DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 19-20 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 19, the term “where each bank represent” in ln. 10 should read “where each bank represents”.
As to claims 19-20, the term “the vial receive;” in ln. 3 should read “the vial receiver;”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 11-13, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garret Miyake of US 2019/0345122 A1 (hereinafter, Miyake) in view of Binchen Luan of CN 104154455 A (hereinafter, Luan) and Anders Wessman of US 2015/0225444 A1 (hereinafter, Wessman).
As to claim 1, Miyake teaches to a photochemical reactor (Miyake, paragraph [0083], teaches to a photochemical reactor), comprising:
a reaction chamber (Miyake, paragraph [0083], teaches to a reaction chamber, as Miyake teaches to the reaction chamber 105), including:
a frame (Miyake, Fig. 4, teaches to frame, as Miyake teaches to the reaction chamber 105 having a frame; the chamber necessarily has a frame);
one or more circuit boards each coupled to the frame and each carrying a plurality of light sources (Miyake, paragraph [0083], teaches to one or more circuit boards each coupled to the frame and each carrying a plurality of light sources, as Miyake teaches to the LED module 107 comprising the one or more LEDs 102; Miyake, paragraph [0081], teaches to printed circuit board for mounting one or more LEDs to the printed circuit board);
a vial receiver (Miyake, paragraph [0078], Fig. 4, teaches to a vial receiver, as Miyake teaches to a modular reaction vial holder 106).
Miyake does not explicitly teach a power source coupling, adapted to power the one or more circuit boards. However, the photoreactor of Miyake comprising the LED module 107 necessarily has a power source coupling, adapted to power the one or more circuit boards, given that the LED module 107 functions to convert electricity into emit light; the LED module 107 would not be operable without a power source for supplying the required energy to the LED module 107 mounted on a circuit board.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Miyake to comprise a power source for supplying energy to the LED module 107 mounted on a circuit board.
Miyake does not explicitly teach centrally disposed about the one or more circuit boards.
In an analogous art, Luan teaches to centrally disposed about the one or more circuit boards (Luan, paragraph [0045], Fig. 7, teaches to centrally disposed about the one or more circuit boards, as Luan teaches to a circuit board 411 and a plurality of LED lamps 412 disposed on the circuit board 411).
Both Miyake and Luan relate to an LED reaction lamp (Luan, paragraph [0002]). Miyake does not explicitly teach centrally disposing a receiver about the one or more circuit boards. Miyake does teach to a photoreactor with a reaction vial holder and an LED module on a printed circuit board. Luan teaches to centrally disposing about the one or more circuit boards for shedding light onto a target.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Miyake with the disposition of Luan for luminous flux onto a target in increasing light intensity, thereby increasing the performance of a photoreactor.
Miyake in view of Luan does not explicitly teach an agitator configured to rotate the vial receiver.
In an analogous art, Wessman teaches to an agitator configured to rotate the vial receiver (Wessman, paragraph [0023], Fig. 1, teaches to an agitator configured to rotate the vial receiver, as Wessman teaches to a rotatable tubular shaft 2). Wessman, paragraph [0018], teaches that spinning the vial results in less turbulence than shaking the vial, thereby allowing greater utility of a reactor height for the reactor vial.
Both Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman relate to a reactor with a vial (Wessman, Fig. 1, teaches to a reactor vial 1). Miyake in view of Luan does not explicitly teach to an agitator configured to rotate the vial receiver. Miyake in view of Luan does teach a reaction vial holder 106 (Miyake, Fig. 4). Wessman teaches to a tubular shaft 2 and a mixed motor 4 for spinning the vial in a reactor. Wessman teaches that doing so results in less turbulence compared to shaking the reactor, thereby allowing more effective utility of height of the reactor in mixing reactants.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Miyake in view of Luan with the agitator of Wessman for providing more effective utility of height of the reactor in mixing reactants.
As to claim 2, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman teaches to the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of light sources are light emitting diodes (LEDs) (Miyake, paragraph [0078], teaches to wherein the plurality of light sources are light emitting diodes (LEDs), as Miyake teaches to an LED Module 107).
As to claim 3, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman teaches to the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the LEDs are configured to output light having a wavelength of between about 300 nm and about 400 nm (Miyake, paragraph [0080], teaches to wherein the LEDs are configured to output light having a wavelength of between about 300 nm and about 400 nm, as Miyake teaches to a desired wavelength of between 200 nm to 700 nm, for example).
