DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 and the addition of claims 15-16 filed on 04/20/2026 are acknowledged by the examiner.
Claims 1-16 are currently pending and are under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument: Neither Vardy nor Sopher, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests a device having both an inflatable element at the distal end and support members extending away from the proximal end of an elongated base element. Sopher discloses no inflatable element. Moreover, in Sopher, the petal members 4802 are joined at an apex 4804, which represents the insertion end of the device. This corresponds to the distal end when the device is inserted into the vagina, not the proximal end as required by claim 1, which is the opposite orientation from what is claimed. The Office Action provides no rationale for why one skilled in the art would rearrange Sopher’s petal members from their disclosed position at the apex/distal end to the proximal end of an elongated base element. Such a rearrangement would fundamentally alter the structure and operation of Sopher’s device. Furthermore, the proposed combination would require placing Vardy’s inflatable element at the distal end while simultaneously placing Sopher’s support members at the proximal end of a single elongated base element.
Examiner’s response: The definition of proximal in terms of anatomy is “nearer to a point of reference such as an origin, a point of attachment, or the midline of the body,” https://www.thefreedictionary.com/proximal, therefore, the insertion end of Sopher where petal members 4802 are located in considered to be proximal, as this insertion end is nearer or closer to the point of attachment and is closer to the uterus/cervix, and further away from the vaginal opening when inserted. The claim does not specifically claim a reference point such that the proximal end must be the end that faces the vaginal opening and is not the insertion end. Therefore, the combination still reads on the amended claims. Further, Sopher is a teaching reference and is not being modified, therefore, the argument regarding altering the structure and operation of Sopher’s device is moot. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, modifying Vardy in view of Sopher to have support members helps to retain the pessary in place in a user.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 16, “the position” in line 2 should be recited as “a position”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“coupling element” in claims 4-5
“actuation mechanism” in claim 11
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-8, 11, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vardy (WO 2018/213187 A1) in view of Sopher et al. (referred to as “Sopher”) (US 2019/0091062 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Vardy discloses a vaginal device (600) for pelvic organ prolapse treatment (see Fig. 7 and [0049]; pessary 600 is a vaginal device for pelvic organ prolapse treatment), comprising:
an elongated base element (602) (see Fig. 7 and [0049]; pessary 600 comprises a stem 602 which is an elongated base element as it is long and is the foundation for pessary 600),
an inflatable element (702) attached to a distal end part of the elongated base element (602) (see Fig. 7 and [0049]; annular balloon 702 is an inflatable element as it may be selectively inflatable, and the annular balloon 702 may be attached to a distal end part of the stem 602, as the positioning of the annular balloon 702 about stem 602 can be varied depending on the desired placement of the pessary device 600, as shown in Fig. 7 via the different placements of the annular balloon 702, and thus can be attached at a distal end part as shown in the very first image of Fig. 7).
Vardy is silent on a support element attached to a proximal end part of the elongated base element the support element comprising at least two support members, the at least two support members extending away from the proximal end part of the elongated base element, wherein the at least two support members each form a leg extending away from the proximal end part of the elongated base element.
However, Sopher teaches an analogous vaginal device (4800) for pelvic organ prolapse treatment (see Figs. 48-51A and [0005]) and an analogous elongated base element (4814) (see Figs. 48-51A; central stem 4814 is an analogous elongated base element as it is long and is the foundation for pessary 4800), and a support element (4802) attached to a proximal end part of the elongated base element (4814) (see Fig. 50 and [0145]; petal members 4802 are support elements as the petal members 4802 are attached to a proximal end part of the central stem 4814, as the petal members 4802 are attached to an upper end part of the central stem 4814 and is configured to be placed closer to the point of attachment or anatomical origin, as the petal members 4802 are placed toward the cervix/uterus and further away from the vaginal opening/exterior, also see definition of proximal: nearer to a point of reference such as an origin, a point of attachment, or the midline of the body, https://www.thefreedictionary.com/proximal), the support element (4802) comprising at least two support members (see Fig. 50 and [0145]; the petal members 4802 have three petal members 4802 shown in Fig. 50 and thus is at least two support members), the at least two support members (4802) extending away from the proximal end part of the elongated base element (4814) (see Fig. 50 and [0145]; each of the petal members 4802 extend away from the proximal end part of the central stem 4814, as the petal members 4802 extend radially outwardly in a deployed state, see [0146]), wherein the at least two support members (4802) each form a leg extending away from the proximal end part of the elongated base element (4814) (see Fig. 50 and [0145]-[0146]; each of the petal members 4802 extend radially outwardly in a deployed state as seen in Fig. 5 each forming a leg as the petal members 4802 act as supports that extends away from the proximal end part of the central stem 4814), providing support members that help to retain the pessary in a user and help to support the prolapsed organs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a proximal end part of the elongated base element (602) in the device of Vardy with a support element comprising at least two support members (petal members 4802) that extend away from the proximal end part, and wherein the at least two support members each form a leg extending away from the proximal end part of the elongated base element and as taught by Sopher to have provided an improved vaginal device that provides support members that help to retain the pessary in a user and help to support the prolapsed organs.
