DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 18 and 32 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 18, the term “it” should read as “the dielectric liquid”.
As to claim 32, the term “at at” should read as “at” (remove the duplicate “at”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 32, the term “at the end” renders the instant claim indefinite for being not clear whether the term is of the first conduit or the second conduit. For examination purposes, the term is interpreted as “at the end of the first or second conduit.”
Claim 33 is rejected for being dependent on claim 32.
As to claim 33, the term “the conduits” renders the instant claim indefinite for being not clear whether the term is of the first conduit or the second conduit. For examination purposes, the term is interpreted as “the first conduit and/or second conduit.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 28 recites “use”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-31 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taco W. Neeb of US 2013/0102069 A1 (hereinafter, Neeb).
As to claim 18, Neeb teaches to a lighting device for providing light (114) to be used in a photochemical reaction, wherein the lighting device (100, 100’) comprises:
an LED unit (110) configured to emit light (114) to be used in the photochemical reaction (Neeb, paragraph [0045], teaches to an LED unit (110) configured to emit light (114) to be used in the photochemical reaction, as Neeb teaches to the lighting system 3 for irradiating within the bioreactor for photosynthesis);
a housing (120, 120’) configured to house the LED unit (110) (Neeb, paragraph [0043], Fig. 2, teaches to a housing (120, 120’) configured to house the LED unit (110), as Neeb teaches that the lighting system 3 has a housing comprising a frame 4 with transparent walls 5), wherein at least a part of the housing (120, 120’) is transparent for light (114) to be used in the photochemical reaction (Neeb, paragraph [0043], Fig. 2, teaches to wherein at least a part of the housing (120, 120’) is transparent for light (114) to be used in the photochemical reaction, as Neeb teaches that the lighting system 3 has a housing comprising a frame 4 with transparent walls 5), wherein the housing (120, 120’) is configured to contain a dielectric liquid transparent for light (114) generated by the LED unit (110) (Neeb, paragraph [0054], teaches to wherein the housing (120, 120’) is configured to contain a dielectric liquid transparent for light (114) generated by the LED unit (110), as Neeb teaches that the first cooling liquid 19 is preferably an oil with a high refractive index, such as Dow Corning C5 or C51) such that it is in direct contact with at least a part of a light emitting side of the LED unit (Neeb, paragraph [0056], Fig. 6, teaches to such that it is in direct contact with at least a part of a light emitting side of the LED unit, as Neeb teaches to ensuring good thermal contact between the LEDs 20, mounting structure 12 or 14, and the transparent wall 5), and
a liquid movement arrangement (130) configured to support a movement of the dielectric liquid (Neeb, paragraph [0052], Fig. 6, teaches to a liquid movement arrange (130) configured to support a movement of the dielectric liquid, as Neeb teaches to flowing of cooling fluid, which flows past the external front surface of the LEDs, preferably in direct contact with the LEDs) such that the dielectric liquid transports heat produced by the LED unit (110) away from the LED unit (110) (Neeb, paragraph [0056], teaches to such that the dielectric liquid transports heat produced by the LED unit (110) away from the LED unit (110), as Neeb teaches that the wetting of the LED chip’s front surface by the cooling liquid 19 improves heat transfer from the LEDs).
As to claim 19, Neeb teaches to the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the liquid movement arrangement (130) comprises a liquid flow source (142) or is configured to be connected to a liquid flow source (142) configured to move the dielectric liquid (Neeb, paragraph [0086], teaches to wherein the liquid movement arrangement (130) comprises a liquid flow source (142) or is configured to be connected to a liquid flow source (142) configured to move the dielectric liquid, as Neeb teaches to the pump system comprising a disc pump).
As to claim 20, Neeb teaches to the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the liquid movement arrangement (130) comprises a cooling unit outside of the housing (120, 120’) or is adapted to be connected to a cooling unit configured for cooling the dielectric liquid (Neeb, paragraph [0047], Fig. 6, teaches to wherein the liquid movement arrangement (130) comprises a cooling unit outside of the housing (120, 120’) or is adapted to be connected to a cooling unit configured for cooling the dielectric liquid, as Neeb teaches to one or more cooling channels for circulation of a second cooling fluid for enhancing the removal of heat from the LEDs).
As to claim 21, Neeb teaches to the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the lighting device (100, 100’) further comprises the dielectric liquid in the housing (120, 120’) (Neeb, paragraph [0047] and [0054], Fig. 6, wherein the lighting device (100, 100’) further comprises the dielectric liquid in the housing, as Neeb teaches to filling interior space 8 with a cooling liquid 19).
