DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the claimed feature of “autonomously transmitting, via the transceiver, a timing advance (TA) report to the network node, wherein transmission of the TA report and timing of the TA report transmission is initiated by the communication apparatus”, the Applicant argues that Li teaches that the UE’s autonomous determination of trigger condition still requires the UE to receive configuration information from the base station (page 7 of the response dated 06/08/2026). However, the received configuration information only determines which transmission mode is being used (periodic, aperiodic, or semi-persistent reporting as shown in paragraph [0067]), the transmission trigger, the periodicity of transmission may be determined autonomously by the terminal device (see paragraphs [0067]-[0070]). And most importantly, the act of transmission itself is performed autonomously by the terminal, that is, the base station cannot transmit the TA report for the terminal, the terminal must perform the transmission itself. Therefore, based on the teaching provided by Li, in a periodic transmission mode, the terminal must autonomously transmit the report at the autonomously determined periodic transmission timing; in a aperiodic transmission mode, the terminal must autonomously transmit the report as the autonomously-determined trigger condition is detected; and in the semi-periodic transmission mode, the terminal must autonomously transmit the report at the periodic transmission timing between the autonomously determined start and end time. The teaching of Li is thus considered to have sufficiently disclosed the claimed feature of “autonomously transmitting, via the transceiver, a timing advance (TA) report to the network node, wherein transmission of the TA report and timing of the TA report transmission is initiated by the communication apparatus” and the previously presented grounds of rejections are maintained.
With respect to Nishio, the Applicant argues that the UE in Nishio still requires the SIB to be sent by the BS and that the SIB contains particular required information. However, Nishio is only relied on to reject the claim feature of “wherein the processor is configured to perform the operation of transmitting the TA report responsive to the TA value deviating from a threshold by at least a predefined amount or responsive to expiry of a timer configured by the communication apparatus”. Nowhere in this passage indicates that the UE may not utilize information sent by the BS. Therefore, even if what the Applicant argues with regards to Nishi is true, the argument still does not affect the current grounds of rejections as Nishio still shows the transmitting of the TA report responsive to expiration of a timer configured at the terminal. The Applicant’s argument against Nishio is therefore not persuasive.
The Applicant also argues that Li teaches a system wherein location information will constantly change while Nishio aims at reducing the number of transmissions. The applicant therefore states that Li fails to provide support for a system for reducing a periodicity of updating a TA value. However, the previously presented rejection was based on modifying Li’s invention using Nishio’s teaching. That is, since Li discloses a system that requires a relatively higher amount of TA transmissions, it would have been obvious to try to modify the Li’s system using Nishio’s teaching, in an attempt to reduce the number of TA transmissions such that it would actually provide more motivation to modify Li’s system using features disclosed by Nishio.
Lastly, the Applicant argues that Li only sets reporting of an updated TA value in response to a trigger condition when the report is aperiodic, which is only determined according to configuration information received from the BS (page 8 of Applicant’s response dated 06/08/2026). Again, this is not true as paragraph [0069] shows that the trigger condition may be autonomously determined by the terminal. Also, the timer in Nishio, may also be implemented in the periodic/semi-persistent modes in Li as well. And similar to the aperiodic mode, in which the terminal autonomously determines the trigger condition, in the operation of the periodic/semi-persistent modes, the terminal may also autonomously determines the transmission timing as shown in paragraphs [0068] and [0070].
The Applicant’s arguments against the combination of the previously cited prior arts are therefore not persuasive and the previously presented grounds of rejections are maintained herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8-9, 11, 14-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2023/0007608) in view of Nishio (US 2023/0049008).
