DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 6-10, 12-15, and 17 are pending. Of the pending claims, claims 1, 6-10, 12, and 17 are presented for examination on the merits, and claims 13-15 are withdrawn from examination.
Claims 1, 6, and 9 are currently amended. Claims 13 and 14 are withdrawn-currently amended. Claim 17 is new.
Status of Previous Objection to the Drawings
The previous objection to the drawings is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the specification filed on 10/30/2025.
Status of Previous Claim Objections
The previous objection to claim 9 is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claim.
Status of Previous Claim Rejections Under 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections of claims 2 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) are moot in view of the canceled status of the claims.
Claim Interpretation
With respect to claim 1, the organic solvent quantity of “less than 0.5 wt%” is interpreted as being inclusive of zero percent, i.e., the organic solvent can be absent, or present in non-zero amounts below 0.5 wt.%. This interpretation also applies to dependent claims 6-10 and 12.
With respect to claim 17, the organic solvent quantity will be interpreted as recited in the claim, i.e., present in an amount of “greater than 0 wt% to less than 0.5 wt%.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2019/017926 (A1) to Anthony (“Anthony”).
Regarding claim 1, Anthony teaches materials for use in a method for forming a 3D printed metal object (kit for 3D printing a 3D printed metal object). Abstract; para. [0013]-[0015]. The printing method includes a step of supplying metallic build material containing metallic particles (build material comprising metal particles) and a step of patterning the build material with a fusing agent (binding agent). Para. [0013]-[0019], [0052]-[0056].
In an embodiment, the fusing agent includes hydrated metal salt and liquid vehicle. Para. [0060], [0067]. Liquid vehicle refers to the liquid fluid in which the hydrated metal salt is dispersed to form the fusing agent. Para. [0067]. The liquid vehicle consists of a primary solvent with no other components. Para. [0067]. The primary solvent may be water. Para. [0069].
The fusing agent consists of the hydrated metal salt and the primary solvent with no other components. Para. [0069]. This means that there are no organic solvents and no surfactants in the fusing agent (binding agent comprises less than 0.5 wt.% organic solvent; binding agent is free from surfactant).
The hydrated metal salt has a dehydration temperature from about 100oC to about 250oC. Para. [0037], [0039], [00100].
Regarding claim 6, since Anthony teaches that there are no other components, other than hydrated metal salt and water, in the fusing agent, as noted above, the fusing agent meets the claimed transitional phrase “consists essentially of” because Anthony does not teach any non-claimed components in the binding agent and therefore does not teach additional components that could materially affect the basic and novel characteristics of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2111.03(III).
Regarding claim 8, Anthony teaches that the build material is the same as the metal cation in the hydrated metal salt. Para. [0027].
Regarding claim 9, Anthony teaches that the hydrated metal salt comprises at least one metal cation selected from the group consisting of aluminum, magnesium, copper, zinc, iron, nickel, manganese, cobalt, molybdenum, chromium, tin, vanadium, and combinations thereof. Para. [0025], [0037]. The hydrated metal salt comprises at least one anion selected from the group consisting of hydroxide, carbonate, sulfate, nitrate, acetate, formate, borate, chloride, bromide, and combinations thereof. Para. [0025], [0037].
Regarding claim 10, Anthony teaches that the hydrated metal salt may be hydrated copper nitrate. Para. [0026], [0062].
Regarding claim 12, Anthony teaches that the build material may be in powder (particle) form and may be copper (Cu). Para. [0054], [0055].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anthony, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, Anthony teaches that the hydrated metal salt is present in the fusing agent in an amount of about 5 wt.% to about 50 wt.% (para. [0028], [0038], [0066]), which overlaps the claimed range.
The overlap between the ranges taught in the prior art and recited in the claims creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05(I). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select from among the prior art ranges because there is utility over an entire range disclosed in the prior art.
Claims 1, 6-10, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anthony.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Anthony teaches materials for use in a method for forming a 3D printed metal object (kit for 3D printing a 3D printed metal object). Abstract; para. [0013]-[0015]. The printing method includes a step of supplying metallic build material containing metallic particles (build material comprising metal particles) and a step of patterning the build material with a fusing agent (binding agent). Para. [0013]-[0019], [0052]-[0056].