As to claim 22, Neeb teaches to the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the dielectric liquid comprises a refraction coefficient substantially similar to the refraction coefficient of the transparent part of the housing (120, 120’) (Neeb, paragraph [0059], teaches to wherein the dielectric liquid comprises a refraction coefficient substantially similar to the refraction coefficient of the transparent part of the housing (120, 120’), as Neeb teaches that the transparent wall 5 is preferably constructed of a material with a refractive index that approximates or matches the first cooling liquid 19).
As to claim 23, Neeb teaches to the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the dielectric liquid is adapted to be movable (adapted to be portable or movable is not sufficient by itself to patently distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected results. Please refer to MPEP § 2144.04(V)(A)) by the liquid movement arrangement (130) (Neeb, paragraph [0052], Fig. 6, teaches to by the liquid movement arrangement (130), as Neeb teaches to flowing of cooling fluid, which flows past the external front surface of the LEDs, preferably in direct contact with the LEDs) in a temperature range from -35 °C to 150 °C (Neeb, paragraph [0057], teaches to in a temperature range from -35 °C to 150 °C, as Neeb teaches to using ow Corning C5 (XIAMETER™ PMX-200 Silicone Fluid 5 cSt) or Dow Corning C51 (DOWSIL™ 510 Fluid), both known for their working temperature ranges of -40 °C to 200 °C and -57 °C to 232 °C).
As to claim 24, Neeb teaches to the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the dielectric liquid is silicone oil or mineral oil (Neeb, paragraph [0057], teaches to wherein the dielectric liquid is silicone oil or mineral oil, as Neeb teaches to using ow Corning C5 (XIAMETER™ PMX-200 Silicone Fluid 5 cSt) or Dow Corning C51 (DOWSIL™ 510 Fluid)).
As to claim 25, Neeb teaches to the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the LED unit (110) comprises an LED (111) (Neeb, paragraph [0044], teaches to wherein the LED unit (110) comprises an LED (111), as Neeb teaches to the lighting system 3 comprising an arrangement of LEDs 20) and a mounting board (112), wherein the LED (111) is mounted to a first side of the mounting board (112) (Neeb, paragraph [0066], Fig. 10, teaches to a mounting board (112) wherein the LED (111) is mounted to a first side of the mounting board (112), as Neeb teaches that the LEDs 20 are mounted on a mounting strut 14), and wherein the mounting board (112) forms at least a part of the housing (120) such that the dielectric liquid is in direct contact with the LED (111) on the first side of the mounting board (112) (Neeb, paragraph [0048], Fig. 4A, teaches to and wherein the mounting board (112) forms at least a part of the housing (120) such that the dielectric liquid is in direct contact with the LED (111) on the first side of the mounting board (112), as Neeb teaches to mounting struts 14 having a recess 17 in which the LEDs 20 are mounted; Neeb, paragraph [0047], teaches that the interior space 8 maybe filled with a cooling liquid 19 in direct contact with the LEDs for transferring heat away from the LEDs).
As to claim 26, Neeb teaches to the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the LED unit (110) comprises an LED (111) and a mounting board (112), wherein the LED (111) is mounted to a first side of the mounting board (112) (Neeb, paragraph [0048], Fig. 4A, teaches wherein the LED unit (110) comprises an LED (111) and a mounting board (111), wherein the LED (111) is mounted to a first side of the mounting board (112), as Neeb teaches to the mounting strut 14 on which the LEDs 20 are mounted on each side of the mounting strut 14), and wherein the mounting board (112) is arranged in the housing (120’) (Neeb, paragraph [0047], Fig. 3B, teaches to and wherein the mounting board (112) is arranged in the housing (120’), as Neeb teaches that the lighting system 3 comprises LEDs mounted on mounting struts 14 in the lighting system 3) such that the dielectric liquid is in direct contact with at least a part of the first side of the mounting board (112) and at least a part of a second side of the mounting board (112) opposite the first side (Neeb, paragraph [0047], teaches to such that the dielectric liquid is in direct contact with at least a part of the first side of the mounting board (112) and at least part of a second side of the mounting board (112) opposite the first side, as Neeb teaches that the interior space 8 maybe filled with a cooling liquid 19 in direct contact with the LEDs for transferring heat away from the LEDs).
As to claim 27, Neeb teaches to the apparatus of claim 25, wherein an additional cooling unit is provided on a second side of the mounting board (112) opposite the first side such that heat is transported away from the second side of the mounting board (112) (the applicant is reminded that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04.IV.B.; nonetheless, Neeb, paragraph [0047], Fig. 3A, teaches to wherein an additional cooling unit is provided on a second side of the mounting board (112) opposite the first side such that heat is transported away from the second side of the mounting board (112), as Neeb teaches to one or more cooling channels for circulation of a second cooling fluid for enhancing the removal of heat from the LEDs).
