DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the addition of new claim 21 and the cancellation of claim 2. Claims 14-20 stand as withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that Xia and Oh, alone or in any combination, do not teach or suggest the subject matter of claim 1 recited above, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Xia discloses a metasurface configured to reflect a first portion of light from the facet back to the gain medium as a feedback beam. Therefore, Oh is relied upon only for the limitations of focusing the light back to the gain medium facet and reflecting a second portion of light as an output beam that is at an angle nonzero relative to a direction of a feedback beam.
Applicant states that the diffraction grating [120] taught by Oh does not reflect. Examiner notes that diffraction gratings are either reflective or transmissive (see “Different Types of Gratings” paragraph in the attached reference of “Diffraction Gratings” See PTO-892 form), and in the instant case shown in Oh the grating is not shown to be transmissive and is therefore a reflective grating. The reflective grating [120] of Oh is shown to reflect and focus light toward the amplifier [112].
Xia discloses a metasurface that splits incoming light as a reflected feedback beam toward a gain medium and an output beam that is transmitted through the metasurface and therefore the reference of Oh is not directly relied upon for the limitations of the metasurface configured to “reflect a first portion of light from the facet back to the gain medium as a feedback beam” and Oh is noted above to disclose the focusing of the beam back toward a gain medium (amplifier 112 Oh).
Regarding the argument that the combination of Oh with Xia would render Xia inoperable, Examiner notes that the Applicant states the modification would change the principle of operation of Xia, rendering Xia inoperable. Xia already discloses reflection of a feedback beam back toward a gain medium device and an output of a second portion of light in a direction nonzero to the direction of the feedback beam. The grating of Oh also provides a feedback beam toward a gain medium (amplifier 112) and an output of light from the grating at a nonzero direction relative to a feedback beam direction. The Applicant does not further state how the modification of Xia would render the device of Xia inoperable.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/13/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 02/27/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Regarding the traversal of the Drawing objection as stated on pages 6,7 and 8 of the Remarks filed 02/27/2026, Examiner has fully considered and respectfully finds the traversal non-persuasive.
Examiner notes that there is no figure showing both (1) first, second and third points corresponding to first, second and third operating wavelengths (respectively) and (2) the metasurface reflecting a second portion of light as an output beam occurring together. Examiner notes that Fig. 3 shows feedback reflection of three respective points corresponding to three operating wavelengths. Fig. 3 does not show the metasurface to reflect a second portion of light as an output beam and therefore does not show both limitations (1) and (2) and described above. Further, Fig. 6 shows a metasurface reflecting and focusing light as a feedback beam and reflecting a second portion of light as an output beam but does not show the feedback beam to be focused at three different points for three different respective operating wavelengths.
Therefore, the figures fail to show both (1) first, second and third points corresponding to first, second and third operating wavelengths (respectively) and (2) the metasurface reflecting a second portion of light as an output beam occurring together. The objection to the drawings is maintained.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show
every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the metasurface
configured to both “reflect a second portion of the light as an output beam at an angle
that is nonzero relative to a direction of the feedback beam” as recited in claim 1 and
“focus the feedback beam at a first point for a first operating wavelength, a
second point for a second operating wavelength, and a third point for a third operating
wavelength; wherein the first point, the second point, and the third point are located on
a straight line” as described in claim 8 which depends on claim 1, must be shown or the
feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Examiner notes that Fig. 3 of the claimed application discloses a metasurface
focusing a feedback beam at a first, second and third point in relation to a first operating
wavelength, a second operating wavelength, and a third operating wavelength
(respectively) located on a straight line. Fig. 3 does not show a metasurface configured
to reflect a second portion of light as an output beam that is nonzero relative to a
direction of the feedback beam, as disclosed in claim 1. Claim 8 depends on claim 1
and therefore all limitations of claim 1 are also included in the limitations of claim 8.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter of claim 8 is not shown as a figure
including both of
(1) first, second and third points corresponding to first, second and third
operating wavelengths (respectively) as described above in relation to claim 8
as well as
(2) the metasurface reflecting a second portion of light as described above in
relation to claim 1.
No new matter should be entered.
reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended
replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate
prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure
number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure
is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet,
and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate
changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for
consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering
of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an
application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New
Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner,
the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next
Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn in light of the cancellation of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al. (hereinafter Xia) (WO 2020019573 A1) in view of Oh et al. (hereinafter Oh) (US 20060029119 A1). (Examiner notes an attached machine translation of Xia will be used for the claim mapping of Xia for the remainder of the instant application. See PTO-892 form of 09/26/2025)
Regarding claim 1, Xia discloses in Fig. 1
A laser device [Fig. 1] (Para. [52]) comprising:
a gain medium [1] (Para. [53]) comprising a facet [facets a and b] (Para. [56]); and
a metasurface [3] (Para. [53]) comprising a plurality of supercells [See Figs. 2(a) and 2(b)] (Para. [59]), the metasurface disposed on a substrate [9] (See Fig. 7(d)) (Para. [43]) and configured to:
reflect a first portion of light from the facet [facet b] back to the gain medium [1] as a feedback beam (Para. [56])
Xia fails to disclose,
The metasurface configured to:
reflect and focus a first portion of light from the facet back to the gain medium as a feedback beam; and
reflect a second portion of the light as an output beam at an angle that is nonzero relative to a direction of the feedback beam.