As to claim 5, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman teaches to the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the reaction chamber is structured to conduct heat away from the reaction chamber to ambient air (Miyake, paragraphs [0088] and [0090], teaches to wherein the reaction chamber is structured to conduct heat away from the reaction chamber to ambient air, as Miyake teaches to a computer fan that blows air downwards).
As to claim 6, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman teaches to the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the frame is a metallic structure (Miyake, paragraphs [0081]-[0082], Fig. 4, teaches to a metallic structure, as Miyake teaches to aluminum heatsink 103 and an aluminum tape inside the reaction chamber 105).
As to claim 7, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman teaches to the apparatus of claim 6, wherein material of the metallic structure is selected from the group consisting of copper, aluminum, steel, and alloys thereof (Miyake, paragraphs [0081]-[0082], Fig. 4, teaches to wherein material of the metallic structure is selected from the group consisting of copper, aluminum, steel, and alloys thereof, as Miyake teaches to aluminum heatsink 103 and an aluminum tape inside the reaction chamber 105).
As to claim 8, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman teaches to the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuit boards are disposed in a cylindrical configuration, wherein the light sources are pointing inwardly towards the vial receiver (Luan, paragraph [0010], Fig. 7 teaches to wherein the one or more circuit boards are disposed in a cylindrical configuration, wherein the light sources are pointing inwardly towards the vial receiver, as Luan teaches to the LED light group evenly distributed on the outer wall of the cylindrical base).
As to claim 11, Miyake teaches to a method of providing a photochemical reaction (Miyake, paragraph [0083], teaches to a method of providing a photochemical reaction), comprising:
placing a sample in vial positioned in vial received (Miyake, paragraph [0078], Fig. 4, teaches to placing a sample in vial positioned in vial received, as Miyake teaches to a modular reaction vial holder 106) within a photoreaction chamber (Miyake, paragraph [0083], teaches to a reaction chamber, as Miyake teaches to the reaction chamber 105), the photoreaction chamber including:
a frame (Miyake, Fig. 4, teaches to frame, as Miyake teaches to the reaction chamber 105 having a frame; the chamber necessarily has a frame);
one or more circuit boards each coupled to the frame and each carrying a plurality of light sources (Miyake, paragraph [0083], teaches to one or more circuit boards each coupled to the frame and each carrying a plurality of light sources, as Miyake teaches to the LED module 107 comprising the one or more LEDs 102; Miyake, paragraph [0081], teaches to printed circuit board for mounting one or more LEDs to the printed circuit board).
Miyake does not explicitly teach a power source coupling, adapted to power the one or more circuit boards; energizing the one or more circuit boards to thereby illuminate the plurality of the light sources. However, the photoreactor of Miyake comprising the LED module 107 necessarily has a power source coupling, adapted to power the one or more circuit boards, given that the LED module 107 functions to convert electricity into emit light; the LED module 107 would not be operable without a power source for supplying the required energy to the LED module 107 mounted on a circuit board. Likewise, Miyake necessarily teaches to energizing the one or more circuit boards to thereby illuminate the plurality of the light sources, given that the LED module 107 functions to convert electricity into emit light; ; the LED module 107 would not be operable without a step of energizing the one or more circuit boards for supplying required energy to the LED module 107 mounted on a circuit board.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Miyake to comprise a power source for supplying energy to the LED module 107 mounted on a circuit board and for energizing the one or more circuit boards to thereby illuminate the plurality of the light sources.
Miyake does not explicitly teach the vial receiver the vial receiver centrally disposed about the one or more circuit boards.
In an analogous art, Luan teaches to the vial receiver centrally disposed about the one or more circuit boards (Luan, paragraph [0045], Fig. 7, teaches to the vial receiver centrally disposed about the one or more circuit boards, as Luan teaches to a circuit board 411 and a plurality of LED lamps 412 disposed on the circuit board 411).
Both Miyake and Luan relate to an LED reaction lamp (Luan, paragraph [0002]). Miyake does not explicitly teach centrally disposing a receiver about the one or more circuit boards. Miyake does teach to a photoreactor with a reaction vial holder and an LED module on a printed circuit board. Luan teaches to centrally disposing about the one or more circuit boards for shedding light onto a target.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Miyake with the disposition method of Luan for luminous flux onto a target in increasing light intensity, thereby increasing the performance of a photoreactor.
