DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on May 04, 2026 for the application filed October 24, 2022. Claims 1, 8, 11, 12, 22, 23, 30, 33, 34, and 44 have been amended. Claims 6, 7, 28, and 29 have been cancelled. Claims 1-5, 8, 10-12, 22-27, 30, 32-34, and 44 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 10-12, 22-27, 30, 32-34, 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US2019/0281487A1) in view of Geirhofer et al. (US2014/0092760A1) and Fong et al. (US2011/0199986A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a method implemented in a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device, WD, the method comprising: configuring a first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), resource in a set of candidate CSI-RS resources, the first CSI-RS resource partially overlapping a second CSI-RS resource in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources, the first CSI-RS resource being associated with a first cell and the second CSI-RS resource being associated with a second cell; and transmitting CSI-RS signaling on the configured first CSI-RS resource (Paragraph [0231]: A method for downlink signaling in a wireless network may include a UE receiving from a base station signaling of an index of a CSI-RS resource, CSI-IM resource, a CQI report, or a CSI process, together with a timing. The method further includes measuring and sending feedback to the base station in accordance with the indexed resource and the timing, assuming a new measurement condition for the indexed resource will be in effect according to the timing, and receiving adapted transmissions from the base station on the indexed CSI-IM resource and/or CSI-RS resource according to the timing. Paragraph [0031]: Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, the first subset of the NZP CSI-RS resources and the second subset of the NZP CSI-RS resources overlap. Paragraph [0211]: In other words, in an embodiment, a plurality of eNBs transmit reference signals on overlapping REs. In particular, a plurality of eNBs transmit the probing reference signal or P-RS described herein on REs specified for use for NZP CSI-RS. Since the reference signals overlap, a UE may perform measurements of both signal and interference on the same resources. Such a scheme may use less overhead than if separate REs are used for signal and interference and may also improve measurement accuracy. Overlapping transmissions from the eNBs may be distinguished from one another by having different scrambling IDs or scrambling sequences. Paragraph [0284]: Case 1-2: IMR and CMR partially overlap. In this scenario, after discounting the serving signal on some IMR REs, the UE obtains interference on additional IMR REs, and potentially on all the IMR REs. Paragraph [0362]: At step 2804, the UE receives an indication of a set of NZP CSI-RS resources for channel measurement (CM) and interference measurement (IM). As an example, the indication of the set of NZP CSI-RS resources for CM and IM may be received by the UE from a network node, such as a NodeB, an eNB, a gNB, or any other suitable type of network node. A first subset of the set of NZP CSI-RS resources may be configured for CM, and a second subset of the set of NZP CSI-RS resources may be configured for IM. In certain embodiments, the indication of the set of NZP CSI-RS resources for CM and IM includes an indication the first subset of the set of NZP CSI-RS resources configured for CM and the second subset of the set of NZP CSI-RS resources configured for IM. As described above, the first subset of the NZP CSI-RS resources and the second subset of the NZP CSI-RS resources might or might not overlap. Paragraph [0250]: Additionally or alternatively, at the network side, the ZP-based IM for a cell may be overlapped with RS transmission(s) of one or more neighboring cells. This may apply to interference from a same cell or a different cell serving multiple UEs on the same time and frequency resources, or on the same frequency resources but separately in time domain (e.g., MU-MIMO). Paragraph [0264]: On the NZP CSI-RSs, the serving cell mutes, while the interferers (which may be the same cell as the serving cell or a different cell than the serving cell) transmit on one of the NZP CSI-RSs and mutes on the other. In this case, the UE assumes no serving signal is transmitted on the NZP CSI-RS for IM, and an interference signal(s) is transmitted on the NZP CSI-RS for IM.)
allocating the resource position for the first CSI-RS resource based on a physical cell identifier
(PCI) (Paragraph [0171]: Block 1502 provides details regarding event 1406 in FIG. 14, where eNB1 and eNB2 jointly decide beamforming reference signal configurations common to both eNBs. At that event, eNB1 sends eNB2 a beamforming reference signal configuration request that may include a periodicity, such as 5 ms, a subframe offset with respect to, for example, a PSS subframe or subframe 0, and RE resources. eNB2 then accepts the request, declines the request, or requests a different configuration. Block 1504 provides details regarding event 1410 in FIG. 14, where eNB2 configures beamforming reference signals for UE2. The configuration may include the periodicity, the subframe offset, the RE resources, an associated physical cell ID/virtual cell ID (PCID/VCID), a power offset, a reference signal MCS, and rate matching information.)
