DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 01/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-4, 7-15, and 18-19 remain pending in the application. Claims 18-19 remain withdrawn. Claims 1, 3-4, 7-15 remain rejected. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 10/23/2025, except where otherwise stated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-4, and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second preset duration" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner notes that claim 1 refers to “a second preset duration” in line 21, which is after “the second present duration” in line 7.
The term “low humidity” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low humidity” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 3-4, and 7-15 are rejected as indefinite as a result of depending upon indefinite claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 106705566 A) in view of Zhong (CN 107467172 A), Fang (EP 2757334 A1), Jeon (KR 20110055046 A), Yamato (JP 2006266539 A), Kim (US 20190384990 A1), Nicole (US 20180310578 A1), Unlu (US 20210186048 A1), Kim (US 20060042300 A1), and Marchetti (IT 201800020068 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches (Paragraph 0002, 0012, 0018) a method and device for controlling the freshness of refrigeration and freezing equipment, wherein the refrigeration and freezing device includes a cabinet, a storage compartment is defined therein, and a preservation space is arranged inside the storage compartment, and wherein a time recording module is configured to record the duration of the fresh-keeping space being closed after the fresh-keeping space is opened to place food inside and closed, and the humidity detection module is also configured to detect the humidity in the fresh keeping space when the duration is greater than or equal to a preset time length. Liu further teaches (Paragraph 0016) determining a type of food according to the humidity by judging whether the humidity is greater than or equal to a preset humidity threshold; and if so, determining that the food is fruit or vegetable, and if not, determining that the food is meat (not fruit or vegetable).
Liu is silent on controlling a light source to turn it on based on a closing signal of a storage room. Liu is further silent on, when the humidity of the storage room is greater than a target humidity, controlling a humidity control fan to operate, and turning off the light source after the second preset duration. Also, Liu is silent on, when the humidity of the storage room is not greater than the target humidity, controlling the humidity control fan to operate to maintain low humidity in the storage room, and turning off the light source. Additionally, Liu is silent on, when the humidity of the storage room is greater than the target humidity, before controlling the humidity control fan to operate, the method further comprises: obtaining a type of the food ingredient in the storage room based on an image of the food ingredient; obtaining a minimum irradiation intensity and shortest irradiation duration according to the type of the food ingredient from a list stored in a database; determining a target irradiation intensity and a target irradiation duration based on the minimum irradiation intensity and the shortest irradiation duration; and setting the target irradiation intensity as an irradiation intensity of the light source, and setting the target irradiation duration as a second preset duration.
Zhong teaches (Paragraph 0006, Paragraph 0026) a light-saving cabinet which can effectively keep fruits, vegetables and other foods fresh, wherein a fresh-keeping cabinet (storage room) is provided with a closing door, a door lock sensor is provided between the closing door and the fresh-keeping cabinet, and the door lock sensor is connected to the central processing unit signal, wherein, when the door is closed, the door lock sensor senses that the closed door is in a closed state, and the light source starts to work to release light to preserve the fruits and vegetables.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu to control a light source to turn it on based on a closing signal of a storage room as taught by Zhong since both are directed to methods of preserving food products in storage devices, since controlling a light source to turn it on based on a closing signal of a storage room is known in the art as shown by Zhong, since turning the light on when the door is closed will ensure that the user has added all the desired food to the storage room prior to treatment, since activating the light after the door closes will prevent the light from shining in and damaging a user’s eyes, since the light can preserve the fruits and vegetables, since activating the light due to a closing signal will simplify operation and be convenient to the user by preventing the need for manual activation, and since the light can include ultraviolet light which can maintain the shape, color and accumulated substances of vegetables (Zhong, Paragraph 0022), but which could have adverse effects on humans, so activation after closing the storage room would ensure human safety.
Fang teaches (Paragraph 0001, 0009) a method of controlling humidity in a refrigerating chamber of a refrigerator, wherein a compressor and the fan are controlled to operate according to the moisture preservation mode, wherein, in the high moisture preservation mode, the humidity in the refrigerating chamber may be maintained at a high level, and in the normal moisture preservation mode, the humidity in the refrigerating chamber may be maintained at a low level. Fang further teaches (Paragraph 0012, 0038, 0040) operating the fan to humidify the refrigerating chamber during the high moisture preservation mode, and, in the normal moisture preservation mode, the fan is operated, but no defrostation water is transported into the refrigerating chamber by the fan, thus the humidity in the refrigerating chamber is lower than that in the high moisture preservation mode (controlling the humidity control fan to operate to maintain low humidity in the storage room). Also, Fang teaches (Paragraph 0005) fruits and vegetables require high humidity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu to control a humidity control fan to operate when the humidity of the storage room is greater than a target humidity and to control the humidity control fan to operate to maintain low humidity in the storage room when the humidity of the storage room is not greater than the target humidity in view of Fang since both are directed to methods of preserving food products in refrigerator storage devices, since Liu teaches a humidity above a target humidity is indicative of fruits and vegetables while below a target humidity is indicative of other foods like meat, since Fang teaches controlling a humidity control fan to operate in a high humidity mode that satisfies the humidity requirements of fruits and vegetables and in a normal humidity mode for maintaining a low humidity in the storage room, since, when the humidity of a storage environment is too low, food is easy to be dehydrated and air-dried, which causes fruits and vegetables to wilt (Fang, Paragraph 0004), since the method of controlling humidity of Fang is easy to implement and low in the cost of humidity control, and may be applicable to the refrigerator in the related art without complex structure modifications (Fang, Paragraph 0010), and since maintaining low humidity for foods that do not need higher humidity will prevent the build-up of excess moisture that could cause mold or bacteria growth. The examiner notes that the limitation, “controlling the humidity control fan to operate to maintain low humidity,” has been construed to mean maintaining “low” humidity for any period of time.