Miyake in view of Luan does not explicitly teach configured to be rotated to thereby provide agitation of the sample within the vial and rotating the receiver.
In an analogous art, Wessman teaches to configured to be rotated to thereby provide agitation of the sample within the vial and rotating the receiver (Wessman, paragraph [0023], Fig. 1, teaches configured to be rotated to thereby provide agitation of the sample within the vial and rotating the receiver, as Wessman teaches to a rotatable tubular shaft 2). Wessman, paragraph [0018], teaches that spinning the vial results in less turbulence than shaking the vial, thereby allowing greater utility of a reactor height for the reactor vial.
Both Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman relate to a reactor with a vial (Wessman, Fig. 1, teaches to a reactor vial 1). Miyake in view of Luan does not explicitly teach to an agitator configured to rotate the vial receiver. Miyake in view of Luan does teach a reaction vial holder 106 (Miyake, Fig. 4). Wessman teaches to a tubular shaft 2 and a mixed motor 4 for spinning the vial in a reactor. Wessman teaches that doing so results in less turbulence compared to shaking the reactor, thereby allowing more effective utility of height of the reactor in mixing reactants.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Miyake in view of Luan with the agitation of Wessman for providing more effective utility of height of the reactor in mixing reactants.
As to claim 12, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman teaches to the method of claim 11, wherein the plurality of light sources are light emitting diodes (LEDs) (Miyake, paragraph [0078], teaches to wherein the plurality of light sources are light emitting diodes (LEDs), as Miyake teaches to an LED Module 107).
As to claim 13, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman teaches to the method of claim 12, wherein the LEDs are configured to output light having a wavelength of between about 300 nm and about 400 nm (Miyake, paragraph [0080], teaches to wherein the LEDs are configured to output light having a wavelength of between about 300 nm and about 400 nm, as Miyake teaches to a desired wavelength of between 200 nm to 700 nm, for example).
As to claim 15, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman teaches to the method of claim 11, wherein the reaction chamber is structured to conduct heat away from the reaction chamber to ambient air (Miyake, paragraphs [0088] and [0090], teaches to wherein the reaction chamber is structured to conduct heat away from the reaction chamber to ambient air, as Miyake teaches to a computer fan that blows air downwards).
As to claim 16, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman teaches to the method of claim 15, wherein the frame is a metallic structure (Miyake, paragraphs [0081]-[0082], Fig. 4, teaches to a metallic structure, as Miyake teaches to aluminum heatsink 103 and an aluminum tape inside the reaction chamber 105).
As to claim 17, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman e teaches to the method of claim 16, wherein the material of the metallic structure is selected from the group consisting of copper, aluminum, steel, and alloys thereof (Miyake, paragraphs [0081]-[0082], Fig. 4, teaches to wherein material of the metallic structure is selected from the group consisting of copper, aluminum, steel, and alloys thereof, as Miyake teaches to aluminum heatsink 103 and an aluminum tape inside the reaction chamber 105).
As to claim 18, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman teaches to the method of claim 11, wherein the one or more circuit boards are disposed in a cylindrical configuration, wherein the light sources are pointing inwardly towards the vial receiver (Luan, paragraph [0010], Fig. 7 teaches to wherein the one or more circuit boards are disposed in a cylindrical configuration, wherein the light sources are pointing inwardly towards the vial receiver, as Luan teaches to the LED light group evenly distributed on the outer wall of the cylindrical base).
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garret Miyake of US 2019/0345122 A1 (hereinafter, Miyake) in view of Binchen Luan of CN 104154455 A (hereinafter, Luan) and Anders Wessman of US 2015/0225444 A1 (hereinafter, Wessman), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Vaske Mikani of US 2015/0035442 A1 (hereinafter, Mikani).
As to claim 4, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does not explicitly teach wherein the LEDs are coupled to a current limiting resistor.
In an analogous art, teaches to the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the LEDs are coupled to a current limiting resistor (Mikani, paragraphs [0024] and [0032], teaches to wherein the LEDs are coupled to a current limiting resistor, as Mikani teaches to a LED driver including one or more current limiting circuits comprising a current limiting resistor 125).
