DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Appeal correspondence filed 01/22/2026 & 03/05/2026.
Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 10-13, 15, 18-20, 22, 25, 28-31, 33, & 36 are pending and rejected.
Response to Arguments
First, Applicant’s arguments, see Appeal Brief, filed 01/22/2026 & 03/05/2026, with respect to 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 12 & 36 has been withdrawn.
In view of the Appeal Brief filed on 01/22/2026 & 03/05/2026, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds of rejection are set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-12, 18-20, 28-30, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauman et al (US20090275346A1) in view of Castelli et al (US20180035259) (hereinafter "Castelli").
Regarding claim 1 (and method claim 19), Bauman teaches a serving wireless communication node in a wireless communication system ([0025]-[0030], wireless communication system including a cellular system 128; multiple communication nodes), wherein the serving node is adapted to:
determine that a served user terminal is going to enter a zone that switches between being reachable and unreachable for the serving node ([0035], [0047]-[0049], discloses analysis of mobile device’s location, movement, roaming behavior, and likely handoff patterns to predict when the device will leave the service area of a current communication node and move toward another communication node; teaches retrieving location-related information and user roaming information; calculating the geographical location of the mobile device; determining whether a handoff from the current end relay communication node to another communication node is likely , and determining a protentional future path of the mobile device to identify likely handoff locations));
predict data to be transmitted to the user terminal for at least a part of the time the user terminal is in the zone and is unreachable for the serving node ([0009], [0032], [0042]-[0044], disclosing predictive buffering and forwarding of data associated with a mobile device in anticipation of the device’s future movement and handoff; teaches maintaining data buffering capabilities and forwarding a data cache associated with a mobile device among communication nodes in anticipation of the movement of the mobile device based on location information, roaming patterns, content information, and node configuration, further teaches predicting the need for a data cache corresponding to the mobile device and transmitting the data cache to an appropriate end relay communication node, storing requested data associated with the connection in a predictive switching buffer, predicting a likely handoff occurs);
when the zone is reachable, transfer predicted data to a cache node positioned within the zone, enabling the cache node to transfer the predicted data to the user terminal when the user terminal is in the zone and is unreachable for the serving node ([0009], [0032], [0043]-[0044], discloses that when a mobile device is predicted to move or hand off to another communication node, a data cache associated with that device is proactively forwarded to the predicted end relay communication node before handoff occurs, specifically, teaches forwarding data cache among communication nodes “in anticipation” of movement based on geographic location, roaming patterns, node configuration, and content history; predicting the need for the cache and transmitting it to the appropriate end relay node; determining whether handoff is likely and when handoff is predicted, transmitting the data cache to the buffer of the likely target cellular tower/end relay node).
But Bauman does not fully teach but Castelli teaches predict data to be transmitted to the user terminal for at least a part of the time (Fig 1, 108, 110, [0020]-[0023] if it is predicted at block 108 that the mobile device will soon be in an area with low or no connectivity, a second cognitive algorithm is run to predict data that will be used by the mobile electronic device)
It would have been obvious to combine Bauman in view of Castelli because Bauman already teaches predicting mobile device’s future movement and likely handoff and proactively forwarding a data cache associated with the device to a predicted target communication node before handoff occurs. Castelli teaches predicting data expected to be transmitted to a user terminal. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Castelli’s data-prediction techniques into Bauman’s predictive cache-forwarding framework so that the data proactively forwarded to the predicted target communication node includes data anticipated to be requested or received by the user terminal. Doing so would have predictably improved service continuity, reduced transmission delays, and increased data availability when the user terminal transitions away from the current serving communications node.
