DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, and 11-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (US Publication 20080278917) in view of Wakaiki et al (US Publication 20200388550).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches a mounting structure for a semiconductor module, comprising:
a substrate including an obverse surface and a reverse surface facing away from each other in a thickness direction (Fig. 3, 120, top and bottom respectively);
a semiconductor module mounted on a side of the substrate toward which the obverse surface is directed (Fig. 3, 130);
a heat dissipating member that dissipates heat from the semiconductor module (Fig. 3, 110, para 34),
wherein the substrate has a cavity penetrating in the thickness direction (Fig. 3, cavity in 120 where 130 and 112 are positioned),
the heat dissipating member includes a body portion located opposite from the obverse surface of the substrate with respect to the reverse surface of the substrate, and a protruding portion received in the cavity (Fig. 3, 112 in cavity of 120),
the semiconductor module is bonded to the protruding portion (Fig. 3, 130 bonded to 112),
the semiconductor module includes a semiconductor element (Fig. 3, 130), a lead terminal electrically connected to the semiconductor element (Fig. 3, 140), and a resin member covering the semiconductor element (Fig. 3 150),
Lin does not specifically teach:
an insulating layer
the lead terminal includes a base portion protruding from the resin member and extending in a first direction intersecting the thickness direction, and an end portion extending along the thickness direction,
the end portion of the lead terminal penetrates the substrate
the insulating layer is disposed between the reverse surface of the substrate and the body portion of the heat dissipating member
Wakaiki teaches:
an insulating layer (Fig. 29, 11)
the lead terminal includes a base portion protruding from the resin member and extending in a first direction intersecting the thickness direction, and an end portion extending along the thickness direction (Fig. 29, 21a), [[and]]
the end portion of the lead terminal penetrates the substrate (Fig. 29, 21a penetrates 1), and
the insulating layer is disposed between the reverse surface of the substrate and the body portion of the heat dissipating member (Fig. 29, 11 disposed between 24 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include an insulating layer and lead terminals as taught by Wakaiki in order to improve the reliability and operability of the device.
Regarding claims 2-3, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 2 depends.
Lin does not specifically teach:
[claim 2] wherein the heat dissipating member includes a cooling passage through which a coolant flows.
[claim 3] wherein the cooling passage overlaps with the protruding portion as viewed in the thickness direction.
Wakaiki teaches:
[claim 2] wherein the heat dissipating member includes a cooling passage through which a coolant flows (Fig. 29, 42 of 4, para 113).
[claim 3] wherein the cooling passage overlaps with the protruding portion as viewed in the thickness direction (Fig. 29, 42 overlaps protruding portion in thickness direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include the heat dissipating member and associated cooling passages as taught by Wakaiki in order to improve the thermal management properties of the device.
Regarding claim 7 , Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 7 depends.
Lin does not specifically teach wherein the end portion protrudes from the reverse surface of the substrate and is spaced apart from the heat dissipating member.
Wakaiki teaches wherein the end portion protrudes from the reverse surface of the substrate and is spaced apart from the heat dissipating member (Fig. 29, 21a protrudes through the reverse surface of 1 spaced apart from 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include the end portion protruding through a reverse surface of the substrate as taught by Wakaiki in order to improve the physical robustness of the device.
Regarding claim 11, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 11 depends.
Lin teaches wherein the cavity comprises a through hole having a closed edge as viewed in the thickness direction (Fig. 4a, cavity 222).
Regarding claim 12 Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 12 depends.
Lin teaches wherein the cavity comprises a cutout portion having an open edge as viewed in the thickness direction (Fig. 4a, cavity 222).
Regarding claim 13 Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 13 depends.
Lin does not specifically teach a fastening member that fastens the substrate and the heat dissipating member with a space therebetween.
Wakaiki teaches a fastening member that fastens the substrate and the heat dissipating member with a space therebetween (Fig. 33, 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include the fastener as taught by Wakaiki in order to improve the manufacturing and maintenance properties of the device.
Regarding claim 14 Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 14 depends.
Lin teaches wherein the protruding portion includes a bonding surface that is bonded to the semiconductor module (Fig. 3, 112 bonded to 130).
Regarding claim 15 Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 14 upon which claim 15 depends.
Lin teaches wherein the bonding surface is flush with the obverse surface (Fig. 3, bond surface of 112 and 130 flush).
Regarding claim 16 Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 14 upon which claim 16 depends.
Lin teaches wherein the bonding surface is offset from the obverse surface in the thickness direction toward which the obverse surface is directed (Fig. 3, bond surface of 112 and 130).
Regarding claim 17 Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 14 upon which claim 17 depends.
Lin teaches wherein the bonding surface is located within the cavity in the thickness direction (Fig. 3, bond surface of 112 and 130 is within cavity).
Regarding claims 18-22, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 18 depends.
Lin does not specifically teach:
[claim 18] wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the thickness direction.
[claim 19] wherein the end portion is greater in length than the base portion.
[claim 20] wherein the end portion extends into the insulating layer.
[claim 21] further comprising an electroconductive material embedded in the insulating layer, wherein the end portion extends into the electroconductive material.
[claim 22] wherein the end portion includes an extremity terminates partway through the insulating layer in the thickness direction.
Wakaiki teaches:
[claim 18] wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the thickness direction (Fig. 29, 21a penetrates 1 in the first direction).
[claim 19] wherein the end portion is greater in length than the base portion (Fig .29, 21a vertical longer than horizontal).
[claim 20] wherein the end portion extends into the insulating layer (Fig. 29, 21a into 11).
[claim 21] further comprising an electroconductive material embedded in the insulating layer, wherein the end portion extends into the electroconductive material (Fig. 29, 14).
[claim 22] wherein the end portion includes an extremity terminates partway through the insulating layer in the thickness direction (Fig. 29, 21a and 7h, Fig. 5, LT, para 97).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include the end portions as taught by Wakaiki in order to improve the reliability and operability of the device.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (US Publication 20080278917) and Wakaiki et al (US Publication 20200388550), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hashizume (US Patent 9831162B2).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 4 depends.
Lin does not specifically teach:
[claim 4] wherein the semiconductor module includes an island portion to which the semiconductor element is bonded.
[claim 5] wherein the island portion includes an exposed surface that is exposed from the resin member, and the exposed surface is bonded to the protruding portion.
Hashizume teaches:
[claim 4] wherein the semiconductor module includes an island portion to which the semiconductor element is bonded (Fig. 6, 20).
[claim 5] wherein the island portion includes an exposed surface that is exposed from the resin member, and the exposed surface is bonded to the protruding portion (Fig. 6, 20b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin as modified to include the island portion as taught by Hashizume in order to improve the variety electronic device types in the thermal package.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (US Publication 20080278917) and Wakaiki et al (US Publication 20200388550), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takayama, US20140217608.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claims 9 and 10 depend.
Lin does not specifically teach:
[claim 9] wherein the insulating layer contains a gel material.
[claim 10] wherein the insulating layer contains a ceramic material.
Takayama teaches
[claim 9] wherein the insulating layer contains a gel material (Fig. 1, bonding portion 20, glass resin with B2O3).
[claim 10] wherein the insulating layer contains a ceramic material (paras 32 and 47-48, aluminum oxide).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin as modified to include the insulation layer materials as taught by Takayama in order to improve the manufacturing and environmental properties of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS LELAND HUTSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818