DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Neff, produced below.
Applicant argues that Neff does not teach or disclose the first support structure and the second support structure are separated from each other. Examiner disagrees as Fig. 1 of Neff discloses the first and second support structures (rotation axles 3) for each of the respective disk shaped electrodes 1 are not in contact with each other. While the reference numbers are duplicated, Fig. 1 of Neff clearly shows each disk shaped electrode 1 is supported with a corresponding support structure (rotation axle 3), the support structure (rotation axle 3) has a first support wall portion (vacuum chamber 2) and surrounding the first rotational shaft (rotation axle 3), and a first tubular portion (rotation axle 3) is disposed between the first support wall portion (vacuum chamber 2) and the cathode (disk shaped electrode 1) (see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0003]). Neff discloses the separate disk shaped electrodes 1 can be a cathode and an anode (see paragraph [0016]). While, Fig. 1 of the instant application shows the support structures for the respective anode/cathode are a distinct structure from the rotational shaft, the claims presented do not require them to be.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neff (US PGPub 2010/0264336, hereinafter Neff).
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 1 of Neff discloses an EUV light source apparatus comprising a disk shaped cathode (disk shaped electrode 1) (see paragraph [0006]; first electrode can be used as a cathode, see paragraph [0016]); a first rotational shaft (rotation axle 3, see paragraph [0003])) to which the cathode (disk shaped electrode 1) is connected (see Fig. 1); a disc shaped anode (disk shaped electrode 1, second electrode as an anode of the electrode system, see paragraph [0016]) disposed apart from the cathode (disk shaped electrode 1) (see paragraph [0003]); a second rotational shaft (rotation axle 3, see paragraph [0003]) to which the anode (disk shaped electrode 1) is connected (see Fig. 1); a first tin supplier (reservoir 4, liquid metal tin 5) configured to coat the cathode (disk shaped electrode 1) with liquid phase tin (liquid metal tin 5) (see paragraph [0003]); a second tin supplier (reservoir 4) configured to coat the anode (disk shaped electrode 1) with liquid phase tin (liquid metal tin 5) (see paragraph [0003]); an energy beam irradiation device configured to irradiate the tin (liquid metal tin 5) on the cathode (disk shaped electrode 1) with an energy beam (laser pulse 7) to vaporize the tin (liquid metal tin 5) and generate gas phase tin in a gap between the cathode and the anode (see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0003]); an electric power supply (capacitor bank 12) configured to supply electric power to the cathode and anode to cause a discharge between the cathode and anode for generating a plasma in the gap between the cathode and anode (see paragraph [0003]), the plasma emitting EUV light (see paragraph [0002]); a first support structure (rotation axle 3) supporting the cathode (disk shaped electrode 1) (see Fig. 1); and a second support structure (rotation axle 3) supporting the anode (disk shaped electrode 1) (see Fig. 1), the first support structure and the second support structure being not in contact with each other (see Fig. 1), the first support structure having a first support wall portion (vacuum chamber 2) and a first tubular portion (rotation axle 3) protruding from the first support wall portion (vacuum chamber 2) and surrounding the first rotational shaft (rotation axle 3), the first tubular portion (rotation axle 3) being disposed between the first support wall portion (vacuum chamber 2) and the cathode (disk shaped electrode 1) (see Fig. 1), the second support structure having a second support wall portion (vacuum chamber 2) and a second tubular portion (rotation axle 3) protruding from the second support wall portion and surrounding the second rotational shaft (rotation axle 3), the second tubular portion being disposed between the second support wall portion (vacuum chamber 2) and the anode (disk shaped electrode 1) (see Fig. 1), the first support wall portion (vacuum chamber 2) and the second support wall portion (vacuum chamber 2) overlapping each other (see Fig. 1), the first support wall portion (vacuum chamber 2) having a through hole through which the second tubular portion is inserted, or the second support wall portion (vacuum chamber 2) having a through hole through which the first tubular portion (rotation axle 3) is inserted (see Fig. 1).
While Neff does not explicitly disclose the first and second rotational shaft and the first and second support structure being made of metal, Neff discloses the components of the apparatus (e.g. drive belt for rotating the axle and disk, see paragraph [0035]) in close proximity to the liquid metal are designed to be metal and withstand temperatures above 250 degrees Celsius (see paragraph [0035]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the rotational axle 3 (which acts as both the rotational shaft and support structure for the cathode/anode 1) should be designed to be a metal to withstand high temperatures (i.e. above 250 degrees Celsius) as taught by Neff (see paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 1 of Neff discloses the first support structure (rotation axle 3) has outer wall portions (vacuum chamber 2) protruding from the first support wall portion and facing outer surfaces of the second support wall portion (vacuum chamber 2) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 1 of Neff discloses the second support structure (rotation axle 3) has outer wall portions (vacuum chamber 2) protruding from the second support wall portion and facing outer surfaces of the first support wall portion (vacuum chamber 2) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 3 of Neff discloses insulators (insulating ceramic ring 170) are disposed between the first and second support structures (see paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 3 of Neff discloses insulators (insulated ceramic ring 170) are disposed between the first support structure and the second support structure (see paragraph [0031]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Hanway Chang
/HC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/MICHAEL J LOGIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881