. 0022, similar to 5 of Terano) consisting of undoped AlGaN (Iwakami: undoped AlGaN; para. 0029);
the base electrode (Iwakami: fig. 9, NiO film 80, TiN film 51 and Al film 52 for control electrode 5; para. 0064) comprising an electrode material (Iwakami: material of Ni, Ti, Al; para. 0064) containing Ni (Iwakami: Ni; para. 0046);
an oxide layer (fig. 14, metal oxide semiconductor film 8; para. 0022) formed between the emitter layer (Iwakami: 22) and the base electrode (Iwakami: 5), the oxide layer (Iwakami: 8) comprising an oxide of the electrode material (Iwakami: fig. 3A, NiO; para. 0038) and being in contact with both the emitter layer (Iwakami: 22) and the base electrode (Iwakami: 5).Iwakami, Beach, Morita, Kumabe and Terano are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transistor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an oxide layer as taught by Iwakami.
Doing so would realize a metal oxide semiconductor film to reduce the gate leak current and increase reliability (Iwakami: para. 0081).
Regarding claim 25, Terano in view of Kumabe, Morita, Beach and Iwakami teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 24, wherein the oxide layer (Iwakami: fig. 14, 8) is in ohmic contact (Iwakami: ohmically connect; para. 0022) with a two-dimensional hole gas (Iwakami: 2DEG layer 211; para. 0083) formed near an interface of the i-base layer (Kumabe: UID-GaN as part of Iwakami: carrier travel layer 21; para. 0022, similar to GaN of Kub) with the emitter layer (Iwakami: 22).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 9-21 and 24-25 of prior art rejections (35 USC 102/103) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHIJUN XU/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/BRIAN TURNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818