DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application on 11/17/2025 after final rejection of 09/17/2025. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 11/17/2025 has been entered. The Office action on currently pending elected claims 1-11 and 14-22 follows.
Specification
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, requires the specification to be written in "full, clear, concise, and exact terms." The disclosure is again objected to because of the following informalities: superfluous repetition of the claims or claim-like clauses appended to the description (par. [0061]-[0080]) should be deleted. The term “claim-like clauses” means clauses present in the description which use claim language such as “according to the preceding clause”, “of clause 1”, “of clauses 1 or 2”, and similar. These “claim-like clauses” also include examples, embodiments or aspects presented as claim-like clauses.
The specification should provide a clear written description of the invention and of the manner and process of making and using it in full, clear, concise, and exact terms as required by 35 USC 112(a). Claim-like language in the specification is not in line with 35 USC 112(a) since it’s confusing because it suggests multiple dependencies and alternate passages, thereby obscuring rather than clarifying the disclosure (e.g., “The processing subsystem of clauses 1 or 2,… The processing subsystem of any of clauses 1-3,…The processing subsystem of any of clauses 1-4”, etc.). The claim-like clauses in the current specification contain multiple dependencies with nested, back-referenced clauses that are hard to track and produce confusion instead of clarity as required by 35 USC 112(a).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “length of the chassis expansion slot” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claims 1 and 14 recite the limitations: “wherein a combined length of the fan and the length of the first PCB is shorter than or equal to a length of a chassis expansion slot”.
There is no support in the original specification as filed for the aforementioned subject matter, which therefore constitutes an impermissible new matter.
All remaining dependent claims have been also rejected along with said independent claims 1 and 14, since they inherit the aforementioned problems of the independent claims.
Claims 1-11, 21, and 22, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 is incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: between the expansion slot and remaining structure of the claimed apparatus. The expansion slot has not been positively set forth in claim 1 as a part of the processing subsystem in relation to the remaining structure of the claimed apparatus.
All remaining claims dependent from claim 1 have been also rejected along with said independent claim 1, since they inherit the aforementioned problem(s) of said independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 14-21, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7,791,889 to Belady et al. (hereafter “Belady”, of record) alone, or alternatively in view of US 7,019,974 to Lee et al. (hereafter “Lee”), or yet alternatively in view of US 7,852,632 to Chu et al. (hereafter “Chu”).
Regarding claim 1, Belady discloses (Figs. 1, 2, and 6): a processing subsystem (100), comprising: a first printed circuit board (PCB) (102); a first thermal solution (120) connected to a processor (104, 110) mounted on a first side of the first PCB; and at least a portion of the first thermal solution (120) extends past the first PCB (102), (Fig. 2); and one or more power components (130) that are coupled to a second side of the first PCB and electrically coupled to the processor, wherein the first side of the first PCB is opposite to the second side of the first PCB; and a fan (Figs. 2-4; col. 5, ll. 18-33). Furter, Belady teaches a chassis expansion slot (col. 2, ll. 33-40).
Belady does not specifically disclose that the first thermal solution is longer than a length of the first PCB, wherein the cooling fan disposed on an edge of the first PCB, wherein a combined length of the fan and the length of the first PCB is shorter than or equal to a length of a chassis expansion slot.
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted the size(s)/length(s) of the thermal solution, fan, first PCB, and expansion slot in Belady in any suitable way, including as claimed, in order to achieve desired heat dissipation and cooling efficiency, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Furter, similarly the proper positioning of the fan, including as claimed would have been also obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to achieve desired heat dissipation and cooling efficiency, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 14, Belady discloses (Figs. 1, 2, and 6): a computer system (col. 2, ll. 26-57) comprising: a chassis (inherently present); a power supply (inherently present) disposed within the chassis; a motherboard (col. 2, ll. 41-57) that is disposed within the chassis and is electrically coupled to the power supply (inherently); and a processing subsystem (100) that is disposed within a chassis expansion slot (col. 2, ll. 33-40) and is communicatively coupled to the motherboard, the processing subsystem (100) including: a first printed circuit board (PCB) (102); a thermal solution (120) coupled to a processor (104, 110), wherein the processor is mounted on a first side of the first PCB, and the first thermal solution (120) is longer than a length of the first PCB (102), (Fig. 2); and one or more power components (130) that are coupled to a second side of the first PCB and electrically coupled to the processor, wherein the first side of the first PCB is opposite to the second side of the first PCB; and a fan (Figs. 2-4; col. 5, ll. 18-33).