Both Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman and Mikani relate to a light emitting diode (LED, Mikani, paragraph [0002]). Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does not explicitly teach a current limiting resistor. Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does teach a LED module. Mikani, paragraph [0032], teaches a current limiting circuit for the LED, wherein the current limiting circuit limits the amount of current flowing through the LEDs. The circuit of Mikani comprises a current limiting resistor 125. Mikani, paragraph [0085], teaches that the resulting effects comprise higher electrical efficiencies.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman with the current limiting resistor of Mikani for limiting the amount of current flowing through the LEDs, thereby resulting in higher electrical efficiencies.
As to claim 14, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does not explicitly teach wherein the LEDs are coupled to a current limiting resistor.
In an analogous art, Mikani teaches to the method of claim 12, wherein the LEDs are coupled to a current limiting resistor (Mikani, paragraphs [0024] and [0032], teaches to wherein the LEDs are coupled to a current limiting resistor, as Mikani teaches to a LED driver including one or more current limiting circuits comprising a current limiting resistor 125).
Both Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman and Mikani relate to a light emitting diode (LED, Mikani, paragraph [0002]). Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does not explicitly teach a current limiting resistor. Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does teach a LED module. Mikani, paragraph [0032], teaches a current limiting circuit for the LED, wherein the current limiting circuit limits the amount of current flowing through the LEDs. The circuit of Mikani comprises a current limiting resistor 125. Mikani, paragraph [0085], teaches that the resulting effects comprise higher electrical efficiencies.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman with the current limiting resistor of Mikani for limiting the amount of current flowing through the LEDs, thereby resulting in higher electrical efficiencies.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garret Miyake of US 2019/0345122 A1 (hereinafter, Miyake) in view of Binchen Luan of CN 104154455 A (hereinafter, Luan) and Anders Wessman of US 2015/0225444 A1 (hereinafter, Wessman), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Wang, Ning, et al. "Optofluidic UV-Vis spectrophotometer for online monitoring of photocatalytic reactions." Scientific reports 6.1 (2016): 28928 (hereinafter, Wang), Alzir Azevedo Batista of BR 202012000227 U2 (hereinafter, Batista), and William R. Florac of US 2021/0251064 A1 (hereinafter, Florac).
As to claim 9, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does not explicitly teach one or more photodetectors disposed about the vial receiver and adapted to measure wavelength of incident light at the vial receiver.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches to the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: one or more photodetectors disposed about the vial receiver and adapted to measure wavelength of incident light at the vial receiver (Wang, Fig. 1, teaches to one or more photodetectors disposed about the vial receiver and adapted to measure wavelength of incident light at the vial receiver, as Wang teaches to UV-Vis Spectrophotometer).
Both Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman and Wang relate to a photoreactor (Wang, pg. 1, teaches to a photocatalytic microreactor). Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does not explicitly teach a photodetector. Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does teach a photoreactor with a reaction vial holder and an LED module on a printed circuit board. Wang teaches to one or more photodetectors disposed about the vial receiver and adapted to measure wavelength of incident light at the vial receiver. Wang teaches that for solving issues of complication and errors in using reactors, enabling real-time monitoring of the reaction processes is necessary (Wang, pg. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman with the photodetector of Wang for enabling real-time monitoring of the reaction processes.
Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, and Wang does not explicitly teach a controller, configured to: receive feedback signals from the one or more photodetectors; selectively activate one or more of the plurality of light sources, wherein the plurality of light source are provided in one or more banks, where each bank represent a predetermined wavelength.
In an analogous art, Batista teaches to a controller (Batista, pg. 4, teaches to a controller, as Batista teaches to a microcontroller 62), configured to: receive feedback signals from the one or more photodetectors (the microcontroller 62 of Batista would have been capable of receiving feedback signals from the one or more detectors of UV-Vis spectrophotometer of Wang, as Wang, pg. 4, teaches that the LCD display 21 provides the user of the photochemical reactor 100 with all system related information such as, what wavelength is currently active, the light intensity, the temperature, and the stirring rate); selectively activate one or more of the plurality of light sources, wherein the plurality of light source are provided in one or more banks, where each bank represent a predetermined wavelength (Batista, pg. 4, teaches to selectively activating one or more of the plurality of light sources, wherein the plurality of light sources are provided in one or more banks, where each bank represent a predetermined wavelength, as Batista teaches to selecting the bank of LEDs to be activated).