Liu does not explicitly teach the candidate CSI-RS resources in the set being shifted relative to each other within a slot according to an index value, the index value corresponding to a cell; allocating the resource position for the first CSI-RS resource based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) modulus N, N being a number of resource positions for CSI-RS resources in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources.
However, Geirhofer teaches the candidate CSI-RS resources in the set being shifted relative to each other within a slot according to an index value, the index value corresponding to a cell; allocating the resource position for the first CSI-RS resource based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) modulus N, N being a number of resource positions for CSI-RS resources in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources (Paragraph [0054]: each IMR may use the same virtual cell ID as a non-zero power channel state information reference signal (NZP-CSI-RS) with configured index; Paragraph [0055]: the IMR may use the physical cell ID of the serving cell. Paragraph [0056]: Time domain hopping may be beneficially employed with the selection of resource elements changing on a per-subframe basis. The cell ID which configures the IMR resource elements (as described above) may be subframe dependent, i.e., it may change from subframe to subframe. The sequence of cell ID values may follow a signaled or predetermined hopping pattern. Alternatively, the cell ID in a given subframe may be derived based on adding the subframe number (or some function thereof) to a signaled baseline cell ID (modulo the maximum range of cell IDs). Another design objective may be to minimize a worst-case overlap between IMR resource elements associated with different virtual cell IDs. The embodiments herein target a worst case overlap of two resource elements (REs). Paragraph [0057]: Judicious resource element assignment within the two selected ZP-CSI-RS resources according to the “codebook” as illustrated. No two pairs of patterns overlap by more than two resource elements. Paragraph [0060]: FIGS. 5A-B illustrate resource element assignments for two cells. The first cell, in FIG. 5A, is selected for ZP-CSI-RS resources at index 1 and 3, with Pattern 2 of FIG. 4B. The second cell, in FIG. 5B, is selected for ZP-CSI-RS resources at index 1 and 6, with Pattern 4 of FIG. 4B. The Stage 1 selection for the first and second cells, therefore, has one common or overlapping block (resource at index 1). The ZP-CSI-RS resources may overlap in the resource index 1, as illustrated in FIG. 5C. In this example, one resource element (RE) overlaps in ZP-CSI-RS resources of index 1 (shown in ‘OVERLAP’ of FIG. 5C). Paragraph [0062]: In FIG. 5E, cells in the Stage 1 process selected two overlapping resource blocks. For example, a first cell selected resource blocks at index 1 and 3. A second cell selected resource blocks at index 1 and 3. For Stage 2, the first cell selected Pattern 2, and the second cell selected Pattern 4. In this example, both Stage 1 resource blocks (index 1 and 3) overlap. However, because the Stage 2 resource elements are judiciously assigned as shown in Pattern 1 through Pattern 12 in FIGS. 4B and 4C, the resource elements in FIG. 5E may not overlap by more than two resource elements. The resource block at index 1 has an overlap at the top left corner. The resource block at index 3 has an overlap at the bottom right corner. This results in an overlap of only two resource elements (REs), and the constraint for no more than two overlapping resource elements is satisfied. Paragraph [0064]: For example, it is assumed a virtual cell ID=x. The index of the Stage 2 pattern is given by the function: mod(x, 12). )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the candidate CSI-RS resources in the set being shifted relative to each other within a slot according to an index value, the index value corresponding to a cell; allocating the resource position for the first CSI-RS resource based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) modulus N, N being a number of resource positions for CSI-RS resources in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources, as taught by Geirhofer in the system of Liu, so that the candidate resources can be shifted based on the index which indicates the positions of the CSI-RS resources within the slot, and the resource position can be determined based on the cell ID. This will achieve improved performance while avoiding undesirable overlap/interference (Geirhofer: Paragraphs [0050], [0056]- [0060]).