Jeon teaches (Page 1, 5) a refrigerator control method, and more particularly, to a refrigerator control method including a control step of controlling the on/off of an LED that irradiates light into a storage room according to time, thereby more effectively inducing photosynthesis of vegetables or fruits stored in the refrigerator to keep them fresh, wherein, after the LED is turned on, a timer detects the time for irradiating the storage room, and, after a set time has passed (such as 6 hours in an exemplary embodiment) the LED is turned OFF.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu to include a light source that turns off after a preset duration when the humidity of the storage room is greater than a target humidity in view of Jeon since both are directed to methods of preserving food products, including fruits and vegetables, in refrigerator storage devices, since Liu teaches that obtaining a humidity greater than a target humidity indicates the presence of fruits or vegetables, since turning off a light source after a preset duration to induce photosynthesis in fruits and vegetables is known in the art as shown by Jeon, since controlling the on/off of an LED that irradiates light into a storage room according to time, more effectively induces photosynthesis of vegetables or fruits stored in the refrigerator to keep them fresh (Jeon, Page 1), since turning the off the light after a set period would reduce energy consumption, lowering costs and improving operation efficiency, since refrigerators can keep vegetables fresh for a certain period of time by simply controlling the cold air to keep them at a low temperature, but they have the problem of losing freshness when stored for a long period of time, but inducing photosynthesis of vegetables or fruits stored in a refrigerator to keep them fresh (Jeon, Page 2), and since prolonged or excess light exposure could harm or adversely affect the food, and vegetables have reactions to both light and dark that help effectively synthesize glucose and the like (Jeon, Page 3).
Furthermore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu to turn off the light source when the humidity of the storage room is not greater than the target humidity, since Liu demonstrates that this humidity level indicates that the food ingredient in the storage room is not fruit or vegetable, and the light source has the effect of inducing photosynthesis in fruits and vegetables as shown above by Jeon. Non-fruit or non-vegetable food ingredients, such as meat or cheese, would not benefit from the light source since photosynthesis cannot occur, and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that turning off the light source would save energy and reduce operational costs. Additionally, Yamato teaches (Paragraph 0039-0040) a method of operating a refrigerator having a vegetable compartment for storing vegetables and the like, wherein light is emitted from a light source 29 when the humidity is high and the light emission is stopped when the humidity is low because vegetables consume water in their bodies when they undergo photosynthesis and photomorphogenesis, and stopping light emission at low humidity can prevent vegetable from drying out due to photosynthesis. Thus, Yamato further demonstrates the obviousness of modifying Liu to turn on the light source when the humidity is below a target humidity.
Kim (US 20190384990 A1) teaches (Paragraph 0002, 0009, 0015, 0129) a method for recognizing food stored in the refrigerator, wherein at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to obtain at least one inside-fridge image captured in a refrigerator and to recognize a first category of food included in the obtained at least one inside-fridge image using a food recognition model, wherein, in exemplary embodiments, categories of food include “cucumber” and “apple” (types of vegetables and fruits).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu, as modified above, to obtain a type of the food ingredient in the storage room based on an image of the food ingredient when the humidity in the storage room is greater than the target humidity in view of Kim (US 20190384990 A1), since both are directed to methods of preserving food products in refrigerator storage devices, since a humidity greater than a target humidity corresponds to fruits and vegetables as shown by Liu, since obtaining a type of the food ingredient in the storage room based on an image of the food ingredient, including fruits and vegetables, is known in the art as shown by Kim (US 20190384990 A1), since identification of the food ingredient type by a processor via an image would be convenient for users by removing the need for manual identification, since identification of the food ingredient type by a processor via an image would prevent human error in identification of a food, and since image data will have precise and unique details for clear identification of the correct food ingredient type.
Nicole teaches (Paragraph 0001, 0017) a system and a method for post-harvest light treatment of vegetables and fruits, wherein at least part of the piece of fruit is irradiated with radiation with a predetermined minimum radiation intensity and during a predetermined radiation period.
Unlu teaches (Paragraph 0034, 0036) microbiologically stabilizing plant material such as strawberry, apple, blueberry, pear, peach, kiwi, pineapple, banana, cucumber or tomato by irradiating the plant material for the minimum amount of time and intensity necessary to assure microbial stability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu, as modified above, to obtain a minimum irradiation intensity and shortest irradiation duration, to determine the target irradiation intensity and the target irradiation duration based on the minimum irradiation intensity and the shortest irradiation duration, to set the target irradiation intensity as an irradiation intensity of the light source, and to set the target irradiation duration as the second preset duration when the humidity in the storage room is greater than the target humidity in view of Nicole and Unlu, since each is directed to a method of preservation and treatment of food products, including fruits and vegetables, since a humidity greater than a target humidity corresponds to fruits and vegetables as shown by Liu, since treating food ingredients with a minimum intensity (which requires obtaining the minimum irradiation intensity and determining and setting the target irradiation intensity based on the minimum irradiation intensity) is known in the art from Nicole, since treating food products with irradiation for the shortest duration (which requires obtaining the shortest irradiation duration and determining and setting the target irradiation duration based on the shortest irradiation duration) is known in the art from Unlu, since the minimum intensity and shortest duration would minimize the energy requirements of the treatment process, reducing costs, since the minimum intensity and the shortest duration would prevent overexposure to light that could excessively dry or damage the food ingredients, and since the minimum irradiation intensity and shortest treatment duration would preserve the lifespan of the light source.
