DETAILED ACTION
Claim status in the amendment received on 4/30/2026:
Claims 1-3, 8-19, 25, 27-28 and 34 have been amended.
Claims 1-4, 8-19, 25, 27-28 and 34 are pending.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments have been considered and in response to the amendments:
The previous 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments received on 4/30/2026 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the prior art does not teach or suggest the limitations: “wherein the server entity during each iteration of the iterative learning process: provides a parameter vector of the computational task to the agent entities; obtains, in accordance with the reporting condition, computational results as a function of the parameter vector from the agent entities”. As recited in claim 1 and similarly in the other independent claims.
The applicant specifically argues that the prior art does not teach or suggest the feature of obtaining the computational results as a function of the parameter vector from the agent entities. However, the examiner respectfully traverses.
Pezeshki teaches providing global updates (parameter vector) associated with a machine learning component to UEs (agent entities), see at least fig. 4.
Pezeshki further teaches “Federated learning involves repeated updates to a machine learning component. Local updates are transmitted from UEs to a base station, and global updates are transmitted from the base station to the UEs” (paragraph [0068]),
“…The initial provisioning of a machine learning component on a UE 310 and/or the transmission of a global update to the machine learning component to a UE 310 may trigger the beginning of a new round of federated learning” (paragraph [0059]).
Therefore, the local update (computational results) provided by the UEs to the Base station is a result of performing machine learning on the machine learning components hosted by the UEs, which is triggered and/or updated by the received global updates, thus (as function of) the received global updates.
Therefore, the prior art rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11, 13-17, 25, 27-28 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pezeshki et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220124779 A1).
As to claim 1, Pezeshki teaches a method for configuring agent entities with a reporting condition for reporting computational results during an iterative learning process, the method being performed by a server entity (paragraph [0056], “the base station 305 may transmit a machine learning component to each of the UEs 310”, “UEs” teaches agent entities, “base station” teaches a server entity), the method comprising: configuring the agent entities with a computational task and a reporting condition (paragraph [0072], “…the base station 410 may transmit, and the UE 405 may receive, a federated learning configuration. The federated learning configuration may include an indication of a periodic communication scheme for communicating with the base station 410 to facilitate federated learning associated with a machine learning component…”), wherein the agent entities are to contend for channel access to report computational results of the computational task to the server entity only when an importance metric satisfies the reporting condition (paragraph [0082], “The configured grant configuration may indicate that, if the update condition is satisfied, the UE 405 is to transmit the machine learning component update” and paragraph [0075]); and
performing the iterative learning process with the agent entities until a termination criterion is met (paragraph [0067], “The second communication manager 325 may update the global machine learning component using multiple rounds of updates from the UEs 310 until a global loss function is minimized (which may be referred to as “convergence” of the machine learning component)”, “convergence” teaches a termination criterion),
wherein the server entity during each iteration of the iterative learning process:
provides a parameter vector of the computational task to the agent entities (paragraph [0084], “the base station 410 may transmit, and the UE 405 may receive, a global update associated with the machine learning component”);
obtains, in accordance with the reporting condition, computational results as a function of the parameter vector from the agent entities (paragraph [0084], “the base station 410 may transmit, and the UE 405 may receive, a global update associated with the machine learning component”, paragraph [0059], “…The initial provisioning of a machine learning component on a UE 310 and/or the transmission of a global update to the machine learning component to a UE 310 may trigger the beginning of a new round of federated learning” and paragraph [0068]).
As to claim 2, Pezeshki teaches wherein the server entity during each iteration of the iterative learning process:
updates the parameter vector as a function of an aggregate of the obtained computational results when the aggregate of the obtained computational results for the iteration fails to satisfy the termination criterion (paragraph [0066], “…the base station 305 (e.g., using the second communication manager 325) may aggregate the updates received from the UEs 310 corresponding to a round of federated learning. For example, the second communication manager 325 may average the received gradients to determine an aggregated update…”).
As to claim 3, Pezeshki teaches wherein the importance metric satisfies the reporting condition when the importance metric exceeds a threshold value (paragraph [0082], “…the configured grant configuration may indicate an update condition corresponding to the configured grant. The update condition may include any number of different rules, thresholds, and/or ranges, among other examples…”).