Regarding claim 2 (and method claim 20), Bauman teaches wherein
(i) the serving node is adapted to initiate a handover for the user terminal, from the serving node to the cache node ([0009], [0032], [0043]-[0044], discloses that when a mobile device is predicted to move or hand off to another communication node, a data cache associated with that device is proactively forwarded to the predicted end relay communication node before handoff occurs, specifically, teaches forwarding data cache among communication nodes “in anticipation” of movement based on geographic location, roaming patterns, node configuration, and content history; predicting the need for the cache and transmitting it to the appropriate end relay node; determining whether handoff is likely and when handoff is predicted, transmitting the data cache to the buffer of the likely target cellular tower/end relay node).,
(ii) the serving node is adapted to determine whether to initiate a handover based on user terminal location information ([0009], [0032], [0043]-[0044], discloses that when a mobile device is predicted to move or hand off to another communication node, a data cache associated with that device is proactively forwarded to the predicted end relay communication node before handoff occurs, specifically, teaches forwarding data cache among communication nodes “in anticipation” of movement based on geographic location, roaming patterns, node configuration, and content history; predicting the need for the cache and transmitting it to the appropriate end relay node; determining whether handoff is likely and when handoff is predicted, transmitting the data cache to the buffer of the likely target cellular tower/end relay node)., and/or
(iii) the serving node is adapted to initiate a handover by sending a handover request to the cache node, further wherein the handover request comprises information related to the user terminal, and further wherein the information related to the user terminal comprises at least one of user terminal identification, processor capability, and number of antenna ports ([0009], [0032], [0043]-[0044], discloses that when a mobile device is predicted to move or hand off to another communication node, a data cache associated with that device is proactively forwarded to the predicted end relay communication node before handoff occurs, specifically, teaches forwarding data cache among communication nodes “in anticipation” of movement based on geographic location, roaming patterns, node configuration, and content history; predicting the need for the cache and transmitting it to the appropriate end relay node; determining whether handoff is likely and when handoff is predicted, transmitting the data cache to the buffer of the likely target cellular tower/end relay node)).
Regarding claim 10, Bauman teaches wherein the serving node is adapted to inform other nodes of an adapted scheduling, where the adapted scheduling is due to the fact that the cache node is prioritized while the zone is reachable and the serving node performs handover to the cache node and transfers the predicted data to the cache node ([0009], [0032], [0043]-[0044], discloses that when a mobile device is predicted to move or hand off to another communication node, a data cache associated with that device is proactively forwarded to the predicted end relay communication node before handoff occurs, specifically, teaches forwarding data cache among communication nodes “in anticipation” of movement based on geographic location, roaming patterns, node configuration, and content history; predicting the need for the cache and transmitting it to the appropriate end relay node; determining whether handoff is likely and when handoff is predicted, transmitting the data cache to the buffer of the likely target cellular tower/end relay node).
Regarding claim 11, Bauman doesn’t fully teach but Castelli teaches wherein, when the zone becomes reachable for a serving node the serving node is adapted to receive information from the cache node regarding which predicted data that has been transmitted to the user terminal when the user terminal has been unreachable for the serving node in the zone, and to perform handover for the user terminal, from the cache node to the serving node (Fig 1, [0019]-[0023], receive information from the cache node—which predicted data that has been transmitted to the user terminal—prediction of the length of time the user will be without signal, predict how much data should be cached—adaptive prediction).
It would have been obvious to combine Bauman in view of Castelli because Bauman already teaches predicting mobile device’s future movement and likely handoff and proactively forwarding a data cache associated with the device to a predicted target communication node before handoff occurs. Castelli teaches predicting data expected to be transmitted to a user terminal. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Castelli’s data-prediction techniques into Bauman’s predictive cache-forwarding framework so that the data proactively forwarded to the predicted target communication node includes data anticipated to be requested or received by the user terminal. Doing so would have predictably improved service continuity, reduced transmission delays, and increased data availability when the user terminal transitions away from the current serving communications node.
