DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on 03/12/2026 has been received and considered by the examiner. Claims 1, 10, and 13 were amended, claims 4 and 16 were cancelled, and claims 2-3, 11-12, 14-15, and 19 were previously cancelled. Claims 1, 5-10, 13, 17-18, and 20 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
On pages 9-10 of their remarks, the Applicant attempts to distinguish between the claimed invention and prior art Ren et al., writing, “in the claimed invention, it is expressly provided that the synchronization information with respect to an implicit time reference is determined without signaling time information (e.g., a timestamp)” and “the claimed invention discloses that the synchronization information is valid at the implicit time reference which is a fixed reference corresponding to the NT network node” (Applicant Remarks, p. 9-10).
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees that these claim limitations differ from Ren. In previously cited passages, Ren describes a terminal performing “downlink cell search according to a periodic position of a frame structure where a downlink synchronization signal ... is/are located” (Ren, 0039). Here, the “periodic position of a frame structure” is “an implicit time reference” that “is determined without signaling time information” such as a timestamp because the periodic frame position by definition does not use an explicit timestamp to synchronize the terminal with the satellite. Furthermore, the “downlink synchronization signal” is transmitted downlink from the satellite (see for example the “User link T1” in Fig. 1 of Ren). Thus, the “downlink synchronization signal” is in fact “a fixed reference corresponding to the NT network node” because the downlink signal is a reference received directly from the satellite.
Also, the Applicant’s own specification seems to contradict the alleged distinction between the claimed invention and Ren because it states that “[t]he fixed reference may correspond to a frame ... boundary or at or immediately after an ending boundary of a system information (SI)-window” (Spec, 0020). If anything, this passage from the Applicant’s disclosure seems to underscore the equivalence between the claimed “implicit time reference” and the “periodic position of a frame structure” taught in Ren because it seems analogous, if not identical to, the “frame ... boundary” described in the Applicant’s specification. Thus, the rejection based on Ren in view of Speidel is properly maintained
Regarding Claim 10, the Applicant argues that “the fact that frequency-domain and time-domain quantities may be theoretically related, or that frequency offset compensation and timing advance may coexist as described in Zhang et al., does not establish obviousness unless the prior art teaches or suggests employing the frequency-domain parameter” (Remarks, p. 10).
However, despite these protestations, the fact remains that Doppler frequency shift (Ren 0035) and the claimed “feeder link delay” are two intrinsically linked measurements of a changing distance between a satellite and a terrestrial node. It would be impossible to change one without creating a proportional and predictable change in the other. The applicant’s description of Doppler shift and feeder link delay as “theoretically related” is therefore, in the Examiner’s view, inadequate because it does not capture the interchangeability and fundamental equivalency of frequency and time domain measurements for the purpose of measuring a changing distance. On the contrary, units in time and frequency domain are analogous to pounds and kilograms; they are two fundamentally related measurements that a skilled artisan could use interchangeably.
In an attempt to demonstrate that the mapping of frequency measurements to time delay is inadequate, the Applicant cites several federal circuit cases including In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977 (Fed. Cir. 2006), In re Ochiaia, 71 F.3d 1565 (Fed. Cir. 1995), and In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
However, it is not obvious to the Examiner how this case law applies here. Kahn established that conclusions of obviousness must include a supporting rationale, not mere conclusory statements, Ochiaia addressed the question of whether an obvious process could be used to manufacture a non-obvious product, and Schreiber found that functional and structural descriptions of claimed features are equivalent. None of these cases seem to relate to – let alone disprove - the functional equivalence between measuring the changing difference between two nodes in terms of a time delay or a frequency offset. Thus, the rejection based on Ren in view of Speidel is properly maintained.
Lastly, on pages 11-12 of their Remarks, the Applicant argues that Claim 13 is allowable over the prior art based on the prior arguments made in favor of Claims 1 and 10.
However, the examiner finds this logic unpersuasive for the reasons articulated above in response to the Applicant’s arguments against claims 1 and 10. Thus, the rejection based on Ren in view of Speidel is properly maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (US 2022/0132593 A1, hereinafter “Ren”) in view of Speidel et al. (US 10,084,535 B1, hereinafter “Speidel”).
