DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 – 6, 9, 10, 12 – 14, 21, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. (US 2018/0184441) in view Bebawy et al. (US 2014/0204983) and in further view of Tsai et al. (US 2011/0080865)
Regarding Claim 1, Faxer teaches a method of operating a network node of a communication network, the method comprising: receiving, by processing circuitry of the network node (Figure 13, Section 0123, the node is the enodeB, computer is the processor), a first upstream-processed signal associated with an original signal (Figure 1, Section 0004, DATA IN is the original signal, transmission layer data streams are the upstreams, the MIMO OFDM transmitter is improved via use of subarrays (Sections 0020, 0021), this enables the transmission layer data streams to be sent to the subarrays (Section 0079)); receiving, by the processing circuitry in the network node, a second upstream-processed signal, associated with the original signal (the MIMO OFDM transmitter is improved via use of subarrays (Sections 0020, 0021), this enables the transmission layer data streams to be sent to the subarrays (Section 0079)); determining, by the processing circuitry in the network node, a covariance (Section 0085, covariance matrix); and obtaining, by the processing circuitry in the network node, a processed received signal based on the first upstream-processed signal, the second upstream-processed signal, and the covariance (the MIMO OFDM transmitter is improved via use of subarrays (Sections 0020, 0021), this enables the transmission layer data streams to be sent to the subarrays (Section 0079), covariance matrix is also used (Section 0085)), wherein the first upstream-processed signal is a transmit signal domain version of a first receive signal domain version of the original signal received at a first receiver in the network node (Figure 1, Section 0004, the receive path for the transmission layer data streams is the receive signal domain, the transmission path from the antennas on the downlink is transmit signal domain), and wherein the second upstream-processed signal is a transmit signal domain version of a second receive signal domain version of the original signal received at a second receiver in the network node (Figure 1, Section 0004, the receive path for the transmission layer data streams is the receive signal domain, the transmission path from the antennas on the downlink is transmit signal domain).
Faxer does not teach a covariance associated with the first upstream-processed signal and the second upstream-processed signal, wherein the first upstream-processed signal and the second upstream-processed signal are received from a remote receiver independent from the network node.
Bebawy, which also teaches the use of covariance, teaches covariance associated with a plurality of data streams (Section 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Faxer with the above features of Bebawy for the purpose of providing an effective and accurate estimation of interference caused by dedicated pilots and scheduled common pilots as taught by Bebawy.
Tsai, which also teaches a wireless communication system, teaches upstream signals received from a remote receiver independent of from the network node (Figure 1, Section 0041, the relay node (RN) is independent of the base station and enables the base station to receive signals sent in the uplink by the UE via said RN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the above Faxer combination with the above features of Tsai for the purpose of improving cell throughput as taught by Tsai.
Regarding Claim 9, Faxer teaches a network node operating in a communication network, the network node comprising: processing circuitry; and memory coupled to the processing circuitry and having instructions stored therein that are executable by the processing circuitry (Figure 13, Section 0123, the node is the enodeB, computer is the processor, typical processors use executable code stored in memory) to cause the network node to perform operations, the operations comprising: receiving a first upstream-processed signal associated with an original signal (Figure 1, Section 0004, DATA IN is the original signal, transmission layer data streams are the upstreams, the MIMO OFDM transmitter is improved via use of subarrays (Sections 0020, 0021), this enables the transmission layer data streams to be sent to the subarrays (Section 0079)); receiving a second upstream-processed signal, associated with the original signal (the MIMO OFDM transmitter is improved via use of subarrays (Sections 0020, 0021), this enables the transmission layer data streams to be sent to the subarrays (Section 0079)); determining a covariance (Section 0085, covariance matrix); and obtaining a processed received signal based on the first upstream-processed signal, the second upstream-processed signal, and the covariance (the MIMO OFDM transmitter is improved via use of subarrays (Sections 0020, 0021), this enables the transmission layer data streams to be sent to the subarrays (Section 0079), covariance matrix is also used (Section 0085)).
Faxer does not teach a covariance associated with the first upstream-processed signal and the second upstream-processed signal, wherein the first upstream-processed signal and the second upstream-processed signal are received from a remote receiver independent from the network node.
