DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/22/2022; 1/29/2024 and 12/3/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: LIGHT EMITTING DEVICE WITH LIGHT BLOCKING SECTION AND DISPLAY APPARATUS COMPRISED THEREOF.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A. Claim 5 recites the limitation "the multiple trenches" in lines 2-3. This limitation is unclear to the examiner.
For examination purposes and consistency with claim 1, "the multiple trenches" in lines 2-3 will be interpreted to read as "the one or more multiple trenches".
B. Claim 6 recites the light emitting elements each comprise an element that emits blue light in line 3 and one or multiple color conversion sections provided on a one-to-one basis for one or multiple second light emitting elements other than at least one first light emitting element among the multiple light emitting elements, the one or multiple color conversion sections each performing color conversion on blue light emitted from corresponding one of the second light emitting elements in lines 6-10. These limitations are unclear, and the examiner is unable to provide an alternative interpretation. In general, the limitations the claim appear to be related to FIG. 7S of the instant Specification. However, examination of the claim is not possible as presented.
Additionally, Claim 6 recites the light blocking section in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
C. Claims 7-12, depend either directly or indirectly from Claim 6, and are also being interpreted to relate to FIG. 7S of the instant Specification. However, they do not offer clarification to the interpretation of Claim 6, and are rejected due to their dependence from Claim 6. Detailed examination is not possible without clarification of claim 6.
D. Claim 13 recites “the light blocking section” in line 11. This limitation is unclear to the examiner.
For examination purposes and consistency with claim 1, “the light blocking section” in line 11 will be interpreted to read as “the first light blocking section”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1, 4-16, 20; and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SHIN et al (US 2018/0308420 A1, hereafter Shin) or in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of HU et al (US 2019/0280157 A1, hereafter Hu).
Re Claim 1, Shin discloses in FIG. 1 (with references to FIGS. 5A-5C) a light emitting device (100; [0034]) comprising
multiple light emitting elements (LED pixels; [0035]) each including a semiconductor layer (120; [0060]) and each including a first electrode (124; [0066]) and a second electrode (125; [0065]), the semiconductor layer (120) including a first conductive layer (121; [0060]), a light emitting layer (122; [0040] and [0060]), and a second conductive layer (123; [0060]) that are stacked in this order (top-to-bottom 121/122/123), the first conductive layer (121) having a light emitting surface (upper plane), the first electrode (124) being in contact with (electrically and physically touching) the second conductive layer (123), the second electrode being (125) in contact with (electrically and physically touching) the first conductive layer (121), the multiple light emitting elements (LED pixels) each emitting light (towards 150/160/170; [0040] and [0049]) from the light emitting layer (122) via the light emitting surface (upper plane), wherein
the light emitting elements (LED pixels) share (common to; [0065]) the first conductive layer (121) and the second electrode (125) with each other,
the light emitting elements (LED pixels) each include a current path (laterally left-to-right) in the first conductive layer (121) from a portion opposed to (directly above 122) the first electrode (124) to a portion opposed to (directly above) the second electrode (125),
the first conductive layer (121) has one or multiple trenches (unlabeled isolation locations of 126 between each LED pixel; [0065] and [0067]) in a region between two current paths (laterally left-to-right between each LED pixel) adjacent to each other (side-by-side), and
the light emitting device (100) further includes a first light blocking section (126; [0045] and [0067]) provided in the one or multiple trenches (unlabeled isolation locations of 126 between each LED pixel).
Although Shin does not explicitly disclose and the light emitting device (100) further includes a first light blocking section provided in the one or multiple trenches (unlabeled isolation locations of 126 between each LED pixel), the materials (SiOx including SiO2; SixNy including Si3N4; and Al2O3) cited as a first light blocking section (126) are all known (MPEP § 2144.03 as evidenced by Hu: [0041]) to block light of some wavelength(s) of light, where SiO2 and Al2O3 are cited by the instant specification ([0028]) as being materials used for the formation of light blocking sections.
Alternatively, Shin does not explicitly disclose and the light emitting device further includes a first light blocking section provided in the one or multiple trenches (unlabeled isolation locations of 126 between each LED pixel).