As to claim 4, Pezeshki teaches wherein, according to the configuring, the agent entities are to contend for channel access by performing a random access procedure (paragraph [0079], “…The configured grant configuration may be carried in a random access channel (RACH) message during a RACH procedure…”).
As to claim 8, Pezeshki teaches a method, performed by an agent entity, for being configured by a server entity with a reporting condition for reporting computational results during an iterative learning process (paragraph [0056], “the base station 305 may transmit a machine learning component to each of the UEs 310”, “UEs” teaches agent entities, “base station” teaches a server entity), the method comprising: obtaining configuration of a computational task and a reporting condition from the server entity (paragraph [0072], “…the base station 410 may transmit, and the UE 405 may receive, a federated learning configuration. The federated learning configuration may include an indication of a periodic communication scheme for communicating with the base station 410 to facilitate federated learning associated with a machine learning component…”), wherein the agent entity is to contend for channel access to report computational results of the computational task to the server entity only when an importance metric satisfies the reporting condition (paragraph [0082], “The configured grant configuration may indicate that, if the update condition is satisfied, the UE 405 is to transmit the machine learning component update” and paragraph [0075]); and
performing the iterative learning process with the server entity until a termination criterion is met, wherein, as part of the learning process (paragraph [0067], “The second communication manager 325 may update the global machine learning component using multiple rounds of updates from the UEs 310 until a global loss function is minimized (which may be referred to as “convergence” of the machine learning component)”, “convergence” teaches a termination criterion), the agent entity contends for channel access to report a computational result for an iteration of the learning process to the server entity only when the importance metric satisfies the reporting criterion (paragraph [0082], “The configured grant configuration may indicate that, if the update condition is satisfied, the UE 405 is to transmit the machine learning component update” and paragraph [0075]), wherein the agent entity during each iteration of the iterative learning process: obtains a parameter vector of the computational task from the server entity (paragraph [0084], “the base station 410 may transmit, and the UE 405 may receive, a global update associated with the machine learning component”); determines the computational result of the computational task as a function of the obtained parameter vector for the iteration and of data locally obtained by the agent entity (paragraph [0084], “the base station 410 may transmit, and the UE 405 may receive, a global update associated with the machine learning component”, paragraph [0059], “…The initial provisioning of a machine learning component on a UE 310 and/or the transmission of a global update to the machine learning component to a UE 310 may trigger the beginning of a new round of federated learning” and paragraph [0068]).
As to claim 9, Pezeshki teaches wherein the agent entity during each iteration of the iterative learning process:
contends for channel access to report the computational result for the iteration to the server entity only when the importance metric satisfies the reporting criterion (paragraph [0082], “The configured grant configuration may indicate that, if the update condition is satisfied, the UE 405 is to transmit the machine learning component update” and paragraph [0075]).
As to claim 10, Pezeshki teaches wherein the importance metric satisfies the reporting condition when the importance metric exceeds a threshold value (paragraph [0082], “…the configured grant configuration may indicate an update condition corresponding to the configured grant. The update condition may include any number of different rules, thresholds, and/or ranges, among other examples…”).
As to claim 11, Pezeshki teaches wherein the importance metric is a function of a gradient update computed by the agent entity as part of determining the computational result for iteration t of the iterative learning process, and wherein contention for channel access is made only when the gradient update for iteration t exceeds a threshold value (paragraph [0064], “…a UE 310 may transmit a compressed set of gradients…”).
As to claim 13, Pezeshki teaches wherein the importance metric is a function of number of iterations n since recent-most contention for channel access was made, and wherein contention for channel access is made only when the number of iterations n of the iterative learning process exceeds the threshold value (paragraph [0063], “By repeating this process of training the machine learning component to determine the gradients g.sub.k.sup.(n) a number of times, the first communication manager 320 may determine an update corresponding to the machine learning component. Each repetition, by the first communication manager 320, of the training procedure described above may be referred to as an epoch”).