Li discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, a communication apparatus (see “terminal device” recited in paragraph [0062] and shown in Figs. 1-9 and 15), comprising:
a transceiver, configured to transmit and receive wireless signals (see transceiver 31 in Fig. 15); and
a processor (see processor 33 in Fig. 15), coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform operations comprising:
establishing, via the transceiver, a wireless connection with a network node of a NTN (see paragraph [0060] disclosing a wireless connection between terminal 101 and a network node in an NTN and also shown by the satellite 102 in Fig. 2); and
autonomously transmitting, via the transceiver, a TA report to the network node (see “The aperiodic reporting means that the time at which the terminal device reports the TA information to the network device is not periodic. For example, the terminal device may report the TA information to the network device according to a preset reporting trigger condition. Whenever the reporting trigger condition is satisfied, the terminal device reports the TA information to the network device. The reporting trigger condition may be indicated by the network device in the configuration information, or may also be determined by the terminal device autonomously, or may be negotiated between the network device and the terminal device in advance” recited in paragraph [0069]), wherein transmission of the TA report and timing of the TA report transmission is initiated by the communication apparatus (see “Whenever the reporting trigger condition is satisfied, the terminal device reports the TA information to the network device. The reporting trigger condition may be indicated by the network device in the configuration information, or may also be determined by the terminal device autonomously, or may be negotiated between the network device and the terminal device in advance” in paragraph [0069], wherein the terminal device may autonomously determine the transmission of the TA report, which is considered as the terminal initiating the TA report);
wherein the processor is configured to perform auto-compensation of time delays in signaling and a TA value is indicated in the TA report (see “the terminal device determines and adjusts the TA value, based on its own positioning capability, and the terminal device reports the determined TA value to the network device” recited in paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the processor is configured to perform the operation of transmitting the TA report responsive to a TA report request received from the network node (see step S701-S702 in Fig. 7, wherein the network device instructs the terminal to report TA information).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the TA report request is transmitted in a MAC CE (see first indication information S702 in Fig. 7 wherein “The first indication information may be carried in the MAC CE” as recited in paragraph [0118]).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the TA report request is transmitted via a RRC signaling (see configuration information requesting the TA report in step S701 in Fig. 7 and see “the configuration information may be RRC signaling” recited in paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the processor is configured to perform the operation of transmitting the TA report autonomously in a predetermined procedure (see “The periodic reporting means that the terminal device periodically reports the TA information to the network device. For example, the terminal device reports the TA information to the network device at preset time intervals. The preset time interval may be indicated by the network device in the configuration information, or may also be determined by the terminal device autonomously” recited in paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claim 9, wherein, in transmitting the TA report, the processor is configured to perform one or more of: transmitting the TA report in MAC CE (see “when the terminal device transmits the TA information through the PUSCH resource, the TA information may be carried in the MAC CE of the PUSCH” recited in paragraph [0124]); and transmitting the TA report via RRC signaling.
Regarding claim 11, a method for reporting TA, comprising:
establishing, by a processor (see processor 33 in Fig. 15) of a communication apparatus (see “terminal device” recited in paragraph [0062] and shown in Figs. 1-9 and 15) capable of auto-compensation of time delays in signaling (see “the terminal device determines and adjusts the TA value, based on its own positioning capability, and the terminal device reports the determined TA value to the network device” recited in paragraph [0062]), a wireless connection with a network node of a wireless network (see paragraph [0060] disclosing a wireless connection between terminal 101 and a network node in an NTN and also shown by the satellite 102 in Fig. 2); and
autonomously transmitting, by the processor, a TA report to the network node (see “The aperiodic reporting means that the time at which the terminal device reports the TA information to the network device is not periodic. For example, the terminal device may report the TA information to the network device according to a preset reporting trigger condition. Whenever the reporting trigger condition is satisfied, the terminal device reports the TA information to the network device. The reporting trigger condition may be indicated by the network device in the configuration information, or may also be determined by the terminal device autonomously, or may be negotiated between the network device and the terminal device in advance” recited in paragraph [0069]),
wherein a TA value is indicated in the TA report, and triggering of transmitting the TA report and timing of the TA report transmission is initiated at the communication apparatus (see paragraphs [0067]-[0072] shows that the transmission of TA reporting may be triggered by different conditions including a TA report initiated at the communication apparatus; also see “Whenever the reporting trigger condition is satisfied, the terminal device reports the TA information to the network device. The reporting trigger condition may be indicated by the network device in the configuration information, or may also be determined by the terminal device autonomously, or may be negotiated between the network device and the terminal device in advance” in paragraph [0069], wherein the terminal device may autonomously determine the transmission of the TA report, which is considered as the terminal initiating the TA report).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the triggering of transmitting the TA report is initiated at the network node, and the transmitting of the TA report comprises transmitting the TA report responsive to a TA report request received from the network node (see step S701-S702 in Fig. 7, wherein the network device instructs the terminal to report TA information).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the TA report request is transmitted in a MAC CE (see first indication information S702 in Fig. 7 wherein “The first indication information may be carried in the MAC CE” as recited in paragraph [0118]).