Belady does not specifically disclose that the first thermal solution is longer than a length of the first PCB, wherein the cooling fan disposed on an edge of the first PCB, wherein a combined length of the fan and the length of the first PCB is shorter than or equal to a length of a chassis expansion slot.
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted the size(s)/length(s) of the thermal solution, fan, first PCB, and expansion slot in Belady in any suitable way, including as claimed, in order to achieve desired heat dissipation and cooling efficiency, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Furter, similarly the proper positioning of the fan, including as claimed would have been also obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to achieve desired heat dissipation and cooling efficiency, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Also, it was notoriously known in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose computer systems/subsystems and computer power supplies within computer chassis1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have disposed the computer system/subsystem of Belady and the computer power supply therefor within a chassis, in order to predictably and efficiently provide structural integrity and electrical power source for said computer system/subsystem of Belady, since all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Alternatively, Lee discloses (Figs. 1-3) a computer subsystem (70) having thermal solution(s) (10, 30, 50) extending past the length of the PCB (72).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify to Belady according to the teachings of Lee by providing the first thermal solution the portion of which extends past the length of the first PCB in order to predictably enhance heat dissipation and cooling efficiency by cooling the computer subsystem from both sides with augmented thermal coupling via a heat pipe (col. 2, ll. 6-26). All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Yet alternatively, Chu discloses (Figs. 1A-4) ) a computer subsystem (10) having thermal solution(s) (300, 340, 360,) a portion (360) of which extending past the length of the PCB (100) (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify to Belady according to the teachings of Chu by providing the first thermal solution the portion of which extends past the length of the first PCB in order to predictably enhance heat dissipation and cooling efficiency (col. 5, ll. 23-28). All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Belady discloses a first thermal solution (120) that includes at least one of cold plate, a heat sink, a cooling fan, a heat pipe, or a vapor chamber (col. 3, ll. 11-16) coupled to the processor and a second thermal solution (see “cold plate” on Fig. 6) coupled to the one or more power components.
Regarding claim 3, Belady discloses that the fan is oriented to blow cooling air across the first thermal solution and the second thermal solution (Figs. 2-4; col. 5, ll. 18-33).
Regarding claim 5, Belady discloses that the first thermal solution (120) is oriented parallel to the first PCB (102) (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 6, Belady discloses one or more other power components (110) that are mounted directly on the first side of the first PCB (col. 2, ll. 59-64).
Regarding claim 7, Belady discloses that the one or more power components (130) are mounted directly on the second side of the first PCB (102) and are arranged on the second side of the first PCB to mirror the one or more other power components (110) (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Belady discloses (Figs. 1 and 2) that a first power component (130A) included in the one or more power components (130) is aligned with a second power component (110) included in the one or more other power components (110), and each of the first power component and the second power component is electrically coupled to a first power plane or a first ground plane (inherently) and/or to a first via (170) formed through the first PCB (102).
Regarding claim 10, Belady discloses that the one or more power components (130) are mounted directly on the second side of the first PCB (102), (Figs, 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 11, Belady discloses that the one or more power components (130) include at least one of a capacitor, an inductor, a voltage controller, or a power switching device (col. 3, ll. 52-59).
Regarding claims 15 and 17, Belady discloses a first thermal solution (120) that includes at least one of cold plate, a heat sink, a cooling fan, a heat pipe, or a vapor chamber (col. 3, ll. 11-16) coupled to the processor and a second thermal solution (see “cold plate” on Fig. 6) coupled to the one or more power components.