However,
Hu discloses in FIG. 10 (with references to FIGS. 2 and 5) a light emitting device (100I; [0064]) comprising a first light blocking section (laminate 210/212; [0064]) provided along surfaces a semiconductor layer (laminate 202/204; [0030] and [0064]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Shin by adding the reflective layer (210) of Hu to Shin, or to substitute the light blocking section of Hu for the same of Hu, to prevent light leakage to increase the light extraction efficiency of the light emitting device (Hu; [0040]); and to reduce the probability of current flowing through the sidewalls of the semiconductor layer, and to reduce the occurrence of leakage current (Hu; [0049]).
Re Claim 4, Shin discloses the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the multiple trenches (unlabeled locations of 126 between each LED pixel) are disposed (formed) side by side (adjacently) in one line (same plane laterally left-to-right) with a predetermined gap (unspecified isolation space as in FIG. 5; [0065]) therebetween.
Re Claim 5, Shin discloses the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more multiple trenches are disposed (formed) in a manner that the one or more multiple trenches (unlabeled isolation locations of 126 between each LED pixel) block a line straightly (laterally left-to-right) connecting the two current paths (laterally left-to-right) adjacent to each other (side-by-side).
Re Claims 6-12, for the record, the examiner is uncertain of the limitations of claim 6 (see 112b rejection above) and is interpreting them to be related to FIG. 7S of the instant Specification. Shin or Shin in view of Hu discloses the light emitting device according to claim 1 as discussed above.
In view of the examiner’s inability to clearly understand the limitations of Claim 6 of wherein the light emitting elements each comprise an element that emits blue light, and the light emitting device further includes one or multiple color conversion sections provided on a one-to-one basis for one or multiple second light emitting elements other than at least one first light emitting element among the multiple light emitting elements, the one or multiple color conversion sections each performing color conversion on blue light emitted from corresponding one of the second light emitting elements, and a second light blocking section that is provided at least at a position opposed to the light blocking section and partitions the multiple color conversion sections from each other, the examiner according to the above interpretation, cites the art of Shin or Shin in view of Hu to either anticipate or render obvious these limitations based on a similar structure in FIG. 1 of Shin.
In Claims 7-12, the limitations of wherein the multiple color conversion sections include a first conversion section that converts the blue light into green light and a second conversion section that converts the blue light into red; wherein the multiple color conversion sections further include a third conversion section that converts the blue light into yellow light or white light; wherein the one color conversion section converts the blue light into yellow light; further comprising a filter section that attenuates a blue light component included in light emitted from the one or multiple color conversion sections; wherein the one or multiple color conversion sections each include a block including a phosphor and a light scatterer; and wherein the one or multiple color conversion sections each include a block in which a phosphor is fixed with a binder, the examiner according to the above interpretation for claim 6, cites the art of Shin or Shin in view of Hu to either anticipate or render obvious these limitations based on based on a similar structure in FIG. 1 of Shin.
Re Claim 13, Shin discloses the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the light emitting elements (LED pixels) are each an element that emits ultraviolet light (UV; [0035]), and the light emitting device (100) further includes multiple color conversion sections (150/160/170; [0037] and [0049]) that are provided on a one-to-one basis for (above each of) the multiple light emitting elements (LED pixels) and each perform color conversion (wavelength color change; [0037] and [0049]) on ultraviolet light (UV) emitted from corresponding one (below each) of the light emitting elements (LED pixels), and a second light blocking section (140; [0037]) that is provided at least at a position opposed to (above) the first light blocking section (unlabeled isolation locations of 126 between each LED pixel) and partitions (separates; [0037]) the multiple color conversion sections (150/160/170) from each other.
Re Claim 14, Shin discloses the light emitting device according to claim 13, wherein the multiple color conversion sections (150/160/170) include a first conversion section (160; [0037] and [0049]) that converts the ultraviolet light (UV) into green light ([0037] and [0049]), a second conversion section (150; [0037] and [0049]) that converts the ultraviolet light (UV) into red ([0037] and [0049]), and a third conversion section (170; [0037] and [0049]) that converts the ultraviolet light (UV) into blue light ([0037] and [0049]).
Re Claim 15, Shin discloses the light emitting device according to claim 14.
