DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Acknowledgment has made to the amendment received on 07/22/2025. Claims 1-10, 13 cancelled. Claims 11-12, 14-27 are pending in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 and 14-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasukawa et al (US 20090261360A1) in view of Iijima et al (US 20060158104A1).
Re claim 11 Yasukawa teaches, a light emitting element (1, fig 3) [00131] comprising:
at least a first electrode (3, fig 3) [00131];
a second electrode (13, fig 3) [00131]; and
a light emitting unit (14A, fig 3) [00131] sandwiched between the first electrode (3) and the second electrode (13), wherein the light emitting unit at least includes at least two light emitting layers (layer 6 and layer 8, fig 3) [00131] that emit different colors (red light emitting layer-6, blue light emitting layer-8) [00132] and an intermediate layer (layer 9A, fig 3) [(0039, 0062] located between the two light emitting layers (6 and 8, fig 3) [00131], and
a band gap energy of at least one of organic materials (layer 9} and layer 92) [00132] includes in the intermediate layer (9A) is BGrm (band energy of layer 91, fig 4) and a band gap energy of a material having a maximum band gap among materials constituting the two light emitting layers (for layer 8- blue fluorescent materiais and blue phosphorescent materials and lor layer 6- red Tuorescent materiais and red phosphorescent! materials [0056] [0084)constituting the two light emitting layers (layers 6 and 8, see fig 4) adjacent to the intermediate layer is (QA, fig 3, 4) is BGmmax ,
BGrm -BGmax = 0.2ev is satisfied.
Examiner notes that Yasukawa teaches “ The energy level of the LUMO of the material (the material having the lower energy level of the LUMO among the above two types of materials, under part of 9A) of the second interlayer was higher than the energy level of the LUMO of the material (host material) of the red-light-emitting laver (red fluorescent materials, layer 6), and the difference between the energy levels was 0.2 eV. The energy level of the HOMO of the material (the material having the lower energy level of the HOMO among the above two types of materials, under part of 9A) of the second interlayer was higher than the energy level of the HOMO of the material (host material) of the red-light-emitting layer, and the difference between the energy levels was 0.2 eV” (see fig 4) [0203]. Therefore BGTM-BGmax is at least greater than or equal to 0.2ev is satisfied.
the at least one of the organic materials (layer 91, layer 92) [0080] included in the intermediate layer (9A, fig 3) includes a first organic material (layer 91, TBADN) [0080] having hole transport properties (acene bipolar material) [0022] and a second organic material (layer 92) having electron transport properties (Silole electron transport properties) [0157 and 0080], and
when a LUMO value of the second organic material is LUMOETM (92.fig 4) [0204], a LUMO value of one light emitting layer of the two light emitting layers is LUMO1 (6, fig 1), and a LUMO value of the other light emitting layer is LUMO2, (8, fig 1) [0024].
Yasukawa does not teach at least one of ILUMOETMI ≤ILUMO1l or ILUMOETMI ≥ ILUMO21 is satisfied.
Iijima does teach the absolute values of ILUMOETMI and ILUMO1I and for layer 17 (NPB-2.4ev) [0166] and light emitting layer 16 LUMO (aluminum bis (2-methyl 8-quinolinolate, BAIQ) -3.0 ev. Hence ILUMOETMI ≤ ILUMO1I is satisfied [0166-0173].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Iijima into the structure of Yasukawa to include at least one of ILUMOETMl ≤ ILUMO1I or ILUMOETMl ≥ ILUMO2l as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yasukawa based on the teaching of Iijima in the above manner for the purpose of improve in luminous efficiency [0062].
Re claim 12 Yasukawa in view of Iijima teach the light emitting element according to claim 11,
a HOMO value of the first organic material is HOMOHTM, (highest occupied molecular orbital of the layer 91) [0147], a HOMO value of one light emitting layer of the two light emitting layers is HOMO1 (HOMO value of layer 6) [0067], and a HOMO value of the other light emitting layer is HOMO2, (HOMO value of layer 8) [0067].
Yasukawa does not teach IHOMO2I ≤ IHOMOHTMl ≤ IHOMO1I is satisfied.
