DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Currently, claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application. Claims 1-10 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Claims 11-20 are currently under examination.
All the arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but are deemed insufficient to place this application in condition for allowance. The following rejections constitute the complete set being presently applied to the instant Application. Response to Applicant's arguments follow. This action is FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon (Moon, John, WO 2020/005557, January 2, 2020; cited in the IDS dated 2/4/2025).
With regard to claims 11-15, and 17-20, Moon teaches a method for sequencing nucleic acids (see figure 3) comprising:
adding, by a polymerase (fig 3: 38), nucleotides to a first polynucleotide using at least a sequence of a second polynucleotide (fig 3: 50 and 48 respectively); hybridizing labels (base pairing) respectively coupled to the nucleotides (fig 3: 28, 40, 32) to a gap region (fig 3: 22; terminal end) of a polymer (DNA polymer, third and fourth polynucleotide) chain (fig 3: 18, 20) of a bridge spanning a space between first and second electrodes (fig 3: 12, 15), the gap region (gap region includes stabilizing region, see figure 3) comprising first and second universal monomer (“the polynucleotide chains 18, 20, may include any nucleic acid analogs”, including “universal bases”; non naturally occurring DNA); and
detecting a sequence in which the polymerase adds the nucleotides to the first polynucleotide using at least changes in an electrical signal through the bridge that are responsive to respective hybridizations between the universal monomers and the labels corresponding to those nucleotides, wherein the universal monomers hybridize to any monomers within the labels (para 0037).
Response to Arguments
The response traverses the rejection and asserts that the office action does not explain why the disclosure of Moon, that chains 18, 20 may include any nucleic acid analogs including “universal bases” should be interpreted as specifically meaning that Moon’s gap region should be equated with “a gap region comprising first and second universal monomers”. This argument has been thoroughly reviewed but was not found persuasive because the gap region on strand 20, for example, is comprised within strand 20. The arguments that Moon’s paragraphs 0045 and 0067-0072 merely disclose that gap 22 includes G, A, C, T, and/or U is not found persuasive because this ignores the teachings of Moon that chain 20 can comprise nucleic acid analogs, such as universal bases. The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Oldham (Oldham et al; WO 2017/189930; cited in the IDS dated 2/4/2025).
The teachings of Moon are set forth above and incorporated herein. Moon does not teach a universal base that is inosine, however Oldham teaches methods of sequencing nucleic acids
Oldham teaches a similar biosensor wherein the sensor detects a change in conductance upon addition of tunneling labels, which can comprise nucleotides that hybridize to nucleic acid polymers bound to an electrode (para 0086) and also teaches the universal base can include inosine (para 0103). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used inosine in the method of Moon in view of the teachings of Oldham.
Response to Arguments
The response traverses this rejection for the reason set forth above regarding the reference of Moon. This is not found persuasive for the reason made of record above.
Double Patenting
Claims 11 -20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,332,786 in view of Oldham.
The claims of the ‘786 patent teach a polynucleotide sequencing method comprising adding, by a polymerase, nucleotides to a first polynucleotide using at least a sequence of a second polynucleotide; hybridizing labels respectively coupled to the nucleotides to a gap region of a polymer chain of a bridge spanning a space between first and second electrodes, and detecting a sequence in which the polymerase adds the nucleotides to the first polynucleotide using at least changes in an electrical signal through the bridge that are responsive to respective hybridizations between the the labels corresponding to those nucleotides. However, the claims of the ‘786 patent do not teach the gap region comprises universal monomers. However, Oldham teaches a similar biosensor based method of nucleic acid analysis that utilizes tunneling nucleotide labels which hybridize to a gap region of a monolayer (para 0086-0103), including universal bases in the monolayer. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified the method of the ‘786 claims with the universal bases taught by Oldham for the expected result of nucleic acid sequencing using tunneling nucleic acid labels.
This rejection is maintained from the previous office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Merriman et al; US 2019/0094175 teaches molecular sensors that comprise double stranded DNA bridge attached to electrodes separated by a gap. Merriman teaches (see figure 51) a polymerase in contact with the nucleic acid bridge, capable of adding nucleotides to a first nucleic acid using a sequence of the second nucleic acid. However, Merriman does not teach a gap region in the DNA bridge, let alone a gap region that comprises universal monomers (universal base). Furthermore, the signals generated by the addition of specific nucleotides is effected by a cleavable linker, not by hybridization of a nucleotide label to a gap region in the polymer bridge.
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEHANNE S SITTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682