Both Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, and Wang and Batista relate to photoreactors (Batista, pg. 1, abstract). Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, and Wang does not explicitly teach a controller. Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, and Wang does teach to a photoreactor with a reaction vial holder and an LED module on a printed circuit board. Batista teaches a controller for selectively activating one or more bank of LEDs each representing a predetermined wavelength. Batista teaches to an intelligent, or smart, photoreactor that uses an embedded microcontroller system, thereby employing automatic controls (Wang, pg. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, and Wang with the controller of Batista for employing automatic controls in providing a more efficient photoreactor.
Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, Wang, and Batista does not explicitly teach to a controller being configured to establish an error associated with a desired wavelength at the vial receiver and the measured wavelength; apply an error minimization regression algorithm to minimize the wavelength error.
In an analogous art, Florac teaches to a controller being configured to establish an error associated with a desired wavelength at the vial receiver and the measured wavelength (Florac, Fig. 2, teaches to a controller being configured to establish an error associated with a desired wavelength at the vial receiver and the measured wavelength, as Florac teaches to an arithmetic logic unit 160 coupled to a control unit 155 within a processing unit 135 in a controller 105 for the control system 100 comprising light arrays 110A-110C, and Florac, paragraph [0046], Fig. 2, teaches to a camera 175 as a spectrometer being able to detect a light spectrum); apply an error minimization regression algorithm to minimize the wavelength error (Florac, paragraphs [0009] and [0067], Figs. 2 and 11A-11C, teaches to a controller being configured to apply an error minimization regression algorithm to minimize the wavelength error, as Florac teaches that a controller 105 is capable of utilizing conventional target spectral matching techniques; the conventional target spectral matching techniques include a least squares method, for instance).
Both Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, Wang, and Batista and Florac relate to a lighting system (Florac, paragraph [0004]). Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, Wang, and Batista does not explicitly teach a controller being configured to establishing an error between a target and an observed wavelength and further applying a calculation for optimizing a light control. Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, Wang, and Batista does teach to an intelligent photoreactor for automatic controlling system of light comprising a controller (Batista, pg. 4, a microcontroller 62). Florac teaches to the conventional target spectral matching techniques. Florac, abstract, teaches to generating a target spectrum and improved control over the lighting system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, Wang, and Batista with the conventional target spectral matching techniques of Florac for generating a target spectrum and improved control over the lighting system, thereby providing a more effective photoreactor.
As to claim 19, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does not explicitly teach measuring wavelength of incident light at the vial receiver by one or more photodetectors disposed about the vial receiver.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches to the apparatus of claim 11, further comprising: measuring wavelength of incident light at the vial receiver by one or more photodetectors disposed about the vial receiver (Wang, Fig. 1, teaches to measuring wavelength of incident light at the vial receiver by one or more photodetectors disposed about the vial receiver, as Wang teaches to UV-Vis Spectrophotometer).
Both Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman and Wang relate to a photoreactor (Wang, pg. 1, teaches to a photocatalytic microreactor). Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does not explicitly teach a photodetector. Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does teach a photoreactor with a reaction vial holder and an LED module on a printed circuit board. Wang teaches to one or more photodetectors disposed about the vial receiver and adapted to measure wavelength of incident light at the vial receiver. Wang teaches that for solving issues of complication and errors in using reactors, enabling real-time monitoring of the reaction processes is necessary (Wang, pg. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman with the photodetector of Wang for enabling real-time monitoring of the reaction processes.
Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, and Wang does not explicitly teach receiving feedback signals from the one or more photodetectors by a controller; the controller selectively activating one or more of the plurality of light sources, wherein the plurality of light source are provided in one or more banks, where each bank represent a predetermined wavelength.
In an analogous art, Batista teaches receiving feedback signals from the one or more photodetectors (the microcontroller 62 of Batista teaches to receiving feedback signals from the one or more detectors of UV-Vis spectrophotometer of Wang, as Wang, pg. 4, teaches that the LCD display 21 provides the user of the photochemical reactor 100 with all system related information such as, what wavelength is currently active, the light intensity, the temperature, and the stirring rate) by a controller (Batista, pg. 4, teaches to a controller, as Batista teaches to a microcontroller 62); the controller selectively activating one or more of the plurality of light sources, wherein the plurality of light source are provided in one or more banks, where each bank represent a predetermined wavelength (Batista, pg. 4, teaches to the controller selectively activating one or more of the plurality of light sources, wherein the plurality of light source are provided in one or more banks, where each bank represent a predetermined wavelength, as Batista teaches to selecting the bank of LEDs to be activated).