As to claim 28, Neeb teaches to use of a lighting device of claim 18 as a light source in a photochemical reaction, wherein the light (114) emitted by the lighting device (100, 100’) is used to trigger and/or maintain a photochemical reaction (Neeb, paragraphs [0003]-[0004], teaches to a lighting device of claim 18 as a light source in a photochemical reaction, wherein the light (114) emitted by the lighting device (100, 100’) is used to trigger and/or maintain a photochemical reaction, as Neeb teaches to a bioreactor for growing algae in aqueous liquid using photosynthesis) in a medium provided in a photochemical reactor (300, 400) (Neeb, paragraphs [0003]-[0004], teaches to in a medium provided in a photochemical reactor (300, 400), as Neeb teaches to a bioreactor for growing algae in aqueous liquid using photosynthesis).
As to claim 29, Neeb teaches to a photochemical reactor, wherein the reactor (300,400) comprises:
a reaction chamber configured to contain a reaction mixture as basis for the photochemical reaction (Neeb, paragraphs [0003]-[0004], teaches to a reaction chamber configured to contain a reaction mixture as basis for photochemical reaction, as Neeb teaches to a bioreactor for growing algae in aqueous liquid using photosynthesis; the term “a reaction mixture”, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, is interpreted as liquid containing algae, in which carbon dioxide is dissolved for photosynthesis; Neeb, Figs. 11-14, teaches to a bioreactor tank 1 comprising lighting systems 3), and
a lighting device (100, 100’) according to claim 18, wherein the light (114) emitted by the lighting device (100, 100’) triggers and/or maintains the photochemical reaction mixture (Neeb, paragraphs [0003]-[0004], teaches a lighting device (100, 100’) according to claim 18, wherein the light (114) emitted by the lighting device (100, 100’) triggers and/or maintains the photochemical reaction mixture, as Neeb teaches to a bioreactor for growing algae in aqueous liquid using photosynthesis).
As to claim 30, Neeb teaches to the apparatus of claim 29, wherein the reactor comprises a first conduit (310) and a second conduit (320), wherein the first conduit (310) is arranged inside the second conduit (320) (Neeb, paragraph [0070], Fig. 11, teaches to wherein the reactor comprises a first conduit (310) and a second conduit (320), wherein the first conduit (310) is arranged inside the second conduit (320), as Neeb teaches to the tubular mounting structure 15 having an internal channel 16 for a circulation of a cooling liquid for cooling the light source; the tubular mounting structure 15 having an internal channel 16 reads as a first conduit (310) and the transparent walls 5 reads as a second conduit (320), for instance),
wherein the reaction chamber is formed by the first conduit (310) (Neeb, paragraph [0070], Fig. 11, teaches to wherein the reaction chamber is formed by the first conduit (310), as Neeb teaches to the tubular mounting structure 15 having an internal channel 16 for a circulation of a cooling liquid for cooling the light source; the tubular mounting structure 15 having an internal channel 16 reads as a first conduit (310)) and the lighting device (100, 100’) is arranged in the volume between the first conduit (310) and the second conduit (320) such that the light (114) provided by the lighting device (100, 100’) is radiated into the first conduit (310), or wherein the reaction chamber is formed by at least a part of the volume between the first conduit (310) and the second conduit (320) and the lighting device (100, 100’) is arranged inside the first conduit (310) such that the light (114) provided by the lighting device (100, 100’) is radiated into the volume between the first conduit (310) and the second conduit (320) (Neeb, paragraph [0070], Fig. 11, and Fig. 13 teaches to wherein the reaction chamber is formed by at least a part of the volume between the first conduit (310) and the second conduit (320) and the lighting device (100, 100’) is arranged inside the first conduit (310) such that the light (114) provided by the lighting device (100, 100’) is radiated into the volume between the first conduit (310) and the second conduit (320), as Neeb teaches to Fig. 13, wherein the LEDs irradiate a space between the transparent wall 5 and the tubular mounting structure 15).
As to claim 31, Neeb teaches to the apparatus of claim 30, wherein at least a part of the first conduit (310) forms at least a part of the housing (120, 120’) of the lighting device (Neeb, paragraph [0070], Fig. 11, teaches to wherein at least a part of the first conduit (310) forms at least a part of the housing (120, 120’) of the lighting device, as Neeb teaches to the tubular mounting structure 15 having an internal channel 16 for a circulation of a cooling liquid for cooling the light source; the internal channel 16 reads as a first conduit (310), for instance; the tubular mounting structure forms at least a part of the lighting system 3, as Neeb teaches that the lighting system 3 has a housing comprising a frame 4 with transparent walls 5).
