DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 11-18 in the reply filed on December 4, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the bearing holder" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the term “bearing holder” is taken to mean “the holder” as the term “bearing” was not otherwise recited in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 12, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawato et al (US 2013/0273746).
The prior art of Kawato et al teaches a vapor deposition device.
Regarding claim 11. A transfer apparatus, comprising: a holder 52 configured to hold a component (substrate 200); and a roller having a roller surface configured to transfer a flexible mask 60 to the component.
Regarding claim 12. The transfer apparatus of claim 11, wherein the roller 91, 92 has a cylindrical shape see [0077] and [0082].
Regarding claim 14. The transfer apparatus (of any one of claims 11 to 12), wherein the holder includes a height-adjustable holder 80 see [0077] of Kawato et al configured to lift the component to be in contact with the soft mask over the roller.
Regarding claim 18. The transfer apparatus (of any one of claims 11, 12, and 14) wherein the roller has a cylindrical shape. See Figs. 1-3 of Kawato et al.
Fig. 1 of Kawato et al (US 2013/0273746)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 (as dependent on claims 11 and 12) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawato et al (US 2013/0273746) in view of Dunn et al (US 6,018,383).
The teachings of the prior art of Kawato et al were discussed above.
The prior art of Kawato et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 13. The transfer apparatus (of any one of claims 11 to 12, further comprising: a base; and one or more support members over the base and being configured to support the roller; wherein the holder is over the base.
The prior art of Dunn et al teaches a mask and substrate are supported by rollers respectively. Dunn et al also teaches a stage (base 12) where the support members (rollers 30-32 and drum 34 are provided over the base and the base is configured to support the roller. The motivation to provide the base is that the base enhances support of the rollers see col. 6 lines 29-32 of Dunn et al. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of the prior art of Kawato et al with the base of Dunn et al to offer enhanced support of the rollers.
Fig. 1 of Dunn et al (US 6,018,383)
Fig. 2 of Dunn et al (US 6,018,383)
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawato et al (US 2013/0273746) in view of Hsu et al (US 2014/0170377).
The teachings of the prior art of Kawato et al were discussed above.
The prior art of Kawato et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 15. The transfer apparatus (of any one of claims 11, 12, and 14), wherein the roller surface of the roller is coated with a hydrophilic polymeric thin film to reduce adhesion between the roller surface and the flexible mask.
Regarding claim 16. The transfer apparatus (of any one of claims 11, 12, 14, and 15), the flexible mask includes polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS).
The prior art of Hsu et al teaches friction reduction for engine components.
See the abstract, [0017], [0018], [0068], [0070], and [0091] of Hsu et al where it is taught to deposit hydrophilic layer to prevent sticking. In [0018] Hsu et al teaches using PDMS to ensure the flexible mask is soft and has the desired physical and chemical properties to provide the optimal material of construction of the mask and roller surface as suggested by Hsu et al. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of the prior art of Kawato et al with the suggested materials of construction of the flexible mask and coating layer of the roller of Hsu et al.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawato et al (US 2013/0273746).
The teachings of the prior art of Kawato et al were discussed above.
The prior art of Kawato et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 17. The transfer apparatus (of any one of claims 11, 12, and 14), wherein the holder has a concave portion configured to hold the component.
See Fig. 1 of Kawato et al (above) where a concave portion is provided to hold and support the rollers of the mask. Noting how well the concave portion supports the mask rollers it would be within a reasonable expectation of success that a concave portion be used to support the component as well. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of the prior art of Kawato et al with the concave portion already shown to support the rollers of the mask to also be used as an alternative or additional support for the component in the apparatus of Kawato et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Slafer (US 10,580,649) teaches ML imprint masks, flexible substrates in the imprint tools see Figs. 4 and 5.
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716