Regarding claim 12, Bauman teaches wherein the cache node is positioned within a zone that switches between being reachable and unreachable for a serving wireless communication node, wherein the cache node is one of an access point (AP) node or a user equipment (UE)-type node ([0035], [0047]-[0049], discloses analysis of mobile device’s location, movement, roaming behavior, and likely handoff patterns to predict when the device will leave the service area of a current communication node and move toward another communication node; teaches retrieving location-related information and user roaming information; calculating the geographical location of the mobile device; determining whether a handoff from the current end relay communication node to another communication node is likely , and determining a protentional future path of the mobile device to identify likely handoff locations)), where the cache node is adapted to:
receive, from the serving node, predicted data to be transmitted to a user terminal for at least a part of the time the user terminal is unreachable for the serving node ([0035], [0047]-[0049], discloses analysis of mobile device’s location, movement, roaming behavior, and likely handoff patterns to predict when the device will leave the service area of a current communication node and move toward another communication node; teaches retrieving location-related information and user roaming information; calculating the geographical location of the mobile device; determining whether a handoff from the current end relay communication node to another communication node is likely , and determining a protentional future path of the mobile device to identify likely handoff locations));
and, transfer the predicted data to the user terminal when the user terminal is in the zone and is unreachable for the serving node ([0009], [0032], [0043]-[0044], discloses that when a mobile device is predicted to move or hand off to another communication node, a data cache associated with that device is proactively forwarded to the predicted end relay communication node before handoff occurs, specifically, teaches forwarding data cache among communication nodes “in anticipation” of movement based on geographic location, roaming patterns, node configuration, and content history; predicting the need for the cache and transmitting it to the appropriate end relay node; determining whether handoff is likely and when handoff is predicted, transmitting the data cache to the buffer of the likely target cellular tower/end relay node).
However, Bauman doesn’t fully teach but Castelli transfer the predicted data to the user terminal when the user terminal is in the zone (Fig 1, 108, 110, [0020]-[0023] if it is predicted at block 108 that the mobile device will soon be in an area with low or no connectivity, a second cognitive algorithm is run to predict data that will be used by the mobile electronic device)
It would have been obvious to combine Bauman in view of Castelli because Bauman already teaches predicting mobile device’s future movement and likely handoff and proactively forwarding a data cache associated with the device to a predicted target communication node before handoff occurs. Castelli teaches predicting data expected to be transmitted to a user terminal. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Castelli’s data-prediction techniques into Bauman’s predictive cache-forwarding framework so that the data proactively forwarded to the predicted target communication node includes data anticipated to be requested or received by the user terminal. Doing so would have predictably improved service continuity, reduced transmission delays, and increased data availability when the user terminal transitions away from the current serving communications node.
Regarding claim 18, Bauman doesn’t fully teach but Castelli teaches wherein, when the zone becomes reachable for the serving node, the cache node is adapted to transmit information to the serving node, where the information relates to which predicted data that has been transmitted to the user terminal when the user terminal has been unreachable for the serving node in the zone, and to perform handover for the user terminal, from the cache node to the serving node (Fig 1, [0019]-[0023], receive information from the cache node—which predicted data that has been transmitted to the user terminal—prediction of the length of time the user will be without signal, predict how much data should be cached—adaptive prediction).
It would have been obvious to combine Bauman in view of Castelli because Bauman already teaches predicting mobile device’s future movement and likely handoff and proactively forwarding a data cache associated with the device to a predicted target communication node before handoff occurs. Castelli teaches predicting data expected to be transmitted to a user terminal. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Castelli’s data-prediction techniques into Bauman’s predictive cache-forwarding framework so that the data proactively forwarded to the predicted target communication node includes data anticipated to be requested or received by the user terminal. Doing so would have predictably improved service continuity, reduced transmission delays, and increased data availability when the user terminal transitions away from the current serving communications node.
Regarding claim 28, Bauman teaches wherein the method comprises informing other nodes of an adapted scheduling, where the adapted scheduling is due to the fact that the cache node is prioritized while the zone is reachable and the serving node performs handover to the cache node and transfers the predicted data to the cache node ([0009], [0032], [0043]-[0044], discloses that when a mobile device is predicted to move or hand off to another communication node, a data cache associated with that device is proactively forwarded to the predicted end relay communication node before handoff occurs, specifically, teaches forwarding data cache among communication nodes “in anticipation” of movement based on geographic location, roaming patterns, node configuration, and content history; predicting the need for the cache and transmitting it to the appropriate end relay node; determining whether handoff is likely and when handoff is predicted, transmitting the data cache to the buffer of the likely target cellular tower/end relay node).
Regarding claim 29, Bauman doesn’t fully teach but Castelli teaches wherein, when the zone becomes reachable for a serving node, the method comprises receiving information from the cache node regarding which predicted data that has been transmitted to the user terminal when the user terminal has been unreachable for the serving node in the zone, and to perform handover for the user terminal, from the cache node to the serving node (Fig 1, [0019]-[0023], receive information from the cache node—which predicted data that has been transmitted to the user terminal—prediction of the length of time the user will be without signal, predict how much data should be cached—adaptive prediction).