The combination of Liu and Geirhofer does not explicitly teach the index value corresponding to a cell in a CSI-RS reuse group.
However, Fong teaches the index value corresponding to a cell in a CSI-RS reuse group (Paragraph [0056]: each of the neighboring cells may be configured to broadcast CSI-RSs using REs that are not in use by the other neighboring cells within the reuse cluster for CSI-RS transmission. Paragraph [0058]: Accordingly, the illustrated configuration supports up to 4 cells within the CSI-RS reuse cluster. Paragraph [0065]: In some cases, the CSI-RS ports (time/frequency locations) used by different cells and the hopping pattern may be defined based on cell ID. Paragraph [0066]: In the present system, various CSI-RS groups may be defined, with each CSI-RS group including a group of adjacent network cells that may interfere with one another. Paragraph [0071]: In addition to the reuse factor introduced for cells within a CSI-RS group proposed above, another level of reuse factor may be used across adjacent CSI-RS groups. Paragraph [0078]: The same hopping sequence may be used for all cells within a CSI-RS group, with each cell being offset by a different and predefined offset value that corresponds to a logical ID associated with the cell. Different cells within a CSI-RS group have different logical IDs. In one specific implementation, the logical ID is the physical cell ID of the cell. Alternatively, the logical ID may be the logical cell ID of the cell.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the index value corresponding to a cell in a CSI-RS reuse group, as taught by Fong in the combined system of Liu and Geirhofer, so that the hopping pattern/sequence can be based on indexing corresponding to a cell in the CSI-RS group (Fong: Paragraphs [0056], [0058], [0065], [0066], [0078]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong teaches the method of Claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Liu further teaches wherein the first CSI-RS resource partially overlaps the second CSI-RS resource in at least one time-frequency resource within a slot (Paragraph [0271]: Some embodiments apply to scenarios in which NZP CSI-RS CMR and IMR completely overlap and one NZP CSI-RS resource is configured. A UE may assume that a serving signal(s) for the UE is transmitted on the resource according to the configuration/indication, and an interference signal(s) is also transmitted on the resource according to the configuration/indication. In other words, the UE performs CM and IM on the same set of REs of one NZP CSI-RS resource. Throughout this description, the term NZP or NZP CSI-RS may refer to NZP CSI-RS signal, NZP CSI-RS resource, or both NZP CSI-RS signal and NZP CSI-RS resource. In general, the particular meaning will be clear to one of ordinary skill in the art from the context in which the term is used. In some cases, this disclosure specifies a distinction. For example, in the overlapped cases, the NZP signal for CM and NZP signal for IM are on the same NZP resource. Paragraph [0272]: FIG. 23 illustrates an example use case 2300 of overlapped CSI-RS resource for channel and interference, according to certain embodiments of this disclosure. One NZP CSI-RS resource, as an example, may be configured for channel measurement as well as for interference measurement. Paragraph [0284]: Case 1-2: IMR and CMR partially overlap. In this scenario, after discounting the serving signal on some IMR REs, the UE obtains interference on additional IMR REs, and potentially on all the IMR REs. Paragraph [0320]: Therefore, in certain embodiments, a configurable number of slots are supported for time domain channel/interference measurement restriction and time domain measurement reset due to a change in CRI and/or measurement/resource configurations. In some scenarios, a slot value range may include at least {1 slot, unrestricted # of slots}. Linearly increasing numbers of slots may be supported, such as {1, n, 2n, 3n, . . . , unrestricted # of slots}, where n=5 or 10. Nonlinearly increasing numbers of slots may be supported, such as {1, 2, 4, unrestricted # of slots} for 2 bits or {1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, unrestricted # of slots} for 3 bits.)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong teaches the method of Claim 2 (see rejection for claim 2);