As to Claim 1 and Claim 10:
Ren describes a method for synchronizing a user equipment with a satellite.
Specifically, Ren teaches:
Determining, by a processor of an apparatus, synchronization information with respect to an implicit time reference associated with a wireless network, without signaling time information
Ren describes a “terminal” that performs “downlink cell search according to a periodic position of a frame structure where a downlink synchronization signal and/or reference signal predefined by a protocol is/are located” (Ren, 0035, 0038-0039). Here, the “periodic position of a frame structure” is analogous to the “synchronization information with respect to an implicit time reference associated with a wireless network, without signaling time information”. Also, paragraph 0065 of Ren states that “an embodiment of the application provides a terminal for random access, which includes: a processor and a memory” (Ren, 0065).
Maintaining, by the processor, synchronization using the synchronization information in performing non-terrestrial network (NTN) communications with the wireless network
Ren teaches that the terminal may “obtain the downlink synchronization signal and/or reference signal” based on “a periodic position of a frame structure” (Ren, 0039). Figs. 1 and 2 in Ren also show the base station communicating with an extraterrestrial satellite.
The synchronization information comprises all of: a position of a non-terrestrial (NT) network node of the wireless network, a velocity of the NT network node, and a feeder link delay associated with a feeder link between the terrestrial network node and the NT network node
Ren teaches that the “downlink cell search” performed “to obtain the downlink synchronization signal and/or reference signal” derives information to create “the generated PRACH Preamble sequence” (Ren, 0038-0039).
Furthermore, Ren states that the “PRACH Preamble format includes plurality of CPs [cyclic prefixes]” that have “a total duration” that “is greater than a sum of a transmission delay introduced by a movement distance of a satellite” (Ren, 0032). Ren further elaborates that “the PRACH Preamble sequence is determined according to a Doppler frequency offset range corresponding to the terminal at different moving speeds and/or ... a Doppler frequency offset caused by satellite movement” (Ren, 0035). This shows that this information about satellite position, speed, etc. is derived during synchronization.
Here, the “PRACH Preamble format” maps to “the synchronization information”,
“satellite movement” maps to “a position of a non-terrestrial (NT) network node of the wireless network”,
“satellite ... speed” maps to “a velocity of the NT network node”, and
“a transmission delay” corresponds to “a feeder link delay associated with a feeder link between the terrestrial network node and the NT network node”.
The synchronization information is valid at the implicit time reference which is a fixed reference corresponding to the NT network node
Ren describes a “terminal” that performs “downlink cell search according to a periodic position of a frame structure where a downlink synchronization signal and/or reference signal predefined by a protocol is/are located” (Ren, 0035, 0038-0039).
Here, the “periodic position of a frame structure” in a “downlink synchronization signal” corresponds to “the implicit time reference which is a fixed reference corresponding to the NT network node”.
Ren does not explicitly disclose:
The position and the velocity of the NT network node are according to Earth-Centered, Earth-Fixed (ECEF) coordinates
However, Speidel does describe a transceiver capable of communicating with a satellite in extraordinary conditions that exceed a normal mobile station’s design assumptions.
Specifically, Speidel teaches:
The position and the velocity of the NT network node are according to Earth-Centered, Earth-Fixed (ECEF) coordinates
Speidel describes “
r
B
T
S
” which “represents the position vector of the satellite in ECEF coordinates ...
v
B
T
S
represents the velocity vector of the satellite in ECEF coordinates” (Speidel col. 30, lines 21-22, 25-26).
Speidel also teaches more clearly than Ren taking a measurement of:
A velocity of the NT network node
Speidel describes “
v
B
T
S
” which “represents the velocity vector of the satellite in ECEF coordinates and
v
M
S
represents the velocity vector of the MS in ECEF coordinates” (Speidel col. 30, lines 25-27).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the ECEF position and velocity described in Speidel into Ren’s method for synchronizing a user equipment and a satellite. The satellite velocity is a useful parameter for achieving synchronization, and ECEF is a useful format for storing this and other parameters.