Regarding claim 30, Bauman teaches a method in a cache node in a wireless communication system, where the cache node is positioned within a zone that switches between being reachable and unreachable for a serving wireless communication node, wherein the method comprises:
receiving, from the serving node, predicted data to be transmitted to a user terminal for at least a part of the time the user terminal is unreachable for the serving node ([0035], [0047]-[0049], discloses analysis of mobile device’s location, movement, roaming behavior, and likely handoff patterns to predict when the device will leave the service area of a current communication node and move toward another communication node; teaches retrieving location-related information and user roaming information; calculating the geographical location of the mobile device; determining whether a handoff from the current end relay communication node to another communication node is likely , and determining a protentional future path of the mobile device to identify likely handoff locations),
transferring the predicted data to the user terminal when the user terminal is in the zone and is unreachable for the serving node (([0009], [0032], [0043]-[0044], discloses that when a mobile device is predicted to move or hand off to another communication node, a data cache associated with that device is proactively forwarded to the predicted end relay communication node before handoff occurs, specifically, teaches forwarding data cache among communication nodes “in anticipation” of movement based on geographic location, roaming patterns, node configuration, and content history; predicting the need for the cache and transmitting it to the appropriate end relay node; determining whether handoff is likely and when handoff is predicted, transmitting the data cache to the buffer of the likely target cellular tower/end relay node).
But Bauman doesn’t fully teach transferring the predicted data to the user terminal when the user terminal is in the zone (Fig 1, 108, 110, [0020]-[0023] if it is predicted at block 108 that the mobile device will soon be in an area with low or no connectivity, a second cognitive algorithm is run to predict data that will be used by the mobile electronic device)
It would have been obvious to combine Bauman in view of Castelli because Bauman already teaches predicting mobile device’s future movement and likely handoff and proactively forwarding a data cache associated with the device to a predicted target communication node before handoff occurs. Castelli teaches predicting data expected to be transmitted to a user terminal. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Castelli’s data-prediction techniques into Bauman’s predictive cache-forwarding framework so that the data proactively forwarded to the predicted target communication node includes data anticipated to be requested or received by the user terminal. Doing so would have predictably improved service continuity, reduced transmission delays, and increased data availability when the user terminal transitions away from the current serving communications node.
Regarding claim 36, Bauman doesn’t fully teach but Castelli teaches wherein, (i) when the zone becomes reachable for the serving node, the method comprises:
transmitting information to the serving node, where the information relates to which predicted data that has been transmitted to the user terminal when the user terminal has been unreachable for the serving node in the zone (Fig 1, [0019]-[0023], receive information from the cache node—which predicted data that has been transmitted to the user terminal—prediction of the length of time the user will be without signal, predict how much data should be cached—adaptive prediction, performing handover), and
performing handover for the user terminal, from the cache node to the serving node, and/or (ii) the method comprises informing the serving node about that the cache node is available only for a limited period of time and should be conferred priority compared to other nodes (Fig 1, [0019]-[0023], receive information from the cache node—which predicted data that has been transmitted to the user terminal—prediction of the length of time the user will be without signal, predict how much data should be cached—adaptive prediction, performing handover).
Claims 4, 7, 13, 15, 22, 25, 31 & 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Bauman in view of Castelli as applied to claim 2 and 12 respectively above, and further in view of Liang et al (US20180176325) (hereinafter "Liang").
Regarding claim 4, Bauman and Castelli fails to teach wherein the serving node is adapted to transmit a measurement configuration to the user terminal, the measurement configuration at least comprising information regarding which reference signal from the cache node to measure and on which radio resources the measurement should be performed, enabling the user terminal to transmit a measurement report to the serving node, where the serving node is adapted to determine whether to initiate the handover based on the measurement report.
However, Liang teaches wherein the serving node is adapted to transmit a measurement configuration to the user terminal, the measurement configuration at least comprising information regarding which reference signal from the cache node to measure and on which radio resources the measurement should be performed, enabling the user terminal to transmit a measurement report to the serving node, where the serving node is adapted to determine whether to initiate the handover based on the measurement report (Fig 1, 10, 12, 24, 17, [0015], [0047], transmit to UE prefetching data or measurement configuration – cache node predicted data).