Liu further teaches wherein each CSI-RS resource in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources occupies a set of time-frequency resource elements, REs, within a slot and a subset of resource elements of the first CSI-RS resource are occupied by a subset of resource elements of the second CSI-RS resource (Abstract: An embodiment method, by a user equipment (UE), includes performing a channel measurement (CM) on a first subset of a set of non-zero-power (NZP) CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources and an interference measurement (IM) on at least a second subset of the set of NZP CSI-RS resources. Paragraph [0031]: Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, the first subset of the NZP CSI-RS resources and the second subset of the NZP CSI-RS resources overlap. Paragraph [0208]: If CSI-IM is to be used for a UE operating in EBF/FD-MIMO and the CSI-IM is covered by an adjacent eNB's ZP CSI-RS, different CSI-IM REs (in time and/or frequency) may experience different precoding weights. Paragraph [0211]: In other words, in an embodiment, a plurality of eNBs transmit reference signals on overlapping REs. In particular, a plurality of eNBs transmit the probing reference signal or P-RS described herein on REs specified for use for NZP CSI-RS. Since the reference signals overlap, a UE may perform measurements of both signal and interference on the same resources. Such a scheme may use less overhead than if separate REs are used for signal and interference and may also improve measurement accuracy. Overlapping transmissions from the eNBs may be distinguished from one another by having different scrambling IDs or scrambling sequences. Paragraph [0230]: The resource set may be a resource block that includes a set of REs. In certain embodiments, an RE may be defined by a time and frequency resource within a subcarrier and an OFDM symbol.)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong teaches the method of Claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Liu further teaches wherein the first cell is a serving cell and the second cell is a neighboring cell (Paragraph [0250]: Additionally or alternatively, at the network side, the ZP-based IM for a cell may be overlapped with RS transmission(s) of one or more neighboring cells. The RS transmission of a neighboring cell may include NZP CSI-RS, DMRS, or other suitable RS transmissions. The ZP-based IM reflects current or future interference conditions depending on whether the RS is used for current data transmission or future data transmission. In FIG. 20, NZP is transmitted by the neighbor cell, and each RE 2002 is associated with one layer (e.g., no CDM for NZP, and each RE 2002 is for a layer or a port). This solution may be extended to DMRS or CDMed NZP. In certain embodiments, the 4 layers may have different interference to the UE, since each layer may be beamformed differently from each other. This may apply to interference from a same cell or a different cell serving multiple UEs on the same time and frequency resources, or on the same frequency resources but separately in time domain (e.g., MU-MIMO). Paragraph [0248]: Embodiments for IM based on ZP CSI-RS are provided. There are a few example cases. In a first example, IM is based on one ZP CSI-RS. At the network side, the ZP-based IM for a cell may be overlapped with one or more neighboring cells' data transmission. Paragraph [0264]: On the NZP CSI-RSs, the serving cell mutes, while the interferers (which may be the same cell as the serving cell or a different cell than the serving cell) transmit on one of the NZP CSI-RSs and mutes on the other. In this case, the UE assumes no serving signal is transmitted on the NZP CSI-RS for IM, and an interference signal(s) is transmitted on the NZP CSI-RS for IM. If NZP CSI-RS interfering signal information is signaled to the UE, such as scrambling ID, layers/ports, CDM, Pc, such information can also be assumed by the UE (e.g., similar assumptions as CM NZP CSI-RS signal but the assumptions are for IM instead)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong teaches the method of Claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Liu further teaches wherein each candidate CSI-RS resource in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources partially overlaps each of the other candidate CSI-RS resources in the set within a slot (Paragraph [0031]: Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, the first subset of the NZP CSI-RS resources and the second subset of the NZP CSI-RS resources overlap. Paragraph [0271]: Some embodiments apply to scenarios in which NZP CSI-RS CMR and IMR completely overlap and one NZP CSI-RS resource is configured. A UE may assume that a serving signal(s) for the UE is transmitted on the resource according to the configuration/indication, and an interference signal(s) is also transmitted on the resource according to the configuration/indication. In other words, the UE performs CM and IM on the same set of REs of one NZP CSI-RS resource. Throughout this description, the term NZP or NZP CSI-RS may refer to NZP CSI-RS signal, NZP CSI-RS resource, or both NZP CSI-RS signal and NZP CSI-RS resource. In general, the particular meaning will be clear to one of ordinary skill in the art from the context in which the term is used. In some cases, this disclosure specifies a distinction. For example, in the overlapped cases, the NZP signal for CM and NZP signal for IM are on the same NZP resource. Paragraph [0272]: FIG. 23 illustrates an example use case 2300 of overlapped CSI-RS resource for channel and interference, according to certain embodiments of this disclosure. One NZP CSI-RS resource, as an example, may be configured for channel measurement as well as for interference measurement. Paragraph [0284]: Case 1-2: IMR and CMR partially overlap. In this