Both Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, and Wang and Batista relate to photoreactors (Batista, pg. 1, abstract). Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, and Wang does not explicitly teach a controller. Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, and Wang does teach to a photoreactor with a reaction vial holder and an LED module on a printed circuit board. Batista teaches a controller for selectively activating one or more bank of LEDs each representing a predetermined wavelength. Batista teaches to an intelligent, or smart, photoreactor that uses an embedded microcontroller system, thereby employing automatic controls (Wang, pg. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, and Wang with the controller of Batista for employing automatic controls in providing a more efficient photoreactor.
Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, Wang, and Batista does not explicitly teach the controller establishing an error associated with a desired wavelength at the vial receiver and the measured wavelength; the controller applying an error minimization regression algorithm to minimize the wavelength error.
In an analogous art, Florac teaches to a controller being configured to the controller establishing an error associated with a desired wavelength at the vial receiver and the measured wavelength; apply an error minimization regression algorithm to minimize the wavelength error (Florac, Fig. 2, teaches the controller establishing an error associated with a desired wavelength at the vial receiver and the measured wavelength, as Florac, paragraphs [0009] and [0067], Figs. 2 and 11A-11C, teaches to a controller being configured to apply an error minimization regression algorithm to minimize the wavelength error; Florac teaches that a controller 105 is capable of utilizing conventional target spectral matching techniques; the conventional target spectral matching techniques include a least squares method, for instance; Florac teaches to an arithmetic logic unit 160 coupled to a control unit 155 within a processing unit 135 in a controller 105 for the control system 100 comprising light arrays 110A-110C, and Florac, paragraph [0046], Fig. 2, teaches to a camera 175 as a spectrometer being able to detect a light spectrum).
Both Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, Wang, and Batista and Florac relate to a lighting system (Florac, paragraph [0004]). Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, Wang, and Batista does not explicitly teach a controller being configured to establishing an error between a target and an observed wavelength and further applying a calculation for optimizing a light control. Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, Wang, and Batista does teach to an intelligent photoreactor for automatic controlling system of light comprising a controller (Batista, pg. 4, a microcontroller 62). Florac teaches to the conventional target spectral matching techniques. Florac, abstract, teaches to generating a target spectrum and improved control over the lighting system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, Wang, and Batista with the conventional target spectral matching techniques of Florac for generating a target spectrum and improved control over the lighting system, thereby providing a more effective photoreactor.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garret Miyake of US 2019/0345122 A1 (hereinafter, Miyake) in view of Binchen Luan of CN 104154455 A (hereinafter, Luan) and Anders Wessman of US 2015/0225444 A1 (hereinafter, Wessman), as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Dale Arlington Thomas, III, of US 2017/0081358 A1 (hereinafter, Thomas) and Aelx S. Beliaev of US 20100311156 A1 (hereinafter, Beliaev).
As to claim 10, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman teaches to the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a cooling fan system (Miyake, paragraph [0081], teaches to a cooling fan system, as Miyake teaches to a second cooling source 101, e.g., a 40 mm computer fan or water/fluid cooling jacket);
Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does not explicitly teach one or more temperature sensors disposed about the vial receiver and adapted to measure temperature of air about the vial receiver.
In an analogous art, Thomas teaches to one or more temperature sensors disposed about the vial receiver and adapted to measure temperature of air about the vial receiver (Thomas, paragraph [0150], teaches to one or more temperature sensors disposed about the vial receiver and adapted to measure temperature of air about the vial receiver, as Thomas teaches to thermocouples used in conjunction with the controller; see paragraph [0006]).
Both Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman and Thomas both relate to a temperature control (Thomas, paragraph [0051]). Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does not explicitly teach one or more temperature sensors. Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does teach to a cooling fan system for maintaining a desired temperature. Thomas teaches to using one or more temperature sensors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman with the one or more temperature sensors of Thomas for maintaining the desired temperatures, thereby improving the efficiency of the photoreactor.
Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman and Thomas does not explicitly teach a controller configured to: receive feedback signals from the one or more temperature sensors; establish an error associated with a desired air temperature about the vial receiver and the measured temperature; apply an error minimization regression algorithm to minimize the temperature error.
In an analogous art, Beliaev teaches to a controller configured to: receive feedback signals from the one or more temperature sensors; establish an error associated with a desired air temperature about the vial receiver and the measured temperature; apply an error minimization regression algorithm to minimize the temperature error (Beliaev, paragraph [0048], teaches to a controller configured to receive feedback signals from the one or more temperature sensors, establish an error associated with a desired air temperature about the vial receiver and the measured temperature, apply an error minimization regression algorithm to minimize the temperature error, as Beliaev teaches that cooling fans are automatically controlled by a temperature dependent programmable logic controllers to increase the longevity of LEDs).
Both Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman and Thomas and Beliaev relate to a photoreactor (Beliaev, paragraph [0028]). Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman and Thomas does not explicitly teach a controller configured to establish an error associated with a desired air temperature about the vial receiver and the measured temperature and to apply an error minimization regression algorithm to minimize the temperature error. Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman and Thomas does teach to a controller (Thomas, paragraph [0150], teaches to a controller, as Thomas teaches to a Watlow EZ-Zone RM controller configured to integrate PID control on-board) configured to: receive feedback signals from the one or more temperature sensors (Thomas, paragraph [0150], teaches to receiving feedback signals from the one or more temperature sensors, as Thomas teaches to the PID control; the PID control of Thomas necessarily receives feedback signals from the one or more temperature sensors, including thermocouples of Thomas). Beliaev teaches that the cooling fans are automatically controlled by a temperature dependent programmable logic controllers. The automatic temperature control of Beliaev necessarily comprise establishing an error and applying an error minimization regression algorithm in minimizing the temperature error.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman and Thomas with the controller of Beliaev for maintaining the desired temperatures, thereby improving the efficiency of the photoreactor.
Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman, Thomas and Beliaev does not explicitly teach to a controller configured to control the air temperature by one of i) selectively control speed of the cooling fan system, ii) selectively control intensity of the plurality of light sources, or iii) a combination of (i) and (ii).
Nonetheless, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman, Thomas and Beliaev does teach to a controller configured to control the air temperature by selectively controlling speed of the cooling fan system, as Beliaev, paragraph [0048], teaches to using cooling fans that are automatically controlled by a temperature dependent programmable logic controller. Controlling the speed of a fan rotation is obvious in using a cooling fan, and the mechanisms in which the cooling fans are used is not pertinent to the photoreactor. In other words, this amounts to a routine experimentation. A particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (please refer to MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges, including values within the claimed range, through routine experimentation.
As to claim 20, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman teaches to the method of claim 11, further comprising:
injecting air into the frame by a cooling fan system (Miyake, paragraph [0081], teaches to a injecting air into the frame by a cooling fan system, as Miyake teaches to a second cooling source 101, e.g., a 40 mm computer fan or water/fluid cooling jacket).
Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does not explicitly teach measuring temperature of air about the vial receiver by one or more temperature sensors disposed about the vial receive.
In an analogous art, Thomas teaches to measuring temperature of air about the vial receiver by one or more temperature sensors disposed about the vial receive (Thomas, paragraph [0150], teaches to measuring temperature of air about the vial receiver by one or more temperature sensors disposed about the vial receiver, as Thomas teaches to thermocouples used in conjunction with the controller; see paragraph [0006]).
Both Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman and Thomas both relate to a temperature control (Thomas, paragraph [0051]). Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does not explicitly teach one or more temperature sensors. Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman does teach to a cooling fan system for maintaining a desired temperature. Thomas teaches to using one or more temperature sensors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman with the one or more temperature sensors of Thomas for maintaining the desired temperatures, thereby improving the efficiency of the photoreactor.
Miyake in view of Luan, Wessman, and Thomas does not explicitly teach receiving feedback signals from the one or more temperature sensors by a controller; the controller establishing an error associated with a desired air temperature about the vial receiver and the measured temperature; the controller applying an error minimization regression algorithm to minimize the temperature error.