Castelli, Bauman, and Liang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of proactive caching and handling of cellular wireless system during low to no provider zones. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Castelli, Bauman, and Liang to create a system for improved handling in temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network.
Castelli, provides a general description of embodiments to a method and system of proactively caching content for a mobile electronic device. Furthermore, Bauman teaches proactively predicting a mobile device’s movement or handoff and forwarding its associated data cache to a likely target communication node in advance, so the target node can continue serving the device after roaming or handoff. Lastly, Liang provides a communication system and method for pre-fetching content to be delivered to UE connected to a communication network via cache allocation at an edge node. It would have been obvious apply Bauman’s predictive cache-forwarding technique to the teachings of Castelli and Bauman would allow for a system for improved handling in temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network. The motivation to combine both references is to provide a wireless system devices improved data coverage for temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network.
Regarding claim 7, Bauman and Castelli fails to teach wherein the serving node is adapted to receive a handover acknowledgement from the cache node, to transmit a handover command to the user terminal, and then to transfer the predicted data to the cache node, the received handover acknowledgement comprises information related to the cache node, and the information related to the cache node comprises at least one of cell identification and RACH, Random Access Channel, configuration of the cache node.
However, Liang teaches wherein the serving node is adapted to receive a handover acknowledgement from the cache node, to transmit a handover command to the user terminal, and then to transfer the predicted data to the cache node, the received handover acknowledgement comprises information related to the cache node, and the information related to the cache node comprises at least one of cell identification and RACH, Random Access Channel, configuration of the cache node (Fig 1, 10, 12, 24, 17, Fig 3B [0015], [0047], [0074]-[0075], [0116]-[0120] acknowledgement transmit to UE prefetching data or measurement configuration – cache node predicted data, edge node cache transferred to UE – acknowledgement).
Castelli, Bauman, and Liang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of proactive caching and handling of cellular wireless system during low to no provider zones. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Castelli, Bauman, and Liang to create a system for improved handling in temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network.
Castelli, provides a general description of embodiments to a method and system of proactively caching content for a mobile electronic device. Furthermore, Bauman teaches proactively predicting a mobile device’s movement or handoff and forwarding its associated data cache to a likely target communication node in advance, so the target node can continue serving the device after roaming or handoff. Lastly, Liang provides a communication system and method for pre-fetching content to be delivered to UE connected to a communication network via cache allocation at an edge node. It would have been obvious apply Bauman’s predictive cache-forwarding technique to the teachings of Castelli and Bauman would allow for a system for improved handling in temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network. The motivation to combine both references is to provide a wireless system devices improved data coverage for temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network.
Regarding claim 13, Bauman and Castelli fails to teach wherein the cache node is adapted to receive a handover request from the serving node, where the handover request comprises information related to the user terminal, and the information related to the user terminal comprises at least one of item identification, processor capability, and number of antenna ports.
However, Liang teaches wherein the cache node is adapted to receive a handover request from the serving node, where the handover request comprises information related to the user terminal, and the information related to the user terminal comprises at least one of item identification, processor capability, and number of antenna ports (Fig 1, 10, 12, 24, 17, [0015], [0047], transmit to UE prefetching data or measurement configuration – cache node predicted data).
Castelli, Bauman, and Liang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of proactive caching and handling of cellular wireless system during low to no provider zones. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Castelli, Bauman, and Liang to create a system for improved handling in temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network.
Castelli, provides a general description of embodiments to a method and system of proactively caching content for a mobile electronic device. Furthermore, Bauman teaches proactively predicting a mobile device’s movement or handoff and forwarding its associated data cache to a likely target communication node in advance, so the target node can continue serving the device after roaming or handoff. Lastly, Liang provides a communication system and method for pre-fetching content to be delivered to UE connected to a communication network via cache allocation at an edge node. It would have been obvious apply Bauman’s predictive cache-forwarding technique to the teachings of Castelli and Bauman would allow for a system for improved handling in temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network. The motivation to combine both references is to provide a wireless system devices improved data coverage for temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network.