But, fails to wherein the multiple color conversion sections further include a fourth conversion section that converts the ultraviolet light into yellow light or white light in the embodiment of FIG. 1.
However, Shin discloses in the embodiment of FIG. 8 a fourth conversion section (350; [0107]) that converts ultraviolet light (UV; [0107]) into yellow light ([0107]) or white light ([0107]) to create a full color display.
Re Claim 16, Shin discloses the light emitting device according to claim 13.
But, fails to disclose wherein the one color conversion section (any one of 150/160/170) converts the ultraviolet light into yellow light in the embodiment of FIG. 1.
However, Shin discloses these limitations in the embodiment of FIG. 8 (see claim 15).
Re Claim 20, Shin discloses the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the second electrode (125) is provided on a surface (lower plane) of the first conductive layer (121) on an opposite side (below) to the light emitting surface (upper plane).
Re Claim 21, Shin discloses in FIG. 1 (with references to FIGS. 5A-5C) a display apparatus ([0004]-[0006]) comprising
multiple pixels (pixel matrix; [0035]) each including multiple light emitting elements (pixel LEDs; [0035]), wherein
the light emitting elements (pixel LEDs) each include a semiconductor layer (120; [0060]) and each include a first electrode (124; [0066]) and a second electrode (125; [0065]), the semiconductor layer (120) including a first conductive layer (121; [0060]), a light emitting layer (122; [0040] and [0060]), and a second conductive layer (123; [0060]) that are stacked in this order (top-to-bottom 121/122/123), the first conductive layer (121) having a light emitting surface (upper plane), the first electrode (124) being in contact with (electrically and physically touching) the second conductive layer (123), the second electrode being (125) in contact with (electrically and physically touching) the first conductive layer (121), the light emitting elements (pixel LEDs) each emitting light (towards 150/160/170; [0040] and [0049]) from the light emitting layer (122) via the light emitting surface (upper plane),
the light emitting elements (pixel LEDs) share (common to; [0065]) the first conductive layer (121) and the second electrode (125) with each other,
the light emitting elements (pixel LEDs) share (common to; [0065]) the first conductive layer (121) and the second electrode (125) with each other,
the light emitting elements (pixel LEDs) each include a current path (laterally left-to-right) in the first conductive layer (121) from a portion opposed to (directly above 122) the first electrode (124) to a portion opposed to (directly above) the second electrode (125),
the first conductive layer (121) has one or multiple trenches (unlabeled isolation locations of 126 between each pixel LED; [0065] and [0067]) in a region between two current paths (laterally left-to-right between each pixel LED) adjacent to each other (side-by-side), and
the pixels (pixel matrix) each further include a first light blocking section (126; [0045] and [0067]) provided in the one or multiple trenches (unlabeled isolation locations of 126 between each pixel LED).
Although Shin does not explicitly disclose and the pixels (pixel matrix) each further includes a first light blocking section provided in the one or multiple trenches (unlabeled isolation locations of 126 between each pixel LED), the materials (SiOx including SiO2; SixNy including Si3N4; and Al2O3) cited as a first light blocking section (126) are all known (MPEP § 2144.03 as evidenced by Hu: [0041]) to block light of some wavelength(s) of light, where SiO2 and Al2O3 are cited by the instant specification ([0028]) as being materials used for the formation of light blocking sections.
Alternatively, Shin does not explicitly disclose and the pixels (pixel matrix) each further includes a first light blocking section provided in the one or multiple trenches (unlabeled isolation locations of 126 between each LED pixel).
However,
Hu discloses in FIG. 10 (with references to FIGS. 2 and 5) a light emitting device (100I; [0064]) comprising a first light blocking section (laminate 210/212; [0064]) provided along surfaces a semiconductor layer (laminate 202/204; [0030] and [0064]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Shin by adding the reflective layer (210) of Hu to Shin, or to substitute the light blocking section of Hu for the same of Hu, to prevent light leakage to increase the light extraction efficiency of the light emitting device (Hu; [0040]); and to reduce the probability of current flowing through the sidewalls of the semiconductor layer, and to reduce the occurrence of leakage current (Hu; [0049]).
Claims 2-3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Meitl et al (US 2016/0254253 A1, hereafter Meitl), or in the alternative Shin and Hu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Meitl.