Regarding claim 3, Vardy in view of Sopher discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Vardy in view of Sopher further discloses a valve (704 of Vardy) in fluid communication with the inflatable element (702 of Vardy) (see Fig. 7 of Vardy and [0049] of Vardy; valve 704 of Vardy is in fluid communication with the annular balloon 702 of Vardy).
Regarding claim 7, Vardy in view of Sopher discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Vardy in view of Sopher further discloses wherein the at least two support members (4802 of Sopher) comprise three support members (see Fig. 50 of Sopher; as previously modified above, see claim 1, the petal members 4802 of Sopher comprises three support members as seen in Fig. 50 of Sopher).
Regarding claim 8, Vardy in view of Sopher discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Vardy in view of Sopher further discloses wherein the at least two support members (4802 of Sopher) comprise an end part having a support surface (4808 of Sopher) (see Fig. 50 of Sopher; the petal members 4802 of Sopher each have an end part which is where hinge 4808 of Sopher is located, and hinge 4808 of Sopher is interpreted to be a support surface as this structure is capable of providing less peak pressure on small internal surfaces during use, as the hinge 4808 of Sopher is rounded and not sharp, as Applicant’s specification discloses that the support surface provides for less peak pressure on small internal surfaces during use, see Pg. 5 lines 32-34 of Applicant’s specification).
Regarding claim 11, Vardy in view of Sopher discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
Sopher further teaches in another embodiment an analogous pessary (4100), and wherein the support element comprises an actuation mechanism (4302) connected to the at least two support members (4102, 4104) (see Fig. 41, 43, and [0141]; the support element is shown in Fig. 43 and the upper petal 4102 and the lower petal 4104 are analogous at least two support members, and compression spring 4302 is an actuation mechanism, as Applicant’s specification discloses that the actuation mechanism may be a metal spring, see Pg. 7 lines 20-21 of Applicant’s specification, that is connected to the upper petal 4102 and lower petal 4104), providing an easy mechanism that biases pessary into a deployed state (see [0138]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support element in the device of Vardy in view of Sopher with an actuation mechanism (spring) connected to the at least two support members as taught by Sopher in another embodiment to have provided an improved vaginal device that provides an easy mechanism that biases the pessary into a deployed state (see [0138]).
Regarding claim 13, Vardy in view of Sopher discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
Sopher further teaches in another embodiment an analogous vaginal device (pessary 1800), and an insertion aid (1900), the insertion aid (1900) surrounding at least the elongated base element (1810) and the support element (1820) (see Figs. 18-19B, [0103]-[0105]; in another embodiment of Sopher, an analogous pessary 1800 is shown in Figs. 18-19B, and stem 1810 is analogous elongated base element and petal members 1820 are analogous support elements, and applicator 1900 is an insertion aid as the applicator 1900 is used during the insertion process to place the pessary 1800 into the vaginal canal of a user, and the applicator 1900 surrounds the stem 1810 and the petal members 1820 via applicator housing 1904 as best seen in Fig. 19A when the pessary is in a collapsed state), providing an applicator to assist with the insertion process of the pessary.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the vaginal device in the device of Vardy in view of Sopher with an insertion aid (1900) that surrounds at least the elongated base element and the support element as taught by Sopher in another embodiment to have provided an improved vaginal device that has an applicator to assist with the insertion process of the pessary.
Regarding claim 14, Vardy in view of Sopher discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
Sopher further teaches in another embodiment an analogous vaginal device (pessary 300), and wherein one or more components of the vaginal device (300) is a biocompatible material (see Figs. 3-5 and [0084]; pessary 300 is an analogous vaginal device as it is placed in the vagina of a user, and the pessary 300 can be a biocompatible FDA approved material, and thus the petal members 310 which are analogous support members and hollow stem 320 which is an analogous elongated base element are made of a biocompatible material), providing a material that is safe and nontoxic for a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vaginal device in the device of Vardy in view of Sopher to comprise a biocompatible material as taught by another embodiment of Sopher to have provided an improved vaginal device that has a material that is safe and nontoxic for a user.