Oh discloses in Fig. 3,
a diffractive element [120] (Para. [0047]) configured to:
reflect and focus a first portion of light from a facet [right facet of 111 Fig. 3] back to a gain medium [112] (Para. [0042]) as a feedback beam (Para. [0047]); and
reflect a second portion of the light as an output beam [140a,140b] (Para. [0047]) at an angle that is nonzero relative to a direction of the feedback beam (Para. [0047])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the focusing and output reflecting of the diffractive element of Oh with the diffractive metasurface element of Xia for the purpose of removing the need for a lens back to the gain medium and for reflecting beams of specific wavelength values away from the diffractive element. (Oh Para. [0047])
Claims 13 and 21are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia in view of Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kitamura (US 5491714 A).
Regarding claim 13, Xia in view of Oh discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
Further comprising:
a translation stage configured to spatially translate the metasurface with respect to the gain medium
Kitamura discloses in Fig. 1,
A translational stage [7] used to vary the oscillation wavelength of a semiconductor laser [1] (Col. 1, lines 43-50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the translational stage of Kitamura with the metasurface of Xia in view of Oh for the purpose of varying the distance between the gain medium and diffractive element and carrying the oscillation wavelength. (Kitamura Col. 1, lines 43-50)
Regarding claim 21, Xia in view of Oh and Kitamura as applied to claim 13 above further discloses in Kitamura,
wherein the translation stage [7] modifies a wavelength of the feedback beam (Col. 2, lines 1-8 and 27-37)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia in view of Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lefevre et al. (hereinafter Lefevre) (US 6560249 B1).
Regarding claim 3, Xia in view of Oh discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
wherein:
the metasurface is configured to reflect the output beam at an angle orthogonal to a plane of the substrate; and
the output beam is a collimated beam.
Lefevre discloses in Figure 4C,
a diffractive element [5] (Col. 5, lines 44-47) configured to reflect a beam [151, 152] (Col. 6, lines 1-8) at an angle orthogonal to a plane of the base of the diffractive element [5] (Col. 5, lines 44-47) and
the beam [151,152] is a collimated beam (Col. 6, lines 1-8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the collimated orthogonal output of the diffractive element of Lefevre with the metasurface of Xia in view of Oh for the purpose of having a parallel collimated output in a specified direction away from the metasurface.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia in view of Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of “Ultra-High-Efficiency Anomalous Refraction with Dielectric Metasurfaces” (hereinafter Sell).
Regarding claim 4, Xia in view of Oh discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
wherein the plurality of supercells is arranged in a curvilinear lattice.
Sell discloses,
Metasurface elements arranged in a curvilinear manner (Page 2406, left column, Paragraphs 2 and 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the curvilinear structure of the metasurface elements of Sell into the metasurface of Xia in view of Oh for the purpose of utilizing strong near-field coupling between neighboring structures. (Sell Page 2406, left column, Paragraph 2)
Regarding claim 5, Xia in view of Oh and Sell as applied to claim 4 above further discloses,
wherein:
each supercell of the plurality of supercells comprise one or more elements [Xia Figs. 2(a) and 2(b)] (Xia Para. [59]); and
an angle and intensity of the feedback beam and an angle and intensity of the output beam are defined according to at least one of a position of the one or more elements, a dimension of the one or more elements, a geometry of the one or more elements, or an orientation of the one or more elements (See note below).
Figs. 3(b) and 3(c) show varying outgoing angles and efficiency percentages based on the variation of the widths of the dimensions of the metasurface elements. (See Sell Page 2403, right column paragraph 2 and Page 2404, left column first paragraph)
Examiner notes the interpretation of claim 5 for the purposes of examination in the instant application is understood to be “an angle and intensity of the feedback beam and an angle and intensity of the output beam are defined according to at least a dimension of the one or more elements” as disclosed in Sell.
Claim 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia in view of Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mosallaei et al. (hereinafter Mosallaei) (US 20140085693 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Xia in view of Oh discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Xia,
wherein:
each supercell of the plurality of supercells comprise one or more elements [Figs. 2(a) and 2(b)] (Para. [59]);
Xia in view of Oh fails to disclose,
a polarization and shape of the output beam is defined according to at least one of a position of the one or more elements, a dimension of the one or more elements, a geometry of the one or more elements, or an orientation of the one or more elements.