Kim (US 20060042300 A1) teaches (Paragraph 0003, 0021) a method of operating a refrigerator which includes a separate vegetable storage chamber for storing vegetables, wherein a control unit selectively controls at least one type of the LEDs, intensities of lights emitted from the LEDs, and irradiation times of the LEDs, according to the types of the stored vegetables. Kim (US 20060042300 A1) further teaches (Paragraph 0019) a light-setting unit receives data corresponding to types of the stored vegetables from a user, and a control unit receives the data corresponding to the types of the stored vegetables through the light-setting unit and controls the LEDs so that the LEDs emit light, having characteristics corresponding to the types of the stored vegetables, onto the vegetables.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu, as modified above, to determine a target irradiation intensity and a target irradiation duration based on the type of the food ingredient in view of Kim (US 20060042300 A1) since both are directed to methods of preserving food products, including vegetables, in refrigerator storage devices, since selecting and setting irradiation intensities and durations (which requires determination of the intensities and durations) based on the type of food ingredient is known in the art as shown by Kim, since different types of food ingredients will have different properties (size, shape, density, composition, etc.) that require different intensities and lengths of treatment for optimal storage conditions, since, although the storage at the low temperature allows vegetables to maintain freshness for a long time, many nutrients of the vegetables, which were stored at the low temperature, are destroyed, and a time for maintaining the freshness of the vegetables is comparatively short, but the freshness of vegetables can be maintained for a long time, and the nutrient degradation can be minimized by irradiating light onto the vegetables stored in the vegetable storage chamber so that the vegetables photosynthesize (Kim, Paragraph 0007-0010), since too little light could cause some ingredients like vegetables to degrade more quickly while excess light for too long could dry out the food ingredients.
It is noted that Kim (US 20060042300 A1) does not explicitly state that irradiation intensity and duration according to the type of food ingredient are obtained from a list stored in a database. However, as stated above, Kim (US 20060042300 A1) teaches (Paragraph 0021) a control unit selectively controls intensities of lights emitted from the LEDs and irradiation times of the LEDs, according to the types of the stored vegetables (where it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that, in order for the controller to accordingly adjust the intensity and duration based on the type of vegetables stored in the chamber, the data would need to be stored in some form of a database/list). Moreover, the Examiner notes that the Applicant’s Specification does not explicitly recite a list stored in a database, but merely indicates (Paragraph 0080) that a relationship table of type of fruit and vegetable - irradiation intensity - irradiation duration obtained through experiments can be pre-stored.
Furthermore, it is known in the art from Marchetti (Paragraph 0005, 0103), in a method for pasteurizing food products, to set the value of a duration and intensity of the irradiated microwaves, by accessing a memory to determine the irradiation step setting parameters as a function of at least one or more characteristic chemical/physical parameters measured for a product, that may be a food product, wherein the memory contains an experimental database of product types, each product being uniquely associated with a correspondence table between values or ranges of values of at least one of the characteristic chemical/physical parameters of said product and the setting value of one or more of the irradiation step setting parameters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu, as modified above to acquire irradiation intensity and duration values form a list stored in a database as taught by Marchetti, since both are directed to methods of food preservation, since acquiring irradiation and intensity values for light according to a type of food ingredient is known from Kim (US 20060042300 A1), since acquiring irradiation intensity and duration values form a list stored in a database is known in the art as shown by Marchetti, since using values from a list in a database removes the need for manual determination or entry, providing user convenience and preventing human error, and since acquiring irradiation intensity and duration values form a list stored in a database ensures that the intensity and treatment are specific to the food being treated, preventing random or undesired effects, like too little treatment or prolonged treatment that wastes energy or damages the food product.
Additionally, while Liu, as modified above, does not explicitly state that the process of setting the target irradiation intensity and duration by obtaining the type off the food ingredient and the minimum irradiation intensity and shortest irradiation duration occurs before controlling the humidity control fan to operate, such a process order would have been obvious to try since controlling the humidity control fan and setting the target irradiation intensity and duration to treat food products, particularly fruits or vegetables is known in the art as shown above, since controlling the humidity control fan and setting the target irradiation intensity and duration by obtaining the type off the food ingredient and the minimum irradiation intensity and shortest irradiation duration has a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (controlling the humidity control fan before other process steps, controlling the humidity control fan between other process steps, or controlling the humidity control fan after other process steps), and since one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (See MPEP 2143 E). Furthermore, the Applicant does not appear to have identified any unique or unexpected benefit from the claimed order or process steps that would render it non-obvious.
Regarding claim 7, as shown above with regard to claim 1, it is known in the art from Nicole and Unlu to use the minimum irradiation intensity and the shortest irradiation duration when treating food products, and, consequently, setting the minimum irradiation intensity as the target irradiation intensity, and setting the shortest irradiation duration as the target irradiation durations when only one type of food ingredient is in the storage room would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the reasons stated above with regard to claim 1.