Re Claim 2, Shin, or Shin and Hu discloses the light emitting device according to claim 1.
But, fails to disclose wherein the one or multiple trenches (unlabeled isolation locations of 126 between each LED pixel) are provided to run through the first conductive layer (unlabeled isolation locations of 126 between each LED pixel), and the first light blocking section (126) is provided at least on a light emitting surface side in the one or multiple trenches.
However,
Meitl discloses in FIG. 6C (with references to FIG. 1) a light emitting device comprising light emitting devices (each 2; [0063] and [0076]) sharing (through tether 63; [0076]) a first conductive layer (21; [0063]), the first conductive layer (21) having one or more trenches (20; [0076]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Shin, or Shin and Hu by substituting the tethered first conductive layer of Meitl for the first conductive layer of Shin, such that the one or multiple trenches (unlabeled isolation locations of 126 between each LED pixel) are provided to run through the first conductive layer (unlabeled isolation locations of 126 between each LED pixel), and the first light blocking section (126) is provided at least on a light emitting surface side in the one or multiple trenches, producing segmented display region with the light while still preventing light leakage to increase the light extraction efficiency of the light emitting device (Hu; [0040]), and reducing the probability of current flowing through the sidewalls of the semiconductor layer, and to reduce the occurrence of leakage current (Hu; [0049]).
Re Claim 3, Shin discloses the light emitting device according to claim 2,
But, fails to disclose wherein the first light blocking (126) section is provided along an inner wall in the one or multiple trenches (unlabeled isolation locations of 126 between each LED pixel) and serves as a reflection mirror that reflects light emitted from the light emitting layer (122).
However, Hu renders these limitations obvious since layer (210) is reflective ([0041] and [0064]), and would be provided along an inner wall in the one or multiple trenches and serves as a reflection mirror that reflects light emitted from the light emitting layer.
Re Claim 18, Shin discloses the light emitting device according to claim 13, wherein the multiple color conversion sections (150/160/170) each include a block (rectangular cross-section) including a phosphor (fluorescent materials; [0050]).
Shin (or Shin and Hu) fails to disclose and a light scatterer.
However, Meitl discloses use of phosphor particles ([0084]) and scattering particles ([0084]) in a block below first conductive layer (21) in the embodiment of FIG. 11. Thus, it would be obvious to add the scattering particles of Meitl to the phosphor of Shin, so that the display device may emit light having a longer peak wavelength in comparison with the electromagnetic radiation absorbed by the phosphor (Meitl; [0035]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Chaji (US 2018/0097037 A1), or in the alternative Shin and Hu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chaji.
Re Claim 17, Shin discloses the light emitting device according to claim 13.
But, fails to further disclose the light emitting device comprising a filter section that attenuates an ultraviolet light (UV wavelength) component included in light emitted from the one or multiple color conversion sections (150/160/170).
Chaji discloses in FIG. 5B (with references to FIG. 3A) a light emitting device (51b) comprising a filter section (58; [0050]) that attenuates ([0046] and [0050]) a light component (emitted wavelength from 52; [0046] and [0050]) included in light emitted from one or multiple color conversion sections (56-1; [0053]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Shin, or Shin and Hu by adding the filter section of Chaji, that attenuates an ultraviolet light (UV wavelength) component included in light emitted from the one or multiple color conversion sections (150/160/170) to reduce hot spots by high light intensity light at a direct point of sight (Chaji; Abstract and [0023]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Yao et al (US 2011/0266560 A1, hereafter Yao), or in the alternative Shin and Hu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yao.
Re Claim 19, Shin discloses the light emitting device according to claim 13, wherein the multiple color conversion sections (150/160/170) each include a block (rectangular cross-section) in which a phosphor (fluorescent materials; [0050]) is fixed (formed).
Shin (or Shin and Hu) fails to disclose the phosphor is fixed with a binder.
However,
Yao discloses in FIG. 6 (with references to FIG. 2) light emitting device comprising a phosphor (30; [0049] and [0059]) fixed with a binder ([0059]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Shin, or Shin and Hu by using the binder and phosphor particle sizes of Yao for the phosphor of Shin, to balance between uniform light output and efficient light conversion form the phosphor (Yao; [0059]).
Conclusion
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892