DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 12/04/2025 are entered. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claimed feature of “expiry of a timer configured by the communication apparatus” with regards to claim(s) 1-6, 8-16 and 18-20, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/04/2025 with regards to the claimed feature of “wherein transmission of the TA report is initiated by the communication apparatus” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding currently amended claims 1 and 11, the Applicant indicates that Li teaches a BS triggers the TA report and therefore fails to teach that transmission of “the TA report is initiated by the communication apparatus”. However, Li discloses “The reporting trigger condition may be indicated by the network device in the configuration information, or may also be determined by the terminal device autonomously, or may be negotiated between the network device and the terminal device in advance” in paragraph [0069], wherein the terminal device may autonomously determine the transmission of the TA report, which is considered as the terminal initiating the TA report as required in the currently amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8-9, 11, 14-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2023/0007608) in view of Nishio (US 2023/0049008).
Li discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, a communication apparatus (see “terminal device” recited in paragraph [0062] and shown in Figs. 1-9 and 15), comprising:
a transceiver, configured to transmit and receive wireless signals (see transceiver 31 in Fig. 15); and
a processor (see processor 33 in Fig. 15), coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform operations comprising:
establishing, via the transceiver, a wireless connection with a network node of a NTN (see paragraph [0060] disclosing a wireless connection between terminal 101 and a network node in an NTN and also shown by the satellite 102 in Fig. 2); and
transmitting, via the transceiver, a TA report to the network node (see “the terminal device transmits the TA information to the network device in the reporting mode of the TA information indicated by the configuration information” recited in paragraph [0091]), wherein transmission of the TA report is initiated by the communication apparatus (see “The reporting trigger condition may be indicated by the network device in the configuration information, or may also be determined by the terminal device autonomously, or may be negotiated between the network device and the terminal device in advance” in paragraph [0069], wherein the terminal device may autonomously determine the transmission of the TA report, which is considered as the terminal initiating the TA report);
wherein the processor is configured to perform auto-compensation of time delays in signaling and a TA value is indicated in the TA report (see “the terminal device determines and adjusts the TA value, based on its own positioning capability, and the terminal device reports the determined TA value to the network device” recited in paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the processor is configured to perform the operation of transmitting the TA report responsive to a TA report request received from the network node (see step S701-S702 in Fig. 7, wherein the network device instructs the terminal to report TA information).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the TA report request is transmitted in a MAC CE (see first indication information S702 in Fig. 7 wherein “The first indication information may be carried in the MAC CE” as recited in paragraph [0118]).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the TA report request is transmitted via a RRC signaling (see configuration information requesting the TA report in step S701 in Fig. 7 and see “the configuration information may be RRC signaling” recited in paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the processor is configured to perform the operation of transmitting the TA report autonomously in a predetermined procedure (see “The periodic reporting means that the terminal device periodically reports the TA information to the network device. For example, the terminal device reports the TA information to the network device at preset time intervals. The preset time interval may be indicated by the network device in the configuration information, or may also be determined by the terminal device autonomously” recited in paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claim 9, wherein, in transmitting the TA report, the processor is configured to perform one or more of: transmitting the TA report in MAC CE (see “when the terminal device transmits the TA information through the PUSCH resource, the TA information may be carried in the MAC CE of the PUSCH” recited in paragraph [0124]); and transmitting the TA report via RRC signaling.
Regarding claim 11, a method for reporting TA, comprising:
establishing, by a processor (see processor 33 in Fig. 15) of a communication apparatus (see “terminal device” recited in paragraph [0062] and shown in Figs. 1-9 and 15) capable of auto-compensation of time delays in signaling (see “the terminal device determines and adjusts the TA value, based on its own positioning capability, and the terminal device reports the determined TA value to the network device” recited in paragraph [0062]), a wireless connection with a network node of a wireless network (see paragraph [0060] disclosing a wireless connection between terminal 101 and a network node in an NTN and also shown by the satellite 102 in Fig. 2); and
transmitting, by the processor, a TA report to the network node (see “the terminal device transmits the TA information to the network device in the reporting mode of the TA information indicated by the configuration information” recited in paragraph [0091]),
wherein a TA value is indicated in the TA report, and triggering of transmitting the TA report is initiated at the communication apparatus (see “the terminal device transmits the TA information to the network device in the reporting mode of the TA information indicated by the configuration information” recited in paragraph [0091]; paragraphs [0067]-[0072] shows that the transmission of TA reporting may be triggered by different conditions including a TA report initiated at the communication apparatus; also see “The reporting trigger condition may be indicated by the network device in the configuration information, or may also be determined by the terminal device autonomously, or may be negotiated between the network device and the terminal device in advance” in paragraph [0069], wherein the terminal device may autonomously determine the transmission of the TA report, which is considered as the terminal initiating the TA report).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the triggering of transmitting the TA report is initiated at the network node, and the transmitting of the TA report comprises transmitting the TA report responsive to a TA report request received from the network node (see step S701-S702 in Fig. 7, wherein the network device instructs the terminal to report TA information).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the TA report request is transmitted in a MAC CE (see first indication information S702 in Fig. 7 wherein “The first indication information may be carried in the MAC CE” as recited in paragraph [0118]).