Claim 10 includes all of the subject matter of Claim 1 as well as an additional limitation requiring:
The maintaining of the synchronization using the feeder link delay comprises:
Deriving, by the processor, the feeder link delay at a given time based on:
The feeder link delay at a reference time,
A feeder link delay drift rate at the reference time, and
An amount of time elapsed from the reference time to the given time
Ren teaches that “[t]he subcarrier interval occupied by the PRACH Preamble sequence is determined according to a Doppler frequency offset range corresponding to the terminal at different moving speeds and/or a sum of a residual frequency offset after the initial synchronization of the terminal and a Doppler frequency offset caused by satellite movement” (Ren, 0035).
Here, the “frequency offset” maps to the claimed “feeder link delay at a given time” because frequency offset and delay are two interchangeable measurements of a moving satellite’s change in position, “initial synchronization” maps to “the reference time”, “a Doppler frequency caused by satellite movement” maps to “the feeder link delay at the reference time”, “moving speeds” maps to “feeder link delay drift rate at the reference time”, and “the residual frequency offset” maps to “the feeder link delay drift rate at the reference time, and an amount of time elapsed from the reference time to the given time” because the total offset is equivalent to the product of the delay drift rate and the time elapsed since synchronization.
As to Claim 13:
Ren teaches:
Determining, by a processor of an apparatus ... synchronization information with respect to an implicit time reference associated with a wireless network, wherein the implicit time reference is used to avoid signaling of time information
Ren describes a “terminal” that performs “downlink cell search according to a periodic position of a frame structure where a downlink synchronization signal and/or reference signal predefined by a protocol is/are located” (Ren, 0035, 0038-0039). Here, the “periodic position of a frame structure” is analogous to the “synchronization information with respect to an implicit time reference associated with a wireless network, without signaling time information”. Also, paragraph 0065 of Ren states that “an embodiment of the application provides a terminal for random access, which includes: a processor and a memory” (Ren, 0065).
Determining, by a processor of an apparatus ... a feeder link delay associated with a feeder link between a terrestrial network node and a non-terrestrial (NT) network node of the wireless network
Ren teaches that “the subcarrier interval occupied by the PRACH Preamble sequence is determined according to ... a sum of a residual frequency offset after the initial synchronization of the terminal and a Doppler frequency offset caused by satellite movement” (Ren, 0035). Figs. 1 and 2 in Ren also depict a UE and base station communicating with an extraterrestrial satellite.
Here, the “sum of a residual frequency offset ... and a Doppler frequency offset” corresponds to “a feeder link delay” because the frequency difference here is analogous to and interchangeable with a time domain feeder link delay.
Maintaining, by the processor, synchronization using either or both of the synchronization information and the feeder link delay in performing non-terrestrial network (NTN) communications with the wireless network
Ren teaches that a UE should use “downlink timing synchronization position estimation” and “downlink frequency offset estimation” to “obtain the downlink synchronization signal and/or reference signal” (Ren, 0038-0039). Furthermore, this synchronization helps convey a “plurality of CPs which is greater than a sum of a transmission delay” (Ren, 0032).
Here, “obtain[ing] the downlink synchronization” is analogous to “maintaining ... synchronization” since this is the purpose of obtaining the downlink synchronization in the first place.
The synchronization information comprises all of: a position of a non-terrestrial (NT) network node of the wireless network, a velocity of the NT network node, and a feeder link delay associated with a feeder link between the terrestrial network node and the NT network node
Ren teaches that the “downlink cell search” performed “to obtain the downlink synchronization signal and/or reference signal” derives information to create “the generated PRACH Preamble sequence” (Ren, 0038-0039).
Furthermore, Ren states that the “PRACH Preamble format includes plurality of CPs [cyclic prefixes]” that have “a total duration” that “is greater than a sum of a transmission delay introduced by a movement distance of a satellite” (Ren, 0032). Ren further elaborates that “the PRACH Preamble sequence is determined according to a Doppler frequency offset range corresponding to the terminal at different moving speeds and/or ... a Doppler frequency offset caused by satellite movement” (Ren, 0035). This shows that this information about satellite position, speed, etc. is derived during synchronization.
Here, the “PRACH Preamble format” maps to “the synchronization information”,
“satellite movement” maps to “a position of a non-terrestrial (NT) network node of the wireless network”,
“satellite ... speed” maps to “a velocity of the NT network node”, and
“a transmission delay” corresponds to “a feeder link delay associated with a feeder link between the terrestrial network node and the NT network node”.