scenario, after discounting the serving signal on some IMR REs, the UE obtains interference on additional IMR REs, and potentially on all the IMR Res. Paragraph [0320]: Therefore, in certain embodiments, a configurable number of slots are supported for time domain channel/interference measurement restriction and time domain measurement reset due to a change in CRI and/or measurement/resource configurations. In some scenarios, a slot value range may include at least {1 slot, unrestricted # of slots}. Linearly increasing numbers of slots may be supported, such as {1, n, 2n, 3n, . . . , unrestricted # of slots}, where n=5 or 10. Nonlinearly increasing numbers of slots may be supported, such as {1, 2, 4, unrestricted # of slots} for 2 bits or {1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, unrestricted # of slots} for 3 bits.)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong teaches the method of Claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Liu further teaches wherein the second CSI-RS resource is based on a PCI associated with the second cell (Paragraph [0171]: Block 1502 provides details regarding event 1406 in FIG. 14, where eNB1 and eNB2 jointly decide beamforming reference signal configurations common to both eNBs. At that event, eNB1 sends eNB2 a beamforming reference signal configuration request that may include a periodicity, such as 5 ms, a subframe offset with respect to, for example, a PSS subframe or subframe 0, and RE resources. eNB2 then accepts the request, declines the request, or requests a different configuration. Block 1504 provides details regarding event 1410 in FIG. 14, where eNB2 configures beamforming reference signals for UE2. The configuration may include the periodicity, the subframe offset, the RE resources, an associated physical cell ID/virtual cell ID (PCID/VCID), a power offset, a reference signal MCS, and rate matching information.)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong teaches the method of Claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the first cell has a corresponding first index value and the second cell has a corresponding second index value, the second index value being different from the first index value.
However, Geirhofer teaches wherein the first cell has a corresponding first index value and the second cell has a corresponding second index value, the second index value being different from the first index value (Paragraph [0057]: In the example of FIG. 4A, ten ZP-CSI-RS resources from index zero through nine are shown. The two resources with index values of 1 and 3 are selected. Paragraph [0060]: FIGS. 5A-B illustrate resource element assignments for two cells. The first cell, in FIG. 5A, is selected for ZP-CSI-RS resources at index 1 and 3, with Pattern 2 of FIG. 4B. The second cell, in FIG. 5B, is selected for ZP-CSI-RS resources at index 1 and 6, with Pattern 4 of FIG. 4B. The Stage 1 selection for the first and second cells, therefore, has one common or overlapping block (resource at index 1). The ZP-CSI-RS resources may overlap in the resource index 1, as illustrated in FIG. 5C. In this example, one resource element (RE) overlaps in ZP-CSI-RS resources of index 1 (shown in ‘OVERLAP’ of FIG. 5C).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first cell has a corresponding first index value and the second cell has a corresponding second index value, the second index value being different from the first index value, as taught by Geirhofer in the system of Liu, so that each index value can correspond to one cell (Geirhofer: Paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong teaches the method of Claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Liu teaches further comprising: applying a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) backoff in a slot on which the CSI-RS signaling is transmitted (Paragraph [0211]: In other words, in an embodiment, a plurality of eNBs transmit reference signals on overlapping REs. In particular, a plurality of eNBs transmit the probing reference signal or P-RS described herein on REs specified for use for NZP CSI-RS. Since the reference signals overlap, a UE may perform measurements of both signal and interference on the same resources. Paragraph [0147]: The coding rate may be chosen to be the lowest coding rate for the associated modulation level, or may be a fixed at a pre-determined coding rate known to the UEs, or may vary dynamically. In other words, the MCS level used for the probing transmissions may or may not be optimal for the channel conditions experienced by the UE, but the probing transmissions may be used to determine an MCS level appropriate for those conditions. Paragraph [0162]: The network may then adjust the MCS in the A-TX transmission accordingly. In another manner, the network does initial data transmission scheduling. After the UE obtains the channel quality estimation from P-TX transmission, the results are compared with the scheduled transmission conditions. The UE may report to the network the UE's recommended MCS adjustment, e.g., +1 or −1 from the initial scheduled value.)