Furthermore, as shown above with regard to claim 1, it is known in the art from Kim (US 20060042300 A1) to set the irradiation intensity and duration according to the types of food ingredient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu, as modified above, to set the maximum value of all the minimum irradiation intensities of the plurality of types of food ingredients as the target irradiation intensity, and set the maximum value of all the shortest irradiation durations of all of the plurality of types of food ingredients as the target irradiation duration when a plurality of types of food ingredients are in the storage room in view of Nicole, Unlu, and Kim (US 20060042300 A1) since each is directed to a method of preservation and treatment of food products, including fruits and vegetables, since treating food ingredients with a minimum intensity is known in the art from Nicole, since treating food products with irradiation for the shortest duration is known in the art from Unlu, since different types of food products requiring different intensities is known in the art as shown by Kim (US 20060042300 A1), since the minimum intensity and shortest duration would minimize the energy requirements of the treatment process, reducing costs, since the minimum intensity and the shortest duration would prevent overexposure to light that could excessively dry or damage the food ingredients, since the minimum irradiation intensity and shortest treatment duration would preserve the lifespan of the light source, since setting the maximum value of all the minimum irradiation intensities of the plurality of types of food ingredients as the target irradiation intensity, and setting the maximum value of all the shortest irradiation durations of all of the plurality of types of food ingredients as the target irradiation duration would ensure that each food product in the storage chamber received a sufficient irradiation intensity for a sufficient duration, since different types of food ingredients will have different properties (size, shape, density, composition, etc.) that require different intensities and lengths of treatment for optimal storage conditions, since, although the storage at the low temperature allows vegetables to maintain freshness for a long time, many nutrients of the vegetables, which were stored at the low temperature, are destroyed, and a time for maintaining the freshness of the vegetables is comparatively short, but the freshness of vegetables can be maintained for a long time, and the nutrient degradation can be minimized by irradiating light onto the vegetables stored in the vegetable storage chamber so that the vegetables photosynthesize (Kim, Paragraph 0007-0010), since too little light could cause some ingredients like vegetables to degrade more quickly.
Regarding claim 15, Liu, as modified above, is silent on the light source comprising a blue light source, and the blue light emitted by the blue light source having a wavelength of 440 nm to 460 nm.
Yamato teaches (Paragraph 0001, 0039) a method of operating a refrigerator having a vegetable compartment for storing vegetables and the like, wherein light is emitted from a light source 29 when the humidity is high and the light emission is stopped when the humidity is low. Yamato further teaches (Paragraph 0040) a light source 29 emitting light of a different wavelength may be provided, wherein, for example, if a blue light source with a wavelength of about 440 nm is provided, photomorphogenesis of vegetables can be promoted.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu, as modified above, for the light source to comprise a blue light source having a wavelength of 440 nm to 460 nm as taught Yamato since both are directed to methods of preserving food products in refrigerator storage devices, since providing a refrigerator with a blue light source having a wavelength of 440 nm to 460 nm is known in the art from Yamato, since if a blue light source with a wavelength of about 440 nm is provided, photomorphogenesis of vegetables can be promoted (Yamato, Paragraph 0040), since some consumers will prefer the appearance of a refrigerator interior and food products lit by a blue light source, and since some food ingredients will have a longer shelf-life when exposed to blue light.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 106705566 A) in view of Zhong (CN 107467172 A), Fang (EP 2757334 A1), Jeon (KR 20110055046 A), Yamato (JP 2006266539 A), Kim (US 20190384990 A1), Nicole (US 20180310578 A1), Unlu (US 20210186048 A1), Kim (US 20060042300 A1), and Marchetti (IT 201800020068 A1), and further in view of Lee (KR 20200065616 A).
Regarding claim 3, Liu, as modified above, is silent on the target humidity being determined based on historical data or the humidity of the storage room prior to the turning-on step.
Lee teaches (Paragraph 0001, 0054, 0058) a method of operating a maturing room operating device according to setting status information received from a mobile terminal, wherein set data is transmitted from a communication module so that the temperature and humidity of the maturing room are maintained at the set temperature and set humidity, and a control module analyzes data on previous temperatures and previous humidity, and determines whether the temperature and humidity increase or decrease to the set temperature and set humidity as a result of the analysis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu, as modified above, to determine the target humidity based on historical data in view of Lee, since both are directed to food storage devices with controlled humidity, since setting a humidity value based on historical data is known in the art as shown by Lee, since using historical data would improve the accuracy of the humidity setting by providing an evidentiary basis for a humidity value that provides desired results, since setting the humidity target based on data would simplify the process for a user by removing the need for manual determination and setting of the target value.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 106705566 A) in view of Zhong (CN 107467172 A), Fang (EP 2757334 A1), Jeon (KR 20110055046 A), Yamato (JP 2006266539 A), Kim (US 20190384990 A1), Nicole (US 20180310578 A1), Unlu (US 20210186048 A1), Kim (US 20060042300 A1), and Marchetti (IT 201800020068 A1), and further in view of Wetekamp (US 20060260333 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Liu, as modified above, is silent on the method further comprising controlling the light source to turn off after a third preset duration based on an opening signal of the storage room.
Wetekamp teaches (Paragraph 0007, 0045, 0155) a method of operating a refrigerator with a fresh food compartment, wherein a fresh food compartment light associated with the fresh food compartment is turned off after a set time period during which the fresh food compartment door is open, wherein intelligent control 512 also has a fresh food compartment door input 536 for monitoring whether the fresh food compartment door is open or closed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu, as modified above, to controlling the light source to turn off after a preset duration based on an opening signal of the storage room in view of Wetekamp since both are directed to methods of preserving food products in refrigerator storage devices, since turning off a light in a refrigerator after a preset duration after a door is opened is known in the art as shown by Wetekamp, since waiting a preset duration before turning off the light would ensure the light stays on if the door is accidentally opened briefly, since turning off the light would conserve energy, since the opening the door will alter the humidity and other conditions in the refrigerator, so turning off the light would allow sensors to determine new conditions after closing to ensure that the light is operated in the desired conditions.