In an analogous art, Beliaev teaches to receiving feedback signals from the one or more temperature sensors by a controller; the controller establishing an error associated with a desired air temperature about the vial receiver and the measured temperature; the controller applying an error minimization regression algorithm to minimize the temperature error (Beliaev, paragraph [0048], teaches to receiving feedback signals from the one or more temperature sensors by a controller; the controller establishing an error associated with a desired air temperature about the vial receiver and the measured temperature; the controller applying an error minimization regression algorithm to minimize the temperature error, as Beliaev teaches that cooling fans are automatically controlled by a temperature dependent programmable logic controllers to increase the longevity of LEDs).
Both Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman and Thomas and Beliaev relate to a photoreactor (Beliaev, paragraph [0028]). Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman and Thomas does not explicitly teach a controller configured to establish an error associated with a desired air temperature about the vial receiver and the measured temperature and to apply an error minimization regression algorithm to minimize the temperature error. Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman and Thomas does teach to a controller (Thomas, paragraph [0150], teaches to a controller, as Thomas teaches to a Watlow EZ-Zone RM controller configured to integrate PID control on-board) configured to: receive feedback signals from the one or more temperature sensors (Thomas, paragraph [0150], teaches to receiving feedback signals from the one or more temperature sensors, as Thomas teaches to the PID control; the PID control of Thomas necessarily receives feedback signals from the one or more temperature sensors, including thermocouples of Thomas). Beliaev teaches that the cooling fans are automatically controlled by a temperature dependent programmable logic controllers. The automatic temperature control of Beliaev necessarily comprise establishing an error and applying an error minimization regression algorithm in minimizing the temperature error.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman and Thomas with the controller of Beliaev for maintaining the desired temperatures, thereby improving the efficiency of the photoreactor.
Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman, Thomas and Beliaev does not explicitly teach the controller controlling the air temperature by one of i) selectively control speed of the cooling fan system, ii) selectively control intensity of the plurality of light sources, or iii) a combination of (i) and (ii).
Nonetheless, Miyake in view of Luan and Wessman, Thomas and Beliaev does teach to a controller configured to control the air temperature by selectively controlling speed of the cooling fan system, as Beliaev, paragraph [0048], teaches to using cooling fans that are automatically controlled by a temperature dependent programmable logic controller. Controlling the speed of a fan rotation is obvious in using a cooling fan, and the mechanisms in which the cooling fans are used is not pertinent to the photoreactor. In other words, this amounts to a routine experimentation. A particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (please refer to MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges, including values within the claimed range, through routine experimentation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dajian Wang of CN 201147688 Y (hereinafter, Wang ‘688) teaches to a photochemical reactor; Yukako Asano of US 20160016141 A1 (hereinafter, Asano) teaches a microreactor for photoreactions; Jonathan Collins of US 20040260059 A1 (hereinafter, Collins) teaches to a microwave peptide synthesis; Tushar Patel of US 20210229063 A1 (hereinafter, Patel) teaches to a photochemical reactor; Claus Schafer Nielsen of WO 1990011291 A1 (hereinafter, Nielsen) teaches to linear regression calculation method; Paul N. Black of WO 2020081658 A1 (hereinafter, Black) teaches to a photobioreactor; Melnicki, Matthew R., et al. "Feedback-controlled LED photobioreactor for photophysiological studies of cyanobacteria." Bioresource technology 134 (2013): 127-133 (hereinafter, Melnicki) teaches to measuring light intensity for given wavelengths via a incident light sensor; Melnicki teaches to having a light sensor disposed in the vial receiver; Li, Yifan, et al. "Real-time spectroscopic monitoring of photocatalytic activity promoted by graphene in a microfluidic reactor." Scientific reports 6.1 (2016): 28803 (hereinafter, Li) teaches to a real-time monitoring of photocatalytic activity; Hajaghazadeh, Mohammad, et al. "Influence of operating parameters on gas phase photocatalytic oxidation of methyl-ethyl-ketone in a light emitting diode (LED)-fluidized bed reactor." Korean Journal of Chemical Engineering 32.4 (2015): 636-642 (hereinafter, Hajaghazadeh); Hajaghazadeh teaches to a least squares method (linear regression) after obtaining data; Lukovic, Milentije, et al. "LED-based Vis-NIR spectrally tunable light source-the optimization algorithm." Journal of the European Optical Society-Rapid Publications 12.1 (2016): 19 (hereinafter, Lukovic) teaches to a LED-based spectrally tunable light source-optimization algorithm.
/JOHN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/JAMES LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794