Regarding claim 16, Belady discloses a cooling fan that is oriented to blow cooling air across the first thermal solution and the second thermal solution (Figs. 2-4; col. 5, ll. 18-33).
Regarding claim 18, as best understood, Belady discloses that the first thermal solution (120) is oriented parallel the first PCB (102) (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 19, Belady discloses one or more other power components (110) that are mounted directly on the first side of the first PCB (col. 2, ll. 59-64).
Regarding claim 20, Belady discloses that the one or more power components (130) are mounted directly on the second side of the first PCB (102) and are arranged on the second side of the first PCB to mirror the one or more other power components (110) (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 21, Lee discloses (Figs. 1-3) that the first and second thermal solution(s) (10, 30, 50) are longer than the length of the PCB (72). Furter, Chu also discloses that the first and second thermal solution(s) (300, 340, 360, 362, 364, 366) are longer than the length of the PCB (100), (Figs. 1-4, especially Fig. 4).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belady in view of US 2022/0100242 to Saksager as applied to claim 3 above, or alternatively, over Belady as modified by either Lee or Chu, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Saksager.
Regarding claim 22, Belady alone, or as modified by either Lee or Chu, do not disclose: a bracket disposed at a first end of the first PCB, wherein the fan is disposed on the edge at a second end of the first PCB such that the length of the first PCB is between the bracket and the fan.
Saksager discloses (Fig. 3) processing subsystem (100) implemented as an expansion board, comprising: a bracket (102) disposed at a first end of the first PCB (101), wherein the cooling fan (110) is disposed on the edge at a second end of the first PCB (101) such that the length of the first PCB and of the thermal solution (121-125, 132-134) is between the bracket and the fan.
Furthermore, Belady discloses that the processing subsystem can include various devices including the “expansion boards (such as any board that plugs into an expansion slot of a computer)” (col. 2, ll. 27-40).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modify to previously modified Belady according to the teachings of Saksager, by implementing the device of Belady as an expansion card comprising: a bracket disposed at a first end of the first PCB, wherein the cooling fan is disposed at the edge at a second end of the first PCB such that the length of the first PCB is between the bracket and the fan, in order to predictably achieve efficient heat exchange between cooling air and electronic devices to be cooled. Also, moving around the cooling fan and appropriately positioning it, including as claimed, in order to achieve the most efficient heat exchange between cooling air and electronic devices to be cooled is just a common sense approach that would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). Also, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the objection to the specification Applicant contends that, allegedly, “The Examiner provides no statutory or Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) basis for the objection.”
On the contrary, the objection provides clear statutory basis, i.e., 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, which requires the specification to be written in "full, clear, concise, and exact terms." However, the claim-like language in the specification is not in line with 35 USC 112(a) since it’s confusing because it suggests multiple dependencies and alternate passages, thereby obscuring rather than clarifying the disclosure (e.g., “The processing subsystem of clauses 1 or 2,… The processing subsystem of any of clauses 1-3,…The processing subsystem of any of clauses 1-4”, etc.). The claim-like clauses in the current specification contain multiple dependencies with nested, back-referenced clauses that are hard to track and produce confusion instead of clarity as required by 35 USC 112(a).
Therefore, the objection still stands.
Furthermore, regarding the obviousness prior art rejection the arguments are moot, since the rejection has been adjusted to read on the amended claims as explained above in the body of the rejection.
Conclusion
/Anatoly Vortman/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2835
1 Examiner’s Note: Since Applicant has failed to seasonably traverse the aforementioned well-known statement from the previous Office action, the object of said well-known statement is taken to be admitted prior art. See In re Chevenard, 139 F.2d71, 60 USPQ 239 (CCPA 1943), ("If Applicant does not seasonably traverse the well-known statement during examination, then the object of the well-known statement is taken to be admitted prior art"). MPEP 2144.03 (C).