Claims 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 106705566 A) in view of Zhong (CN 107467172 A), Fang (EP 2757334 A1), Jeon (KR 20110055046 A), Yamato (JP 2006266539 A), Kim (US 20190384990 A1), Nicole (US 20180310578 A1), Unlu (US 20210186048 A1), Kim (US 20060042300 A1), and Marchetti (IT 201800020068 A1), and further in view of Wu (CN 106705564 A).
Regarding claim 8, Liu is silent on re-obtaining a current type of food ingredient in the storage room based on the closing signal of the storage room; when a total number of current types of food ingredients in the storage room is less than a total number of types of food ingredients in the storage room prior to the setting step, obtaining the minimum irradiation intensity and the shortest irradiation duration corresponding to a removed type of food ingredient; when the minimum irradiation intensity required by the removed type of food ingredient is greater than the minimum irradiation intensity of each current type of food ingredient, updating the target irradiation intensity set in the setting step to the maximum value of all the minimum irradiation intensities corresponding to all the current types of food ingredients; when the shortest irradiation duration required by the removed type of food ingredient is greater than the shortest irradiation duration of each current type of food ingredient, obtaining a duration that the light source has been turned on; and when the duration that the light source has been turned on is less than the maximum value of all the shortest irradiation durations corresponding to all the current types of food ingredients, updating the target irradiation duration set in the setting step to the maximum value of all the shortest irradiation durations corresponding to all the current types of food ingredients.
Wu teaches (Paragraph 0002, 0014, 0015) a refrigerator control method, wherein, after detecting that the door is closed, the food inside the refrigerator and the area where each food is located is identified, wherein a door body opening and closing detection module is configured to detect the opening and closing state of the door body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu, as modified above, to re-obtain a current type of food ingredient in the storage room based on the closing signal of the storage room as taught by Wu since both are directed to methods of preserving food products in refrigerator storage devices, since re-obtaining a current type of food ingredient in the storage room based on the closing signal of the storage room is known in the art as shown by Wu, since users often add and remove food items to refrigerator devices, so identifying food items after the door closes would ensure that the refrigerator is treating the food products as intended, since, while the door is open, a user may continue to remove or add food items, so detection of the food items may be inaccurate if done partly into the removal/addition process, and since identification of food items based on a door closing is convenient for the user by removing the need to manually identify food items.
Nicole teaches (Paragraph 0001, 0017) a system and a method for post-harvest light treatment of vegetables and fruits, wherein at least part of the piece of fruit is irradiated with radiation with a predetermined minimum radiation intensity and during a predetermined radiation period.
Unlu teaches (Paragraph 0034, 0036) microbiologically stabilizing plant material such as strawberry, apple, blueberry, pear, peach, kiwi, pineapple, banana, cucumber or tomato by irradiating the plant material for the minimum amount of time and intensity necessary to assure microbial stability.
Kim (US 20060042300 A1) teaches (Paragraph 0003, 0021) a method of operating a refrigerator which includes a separate vegetable storage chamber for storing vegetables, wherein a control unit selectively and adjustably controls at least one type of the LEDs, intensities of lights emitted from the LEDs, and irradiation times of the LEDs, according to the types of the stored vegetables. Kim (US 20060042300 A1) further teaches (Paragraph 0019) a light-setting unit receives data corresponding to types of the stored vegetables from a user, and a control unit receives the data corresponding to the types of the stored vegetables through the light-setting unit and controls the LEDs so that the LEDs emit light, having characteristics corresponding to the types of the stored vegetables, onto the vegetables.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu, as modified above, to, when a total number of current types of food ingredients in the storage room is less than a total number of types of food ingredients in the storage room prior to the setting step, obtaining the minimum irradiation intensity and the shortest irradiation duration corresponding to a removed type of food ingredient; when the minimum irradiation intensity required by the removed type of food ingredient is greater than the minimum irradiation intensity of each current type of food ingredient, updating the target irradiation intensity set in the setting step to the maximum value of all the minimum irradiation intensities corresponding to all the current types of food ingredients; when the shortest irradiation duration required by the removed type of food ingredient is greater than the shortest irradiation duration of each current type of food ingredient, obtaining a duration that the light source has been turned on; and when the duration that the light source has been turned on is less than the maximum value of all the shortest irradiation durations corresponding to all the current types of food ingredients, updating the target irradiation duration set in the setting step to the maximum value of all the shortest irradiation durations corresponding to all the current types of food ingredients, in view of Nicole, Unlu, and Kim (US 20060042300 A1), and Wu, since each is directed to a method of preservation and treatment of food products, since it is known in the art from Kim (US 20060042300 A1) to determine the intensity of light and duration of light application based on the type of food ingredients in a storage chamber, since it is known in the art from Unlu and Nicole to use the minimum values of intensity and duration, since it is known in the art from Wu to identify food ingredients upon closure of a storage chamber door, since food ingredients are known to require different treatment intensities and durations, since swapping food ingredients in a refrigerator is a common occurrence, and since the updating to use a smaller intensity value and a shorter duration would minimize the energy requirements of the treatment process, reducing costs, since the minimum intensity and the shortest duration would prevent overexposure to light that could excessively dry or damage the food ingredients, and since the minimum irradiation intensity and shortest treatment duration would preserve the lifespan of the light source.