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device, WD, the network node comprising processing circuitry, the processing circuitry configured to cause the network node to (Paragraph [0035]: According to another aspect of this disclosure, a device (e.g., a network node), includes one or more processors and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing programming for execution by the one or more processors, the programming includes instructions to perform the method in any of the preceding aspects.)
configure a first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), resource in a set of candidate CSI-RS resources, the first CSI-RS resource partially overlapping a second CSI-RS resource in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources, the first CSI-RS resource being associated with a first cell and the second CSI-RS resource being associated with a second cell; and transmit CSI-RS signaling on the configured first CSI-RS resource; allocate the resource position for the first CSI-RS resource based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) (see rejection for claim 1).
Liu does not explicitly teach the candidate CSI-RS resources in the set being shifted relative to each other within a slot according to an index value, the index value corresponding to a cell; allocate the resource position for the first CSI-RS resource based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) modulus N, N being a number of resource positions for CSI-RS resources in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources.
However, Geirhofer teaches the candidate CSI-RS resources in the set being shifted relative to each other within a slot according to an index value, the index value corresponding to a cell; allocate the resource position for the first CSI-RS resource based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) modulus N, N being a number of resource positions for CSI-RS resources in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the candidate CSI-RS resources in the set being shifted relative to each other within a slot according to an index value, the index value corresponding to a cell; allocate the resource position for the first CSI-RS resource based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) modulus N, N being a number of resource positions for CSI-RS resources in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources, as taught by Geirhofer in the system of Liu, so that the candidate resources can be shifted based on the index which indicates the positions of the CSI-RS resources within the slot, and the resource position can be determined based on the cell ID. This will achieve improved performance while avoiding undesirable overlap/interference (Geirhofer: Paragraphs [0050], [0056]- [0060]).
The combination of Liu and Geirhofer does not explicitly teach the index value corresponding to a cell in a CSI-RS reuse group.
However, Fong teaches the index value corresponding to a cell in a CSI-RS reuse group (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the index value corresponding to a cell in a CSI-RS reuse group, as taught by Fong in the combined system of Liu and Geirhofer, so that the hopping pattern/sequence can be based on indexing corresponding to a cell in the CSI-RS group (Fong: Paragraphs [0056], [0058], [0065], [0066], [0078]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong teaches the network node of Claim 12, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the network node to (see rejection for claim 12);
Liu further teaches to apply a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) backoff in a slot on which the CSI-RS signaling is transmitted (see rejection for claim 11).
Regarding claim 23, Liu teaches a method implemented in a wireless device, WD, configured to communicate with a network node, the method comprising receiving a configuration of a first channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, resource in a set of candidate CSI-RS resources, the first CSI-RS resource partially overlapping a second CSI-RS resource in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources, the first CSI-RS resource being associated with a first cell and the second CSI-RS resource being associated with a second cell; and receiving CSI-RS signaling on the configured first CSI-RS resource; receiving an allocation of a resource position for the first CSI-RS resource based a physical cell identifier (PCI) (see rejection for claim 1).