Bebawy, which also teaches the use of covariance, teaches covariance associated with a plurality of data streams (Section 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Faxer with the above features of Bebawy for the purpose of providing an effective and accurate estimation of interference caused by dedicated pilots and scheduled common pilots as taught by Bebawy.
Tsai, which also teaches a wireless communication system, teaches upstream signals received from a remote receiver independent of from the network node (Figure 1, Section 0041, the relay node (RN) is independent of the base station and enables the base station to receive signals sent in the uplink by the UE via said RN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the above Faxer combination with the above features of Tsai for the purpose of improving cell throughput as taught by Tsai.
Regarding Claim 21, Faxer teaches a computer program product comprising a non-transitory storage medium including program code to be executed by processing circuitry of a network node operating in a communication network (Figure 13, Section 0123, the node is the enodeB, computer is the processor, typical processors use executable code stored in memory), whereby execution of the program code causes the network node to perform operations, the operations comprising: receiving, by the processing circuitry of the network node, a first upstream-processed signal associated with an original signal (Figure 1, Section 0004, DATA IN is the original signal, transmission layer data streams are the upstreams, the MIMO OFDM transmitter is improved via use of subarrays (Sections 0020, 0021), this enables the transmission layer data streams to be sent to the subarrays (Section 0079)); receiving, by the processing circuitry in the network node, a second upstream-processed signal, associated with the original signal (the MIMO OFDM transmitter is improved via use of subarrays (Sections 0020, 0021), this enables the transmission layer data streams to be sent to the subarrays (Section 0079)); determining, by the processing circuitry in the network node, a covariance (Section 0085, covariance matrix); and obtaining, by the processing circuitry in the network node, a processed received signal based on the first upstream-processed signal, the second upstream-processed signal, and the covariance (the MIMO OFDM transmitter is improved via use of subarrays (Sections 0020, 0021), this enables the transmission layer data streams to be sent to the subarrays (Section 0079), covariance matrix is also used (Section 0085)).
Faxer does not teach a covariance associated with the first upstream-processed signal and the second upstream-processed signal, wherein the first upstream-processed signal and the second upstream-processed signal are received from a remote receiver independent from the network node.
Bebawy, which also teaches the use of covariance, teaches covariance associated with a plurality of data streams (Section 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Faxer with the above features of Bebawy for the purpose of providing an effective and accurate estimation of interference caused by dedicated pilots and scheduled common pilots as taught by Bebawy.
Tsai, which also teaches a wireless communication system, teaches upstream signals received from a remote receiver independent of from the network node (Figure 1, Section 0041, the relay node (RN) is independent of the base station and enables the base station to receive signals sent in the uplink by the UE via said RN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the above Faxer combination with the above features of Tsai for the purpose of improving cell throughput as taught by Tsai.
Regarding Claims 2, 10, The Faxer combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 9. Faxer further teaches wherein the network node is associated with an array of antennas, wherein receiving the first upstream-processed signal comprises receiving the first upstream-processed signal from a first receiver associated with a first subarray of the array of antennas (Sections 0020, 0021, plurality of subarrays for the transmission layer data streams), and wherein receiving the second upstream-processed signal comprises receiving the second upstream-processed signal from a second receiver associated with a second subarray of the array of antennas, the second subarray being distinct from the first subarray (Sections 0020, 0021, plurality of subarrays for the transmission layer data streams).