Regarding claim 9, Liu is silent on, when a total number of the current types of food ingredients in the storage room are more than a total number of the types of food ingredients in the storage room prior to the setting step, obtaining the minimum irradiation intensity and the shortest irradiation duration corresponding to an additional type of food ingredient; when the minimum irradiation intensity required by the additional type of food ingredients is greater than all the minimum irradiation intensities corresponding to all the types of food ingredients prior to the setting step, updating the target irradiation intensity in the setting step to the minimum irradiation intensity corresponding to the additional type of food ingredient; and when the shortest irradiation duration required by the additional type of food ingredient is greater than all the shortest irradiation durations corresponding to all the types of food ingredients prior to the setting step, restarting timing, and updating the target irradiation duration set in the setting step to the shortest irradiation duration corresponding to the additional type of food ingredient.
As shown above, with regard to claim 8, Wu teaches (Paragraph 0002, 0014, 0015) a refrigerator control method, wherein, after detecting that the door is closed, the food inside the refrigerator and the area where each food is located is identified, wherein a door body opening and closing detection module is configured to detect the opening and closing state of the door body.
Nicole teaches (Paragraph 0001, 0017) a system and a method for post-harvest light treatment of vegetables and fruits, wherein at least part of the piece of fruit is irradiated with radiation with a predetermined minimum radiation intensity and during a predetermined radiation period.
Unlu teaches (Paragraph 0034, 0036) microbiologically stabilizing plant material such as strawberry, apple, blueberry, pear, peach, kiwi, pineapple, banana, cucumber or tomato by irradiating the plant material for the minimum amount of time and intensity necessary to assure microbial stability.
Kim (US 20060042300 A1) teaches (Paragraph 0003, 0021) a method of operating a refrigerator which includes a separate vegetable storage chamber for storing vegetables, wherein a control unit selectively and adjustably controls at least one type of the LEDs, intensities of lights emitted from the LEDs, and irradiation times of the LEDs, according to the types of the stored vegetables. Kim (US 20060042300 A1) further teaches (Paragraph 0019) a light-setting unit receives data corresponding to types of the stored vegetables from a user, and a control unit receives the data corresponding to the types of the stored vegetables through the light-setting unit and controls the LEDs so that the LEDs emit light, having characteristics corresponding to the types of the stored vegetables, onto the vegetables.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu, as modified above, to, when a total number of the current types of food ingredients in the storage room are more than a total number of the types of food ingredients in the storage room prior to the setting step, obtaining the minimum irradiation intensity and the shortest irradiation duration corresponding to an additional type of food ingredient; when the minimum irradiation intensity required by the additional type of food ingredients is greater than all the minimum irradiation intensities corresponding to all the types of food ingredients prior to the setting step, updating the target irradiation intensity in the setting step to the minimum irradiation intensity corresponding to the additional type of food ingredient; and when the shortest irradiation duration required by the additional type of food ingredient is greater than all the shortest irradiation durations corresponding to all the types of food ingredients prior to the setting step, restarting timing, and updating the target irradiation duration set in the setting step to the shortest irradiation duration corresponding to the additional type of food ingredient, in view of Nicole, Unlu, and Kim (US 20060042300 A1), and Wu, since each is directed to a method of preservation and treatment of food products, since it is known in the art from Kim (US 20060042300 A1) to determine the intensity of light and duration of light application based on the type of food ingredients in a storage chamber, since it is known in the art from Unlu and Nicole to use the minimum values of intensity and duration, since it is known in the art from Wu to identify food ingredients upon closure of a storage chamber door, since food ingredients are known to require different treatment intensities and durations, since swapping food ingredients in a refrigerator is a common occurrence, since a newly added ingredient would be untreated by irradiation, and, therefore, restarting timing and increasing the irradiation intensity for the new ingredient would ensure that all ingredients in the storage chamber received sufficient irradiation for preservation, preventing deterioration of the food, since different types of food ingredients will have different properties (size, shape, density, composition, etc.) that require different intensities and lengths of treatment for optimal storage conditions, since although the storage at the low temperature allows vegetables to maintain freshness for a long time, many nutrients of the vegetables, which were stored at the low temperature, are destroyed, and a time for maintaining the freshness of the vegetables is comparatively short, but the freshness of vegetables can be maintained for a long time, and the nutrient degradation can be minimized by irradiating light onto the vegetables stored in the vegetable storage chamber so that the vegetables photosynthesize (Kim (US 20060042300 A1), Paragraph 0007-0010), since too little light could cause some ingredients like vegetables to degrade more quickly.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 106705566 A) in view of Zhong (CN 107467172 A), Fang (EP 2757334 A1), Jeon (KR 20110055046 A), Yamato (JP 2006266539 A), Kim (US 20190384990 A1), Nicole (US 20180310578 A1), Unlu (US 20210186048 A1), Kim (US 20060042300 A1), and Marchetti (IT 201800020068 A1), and further in view of Park (KR 101700194 B1).
Regarding claim 10, Liu as modified above, is silent on the determination of the target irradiation intensity and the target irradiation duration for all the food ingredients in the storage room comprising: setting an input irradiation intensity manually input by a user as the target irradiation intensity, and setting an input irradiation duration manually input by a user as the target irradiation duration.
