DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 12/11/2025. Currently, claims 1, 3-4, 6-13 and 15-20 are pending in the application. Claims 2, 5 and 14 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 11 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LIU et al (CN 207883217 U). An English translation of LIU was attached with the previous office action.
Regarding claim 1, Figures 1-2 of LIU disclose a display panel, comprising:
a base layer (101);
a pixel defining layer (between 0111/0112 and between 0112/0113), which is on the base layer and formed with a plurality of openings (For 0111, 0112 and 0113);
red pixels (0112), green pixels (0111) and blue pixels (0113), which are on the base layer and each are corresponding to one of the plurality of opening; and
spacers (010), which are on the pixel defining layer and each are between the green pixel and the blue pixel adjacent to each other,
wherein the display panel comprises a plurality of spacer units, which are arranged periodically and each comprise several of the spacers, and any two adjacent ones of the plurality of spacer units do not overlap each other (please see the annotated Figure below and only one spacer unit is shown but more can be drawn in the whole device without overlapping each other, Figure 2B is a portion of a big display substrate wherein more spacers are located), wherein each of the plurality of spacer units (please see the annotated Figure below) comprises four spacers, the four spacers enclose in a diamond shape, two arranged diagonally ones of the four spacers are arranged along an extending direction of a first side of the display panel, and the other two spacers of the four spacers are arranged along an extending direction of a second side of the display panel, the first side is connected to the second side, and each of the four spacers is shared by adjacent spacer units (please see the annotated Figure 2D below).
Regarding claim 6, Figures 1-2 of LIU disclose that the display panel according to claim 1, wherein each of the spacers has a rectangular cross-section, and comprises a first edge and a second edge opposite to the first edge, and in the green pixel and the blue pixel, which are adjacent to the spacer, a light emitting region of the green pixel comprises a third edge parallel and opposite to the first edge, and a light emitting region of the blue pixel comprises a fourth edge parallel and opposite to the second edge (please see the above annotated Figure, C1 is green pixel and C3 is blue pixel).
Regarding claim 11, Figures 1-2 of LIU disclose a display apparatus, comprising the display panel according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Figures 1-2 of LIU disclose that the display apparatus according to claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of spacer units comprises four spacers, the four spacers enclose in a diamond shape, two arranged diagonally ones of the four spacers are arranged along an extending direction of a first side of the display panel, and the other two spacers of the four spacers are arranged along an extending direction of a second side of the display panel, and the first side is connected to the second side (please see the above annotated Figure).
Regarding claim 18, Figures 1-2 of LIU disclose that the display apparatus according to claim 11, wherein each of the spacers has a rectangular cross-section, and comprises a first edge and a second edge opposite to the first edge, and in the green pixel and the blue pixel, which are adjacent to the spacer, a light emitting region of the green pixel comprises a third edge parallel and opposite to the first edge, and a light emitting region of the blue pixel comprises a fourth edge parallel and opposite to the second edge (please see the above annotated Figure, C1 is green pixel and C3 is blue pixel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 7-10, 12-13, 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over LIU et al (CN 207883217 U).
Regarding claims 3-4, Figures 1-2 of LIU do not teach that the display panel according to claim 1, wherein a distance between any two spacers in each of the plurality of spacer units is in a range of 100 μm to 500 μm. Or
The display panel according to claim 3, wherein a ratio of a total cross-sectional area of the spacers to an area of an active area of the display panel is less than 0.5%.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the above claimed ranges in order to improve video quality and reduce cost (Page 1 of LIU). Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 7-10, 12-13, 15-16 and 19-20, Figures 1-2 of LIU do not teach that the display panel according to claim 6, wherein a distance between the first edge and the third edge is equal to a distance between the second edge and the fourth edge. Or
The display panel according to claim 6, wherein a distance between the first edge and the third edge is greater than 4 micrometers. Or
The display panel according to claim 1, wherein a cross-sectional area of each of the spacers is less than 130 square micrometers. Or
The display panel according to claim 1, wherein each of the spacers has a cross-section in a shape of a rectangle, and a size of each side of the rectangle is less than 13 μm. Or
The display panel according to claim 6, wherein a distance between the second edge and the fourth edge is greater than 4 micrometers. Or
The display panel according to claim 6, wherein a distance between the second edge and the fourth edge is greater than 4 micrometers. Or
The display apparatus according to claim 11, wherein a distance between any two spacers in each of the plurality of spacer units is in a range of 100 μm to 500 μm. Or
The display apparatus according to claim 15, wherein a ratio of a total cross-sectional area of the spacers to an area of an active area of the display panel is less than 0.5%. or
The display apparatus according to claim 18, wherein a distance between the first edge and the third edge is equal to a distance between the second edge and the fourth edge. Or
The display apparatus according to claim 11, wherein a cross-sectional area of each of the spacers is less than 130 square micrometers.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the above claimed ranges in order to improve video quality and reduce cost (Page 1 of LIU). Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s main argument regarding claim 1 includes: Figures 1-2 of LIU do not teach wherein each of the plurality of spacer units comprises four spacers, the four spacers enclose in a diamond shape, two arranged diagonally ones of the four spacers are arranged along an extending direction of a first side of the display panel, and the other two spacers of the four spacers are arranged along an extending direction of a second side of the display panel, the first side is connected to the second side, and each of the four spacers is shared by adjacent spacer units.
In response, the Examiner respectfully points out that rearranging the spacer units as shown in the annotated Figure 2D of LIU above teaches the limitation of “wherein each of the plurality of spacer units comprises four spacers, the four spacers enclose in a diamond shape, two arranged diagonally ones of the four spacers are arranged along an extending direction of a first side of the display panel, and the other two spacers of the four spacers are arranged along an extending direction of a second side of the display panel, the first side is connected to the second side, and each of the four spacers is shared by adjacent spacer units”.
However, by amending the claim 1 to recite that “each of the diamond shape including plurality of red pixels, green pixels and the blue pixels without any spacer among the pixels” would overcome the teaching of LIU.
Examiner Notes
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. BiocraftLabs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1, 215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
/KHAJA AHMAD/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813