Regarding Claim 4, 12, The Faxer combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 9. Faxer further teaches further comprising: receiving, by a first receiver in the network node, a first version of the original signal; obtaining, by the first receiver in the network node, the first upstream-processed signal based on the first version of the original signal (Section 0035, phase-shifted versions of the original signal); receiving, by a second receiver in the network node, a second version of the original signal; obtaining, by the second receiver in the network node, the second upstream-processed signal based on the second version of the original signal (Section 0035, phase-shifted versions of the original signal)/a first receiver comprising: first upstream processing circuitry; and first memory coupled to the first upstream processing circuitry and having instructions stored therein that are executable by the first upstream processing circuitry to cause the first receiver to perform first upstream operations, the first upstream operations comprising: receiving, by the first receiver in the network node, a first version of the original signal; and obtaining, by the first receiver in the network node, the first upstream-processed signal based on the first version of the original signal (Section 0035, phase-shifted versions of the original signal); and a second receiver comprising: second upstream processing circuitry; and second memory coupled to the second upstream processing circuitry and having instructions stored therein that are executable by the second upstream processing circuitry to cause the second receiver to perform second upstream operations, the second upstream operations comprising: receiving, by the second receiver in the network node, a second version of the original signal; and obtaining, by the second receiver in the network node, the second upstream-processed signal based on the second version of the original signal (Section 0035, phase-shifted versions of the original signal).
Regarding Claims 5, 13, The Faxer combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 4, 12. Faxer further teaches network node comprises an antenna array, wherein the first receiver is associated with/coupled to a first subarray of the antenna array (Sections 0020, 0021, plurality of subarrays for the transmission layer data streams), and wherein the second receiver is associated with/coupled to a second subarray of the antenna array that is distinct of the first subarray (Sections 0020, 0021, plurality of subarrays for the transmission layer data streams).
Regarding Claims 6, 14, The Faxer combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 4, 12. Faxer further teaches wherein the first version of the original signal is a first receive signal domain representation of the original signal (Figure 1, Section 0004, the receive path for the transmission layer data streams is the receive signal domain), wherein the second version of the original signal is a second receive signal domain representation of the original signal (Figure 1, Section 0004, the receive path for the transmission layer data streams is the receive signal domain), wherein obtaining the first upstream-processed signal comprises transforming the first receive signal domain representation of the original signal to a first transmit signal domain representation of the original signal (Figure 1, Section 0004, the receive path for the transmission layer data streams is the receive signal domain, the transmission path from the antennas on the downlink is transmit signal domain, when the received transmission layer data streams are transmitted on the downlink that is the domain transformation), and wherein obtaining the second upstream-processed signal comprises transforming the second receive signal domain representation of the original signal to a second transmit signal domain representation of the original signal (Figure 1, Section 0004, the receive path for the transmission layer data streams is the receive signal domain, the transmission path from the antennas on the downlink is transmit signal domain, when the received transmission layer data streams are transmitted on the downlink that is the domain transformation).
Regarding Claim 23, Faxer combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Faxer further teaches wherein the first upstream-processed signal is a transmit signal domain version of a first receive signal domain version of the original signal received at a first receiver in the network node (Figure 1, Section 0004, the receive path for the transmission layer data streams is the receive signal domain, the transmission path from the antennas on the downlink is transmit signal domain), and wherein the second upstream-processed signal is a transmit signal domain version of a second receive signal domain version of the original signal received at a second receiver in the network node (Figure 1, Section 0004, the receive path for the transmission layer data streams is the receive signal domain, the transmission path from the antennas on the downlink is transmit signal domain).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. (US 2018/0184441) in view of Bebawy et al. (US 2014/0204983) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2011/0080865), as applied to Claims 1, 9 set forth above, and further in view of Santraine et al. (US 2006/0059410)
Regarding Claims 7, 15, The above Faxer combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 9. Faxer combination does not teach wherein obtaining the processed received signal comprises performing a maximum likelihood process on the first upstream-processed signal and the second upstream-processed signal using the covariance.
Santraine, which also teaches use of the covariance, teaches performing a maximum likelihood process on data using the covariance (Section 0023, covariance matrix is used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Faxer combination with the above features of Santraine for the purpose of reducing the complexity in MIMO detection as taught by Santraine.
Regarding Claims 8, 16, The above Faxer combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 7, 15. The Faxer combination does not teach performing the maximum likelihood process comprises sphere decoding using the covariance.
Santraine further teaches wherein performing the maximum likelihood process comprises sphere decoding using the covariance (Section 0023, covariance matrix is used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Faxer combination with the above features of Santraine for the purpose of reducing the complexity in MIMO detection as taught by Santraine.
Conclusion
/RAYMOND S DEAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
May 6, 2026