Liu does not explicitly teach the candidate CSI-RS resources in the set being shifted relative to each other within a slot according to an index value, the index value corresponding to a cell; receiving an allocation of a resource position for the first CSI-RS resource based a physical cell identifier (PCI) modulus N, N being a number of resource positions for CSI-RS resources in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources.
However, Geirhofer teaches the candidate CSI-RS resources in the set being shifted relative to each other within a slot according to an index value, the index value corresponding to a cell; receiving an allocation of a resource position for the first CSI-RS resource based a physical cell identifier (PCI) modulus N, N being a number of resource positions for CSI-RS resources in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the candidate CSI-RS resources in the set being shifted relative to each other within a slot according to an index value, the index value corresponding to a cell; receiving an allocation of a resource position for the first CSI-RS resource based a physical cell identifier (PCI) modulus N, N being a number of resource positions for CSI-RS resources in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources, as taught by Geirhofer in the system of Liu, so that the candidate resources can be shifted based on the index which indicates the positions of the CSI-RS resources within the slot, and the resource position can be determined based on the cell ID. This will achieve improved performance while avoiding undesirable overlap/interference (Geirhofer: Paragraphs [0050], [0056]- [0060]).
The combination of Liu and Geirhofer does not explicitly teach the index value corresponding to a cell in a CSI-RS reuse group.
However, Fong teaches the index value corresponding to a cell in a CSI-RS reuse group (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the index value corresponding to a cell in a CSI-RS reuse group, as taught by Fong in the combined system of Liu and Geirhofer, so that the hopping pattern/sequence can be based on indexing corresponding to a cell in the CSI-RS group (Fong: Paragraphs [0056], [0058], [0065], [0066], [0078]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong teaches the method of Claim 23 (see rejection for claim 23);
Liu further teaches wherein the first CSI-RS resource partially overlaps the second CSI-RS resource in at least one time-frequency resource within a slot (see rejection for claim 2);
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong teaches the method of Claim 24 (see rejection for claim 24);
Liu further teaches wherein each CSI-RS resource in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources occupies a set of time-frequency resource elements, REs, within a slot and a subset of resource elements of the first CSI-RS resource are occupied by a subset of resource elements of the second CSI-RS resource (see rejection for claim 3).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong teaches the method of Claim 23 (see rejection for claim 23);
Liu further teaches wherein the first cell is a serving cell and the second cell is a neighboring cell (see rejection for claim 4).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong teaches the method of Claim 23 (see rejection for claim 23);
Liu further teaches wherein each candidate CSI-RS resource in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources partially overlaps each of the other candidate CSI-RS resources in the set within a slot (see rejection for claim 5).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong teaches the method of Claim 23 (see rejection for claim 23);
Liu further teaches wherein the second CSI-RS resource is based on a PCI associated with the second cell (see rejection for claim 8).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong teaches the method of Claim 23 (see rejection for claim 23);
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the first cell has a corresponding first index value and the second cell has a corresponding second index value, the second index value being different from the first index value.
However, Geirhofer teaches wherein the first cell has a corresponding first index value and the second cell has a corresponding second index value, the second index value being different from the first index value (see rejection for claim 10);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first cell has a corresponding first index value and the second cell has a corresponding second index value, the second index value being different from the first index value, as taught by Geirhofer in the system of Liu, so that each index value can correspond to one cell (Geirhofer: Paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong teaches the method of Claim 23 (see rejection for claim 23);
Liu further teaches wherein the CSI-RS signaling is received according to a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) backoff (see rejection for claim 11).
