DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II, Species A, Sub-Species AA (Fig. 8, Claims 16-21, 24 and 25) in the reply filed on 10/16/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 1-15, 22-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group and/or Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/16/2025
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “forming a light emitting stack on a substrate surface of a substrate, the light emitting stack having a light emitting surface orientated towards the substrate surface” “a first semiconducting layer provided towards the substrate surface” and “removing the substrate from the light emitting stack” of Claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 17-21, 24 and 25 objected to because of the following informalities:
Dependent Claims 17-21, 24 and 25 recite “A method according to” instead of
--The method according to—.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-20, 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (US 2011/0156616 A1) in view of Han (US 2016/0197151).
Regarding Claim 16, Anderson (Fig. 3, 4) discloses a method of forming a light emitting device array comprising:
forming a light emitting stack (430, 420, 410) on a substrate surface of a substrate (480), the light emitting stack (430, 420, 410) having a light emitting surface (surface closer to 430) orientated towards the substrate surface (480) and a contact surface on an opposing side of the light emitting stack (430, 420, 410), forming the light emitting stack (430, 420, 410) comprising forming a plurality of Group III-nitride layers (430, 420, 410) including:
a first semiconducting layer (n-doped layer 430) provided towards the substrate surface (480);
a second semiconducting layer (p-doped layer 410) provided towards a contact surface (surface closer to 410) of the light emitting stack (430, 420, 410); and
an active layer (quantum well layer 420) provided between the first semiconducting layer (430) and the second semiconducting layer (410), the active layer configured to generate light having a first wavelength (“Alternating the two materials in, e.g. a multiple quantum well, creates a bandgap corresponding to a particular emission wavelength” [0042-0044]; wherein
the light emitting surface and the contact surface of the light emitting stack (430, 420, 410) are formed parallel to each other and aligned with the plurality of Group III-nitride layers (430, 420, 410) (Fig. 4);
forming an array of second electrical contacts (individually addressable electrodes 440) on the contact surface of the light emitting stack (surface closer to 410), each second electrical contact (440) defining a light emitting device (“electrically pixelated luminescent devices “, “spatial control of the light output by electrical pixelation”) [0027-0028, 0064, 0090-0092] between the first semiconducting layer (430) and the second electrical contact (440), wherein
each of the second electrical contacts (440) are spaced apart from the other second electrical contacts to form a two-dimensional array of the light emitting devices (“electrically pixelated luminescent devices”);
removing the substrate (480) from the light emitting stack [0080];
forming a first electrical contact layer (450) on the light emitting stack (430, 420, 410), the first contact layer (430) configured to be in electrical contact with the first semiconducting layer (450); and
Anderson does not explicitly disclose forming an anti-reflection layer on the light emitting surface, the anti-reflection layer configured to increase a light extraction efficiency of light generated by the light emitting device layer.
Han (Fig. 11) discloses forming an anti-reflection layer (“nanoporous GaN”) on a light emitting surface, the anti-reflection layer (“nanoporous GaN”) configured to increase a light extraction efficiency of light generated by the light emitting device layer. (“This index difference and the scattering nature of the porous structure can improve the extraction efficiency of light from a light-emitting device.”) [0061]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method of forming a light emitting device in Anderson in view of Han such that an anti-reflection layer on the light emitting surface, the anti-reflection layer configured to increase a light extraction efficiency of light generated by the light emitting device layer in order to improve the extraction efficiency of light from a light-emitting device. [0061]
Regarding Claim 17, Anderson in view of Han discloses a method according to claim 16, further comprising
forming an absorbing layer (“light blocking elements placed between each specific light emission region of continuous light emitter layer.” And “mask may be positioned over all or part of the top surface of the EPLD in order to selectively absorb”) on at least a portion of the light emitting stack, the absorbing configured to absorb light of the first wavelength generated by the active layer. [0101 and Claim 24 Anderson]
Regarding Claim 18, Anderson in view of Han discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein
forming the anti-reflection layer (“nanoporous GaN” Han) comprises:
forming a third semiconducting layer comprising a Group III-nitride (GaN) and a donor density of at least 1 × 10.sup.18 cm.sup.-3 on the light emitting surface (“doping density between approximately 5×10.sup.18 cm.sup.−3 and approximately 2×10.sup.20 cm.sup.−3 [0032-0034 Han]; and
subjecting the third semiconducting layer (GaN) to a porosity treatment process to increase an areal porosity of the third semiconducting layer (GaN) to at least 30%. (“porosity of 40%”) [0042, 0047, 0048, 0050 Han]
Regarding Claim 19, Anderson in view of Han discloses a method according to claim 16, wherein
a pitch of each second electrical contact formed in the light emitting device array. (“the individually addressable electrodes are separated by a pixel pitch of 10 .mu.m or less.”) [0100, Claim 18]
Anderson further discloses that optimizing pitch of each second electrical contact formed in the light emitting device array the individually addressable electrodes be separated by a desired pixel pitch. (“The pixel pitch may also be varied according to placement of the electrodes in a manner that is desired for the end use”).[0100]
Anderson in view of Han does not explicitly disclose a pitch of each second electrical contact formed in the light emitting device array is no greater than 5 µm, or 2 µm.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method of forming a light emitting device in Anderson in view of Han such that an anti-reflection layer on the light emitting surface, the anti-reflection layer configured to increase a light extraction efficiency of light generated by the light emitting device layer in order to optimize a pitch of each second electrical contact formed in the light emitting device array to be no greater than 5 µm, or 2 µm for direct-viewing or illumination systems [0100, Claim 18] and since it has been held that the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in a prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding Claim 20, Anderson in view of Han discloses a method according to claim 16, wherein forming
the first electrical contact layer comprises forming a transparent conductive oxide on the light emitting surface (“a transparent conductor, e.g., Indium Tin Oxide (ITO)” [0085 Anderson].
Regarding Claim 24, Anderson in view of Han discloses a method according to claim 16, wherein
forming the first semiconducting layer comprises
a forming n-type doped Group III-nitride (“n-doped layer 430” 0075); and/or
forming the second semiconducting layer comprises forming a p-type doped Group III-nitride (“ p-doped layer 410”) [0079] ; and/or
forming the active layer comprises forming multiple quantum well layers comprising Group III-nitrides. (quantum well layer 420 (“single or double quantum well)” [0076]
Regarding Claim 25, Anderson in view of Han discloses a method according to claim 16, wherein
the active layer (quantum well layer 420) is formed as a continuous layer extending between at least two adjacent light emitting devices of the light emitting device array. (See Fig. 4)
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (US 2011/0156616 A1) in view of Han (US 2016/0197151) and further in view of Yuri (US 2005/0161696 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, Anderson in view of Han discloses a method according to claim 20, wherein
the anti-reflection layer (“nanoporous GaN” Han) is formed on the light emitting surface (Han)
Anderson in view of Han does not explicitly disclose followed by forming the first electrical contact layer on the anti-reflection layer
Yuri (Fig. 11, 12, 13) discloses forming an anti-reflection layer (porous structure 9) is formed on an light emitting surface (2) followed by forming a first electrical contact layer (transparent conductive film (transparent electrode) 13) on the anti-reflection layer. (9) [0115-0117]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method of forming a light emitting device in Anderson in view of Han and Yuri such that the anti-reflection layer (is formed on the light emitting surface followed by forming the first electrical contact layer on the anti-reflection layer so that the reliability of the device is improved more greatly and the efficiency of light emission of the device can be still further improved. [0116]
Conclusion
/DMITRIY YEMELYANOV/Examiner, Art Unit 2891