As to claim 34, Neeb teaches to a method for transporting heat away from an LED unit (110), wherein the method (500) comprises the steps of:
providing (510) a housing (120, 120’) that is configured to house the LED unit (110) (Neeb, paragraph [0070], Fig. 11, teaches to providing (510) a housing (120, 120’) that is configured to house the LED unit (110), as Neeb, paragraph [0043], Fig. 2, teaches to a housing (120, 120’) configured to house the LED unit (110), as Neeb teaches that the lighting system 3 has a housing comprising a frame 4 with transparent walls 5),
providing (520) a dielectric liquid in the housing (120, 120’) (Neeb, paragraph [0054], teaches to providing (520) a dielectric liquid in the housing (120, 120’), as Neeb teaches that the first cooling liquid 19 is preferably an oil with a high refractive index, such as Dow Corning C5 or C51) such that it is in direct contact with at least a part of a light emitting side of the LED unit (110) (Neeb, paragraph [0052], Fig. 6, teaches to such that it is in direct contact with at least a part of a light emitting side of the LED unit (110), as Neeb teaches to flowing of cooling fluid, which flows past the external front surface of the LEDs, preferably in direct contact with the LEDs), and
moving (530) the dielectric liquid in order to remove heat from the LED unit (110) (Neeb, paragraph [0056], teaches to moving (530) the dielectric liquid in order to remove heat from the LED unit (110), as Neeb teaches that the wetting of the LED chip’s front surface by the cooling liquid 19 improves heat transfer from the LEDs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taco W. Neeb of US 2013/0102069 A1 (hereinafter, Neeb), as applied to claims 29-31 above, and in further view of Alexander Peschl of DE 102010014712 B3 (hereinafter, Peschl DE).
As to claim 32, Neeb teaches to the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the reactor comprises the first conduit (310, 642) and the second conduit (320, 641), wherein the lighting device (100, 100’) is arranged in the volume between the first conduit (320, 641) and the second conduit (320, 641) (Neeb, Figs, 12 and 13, teaches to wherein the reactor comprises the first conduit (310, 642) and the second conduit (320, 641), wherein the lighting device (100, 100’) is arranged in the volume between the first conduit (320, 641) and the second conduit (320, 641), as Neeb teaches to the tubular mounting structure 15 having an internal channel 16 for a circulation of a cooling liquid for cooling the light source; the tubular mounting structure 15 having an internal channel 16 reads as a first conduit (310) and the transparent walls 5 reads as a second conduit (320), for instance), wherein at least a part of the second conduit forms at least a part of the housing (120, 120’) of the lighting device (Neeb, paragraph [0070], Fig .11, teaches to wherein at least a part of the second conduit forms at least a part of the housing (120, 120’) of the lighting device, as Neeb teaches that the lighting system 3 has a housing comprising a frame 4 with transparent walls 5).
Neeb does not explicitly teach wherein the reactor comprises a liquid movement arrangement comprising a ring nozzle (660), wherein the ring nozzle (600) is arranged at at least one end of the first and second conduit (310, 320, 641, 642) such that the ring nozzle (600) closes the volume (643) between the first and second conduit (310, 320, 641, 642) at the end, wherein the ring nozzle (600) is adapted to guide the dielectric liquid from a connector arrangement (620), which is adapted to provide the dielectric liquid to the ring nozzle (600), to the volume between the first and second conduit (310, 320, 641, 642) comprising the lighting device (100, 100’).