As to claim 14, Pezeshki teaches wherein the importance metric is a function of number of iterations n of the iterative learning process since recent-most reporting of the computational result was made, and wherein contention for channel access is made only when the number of iterations n exceeds the threshold value (paragraph [0063], “By repeating this process of training the machine learning component to determine the gradients g.sub.k.sup.(n) a number of times, the first communication manager 320 may determine an update corresponding to the machine learning component. Each repetition, by the first communication manager 320, of the training procedure described above may be referred to as an epoch”).
As to claim 15, Pezeshki teaches wherein the importance metric is a function of channel variation, over at least two iterations of the iterative learning process, of a radio propagation channel over which the computational result is to be reported, and wherein contention for channel access is made only when the channel variation exceeds the threshold value (paragraph [0063], “By repeating this process of training the machine learning component to determine the gradients g.sub.k.sup.(n) a number of times, the first communication manager 320 may determine an update corresponding to the machine learning component. Each repetition, by the first communication manager 320, of the training procedure described above may be referred to as an epoch” and paragraph [0038]).
As to claim 16, Pezeshki teaches wherein the importance metric is a function of a local parameter updated as part of performing a recent-most iteration of the iterative learning process, and wherein contention for channel access is made only when the local parameter exceeds the threshold value (paragraph [0064], “the UEs 310 may transmit their respective local updates (shown as “local update 1, . . . , local update k, . . . , local update K”) to the base station 305”).
As to claim 17, Pezeshki teaches wherein the importance metric is mapped onto an access probability value p, and wherein contention for channel access is made only when p>x, where x is a uniformly distributed random variable in an interval [0,1] and defines the threshold value (paragraph [0079], “…The configured grant configuration may be carried in a random access channel (RACH) message during a RACH procedure. The RACH procedure may include a four-step RACH procedure or a two-step RACH procedure…”).
As to claims 25 and 27, the limitations of the claim are substantially similar to claims 1 and 2, respectively. Please refer to each respective claim above.
As to claims 28 and 34, the limitations of the claim are substantially similar to claims 8 and 9, respectively. Please refer to each respective claim above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220124779 A1) in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230259789 A1).
As to claim 12, Pezeshki does not explicitly teach, but in the same field of endeavor (federated learning) Wang teaches wherein the importance metric is a function of a channel quality value, as valid for iteration t of the iterative learning process, for a radio propagation channel over which the computational result is to be reported, and wherein contention for channel access for iteration t is made only when the channel quality as valid for iteration t exceeds the threshold value (paragraph [0110], “the trigger event comprises the first signal or link quality parameter changing by more than the second threshold value, and wherein the first signal or link quality parameter comprises: received signal strength indicator, RSSI; reference signal receive quality, RSRQ; reference signal receive power, RSRP; signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio, SINR; channel quality indicator”).
Based on Pezeshki in view of Wang, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate channel quality metrics for reporting results (taught by Wang) with reporting computation results (taught by Pezeshki) in order to prevent data loss.
As to claim 18, Pezeshki does not explicitly teach, but in the same field of endeavor (federated learning) Wang teaches wherein the importance metric is a function of an attainable quality of service (QoS) value as attainable when reporting over the radio propagation channel, wherein the threshold value is mapped onto a required QoS value as required for reporting the computational result, and wherein contention for channel access for iteration t is made only when the attainable QoS value exceeds the required QoS value (paragraph [0110], “the trigger event comprises the first signal or link quality parameter changing by more than the second threshold value, and wherein the first signal or link quality parameter comprises: received signal strength indicator, RSSI; reference signal receive quality, RSRQ; reference signal receive power, RSRP; signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio, SINR; channel quality indicator”).
Based on Pezeshki in view of Wang, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate quality of service metrics for reporting results (taught by Wang) with reporting computation results (taught by Pezeshki) in order to prevent data loss.
As to claim 19, Wang further teaches wherein the attainable QoS value is determined from a channel quality value, as valid for iteration t, for a radio propagation channel over which the computational result is to be reported (paragraph [0110], “the trigger event comprises the first signal or link quality parameter changing by more than the second threshold value, and wherein the first signal or link quality parameter comprises: received signal strength indicator, RSSI; reference signal receive quality, RSRQ; reference signal receive power, RSRP; signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio, SINR; channel quality indicator”). The limitations of claim 19 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 18 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 18, applies here as well.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Abdulkader M Alriyashi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447 7/15/2026