DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of claim 26 is supported by the specification.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant's amendment filed on 4/27/2026. Thus, the following action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-50 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 26 recites “an aqueous mixture comprising the aqueous liquid comprising dissolved aqueous polymer and undissolved aqueous polymer gel,” however, the specification does not support an aqueous liquid comprising dissolved aqueous polymer and undissolved aqueous polymer gel.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitation “means for pressing” in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation is limited by the description in the specification as a pump comprising a twin screw, a progressive cavity pump, a gear pump or an extruder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-29, 31-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El-Toufaili et al (WO 2019/081324).
Claim 26, 32-33, 36, 42: El-Toufaili teaches a process for producing an aqueous polymer solution comprising the steps of [1 ] providing an aqueous polymer gel comprising 5 % to 45 % by weight of a water-soluble polymer obtainable by polymerization of an aqueous solution comprising water-soluble, monoethylenically unsaturated monomers, [2] comminuting and dissolving the aqueous polymer gel in an aqueous liquid, thereby obtaining an aqueous polymer solution, wherein step [2] comprises [2-1 ] conveying the aqueous polymer gel through a comminution unit, and adding at least a portion of the aqueous liquid into the comminution unit, thereby obtaining an aqueous mixture comprising an aqueous liquid comprising dissolved aqueous polymer and undissolved pieces of aqueous polymer gel, and [2-2] adding the remainder of the aqueous liquid to the aqueous mixture comprising an aqueous liquid comprising dissolved aqueous polymer and undissolved pieces of aqueous polymer gel obtained in course of step [2-1 ] and transferring the aqueous mixture to a dissolution unit dissolving the aqueous polymer gel pieces in the aqueous liquid thereby obtaining an aqueous polymer solution. The comminution unit comprises at least a flow chamber comprising an inlet for aqueous liquid and an outlet, a gel inlet connecting with the flow chamber, a perforated sheet, a rotating cutting knives has a distance of 0-1 mm, a screw spindle pump (i.e. twin screw) can be used to feed the gel into the comminution unit and force the gel pass through the perforated sheet , (Figure 3, page 4, 16:21-36, 17:11-13, 19:12-13, 21:39-40, 25: 1-35). El-Toufaili teaches the three dimensions of the aqueous polymer gel pieces should be no more than 5mm (23:1-9), which indicates the diameter of perforation is no more than 5mm which overlaps the claimed range.
El-Toufaili does not explicitly teach the ratio of s/d.
However, El-Toufaili teaches factors relevant for the particle size include the diameter of the holes in the perforated sheet and the layout and arrangement of the moveable knives and/or moveable water-jets. There is no lower limit necessary for the aqueous polymer gel pieces, since the smaller the pieces the easier it will be for the polymer to dissolve (23:1-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the layout and arrangement of the moveable knives and/or moveable water-jets to make the thin pieces resulting s/d<1 because this adjustment is easier to implement than smaller diameter of the holes in the perforated sheet, the latter requires higher pressure to press the polymer gel and may cause clog of the holes, and result in low efficiency.
Additionally, the thickness of the slice is a result effective variable where thin slice requires higher speed of the moveable knives which required more energy consumption or lower flow velocity of the gel passing through the perforated sheet which decreases process efficiency, and high speed or high pressure may degrade polymer, whereas thick slice slows polymer dissolving process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the layout and arrangement of the moveable knives and/or moveable water-jets through routine experimentation to make the thin pieces having the claimed s/d ratio to balance between energy consumption, efficiency, polymer degradation and ease of dissolving. Case law holds that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 27-28: the flow chamber is cylindrical (figure 3). The inlet is arranged higher than the outlet for aqueous mixture.
El-Toufaili does not teach the inlet is arranged lower than the outlet for aqueous mixture, the gel inlet is arranged at the rear base of the cylinder, nor the axis is lead through the front base of the cylinder.
However, rearrangement of parts is held unpatentable because it would not have modified the operation of the device.
Claim 29: El-Toufaili does not teach the x/y ratio.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the x/y ratio through routine experimentation because the ratio is a result effective variable, the diameter of the cutting system should match the size of perforated sheet so that all the gel strands can be cut into small piece to ease dissolution, the diameter of perforated sheet cannot be larger than the diameter of the flow chamber, a small diameter of perforated sheet will decrease the process efficiency. Case law holds that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 31: El-Toufaili does not teach the arrangement of holes being at equal distance.
However, El-Toufaili teaches the distance between the holes should be selected such that the mechanical stability of the hole perforated sheet is ensured and that the strings of aqueous polymer gel formed by conveying the gel through the hole do not paste together after passage through the hole (17:35-41). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have holes arranged at equal distance from the center of the sheet to ensure mechanical stability and prevent strands from pasting together.
Claim 34-35: the aqueous gel may be fed into the comminution unit by a pump, such as a screw spindle pump (page 16)
Claim 37-38: the aqueous liquid can be added in course of step 2-1 or in both courses of 2-1 and 2-2 (16:38-45).
Claim 39-41: the aqueous mixture is transferred into a dissolution unit, which can be stirred vessels, recirculating vessels, static mixers, unstirred vessels, in-line dispersing units (25:2-27).
Claim 43: the aqueous polymer solution has a concentration of 0.01-2 wt% (25:30-34).
Claim 44: El-Toufaili teaches the concentration of the aqueous solution is selected according to the intended use of the solution, typically, the concentration is up to 2wt% (25:30-34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the concentration when a high concentration product is required.
Claim 45, 50: the polymer gels are aqueous polyacrylamide gels (27:15-20).
Claim 46: the aqueous polymer composition can be transfer to mining filed, oil filed, paper making factory etc. (27:15-20).
Claims 47-48: El-Toufaili teaches polymer gel can be transferred by any means from a polymerization unit to the comminution unit (23:10-12), the aqueous mixture can be transferred through a pipe into the dissolution unit (25:5-7).
El-Toufaili does not teach how to transfer the aqueous polymer composition.
However, using pipeline or containers for transportation is a known method. One skilled in the art would choose a suitable method based on distance, cost etc.
Claim 49: transportation process is inherently a homogenizing process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that smaller perforation diameters may decrease viscosity, i.e. damage polymer, this argument is insufficient because applicant does not consider other critical factors which contribute to the polymer degradation: flow velocity of the polymer gel passing through the perforations, and the solid level of the gel. A smaller perforation with a low flow rate may cause less damage to polymer than a larger perforation with a high flow rate. For same size of perforation and same flow velocity, gel with high solid level may result in more damage to the polymer.
In response to applicant's argument regarding unexpected results, the data have been fully considered, however, they are insufficient to establish unexpected results given that 1) the data is not unexpected, example 2 has the highest pressure of gel which is expected to cause the most damage to the polymer. 2) the data is not compared to the closest prior art. 3) the data is not reasonably commensurate in scope with the scope of claims. The inventive data only applies to a specific polymer undergoing a process with a specific set of parameters as compared to the claimed genus and a broader range. Case law holds that evidence is insufficient to rebut a prima facie case if not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. In re Grasselli, 713 F.2d 731, 741, 218 USPQ 769, 777 (Fed. Cir. 1983). Case law holds that whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.” In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range (i.e., scope). In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980), MPEP 716.02(d). Case law holds that evidence of superior properties in one species insufficient to establish the nonobviousness of a subgenus containing hundreds of compounds. In re Greenfield, 571 F.2d 1185, 1189, 197 USPQ 227, 230 (CCPA 1978).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WENWEN CAI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763