Park (KR 101700194 B1) teaches (Paragraph 0001, 0047, 0054; Fig. 1 #1, 100) a refrigerator and a control method thereof capable of effectively sterilizing food stored in a low-temperature storage space, wherein the refrigerator 1 may include a UV light source 100, and the light emission duration and light emission intensity may be input in advance by the user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu, as modified above, to set an input irradiation intensity manually input by a user as the target irradiation intensity and to set an input irradiation duration as the target irradiation duration as taught by Park (KR 101700194 B1), since both are directed to methods of preserving food products in refrigerator storage devices, since setting an irradiation intensity and duration of a light source in a refrigeration storage device for food products according to user inputs is known in the art as shown by Park (KR 101700194 B1), since letting the user input the irradiation intensity and duration will allow for precise control of the irradiation treatment, since users may wish to adjust the irradiation intensity and duration to control the treatment process so that the food product has desired properties or based on when the user intends to take the food items out of storage, since the user may only wish to operate the light source at certain times, and since some food items or ingredients may not have a pre-determined irradiation intensity or duration so the user will need to set it manually to ensure the food receives the intended preservative effect.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 106705566 A) in view of Zhong (CN 107467172 A), Fang (EP 2757334 A1), Jeon (KR 20110055046 A), Yamato (JP 2006266539 A), Kim (US 20190384990 A1), Nicole (US 20180310578 A1), Unlu (US 20210186048 A1), Kim (US 20060042300 A1), and Marchetti (IT 201800020068 A1), and further in view of Nicole (US 20170135359 A1), and Kuai (CN 105918430 A).
Regarding claim 11, Liu, as modified above, is silent on the target irradiation intensity being not greater than 100 pmol-m-2-s-1, and the target irradiation duration being not greater than 120 h.
However, irradiation intensities and durations in the claimed range are known in the art.
For example, Nicole (US 20170135359 A1) teaches (Paragraph 0012; Claim 1, 4-6, 10) a system comprising a food storage facility for storage of fruit and/or vegetables, and a lamp arranged to illuminate the fruit and/or vegetables in the food storage facility, wherein a first light output has an intensity of 15 to 50 μmol/s/m2, a second light output has an intensity of 2 to 15 μmol/s/m2, a first light period lasts 1 to 2 hours, and a second light period lasts 2 to 4 hours (i.e., the total irradiation intensity is not greater than 100 μmol/·m-2·s-1 and the total time is not greater than 120 h).
Also, Kuai teaches (Paragraph 0002, 0011) a method for preserving green leafy vegetables, wherein the vegetables are irradiated with an LED light at an intensity of 10-35 μmol/m2.s for 6-10 hours.
Furthermore, the claimed target irradiation intensity not greater than 100 μmol/·m-2·s-1 and the target irradiation duration not greater than 120 h would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since irradiation intensities and durations in those ranges for treating food ingredients are known in the art as shown above by Nicole (US 20170135359 A1) and Kuai since such ranges would have been used during the course of normal experimentation and optimization procedures in the method of Liu, as modified above, based upon factors such as the type of food product being irradiated (where different foods will require different intensities and durations of irradiation due to differences in composition), the since, shape, and number of the food ingredients (where a larger/denser food ingredient) may require a greater intensity of irradiation, the intended consumption time of the food, the desired shelf-life, the humidity level, etc. Furthermore, the Applicant does not appear to have identified any unique or unexpected benefit from the claimed target irradiation intensity not greater than 100 μmol/·m-2·s-1 and the target irradiation duration not greater than 120 h that would render it non-obvious.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 106705566 A) in view of Zhong (CN 107467172 A), Fang (EP 2757334 A1), Jeon (KR 20110055046 A), Yamato (JP 2006266539 A), Kim (US 20190384990 A1), Nicole (US 20180310578 A1), Unlu (US 20210186048 A1), Kim (US 20060042300 A1), and Marchetti (IT 201800020068 A1), and further in view of Wang (CN 106839570 A) and Barber (US 20180092308 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Liu, as modified above, is silent on determining a storage duration of the food ingredient in the storage room; and when the storage duration is not less than a first preset storage duration, sending an instruction to remind a user to eat the food ingredient, wherein the first preset storage duration is not less than the second preset duration.
Wang teaches (Paragraph 0002, 0024, 0029) a refrigerator with a food storage status reminder function and an operating method thereof, wherein when a user stores a food inside the refrigerator compartment, the food is entered into a system to create a new food storage event, and the shelf life (storage duration) is determined based on matching food information entered by a user to data in a pre-stored database. Wang further teaches (Paragraph 0024, 0025) a food management APP monitors and manages the storage status of the food according to the entered food information and reminds the user when the food exceeds the shelf life (not less than a first preset storage duration), wherein, in some embodiments, the shelf life set in the present invention is generally shorter than the actual shelf life of the food, thereby ensuring that when the user receives an expiration reminder, he or she can generally continue to eat the corresponding food, and the main function of the refrigerator's expiration reminder is to inform the user that the food is about to expire and needs to be eaten immediately (instruction to remind a user to eat the food ingredient).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu, as modified above, to determine a storage duration of the food ingredient in the storage room; and when the storage duration is not less than a first preset storage duration, send an instruction to remind a user to eat the food ingredient as taught by Wang since both are directed to methods of preserving food products in refrigerator storage devices, since determining a storage duration of the food ingredient in the storage room; and when the storage duration is not less than a first preset storage duration, sending an instruction to remind a user to eat the food ingredient is known in the art as shown by Wang, since sending a prompt to indicate that that a food should be eaten before spoilage would prevent food waste, since suggesting a food to eat via a prompt would be convenient for a user by helping them choose what food ingredients to prepare and consumer, and since food ingredients that are about to expire should be removed and eaten before they contaminate other food ingredients.
Furthermore, while Liu, as modified above does not explicitly state that the first preset storage duration is not less than the second preset duration, it is known in the art to provide prompts/notifications after the completion of an irradiation treatment (completion of a second preset duration).