The synchronization information is valid at the implicit time reference which is a fixed reference corresponding to the NT network node
Ren describes a “terminal” that performs “downlink cell search according to a periodic position of a frame structure where a downlink synchronization signal and/or reference signal predefined by a protocol is/are located” (Ren, 0035, 0038-0039). Here, the “periodic position of a frame structure” is analogous to the “synchronization information” because it is an “implicit time reference” and is sent “downlink” (i.e. “corresponding to the NT network node”).
Deriving, by the processor, the feeder link delay at a given time based on the feeder link delay at the reference time, the feeder link delay drift rate at the reference time, and an amount of time elapsed from the reference time to the given time
Ren states that “[t]he subcarrier interval occupied by the PRACH Preamble sequence is determined according to a Doppler frequency offset range corresponding to the terminal at different moving speeds and/or a sum of a residual frequency offset after the initial synchronization of the terminal and a Doppler frequency offset caused by satellite movement” (Ren, 0035).
Here, “[t]he subcarrier interval” for “the PRACH Preamble sequence” corresponds to “the feeder link delay at a given time” because this frequency shift is analogous to shifting a transmission in the time domain,
“a residual frequency offset after the initial synchronization of the terminal” maps to “the feeder link delay at the reference time”,
“a Doppler frequency offset range corresponding to the terminal at different moving speeds” maps to “the feeder link delay drift rate at the reference time”, and
“the residual frequency offset” maps to “the feeder link delay drift rate at the reference time, and an amount of time elapsed from the reference time to the given time” because the total offset is equivalent to the product of the delay drift rate and the time elapsed since synchronization.
Furthermore, although Ren does not explicitly disclose the following limitations from Claim 13 as arranged in the claim, Ren does elsewhere disclose and thus render obvious:
Receiving, from the wireless network, a signaling indicating
Ren describes several examples of the terminal receiving a message from the network such as “a feedback RAR message within an RAR time window” (Ren, 0027-0028).
And:
Broadcast signaling
Ren states that “cell public delay information is the public transmission delay of the beam area where the terminal is located obtained according to a system broadcast message” (Ren, 0162).
Here, “a system broadcast message” corresponds to “broadcast signaling”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ren’s method for calculating feeder link delay to perform the calculation at a network device and transmit it to the terminal, as other data already is sent to the terminal in Ren’s method. Calculating the feeder link delay and sending it to the terminal frees compute power on the terminal to perform other tasks while this calculation occurs.
Ren does not explicitly disclose:
The position and the velocity of the NT network node are according to Earth-Centered, Earth-Fixed (ECEF) coordinates
However, Speidel does teach:
The position and the velocity of the NT network node are according to Earth-Centered, Earth-Fixed (ECEF) coordinates
Speidel describes “
r
B
T
S
” which “represents the position vector of the satellite in ECEF coordinates ...
v
B
T
S
represents the velocity vector of the satellite in ECEF coordinates” (Speidel col. 30, lines 21-22, 25-26).
Speidel also teaches more clearly than Ren taking a measurement of:
A velocity of the NT network node
Speidel describes “
v
B
T
S
” which “represents the velocity vector of the satellite in ECEF coordinates and
v
M
S
represents the velocity vector of the MS in ECEF coordinates” (Speidel col. 30, lines 25-27).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the ECEF position and velocity described in Speidel into Ren’s method for synchronizing a user equipment and a satellite. The satellite velocity is a useful parameter for achieving synchronization, and ECEF is a useful format for storing this and other parameters.
As to Claim 20:
Deriving the feeder link delay at a given time based on the feeder link delay at the reference time, the feeder link delay drift rate at the reference time, and an amount of time elapsed from the reference time to the given time
Ren states that “[t]he subcarrier interval occupied by the PRACH Preamble sequence is determined according to a Doppler frequency offset range corresponding to the terminal at different moving speeds and/or a sum of a residual frequency offset after the initial synchronization of the terminal and a Doppler frequency offset caused by satellite movement” (Ren, 0035).