Regarding claim 34, Liu teaches a wireless device, WD, configured to communicate with a network node, the WD comprising processing circuitry, the processing circuitry configured to cause the WD to (Paragraph [0021]: According to another aspect of this disclosure, a device (e.g., a user equipment (UE)), includes one or more processors and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing programming for execution by the one or more processors, the programming includes instructions to perform the method in any of the preceding aspects.)
receive a configuration of a first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource in a set of candidate CSI-RS resources, the first CSI-RS resource partially overlapping a second CSI-RS resource in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources, the first CSI-RS resource being associated with a first cell and the second CSI-RS resource being associated with a second cell: and receive CSI-RS signaling on the configured first CSI-RS resource; receive an allocation of a resource position for the first CSI-RS resource based a physical cell identifier (PCI) (see rejection for claim 1).
Liu does not explicitly teach the candidate CSI-RS resources in the set being shifted relative to each other within a slot according to an index value, the index value corresponding to a cell; receive an allocation of a resource position for the first CSI-RS resource based a physical cell identifier (PCI) modulus N, N being a number of resource positions for CSI- RS resources in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources.
However, Geirhofer teaches the candidate CSI-RS resources in the set being shifted relative to each other within a slot according to an index value, the index value corresponding to a cell; receive an allocation of a resource position for the first CSI-RS resource based a physical cell identifier (PCI) modulus N, N being a number of resource positions for CSI- RS resources in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the candidate CSI-RS resources in the set being shifted relative to each other within a slot according to an index value, the index value corresponding to a cell; receive an allocation of a resource position for the first CSI-RS resource based a physical cell identifier (PCI) modulus N, N being a number of resource positions for CSI- RS resources in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources, as taught by Geirhofer in the system of Liu, so that the candidate resources can be shifted based on the index which indicates the positions of the CSI-RS resources within the slot, and the resource position can be determined based on the cell ID. This will achieve improved performance while avoiding undesirable overlap/interference (Geirhofer: Paragraphs [0050], [0056]- [0060]).
The combination of Liu and Geirhofer does not explicitly teach the index value corresponding to a cell in a CSI-RS reuse group.
However, Fong teaches the index value corresponding to a cell in a CSI-RS reuse group see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the index value corresponding to a cell in a CSI-RS reuse group, as taught by Fong in the combined system of Liu and Geirhofer, so that the hopping pattern/sequence can be based on indexing corresponding to a cell in the CSI-RS group. (Fong: Paragraphs [0056], [0058], [0065], [0066], [0078]).
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong teaches the WD of Claim 34 (see rejection for claim 34);
Liu further teaches wherein the CSI-RS signaling is received according to a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) backoff (see rejection for claim 11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 04, 2026 with respect to claims 1-8, 10-12, 22-30, 32-34, and 44 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US2019/0281487A1) in view of Geirhofer et al. (US2014/0092760A1), and Fong et al. (US2011/0199986A1) have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that Geirhofer does not teach the limitation “allocating the resource position for the first CSI-RS resource based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) modulus N, N being a number of resource positions for CSI-RS resources in the set of candidate CSI-RS resources”, as recited in amended independent claim 1, and similar features recited in amended independent claims 12, 23, and 34. However, Geirhofer teaches changing the CSI-RS resources within a slot based on a hopping pattern, which indicates that the CSI-RS resources are shifted relative to each other, based on the pattern. Geirhofer also teaches calculating indexes of the patterns for achieving combinations of resource assignments by applying the modulus function using the cell ID. Given a cell ID, the index of the pattern is selected, and the resource assignment process is completed. Similar to a lookup table, Geirhofer teaches a codebook to assign the patterns. Geirhofer teaches allocating the CSI-RS positions to a cell within a slot based on indexing the positions of the CSI-RS resources relative to each other, by using the cell ID. Geirhofer further teaches that given a cell ID, and a number of patterns or resource positions, the index of the pattern is given by the function mod(a cell ID, a number of patterns). For example if a virtual cell ID=x, the index of the pattern or the resource position is given by the function: mod(x, 12), where 12 is the number of patterns or resource positions.
The combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong teaches amended independent claims 1, 12, 23, and 34. Dependent claims 2-5, 8, 10-11, 22, 24-27, 30, 32-33, and 44 are also taught by the combination of Liu, Geirhofer, and Fong.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461