In an analogous art, Peschl DE teaches to wherein the reactor comprises a liquid movement arrangement comprising a ring nozzle (660) (Peschl DE, paragraph [0008], Fig. 4a, teaches to wherein the reactor comprise a liquid movement arrangement comprising a ring nozzle (660), as Peschl DE teaches to an annular disc-shaped connecting intermediate flange), wherein the ring nozzle (600) is arranged at at least one end of the first and second conduit (310, 320, 641, 642) such that the ring nozzle (600) closes the volume (643) between the first and second conduit (310, 320, 641, 642) at the end, wherein the ring nozzle (600) is adapted to guide the dielectric liquid from a connector arrangement (620) (Peschl DE, paragraph [0008], Fig. 4a, teaches to wherein the ring nozzle (600) is arranged at at least one end of the first and second conduit (310, 320, 641, 642) such that the ring nozzle (600) closes the volume (643) between the first and second conduit (310, 320, 641, 642) at the end, wherein the ring nozzle (600) is adapted to guide the dielectric liquid from a connector arrangement (620), as Peschl DE teaches to an annular disc-shaped connecting intermediate flange; Peschl DE, paragraph [0012], teaches that the gas channels provided in the plane of the intermediate flange extend from the outer circumference of the intermediate flange towards an inner circumference and advantageously open tangentially into it to ensure ideal fluid flow; Peschl DE, paragraph [0013], teaches that the fluid inlet and outlet are each formed by a fluid channel that also opens tangentially into the annular gap, with the tangential arrangement supporting the desired turbulent flow in the annular gap), which is adapted to provide the dielectric liquid to the ring nozzle (600), to the volume between the first and second conduit (310, 320, 641, 642) comprising the lighting device (100, 100’) (Peschl DE, paragraph [0013], teaches to which is adapted to provide the dielectric liquid to the ring nozzle (600), to the volume between the first and second conduit (310, 320, 641, 642) comprising the lighting device (100, 100’), as Peschl DE teaches that the fluid inlet and outlet are each formed by a fluid channel that also opens tangentially into the annular gap, with the tangential arrangement supporting the desired turbulent flow in the annular gap).
Both Neeb and Peschl DE relate to photochemical reactor (Peschl DE, paragraph [0002]). Neeb does not explicitly teach a ring nozzle. Neeb does teach to a photoreactor comprising the first and second conduits, wherein the dielectric liquid flows thorough the volumes between the first and the second conduits; in other words, Neeb teaches to the recited structure. Peschl DE teaches to a ring nozzle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Neeb with the ring nozzle of Peschl DE for directing fluid, thereby ensuring ideal fluid flow for proving more efficient cooling.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taco W. Neeb of US 2013/0102069 A1 (hereinafter, Neeb), as applied to claims 29-31 above, in view of Alexander Peschl of DE 102010014712 B3 (hereinafter, Peschl DE), as applied to claim 32 above, and in further view of Willem Duyvesteyn of US 2009/0090654 A1 (hereinafter, Duyvesteyn).
As to claim 33, Neeb in view of Peschl DE teaches to the apparatus of claim 32, wherein the ring nozzle (600) comprises a circular volume (610) with a plurality of openings (611) that connect the volume (643) containing the lighting device (100, 100’) with the circular volume (610) of the ring nozzle (600) (Peschl DE, Fig. 4a, teaches to wherein the ring nozzle (660) comprises a circular volume (610) with a plurality of openings (611) that connect the volume (643) containing the lighting device (100, 100’) with the circular volume (610) of the ring, as Peschl DE teaches to a disc plane of the intermediate flange comprising a plurality of channels for flowing fluids through fluid inlet and outlet that are formed by fluid channels that also opens tangentially into the annular gap, with the tangential arrangement supporting the desired turbulent flow in the annular gap),
wherein the connector arrangement (620) is adapted to provide the dielectric liquid into the circular volume (610) (Peschl DE, Fig. 4a, teaches to wherein the connector arrangement (620) is adapted to provide the dielectric liquid into the circular volume (610), as Peschl DE teaches to a disc plane of the intermediate flange comprising a plurality of channels for flowing fluids through fluid inlet and outlet that are formed by fluid channels that also opens tangentially into the annular gap, with the tangential arrangement supporting the desired turbulent flow in the annular gap).
Neeb in view of Peschl DE does not explicitly teach and wherein the circular volume (610) comprises a shape that is narrower at a side of the conduits than at an opposite side.
In an analogous art, Duyvesteyn teaches to and wherein the circular volume (610) comprises a shape that is narrower at a side of the conduits than at an opposite side (Duyvesteyn, paragraph [0078], Fig. 6, teaches to and wherein the circular volume (610) comprises a shape that is narrower at a side of the conduits than at an opposite side, as Duyvesteyn teaches to a flow directing insert 158 for comprising a shape that is narrower at a side of the injection passage than at an opposite side for providing a jet effect).
Both Neeb in view of Peschl DE and Duyvesteyn relate to a tubular reactor body (Duyvesteyn, paragraph [0040]). Neeb in view of Peschl DE does not explicitly teach a narrower shape at a side of the fluid passages. Neeb in view of Peschl DE does teach to a ring nozzle for directing fluid flows. Duyvesteyn teaches to a narrower shape at a side of the fluid passage for directing fluid flows.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Neeb in view of Peschl DE with the nozzle shapes of Duyvesteyn for directing fluid flows for providing a jet effect, thereby resulting in an efficient reactor with improved cooling of the reactor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JOHN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/JAMES LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794