DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9, 11-12, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KOGA (US 20150076490).
Regarding claim 1, KOGA discloses a metal oxide semiconductor material, comprising:
a semiconductor base material (the ZnO 1 that forms the basis of the resistor layer 4, see fig 1A, para 38 and fiig 4, 11, para 47), the semiconductor base material including metal oxide (1 is ZnO, see fig 1, para 22 and 38); and
at least one kind of rare earth compound (the compound 3 which can be Pr2O3, see fig 1 and 4, para 38 and 64) directly doped in the semiconductor base material (the compound 3 can be doped into the layer 4 as a compound, see para 22 and 64), each kind of rare earth compound having a general formula represented as (MFD)aAb (3 can be Pr2O3, see para 64),
wherein in the general formula (MFD)aAb, MFD is an element selected from rare earth elements capable of undergoing f-d transition and/or charge transfer transition (the rare earth compound can be Pr2O3 which has Pr as MFD, see para 64), A is selected from elements capable of stretching a wavelength range of an absorption spectrum of MFD capable of undergoing the f-d transition and/or the charge transfer transition towards red light into a visible light range (the rare earth compound can be Pr2O3, which has O as A, see para 64), a is a number of the element MFD in the general formula (MFD)aAb, and b is a number of the element A in the general formula (MFD)aAb.
Regarding claim 2, KOGA discloses the metal oxide semiconductor material according to claim 1, wherein in the general formula (MFD)aAb, MFD is an element selected from lanthanide metal elements other than lanthanum (the rare earth compound can be Pr2O3 which has Pr as MFD, see para 64).
Regarding claim 3, KOGA discloses the metal oxide semiconductor material according to claim 2, wherein in the general formula (MFD)aAb. MFD is an element selected from cerium, praseodymium (the rare earth compound can be Pr2O3 which has Pr as MFD, see para 64), neodymiumn, promethium, samarium, terbium and dysprosium.
Regarding claim 4, KOGA discloses the metal oxide semiconductor material according to claim 2, wherein in the general formula (MFD)aAb. MFD is an element selected from praseodymium (the rare earth compound can be Pr2O3 which has Pr as MFD, see para 64) and terbium.
Regarding claim 7, KOGA discloses the metal oxide semiconductor material according to claim 1, wherein in each kind of rare earth compound comprised in the metal oxide semiconductor material, a minimum energy required for the element MFD to undergo the f-d transition is less than 2.64 eV and greater than 2.48 eV (if the elements is Pr, the f-d transition can be in that range, see applicants specification paragraph 101 and 104, and fig 1A, para 64).
Regarding claim 9, KOGA discloses the metal oxide semiconductor material according to claim 1, wherein
the semiconductor base material includes at least one kind of first metal oxide (1 includes metal oxide ZnO, see fig 1A, para 22) and/or at least one kind of second metal oxide, and each kind of first metal oxide and each kind of second metal oxide both have a general formula McOd (ZnO is of the formula McOd, see para 22),
wherein
for each kind of first metal oxide, M in the general formula McOd is an element selected from indium. Zinc (the first oxide can be ZnO, see para 22), gallium, tin and cadmium;
for each kind of second metal oxides (since there only needs to be a first and/OR second metal oxide, it is not necessary for there to be a second metal oxide), M in the general formula McOd is a combination of two or more elements selected from indium, zinc, gallium, tin and cadmium: and c is a number of M in the general formula McOd, and d is a number of oxygens in the general formula.
Regarding claim 11, KOGA discloses the metal oxide semiconductor material according to claim 9, wherein
in the metal oxide semiconductor material, an elemental composition of the semiconductor base material and the at least one kind of rare earth compound is represented as ((MFD)aAb)X(McOd)1.x (the material can be 0.6& PrO and 97.5% ZnO, see para 64),
wherein x is greater than or equal to 0.001 and less than or equal to 0.15 (the material can be 97.5% ZnO, which is x-1, see para 64).
Regarding claim 12, KOGA discloses the metal oxide semiconductor material according to claim 11, wherein MFD is an element selected from praseodymium (the rare earth compound can be Pr2O3 which has Pr as MFD, see para 64) and terbium,
x is greater than or equal to 0.01 and less than or equal to 0.1 (the material can be 97.5% ZnO, which is x-1, see para 64).