Here, “[t]he subcarrier interval” for “the PRACH Preamble sequence” corresponds to “the feeder link delay at a given time” because this frequency shift is analogous to shifting a transmission in the time domain,
“a residual frequency offset after the initial synchronization of the terminal” maps to “the feeder link delay at the reference time”,
“a Doppler frequency offset range corresponding to the terminal at different moving speeds” maps to “the feeder link delay drift rate at the reference time”, and
“the residual frequency offset” maps to “the feeder link delay drift rate at the reference time, and an amount of time elapsed from the reference time to the given time” because the total offset is equivalent to the product of the delay drift rate and the time elapsed since synchronization.
Claim(s) 5-9 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren (US 2022/0132593 A1) in view of Speidel (US 10,084,535 B1) and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2021/0337491 A1, hereinafter “Xu”).
As to Claim 5:
Ren teaches:
The implicit time reference corresponds to a frame boundary
Ren teaches that a terminal performs “downlink cell search according to a periodic position of a frame structure”, i.e. a “frame boundary”.
Ren does not explicitly disclose:
A frame boundary at an ending boundary of a system information window in which a corresponding system information block (SIB) is transmitted from the wireless network to the apparatus
However, Xu does describe a method for synchronizing two devices using the end boundary of a window for sending a system information block.
Specifically, Xu teaches:
A frame boundary at an ending boundary of a system information window in which a corresponding system information block (SIB) is transmitted from the wireless network to the apparatus
Xu teaches that “[a] terminal UE receives a system information block SIB” and that “the time information indicates a moment corresponding to a boundary of a system frame number SFN at which an end boundary of a system information SI window for sending the SIB” (Xu, 0007).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the end of the system information frame taught in Xu as the time reference for Ren’s synchronization method. The SIB window is a common feature of most, if not all communication between a base station and a terminal, meaning it can similarly serve as a reference point to determine transmission delay and synchronize both devices.
As to Claim 6:
Ren teaches:
The implicit time reference corresponds to a frame boundary
Ren teaches that a terminal performs “downlink cell search according to a periodic position of a frame structure”, i.e. a “frame boundary”.
Ren does not explicitly disclose:
A frame boundary immediately after an ending boundary of a system information window in which a corresponding system information block (SIB) is transmitted from the wireless network to the apparatus
However, Xu does teach:
A frame boundary immediately after an ending boundary of a system information window in which a corresponding system information block (SIB) is transmitted from the wireless network to the apparatus
Xu teaches that “[a] terminal UE receives a system information block SIB” and that “the time information indicates a moment corresponding to a boundary of a system frame number SFN at which an end boundary of a system information SI window for sending the SIB” (Xu, 0007).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the end of the system information frame taught in Xu as the time reference for Ren’s synchronization method. The SIB window is a common feature of most, if not all communication between a base station and a terminal, meaning it can similarly serve as a reference point to determine transmission delay and synchronize both devices.
As to Claim 7:
Ren teaches:
The implicit time reference corresponds to a frame boundary
Ren teaches that a terminal performs “downlink cell search according to a periodic position of a frame structure”, i.e. a “frame boundary”.
Ren does not explicitly disclose:
A frame boundary at a starting boundary of a frame or slot in which a corresponding system information block (SIB) is transmitted from the wireless network to the apparatus
However, Xu does teach:
A frame boundary at a starting boundary of a frame or slot in which a corresponding system information block (SIB) is transmitted from the wireless network to the apparatus
Xu teaches that “[a] terminal UE receives a system information block SIB” and that “[t]he time information in the SIB indicates a moment corresponding to a boundary of an SFN at which a start boundary of the system information SI window for sending the SIB is located” (Xu, 0007, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the beginning of the system information frame taught in Xu as the time reference for Ren’s synchronization method. The SIB window is a common feature of most, if not all communication between a base station and a terminal, meaning it can similarly serve as a reference point to determine transmission delay and synchronize both devices.
As to Claim 8:
Ren teaches:
The implicit time reference corresponds to a frame boundary
Ren teaches that a terminal performs “downlink cell search according to a periodic position of a frame structure”, i.e. a “frame boundary”.