Regarding claim 16, wherein the TA report request is transmitted via a RRC signaling (see configuration information requesting the TA report in step S701 in Fig. 7 and see “the configuration information may be RRC signaling” recited in paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 18, wherein the transmitting of the TA report comprises transmitting the TA report in a MAC CE (see first indication information S702 in Fig. 7 wherein “The first indication information may be carried in the MAC CE” as recited in paragraph [0118]).
Regarding claim 19, wherein the transmitting of the TA report comprises transmitting the TA report via RRC signaling (see configuration information requesting the TA report in step S701 in Fig. 7 and see “the configuration information may be RRC signaling” recited in paragraph [0078]).
Li does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 1 and 11, wherein the processor is configured to perform the operation of transmitting the TA report responsive to the TA value deviating from a threshold by at least a predefined amount or responsive to expiry of a timer configured by the communication apparatus.
Nishio discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, wherein the processor is configured to perform the operation of transmitting the TA report responsive to the TA value deviating from a threshold by at least a predefined amount or responsive to expiry of a timer configured by the communication apparatus (see Fig. 12, wherein TA report is sent in step S207 in response to step S206; and see “Although the example has been described in which the terminal sleeps in S206 and wakes up in S207, the present disclosure is not limited to this example. For example, the same applies to the return from IDLE or INACTIVE, or the return from the expiration of the TA timer. The TA timer may be timeAlignmentTimer as described in TS38.321 V15.8.0” as recited in paragraph [0188], wherein the timeAlignmentTimer is a timer that is configured at the terminal upon receiving a timing advance command for maintaining UL time alignment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Li using features, as taught by Nishio, in order to notify the base station of timing information when it is highly likely that the location of the satellite or terminal has changed (see paragraph [0184] and [0188] of Nishio).
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Nishio as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Xu (US 2020/0178155).
Li and Nishio disclose the features as shown above.
Li does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 2 and 12, wherein the processor is configured to perform the operation of transmitting the TA report responsive to a PDCCH order signaling received from the network node.
Xu discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, wherein the processor is configured to perform the operation of transmitting the TA report responsive to a PDCCH order signaling received from the network node (see “When the PRACH mask index is set to the current reserved value, it indicates that the PDCCH order is used to instruct the second user equipment to report the timing advance” recited in paragraph [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Li and Nishio using features, as taught by Xu, in order to instruct the user to report the timing advance (see paragraph [0079] of Xu).
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Nishio as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Costa (US 10,951,380).
Li and Nishio disclose the features as shown above.
Li does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 3 and 13, wherein the processor is configured to perform the operation of transmitting the TA report responsive to a paging message received from the network node.
Costa discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, wherein the processor is configured to perform the operation of transmitting the TA report responsive to a paging message received from the network node (see “a UE may transmit an access request as a response to a page message… a UE may transmit an access request to provide the base station with timing advance information” recited in column 1, lines 47-67, wherein a UE may transmit an access request including TA information to the base station as a response to a page message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Li and Nishio using features, as taught by Costa, in order to facilitate positioning (see column 1, lines 47-67 of Costa).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Nishio as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Lin (US 2023/0038582).
Li and Nishio disclose the features as shown above.
Li does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 10 and 20, wherein, in transmitting the TA report, the processor is configured to transmit the TA report in a RACH procedure, wherein, in transmitting the TA report in the RACH procedure, the processor is configured to transmit the TA report in Msg3, Msg5 or MsgA in a 2-step or 4-step RACH procedure.
Lin discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, wherein, in transmitting the TA report, the processor is configured to transmit the TA report in a RACH procedure, wherein, in transmitting the TA report in the RACH procedure, the processor is configured to transmit the TA report in Msg3, Msg5 or MsgA in a 2-step or 4-step RACH procedure (see “the UE can report the estimated TA to the base station in message 3 (Msg3)” recited in paragraph [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Li and Nishio using features, as taught by Lin, in order to report the estimated timing advance to the base station (see paragraph [0060] of Lin).
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUTAI KAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473