Regarding claim 15, Bauman and Castelli fails to teach wherein the cache node is adapted to transmit a handover acknowledgement to the serving node, and to receive the predicted data from the serving node, the handover acknowledgement comprises information related to the cache node, and the information related to the cache node comprises at least one of cell identification and RACH, Random Access Channel, configuration of the cache node.
However, Liang teaches teach wherein the cache node is adapted to transmit a handover acknowledgement to the serving node, and to receive the predicted data from the serving node, the handover acknowledgement comprises information related to the cache node, and the information related to the cache node comprises at least one of cell identification and RACH, Random Access Channel, configuration of the cache node (Fig 1, 10, 12, 24, 17, Fig 3B [0015], [0047], [0074]-[0075], [0116]-[0120] acknowledgement transmit to UE prefetching data or measurement configuration – cache node predicted data, edge node cache transferred to UE – acknowledgement).
Castelli, Bauman, and Liang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of proactive caching and handling of cellular wireless system during low to no provider zones. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Castelli, Bauman, and Liang to create a system for improved handling in temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network.
Castelli, provides a general description of embodiments to a method and system of proactively caching content for a mobile electronic device. Furthermore, Bauman teaches proactively predicting a mobile device’s movement or handoff and forwarding its associated data cache to a likely target communication node in advance, so the target node can continue serving the device after roaming or handoff. Lastly, Liang provides a communication system and method for pre-fetching content to be delivered to UE connected to a communication network via cache allocation at an edge node. It would have been obvious apply Bauman’s predictive cache-forwarding technique to the teachings of Castelli and Bauman would allow for a system for improved handling in temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network. The motivation to combine both references is to provide a wireless system devices improved data coverage for temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network.
Regarding claim 22, Bauman and Castelli fails to teach wherein the initiating comprises transmitting a measurement configuration to the user terminal, the measurement configuration at least comprising information regarding which reference signal from the cache node to measure and on which radio resources the measurement should be performed, enabling the user terminal to transmit a measurement report to the serving node, where the serving node is adapted to determine whether to initiate the handover based on the measurement report.
However, Liang teaches wherein the initiating comprises transmitting a measurement configuration to the user terminal, the measurement configuration at least comprising information regarding which reference signal from the cache node to measure and on which radio resources the measurement should be performed, enabling the user terminal to transmit a measurement report to the serving node, where the serving node is adapted to determine whether to initiate the handover based on the measurement report (Fig 1, 10, 12, 24, 17, [0015], [0047], transmit to UE prefetching data or measurement configuration – cache node predicted data).
Castelli, Bauman, and Liang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of proactive caching and handling of cellular wireless system during low to no provider zones. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Castelli, Bauman, and Liang to create a system for improved handling in temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network.
Castelli, provides a general description of embodiments to a method and system of proactively caching content for a mobile electronic device. Furthermore, Bauman teaches proactively predicting a mobile device’s movement or handoff and forwarding its associated data cache to a likely target communication node in advance, so the target node can continue serving the device after roaming or handoff. Lastly, Liang provides a communication system and method for pre-fetching content to be delivered to UE connected to a communication network via cache allocation at an edge node. It would have been obvious apply Bauman’s predictive cache-forwarding technique to the teachings of Castelli and Bauman would allow for a system for improved handling in temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network. The motivation to combine both references is to provide a wireless system devices improved data coverage for temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network.
Regarding claim 25, Bauman and Castelli fails to teach but Liang teaches wherein the initiating comprises:
receiving a handover acknowledgement from the cache node (Fig 1, 10, 12, 24, 17, Fig 3B [0015], [0047], [0074]-[0075], [0116]-[0120] acknowledgement transmit to UE prefetching data or measurement configuration – cache node predicted data, edge node cache transferred to UE – acknowledgement),
transmitting a handover command to the user terminal (Fig 1, 10, 12, 24, 17, Fig 3B [0015], [0047], [0074]-[0075], [0116]-[0120] acknowledgement transmit to UE prefetching data or measurement configuration – cache node predicted data, edge node cache transferred to UE – acknowledgement), and
transferring the predicted data to the cache node, wherein the received handover acknowledgement comprises information related to the cache node, and the information related to the cache node comprises at least one of cell identification and RACH, Random Access Channel, configuration of the cache node (Fig 1, 10, 12, 24, 17, Fig 3B [0015], [0047], [0074]-[0075], [0116]-[0120] acknowledgement transmit to UE prefetching data or measurement configuration – cache node predicted data, edge node cache transferred to UE – acknowledgement).