Iijima does teach the absolute values of HOMO of light emitting layers and the intermediate layer) [0166-0173].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Iijima into the structure of Yasukawa to include IHOMO2I ≤ IHOMOHTMl ≤ IHOMO1I is satisfied. as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yasukawa based on the teaching of Iijima in the above manner for the purpose of improve in luminous efficiency [0062].
Re claim 14 Yasukawa in view of Iijima teach the light emitting element according to Claim 11, wherein LUMO1 (layer 6, fig 3) and LUMO2 (layer 8, fig 3) satisfy the following relationship:
ILUMO2 ≤ ILUMO1I (absolute value of LUMO2 energy level of layer 18 BCP — 3.0ev) = absolute value of LUMO1 energy level of layer 16 BALq -3.0 ev). [ Iijima, 0166- 0173].
Re claim 15 Yasukawa in view of Iijima teach the light emitting element according to Claim 14 (BAlg-3.0ev) , and LUMO2 (iridium bis (4.6-diflucrophenylpyridinate-NjC2’) acetylacetonate, LUMO 2.9ev))[00036] satisfy the following relationship:
ILUMO2l ≤ ILUMOETMI ≤ ILUMO1I [0166-0181].
Re claim 16 Yasukawa in view of Iijima teach, the light emitting element according to Claim 11, wherein the at least one of the organic materials (91, 92, fig 3) included in the intermediate layer includes a second organic material (layer 92, fig 3) having electron transport properties [0157], and
when an electron mobility of the second organic material is EMETM and an electron mobility of a material constituting one light emitting layer of the two light emitting layers is EM1, EM1 < EMETM is satisfied. (The electron mobility of silole electron transport materials (layer 6) is higher than the electron mobility of the above-described amine hole transport materials and the acene bipolar materials (layer 91). [Yasukawa, 0098].
Re claim 17 Yasukawa in view of Iijima teach, the light emitting element according to Claim 11, wherein the intermediate layer (9A, fig 3) [Yasukawa, 0080] includes a first organic material having hole transport properties (91 acene bipolar materials have an excellent hole transporting properties, fig 3) [Yasukawa 0081, 0157] and a second organic material having electron transport properties (92. Fig 3) [Yasukawa, 0080, 0157].
Re claim 18 Yasukawa in view of Ijima teach, the light emitting element according to Claim 17, wherein the at least one of the organic materials included in the intermediate layer (9A, fig 3) is the first organic material. (Yasukawa, layer 91) [0062].
Re claim 19 Yasukawa in view of Iijima teach the light emitting element according to Claim 17),
Yasukawa do not teach wherein when a mass of the first organic material is MHTM and a mass of the second organic material is METM,
MHTM ≥ METM satisfied.
Iijima does teach” a wt% ratio of hole-transporting material: electron transporting material in the bipolar layer (17) is 80:20, 60:40 etc”.[0184]. Hence MHTM ≥ METM is satisfied.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Iijima into the structure of Yasukawa to include a mass of the first organic material is MHTM and a mass of the second organic material is METM,
MHTM ≥ METM is satisfied as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yasukawa based on the teaching of the Iijima in the above manner for the purpose of improve in luminous efficiency [0062].
Re claim 20 Yasukawa teach, a display device (100, fig 5) [0166] comprising: a plurality of light emitting elements (1B, 1G, 1R, fig 5) [0163] arranged in a first direction (row direction) and a second direction (column direction) different from the first direction (arranging a plurality of light emitting elements in like a matrix) [0163], wherein each light emitting element (1B, 1G, IR, fig 5) includes at least a first electrode (3, fig 5) [0166] a second electrode (13, fig 5) [0166], and a light emitting unit (14, fig 5) [0166] sandwiched between the first electrode (3, fig 5) and the second electrode (fig 5), the light emitting unit at least includes at least two light emitting layers (6 and 8, shown in fig 3) that emit different colors (6-red and 8-blue) [0178] and an intermediate layer (9A , fig 3A) located between the two light emitting layers ( layers 6 and 8, ),
a band gap energy of at least one of organic materials layer 91 and layer 92, shown in fig 4) [0080] included in the intermediate layer (QA, fig 3)is BGTM, and a band gap energy of a material (a red fluorescent material, fig 4) [0059] having a maximum band gap energy among materials (for layer 8- blue fluorescent materials and blue phosphorescent materials and for layer G-red [fluorescent materials and red phosphorescent materials [0036] iG084}constituting the two light emitting layers (layers 6 and 8, see fig 4) adjacent to the intermediate layer (9A, fig 3, 4) is BGmax ,
BG-BGmnax > 0.2ev is satisfied.
