Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the applicant’s remarks filed 6/26/26.
The applicant submits that the amendments overcome the previous rejection.
The examiner agrees, and the previous rejection is withdrawn. A new basis for rejection appears below as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4 and 16 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by O’Neil, US20230399483A1, and Pampel, US20230223648A1.
Regarding claim 1, O’Neil teaches a battery pack [0002], comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (103); and a pack case (102) in which the plurality of battery cells are accommodated, wherein the pack case includes a potting resin (104) covering all sides of the plurality of battery cells [fig. 3],
the potting resin being filled to a predetermined height between the plurality of battery cells (partially covering)[0025][fig. 3 – 4]
the pack case is integrally formed with the potting resin (integrally formed)[0040]
the potting resin fills a lateral gap between adjacent battery cells (gaps between cells (103) filled with insulating material (104))[0002][0040][fig. 3]
the lateral gap extends from one of the adjacent battery cells to another of the adjacent battery cells (gaps between cells)[fig. 3]; and
the plurality of battery cells comprises the adjacent battery cells (cells (103))[fig. 3]
O’Neil does not teach the potting resin acts as the pack case, and side surfaces of the potting resin are exposed. the potting resin is a single continuous cured resin body that fills the lateral gap between the adjacent battery cells and forms exposed lateral outer side surfaces of the battery pack, such that no interface is present between a resin portion filling the lateral gap and a resin portion forming the exposed lateral outer side surfaces.
Pampel teaches a battery pack (1) comprising a plurality of battery cells (2) and a pack case (5) [fig. 5][fig. 7] wherein the pack case includes a potting resin (expanding or foaming plastic) the potting resin acts as the pack case [0002], and side surfaces of the potting resin are exposed and the potting resin is a single continuous cured resin body that fills the lateral gap between the adjacent battery cells and forms exposed lateral outer side surfaces of the battery pack, such that no interface is present between a resin portion filling the lateral gap and a resin portion forming the exposed lateral outer side surfaces (plastic housing is formed onto cells and then cured)[0020][fig. 5]. Further, Pampel teaches that the potting resin formed as the exposed surfaces of the battery case increases safety and weight reduction [0016][0017]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the potting resin of Pampel into the battery module of O’Neil to increase safety and reduce weight.
Regarding claim 2, combined O’Neil teaches the battery pack according to claim 1.
Further, O’Neil teaches wherein the plurality of battery cells are in the potting resin with upper and lower ends of the battery cells being exposed at least in part (partially covering)[0025](exposed ends)[fig.3]
Regarding claim 3, combined O’Neil teaches the battery pack according to claim 1.
Further, O’Neil teaches wherein an upper surface of the potting resin is lower than an upper end of the plurality of battery cells in a height wise direction of the plurality of battery cells, and wherein a lower surface of the potting resin is than a lower end of the plurality of battery cells in the height wise direction of the plurality of battery cells (partially covering)[0025](exposed ends)[fig.3].
Regarding claim 4, combined O’Neil teaches the battery pack according to claim 1.
Further, O’Neil teaches wherein the potting resin includes silicone resin (silicone)[0029]
Regarding claim 16, combined O’Neil teaches the battery pack according to claim 1.
Further, O’Neil teaches wherein: the potting resin forms a continuous outer surface of the pack case that laterally encloses all of the plurality of battery cells; and the continuous outer surface of the pack case lies outside of an outermost boundary of all of the plurality of battery cells (insulating material (104) fills space between cells (103) and case (102) in a continuous manner)[0025][fig. 3]
Regarding claim 17, combined O’Neil teaches the battery pack according to claim 1.
Further, Pampel teaches wherein the side surfaces of the potting resin form outer side surfaces of the battery pack, and the side surfaces of the potting resin are exposed to an outside of the battery pack [fig. 5][0020].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724