Regarding claim 15, Vardy in view of Sopher discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Vardy in view of Sopher further discloses wherein the inflatable element (702 of Vardy) is placed in a fornix posterior and the at least two support members (4802 of Sopher) are arranged to support lower parts of prolapsed compartments (see Fig. 7 and [0049] of Vardy which discusses how the placement of inflatable element 702 of Vardy can vary depending on the desired placement, and thus the inflatable element 702 of Vardy is capable of being placed in a fornix posterior, and as previously modified above, see claim 1, the petal members 4802 of Sopher are arranged to indirectly support lower parts of prolapsed compartments).
Regarding claim 16, Vardy in view of Sopher discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
Sopher further teaches wherein the support element (4802) comprises an adjustable connector (4812+5102) for fixing the position of the support element (4802) along the proximal end of the elongated base element (4814) (see Fig. 50-51A and [0145]-[0147]; sliding ring 4812 + locking bumps 5102 make up an adjustable connector, as the sliding ring 4812 is able to slide along the central stem 4814 in order to adjust the position of the petal members 4802, and the position is locked in place or fixed via locking bumps 5102, and thus locking the petal members 4802 along the proximal end part of the central stem 4814, as Applicant’s specification discloses that the adjustable connector may be implemented in various manners, such as using a sliding and locking mechanism, see Pg. 7 lines 13-15 of Applicant’s specification), providing an adjustable sliding/locking mechanism so that inserting/removing the pessary is easier.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support element (4802 of Sopher) in the device of Vardy in view of Sopher to comprise an adjustable connector (4812+5102) for fixing the position of the support element along the proximal end part of the elongated base element as taught by Sopher to have provided an improved vaginal device that is adjustable so that inserting/removing the pessary is easier .
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vardy in view of Sopher further in view of Booher, SR. (referred to as “Booher”) (US 2015/0265456 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Vardy in view of Sopher discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
Vardy in view of Sopher is silent on wherein the inflatable element comprises an inflatable ring at an outer circumference of the inflatable element.
However, Booher teaches an analogous inflatable element (880) (see Fig. 8 and [0053]; the inner balloon 880 is an analogous inflatable element as inner balloon 880 is configured to be inflated), and wherein the inflatable element (880) comprises an inflatable ring (890) at an outer circumference of the inflatable element (880) (see Fig. 8 and [0053]-[0054]; the inner balloon 880 has an outer balloon 890 that goes around the inner balloon 880, as seen in Fig. 8), providing a double inflatable element configuration which offers a greater array of options for materials and sufficiently allows for the inflatable elements to remain in contact with a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the inflatable ring (702 of Vardy) in the device of Vardy in view of Sopher with an inflatable ring at an outer circumference of the inflatable element as taught by Booher to have provided an improved vaginal device that has a double inflatable element configuration which offers a greater array of options for materials and sufficiently allows for the inflatable elements to remain in contact with a user (see [0054]).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vardy in view of Sopher further in view of Zipper (US 2009/0216071 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Vardy in view of Sopher discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
Vardy in view of Sopher is silent on wherein the elongate base element further comprises a coupling element in fluid communication with the inflatable element.
However, Zipper teaches an analogous elongate base element (110) and an analogous inflatable element (120), and wherein the elongate base element (110) further comprises a coupling element (200) in fluid communication with the inflatable element (120) (see Figs. 1 and 5-7, and [0045]; the cap 200 is a coupling element as the cap 200 may be hinged back to expose an access port which provides a point of communication between the pessary device 100 and conventional syringes/tubing, such that fluid/gas may be input through the access port of cap 200 through valve 140 to inflate the inflatable bladder 120, as Applicant’s specification discloses that the coupling element allows the use of a filling tube with a syringe to inflate/deflate the inflatable element, see Pg. 6 lines 27-30 of Applicant’s specification, thus cap 200 is in fluid communication with the inflatable bladder 120), providing an easy mechanism to selectively inflate the inflatable element (see [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the elongate base element (602 of Vardy) in the device of Vardy in view of Sopher to comprise a coupling element (200) in fluid communication with the inflatable element as taught by Zipper to have provided an improved vaginal device that provides an easy mechanism to selectively inflate the inflatable element (see [0045]).
Regarding claim 5, Vardy in view of Sopher further in view of Zipper discloses the invention as discussed in claim 4.
Zipper further teaches wherein the coupling element (200) is positioned in the proximal end part of the elongated base element (110) (see Fig. 1; the cap 200 is positioned in a proximal end part of the main stem 110 as the cap 200 is positioned at the end portion of main stem 110 where it is nearest the point of attachment to syringes/IV tubing for inflation of the device), providing an easy mechanism to selectively inflate the inflatable element (see [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the proximal end part of the elongate base element (602 of Vardy) in the device of Vardy in view of Sopher further in view of Zipper to have provided an improved vaginal device that provides an easy mechanism to selectively inflate the inflatable element (see [0045]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vardy in view of Sopher further in view of Whitehead et al. (referred to as “Whitehead”) (US 3,512,528).