Examiner notes that Yasukawa teaches “ The energy level of the LUMO of the material (the material having the lower energy level of the LUMO among the above two types of materials, under part of 9A) of the second interlayer was higher than the energy level of the LUMO of the material (host material) of the red-light-emitting layer (red fluorescent materials, layer 6), and the difference between the energy levels was 0.2 eV. The energy level of the HOMO of the material (the material having the lower energy level of the HOMO among the above two types of materials, under part of GA) of the second interlayer was higher than the energy level of the HOMO of the material (host material) of the red-light-emitting layer, and the difference between the energy levels was 0.2 eV” (see fig 4) [0203]. Therefore BGTM-BGmax is at least greater than or equal to 0.2ev is satisfied.
the at least one of the organic materials (layer 91, layer 92) [0080] included in the intermediate layer (9A, fig 3) includes a first organic material (layer 91, TBADN) [0080] having hole transport properties (acene bipolar material) [0022] and a second organic material (layer 92) having electron transport properties (Silole electron transport properties) [0157 and 0080], and
when a LUMO value of the second organic material is LUMOETM (92.fig 4) [0204], a LUMO value of one light emitting layer of the two light emitting layers is LUMO1 (6, fig 1), and a LUMO value of the other light emitting layer is LUMO2, (8, fig 1) [0024].
Yasukawa does not teach at least one of ILUMOETMI ≤ ILUMO1l or ILUMOETMI ≥ ILUMO21 is satisfied.
Iijima does teach the absolute values of ILUMOETMI and ILUMO1I and for layer 17 (NPB-2.4ev) [0166] and light emitting layer 16 LUMO (aluminum bis (2-methyl 8-quinolinolate, BAIQ) -3.0 ev. Hence ILUMOETMI ≤ ILUMO1I is satisfied [0166-0173].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Iijima into the structure of Yasukawa to include at least one of ILUMOETMl ≤ ILUMO1I or ILUMOETMl ≥ ILUMO2l as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yasukawa based on the teaching of Iijima in the above manner for the purpose of improve in luminous efficiency [0062].
Re claim 21 Yasukawa in view of Iijima teach the display device according to claim 20, wherein when a HOMO value of the first organic material is HOMOHTM, a HOMO value of one light emitting layer of the two light emitting layers is HOMO1, and a HOMO value of the other light emitting layer is HOMO2,
IHOMO21≤ IHOMOHTMI ≤ HOMO1i is satisfied.
Yasukawa does not teach IHOMO2I ≤ IHOMOHTMl ≤ IHOMO1I is satisfied.
Iijima does teach the absolute values of HOMO of light emitting layers and the intermediate layer) [0166-0173].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Iijima into the structure of Yasukawa to include IHOMO2I ≤ IHOMOHTMl ≤ IHOMO1I is satisfied. as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yasukawa based on the teaching of Iijima in the above manner for the purpose of improve in luminous efficiency [0062].
Re claim 22 Yasukawa in view of Iijima teaches, the light emitting element according to Claim 20, wherein the at least one of the organic materials (91, 92, fig 3) included in the intermediate layer includes a second organic material (layer 92, fig 3) having electron transport properties [0157], and
when an electron mobility of the second organic material is EMETM and an electron mobility of a material constituting one light emitting layer of the two light emitting layers is EM1, EM1 ≤ EMETM is satisfied. (The electron mobility of silole electron transport materials (layer 6) is higher than the electron mobility of the above-described amine hole transport materials and the acene bipolar materials (layer 91). [Yasukawa, 0098].
Re claim 23 Yasukawa in view of Iijima teaches, the light emitting element according to Claim 11, wherein the intermediate layer (9A, fig 3) [Yasukawa, 0080] includes a first organic material having hole transport properties (91 acene bipolar materials have an excellent hole transporting properties, fig 3) [Yasukawa 0081, 0157] and a second organic material having electron transport properties (92. Fig 3) [Yasukawa, 0080, 0157].