Mosallaei discloses,
a metasurface (Para. [comprising a plurality of supercells [“nanoantennas”] (Para. [0086]) that change the amplitude, phase, polarization, direction, concentration (Paras. [0086,0087]) and/or shape (Para. [0088]) of light depending on aspects of the metasurface structure, such as shape of the supercells [“nanoantennas”] (Para. [0087])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the variable metasurface nanoantenna structure of Mosallaei into the metasurface structure of Xia in view of Oh for the purpose of selectively varying aspects of the light incident on the metasurface. (Mosallaei Para. [0086])
Regarding claim 11, Xia in view of Oh and Mosallaei as applied to claim 6 above further discloses in Mosallaei,
wherein:
each supercell of the plurality of supercells comprises one or more elements [“nanoantennas”] (Para. [0086]); and
a phase and shape (Paras. [0086,0088]) of the output beam are defined according to at least one of a position of the one or more elements, a dimension of the one or more elements, a geometry of the one or more elements, or an orientation of the one or more elements (Paras. [0086-0088]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia in view of Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hunter et al. (hereinafter Hunter) (US 20070160106 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Xia in view of Oh discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
further comprising:
a thermoelectric cooling element; and
a mirror disposed on at least one of the thermoelectric cooling element or a substrate of the gain medium, the mirror configured to receive the output beam from the metasurface and to reflect the output beam away from the at least one of the thermoelectric cooling element or the substrate of the gain medium.
Hunter discloses in Fig. 1,
a thermoelectric cooling element [108] (Para. [0053]); and
a mirror [106] (Para. [0053]) disposed on the thermoelectric cooling element [108], the mirror [106] configured to receive an output beam [120] and to reflect the output beam [120] away from the thermoelectric cooling element [108] (Para. [0050])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the thermoelectric cooling element with integrated mirror as shown in Hunter to reflect the output beam of Xia in view of Oh for the purpose of adjusting and tuning a specific wavelength to be reflected in the device. (Hunter Paras. [0052,0053])
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia in view of Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Han et al. (hereinafter Han) (US 10514296 B2).
Regarding claim 8, Xia in view of Oh discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses
wherein:
the metasurface [Xia 3 Fig. 1] (Para. [53]) is configured to focus the feedback beam at a first point for a first operating wavelength [Oh feedback to 113 Fig. 3] (Para. [0047]),
Xia in view of Oh fails to disclose,
a second point for a second operating wavelength, and a third point for a third operating wavelength;
wherein the first point, the second point, and the third point are located on a straight line.
Han discloses in Fig. 12,
A metasurface [511] (Col. 12, line 30) configured to focus a beam into a first point for a first wavelength [λ1], a second point for a second wavelength [λ2] and a third point for a third wavelength [λ3] (Col. 12, lines 35-37)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the split metasurface reflection based on wavelength as disclosed in Han with the device of Xia in view of Oh for the purpose of selectively choosing locations of desired wavelengths. (Han Col. 12, lines 32-37)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia in view of Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vukovic-Cvijin et al. (hereinafter Vukovic) (US 20120206725 A1)
Regarding claim 9, Xia in view of Oh discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
a spatial light modulator disposed between the gain medium and the metasurface, the spatial light modulator configured to tune a wavelength of the output beam.
Vukovic discloses in Figure 7,
a spatial light modulator (SLM) [120] (Paras. [0039 and 0053] disposed between a gain medium [122] (Para. [0053]) and a diffractive element [118] (Para. [0053]), the spatial light modulator [120] (Para. [0053]) configured to tune a wavelength of the output beam (Paras. [0010,0021])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SLM of Vukovic between the gain medium and metasurface of Xia in view of Oh for the purpose of determining and tuning a specific output wavelength of the laser. (Vukovic Para. [0021])
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia in view of Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tong et al. (hereinafter Tong) (US 20190157830 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Xia in view of Oh discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Xia Fig. 1,
wherein the facet [b] is a first facet comprising an anti-reflective coating (Para. [53], the laser device further comprising a second facet [a] comprising a reflective coating (Para. [56]).
Examiner notes paragraph [53] of Xia discloses a typographical error stating coating on the end face a is set to an antireflective coating. As seen in paragraph [56] of Xia where it is stated “adjusting the end face [a] of the gain chip [1] to increase the reflectance of the reflective film…”.
Xia in view of Oh fails to disclose,
wherein the gain medium is a laser diode
Tong discloses in Fig. 1,
a gain element [10] comprising a laser diode with a semiconductor gain media (Paras. [0056,0058])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the laser diode of Tong as the gain element of Xia in view of Oh for the purpose of having sufficient gain to overcome optical losses at a desired lasing wavelength. (Tong Para. [0056])
Regarding claim 12, Xia in view of Oh and Tong as applied to claim 10 above further discloses in Tong Fig. 1,
wherein the gain medium [10] (Para. [0056]) is at least one of a solid-state laser medium, a semiconductor laser medium (Para. [0058]), a crystal laser medium, a doped glass laser medium, a gas laser medium, a dye, or a quantum confinement effect laser medium.
Examiner notes the interpretation of claim 12 for the purposes of examination in the instant application is “wherein the gain medium is a semiconductor laser medium”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner notes (US 20170212285 A1) which discloses a metasurface configured to reflect and focus a feedback beam.
Examiner further notes (US 20200025975 A1) which discloses a metasurface reflecting an output light at a nonzero angle relative to an angle of feedback to a gain medium. See PTO-892 form.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828