For example, Barber teaches (Paragraph 0030, 0031) a method of operating a lighting system that incorporates optimal irradiation settings to irradiate a surface of the light sensitive object under a variety of environmental conditions, wherein the light sensitive object can include vegetables. Barber further teaches (Paragraph 0061, 0107) in one embodiment, a visual display can provide status information on the irradiation of the object (e.g., time remaining, light intensity), status information including if the irradiation is over, and in another embodiment, a speaker can provide an alarm (e.g., an auditory signal), e.g., for signaling that the irradiation has finished.
Consequently, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu, as modified above to send an instruction to remind a user to eat the food ingredient after a first preset storage duration that is not less than the second preset duration in view of Barber, since both are directed to methods for treating food products, since sending a tasting prompt instruction after the completion of a first storage duration would be obvious for the reasons stated above, since sending a prompt/notification after completion of an irradiation process of a food item (second preset duration) is known in the art from Barber, since waiting until completion of the second preset duration/irradiation process would ensure that the food has been completely treated for optimal nutrition and preservation, since waiting until completion of the second preset duration/irradiation process to send the prompt would prevent the user from accessing the storage chamber while the light was still on, protecting their eyes, and since waiting until completion of the second preset duration/irradiation process to send the prompt would make sure that the lighting process would not have to be redone after interruption, conserving energy.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 106705566 A) in view of Zhong (CN 107467172 A), Fang (EP 2757334 A1), Jeon (KR 20110055046 A), Yamato (JP 2006266539 A), Kim (US 20190384990 A1), Nicole (US 20180310578 A1), Unlu (US 20210186048 A1), Kim (US 20060042300 A1), Marchetti (IT 201800020068 A1), Wang (CN 106839570 A) and Barber (US 20180092308 A1), and further in view of Bai (CN 106885441 A).
Regarding claim 13, Liu, as modified above, is silent on the prompting step further comprising: when the storage duration is equal to a second preset storage duration, sending a prompt instruction indicating an expiration of a freshness period, wherein the first preset storage duration is less than the second preset storage duration.
Bai teaches (Paragraph 0002, 0052, 0053) a method, device and system for smart food management, wherein the intelligent management device determines whether the food is expired based on the shelf life (storage duration) if the food is not expired, the intelligent management device detects the remaining validity period of the food based on the shelf life; if the remaining validity period is less than the preset validity period, the intelligent management device issues a prompt message to remind the user to consume the food as soon as possible. Bai further teaches (Paragraph 0052, 0053) if the food is expired (where the expiration time will necessarily be a longer duration that the time where the first prompt is issued indicating that the food should be consumed) an alarm message is issued, which includes the name of the food, so that the user can clean up the food as soon as possible to avoid affecting other food and causing other food to rot and spoil.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu, as modified above, to send a prompt instruction indicating an expiration of a freshness period, when the storage duration is equal to a second preset storage duration wherein the first preset storage duration is less than the second preset storage duration in view of Bai, since both are directed to methods of storing food products, since sending a prompt indicating an expiration of a food product at a second duration longer than a first duration for sending a prompt to eat the food is known in the art as shown by Bai, since the prompt can remind the user to clean up the food so that the user does not eat the food accidentally and get ill and so that the user does not have to keep track of the food expiration date, and since the user can clean up the food as soon as possible to avoid affecting other food and causing other food to rot and spoil (Bai, Paragraph 0053).
Regarding claim 14, Liu, as modified above, is silent on the first preset storage duration and the second preset storage duration being determined based on historical data and/or a type of food ingredient.
Wang teaches (Paragraph 0002, 0024, 0029) a refrigerator with a food storage status reminder function and an operating method thereof, wherein when a user stores a food inside the refrigerator compartment, the food is entered into a system to create a new food storage event, and the shelf life (storage duration) is determined based on matching food information entered by a user to data in a pre-stored database. Wang further teaches (Paragraph 0024, 0025) a food management APP monitors and manages the storage status of the food according to the entered food information and reminds the user when the food exceeds the shelf life (not less than a first preset storage duration), wherein, in some embodiments, the shelf life set in the present invention is generally shorter than the actual shelf life of the food, thereby ensuring that when the user receives an expiration reminder, he or she can generally continue to eat the corresponding food, and the main function of the refrigerator's expiration reminder is to inform the user that the food is about to expire and needs to be eaten immediately (tasting prompt instruction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu, as modified above, for the first preset storage duration and the second preset storage duration to be determined based a type of food ingredient in view of Wang since both are directed to methods of preserving food products in refrigerator storage devices, since determining a storage duration of the food ingredient that may be either a eating time (first duration) or an expiration time (second duration) based on a type of food is known in the art as shown by Wang, since determining the first and second storage durations based on the type of food using an app and database would be convenient for the user by removing the need to manually enter the durations, and since determining the first and second storage durations based on the type of food using an app and database would allow the durations to be determined if the user did not know what the durations should be.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 01/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, these arguments have been made in view of amendments to claim 1, and, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Liu (CN 106705566 A) in view of Zhong (CN 107467172 A), Fang (EP 2757334 A1), Jeon (KR 20110055046 A), Yamato (JP 2006266539 A), Kim (US 20190384990 A1), Nicole (US 20180310578 A1), Unlu (US 20210186048 A1), Kim (US 20060042300 A1), and Marchetti (IT 201800020068 A1) as shown above.
Therefore, claim 1 and all dependent claims remain rejected under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN PARKER TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/VIREN A THAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792