In an embodiment, the fusing agent includes hydrated metal salt and liquid vehicle. Para. [0060], [0067]. Liquid vehicle refers to the liquid fluid in which the hydrated metal salt is dispersed to form the fusing agent. Para. [0067]. The liquid vehicle may be aqueous, such as water. Para. [0067]-[0069].
The fusing agent may also include a coalescing solvent in addition to the liquid vehicle. Para. [0088]. The coalescing solvent may be an organic compound (corresponds to organic solvent). Para. [0064]. The amount of coalescing solvent ranges from about 0.1 wt.% to about 70 wt.% based upon the total weight of the fusing agent (para. [0065]), which overlaps the claimed range.
The fusing agent may include other components, such as surfactant(s), but they are not required. Para. [0068], [0072], [0073]. These other components are listed in the alternative (“or”) and are optional in the fusing agent. Para. [0068]. Thus, there is no requirement that surfactant be present in some embodiments (binding agent is free of surfactant).
The hydrated metal salt has a dehydration temperature from about 100oC to about 250oC. Para. [0037], [0039], [00100].
The overlap between the ranges taught in the prior art and recited in the claims creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05(I). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select from among the prior art ranges because there is utility over an entire range disclosed in the prior art.
Regarding claim 6, since Anthony teaches that there are no other components, other than hydrated metal salt, water, and coalescing solvent (organic solvent), in the fusing agent, as noted above, the fusing agent meets the claimed transitional phrase “consists essentially of” because Anthony does not teach any non-claimed components in the binding agent and therefore does not teach additional components that could materially affect the basic and novel characteristics of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2111.03(III).
Regarding claim 7, Anthony teaches that the hydrated metal salt is present in the fusing agent in an amount of about 5 wt.% to about 50 wt.% (para. [0028], [0038], [0066]), which overlaps the claimed range.
Regarding claim 8, Anthony teaches that the build material is the same as the metal cation in the hydrated metal salt. Para. [0027].
Regarding claim 9, Anthony teaches that the hydrated metal salt comprises at least one metal cation selected from the group consisting of aluminum, magnesium, copper, zinc, iron, nickel, manganese, cobalt, molybdenum, chromium, tin, vanadium, and combinations thereof. Para. [0025], [0037]. The hydrated metal salt comprises at least one anion selected from the group consisting of hydroxide, carbonate, sulfate, nitrate, acetate, formate, borate, chloride, bromide, and combinations thereof. Para. [0025], [0037].
Regarding claim 10, Anthony teaches that the hydrated metal salt may be hydrated copper nitrate. Para. [0026], [0062].
Regarding claim 12, Anthony teaches that the build material may be in powder (particle) form and may be copper (Cu). Para. [0054], [0055].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/30/2025 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Anthony does not teach a binding agent that comprises less than 0.5 wt.% organic solvent. Applicant states that Anthony discloses that the co-solvent may be present in the fusing agent in an amount ranging from about 1 wt.% to about 70 wt.% and that this range is higher than and outside the claimed range of less than 0.5 wt.%.
In response, Anthony meets the claimed range because the co-solvent(s) (corresponds to organic solvent) may be omitted, i.e., zero percent, which falls within the claimed range of less than 0.5 wt.%. In an embodiment, Anthony discloses that the fusing agent consists of the hydrated metal salt and the primary solvent (water) with no other components (para. [0069]). This means that there are no organic solvents in the fusing agent, thereby meeting the claim limitation.
Applicant argues that Anthony’s range of 1-70 wt.% co-solvent does not overlap the claimed range of less than 0.5 wt.%.
In response, the previous set of claims (filed 07/01/2025) did not specify an upper limit of 0.5 wt.% for the organic solvent; therefore, the Office action did not and could not allege or assert that Anthony’s range of 1-70 wt.% overlaps or is close to a value of 0.5 wt.%.
With respect to claim 17, Anthony discloses an embodiment in which coalescing solvent is added as an addition to the fusing agent and liquid vehicle (para. [0088]). The coalescing solvent may be an organic compound (corresponds to organic solvent) (para. [0064]). The amount of coalescing solvent ranges from about 0.1 wt.% to about 70 wt.% based upon the total weight of the fusing agent (para. [0065]), which overlaps the claimed range of less than 0.5 wt.%.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VANESSA T. LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733
February 12, 2026