Castelli, Bauman, and Liang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of proactive caching and handling of cellular wireless system during low to no provider zones. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Castelli, Bauman, and Liang to create a system for improved handling in temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network.
Castelli, provides a general description of embodiments to a method and system of proactively caching content for a mobile electronic device. Furthermore, Bauman teaches proactively predicting a mobile device’s movement or handoff and forwarding its associated data cache to a likely target communication node in advance, so the target node can continue serving the device after roaming or handoff. Lastly, Liang provides a communication system and method for pre-fetching content to be delivered to UE connected to a communication network via cache allocation at an edge node. It would have been obvious apply Bauman’s predictive cache-forwarding technique to the teachings of Castelli and Bauman would allow for a system for improved handling in temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network. The motivation to combine both references is to provide a wireless system devices improved data coverage for temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network.
Regarding claim 31, Bauman and Castelli fails to teach wherein the method comprises receiving a handover request from the serving node, where the handover request comprises information related to the user terminal, and the information related to the user terminal comprises at least one of item identification, processor capability, and number of antenna ports.
However, Liang teaches wherein the method comprises receiving a handover request from the serving node, where the handover request comprises information related to the user terminal, and the information related to the user terminal comprises at least one of item identification, processor capability, and number of antenna ports (Fig 1, 10, 12, 24, 17, [0015], [0047], transmit to UE prefetching data or measurement configuration – cache node predicted data).
Castelli, Bauman, and Liang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of proactive caching and handling of cellular wireless system during low to no provider zones. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Castelli, Bauman, and Liang to create a system for improved handling in temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network.
Castelli, provides a general description of embodiments to a method and system of proactively caching content for a mobile electronic device. Furthermore, Bauman teaches proactively predicting a mobile device’s movement or handoff and forwarding its associated data cache to a likely target communication node in advance, so the target node can continue serving the device after roaming or handoff. Lastly, Liang provides a communication system and method for pre-fetching content to be delivered to UE connected to a communication network via cache allocation at an edge node. It would have been obvious apply Bauman’s predictive cache-forwarding technique to the teachings of Castelli and Bauman would allow for a system for improved handling in temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network. The motivation to combine both references is to provide a wireless system devices improved data coverage for temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network.
Regarding claim 33, Bauman and Castelli fails to teach wherein the method comprises transmitting a handover acknowledgement to the serving node, and to receive the predicted data from the serving node, the handover acknowledgement comprises information related to the cache node, and the information related to the cache node comprises at least one of cell identification and RACH, Random Access Channel, configuration of the cache node.
However, Liang teaches wherein the method comprises transmitting a handover acknowledgement to the serving node, and to receive the predicted data from the serving node, the handover acknowledgement comprises information related to the cache node, and the information related to the cache node comprises at least one of cell identification and RACH, Random Access Channel, configuration of the cache node (Fig 1, 10, 12, 24, 17, Fig 3B [0015], [0047], [0074]-[0075], [0116]-[0120] acknowledgement transmit to UE prefetching data or measurement configuration – cache node predicted data, edge node cache transferred to UE – acknowledgement).
Castelli, Bauman, and Liang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of proactive caching and handling of cellular wireless system during low to no provider zones. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Castelli, Bauman, and Liang to create a system for improved handling in temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network.
Castelli, provides a general description of embodiments to a method and system of proactively caching content for a mobile electronic device. Furthermore, Bauman teaches proactively predicting a mobile device’s movement or handoff and forwarding its associated data cache to a likely target communication node in advance, so the target node can continue serving the device after roaming or handoff. Lastly, Liang provides a communication system and method for pre-fetching content to be delivered to UE connected to a communication network via cache allocation at an edge node. It would have been obvious apply Bauman’s predictive cache-forwarding technique to the teachings of Castelli and Bauman would allow for a system for improved handling in temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network. The motivation to combine both references is to provide a wireless system devices improved data coverage for temporarily unreachable zones in a wireless communication network.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Feki et al (US20190393981A1) discloses method and apparatus for handover aware CQI adjustment in wireless networks
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419