Regarding claim 14, KOGA discloses a target material comprising the metal oxide semiconductor material according to claim 1 (4 is the oxide material, see fig 1A and 4, para 22).
Regarding claim 16, KOGA discloses a thin film transistor, comprising: an active layer, a material of the active layer including the metal oxide semiconductor material according to claim 1 (11 is a layer through which current flows in the device 14 and is the compound 4, see fig 1A and 4, para 22 and 47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOGA (US 20150076490) in view of HERMAN (US 20120012835).
Regarding claim 5, KOGA discloses the metal oxide semiconductor material according to claim 1.
KOGA fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein in the general formula (MFD)aAb. A is an element selected from elements whose electronegativities are less than an electronegativity of oxygen.
HERMAN teaches a device, wherein in the general formula (MFD)aAb. A is an element selected from elements whose electronegativities are less than an electronegativity of oxygen (208 can be doped with B, which has a lower electronegativity than O according to the applicants disclosure, see fig 2, para 19-20).
KOGA and HERMAN are analogous art because they both are directed towards semiconductor devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of KOGA with the dopant materials of HERMAN because they are from the same field of endeavor
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of KOGA with the dopant materials of HERMAN in order to improve performance (see HERMAN para 8).
Regarding claim 6, KOGA discloses the metal oxide semiconductor material according to claim 5.
KOGA fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein in the general formula (MFD)aAb. A is an element selected from sulfur, selenium, tellurium. bromine, iodine, arsenic and boron.
HERMAN teaches a device, wherein in the general formula (MFD)aAb. A is an element selected from sulfur, selenium, tellurium. bromine, iodine, arsenic and boron (208 can be doped with B, see fig 2, para 19-20).
KOGA and HERMAN are analogous art because they both are directed towards semiconductor devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of KOGA with the dopant materials of HERMAN because they are from the same field of endeavor
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of KOGA with the dopant materials of HERMAN in order to improve performance (see HERMAN para 8).
Regarding claim 13, KOGA discloses the metal oxide semiconductor material according to claim 11, wherein x is greater than or equal to 0.001 and less than or equal to 0.02 (the material can be 97.5% ZnO, which is x-1, see para 64).
KOGA fails to explicitly disclose a device wherein cerium is selected as MFD.
HERMAN teaches a device wherein cerium is selected as MFD (the primary dopant can be Ce, see fig 1-2, para 29).
KOGA and HERMAN are analogous art because they both are directed towards semiconductor devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of KOGA with the dopant materials of HERMAN because they are from the same field of endeavor
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of KOGA with the dopant materials of HERMAN in order to improve performance (see HERMAN para 8).
Regarding claim 15, KOGA discloses the target material according to claim 14.
KOGA fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein in the general formula (MFD)aAb, A is an element selected from sulfur, selenium, tellurium, arsenic and boron.
HERMAN teaches a device, wherein in the general formula (MFD)aAb, A is an element selected from sulfur, selenium, tellurium, arsenic and boron (208 can be doped with B, see fig 2, para 19-20).
KOGA and HERMAN are analogous art because they both are directed towards semiconductor devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of KOGA with the dopant materials of HERMAN because they are from the same field of endeavor
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of KOGA with the dopant materials of HERMAN in order to improve performance (see HERMAN para 8).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOGA (US 20150076490) in view of YAMAZAKI (US 20160276488).
Regarding claim 10, KOGA discloses the metal oxide semiconductor material according to claim 9.
KOGA fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein
for each kind of first metal oxide and/or each kind of second metal oxide. in the general formula McOd further includes an element or a combination of any two or more elements of lanthanide metals, scandium and yttrium.
YAMAZAKI teaches a device, wherein
for each kind of first metal oxide and/or each kind of second metal oxide. in the general formula McOd further includes an element or a combination of any two or more elements of lanthanide metals, scandium and yttrium (the semiconductor 106 can include a combination of Y and Ga, see fig 1, para 107).
KOGA and YAMAZAKI are analogous art because they both are directed towards semiconductor devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of KOGA with the material of YAMAZAKI because they are from the same field of endeavor
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of KOGA with the material of YAMAZAKI in order to increase the gap energy of the semiconductor (see YAMAZAKI para 107).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONAS T BEARDSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2811
/SAMUEL A GEBREMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811