Regarding claim 16, wherein the TA report request is transmitted via a RRC signaling (see configuration information requesting the TA report in step S701 in Fig. 7 and see “the configuration information may be RRC signaling” recited in paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 18, wherein the transmitting of the TA report comprises transmitting the TA report in a MAC CE (see first indication information S702 in Fig. 7 wherein “The first indication information may be carried in the MAC CE” as recited in paragraph [0118]).
Regarding claim 19, wherein the transmitting of the TA report comprises transmitting the TA report via RRC signaling (see configuration information requesting the TA report in step S701 in Fig. 7 and see “the configuration information may be RRC signaling” recited in paragraph [0078]).
Li does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 1 and 11, wherein the processor is configured to perform the operation of transmitting the TA report responsive to the TA value deviating from a threshold by at least a predefined amount or responsive to expiry of a timer configured by the communication apparatus.
Nishio discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, wherein the processor is configured to perform the operation of transmitting the TA report responsive to the TA value deviating from a threshold by at least a predefined amount or responsive to expiry of a timer configured by the communication apparatus (see Fig. 12, wherein TA report is sent in step S207 in response to step S206; and see “Although the example has been described in which the terminal sleeps in S206 and wakes up in S207, the present disclosure is not limited to this example. For example, the same applies to the return from IDLE or INACTIVE, or the return from the expiration of the TA timer. The TA timer may be timeAlignmentTimer as described in TS38.321 V15.8.0” as recited in paragraph [0188], wherein the timeAlignmentTimer is a timer that is configured at the terminal upon receiving a timing advance command for maintaining UL time alignment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Li using features, as taught by Nishio, in order to notify the base station of timing information when it is highly likely that the location of the satellite or terminal has changed (see paragraph [0184] and [0188] of Nishio).
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Nishio as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Xu (US 2020/0178155).
Li and Nishio disclose the features as shown above.
Li does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 2 and 12, wherein the processor is configured to perform the operation of transmitting the TA report responsive to a PDCCH order signaling received from the network node.
Xu discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, wherein the processor is configured to perform the operation of transmitting the TA report responsive to a PDCCH order signaling received from the network node (see “When the PRACH mask index is set to the current reserved value, it indicates that the PDCCH order is used to instruct the second user equipment to report the timing advance” recited in paragraph [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Li and Nishio using features, as taught by Xu, in order to instruct the user to report the timing advance (see paragraph [0079] of Xu).
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Nishio as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Costa (US 10,951,380).
Li and Nishio disclose the features as shown above.
Li does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 3 and 13, wherein the processor is configured to perform the operation of transmitting the TA report responsive to a paging message received from the network node.
Costa discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, wherein the processor is configured to perform the operation of transmitting the TA report responsive to a paging message received from the network node (see “a UE may transmit an access request as a response to a page message… a UE may transmit an access request to provide the base station with timing advance information” recited in column 1, lines 47-67, wherein a UE may transmit an access request including TA information to the base station as a response to a page message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Li and Nishio using features, as taught by Costa, in order to facilitate positioning (see column 1, lines 47-67 of Costa).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Nishio as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Lin (US 2023/0038582).
Li and Nishio disclose the features as shown above.
Li does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 10 and 20, wherein, in transmitting the TA report, the processor is configured to transmit the TA report in a RACH procedure, wherein, in transmitting the TA report in the RACH procedure, the processor is configured to transmit the TA report in Msg3, Msg5 or MsgA in a 2-step or 4-step RACH procedure.
Lin discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, wherein, in transmitting the TA report, the processor is configured to transmit the TA report in a RACH procedure, wherein, in transmitting the TA report in the RACH procedure, the processor is configured to transmit the TA report in Msg3, Msg5 or MsgA in a 2-step or 4-step RACH procedure (see “the UE can report the estimated TA to the base station in message 3 (Msg3)” recited in paragraph [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Li and Nishio using features, as taught by Lin, in order to report the estimated timing advance to the base station (see paragraph [0060] of Lin).
Conclusion
/JUTAI KAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473