Re claim 24 Yasukawa in view of Iijima teaches, the light emitting element according to Claim 23, wherein the at least one of the organic materials included in the intermediate layer (9A, fig 3) is the first organic material. (Yasukawa, layer 91) [0062].
Re claim 25 Yasukawa in view of Ijima teaches the light emitting element according to Claim 23,
Yasukawa do not teach wherein when a mass of the first organic material is METM and a mass of the second organic material is METM,
MHTM ≥ METM satisfied.
Iijima does teach ”a wt% ratio of hole-transporting material: electron transporting material in the bipolar layer (17) is 80:20, 60:40 etc”.[0184]. Hence MHTM ≥ METM is satisfied.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Iijima into the structure of Yasukawa to include a mass of the first organic material is MHTM and a mass of the second organic material is METM, MHTM ≥ METM satisfied as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yasukawa based on the teaching of the Iijima in the above manner for the purpose of improve in luminous efficiency [0062].
Re claim 26 Yasukawa in view of Iijima teach the light emitting element according to Claim 20, wherein LUMO1 (layer 6, fig 3) and LUMO2 (layer 8, fig 3) satisfy the following relationship:
ILUMO2≤ ILUMO1I (absolute value of LUMO1 energy level of layer 18 BCP — 3.0ev) = absolute value of LUMO2 energy level of layer 16 BALq -3.0 ev). [ Iijima, 0166- 0173].
Re claim 27 Yasukawa in view of Iijima teach the light emitting element according to Claim 26 (BAlg-3.0ev) , and LUMO2 (iridium bis (4.6-diflucrophenylpyridinate-NjC2’) acetylacetonate, LUMO 2.9ev) [00036] satisfy the following relationship:
ILUMO2l ≤ ILUMOETMI ≤ ILUMO1I; [0166-0181].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits Iijima fails to remedy the deficiencies of Yasukawa.
The Action alleges that paragraphs [0166]-[0173] are pertinent to these features. (Office Action, at p. 10). Here Iijima merely offers a listing of materials that may be used in examples that are provided following the listing of materials. However, this is just a listing, and not a specification of which layers would use which materials. Also, none of those examples provided in Iijima offers the particular arrangement of the layers and the corresponding LUMO value relationships set forth in Applicant's claim.
Thus, like Yasukawa, Iijima fails to disclose "the at least one of the organic materials included in the intermediate layer, includes a first organic material having hole transport properties and a second organic material having electron transport properties, and when a LUMO value of the second organic material is LUMOETM, a LUMO value of one light emitting layer of the two light emitting layers is LUMO1, and a LUMO value of the other light emitting layer is LUMO2, at least one of ILUMOETMI ≤ ILUMO1I or ILUMOETMI ≥ ILUMO2| is satisfied,"
The Examiner respectfully disagrees,
In the Para 00132 Yasukawa teaches the energy level of the LUMO of the material (the material having the lower energy level of the LUMO among the above two types of materials, under part of 9A) of the second interlayer was higher than the energy level of the LUMO of the material (host material) of the red-light-emitting layer (red fluorescent materials, layer 6), Further in para [0157] Yasukawa teaches, the organic materials (91, 92, fig 3) included in the intermediate layer includes a second organic material having electron transport properties. Yasukawa does not explicitly teach the absolute LUMO values of organic materials and absolute values of light emitting layers. In the para. 0047 Ijjima teaches the bipolar layer composed of materials allowing transfer of holes and electrons injected from anode and cathode, in [0166-0179] Ijima teaches the different absolute value of LUMO energy level of each of the compounds. In para 0051-0052 noted the layer 17 may employ an arbitrary material selected from known materials and the like used for hole-transporting layer of organic EL devices. In para 0057-0058 clearly explain the list about the materials could be used as the electron transporting material from known materials and the like used for electron-transporting layers of organic EL devices.
Hence, under BRI, given a broadest reasonable interpretation, Yasukawa in view if Iijima teaches the claimed feature (s).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRATIKSHA JAYANT LOHAKARE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/DUY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 10/23/25