Ren does not explicitly disclose:
A frame boundary at a fixed offset from a starting boundary of a frame or slot in which a corresponding system information block (SIB) is transmitted from the wireless network to the apparatus
However, Xu does teach:
A frame boundary at a fixed offset from a starting boundary of a frame or slot in which a corresponding system information block (SIB) is transmitted from the wireless network to the apparatus
Xu teaches that “[a] terminal UE receives a system information block SIB” and that “the time information in the SIB indicates a moment corresponding to a boundary of an SFN immediately after a start boundary of an SI window for sending the SIB” (Ren, 0007, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an offset from the beginning of the system information frame taught in Xu as the time reference for Ren’s synchronization method. The SIB window is a common feature of most, if not all communication between a base station and a terminal, meaning it can similarly serve as a reference point to determine transmission delay and synchronize both devices.
As to Claim 9:
Ren teaches:
The implicit time reference corresponds to a frame boundary
Ren teaches that a terminal performs “downlink cell search according to a periodic position of a frame structure”, i.e. a “frame boundary”.
Ren does not explicitly disclose:
A frame boundary at a fixed offset from an ending boundary of a frame or slot in which a corresponding system information block (SIB) is transmitted from the wireless network to the apparatus
However, Xu does teach:
A frame boundary at a fixed offset from an ending boundary of a frame or slot in which a corresponding system information block (SIB) is transmitted from the wireless network to the apparatus
Ren teaches that “[a] terminal UE receives a system information block SIB” and that “the time information in the SIB indicates a moment corresponding to a boundary of an SFN immediately after an end boundary of the SI window for sending the SIB” (Xu, 0007, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an offset from the end of the system information frame taught in Xu as the time reference for Ren’s synchronization method. The SIB window is a common feature of most, if not all communication between a base station and a terminal, meaning it can similarly serve as a reference point to determine transmission delay and synchronize both devices.
As to Claim 17:
Ren teaches:
The implicit time reference corresponds to a frame boundary
Ren teaches that a terminal performs “downlink cell search according to a periodic position of a frame structure”, i.e. a “frame boundary”.
Ren does not explicitly disclose:
A frame boundary at or immediately after an ending boundary of a system information window in which a corresponding system information block (SIB) is transmitted from the wireless network to the apparatus
However, Xu does teach:
A frame boundary at or immediately after an ending boundary of a system information window in which a corresponding system information block (SIB) is transmitted from the wireless network to the apparatus
Xu teaches that “[a] terminal UE receives a system information block SIB” and that “ the SIB includes time information” which “indicates a moment corresponding to a boundary of a system frame number SFN at which an end boundary of a system information SI window ... or indicates a moment corresponding to a boundary of an SFN immediately after an end boundary of an SI window for sending the SIB” (Xu, 0007).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the end of the system information frame taught in Xu as the time reference for Ren’s synchronization method. The SIB window is a common feature of most, if not all communication between a base station and a terminal, meaning it can similarly serve as a reference point to determine transmission delay and synchronize both devices.
As to Claim 18:
Ren teaches:
The implicit time reference corresponds to a frame boundary
Ren teaches that a terminal performs “downlink cell search according to a periodic position of a frame structure”, i.e. a “frame boundary”.
Ren does not explicitly disclose:
A frame boundary at a starting boundary, a fixed offset from the starting boundary, or a fixed offset from an ending boundary of a frame or slot in which a corresponding system information block (SIB) is transmitted from the wireless network to the apparatus
However, Xu does teach:
A frame boundary at a starting boundary, a fixed offset from the starting boundary, or a fixed offset from an ending boundary of a frame or slot in which a corresponding system information block (SIB) is transmitted from the wireless network to the apparatus
Ren teaches that “[a] terminal UE receives a system information block SIB” and that “[t]he time information in the SIB indicates a moment corresponding to a boundary of an SFN at which a start boundary of the system information SI window for sending the SIB is located” or “a moment corresponding to a boundary of an SFN immediately after an end boundary of the SI window for sending the SIB” (Xu, 0007, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the beginning of the system information frame taught in Xu as the time reference for Ren’s synchronization method. The SIB window is a common feature of most, if not all communication between a base station and a terminal, meaning it can similarly serve as a reference point to determine transmission delay and synchronize both devices.
Conclusion
/B.P.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477