Regarding claim 6, Vardy in view of Sopher discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
Vardy in view of Sopher is silent on wherein the inflatable member comprises a permeable material.
However, Whitehead teaches an analogous inflatable member (tampon 10 is an analogous inflatable member as tampon 10 may be inflated via filler tube 17), and wherein the inflatable member (10) comprises a permeable material (see Fig. 1; tampon 10 may be inflated via filler tube 17, and tampon 10 has a semi-permeable liner 13, and thus comprises a permeable material to a degree, see Col. 3 lines 71-73), providing a material that is semi-permeable such that certain substances/drugs may be administered through the vaginal device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the inflatable member (702 of Vardy) in the device of Vardy in view of Sopher to comprise a permeable material as taught by Whitehead to have provided an improved vaginal device that has a material that is semi-permeable such that certain substances/drugs may be administered through the vaginal device.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vardy in view of Sopher in view of Burbank et al. (referred to as “Burbank”) (US 2005/0113852 A1) further in view of Blurton et al. (referred to as “Blurton”) (US 2015/0066048 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Vardy in view of Sopher discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
Vardy in view of Sopher is silent on wherein the support surface is provided with a load sensor.
However, Burbank teaches an analogous support surface (14, 15) (leading edges 14,15 are analogous support surfaces of support members 42 as they are end parts/portions of the support members 42), and wherein the support surface (14, 15) is provided with a sensor (18, 19) (see Fig. 1; the leading edges 14,15 are provided with sensors 18,19), providing sensors on the support surfaces such that the sensors are able to properly sense the information needed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the support surfaces (4808 of Vardy) in the device of Vardy in view of Sopher with sensors as taught by Burbank to have provided an improved vaginal device that provides sensors on the support surfaces such that the sensors are able to properly sense the information needed.
Vardy in view of Sopher further in view of Burbank discloses the invention as discussed above.
Vardy in view of Sopher further in view of Burbank is silent on the sensor being a load sensor.
However, Blurton teaches an analogous sensor (252,254) (see Fig. 6), the sensor being a load sensor (252,254) (see Fig. 6; the strain gauges 252,254 make up the pressure detecting system 250 and thus are load sensors, as the strain gauges 252,254 detects changes in pressure, stress, or strain that may be indicative of the amount of pressure being applied on the support system 100 or by the support system 100, see [0082], and thus are load sensors as Applicant discloses that the load sensor monitors loads on the support surfaces 5b, see Pg. 6 lines 6-8 of Applicant’s specification), providing a load sensor to monitor the amount of pressure being applied to the support members to make sure the device is properly positioned.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensor in the device of Vardy in view of Sopher further in view of Burbank to be a load sensor as taught by Blurton to have provided an improved vaginal device that provides a load sensor to monitor the amount of pressure being applied to the support members to make sure the device is properly positioned.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vardy in view of Sopher further in view of Heinen et al. (referred to as “Heinen”) (US 2019/0060044 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Vardy in view of Sopher discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
Vardy in view of Sopher is silent on wherein the at least two support members comprise material having a hardness of less than Shore 40A.
However, Heinen teaches analogous at least two support members (28) (see Figs. 2-4; supporting arms 28 are analogous at least two support members as they are legs that extend outwardly and there are at least two supporting arms 28), and wherein the at least two support members (28) comprise material having a hardness of less than Shore 40A (see [0068] and Figs. 2-4; the core 12, which is made up of supporting arms 28, can be constructed of a material which exhibit a Shore A hardness of 30-80, and thus can have a hardness of less than 40, as claimed), providing a material with a suitable hardness that is still comfortable for a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the at least two support members (4802 of Sopher) to comprise a hardness of less than Shore 40A as taught by Heinen to have provided an improved vaginal device that provides a material with a suitable hardness that is still comfortable for a user.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vardy in view of Sopher further in view of Choo (US 2019/0336324 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Vardy in view of Sopher discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
Vardy in view of Sopher is silent on wherein the elongated base has a length between 4 and 12 cm.
However, Choo teaches an analogous elongated base (1) (see Fig. 2; the vaginal barrier device 10 has a flexible stem 1 which is an analogous elongated base), and wherein the elongated base (1) has a length between 4 and 12 cm (see [0034]; the flexible stem 1 has a length of 6cm to 7cm, and thus falls within the claimed range), providing an elongated barrier that is sufficient in length for proper insertion and retainment in the vagina of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the length of the elongated base (110 of Vardy) in the device of Vardy in view of Sopher to be between 4 and 12 cm as taught by Choo to have provided an improved vaginal device that is sufficient in length for proper insertion and retainment in the vagina of a user.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBIN HAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/RACHAEL E BREDEFELD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786